Abdullah last acts as PM – reach out to Hindraf supporters and stop excoriating Hindraf

I am taken aback by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s comments yesterday concerning Hindraf, which Utusan Malaysia used in its front-page headline: “Kecewa sikap Hindraf: Penyokong buat bising, enggan bersalam dengan TPM, Menteri – PM”

In the past few days, Hindraf has come under intense attack, with even MIC leaders like its President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and Secretary-General Datuk Dr. S. Subramaniam joining in the Hindraf-bashing.

Tomorrow, Abdullah would most probably be announcing that he would not be defending the post of Umno President in the March Umno General Assembly.

Whatever his announcement, among Abdullah’s last acts as Prime Minister should be to reach out to the Hindraf supporters to end the status of Malaysian Indians as a new underclass instead of excoriating and demonizing Hindraf.

Abdullah should initiate this healing process which is an important integral part of Malaysian nation-building, to end the marginalization of the Malaysian Indians in their own country – just as a similar healing process must also begin to address all other marginalized Malaysians in the country, particularly in Sabah and Sarawak.

There can be no better start to this “healing process” than for the Cabinet tomorrow to release the Hindraf Five from Internal Security Act – making Deepavali this year a most significant and memorable one in making all Malaysians, regardless of race or religion, feel proud again to be sons and daughters of the nation.

1. #1 by Yee Siew Wah on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:07 pm

Hari Raya occasion is the only opportunity for Hindraf to meet this sleepy flipflop lame duck guy in person. Other time he is in deep slumber or too busy with his cronies how to milk more money before he step down.
    Hope Hindraf keeps up the pressure on this guy till his last day to release all those in ISA lockup.
    Unable to update comments on Susan Sloone new blog the past two days.
    Can anybody please help??
    Thanks

2. #2 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:19 pm

1. cakap utusan itu serupa dengan cakap kambing…
    2. dolla : aku kaya raya siapa kau wahai rakyat jelata…utusan, berani kau lapor ?
    3. dolla : anaku genius sampai berniaga di luar negeri. apa ada kat bolehland aku ambik aku bagi kat anaku yang genius sampai boleh berniaga kat luar negeri…utusan, berani kau lapor ?
    4. dolla : jib, bagi la aku duduk sampai 2010 paling pun sampai tengah 2010, aku belum puas ambik lagi, lagi pun banyak benda aku nak cover…utusan, berani kau lapor ?
    5. utusan : nak lapor lagu apa, aku ni kan mulut dia…

3. #3 by madmix on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:20 pm

Unfortunately an inborn trait of BN leaders is lack of compassion; mired in their greed to get contracts and other goodies and living in luxurious surroundings, they have no time for the sufferings of others. Abdullah will not release anyone.

4. #4 by melurian on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:27 pm

quote utusan:

Rabu lalu, sekumpulan penyokong Hindraf menimbulkan kekecohan pada majlis Rumah Terbuka Hari Raya Aidilfitri Perdana Menteri dan Menteri-Menteri Kabinet di PWTC.

Tanpa mempedulikan peraturan dan protokol, mereka bertindak mendahului barisan pengunjung lain yang sudah pun beratur untuk memasuki dewan sejak pukul 10 pagi.

Perbuatan itu mengundang kritikan pelbagai pihak yang mendesak kerajaan mengambil tindakan tegas kerana ia boleh membangkitkan kemarahan orang Islam.

Pada tahun lalu, Hindraf mengemukakan memorandum kepada kerajaan British dengan mendakwa kuil-kuil Hindu di negara ini dirobohkan dan kaum India berhadapan dengan ‘pembersihan etnik’ di Malaysia.

Mereka juga mengadakan tunjuk perasaan besar-besaran di Kuala Lumpur dan terlibat dalam beberapa insiden keganasan yang menyaksikan anggota polis dipukul sehingga cedera.

Lima pemimpin pertubuhan haram itu kemudian ditahan di bawah ISA.

although this happened:

Abdullah secara terbuka memberitahu beliau kecewa dengan sikap kumpulan itu memandangkan kesemua penyokong Hindraf itu telah dialu-alukan sebagai tetamu seperti juga rakyat lain walaupun mereka mempunyai fahaman yang agak berbeza dengan pendirian kerajaan…..
    Walaupun mereka bersikap biadap dan mencemarkan majlis meraikan hari kebesaran penganut Islam itu, Perdana Menteri berkata, pihaknya tidak mempunyai sebarang rancangan untuk mengambil tindakan tegas terhadap Hindraf buat masa ini.

hail aab ….

5. #5 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:32 pm

This guy talked like if everyone should kiss his asssss. He took it for sure that people went there to greet him and to get food to eat. Even if I were a beggar, I would not attend this kind of feeding. I don’t know why we have been trained to be greedy in eating this kind of food. Is there anything special? Only those who kiss the asssssssss would go there.

6. #6 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:47 pm

Samy in news report said that the attitude of hindraf members made it harder for umno to cancel the detention order against the 5.

Another stupid statement. As if, attitude can make a difference. As if attitude can help regain one’s freedom.

If the detention is wrongful, the detainees must be released pure and simple. Their attitude and that of their supporters cannot be taken into consideration at all. There is nothing in the ISA to say that people with bad attitude or those who behave badly will be locked away without trial for two years.

7. #7 by Meow Meow on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:47 pm

Aiyah, not salam with him also “VEEEERY BIG DEAL”! When i met Jacky Cheung in concert, i didn’t bother to salam him also Laaaa!!!

8. #8 by Mr Smith on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:56 pm

If a quiet attendance to give the PM a greeting card and a plea for the release of Hindraf leaders can be considered anti Islamic, what can we say about holding the UMNO General Assembly on Deepavali? What about accusing Hindu newspaper vendors for not distributing papers on their Festive holiday?
    Could that be considered anti-Hindu?
    I wonder why ever action is twisted into a racial/religious issue?

9. #9 by baochingtian on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 12:59 pm

Was samy speaking on behalf of the pm or he had already implied that the authority should ignore hindraf’s plea to release it’s members due to the undesired attitude portrayed as what samy perceived?

10. #10 by hadi on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:01 pm

Pak Lah main problems, he doesn’t know his enemy, his friend and himself. Poor old man or is it the paper is putting words into his mouth.
    Or is he trying to act tough. Alamak YB Kit, but my bet is still on Pak Lah to defend his UMNO president post. I’ll buy you a drink if he is not defending his post!!!

11. #11 by Jamesy on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:10 pm

“In the past few days, Hindraf has come under intense attack, with even MIC leaders like its President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu and Secretary-General Datuk Dr. S. Subramaniam joining in the Hindraf-bashing.” – Uncle Lim
    —————————————————————-

December 2007 – Samy Vellu supported Hindraf 5 should be held under the ISA.

March 2008 – Samy Vellu wants Hindraf 5 to be released under the ISA.

3 October 2008 – Samy Vellu condemned Hindraf supporters for the commotion on the first day of Hari Raya at PWTC as this will only delay the process of Hindraf 5 being released from ISA detention. “You can’t talk to anyone higher than the Prime Minister. If he says he will look into the matter and talk to the Home Minister, we must listen to him,” he said.

5 October 2008 – The MIC will not pressure the Government to release the five Hindraf leaders who are detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA) before Deepavali, said its president Samy Vellu.

Samy Vellu,

You are full of bulls and craps!!

12. #12 by taiking on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:28 pm

Star Online today, 7 Oct 2008:

“The Hindraf supporters who turned up at the Hari Raya open house at Putra World Trade Centre last week did not extend festive greetings to the hosts, said Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

He said they were only interested in calling for the repeal of the Internal Security Act (ISA) and the release of the group’s five members held under the Act.”

So you see who is usurping the order of authority. We the people are the boss and we the people are expected to address our servants.

13. #13 by wanderer on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:29 pm

Samy vellu has to earn his dinner, by doing a bit of wild barking to impress his masters. A spent force politician is capable of doing just that. MCA and Gerakan keeping very quiet with tails between their legs. A beggar party will always, remain a beggar party!
    Malaysian politics is fast becoming a joke. We have a lame-duck PM,
    allowing the country future to be determined by a few few UMNO clowns. If the citizens are going to remain silent, not press seriously for a change of govt, the nation will face uncertainties and hard times ahead.

14. #14 by syed zalil on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 1:53 pm

Abb you are just like anyone Human born 9 months and 9 days.The blood runing in yours is also RED>.Go back your memory lame you almost when broke during TUN M Time.You had siad you suffer much pain with no more political future.You and consider being the second option to be given a change to return to UMNO.Just too lucky others DPM vacate and sacked.TUN only consider you as his succesor merely on age factor against Najib.Even now Najib is so tinted with various unsettle issue until one had to land up in ISA.
    If TUN is at the regire Najib will be axe too.How is Najib face world leaders rather Malaysian unless He can make clean.Only Alternative GOVT will have the will to presure this case.That is for Najib.
    Most Raya visit this years was greeting but most talks were on politics why…Due to many uncertainty.At most home talk more of political issues and forthcoming election .The least You can do NOW>
    Release the HINDEF.If only one greeted you the rest ask for the release.This were the people around you If you had the oppurtunity
    to talk to most who come for your open house.Most could ask you to do just that.UMNO put you there a President/PM thru Mahathir.
    The root is the fellow malaysian.Within this six months do you wish
    to leave as lame duck PM and transfer your batton the most tinted Man Najib.His days may even shorted then yours.The ground is shaking of non approval of Najib.The only alternation is a alternative Govt PR more likely ANWAR.The survey had prove this in compare with ABB,Najib,and the rest.You have some option left
    to prolong your PM days can be more than six months and further.
    .Release ISA.all HINDEF will bring back Indian support.MIC is already face off.Samy the Indian had blow thre Dead man Horn.
    2.Your promise reforms,POLICE.JUSTICE.BPR
    3.Bring back investment comfort.
    4.Remove the 4th floor Guys.More are piss off.
    5.Try not go loger head with KU LI and TUN close Rank for the betterment of this Nation
    6.If you do not heal to any of this People wants change.The changes are spell out.IF NOT The only alternative PR GOVT.

15. #15 by pulau_sibu on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 2:03 pm

>BN supreme council to meet tomorrow

we never know. he may have the overwhelming support from BN component parties, although umno no longer wanted him!

16. #16 by Loh on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 2:24 pm

///There can be no better start to this “healing process” than for the Cabinet tomorrow to release the Hindraf Five from Internal Security Act ///–Kit

It is easier to know, after one is told, but difficult to implement, when he could not even prevent the detention in the first place. The lameduck has lost all control other than appearing before the press. He was given two weeks to announce that he is finished. He is trying to delay the announcement, knowing that he would not even be news worthy after tomorrow.

17. #17 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 3:02 pm

Yes, yes, yes! Pak Lah should or should not do that or support or not support this & that!
    Come 13/Sep/2008 when parliament re-convene, we shall all know the direction of Malaysian politics.

For now, what I really want to know is this:
    Just who the hell is footing the bill for the daily “Selamat Hari Raya” greeting shown on ASTRO TV of Pak Lah & wife??
    If it is being paid by tax payers, then PKR should highlight this gross wastage of public funds!

18. #18 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 3:06 pm

Unfortunately HINDRAF is a safe target for the PM.
    He is not even able to take appopriate action against the UMNO local big boy who made the “penumpang” remarks.
    I would put down his weak position to making the first announcement to step down in 2010 – bad strategic mistake for that really opened the floodgates.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/10/malaysiakini-reports-on-bn-farewell.html

19. #19 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 3:42 pm

sorry typo
    appropriate action

20. #20 by ch on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 3:42 pm

Dear All,

Do you go to someone’s house celebrating Raya, CNY or Deepavali shouting and dressed in the same coloured tee shirts? I think the only place you go when you do that is probably the stadium cheering for your local soccer team performing or at a circus performing. With all due respect to Hindraf, I don’t think what they had done at the Raya open house was right. In fact, I agree that they have overgone the boundary. A friend of mine, who was there, confirmed that the Hindraf members were jostling, shouting and walking high chested around. This is simply not the way one should behave visiting during any celebrations. You don’t behave like thaty even visiting your enemy during joyous occasion such as Raya.

21. #21 by ktsk88 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 3:57 pm

I personally feels that although the Hindraf have gone overboard during the Raya Open House, what they want is to meet up with the PM and send him the messages clear right into his ears.

You cant expects them to marched or demonstrated in the open space since each time they try to organise such event although peacefully, the Police and Home Minister Dept sure will stops it.

So the only way is through such events.

Where else?.

Ponder abt it.

22. #22 by mata_kucing on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:05 pm

If he’s smart, he would release them and many others like RPK. This way, he would look magnanimous and people would give him due respect. If he doesn’t and Najib does it instead, Najib would looking like a hero and win himself popularty. Either way, Abdullah would be made to look like a damn fool and a lame duck. The choice is his. But we all know how he’ll chose don’t we?

23. #23 by Saint on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:18 pm

The whole of BN is upset with the Hindraf movement as they were the “catalyst” for the electoral defeat. Since they dare not take action on the “main ingredient”; shouting at the small catalyst is all they can do.

24. #24 by k on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:19 pm

Aku kecewa dengan sikap PM kerana enggan memenuhi permintaan Hindraf dan rakyat supaya ISA dimansuhkan. :( >:(

25. #25 by Toyol on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:25 pm

Desperate times call for desperate measures. HINDRAF was only acting to seek release of their comrades who have been imprisoned illegally. Where else could they have turned to. Yes, using a festive celebration to voice out political discontentment may be over board but what else could they do.

The PM has lost all respect from Malaysians. Instead of condemning HINDRAF, perhaps he should ask himself why.

26. #26 by benny on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:31 pm

hi ch,
    I was one of the participant in PWTC,I never came across any of the hindraf sympathiser misbehave.Its the umno media via utusan and tv3 portraying them bad.From the begining the umno led govt has labeled them as being link to terrorist .
    This BAPA PENIPU MALAYSIA along with his cronies will go to the drain very soon.How you aspect them to be in joyous mood when their leaders arrested under isa.This hindraf supporters wasnt given a platform to voice their problem.MIC as usuall wasted sperm playing the tune well.
    This umno led govt will never learn from the election result and still being arrogant.

27. #27 by oknyua on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:41 pm

attitude, Mr PM?

You have been surrounded by many yes men. All kissed your hands. All says nice things about you. Would you think differently about HINDRAF had their members make a big show to bow down before you, give you a big banner of “Salam Hari Raya Aidil Fitri”?

I am more and more confused. What sort of PM do we have? The “right & proper” thing should never be confused with your “emotion.” Judgement & rule based on perceived attitude of Malaysians? This is the more ridiculous thing I have heard.

28. #28 by ch on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:52 pm

Dear Benny,

I concur with your view that it is heart-wrenching for Hindraf members, particularly the spouses of the ISA detainees. I know they are going through a very difficult and trying period but it is not right to show dissatisfactions and grouses at the open house. It is simply not in our culture. Hindraf’s pleas had been aired many times over by DAP, PKR and numerous other NGOs that share their grouses.

The government knows and their voices heard. But then again, it is up to the government, police and other related authorities to warrant their release. If they don’t, there is nothing much we could do except to continue fighting. However, fighting should be legitimate and according to rules and regulations.

My point is that no matter how angry one is, joyous occasion like Raya or any other celebrations should not be the place to protest. The protest should be left for another day.

29. #29 by abunsui on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 5:01 pm

benny : “This umno led govt will never learn from the election result and still being arrogant”.

The rakyat should throw the arrogant UMNO/BN leaders to Kamunting or Tanjung Rambutan. May be they are SICK or MAD.

If ISA still there when PR take over make sure new Internal Security Minister of PR put them to Kamunting before it repealed. If they come out from Kamunting and still not repent, then put them in Tanjung Rambutan Hospital of Guantanamo Bay forever unless they want to be PR ambassador to Mongolia (or servant for Altantuya family).

Someone from UMNO PR can be appointed as Imam Hadhari in Zimbabwe if “qualified”.

30. #30 by abunsui on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 5:03 pm

Correction for last para : Someone from UMNO can be appointed as Imam Hadhari in Zimbabwe if “qualified”.

31. #31 by JeyS on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 5:04 pm

I am disappointed with the supporters of HINDRAF for what they did however i am not so thrilled with the news report too. They love to spin and spin they DO!

These supporters should have at least been a bit more polite and handled the situation properly and not behaved like a gangster. Then again whose to say that this act was not instigated by some pro-MIC gangsters?

Anything is possible …….

32. #32 by abunsui on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 5:22 pm

If BN Components give majority support to Abdullah – its CONFIRM the Gerakan, MCA, MIC, SUPP, and all other BN components are more than “COWARD” + “IDIOT”

Not qualified to be leaders of the Nation. Members of these COWARD BN Components LEADERS – PLEASE LEAVE THEM ALONE!!!

33. #33 by waterfrontcoolie on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 5:25 pm

It looks like benny and JeyS have two different versions of the same incident. What now? surely one is not telling the truth! If JeyS is telling the truth then, Hindraf Reps should have some lesson in how to handle the ‘diplomatic’ protocol of the game!
    We ordinary Malaysians are dreaming of some kind of open democracy akin to that of our colonial Master’s but are we ready for it?. The few incidents at PR controlled States have created some doubts that similiar BN acts would not be repeated all over again!
    Even in Klang, my tea drinking partners are openly mentioning names of some importance representing Klang constituent of dubious behaviour in getting things approved. I still hold some doubt over such claims. It is the hope of the average Malaysians that the repeat of the recent past does not happen!
    If it does, then whether ISA is on or off would have no bearing to the average citizens!!

34. #34 by Kulim Folk on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 6:14 pm

What a pity to Hindraf who have taken so much trouble in designing the greeting card. In the 1st place, ISA sholud not exists in our so call Democratic Country. Those who have break the law should be prosecuted in court and let the justice takes its course. A person is not guilty until proven by court. It’s a cruel animal act by shielding behind the ISA to fulfill his hiden agenda. We know the funny minister will continues his funny acts as long as we malaysians are happy to see it. One would wonder why our funny minister is so creative and innovative to the extent that even the students from the creative art college need to learn from him.

35. #35 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 6:32 pm

the entire echelon of UMNO is the glaring failure of NEP: corruption, cronyism, racism and perhaps murder

36. #36 by nkeng11 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 6:35 pm

For 50 years UMNO .. the rest of the component party with impunity and … Lah cannot accept a little protest from Hindraf? They protest on the road, police set up road blocks and inconvenienced everyone.

They asked their Indian leader to speak, he speak non

37. #37 by nkeng11 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 6:57 pm

continue… my mother came into my room just now he..he..hee.

Indians asked Samy to speak but he speak 3 and 4.
    chinese asked liong sik to speak but he speak with forked tongue.

How?

Speak in open house also cannot!

38. #38 by ShiokGuy on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 6:59 pm

The last decent thing Pak Lah can do is to correct the wrong.. Release ISA Detainees, RPK and others

http://shiokguy.blogspot.com/2008/09/isa-protest-do-it-now.html

Dear Pak Lah! Let go down history as Bapak Of The Righteousness

Shiok Guy

39. #39 by anxious on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 7:01 pm

As brought up by our YB, it’s been 7 full months since the political tsunami in March 2008. Being a Malaysian, I’m sure a lot of my patriotic pals were happy with the results on that day. However, being in neutral standing, I had kept an open mind as to what PR and BN governments are capable of. Unfortunately, time again proved that our BN government had given up their hope in winning back their support in a democratic way. Allowing the guilty person in the “penumpang” issue to roam free while the reporter was picked up for investigation, will probably top it all of. I’ve long anticipated that RPK will one day be locked up in ISA. It did not come to me as a surprise. ISA should have long been discredited. But by reverting all cases into the hands of justice, how sure are we about this? We do not have a public jury system. Is our justice system truly stand alone without influence?

40. #40 by monsterball on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 7:05 pm

Abdullah has lost his own bearings…do not know what to do or say…so confused…and nothing make sense to him…right now….except..to focus….with his present fickle minded and confused….attitudes.
    He is at this position…due to trusting others…giving him all sorts of advises…now exposing his real self…useless PM.
    To expect him to do the best right act….to free the ISA detainees…is like asking a miracle……..but miracles do happen….lets watch.

41. #41 by ctc537 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 7:22 pm

It’s time for PM AAB to right the wrongs made by BN that he has led for the past five years or he will regret it for the rest of his life.

42. #42 by Malaysian Always on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 7:24 pm

I condone Hindraf’s brilliance for knowing what occasion to utilise to maximise the impact of their demands.

ch: so just because it’s a festive celebration we should disregard all problems that the country is facing and pretend as though everything is rosy daisy? pls la that is exactly the reason why this country has gone down the drain. instead of holding and open house and spending tax-payer’s money, he should concentrate on fixing our problems, and work through the festive holidays, just like i was.

43. #43 by kerajaan.rakyat on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 8:48 pm

Dear YB Lim,

Marked my words.
    Abdullah Badawi will NOT step down..!!!

Bik Mama crying for help.

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/

44. #44 by just a moment on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:07 pm

Sorry YB Kit, side track on RPK’s support.

Day 2, arrived about 12pm, court hearing began at 12.30pm till 1.30pm already drizzling then. Met 2 interesting true supporters. A man told me he left home very early to ensure he gets a seat for he is comitted to follow thru the entire case. Very early means reaching the court house before 8am?
    I simply asked him about the jam, he replied, not really a problem coz he came by bus. Bus? Where from? From Serembean!!! And this is his secound day here. That blew me away. Wow, Then another chap join us and told us there were another fellow yesterday came from Malacca!! Man, Thats what I call YES! Action Supporter!!
    Here’s the deal ppl, Another lawyer (who took leave) amongst us is such a darling. He will drop by to ensure seats in court are never empty. Should there be ppl who needs it. He’ll gladly give up his seats and come back later just in case there are not enough supporter! Can you beat that? I tell you ppl. We never know what kindness is all about. I’m humbled by this experience.
    This case may take us right thru Thu or even Fri. I urge all of you, – Just take 2 hrs off, come and lend your support. We take turns to make sure RPK is never short of friends ‘When In Need’.This is truly One Bangsa thing. No worries about T shirts. You’ll find one once you’re there. History in the making. Be part of it for RPK, family and your next generation sake (childrens?)!

45. #45 by Ling Mazen on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:12 pm

He was made to say it,he is not the pm but a spokesman for umno.Why say it after so many days have passed?

46. #46 by Loh on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:14 pm

The 308 tsunami started with Hindraf earthquake. AAB has to leave the most important post in Malaysia, in weeks if not days. The beautiful airplane that takes him to Australia will soon be memory. The more he thinks of the good life the position of PM brought, the more angry he gets with the 308 results. Hindraf will be his eternal source of sufferings. AAB cannot forget his good life, so he would not forgive Hindraf, and its supporters. AAB might even be regretting that those charged with murder were not pursued to its legal conclusion.

47. #47 by veddy.lum74 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:16 pm

you know what he said?
    he talked like a mentally retarded guy:”raya ini kita mesti bergembira,bersukaria,makan sama-sama,minum dan main sama-sama,mereka langsung tak faham raya ini mesti buat begitu ke?”

ask him if his son ,daughter ,SIL or grandson being jailed under ISA,would he still have the mood to have fun?
    (this type of bustard,never put themselves in other ppl’s position,like when he suddently increased 70 cents of petrol price,he didnt give a damn thought on the ordinary rakyat that are going to suffer from inflation!)
    maybe,to him,fun is more important than freedom or justice!really pathetic!

48. #48 by ablastine on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:37 pm

If this type of people has brain to think, Malaysia would not be what it is today. They are living in their own UMNO and racist world. Unfortunately for these racists, the minority groups themselves make up more than 40% of the country. I am just wondering whether these idiots have found themselves a place to run and hide when they get kicked out of the Federal Government in the next election. If not they better get ready to eat their own ISA medicine.

49. #49 by human1 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:43 pm

Have you noticed? Samy Vellu is using psychology on the appeal of the HINDRAF 5 release issue, in attempt to win back the hearts of the Indians in this country.

If Syed Hamid releases the HINDRAF 5, MIC will take the credit for all the hard negotiations with the prime minister and home minister.

If Syed Hamid continues to play dumb and keep them under detention, MIC on the other hand will play the blame game. We should expect Samy Vellu pointing his finger at the HINDRAF supporters for all their misbehaviours, which have jeopardized the rescue effort of MIC.

At this point, Samy will probably say his failure is due to the actions from HINDRAF. It is his true genius in playing the cards, to show the Indian community that race-based politics is pretty much relevant in Malaysia, that MIC has always stood up to champion the needs of its community.

You may ask the MIC’s position in regard to the injustice done to other races. YES, you are right. NO, we have never heard Samy Vellu begging the government to release other non Indian ISA detainees no matter what the cause is. YES, not even a word, Sammy couldn’t CARE LESS.

He seems to be talking to the wrong audience. Neither Abdullah nor Syed Hamid had shown any interest to his appeal. Similarly, they couldn’t CARE LESS.

See, this is POLITICKING in Malaysia.

50. #50 by Anak Msia on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:49 pm

i don’t understand why Pak Lah, as the PM, expect the kin of the ISA to thank him for locking up their husband; father; son ????

i thought Pak Lah is a caring PM, Pls think if your son or wife under ISA, whta would you do or react, we are all human and have love. Please should us your love to the rakyat and release all the ISA, they do no harm to our society.

51. #51 by veddy.lum74 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:57 pm

p…lah is very similar to taiwan ex-president chen swi-bian,he better not tendering his resignation,otherwise,he has to face the thorough punishments by the rakyat which failing to perform as a productive pm,and corrupt to the core too!

p. .lah was very-very unhappy because according to his schedules,this 2008 is a wonderfull year for him!:
    January:sydney,new zealand,
    Feb.:hongkong,taiwan,macao,
    Mac:bangkok(still managed to skip 3 days 3 nights eventhough is GE-12!)
    April:usa,canada,
    May:bosnia,turky,egypt,iran,iraq,

June:Bollywood,Calcata,Calcuta,sri lanka,
    July:whole of europe
    August:whole of africa,
    September:brazil,columbia,venezuela,peru,chile,argentina,
    October:Rusia and china
    November:Dubai
    December:gold coast!

wow,how nice to become a malaysian prime minister,spending the stupid rakyat’s money like nobody business!

but,luckily,his plans failed,he really hates anyone that prevents him from going abroad,even they are UMNO warlords!

52. #52 by cemerlang on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:59 pm

Information minister said that the house might not be opened for visitors due to security threats. Well, this will definitely further worsen the relationship between the different races, between the government and the common people. P.M. was not attacked in any way and funnily, he did not even know that the Hindraf was there or he pretended not to give a sheet. Nobody would want to attack someone who is sleeping because a sleeping person is not in an attack mood. All the Hindraf wanted was to give a letter to him to read. That’s all. Who would be so stupid to start a fight there and then knowing that there are so many supporters rallying around P.M. ? Once again, set all the ISA detainees free and let them have their voices heard openly in a genuine court of law. The stone age was long gone and now we are civilized. Let Malaysians do things in a civilized, first world mentality way. Please. Please. Please. We have been to space and therefore we are more than civilized.

53. #53 by charlesbronsonjr on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 10:34 pm

Hey abunsui, by putting them at kamunting or tanjung rambutan makes you same busuk hati level like these leaders. if i to become PM,i will abolish the ISA demolish the kamunting camp and for tanjung rambutan hospital,i will upgrade it to institiute of mental health to really cure mental disease not to simply put people inside for revenge.

54. #54 by raven77 on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 10:37 pm

What to doooo…… The man is devoid of all reality…..With what conscience can you have a party while incarcerating another in a cell….PM Badawi is neither tough nor alert to what’s going around him….for 50 years the not so bright Indians toiled for the BN……in the end he just couldnt solve their problems and put all the blame on Velu instead of taking the initiative to help………

55. #55 by vsp on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 10:43 pm

vsp Says:
    Today at 22: 37.24 (3 minutes ago)
    limkamput & adam yong ibni abdullah:
    You two lousy dogs barking at the wrong tree!
    Ask yourselves: who is the government? who is controlling the purse string and with it the resources to get things done? who control all the instruments of the state? who create all the mess that we are facing today?
    If the BN cannot solve all these problems after 51 years of ruling this country, you expect Pakatan, with their hands tied behind their backs to do wonders in 6 months?
    Get real man!
    There are many governments with only a slim majority and yet they can govern their countries in cooperation with the Opposition. But here in Bolehland with a strong majority, still they are fighting like cats and dogs. These are the people you should be barking at.

56. #56 by batuputeh on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 11:10 pm

i completely echo ch’s viewpoint.

open house gathering has become a tradition unique only to us Malaysian. there is no restriction to anyone to come & each one come to join others in celebrating this festive moment – regardless if it’s raya, deepavali, cny, or any other occasions. foe & friend alike come with the same intention. there is nothing about politic, it is way above race, there is no other agenda accept for celebrating the moment together. that what set it so unique w/ our open house tradition. It is a symbol of our unity in this diverse culture. We got to respect that. Sad to see that the group are all donned in orange & clearly come w/ diff agenda. You want to get your voice heard, you got to be respected. and you only earn your respect by giving yours first.

i understand the emotion & the urge to act, but in no way it was right to do what had happened. i’m sure there are many brilliant ppl in the group that would find hundreds more ways that are better & far more effective avenue to deliver the msg.

it was for a noble cause, but was done in wrong way. dead wrong.

57. #57 by vsp on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 11:37 pm

batuputeh:

You want to get your voice heard, you got to be respected. and you only earn your respect by giving yours first.

BN respect your voice? BN itself does not know this philosophy of respect in the first place. Respect is not in their dictionary.

As far as I know BN has never shown any amount of charity to their opponents even in their hours of glory and triumphs. All that they exhibit are to lust for even more power and cruelty.

They are not even civilised. By sticking to the ISA they are showing that they are the prosecutor, accuser and judge all rolled into one monstrous creature that don’t understand about justice, humility and human decency.

58. #58 by Boneka on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 11:51 pm

To be fair to our beloved PM, most probably he would like to release the Hindraf Five but I think he hasn’t the authority to “order” the botha head Syed Hamid to obey him. He can’t insist too, for the botha could arrest him under ISA. The botha head has been let loose – to say what he likes, to do what he likes and PM is not in a position to rein him in. But Badawi deserves to be in this position – for not acting decisively in issues he should have. Being indecisively and ‘flip-flopping’ has made him into a weak and incapable leader. BUT IF COULD ACHIEVE THIS ONE FEAT – RELEASE THE HINDRAF FIVE WILL BE AN ACT OF GREAT LEADERSHIP FROM SOMEONE WHO LACKS IT. HE WOULD HAVE AT LEAST, IN ONE TINY WAY, DEPART AS PM FOR ALL (MALAYSIANS) AND MOST PROBABLY HE WOULD BE REMEMBERED FOR SOMETIME. YAB BADAWI PLEASE DO ONE RIGHT THING BEFORE YOU BID FAREWELL – PLEASE RELEASE THE HINDRAF FIVE AND THE FIGHTER OF WRONGS- RAJA PETRA. THESE GREAT GUY HAVE NOT DONE ANY WRONG AND YOU KNOW IT. MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND OUR HEROES!

59. #59 by limkamput on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:07 am

VSP, what sh!t is vsp? Is it a lousy … I guess so. I suggest you go read properly first before putting your . comments here. You are equating PR with BN, are you? It shows you are moron. I am not interested. I expect PR to do better, period, despite whatever constraints they face. Right now it is just blaming game, with nothing to show.

Before i go, i just want to let you know that dogs are obviously better than sh!t, what more it is . ..sh!t like you.

60. #60 by limkamput on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:11 am

BY the way, . sh!t @ vsp, the last time i check PR are the governments in five states, some highly industrialised and urbanised.

61. #61 by BloodSucker on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:15 am

I just love your sarcastic words towards Pak Lah in this blog. Give him more. Thumbs up!

Hindraf detainees will have to dream hard expecting an early release since Pak Lah has negative comments about their supporters. Similar, he has promised Malaysians to “work with him” since 2004 but end up most Malaysians worked dam hard to pay taxes for his top civil servant perks and remunerations as well as high prices increase inflation today. Malaysians thanked him for sleeping in his jobs and his poor governance to let his flip flop policies ran by UMNO/BN goonies in a corrupt goverment. Malaysians cant voiced out loud because ISA is ready to silent your mouth without trial and given “dog” foods in a small cell.

The best alternative is to change the fed govt by the People Power today.

62. #62 by katdog on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:18 am

Sigh! more politics. It seems like we like to only discuss issues that provide good political mileage.

Don’t get me wrong i am not saying that such issues should not be brought up, but frankly i worry that such issues are the only ones that is being looked at as PR busies itself to try and take over the government.

It seems that people would rather fuss over statements made by AAB against the etiquette of Hindraf than to bring up issues on the recent floods that not only have damaged property but cost the LIVES of several Malaysians.

It seems that we are more interested in discussing the eurocopter (which IMHO is a good choice to replace the Nuri) deal that is linked to big political names than to discuss about the Health Ministry’s inept handling of the melamine contamination that poses a potential threat to the LIVES of Malaysians. Already Taiwan has identified foodstuff FROM Malaysia containing hazardous levels of melamine.

I worries me that it seems many parties appear to be only interested in pursuing political issues rather than issues that may have impact to the lives of ordinary Malaysians.

63. #63 by vsp on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:20 am

limkamput:

O ya? Who do you pay your taxes to? To Pakatan? Moron, the BN still control the purse strings.

You can wax lyrical about what must be done but if the funds are blocked, things just don’t get moving

64. #64 by melurian on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:49 am

i noticed so many hypocrites over here! “Pls think if your son or wife under ISA, whta would you do or react” if the detainee really care for his family, he wouldn’t involve in the activity that could jeopardize the nation! do you know isa too is detaining some “alleged” ji members, some gangsters, some national document forger! is like the family of murderer and thief pleading to release his son by citing his son and wife! and why don’t you think about razak baginda wife, daughter and father while he locked in sungai buloh for over 2 years! he was charged of “abetting” murder and without bail (not that he brandishing gun and bomb and committed the murder_, and how dangerous this man could be on street!

speaking of hindraf, aab mentioned it is “haram”, and they have the guts to whack polis too! “Mereka juga mengadakan tunjuk perasaan besar-besaran di Kuala Lumpur dan terlibat dalam beberapa insiden keganasan yang menyaksikan anggota polis dipukul sehingga cedera.” and don’t you think this warrant them for ISA!!!!! and this comment will be unfairly blocked coz it differs from the hypocrites!!!!!!!!

65. #65 by melurian on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:56 am

during sino-tibetan affair, some hypocrites criticized tibetans for making use olympic to highlight their plight. now aab opened house which should be enjoyed and cherished and celebrated and yet some “pertubuhan haram” (utusan quote) taking advantage to gatecrush, putting aab awkward and embarassing position! and the hypocrites hailed the gatecrusher, apalah…..

66. #66 by monsterball on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 1:14 am

Yes!!…That will be fun…to hear Dollah says…..”I will not step down”
    That will give UMNO Supreme Council hypocrites and actors..something to think about.
    In the history of UMNO…not one President have been voted out.
    Dollah allowed free elections for all posts.
    Had he followed what Mahathir did…no one will blame him..to be President..UNOPPOSED!!
    So..in UMNO…freedom give by the President…is working.
    I hope Dollah is man enough…to be a man of his words…stand up to anyone…going for his post.
    Since EVERYONE is fighting for Vice President….held by Najib…this is actually forcing Najib to go against Dollah..OR.. he also need to stand up and fight his post…OR… quit.
    Dollah and Najib….seems to be co-operating with each other.
    So both should stand up and protect their positions.
    Only this way…you will have a stronger UMNO in the future.
    Anyway….tomorrow is Deciding Day …for Dollah!!

67. #67 by isahbiazhar on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:14 am

We do not want the Indians in Malaysia to be forced to become like what the LTTE is doing in Sri Lanka.If the government fails to solve the problems of Indians it would be a major catastrophe for Malaysia.We also do not want India to interfere into the plights of the Indians in Malaysia.India could have classified the Indians in Malaysia as NRIs but at the insistence of Sakty Velloo it was thwarted.Now Samy Velloo is regretting.At least the government of India with such large reserves of foreign exchange could have given the billions that Malaysian government failed to do so to its citizen of Indian origin.The rights of Hindraf should be respected.Even the Chinese in Malaysia had become vocal and very soon they will ask the government to give their share.Umno will not give in and so the possibility of winning the next election under BN is nil.The next government will be fair to all and that is what the citizens are waiting.

68. #68 by taiking on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 8:51 am

What the hindraf members did was not quite proper. But look. The detention of 5 of their numbers is illegal. The hindraf movement may be unlawful. Then again, the movement came about because those bottom class citizens of malaysia have no other channel through which they could communicate with the elected umno servants.

The point is if they had not been ignored and marginalised then hindraf would not exist and the embarassing incident during badawi’s open house would not happen.

We chinese in malaysia have been grumbling and protesting all these while (of course not through mca). Now the indians too are grumbling and protesting.

Look at the number of young kampung folks now living and working in the city. They would have the same economic and financial needs like everyone else. And being non-umnoputras, they would experience the same difficulties like everyone else in satisfying their needs. Like everyone else they would be unhappy with the umno government. And they will bring their unhappy stories back home to their kampung. They too have began to grumble and protest.

A government that cannot respond to this basic situation, does not deserve to govern.

69. #69 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:22 am

Of all Sdr. Lim’s suggestion for last action by Badawi, this one makes the most sense. Its also doable. His main obstacle would only be Syed Hamid who would not just do as told.

In some ways Hindraf 5 represents in some small ways at least everything that Badawi Agenda failed to do whether its the corruption, the police, the judiciary, Islam Hadhari etc. Free Hindraf and let Hindraf grow, and those that have opposed him on his agenda have to deal with it sooner or later leaving his legacy ultimately intact.

Its why I find well, again dissapointing, that he chose to look at Hindraf’s action negatively – that he cannot see the ‘disrespect’ versus the ‘obscenity’ that is heaped upon the Indians. Again, the man keep thinking that things are as bad for those who cries for change. Saying ‘not wishing Hari Raya’ is like saying why are the Jews always talking about the Holocaust or slavery is not so bad because the blacks in America are better off in US/ than in Africa. The man is, despite his religiosity, a racist…

70. #70 by Jeffrey on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 2:36 pm

YB Kit,

Why nudge the PM complete reforms on his own against backdrop of his own party’s warlords and power brokers seeking to push him out and obstructing him – when it is you, Anwar and Opposition Pakatan Rakyat with 88 MPs who hold the trump card to take matters in your hands and make things work?

We don’t need 31 crossovers from Sabah & Sarawak kataks to make things work. 16th September has come and gone and Anwar could not deliver. It is time to think of the box when dealing with a strong political adversary like the BN, 50 years in power.

All you need – I suggest – are 31 UMNO & BN MPs desirous of Ahmad Abdullah Badawi “to stay” as PM until 2010 to replace – in substitution – of the 31 BN kataks who never jumped.

I suggest when Parliament resumes on 13th October, Pakatan Rakyat with its 82 members move a motion of confidence for Ahmad Abdullah Badawi “to stay” as PM until 2010 [whether or not he contests or give up contest of UMNO’s president post, remains or not remain as President of UMNO].

82 PR MPs plus 30 + BN MPs on PM’ side will carry the motion “to stay” as PM until 2010 [whether or not he contests or give up contest of UMNO’s president post, remains or not remain as President of UMNO] – meaning also whosoever who subsequently becomes or gets elected as UMNO’s president cannot follow convention to be a replacement PM since the post of PM of government is governed by Federal Constitution as distinct from the post of UMNO’s president governed by UMNO’s constitution, and according to the Federal Constitution the PM’s position must be given to he who, in Yang di Perttuan Agong’s judgment, commands the majority of Dewan Rakyat, with no distinction whether they are BN or Opposition’s MPs or mixed combination of both.

I will suggest reasons for my suggestion in subsequent posts. :)

And acc

71. #71 by shadow on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 5:41 pm

Mr.PM,
    Please release the HINDRAF5 and RPK from the ISA detention camp before you leave. You’ll be become the champion of the Indians and Malaysians. You’ll be remembered and blessed by everyone. After leaving your position as the PM, wherever you go you’ll be appreciated. Position comes and goes but GOOD name comes once in a life time. So use your power wisely and leave gracefully. To me YOU’RE A GOOD HUMAN. God bless you.

72. #72 by batuputeh on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 9:26 pm

vsp:

so what is your point?
    if BN is not civilized, dont hv respect in their dict, dont understand justice/humility/human decency etc etc…
    then is the action of those group reflect the opposite? no! it just show that they’re the same & no better than BN – not civilized, dont hv respect in their dict, dont understand justice/humility/human decency etc etc… SAME!

giving our respect doesnt meant we’re weaker & submissive to our foe. it shows our maturity & putting us a level higher than them.

what happened was a wrong action in their part. dead wrong. there is no excuse & nothing justify it.

# vsp Says:
    Yesterday at 23: 37.09

batuputeh:

You want to get your voice heard, you got to be respected. and you only earn your respect by giving yours first.

BN respect your voice? BN itself does not know this philosophy of respect in the first place. Respect is not in their dictionary.

As far as I know BN has never shown any amount of charity to their opponents even in their hours of glory and triumphs. All that they exhibit are to lust for even more power and cruelty.

They are not even civilised. By sticking to the ISA they are showing that they are the prosecutor, accuser and judge all rolled into one monstrous creature that don’t understand about justice, humility and human decency.

73. #73 by truemalaysian57 on Thursday, 9 October 2008 - 10:59 pm

There has been much talk of the heroism of the Hindraf 5 and people especially from the indian community pratically worships them as the liberators. But those who have put on the thinking cap, will realise that Hindraf has made a fool of everyone especially the poor. One has only to read the memorandum to the Queen and also the 18 points demand as well as the allegations of genocide and ethnic cleasing to realise how we have been taken for a ride by the H5 supremos.

All of my indian friends from childhood days are very much better off from our father’s and grandfather’s time. They have a good jobs and their standard of living have improved from their childhood days. The only ones who are affected were those ignored by the indian community itself. There are the indian in the estates who were exploited by Indians managing the estates. Then there are the poor indians whose families are torn apart by the drunken head of the house and the surrounding which is not conducive.There are many more examples which i can quote that actually brought the downfall of indian community. This are the same problems are faced by the malay communities and that is why there are many poor malay families despite them being a priviledged lot.

Let us ask ourselves sincerely, is not Hindraf a tinderbox?? Their views are extremely extremist and their actions are very erratic and irresponsible. If the government were to free the H5, then it would be simply granting them victory to do more damages to the country and very particulary to the indian society.
    The goverment did the right thing in arresting the H5 and therefore prevented the country from being engulfed in a damaging situation.

The DPM has apologised on behalf of the PM to the indian community, Hishamuddin has apologised for waving the keris but when are the leaders of Hindraf going to apologise for tarnishing the image of the country.

Why till to-date, there is not even one opposition party leaders who is brave enough to question the Hindraf leaders?

What are they fighting for ?? Is their struggle really for the poor poor indians? How will their 18 points demand improve the lot of poor indians? What is their defintions of poor indians? How are they going to change the mindset of the indians if they keep blaming the govt for the problems faced by indians?
    What is their vision and mission?
    Have they forgotten that there are many more poor malays than indians as well as poor chinese too in this country??

Maybe perhaps if Hindraf is ready to apologise for their actions and ready to work with other parties e.g MIC, PPP, etc etc for the betterment of the indian community, then we can confidently call for their release from the ISA detention.

At the end of day, we should see and know the elements that is trying to destroy the peace and unity of this country and pro-actively reject the so-called elements that can destroy 50 years of nation building in a single day.

All i ask is that the society be informed of the true nature of Hindraf. Just as we criticise the government for their failings and shortcomings, let us also be fair to all sides and fairly investigate the claims of Hindraf in the so-called documents and memorandum it issued in december 2007. Let us not be freed from the chains of the ruling elitist only to be held hostage by the so-called “struggles” of Hindraf.

74. #74 by malaymind on Monday, 13 October 2008 - 4:26 pm

Well, some will say desperate condition will yield desperate measures.

However, the govt so far had been given opportunity for the Indian to use the proper channel to voice out their dissatisfaction.

Even with baseless accusation that UMNO is killing indian everyday, the govt had not react. So as the Indians who knew the truth about it.

Before wild accusations take place and the condition is irreversible, ISA should be used.

Everything has its limit.