Abdullah – “to be or not to be”

For the past week and the next five days, the nation’s top question is the Shakespearean one: “To Be Or Not To Be.”

Will Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi shock Umno and Malaysians by acting completely out of character by announcing before October 9 that he has had enough of being pushed around by Umno heavyweights, that the ultimatum of the “926” Umno Supreme Council emergency meeting is the “last straw” and he will defend the post of Umno President in the March Umno party elections?

The overwhelming majority of Malaysians do not expect Abdullah to give such an answer to his Shakespearean dilemma of “To Be Or Not To Be” to defend the dignity of the office of Prime Minister from being publicly humiliated by party politicos – although there are Putrajaya fourth-storey boys who are urging him to do just that.

Even if Abdullah is to bow to the ultimatum of the Umno warlords and announce before Oct. 9 that he will not defend the post of Umno President and will step down as Prime Minister next March, let Abdullah not exit as a lameduck Prime Minister but write a glorious reform programme for police, judiciary, anti-corruption, ISA and press freedom in his last six months in office.

The least Abdullah should do is to redeem the failures of his many reform pledges in the past five years by carrying out a wide-ranging reform programme in five areas in his last six months in office, by ensuring that the following are accomplished before he leaves the Putrajaya corridors of power next March:

• Police – establish the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC).

• Judicial Appointments Commission and in the meanwhile, no appointment of an UMNO Chief Justice which will plunge the country into a new era of judicial darkness and scandal.

• Total revamp of the Anti-Corruption Agency and the anti-corruption legislation to set Malaysia on the path as one of the world’s least corrupt nations.

• Release Raja Petra Kamaruddin, the Hindraf Five and all other Internal Security Act (ISA) detainees and repeal the ISA; and

• Repeal Printing Presses and Publications Act and enact Freedom of Information Act to ensure a free and independent media to establish Malaysia as a cutting-edge information and knowledge nation.

Abdullah can make next Wednesday, October 8, a historic day by tabling in the Cabinet the six-month reform programme to commit every Minister to support and implement the reform measures before the end of his premiership next March.

Ministers who are not prepared to give unequivocal support to the six-month reform programme should be asked to resign from the Cabinet or be sacked, to be replaced by those who are prepared to make the next six months a memorable half-year in the 51-year history of the nation.

1. #1 by dawsheng on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:38 am

To love all, trust a few, and do harm to none?

2. #2 by robert wong on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:54 am

Deep down in his conscience Pak Lah wants to push for reform but bogdown by the 4th floor boys and power-craze comrades. It’s no surprise that Pak Lah will defend his post in 926. The open letter by Zaid has said it all.
    I would say ‘ LOVE YOUR ENEMIES AS YOURSELF’.

3. #3 by ahluck on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:56 am

PM abdullah steping down on the 19th October 2008. this will make a difference! rumours in malaysia always comes true.
    alot of comment on hindraf at PMs open house. If they don’t see him there where else? PM won’t meet needy people. he sleeps. No choice for needy people but to see him on Hari Raya. If he has released all ISA detainee, no problem like this will crop up.

sorry for divertion of topic.

4. #4 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:07 am

Dear Kit,

Methinks you are guilty of MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING. What’s happening in Malaysia is really THE COMEDY OF ERRORS. Let the TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA/PUTRAJAYA slug it out for the post of prime minster.

Hopefully, this tragic comedy or comic tragedy will have a favourable ending and ALL’S WELL THAT ENDS WELL, and not turn into A MIDSUMMER NIGHT’S DREAM/NIGHTMARE.

;)

5. #5 by HJ Angus on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:14 am

Don’t forget Shakepeare’s other plays like Julius Caesar and the assassination by members of his own Cabinet.

I only studied Macbeth and I think we have a few people who match some of the characters – notably Lady Macbeth.
    “All the perfumes of Arabia will not sweeten this little hand.”

That was done in 1964 – so I guess that shows how good our Lit teachers were!

6. #6 by CSKUEH on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:15 am

I just want to dedicate this poem which I composed recently to everyone especially to the motorists and drivers.

“At all times esp. this festive season
    Do take heed of the following lesson
    Ensure your trip is planned properly
    And that your car is roadworthy
    When you are on the long journey
    Be alert and drive carefully
    Do not drive at a great pace
    As if you are taking part in a race
    When you get tired and sleepy
    Take a break, have tea or coffee
    Do not neglect your own safety
    And also that of your family
    It is better late than never
    Rather than to be gone forever
    Do not let anything go amiss
    Your aim is to arrive in one piece
    Selamat Hari Raya Aidilfitri
    To all, wherever you may be”

HAPPY MOTORING.

7. #7 by taikohtai on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:33 am

AAB was never PM material. He is PM by default. He was hand picked by TDM because he was so docile that he could not reveal anything untowards against TDM. Unfortunately, being such a light weight, AAB couldn’t keep the sheets down. And when the covers were blown away, the rakyat saw the rubbish that had been swept under all too often and for too long. AAB himself nearly got swept away by the tsunami in the clean-up.

DSAI? Now he’s all PM material but the foot soldiers of the dying BN regime are trying their best to outlive their fraudulant mandate. But no worries mate, there’s simply no turning back from here. The rakyats’ too entrenched to be hoodwinked this time as the stinking rats begin their slow exodus from the sinking BN titanic!

8. #8 by Godfather on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:37 am

Just let Badawi go in peace. UMNO isn’t about to make changes that you dream about.

9. #9 by yyh on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:38 am

what makes you think that he will effect the reforms before his departure in Mar 2009. he had 5 years to do that but failed miserably because he doesnt has the galls to stand up to the warlords. he will remain spineless and will exit disgracefully as the ‘do nothing talk only” PM.

10. #10 by captdillon on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:39 am

All of us are waiting for this anxious moment…….AAB vs DSAI vs NAR

11. #11 by kerajaan.rakyat on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:39 am

Dear YB Lim,

Whats your comment on this matter

Abdullah Ahmad Badawi received RM200 Million from the total of half a billion Ringgit commission that we alleged Razak Baginda got it from the submarine deal.

My source said Rosmah paid Abdullah RM200 million from the commission of the submarine deal. He however said nothing about Razak though.

The plot thickens. Dollah, Najib and Rosmah and RAJA PETRA KAMARUDDIN are innocent until proven guilty. The only different is our Raja Petra is in detention while the other three is running the country.

Read here:http://kerajaanrakyat.com/?p=1438

And here : http://malaysia-update.blogspot.com/2008/10/we-know-what-najib-and-spouse-did-last.html

12. #12 by biggun on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:43 am

Abdullah can never be what we want him to be, and he will be what we don’t want him ‘Not to be’, the worst nightmare for all the Malaysian to have PM like this, it took 3 days to teach a monkey how to climb the tree and pluck the coconuts, but it take year to tell the monster ‘Not to be’ carnivore and yet the bad habitual of him remains until today.

13. #13 by biggun on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:54 am

My daughter brought her daughter, i.e my grand daughter,she is 18 months old, for me to babysit her in september, during fasting month, she came in and crawl around the house, and I told her do not crawl ‘STAND UP and WALK’ and she stand up and walk all the way together with her mother to go back home on the eve of the Hari Raya Aidi Fitri, is Abdullah worst than an 18 months old child? God’s know!!!

14. #14 by Mr Smith on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:05 am

I think he will defend his post as it would seem foodhardy for him to walk out of Putrajaya so meekly when he is occupying the most powerful chair in the country. He is under illusion that he is still popular in the party.
    If indeed he had wanted to step down he could announced it on 926 instead of delaying it to Oct 9?
    As for reform, fat hopes. A man fighting for his political life is in no mood to think about the country. UMNO is all about self interests and self preservation.
    Asking Abdullah for reform is like asking a chicken to give milk and a cow to lay an egg.

15. #15 by wanderer on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:05 am

After three decades of immoral structures built by Tun M, we expect Abdullah to dismantle them in his last six months in office…it is asking for the impossible.
    A fine leader will take the challenge and makes hard decisions, to rid all the garbage in his administration…only then, he may stand a chance to reform all the tainted institutions in the land.
    Prime Minister, here is your opportunity to prove us all wrong and have a place in the Malaysian history.

16. #16 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:16 am

> Abdullah can make next Wednesday, October 8, a historic day by tabling in the Cabinet the six-month reform programme to commit every Minister to support and implement the reform measures before the end of his premiership next March.

what???????????????????? BN will keep staying until at least March?
    We want a change soonest and yet Uncle Lim hinted that there will be no change in the government, from BN to PR?

17. #17 by biggun on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:25 am

Abdullah need to REFORM before PERFORM, he need ‘Not to be’ before he ‘to be’, so a person who cannot PERFORM and yet we expect him to REFORM, ‘The old ugly frog dreaming of getting the moon’.

18. #18 by k1980 on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:25 am

To go or not be go, i.e. to walk out or to be carried out

19. #19 by jjireh99 on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:37 am

i agree with some of you that our pm CANNOT DO ANYTHING AND WILL NOT DO ANYTHING APART FROM SLEEP! Do you for once ever think that he will do the changes or reformed before he steps down after reading and hearing what everyone said about him negatively??? Well, he did always say, he “hears”, maybe in his dreams!!!! I’m sure he has got pride also. He will take it out on the rakyat for sure and for that matter, EVERYONE!!!! So, if I were you all, I’ll not put my best bet on him, not now or forever!

I agree with taikohtai, DSAI IS THE ONLY ONE WITH PM MATERIAL! PERIOD!!!

20. #20 by yhsiew on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:48 am

Abdullah’s five years in office has stalled the country’s progress. I think he should not defend the post of Umno President in the March Umno party elections. If UMNO remains in power, more qualified people like Ku Li or Muhyiddin should take on the PM post. If PR succeeds in forming the federal government then Anwar should hold the PM post.

Compared to all other former prime ministers, Abdullah has not brought much development to Malaysia while in office. If he were to continue to hold power for another five years, the country risks fall behind other rising stellar economies such as China, Vietnam and Thailand.

21. #21 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:54 am

If AAB is going to do what YB suggested, I wont mind AAB has a YES men Cabinet in order to implement all the reforms which are much overdued!!!
    AAB will be remembered as the Father Of Reformations if he indeed carried out all the suggestions!!! Time will tell!!!
    AAB should JUST DO IT while he still has the POWER to carry out all these reformations!!!

22. #22 by pulau_sibu on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:56 am

The problem is those others in UMNO are worse than Abdullah.
    They are fighting for power and who cares about the people and country.
    It may be better to have Abdullah staying on and let umno go down to the drain, if no change in power will happen!

23. #23 by jeremiah on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:00 pm

A hunting analogy may illustrate YB LKS’s idea of the six month reform program.

When hunters have cornered their prey, they should allow the prey a narrow way of escape so that it does not fight to the death and cause injury to the hunters. Once the prey goes for the escape route, the hunters should give their best shot to capture it.

Similarly, if the BN empire is at its end as some commentators are saying, then let it have one more last chance to redeem itself vis-a-vis the reform agenda which the nation and rakyat is asking for.

Whoever gets to lead the reform agenda whether inside BN or outside has thebest chances of political survival.

24. #24 by hennesy on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:06 pm

AAB is a product of UMNO’s failed leadership ascension policy. Leaders should never be selected but always elected. No one would follow a leader whole heartedly if he/she does not command the respect of his followers. He was the last blunder made by TDM & poor AAB had to clean up his mess & take the blame.

25. #25 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:18 pm

May be it is time to analyse why AAB failed his PM ship for the past years!!! One of them is that he didnt “distribute” all the govt contracts to the UMNO warlords equally and in substantial amounts!!! He should have learnt from his Sifu TDM, once all the UMNO warlords are happy, he can become the most happy PM of all times, as whatever he said will be carried out in no time!!! When the warlords are happy, the “machai” of the warlords will be happy, too. When all these UMNO machai are happy, they will say that AAB is the “BEST” PM that Malaysia ever has!!!
    It is unlikely and impossible for AAB to carry out all the reformations required, as old habits died hard within UMNO, BN components & a big portion of the Rakyat!!! It requires a change of govt. to see significant reformations or transformations of the highest order!!! I forsee the diminishing of UMNO and the BN govt. by the next GE if they are able to keep Malaysia going before the next GE, else it is not just AAB has to go , but the whole BN govt has to go before the next GE!!!

26. #26 by taiking on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:18 pm

“AAB is a product of UMNO’s failed leadership ascension policy.”

I think its more like he is a product of umno’s foolish refusal to recognise and practise meritocracy.

27. #27 by homeblogger on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:24 pm

dawsheng Says:

Today at 09: 38.18 (2 hours ago)
    To love all, trust a few, and do harm to none?
    =========================

Right now it’s :
    To love a few, trust none and do harm to all.

Godfather Says:

Today at 10: 37.45 (1 hour ago)
    Just let Badawi go in peace. UMNO isn’t about to make changes that you dream about.
    =============================

yes. it’s not that Badawi doesn’t want reforms. He is one minion trying to fight a whole army of Tuans who see the only way to riches is via corruption, racism, upholding the NEP and ketuanan and NEVER, EVER worrying about the rakyat (a.k.a UMNO).

28. #28 by Jeffrey on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:30 pm

I wonder, how could “Ministers who are not prepared to give unequivocal support to the six-month reform programme be asked to resign from the Cabinet or be sacked”, and replaced by those supportive of reforms when it is the same powerful cabinet ministers themselves opposed to reforms who are indirectly forcing the PM to resign earlier???

What about the other course – to resign government and precipitate a general election?

As Hamlet (Prince of Denmark) said, “something is rotten in the state of Denmark” so it is here, something is rotten in the state of Malaysia but the question here is : will our Malaysian prince, AAB, “suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune” and resign or , like Hamlet, “take arms against a sea of troubles, and by opposing, end them” ?

In Shakespeare’s Hamlet, Prince Hamlet eventually takes the latter course.

After initial indecision of “to be or not to be” soliloquy, Hamlet sets out to take revenge and fight King Claudius (who murdered Hamlet’s father by pouring poison in his ear), Claudius henchman, the prime minister Polonius, and Laertes, Polonius’ son in a sword duel….

In the end, all his enemies and Hamlet himself die – Hamlet, wounded by the sword tipped by poison, kills Claudius
    before he, too, dies.

That is why Shakespeare’s Hamlet is described as the classic example of a tragedy, in which the major elements of a tragedy are present.

As applied to our case it would be a tragedy for the Barisan Nasional if our Prince of Malaysia takes on everyone and go for broke in a general election where all his enemies including our Hamlet will (politically) die!

However unfortunately our man is no Hamlet, ok? :)

29. #29 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:32 pm

AAB should just do what he thinks is the best for Malaysia and ignores all the “sampah sarap” of UMNO!!! If need to, he can be a one member Cabinet PM of all times!!! He will be running all the ministries!!! I dont think he has any problem of doing that as the present one is no different from that as these sampah sarap are not helping him out but give him more headaches!!! One man show is possible under the present condition!!!

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:38 pm

In Hamlet play, Claudius, a consummate politician, guilty of plotting and killing of Hamlet’s father and seduction of his mother to usrp the throne dies in the end but in our case the Claudius(es) will likely live and reign fpor a long time to make the state more rotten!

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:39 pm

Oops – “to usurp the throne”

32. #32 by i_love_malaysia on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 12:45 pm

Which one is easier in terms of the no. of steps and time taken to effect real change to our country???

1. To change UMNO from within (do Rakyat has the power and influence???) and then change the country???

OR

2. To change the BN govt (the Rakyat has the power) and change the country???

The ANSWER IS CLEAR!!!

33. #33 by boh-liao on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 1:24 pm

The rot started a long time ago and it started with the head. And when the rotten head left office a number years ago, every public university in the land rushed to confer ridiculously absurd honorary degree to him.

When this current rotten head leaves office, we will see the circus again: same show, different recipient.

34. #34 by shadow on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 1:48 pm

I said before and I say now:

1. The leader who frees the HINDRAF leaders will be the champion of Indians. Is he the present PM or the next?
    2. The leader who abolishes the ISA will be the champion of the Malaysians. Present PM or the the next?
    3. The leader who brings down the Fuel prices soon will be champion of the RAKYAT. Present or the next PM?
    4. The leader who fights for the equal rights of the Malaysians will be the champion of the champions? WHO IS HE?

35. #35 by oknyua on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 2:01 pm

“… to be or not to be..”

UMNO:
    Therefore prepare thee to cut off the flesh,
    shed thee no blood; nor cut thou less, nor more,
    but just a pound of, be it but so much
    As makes it light or heavy in substance
    or the division of the twentieth part
    of one poor scruple, nay if the scale do turn
    But in the estimation of a hair
    Thous diest and all thy goods are confiscated…

AAB: Ah….???

That’s the scenario, YB Lim.

36. #36 by smashchye on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 2:07 pm

shud hev release rpk to do good deeds this raya..instead they habis their money doing useless things

37. #37 by Jimm on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 2:09 pm

all these are umno acts …
    who ever take the seat are merely a public figure ….
    they knew that the boiling lava will spill over one day ……….
    they main interest is to become rich and wealthy enough to live like a king…
    selfishness and greed have been their main agenda …
    as they make their wealth through all these ‘unlawful’ ways …
    they can never ever treasure their achievement …
    to the facts, they became more worries about their wealth and greed that they will do anything to stop anyone from coming in to share the cakes …
    they became animals …
    so, who ever to become the next pm .. as long they are from umno …
    it’s truly a disaster episode to witness ..
    the son of the evil pm whom ‘cheated’ to gained his position will have to pay for his father greed ….
    the son that never have the qualities and worst than the current pm mindset …
    is to be put up there to end their power control and pay the price ….

38. #38 by KennyGan on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 2:10 pm

It is clear that Abdullah will not throw all caution to the winds and take a reformist path for the good of Malaysians not only because it is a hugely challenging path to take for a lame duck PM but also because he does not have the interest of Malaysians at heart. His interest is in preserving his and his family’s interest beyond his premiership.

Although it looks like Abdullah will resign and Najib takes over, this is not a foregone conclusion as it is the prerogative of the King to appoint another PM, tempered by the practical need for the one chosen to be able to command confidence of the majority in the House.

If Anwar does command the majority as he claims, he can rightly petition the King to appoint him as PM. If not, the choice will fall to Najib as with Umno’s blessings, he alone commands the majority.

However, the King does have another option under the constitution and that is to dissolve Parliament and call for fresh elections. This he can do if he feels that Najib is unsuitable as PM given the controversy surrounding him.

Another reason for the King to call for fresh elections is to resolve the political stalemate and sniping between BN and the opposition once and for all with both sides agreeing to respect the decision of the rakyat so that the country can move forward.

39. #39 by gofortruth on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 2:35 pm

Is there a last kick left in AAB? I doubt it.

Sorry to digress, Syed Hamid won:-

Wednesday October 1, 2008
    Syed Hamid wins uncontested
    Compiled by V.P. SUJATA, LEE YUK PENG and A. RAMAN

HOME Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar won the Kota Tinggi Umno division head post uncontested after his challenger A. Malek A. Rahman’s membership was suspended, reported Utusan Malaysia.

Malek’s membership was suspended by the Umno disciplinary board chaired by Tengku Tan Sri Ahmad Rithaudeen Tengku Ismail for three years or one election term.

Prior to the suspension, Malek received 23 nominations and Syed Hamid 21 for the division head post.

Syed Hamid, who is also the MP of Kota Tinggi, said he hoped that the division would refrain from any act which could weaken the party.

He said the decision of the Umno disciplinary board enabled all Umno members in Kota Tinggi to look forward and serve the community.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/10/1/nation/2158549&sec=nation
    ———————-
    UMNO is truly rotting top to bottom.

40. #40 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 2:42 pm

yeah…AAB need to do something drastic to leave with head high. otherwise he will be best known as Bapa Penyangak Lagi Penipu Besar. what a wasteful 5 years…

41. #41 by k1980 on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 2:45 pm

Dollah should follow S. Hamid’s way of winning uncontested by suspending all those who get more nominations than him.

Syed Hamid Albar won the Kota Tinggi Umno division head post uncontested after his challenger A. Malek A. Rahman’s membership was suspended.Malek’s membership was suspended by the Umno disciplinary board chaired by Tengku Tan Sri Ahmad Rithaudeen Tengku Ismail for three years or one election term. Prior to the suspension, Malek received 23 nominations and Syed Hamid 21 for the division head post.

42. #42 by dawsheng on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 3:23 pm

“Just let Badawi go in peace.” – Godfather

More like letting him go in pieces.

43. #43 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 3:46 pm

For every Caesar that’s around
    Is there a Brutus to bring him down?
    Though this hypothesis may not seem sound
    Yet we see many a Caesar really drown

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 031008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Fri. 3rd Oct. 2008.

44. #44 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 3:50 pm

This thread is a futile excersise in second-guessing what is actually inevitable. AAB will announce this month that he will NOT be defending his post in March ’09. He will then be seen to be leaving on his own accord and with a “graceful/honourable” exit from the political scene.

There will be 2 other contenders for the top post (which will end with Najib winning unfortunately) and the DPM post will also see 2 contenders. AAB will then retire from his post in June ’09, giving the reigns over to Najib, whose position by that time will have become quite untenable.

It is a crying shame that AAB is more concerned about his reputation and “legacy” (or the lack of it) than the reputation and success of Malaysia!

45. #45 by pangwl88 on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 3:50 pm

UNCLE KIT…..WHERE IS DSAI?

46. #46 by ablastine on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 3:56 pm

It is not that AAB does not want to do something for the nation. It is just simply that he does not have the ability to do it given the best of circumstances. He does not have the killer’s instinct and devious means like the old mammak fox to undermine the power of every institution in the country including that of the monarchy so that they all bow to him. He is unable to strategize like Anwar. He doesn’t even have to courage to make any simply move like carrying out with any of the many reforms recommended here. He may as well not exist. His flip-flops are just a reflection of the many contending forces within his own inner circles. He simple does not have the faculty to make any decisions…. and my God he is our leader.

47. #47 by Johorean on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 4:18 pm

PM shouldn’t be decided by the few UMNO “leaders”. We the people should be able to decide who our PM is. We do not want to make the same mistake by letting the few decide an incompetent person to lead the nation.

48. #48 by rider on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 4:20 pm

AAB should decide to defend his position, then only, he could see the worst of the drama unfolding infront of his eyes, and if that doesn’t wake him up .. nothing will! We’d love a good climax!!

49. #49 by hurricanemax on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 4:52 pm

i dont give a flying banana on what he is going to do or not do. We have reached rock bottom and are preparing to drill!

For all Malaysians’ sake now and our future generations, make a firm decision and move forward!

This goes to the pakatan fella as well! Act as decent opposition, rule the 5 states well and we might just vote you in to rule the whole country next! pakatan must act as a shadow cabinet now! NOT fighting over itsy bitsy issues and telling lies like the barisan!

idiot!

50. #50 by js on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 5:53 pm

YB,

Please get Karpal to shut his mouth about the MP defection. We need change of government soonest possible for the sake of better Msia. Now, Penang state government keeps on asking for the fund from Federal, do you think the Federal will approve it? You also know the answer. Lim Guan Eng is struggling now as most of the plan cannot be implemented without fund allocation from Federal. Beside that,How about RPK? He will sure be freed if PR takes over the government.

51. #51 by HJ Angus on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 6:28 pm

The PM is going to brief BN leaders – hopefully they will decide to tell him they do not agree to the new “annointed” leaders and wish to re-negotiate their position in BN.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/10/malaysiakini-lesson-in-democracy.html

52. #52 by pathfinder on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 6:33 pm

You are asking lame duck to do the impossible. Anyway, I bet that AAB will come out fighting in defiance of those morons. I put it this way, there is non, and I mean non who can command the full support of the party, why then do you need to admit defeat without a fight. And don’t forget, AAB are fighting the morons..brainless…, please don’t get me wrong. I never mean that AAB is any better than morons but he have the 4th floor reckless idiots to depend on. Here we have reckless idiots vs brainless morons who’ll win. Your guess is as good as mine.

53. #53 by sikui on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 7:09 pm

‘like asking a chicken to give milk and a cow to lay an egg.”

then the cow will cock a cockodo and the chicken will moooooooo!!!!! in this Boleh land.

54. #54 by winterman05 on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 7:16 pm

” To DO or not to DO” should be the Prime Minister’s dilemma. Time is ticking; and he has promised to make an announcement before 9th October whether he will , or will not, contest the UMNO Presidency. He did seem to give a hint when he said that the decision would be HIS, and his alone! The ball is in his court. Will he kick the ball into his won goal?

Yes, though time is short and it is getting shorter by the day, he should FULFILL his PLEDGES in 2004 and beyond. REFORM was in his agenda; otehrwise, would he have picked Datuk Zaid Ibrahim to man the law ministry? He wouldn’t ! JAC is one of the vital items.

Will he be remembered in history as the MAN of INTEGRITY who shook up the JUDICIARY and made it independent? By forming the Royal Commisison of Enquiry on the Lingam Tape, he had shown that he seriously wanted to REFORM the Judiciary. Inspite of opposition from some quarters, he should BULLDOZE JAC! He should SACK those who oppose HIS AGENDA! That will stop the brickwall! Datuk Zaid has done his best; and he has RESIGNED to show his frustration that ISA was used against Raja Petra Kamaruddin, Teresa KOK and Madam Tan. And nothing happened to certain UMNO leaders whose remarks were more serious and damaging than the trio.

A leader must have GUTS to do the RIGHT, JUST, HONEST thing! What is there to be afraid of? If he is going out, let him go out with a BIG BANG!In fact, he could go down the wire and CONTEST
    the UMNO Presidency! FIGHT with his BOOTS on! That is the hallmark of a GREAT FIGHTER and GREAT LEADER! No one could push him around.

Then there is the ISA issue. IF there is NO evidence that a detainee was trying to destroy Malaysia, there si no reason to use the ISA. You do NOT use the ISA to detain POLITICAL leaders; that is hitting below the BELT. It is a COWARDLY way to tackle an Opposition leader. Was it fair to PUNCH, KICK and WOUND a BLIND-FOLDED, HANDCUFFED ANWAR I IBRAHIM; and almost killed him? Be a GENTLEMAN; and play fair!

Was it fair to detain the Sin Chew reporter for reporting the TRUTH? And what an absurd excuse given by the Home Minister:
    ” To PROTECT her! ”

Was it fair to detain Teresa Kok on a mere police report ? What EVIDENCE has the complainant ? Bring it to Court and PRODUCE the EVIDENCE! And now that she is released, what has happened to the accuser? Yes, ” NO man is above the law. ” PRACTISE it!

Was it fair to detain Raja Petra Kamarudduin because somebody complained? PRODUCE the EVIDENCE in Court! No evidence? It is just too bad.

Was it fair to detain the 5 Hindraf leaders? Again, PRODUCE the EVIDENCE in Court. No evidence? It is just too bad.

Since the PM said that the Police were very ” efficient” in nabbing some PR members in Ipoh in double quick time, so the same efficiency should be applied in ALL other cases lodged in Police stations. No selective persecution!

Be HONEST and PROFESSIONAL. ALL Malaysians deserve FAIR, JUST, HONEST treatment, whoever they may be—- Big shots, small shots, BN people, PR people. The March 8th Election results should ring a LOUD sound that VOTERS, of all colours , religions, creeds, wanted CHANGE for a FAIR, democratic, transparent government. The message is very clear! Do not go on DENIAL mode! PUT THE EARS to the GROUND and LISTEN to the RUMBLINGS of the PEOPLE! Put RIGHT all the wrongs, and the VOTERS will go back to BN in the 13th Election!

” To Do or NOT to DO” , that is the question.

S.H. Huang

55. #55 by limkamput on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 7:29 pm

Sack ministers who do not comply with reform agenda during his last six months in office?
    But is there a reform agenda to be complied with?
    Even if there is, it is born out of public pressure rather than self generated.
    So, in his last six months, I think it is more like planning for his retirement and covering all the tracks.
    Why need six months?
    Even six days are not needed. He can go but not necessary for the benefit of oppositions in case some of you are wishing.

56. #56 by smeagroo on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 7:48 pm

Even if Abdullah is to bow to the ultimatum of the Umno warlords and announce before Oct. 9 that he will not defend the post of Umno President and will step down as Prime Minister next March, let Abdullah not exit as a lameduck Prime Minister but write a glorious reform programme for police, judiciary, anti-corruption, ISA and press freedom in his last six months in office.

YB Lim,

U are too kind. The only thing glorious for him to do is to write a good farewell gift for himself and family. Heard about the Eurocopter deal? How true is it for a start and if it is indeed true, there u hv it…..a mega farewell present from the rakyat!

57. #57 by riversandlakes on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 8:08 pm

Not “to be or not to be”

What Lah just “can’t be.”

58. #58 by my on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 8:17 pm

i think you should let loose this case and start looking forward to the next GE. So what if AAB retires tomorrow? who will be his successor? say ku li or muhiddin(i think i spell wrongly, should i care about the spelling?) what happen next? will the opposition keep quiet or follow their usual way? this is no end, for me regardless of which parties, politician are just a scumbags who use their influence to gain. do you think people actually believes that they(the politicians) fight for the people? that is just the surface beneath an iceberg. well that’s what i think, i know i shouldnt be stereotyping or generalise. this is what i can see for now…. see ya.

happy holidays

59. #59 by japstrat81 on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:17 pm

There’s really no difference actually.
    The show will carry on and the next man will continue to do the same.So what?We rakyat will have no say in that matter.They only put on a big show for us.Underneath it all, the next man can’t wait to get his hands on the rakyat’s money.
    What my says is absolutely right.!!!!!
    Get ready for more sandiwara from UMNO.
    Everything has been already decided behind closed doors.Only the main players to show up when the movie starts.
    And we guys thinking that there’s going to be a real difference!!!!!
    NO difference with UMNO around.Same story , but different actors.
    Always the same old crap from them.
    Now everything’s against Islam lah, This is against Islam la,that is against Islam la. Ketuanan Melayu must be upheld la.
    When everything is quiet, they stir the shit with a new issue.So funny la this UMNOOO & BN. But the poor rakyat of Bolehland have to put up with these buggers for the next 4 years.
    God help us all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

60. #60 by Thor on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:25 pm

Please do advise MR Karpal Singh to keep quite for this is not the right time to be a gentleman.
    Party hopping is the only way out to change the government, as for the start.
    If you’ll to wait for the next GE to change the government, I’ll ask you not to ever dream of it.
    Once you get hold on power, you’re more secure than whatever.
    Only then, will there be a chance of ISA being abolish.
    It also depends on whom we’re competing with!
    Why have to talk about fair “fight” when your opponent is evil and dirty!!!

61. #61 by sungaisiput on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:35 pm

Paklah may not be the best prime minister but its because of him we see so many changes today.He is a blessing in disguise so lets support him and give him space for him to effect changes while he is still there.

62. #62 by jedyoong on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:39 pm

Hi Uncle Kit,

Selamat Hari Raya.

I din know it was Christmas already. But I guess it’s not too early to give Santa your Christmas list. ;)

Warmest regards,
    Jed Yoong

63. #63 by BNgetOUT on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:48 pm

Dream on!!! Wont happen because Badawi is a lame duck, period.

64. #64 by sungaisiput on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 9:53 pm

A man without a dream is a dead man…Paklah may be a lame duck but the fact remains its because of him we see so many changes.

65. #65 by mohrafael on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 10:17 pm

just eliminate this BN govt & lame duck Bodohwi leadership, which should not have existed… PKR plse take over fassssttt… in politics, anything is possible. if you want to fair, don’t touch politics, be realistic in politics. This is especially so when confronting BN/UMNO. Let’s face facts…. facing against the slums… we must use BN equivalent medicine to kill the illnesses our Nation has been undergoing….just do it.

66. #66 by City of God on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:10 pm

This Umno thing is pretty exciting. In 1987, they have Team A and Team B. In 2009, they’ll have faggots vs lesbians. It’s nice to see their President’s post being contested. That doesn’t happen often. Tun Hussein Onn faces an embarrasing situation when he was challenged by Hj Sulaiman Palestin for the top post. They thought that he was weak because of the 1978 General Election results. But the infantry officer retained his post by a slim majority. Dr Mahatir was in a make or break situation in 1987. But he too, survived and like his predecessor won by a thin majority. Now, it may be Pak Lah’s turn. Boy oh boy! This is the worse seige ever. Administration wise, he is better than all the other prime ministers. But as a politician, he is hopelessly stupid! Worse still he became prime minister in the shadows of Dr Mahatir, a master politician that everybody love to hate. But consider the fact that he won the Umno vice-president’s post under the Team B ticket in 1987. Dr Mahatir’s irritant I suppose. He had to sack Abdullah for siding with Tengku Razaleigh and Musa Hitam. Read Dr Mahatir’s conclusion speech at the 1987 Umno General Assembly. The famous Napolean line, a.k.a you should be sorry Musa, I’m not; so get your boys out of my party because I’m gonna be boss for a long time. The point is, even stupid politicians can win against tyranny. With the financial crisis in America that is sure to spread throughout the world, we will be facing tough times ahead. If it gets to a depression, we and everybody else will have to starve. In the 1930’s, we do not feel it because we can still plant food in our backyard (and let the British worry about the economy). This time, we are on our own. The Malaysian intellect is very limited. Generally, we are not very clever and seldom make the right choices. In politics, we are like little boys playing in the football field. It’s all for fun. Always missing the point, the Malaysian mind. The real fun is playing in a professional football club in Europe. I suppose if you apply the present state of mind, you might say it’s fun to replace the current government with a new one. It will be more fun if we could do that without an election. There was no tide of change happening in Malaysia on March 8 2008. Merely, BN traitors out to get their own princes and king for their own selfish gains. They used the opposition front to achieve this. They don’t believe in anything, including this country, but they want everything. Can you, Mr Lim, give them everything? Can you change barbarians into civilised men without the aid of the sword? St Augustine will have us pray to the Lord.

67. #67 by Tonberry on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:20 pm

what can the other BN component party leaders say about PM transition plan? Any decision made by Umno will have to be obeyed by them. No question asked. The briefing is just a cosmetic process only.

68. #68 by just a moment on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:36 pm

Sorry guys, sidetrack a witha bit. From one of our folk

URGENT AND IMPORTANT!!!
    NEXT MONDAY 6th OCT AT PJ. REACHED THERE BEFORE 8.30AM.
    DO YOUR BIT FOR RAJA PETRA PLS.

Proceedings are scheduled to start at 9am, which means RPK can be expected to be brought in earlier
    Its our ‘Reserve Group’ turn to do our bits (those who missed the trip to Kamunting) from PJ and KL to show support to RPK. Next Monday 6th Oct, take hald-day leave if you have to. It’s “RPK Sedition trial : Directions to the PJ Sessions Court”
    Pls go to

http://harismibrahim.wordpress.com/2008/10/03/rpk-sedition-trial-directions-to-the-pj-sessions-court/

to get full details. I will be be there. We got to show our gratitude and support if we are serious. We cannot slow down. Pls be early.
    God Bless All.

69. #69 by just a moment on Friday, 3 October 2008 - 11:37 pm

Sorry, “half day leave”.
    see you there.

70. #70 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 12:26 am

“Paklah may not be the best prime minister but its because of him we see so many changes today.He is a blessing in disguise so lets support him and give him space for him to effect changes while he is still there.” Sungaisiput

Where have you been ? It isn’t because of him that we see the “changes today”. It is in spite of him that we have more freedom of expression. It is because of his Bean-like attitude that all of us have been “allowed” to vent our frustrations openly. He didn’t “allow” it; he just did nothing.

71. #71 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 12:26 am

In the next few months, Badawi will continue to do NOTHING.

72. #72 by Jan on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 12:58 am

He’s such a useless person I wouldn’t hire him as a clerk. How did Malaysia get to have such a mediocre person for a PM?

73. #73 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 1:03 am

…and when the expressions from all walks of life started to get out of control, especially on racial issues, he gave in to pressure from within his party to prosecute selectively. Should we be thankful for that ? A village idiot by any definition is still a village idiot.

74. #74 by Godfather on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 1:07 am

Badawi was forced on us by none other than Mamakthir. The mamak thought that his successor would continue his legacy of mega projects and cronyism. The mamak realised too late that the village idiot was actually being “handled” by unseen hands who have their own brand of cronyism and nepotism.

75. #75 by ekans on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 1:53 am

Probably the PM’s final attempt to look good to the people was to allow the ‘Anti-ISA/Free RPK’ bloggers & the HINDRAF activists to shake hands with him plus accepting a card and a teddy bear from the exiled HINDRAF chairman’s daughter at the recent PWTC open-house.
    Then, the home minister had to comment that HINDRAF’s presence at the Aidil Fitri open-house is like an insult to Islam. Does he mean that showing up at an open-house to shake hands and present well-wishes and a gift, constitutes an insult?
    The unity, culture, arts & heritage minister also chipped in with the comment that there are also Malays at Kamunting (ISA detention centre) but nobody came to campaign for their release like the HINDRAF. Didn’t he noticed that the ‘Anti-ISA/Free RPK’ bloggers were also there? Doesn’t he remember that RPK is also a Malay?
    It’s no wonder if the PM has had a hard time with such cabinet ministers..

76. #76 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 4:38 am

UMNO is out of control. Before Abdullah announcing that he will step down, many hungry people have announced their intention to go for No 2. So if Abdullah will not step down, they will be competing with Najip or najip will retire and pave way for these hungry guy. But it is unusual for them to announce to contest before the official announcement by Abdullah.

77. #77 by isahbiazhar on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 4:45 am

Abdullah will not resign as expected.If Abdullah leaves, it will be the doom of UMNO.It is very clear that Umno does not have one leader who can be respected.All of them are tainted.The rotting of Umno had started the day they lost their 2/3 majority.It is because they are in Malaysia they could rule.If they were in Malaya they would have been given the boot.It is in the best of interest that Abdullah serve out his term and make his promise come true thus surpassing all the other former Prime Ministers.Failing which he will be considered as one who failed malaysians though he was given the mandate.The worms of Umno will come out the moment Abdullah leaves.Abdullah should think that Umno did not elect him to be their leader but the non Umno members.Thus he has to fulfill that condition.Only after the next election can Umno prove that they are still wanted.

78. #78 by ctc537 on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 8:17 am

Umno has been able to win the Malay support by using the strategy of feeding insecurities and creating a common enemy to unite the Malays. How long can this situation go on? Even a leader of TDM’s intelligence is still unwise enough to think that this can go on forever.
    Pak Lah is the wrong person to lead the country at the wrong time. From hindsight, we can see that TDM greatest fault had been his keep changing his deputies during his 22 year rule, so much so that he couldn’t cultivate a really suitable person to succeed him. Things could have been very different if he had managed to retain Datuk Musa Hitam and then DSAI to fight along with him.
    But it seemed that the charactor of TDM was such that he could not be comfortble with a deputy that can stand up to him. There lies our country’s problems. Our country’s political developments has become one big international circus.
    For AAB to continue or not to continue as PM would not change the fortune of the country much. As long as UMNO leaders can’t see the bigger picture of all races having equal oportunities in building a prosperous nation, the country will continue to rot. DSAI is seeing this bigger picture and he is letting everyone seeing it.

79. #79 by StevePCH on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 8:37 am

between the devils and the deep blue sea ? well, I will go for the deep blue sea this time !!!
    PL, he is not bad but just not good enough. The rest going for Deputy Ameno President ….. OMG ! bunch of blood hunger vampires. I think we are doomed with the devils.
    PR , though you are the deep blue sea, I hope to see all the wonderful beings and hope that you excel.
    One thing for sure, the war in Ameno had just intensified 10X.

80. #80 by BloodSucker on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 9:16 am

Uncle Kit,

Where is DSAI now ? His 916 dream has gone with the wind. So what is his next chess move to topple Pak Lah this coming Oct 8 Parliament sitting or any vote of no confident ? Well the political tsunami tide finally dies down macam hangit hangit tahi ayam after Hari Raya forgivre and forget festival.

Now UMNOputra sandiwara started to see and read internal conflicts to grab power and to remove Pak Lah soonest possible and let Najib to take over. Another political instability in coming months will deteriorate the stock market , investors confidence, financial and economy will decline and stagflation will hurt all Malaysians.

DSAI and Kit should make fast move to stop them and win the political chess game now or the Pakatan Rakyat has no chance to do so if all Malaysians have lost faith on PR soon. All promises spelt out by PR is a dream of change but the nation wants a moment of truth change of good governance ASAP.

Bangsa Malaysia dream of One Nation, One Race, One System and One Dream.

81. #81 by homeblogger on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 9:47 am

Godfather Says:

Today at 00: 26.57 (9 hours ago)
    In the next few months, Badawi will continue to do NOTHING.

=========================

Well, not according to what kickdefella says and the latest book by Matthias Chang – Badawi and his 4th floor boys will be busy putting in place plans to continue sucking Malaysia of her wealth. No… Badawi will be doing LOTS of things apparently…

82. #82 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 10:09 am

Badawi situation is like a long time CEO being forced to quit. I saw quite a bit of it in the 80s-early 90s during the ‘corporate raider’ era in the US.

Its not practical in that situation to recommend the CEO do all that he failed to do in his tenure. BUT he can redeem himself by doing ONE thing right. It was very common mistake back then for old CEOs then to keep fighting and not take this recommendation. But those who did focus on one or two things before they left, found redemption, some even coming back to the company later.

So Badawi should focus on doing ONE THING RIGHT on this list. It has got to be judicial commission. Make it completely independent and he will leave a legacy greater than Dr. M. But its tall order very tall one. He may not be up to it which is why he is falling back to the age old practise of grabbing whatever he can for himself and his children before he has to leave.

83. #83 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 10:56 am

Even before Pak Lah makes his decision to defend or not defend the post of Umno President, UMNO power brokers have already preempted him with Zahid Hamidi and Rustam Ali – and perhaps even Muhammad Taib and Isa Samad following in their wake – to contest the Deputy President post against Muhyiddin. The signal of these moves is to make clear that they expect Pak Lah not to defend, the strategy is to achieve by fait accompli his exit, without which the route to ascend UMNO’s heirarchy is blocked!

However there is something else that may be outside the power brokers’ calculations, aside from the unexpected decision of Pak Lah to defend the president’s post, out of line with his character…..

84. #84 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 11:30 am

So far everyone makes the following asumptions :

1. If Pak Lah decides not to contest UMNO president’s post, Najib will automatically succeed as UMNO president per transition plan (brought forward) but that’s only provided one like Ku Li one contests that post in March 09 or if Ku Li so contests, he loses.

2. By convention whoever is president of UMNO becomes Prime Minister.

3. Tun Dr Mahathir resigned as PM and anointed Pak Lah as sucessor, so therefore Pak Lah could resign and likewise anoint Najib, and

4. Life goes on as usual.

However I wish to point out the following differences:-

(a) The religuishment of UMNO president’s post is a party issue governed by UMNO party’s rules. It is not exactly the same as resignation as Prime Mnister’s post, a government post governed by Constitution.

(b) If Pak Lah resigns as Prime Minister, won’t he have to also resign the whole cabinet as well for the Yang di Pertuan Agong to appoint another Prime Minister under Article 43(2)(a) [of the Federal Constitution who in turn apoints his cabinet?

(c) If procedure in (b) were not followed in the case of Tun Dr Mahathir’s resignation and anointment of Pak Lah as PM then it must have been because (i) no one contests that anointment within UMNO and (ii) the BN with UMNO in the lead was assumed to have the two third majority in Parliament.

85. #85 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 11:34 am

YB,

Here I wish to argue that the circumstances in (c) of my preceding posting don’t apply on all four in respect of Pak’s resignation.

This because even the post of UMNO president may becontested by Ku Li, if not others not yet surfaced. More importantly for months Anwar Ibrahim as leader of Opposition, Pakatan Rakyat, has been making claims – as yet verified – that Pakatan Rakyat has, by virtue of BN’s defections, the majority in Dewan Rakyat.

This being the case, it is no more a question of Pak Lah’s resigning and refusing in that process to call a general election that may jeopardise the BN’s position.

It is taken out of his hands because Pakatan Rakyat can petition to the Yang di Pertuan Agong to give effect to the constitutional provisons of Article 43(2)(a) that requires (in the uncertain circumstances delineated above) the appointment of PM to be based on who, in his Royal Highness’s judgment, likely commands the majority of Dewan Rakyat, and if that determination cannot be objectively made or verified under circumstances today prevailing, then my argument is that a General Election must be called!

If I am correct in this, then whether the power brokers realise or desire it or not, their ouster of Pak Lah with alacrity as UMNO president and by implication as Prime Minister, must necessarily produce conditions accelerative of, and favourable for Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution to apply – and fresh general election to ensue to their own detriment!

It now depends on the Yang di Pertuan Agong & how Anwar/Pakatan Rakyat approaches and deals with this issue with delicacy and strategic intelligence. Anwar and PR can use PM’s exit as PM to petition to King for a general election.

86. #86 by ekans on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 2:19 pm

What is worrying, is that in the course of this ‘power struggle’, some UMNOputra hardliners may directly or indirectly trigger some kind of an ‘incident’ that could cause an emergency rule to come into effect, taking the opportunity away from PR, expediting DSAAB’s exit and they will still stubbornly cling on to power.

87. #87 by limkamput on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 3:01 pm

It does not matter who contest, who inherit and who anoint. They are all fighting for positions in the party that is totally devoid of soul and substance. UMNO’s demise is imminent. UNMO trouble is not just leadership; it is policy and philosophy. All those eyeing for top positions thus far have given us no comfort. They are all remnants of the old – old policy, old philosophy and old thinking.

88. #88 by monsterball on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 4:27 pm

“Friends…Malaysians…lend me your ears!!
    I did all that …not for myself…but because I love you all.
    Don’t believe….give me freedom.or give me death.
    To be or not to be…I leave it all to you.
    My house..my properties…for a ticket to leave Malaysia”
    So said Dollah.
    So it was written.
    Hope..it will not be done….but put him…where he belongs…..sooner or later.

89. #89 by ekans on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 5:19 pm

The following was being circulated by SMS & probably describes the political situation in the country…

2008 Karaoke Survey results:
    Dr. M’s favourite song – ‘My Way’
    Pak Lah – ‘Dream Dream Dream’
    Najib – ‘Your Cheating Heart’
    Anwar – ‘Winds Of Change’
    M. Saiful – ‘I Swear’
    S. Velu – ‘Twilight Time’
    S. H. Albar – ‘What Kind Of Fool Am I’

90. #90 by zak_hammaad on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 6:19 pm

“Karpal: No one should pressure Abdullah to quit”
    _

Clearly Pakatan think they have the best chance to win with AAB in power, lol!

91. #91 by KennyGan on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 8:46 pm

Jeffrey does raise some pertinent points here. Badawi resigning as PM does not automatically mean that the King should appoint Najib in his place. Assuming that AAB resigns before the Umno elections, one must remember that Najib has yet to be confirmed as Umno President for he may be challenged by Ku Li and even Muhyiddin if the latter decides to go for the top post.

The difficulty is that if Najib is appointed as PM, what happens if he fails to win the Umno Presidency who by convention must be the PM?

Furthermore the resignation of the PM should effectively mean the resignation of the whole cabinet to give the new PM the means to appoint a new team.

Given that the opposition is also claiming to have parliamentary majority, it is contingent on the King to put this claim to the test before he appoints a new PM.

Of course calling fresh elections will be the best way for the country but one difficulty is that the constitution says fresh elections can only be called on the advice of the PM.

The King has the discretion to follow this advice (to call elections) or reject it and appoint another PM but does he also have the discretion to call elections if not advised accordingly by the outgoing PM?

Perhaps Jeffrey Q.C. can shed some light on this.

92. #92 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 10:46 pm

1. As what KennyGan said, if the retiring Prime Minister (“PM”) requests the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (“King”) to dissolve parliament to pave the way for elections, the King need not have to follow PM’s request to dissolve parliament especially in a case where after the PM has resigned, the King could, in his judgment, determine upon another candidate (whether in the BN or the Opposition) who would, in the King’s judgment, likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) within meaning of Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution.

That this is the position can be gleaned from the wordings of article 43(4) : “If the Prime Minister ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the House of Representatives, then, unless at his request the Yang di-Pertuan Agong dissolves Parliament, the Prime Minister shall tender the resignation of the Cabinet”, the key operative words being “unless at his [meaning the PM’s] request the Yang di-Pertuan Agong dissolves Parliament”.

2. The Constitution is admittedly silent on the all important question of whether if a resigning PM does NOT request for dissolution of Parliament, whether the King could, on his own initiative, within his constitutional powers, dissolve Parliament to pave way of elections.

3. The question in 2 has no precedent. Some experts in the Constitution may incline to the view that the King may not. Their reason is that whatever the King could do must be expressly empowered and provided for in our written constitution.

4. I take a different view. I am of the opinion that the King has the implied power to dissolve parliament even where the retiring PM does not specifically request for it.

5. The reason for my view that the King has the implied power is based on the reasoning that the if the King has not this implied power, then the King would not then be able to carry out his constitutional function of appointing the next Prime Minister whom in his view likely to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the House of Representatives (Dewan Rakyat) within meaning of Article 43(2)(a) – in a confusing situation as I earlier explained in my post where the ruling party UMNO is torn in factionalism with contenders fighting for PM’s position, none of whom, without the other, could establish that he alone commands majority in Dewan Rakyat, especially when the Opposition is neck to neck and also claiming that, with the help of defections, it has the majority!

6. What I am saying is that article 43(4) should not be construed so restrictively as to impede the King from carrying out his constitutional duty under article 43(2)(a) ie. to determine who commands majority, and if in an uncertain scenario, the dissolution of parliament and fresh election were the only means by way of last resort, to determine this question, then the King ought to have this implied power, which of course answers the question raised in 2 above in the affirmative.

93. #93 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 4 October 2008 - 10:59 pm

In the premises of the preceding post, I have accordingly earlier postulated the position that by pressuring the incumbent Prime Minister to resign prematurely – so that the power brokers and warlords could scramble and contest for for positions, these power brokers and warlords are unaware that they may (in a certain scenario of Anwar/Pakatan Rakyat also making representations to the King that they have majhority of Dewan Rakyat) be shooting themselves in their own feet by placing the entire BN and themselves at risk of another general election, detrimental to their interest but favourable to Pakatn Rakyat, in the general momentum of sentiments since 8th March and 26th August.

94. #94 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 7:01 am

Since Independence the Yang di-Pertuan Agong (“King”) has not had the appropriate ‘opportunity’ to dissolve parliament when a PM retired without requesting for one because in the case of Tunku’s passing baton to Tun Razak, it was marked by the unsual NOC (under Emergency regulations) in the aftermath of May 13 1969; in the cases of Tun Hussein Onn to Tun Dr Mahathir (TDM), and TDM to Pak Lah , in all these cases, UMNO commanded more than two third in parliament and was unified behind the anointed successor(s) with no one within the party or without immediately challenging and competing the top post – situations which are vastly dissimilar and ought to be distinguished from present scenario of challenge within and without the party, if the present premier resigns, therefore casting a doubt as to who, if anyone, really commands the majority of Dewan Rakyat within meaning of Article 43(2)(a) of the Federal Constitution.

On the other side of the scale, a constitutional monarch as the King is a symbol of national unity and is expected to be duty bound to safeguard national interest to put an end to an uncertain political situation of unprecedented political strife.

No one could reasonably speculate or impute any partiality on part of the King towards partisan (BN) interest by being disinclined to resort to dissolution of parliament as His Majesty had, as a matter of record, already evinced independence in last episode of rejecting UMNO’s candidate Idris Jusoh for the Terengganu MB’s post in preference to Mohd Said!

If the situation were such that other than a general election there were actually no other objective and verifiable way by which how the King could determine who commands majority of Dewan Rakyat to be appointed as PM, then it would be clear and logical to interpret that dissolving parliament (even without the outgoing premier’s request) would be an implied reserve power the King has or ought to have under article 43(4) of the Constitution to enable him to discharge his constitutional duty under Article 43(2)(a) of appointing a new PM who would, in the King’s judgment, command such majority in the Dewan Rakyat in the wake of the present premier’s resigning without requesting for a dissolution of parliament.

(It is argued here that a constitutional provision like article 43(4) would be interpreted in such a way as to provide latitude for other parts of the constitution like article 43(2)(a) to be given operation and effect rather than the contrary of no effect and impasse).

95. #95 by KennyGan on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 9:34 am

Thank you for your explanation Jeffrey. Given the ambiguity in the constitution which can be interpreted either way, a decision by the King to dissolve Parliament without the advice of the PM may be challenged in a specially convened Constitutional Court.

However, there is no possible challenge if the PM indeed does advise the King to dissolve Parliament. In the light of BN’s shaky position with respect to new elections, this gives the outgoing PM a valuable bargaining chip to negotiate with those aiming to pull him down.

This bargaining chip may be used to push through reforms in the last months of his office, to negotiate a good deal for himself and his family or even to prolong his premiership.

Make no mistake, there is power in the PM yet even in the precarious state he is in. Will he will this power for Malaysians or for himself?

96. #96 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 10:48 am

Well that is the question isn’t it – “Will he will this power for Malaysians or for himself?”

There is a large body of opinion that questions that he will, even at the eleventh hour, for Malaysians or for legacy in anals of Malaysian History.

The other question is whether he could, even if he wants to.

Poster PhuahKL has it right in earlier thread of 29th September {Over 60% of grassroots in Gerakan, MCA, MIC and over 80% of members of Sabah/Sarawak parties want to quit BN} about his “Sixth Law of Malaysian Politics” – “The time needed to make a major political decision in the BN by PM) is directly proportional to the intensity of the (familial/matrimonial ) pressure to make said major political decision”. 1/2 family members (sons/SIL having business or political ambitions may want him to fight, the rest worried about his health and well being may advise him to quit without fight), so it is their decision, depending on who he finally listens with be decisive, and it is unlikely to factor in intererst of Malaysians.

More complicated the PM may also actually believe that the continuance of BN – with hopes of reforms by his contending UMNO successors – may be a lesser between two evils than Pakatan Rakyat coming into power because of the inherent untrustworthiness, in his view, of Anwar’s character and his susceptibility to give in to PAS’s pressure and demands for theocratic state.

97. #97 by Loh on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 12:16 pm

///…if the King has not this implied power, then the King would not then be able to carry out his constitutional function of appointing the next Prime Minister…///–Jeffrey

It is an interesting argument. The constitution says that the King should choose one among the MPs, and the constitution does not say that if he cannot get one, he had the right to ask for a new set of MPs for that purpose. So, the King may have the MPs elect among themselves, and to convince the King of the right choice so that he can make the appointment. The person to be appointed PM does not have to be supported by all the members of any political party, since support is based on members rather than political party. Kukrit Pramoj was appointed PM of Thailand when his party had only 18 members in the house of 300 plus MPs.

The article 43 (4) is clear that the concurrence of two persons, the outgoing PM and the King is required before the Parliament could be dissolved. The King can veto the dissolution but he could not initiate the dissolution of the Parliament.

98. #98 by dawsheng on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 1:48 pm

Why should YDPA and the council of rulers take the unprecedented option to interfere in the change of government where it will only set the precedent for more unprecedented situations which are sure to jeopardize their position in the long run? Their only option is to remain partisan, not making enemies.

99. #99 by dawsheng on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 2:18 pm

Before we even think of asking or expecting the rulers to bring about change that will almost completely overhaul the political landscape in this country, we at the same ought to be aware by now, or at least sense that it is the rulers themselves who are most resistance to change. The precedence is to make sure the continuance of constitution monarchy, which itself is flawed, will not be threaten. Hence, like what I said in the beginning of this thread, to answer the question of to be or not to be, is to love all, trust a few, and do harm to none. An option clearly the rulers have taken, but that option is just not available to Abdullah, too bad!

100. #100 by dawsheng on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 2:54 pm

Going forward, it is the prerogative of the Rakyat to effect change in government, not the rulers, not the hierarchy political leaderships of UMNO, and certainly not the race based politics of BN. No matters how one interprets the constitution, this is one fact we must not change, the power to effect change lies in the hands of the Rakyat. And the process in making that change must not be done under the cloak of ambiguity, behind closed doors and in secrecy, as this will put in question the legitimacy of that change, a good long lasting change must have the voice of resounding majority, and the only way to achieve that is through a general election.

101. #101 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 3:00 pm

If dawsheng said were right – which in all probability is the case – then if the Rulers play no role, AB plays no role and even Anwar is silent having forgotten about his 9/16 pledge, there will be no major change in Malaysian Politics for years to come, extending even to after the next 13th Malaysian election, since there is no saying what the BN could do to marginalise Pakatan Rakyat by then through stranglehold of federal funds to opposition controlled states and progressive incarceration of opposition’s key leaders.

Ismail Kassim’s take on the status quo of Malaysian Politics may be visited here – http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/10025-ismail-kassim-knows-malaysian-politics-better-than-most

102. #102 by dawsheng on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 3:26 pm

We should be prepared for the situation to deteriorate further, which is inevitable when political parties are bound to deliberately sabotaging each other in order to win supports and votes.

103. #103 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 7:27 pm

Ho..Ho… Hooo…

Just as i expected, beware. The ominous black clouds had arrive, race for the wins has just beguns.

KING of all warlords from Melaka had emerge to compete DPM as he remains humble for long time. Thx to him melaka now had become a “Popular historical attractions” for nothing but extravagant praise that none economically benefits the locals.

104. #104 by Loh on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 9:35 pm

Up to today, there are five persons who have announced their interest to contest for UMNO Deputy President. The first announcement would not be mistaken to mean a contest against the incumbent Deputy, and it shows that the grassroots are impatient to await the announcement by the President. Now that there are five persons announcing their interest, of whom, one has long shown his keen interest in exploring alternative route to the post of Deputy, it would be safe that assume that he alone would have more than the minimum qualifying support of 28 divisions. The other four candidates would also believe that they possess a minimum of 28 votes to justify their announcement ahead of that of AAB. Since there is only one position for Deputy, the supporters of the five announced candidates are necessarily mutually exclusive. Thus a total of 140 Divisions are expected to announce their support for the five candidates as Deputy. These 140 could nominate either AAB or Najib as President with one of the five as the Deputy. But whichever division now decides to nominate one of the five as Deputy would be expected to have Najib rather than AAB head the ticket, thus AAB can only expect to get nomination from the remaining 52 Divisions assuming they do not wish to nominate Tengku Razaleigh as President. So, AAB will not be able to get 58 nominations to defend his post of UMNO President.

We do not have to wait until 9 October to confirm that AAB will not defend his position. He had in fact announced it when party election was extended to March 2009 so that he could enjoy three more months as lame duck PM. Since he is a lame duck PM, it might be better for him to collect his pay and take his holidays comes 9 October. We will be surprised if he made that announcement.

105. #105 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 5 October 2008 - 10:25 pm

yes,the devil that sucked pig farmers’ money and later destroyed all their kandang babi has finally show his true greedy color!

Yes,the old warlords need not to be worried,UMNO is forever full of warlords!subsequently,Toyo,Khairy will be the incumbents…………..many more yet to make racist remarks!

106. #106 by undergrad2 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 8:23 am

“The King can veto the dissolution but he could not initiate the dissolution of the Parliament.” Loh

What nonsensical nonsense! The Agong has no veto powers.

What the Agong can do is to use his discretion in agreeing or disagreeing to the request for the dissolution of Parliament when so requested by the PM as a result of the vote of no confidence against him. The holding of fresh general elections merely because the sitting PM no longer commands the confidence of the majority of members of his party may not be in the public interest. General elections do cost tax payers a lot of money and a strain on the limited budgetary resources of the state. The Agong may exercise his constitutional discretion under Article 43 (4) in refusing to dissolve Parliament under those circumstances, indirectly forcing instead the ruling party to nominate a successor – like his deputy to succeed him.

107. #107 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:48 am

Hmmm. this is making a lot of sense.
    Nonsensical nonsense actually sounds sensible.

108. #108 by Loh on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:17 am

///The Agong may exercise his constitutional discretion under Article 43 (4) in refusing to dissolve Parliament under those circumstances, indirectly forcing instead the ruling party to nominate a successor – like his deputy to succeed him.///—Undergrad2

///“The King can veto the dissolution but he could not initiate the dissolution of the Parliament.” Loh

What nonsensical nonsense! The Agong has no veto powers. ///–Undergrad2

Smart one, is it not the same as veto, speaking figuratively?

109. #109 by rainbowseahorse on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 2:55 pm

I think the whole of Malaysia is in agreeance that Pak Lah is ineffective as PM. The there are all those speculations on what he would or would not do before he leave office…i.e. if he leaves office at all!
    I think, come 13/Sep/2008 when parliament re-convene, we shall most probably know or have a much better idea about the direction of Malaysian politics.
    For now, what’s foremost on my mind is this:
    Just who the hell is footing the bill for all those daily “Selamat Hari Raya” greeting shown on ASTRO TV of Pak Lah & wife???

110. #110 by melurian on Wednesday, 8 October 2008 - 12:30 am

“I think the whole of Malaysia is in agreeance that Pak Lah is ineffective as PM. The there are all those speculations on what he would or would not do before he leave office…i.e. if he leaves office at all!”

statement without substance, aab won majority 10,000+ in his constituency! and bn still win although they lose 5 states (you can say this because more openness, it’s like a person still rapist or murderer though the judge acquitted his crime). there’s no mass protest march to parlimen (or istana) like in thailand to stop during the prime minister conferment and demand his resignation. and this comment will be blocked coz some ppl cannot tolerate different opinion and observation (there’s only yes and never no)……