Abdullah’s premiership de facto ended yesterday (26.9.08)

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s premiership de facto ended yesterday, September 26, 2008 – 54 months after scoring the most stunning landslide electoral victory for any Prime Minister in the nation’s 51-year history.

How far and how fast Abdullah has fallen!

All the Umno heavyweights are now engaged in a marionette play – how to plunge the dagger into Abdullah’s back without blood being seen to be drawn or better still even camouflaging from the Malaysian public the act of dagger-stabbing altogether.

Although Abdullah claimed that it would be his decision, “whether to contest or not” the post of Umno President, there could be no doubt that if Abdullah departs from the script and fails to announce by before October 9 that he would not be offering himself as a candidate as Umno President, the marionette play would be abandoned and the dagger-stabbing would be a very public and bloody one.

Even the sweet-sounding praises by Umno leaders yesterday over the scuttling of Abdullah’s original mid-2010 power-transition plan and the postponement of the Umno general assembly from December to March next year sounded rather ominous if Abdullah ignores the unmistakable signal that he should not dilly-dally any more in making his exit.

For instance, when asked whether he was satisfied with the outcome of the Umno Supreme Council emergency meeting yesterday although there was no clearcut indication of an exist date, the most hawkish of the Umno leaders against Abdullah, Tan Sri Muhyidddin Yassin, commented: “I think it is good enough. You need to have trust. There must be a certain element of trust in whatever decision the leadership Is making today.”

Abdullah must be aware that he would be regarded as lacking “a certain element of trust” if he failed to announce that he would not be offering his candidacy for Umno President by the Oct. 9 deadline.

In the circumstances, Abdullah has three options before him:

• Announce before the October 9 deadline his intention to contest for the post of Umno President, retaining the initiative in his hands as to his own timeline to effect the power transition;

• Announce that he would not be contesting for the Umno President in the Umno party election in March, which also mark the end of his premiership; and

• Announce his retirement as Prime Minister by Oct. 9.

In the first option, Abdullah would be fighting for his political life as he would have to prove first that he is capable of winning 58 or one-third of the Umno division nominations for the post of Umno President.

This may be a very tall order and he must be prepared to suffer the ignominy of an incumbent Prime Minister and Umno President who could not secure adequate nominations to contest for the post of Umno President.

In the second option, Abdullah would be a lame-duck Prime Minister for six months.

Apart from the third option of immediate retirement as Prime Minister, is there a fourth option open to Abdullah?

1. #1 by madmix on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:00 am

He became a lame duck yesterday. He should have just quit fro the sake of the country. That means the government of Malaysia is on auto-pilot as of today. God save Malaysia.

2. #2 by taiking on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:02 am

Decision? What decision?
    Its as good as decision made.
    That which ought to have been done is deemed done!!
    Finish you old man.
    (See I stop using “pm”.)

3. #3 by KennyGan on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:26 am

Kit, are you suggesting the 4th option for Abdullah is to resign, recommend to the King to dissolve Parliament and call new elections?

That is the best for all Malaysians who are sick of the BN regime and wants a chance to throw them out. There is no way AAB can regain the PM post with this option but at least he will be fondly remembered by Malaysians for giving the nation a chance to correct its wayward course.

Is Abdullah prepared to make this earth shattering move and risk condemnation from his party but earn the love of all Malaysians?

4. #4 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:27 am

I think UMNO is worried that if Abdullah does not quit early, more BN MPs will defect to PR and that could hasten the end of the political dinosaur. To avert such “disaster”, UMNO Supreme Council inevitably has to exert more pressure on Abdullah.

5. #5 by just a moment on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:37 am

Whatever the options available, Zz-head just want to potray he’s resigning at his own term “Not under pressure” from anyone else. He is history. These Umno Vultures and Hawks are dying for change. Never mind if its not any better, who cares and who dares to question these ppl? This whole episode of Umno/Goment indeed belongs to only one party. Its a waste of time and money why the rakyat have to continue feeding this ‘Goment’.

The amount of salaries paid to all these Goment, What do they have to show? Meetings, more meetings, for themselves and thier own survival. Anything for this country? Zip, Zero, At the rate we are going is more deficits. More trouble – just look at Teresa Kok, Raja Petra, Seriously, I don’t give a damn what’s going on with the Goment and Umno shit-heads. Just tell me when and What PKR suppose to do to replace ALL of them.

6. #6 by just a moment on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:40 am

The amount of salaries paid to all these Goment, What do they have to show? Meetings, more meetings, for themselves and thier own survival. Anything for this country? Zip, Zero, At the rate we are going is more deficits. More trouble – just look at Teresa Kok, Raja Petra, Seriously, I don’t give a damn what’s going on with the Goment and Umno. Just tell me when and What PKR suppose to do to replace ALL of them.

Whatever the options available, Zz-head just want to potray he’s resigning at his own term “Not under pressure” from anyone else. He is history. These Umno Vultures and Hawks are dying for change. Never mind if its not any better, who cares and who dares to question these ppl? This whole episode of Umno/Goment indeed belongs to only one party. Its a waste of time and money why the rakyat have to continue feeding this ‘Goment’.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:44 am

Here is the 4th option: Abdullah may hold a referendum to seek the opinion of the rakyat when they want him to step down. I have doubt whether a referendum is constitutional in Malaysia.

8. #8 by parameswara on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:47 am

the badawi led BN’s stunning election victory in 2004 was due to the majority of rakyats expressing cathartic rejection of mahathirism, and their quick embrace of badawi whom they thought could deliver their hopes.

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:56 am

The basic problem is that UMNO will not change with the new leaders in charge and therein lies the problem.
    If Badawi “loves UMNO” he should make it learn some discipline by forcing it into Opposition (and hopefully reform).

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/09/pms-last-cards-any-aces-left.html

10. #10 by just a moment on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:06 pm

Just to share from someone who wrote around the blog:
    I can’t say it any better,

All of us concerned citizens share with you that same sense of anger, frustration and helplessness.

It is not that we could not care but more so that nothing seems to be correcting the imbalance we are all victims of.

Every morning awaits us with more sordid, disgusting, devastating news. Yet we cannot stop these. Not even institutions.

We are enslaved in a system of governance that appears to have imprisoned us permanently.

The ultimately option we share secretly in our hearts is still a fearful dream.

What do we do? How do we do? When do we do?

Oh my God, is this the Malaysia that our grandparents spoke so much about with hope and trust?
    =====================================

YB, Molotov cocktail into Teresa’s home. How far and what will happen with this incident. Nothing will happen, culprits will not be caught. Tell me Im wrong.

11. #11 by anakMCI on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:08 pm

Pak Lah down
    Najib up

UMNO thinks Najib is better
    but NOT for the rakyat

UMNO is no more GOOD for rakyat
    unless they stop the RACIAL issue

12. #12 by Jimm on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:09 pm

We are witnessing a mega umno plot to take control of governing this country ….
    as long as they are there ..we will remain as their slaves and working ants …
    the elite group are a big cartel …

13. #13 by dawsheng on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:15 pm

“Apart from the third option of immediate retirement as Prime Minister, is there a fourth option open to Abdullah?”

Oh yes!

14. #14 by chinymin on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:17 pm

AAB’s end game of premiership will not make much difference to the present political scenario, unless and untill PKR takes over the government, which is the ultimate aspiration of the majority Malaysian citizen.

15. #15 by wanderer on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:17 pm

It is apparent, Tun M has got his nominee, Muhyiddin to plunge the dagger in Abullah’s demise. The show is not over. In fact, it has just begun. Najib will not deliver, the ‘dog fight’ among the 2 tier aspiring leaders, will be fierce and uncompromising. So whoever takes over the leadership of UMNO, nothing will change. The rakyat will be in for a rough ride…unless, PKR is successful in overthrowing, this old minded UMNO-BN administration.

16. #16 by hadi on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:18 pm

Definitely Pak Lah has the fourth options. And believe me, it is the best option and for the future of the nation. Rather than delaying the whole process trying to buy time, Pak Lah should hand over the government to the Pakatan Rakyat-the fourth option as his exit strategy.
    After all Pak Lah must be wondering why the supreme council is turning their back to him, in fact he should realize well before that his no 2 is playing wayang kulit. Pity Pak Lah, may GOD gives him strength and courage to see the reality and to avoid this nation from disaster and democratically pass the baton to Pakatan Rakyat.
    So YB Kit, the fourth option for the Prime Minister is the exit strategy.Be prepared Malaysians!!!!!!

17. #17 by Bursa Blogs on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:30 pm

What will happen next? Badawi got to do what ever to save face.

18. #18 by lkc57 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:32 pm

He should kick himself. He has squandered all the opportunities and made a fool out of himself. He has trusted and listened to the wrong people. He simply does not have the right stuff to be a leader. Sorry.

19. #19 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:33 pm

If not because of our PM Dato’ Seri Abdullah Badawi…. our country’s state of “freedom” and “democracy” wont not have improved and opposition parties gaining momentum like we never witnessing before.

I hope PM ABB is concious of what he is doing, expecting and experiencing. I hope he is the actual person behind the scene planning all this for the “benefit” of fellow Malaysian (watch too much TV). If yes, he is our BAPA DEMOCRACY

However, if our PM ABB is unconcious of his actions and has slept through the whole process, then sorry sir BAPA DEMON CRAZY.

Good Luck Pak Lah. Wish you well and Good Bye.

20. #20 by badak on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:38 pm

Now that the UMNO election had been postpone to march next year.We will see more corruption from now on.Money politics in UMNO will become worst.
    UMNO new motto “” MONEY TALKS “”
    Why must UMNO be allowed to chose our PM.It should be BN as a body ,MIC MCA GERAKAN PPP and all the other components in BN are just LAME DUCKS.

21. #21 by parameswara on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:42 pm

Teresa Kok came under fire for her “low quality jail food” remarks.
    My goodness! can’t people complain at all ??

inmates are humans too.
    she is speaking up for her/their human rights.

and now her family home got fire bombed.
    this is malaysia out of control.

22. #22 by taiking on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:45 pm

Dear parameswara,

And isnt it scary to know that malaysia will be heading the international fight against islamphobia?

23. #23 by parameswara on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:51 pm

the police spend so much time policing the rakyats who simply want to express themselves.

they should channel their resources on dealing with real criminals like murderers, robbers, burglars, and rapists.

if they do that earnestly, the first ones to feel it will be the rakyats.

when they feel safer, half the nation’s complains will disappear.

24. #24 by lopez on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:55 pm

AAB can sub contract the PM ship to that lunatic whoever they are.
    or he can sub contract the whole government to another party

lets decide call a prequalification submission from interested parties, lets draw up a need s statement

1 st requisite for prequalification , cannot be a malaysian , must already governing a nation.

let the people decide who will be in the vendors lists.

huh sub contracting governing a nation…to rule a nation….

the closet thing is akin to British Resident.

25. #25 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:59 pm

“….and so in two thousand and eight years in the ninth month, the prophesy of RAHMAN came to pass…” Al Amak v 7-8.

26. #26 by Saint on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:59 pm

If I was the PM – I will go for a full force fight.
    See who comes out to stab me before the UMNO elections in March 09. Then take them out one by one – and throw the book at them directly. Then all will follow in line.

Or I will have my final revenge – Support PR (indirectly) and make Anwar throw lock-stock and barrel at them.

As PM I rather have the last laugh and be remembered forever.

27. #27 by Godfather on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 12:59 pm

Does UMNO care for the people’s welfare ? Does UMNO consider the needs of the other parties within the Barang Naik coalition ?

Nah, they only care for their own pockets, and they are fighting tooth and nail to ensure that their hands are able to dip into the nation’s treasury. How else can you explain the existence of a lame duck administration and the likelihood of a successor who cannot shake off the Mongolian millstone around his neck ?

28. #28 by Godfather on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:02 pm

The UMNO supreme council has been playing with marbles ever since Badawi took over from the Mamakthir. Now they have even lost their marbles, so they don’t really know what to do.

Maybe Kasim Amat can help suggest on how to steal some new marbles from the other parties within their own coalition.

29. #29 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:02 pm

Shall I put the cat among the pigeons and suggest we appoint Lee Kuan Yew as PM for say 3 years?
    After all, the man’s experience in leading a nation is legend – even China’s leaders consult him.

30. #30 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:04 pm

PM is accredited the most stunning landslide electoral victory in 2003 based on the promise of reforms.

Now in 2008, a sharp contrast of an ignominious retreat in the face of pressure from the power brokers and warlords stabbing at him with their daggers, marking his administration as a “successful failure” at least from stand point of much needed reforms promised but unfulfilled.

How did he get himself in such a quandary?

Maybe he is a gentleman. He lacks the decisiveness, ruthlessness and dare of TDM to manage the cloak and daggers of UMNO politics and politicians.

TDM has mapped out everything to preserve his legacy of Mahathirism. From day one he anointed Pak Lah as caretaker for those who would preserve that legacy. Pak Lah’s clarion call for reforms was given but only lip service with most of the power brokers and warlords being satisfied with the old order as it is. That is why Zaid Ibrahim threw in the towel because he could get nowhere with reforms of the judiciary in the face of such ubiquitous resistance by reactionaries all around.

Pak Lah’s reform agenda was a non-starter in the face of such resistance. Had he shown he meant business, he would have been sooner ushered the exit. He therefore placed political survival as priority. He joined those he could not beat. This course structured on expedience than principle is one that leads to downfall.

In doing so, he disappointed the rakyat whose hopes have been raised and dashed. His popularity plummeted in inverse proportion to the rise of that of the Opposition. The Opposition has proven such a credible threat to the ruling coalition that his party leads to the extent that the warlords and power brokers, as custodian of the well being and political culture of that party, have the excuse now to flash their daggers and stab him from the back and show him the exit.

It is double whammy for him in this critical time that when daggers were drawn against him, he could not even draw on reservoir of rakyat’s sympathies and support outside the party.

In the sense above, his premiership that YB Kit said ended yesterday has all along been de jure than de facto.

It was people sympathetic to preservation of the legacy of Mahathirism that held all along the de facto powers and leadership….They could stifle his reforms. When his popularity plummets and the Opposition made gains, they used his travails – a large part inflicted by these warlords and power brokers themselves – as the excuse to pressure his exit.

This transition is a depressing period. The surface forms of power still subsist; bureaucracy still churns the paper work for his signature but real executive authority slips away. Decisions bureaucrats disapprove will be purposely delayed (waiting for the next man); diplomats and business men go through the motions of deference but reserve their real negotiations and importunations for the next man.

Unless he does something bold and dramatic in this transition period to neutralise his detractors within the party he will fade away, forever wondering whether he has missed the oppotunity that was not seized that the powers of incumbency of office would have enabled him.

31. #31 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:05 pm

The basic requirement to fight the righteous battle is that you must be really clean to clear up the mess.
    Otherwise the saying “those who live in glass houses……..” applies.

32. #32 by parameswara on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:07 pm

taiking Says:

“And isnt it scary to know that malaysia will be heading the international fight against islamphobia?”

===========================

haiyoh! all these are merely publicity stunt.
    as they say ‘changing the skin only.’

the international community would like to see internal change,
    which is real change, not cosmetic change.
    they think the international community are so gullible.

you know why they are doing this anti-islamophobia thing??

i think it’s because investors are leaving the country,
    and some are thinking of leaving,
    and some are unsure whether to step foot in this country at all.

all this decision/indecisions by investors are causing financial turmoil, and they are hoping to change their opinion, i think.

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:08 pm

Correction in last para- “opportunity”

34. #34 by manusia ada akal on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:08 pm

Almost everyone knows who would do such a thing at Teresa Kok house. How can you say they have “grown up” when they did such a thing and think that they are the heroes of their kind for doing it. They are only showing poor thinking skill of their kind. I believe there a handful of developed ones like RPK but the good ones are being oppressed upon. When will they realised their foley is a poor reflection of their kind. Come on, the enlighten ones, please influenced the rest of your kind with which ever means you can and then Malaysia can begin to move forward.

Together we can make Malaysia shine again. Believing that nobody is taking over anybody. To achieve success, one has to be put in a lot of hardwork and it will pay off in the end and everybody gains.
    The slower ones we will help but not in the current government ways. It has been proven that the current ways cannot reach the greater masses of people.

This is one of the ways for a cure, if the current medicine doesn’t work, change it. Keep on it until a right one is found but bear in mind, fighting among ourselves and others is not an antidote for any sickness.

35. #35 by just a moment on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:10 pm

A letter was found in the Molotov cocktail Teresa’s incidence.The DAP national organising secretary, who is also a Selangor state exco member, is due to speak to the press within the hour with senior party leaders and allies from other parties in the Pakatan Rakyat electoral pact.

YB, how can we follow your press report? Can we have a live streaming facility with DAP here? Its high time to access news and development where it matter most with PKR or DAP. We cannot rely on existing form of media because its made for slaves of the country.

36. #36 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:10 pm

Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said yesterday his campaign to topple the government would only be strengthened if Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi stepped down earlier than expected and Abdullah’s deputy took the reins……..
    Anwar said both leaders had lost the mandate of the people to rule, but that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had even less credibility……..

Another risk for Anwar supporters was that Najib would be more willing to implement the Internal Security Act, a draconian law that allows people to be detained without trial for up to two years.

Anwar feared that the powers of ISA would only be strengthened and used more if Najib took power next year. Najib “has not said that he won’t use the Internal Security Act — not only against me”, he said………..

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.php/malaysia/9669-anwar-najib-more-unpopular-than-his-boss

37. #37 by raven77 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:14 pm

Looks like the Altantunya knife Badawi held to Najib’s neck was just not good enough…..[deleted]

38. #38 by Godfather on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:17 pm

“Unless he does something bold and dramatic in this transition period to neutralise his detractors within the party he will fade away, forever wondering whether he has missed the oppotunity that was not seized that the powers of incumbency of office would have enabled him.” Jeffrey

I don’t think he needs to do anything at all. The much shorter transition period is simply to ensure that his family and cronies can make an orderly exit from the numerous positions that were created. From what I know, his son and son-in-law are generally w

39. #39 by Godfather on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:17 pm

…generally well-off and certainly don’t require further concessions or handouts.

40. #40 by parameswara on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:19 pm

HJ Angus Says:

“The basic requirement to fight the righteous battle is that you must be really clean to clear up the mess.
    Otherwise the saying “those who live in glass houses……..” applies.”

============================

true! but can we say zaid ibrahim is a clean man doing his best to clean the house ?? and he gave up…….

this episode tells us one thing…..the house is beyond redemption, i think.

41. #41 by The Enforcer on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:19 pm

All the 4 former PMs are known for something during their tenure.
    Since AAB didn’t have any known credits yet during his 54 months in office, he should leave a legacy like his predecessors i.e.
    To ABOLISH ISA and release bro RPK and all the other detainees!
    To DISSOLVE parliament and call for ELECTION
    or
    To have a smooth transition of government to one of the RAKYAT’s choice.
    By doing so, AAB will also not be forgotten and also leave a legacy before he steps down.

42. #42 by Godfather on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:21 pm

The only thing that Badawi will miss sorely is the use of the government Airbus A319. Given his family connections to AirAsia X, he should be able to get concessionary tickets to Perth easily to use the property that was registered under a crony’s name.

43. #43 by LBJ on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:21 pm

Hey. This is Julius Ceasar and Brutus all over again. Since time memorial, politicans have been stabbing each others back with great politeness and courtesy. (for one thing politicans are instinctively polite and courteous). I just hope the knives are sharp and the task get done quick and clean. Then life can go on.

44. #44 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:22 pm

No one was hurt in the 3.00AM Molotov cocktail attack at Teresa Kok’s family home this morning. There content of the letter that accompanied the attack is given below:

?WOI TERESA BABI!!! LU JAGA SIKIT. JANGAN SUKA CARI PASAL … NANTI GUA BAKAR SAMA LU DENGAN LU PUNYA FAMILY, PAHAM!!! CIBAI LU TERESA KOK?

45. #45 by malaysia born on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:23 pm

If he feels that he had been stabbed in the back and humilated by his followers, then do the right thing……dissolve parliement and call for fresh elections.

We all know the outcome already, don’t we?

Then again, he has not been known for doing the right thing, right?

46. #46 by Godfather on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:24 pm

Enforcer:

AAB does have something to his credit – the father of economic corridors. Of course these corridors will become just like Lembah Beringin or other ghost town developments. Then he will be known as the father of failed corridors.

47. #47 by wanderer on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:26 pm

Whoever comes on top, after Abdullah is finished, the nation will get another non-performing PM. Imagine, asking another ‘king of thieves’ catching thieves in the ruling govt…the second stringers are all no better.
    Perhaps, Syed Hamid Albar, should claim the Prime Ministership, he can use the ISA and put all the crooks and opponents behind bars and rule supreme! hahaha

48. #48 by Steven on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:40 pm

The one decent thing Bodohwi can do for the people, now that his back is full of daggers implanted by his own UMNO goons, is to meet with Anwar and talk about a government change if indeed DSAI has the required numbers. If he does, Malaysians would forever be grateful to him for this last gesture of righteousness!

49. #49 by rider on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 1:45 pm

What humiliation for a PM who got a landslide victory. Pak Lah should have called for a GE to show who is stronger.. the BN or we, the RAKYAT. Wait.. wait.. wait.. for what? until the nation’s economy goes into oblivion?

50. #50 by despin on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 2:02 pm

The fourth option is for Badawi and some of his supporters to join Pakatan Rakyat. Although he is utterly incompetent, I think he is still one of the good guys in a camp full of Mahathir right-wing hawks. In return for his good deeds, PR should make him Minister of Agriculture or Tourism where the shoes won’t be too big for him.

51. #51 by PSM on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 2:06 pm

So Rosmah will finally achieve her dream of being PM! So we have different Leader but same Racist, Corrupted UMNO!
    That’s what these crooks have been playing about since the last GE? Who’s running the country? I guess they don’t care.
    Maybe the one good thing to come out of all this will be that KJ will be the next to follow AAB!
    By the way, while RPK is languishing in Kamunting, will the PR ever take over the Federal Govt?

52. #52 by ahpiow on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 2:15 pm

Saudara LKS,

Your last para question
    “Apart from the third option of immediate retirement as Prime Minister, is there a fourth option open to Abdullah?”
    has very exciting implications! I think there is something very positive going on for PR for you to leave a fourth option. Let’s see what happens in the next few weeks.

53. #53 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 2:17 pm

Ah! That fourth option – how alluring it sounds and what possibilities can be conjured up in the mind’s eye!
    But I’ll rather not indulge in it – for we have had too many dreams dashed.
    Better for it to become a pleasant surprise if it becomes reality!!

54. #54 by selvarajasomiah on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

Yes, it is over for sure for Pak Lah and he is in the twilight time of his premiership. Hope he can leave gracefully as UMNO no longer enjoys confidence in him. Pak Lah should be like Tun Hussein Onn a real statesman who also was elbowed out and who gave up power so gracefully.

Sadly, Malaysia will not be any better off with Najib who has too many skeletons in his cupboard and has some very serious image problem to overcome. In this situation can Najib restore public confidence for Umno and Barisan Nasional? I dont think so.

Malaysian politics need a complete overhauling. Politics based on race and religion, no longer, have a place in our politics. Malaysians are demanding radical changes in government and they want the government to introduce popular reforms and do away with unpopular legislations and the cry is getting louder following the March 8 elections.

Only the Pakatan Government can give some new hope for a real change in Malaysian politics, and I hope I’m right.

selvaraja somiah

55. #55 by Jong on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 2:47 pm

Yes, Loyal Malaysians – too many dreams dashed? We will be if we continue to allow this senior DAP member go blabbing! Check it out..

http://dinmerican.wordpress.com/2008/09/26/is-it-any-wonder-why-the-nst-likes-tunku-aziz

56. #56 by hiro on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:16 pm

Does not matter what Badawi decides. His time is up, so is Khairy’s. The boy is still whining about sabotage of his youth leadership campaign. Damn thick skin that fellar.

Pakatan and Malaysians at large have every reason to be worried. With DPM taking over, we are headed for worse times, including unrepentant use of the ISA, enactment of the DNA Identification Act and we can well forget about any reform to the judiciary, police or the ACA because Najib will probably backpaddle and say – we’ve done enough.

If the Malaysian dream is to live another day, THIS is the time for Malaysians to support Badawi to stay in power a little longer.

57. #57 by Mr Smith on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:21 pm

I don’t think Abdullah has lost nor Muhyiddin has won.
    This is the usual UMNO sandiwara – a party is utter disarray with each group trying to pull the rug from the other’s feet.

If indeed Abdullah has decided to step down and hand over power to Najib, why the need to wait till Oct 9 for his final decision. All the details should have been hammered out yesterday itself.

Abdullah and his supporters still believe that he can still secure the 58 nominations to defend his seat. Hasn’t he said, “I am in command” several times recently?

He wouldn’t relinquish his lofty Emperor’s position just to please a few dissidents in the supreme council.

I think he will wait till the 199 nominations are in before he throws in the towel, if at all. The likelihood is, he will defend his post and concede defeat only if loses in the party polls in March 2009.

His, his son’s, son-in-law’s and his hangers-on’s interests are too huge for him to let go of his premiership so easily. They will not let him step down without a fight.
    This is not only about the premiership but the “economic empire.”

58. #58 by m.hwang on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:27 pm

If he would like to be Bapa Malaysia then the 4th option will be the best option ;)

59. #59 by HB Lim on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:35 pm

As I have said in another thread on the 13-9-2008, there is the fourth alternative available to Badawi –

“For Badawi, as I have said elsewhere, he is practically a goner in the UMNO – it is only a matter of time before the official burial. He will have to go, that is not a choice. The choice is whether he would go with UMNO as it is, still in control of the government and able to do more damage to the country or he would go after agreeing to a fresh GE which would mean UMNO has to fight for its own survival in that GE.
    If he makes the right choice, Badawi will be remembered as the PM who liberated Malaysia from the claws and tyranny of UMNO.”

60. #60 by MyFoot on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:42 pm

The best thing AAB can do now is to free RPK, Hindraf 5 and all other in ISA retention. Do it now and leave at least one good deed behind.

61. #61 by m.hwang on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:48 pm

I agree with u Myfoot…he has nothing to lose but everything to gain.

62. #62 by homeblogger on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 3:54 pm

He will resign after Raya. Ahmad Ismail has informed him to do it.

63. #63 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 5:38 pm

Is there a fourth option open to Abdullah?

Let’s skip that for time being and explore the fifth option and how that would buttress the first option.

Now it is very embarrassing to speak of this other option, which I call the “Double Purposes – J. Edgar Hoover Option” . However it is just too dirty and unethical for a person as genteel as Abdullah to even think for a moment, let alone do it.

As PM, I am sure he has access to counter intelligence surveillance “X” files kept securely tucked away with sensitive information obtained from informants and security services on the unsavoury, immoral or illegal activities of his political enemies, the information which if leaked to the public domain, disseminated by the alternative cyber media, will destroy once and for all the reputation and political prospects of those whose dirty linens are exposed.

Next of course win back public good will by releasing the man with brass balls in Kamunting and leak him these information via discrete intermediary so that we all can read some exciting news in MalaysiaToday or Malaysiakini…….

You think his rivals will have a chance when he canvasses divisional nominations and contest the for the post of Umno President???

I call this the “Double Purposes – J. Edgar Hoover Option” because:

1. in 1950s & 60s America, FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover exalted this dirty method of political blackmail and selective releaseof harmful material (whether corruption or extra marital affairs) to destroy peoples or groups of people especially in civil rights movement (like Dr Martin Luther King) whom they otherwise for one or reason or another did not want to arrest and prosecute;

2. it is ‘double purpose’ because the option also wins public support by releasing and unleashing the icon for Freedom of Speech from the ISA so that he could resume to do what he did best with interesting stories supported by statutory declarations etc. – without implicating the ultimate source or Deep Throat who leaks the information!

64. #64 by k1980 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 5:39 pm

I doubt he would ever be given a tunship, unlike all the other retired PMs

65. #65 by milduser on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 5:45 pm

The 4th option hint: Go for option 1 or 2, allow no-confidence vote in Parliament and pass power to PR by back-stabbing Amnoo… he he he … for … back stabbing me … thinks Lame Duck.

66. #66 by taiking1 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 6:13 pm

With the old man as good as gone, lets concerntrate our fire-power on najib.

With najib, we have more things to shoot at.

67. #67 by ktteokt on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 6:22 pm

Confer him a TUN but spelt backwards! He deserves it!

68. #68 by cheng on on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 7:00 pm

Maybe can join PR, n ask for a DPM, either 1 or 2, better than nothing lah!

69. #69 by onetruevine on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 7:02 pm

uncle Lim,

in the end, the inevitable is inevitable, the unavoidable will be unavoidable but the cause for jubilation is neither present nor existent for the people as long as there are detainees remain within the wall of that Kam (camp?) of despicable tyranny.

How i wish i have the financial means to commission a broadcast (outside Kamunting) of our messages of love, peace and adoration to our Noble Champion, daily for 10 min, at hourly interval from an untraceable mobile source.

How i wish there will be 100s such vessels of mass communication to pluck and strum daily, the nerve of basic human decency of those damnable captivators

How i wish i have the courage, non conformity, defiance, resolute and conviction of our Noble Champion to face everything the regime of Blabbing Nonsense threw.

In the end, how i wish is but nonsensical,non inevitable and non unavoidable…………….

70. #70 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 7:08 pm

* Apart from the third option of immediate retirement as Prime Minister, is there a fourth option open to Abdullah?

Yes, there is an option. Be Gorbachov by handing over the power to Anwar. He must be very disappointed with these UMNO jerks and he has to stab back. He can do so by giving away power. I think this way of acting is important for the country. He should think above himself and UMNO, and think about the country and its people.

71. #71 by human1 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 7:12 pm

Four years ago after the general election, you could hear UMNO members chanting “Hidup Pak Lah” from time to time. The support to Abdullah had been enormous.

The myth of the indestructible “PM for all Malaysians”, was born ever since. Abdullah has since enjoyed living in his own myth.

Today after the March general election, the result has shattered his reign. I bet no one has ever expected Abdullah to be in this quagmire, on the blink to step down.

What appears to be the individual voice of discontent towards his administration, for failing to address the issues like toll hike, bad public transportation, the increase of unemployed graduates, AP, Klang mansion, corruption, the abusive police force,
    the need for independent legal system, racial remarks from UMNO members; had all dented his image at a very high cost.

The result in what the opposition called the “political tsunami”: lost of 5 states and 82 parliamentary seats due to his indecisiveness and silence in regard to the issues. It was far too late to wake up to face the reality of shock. All of a sudden, harsh voices begin to emerge asking Abdullah to handover power to Najib.

Some of us may have not been taken by surprise, backstabbing has been part of the culture of UMNO. There is just too much money and power thrown into the game, much irresistible to the elite in UMNO. The personal agenda of greed among many unthrustworthy members, has driven and shaped the party’s so-called struggle for the Malay, as we see today.

The other racial parties, MCA and MIC have not been spared the corruption either, both in the form of money and power. There are equally many opportunists, who hide behind the so-called racial struggle agenda, for their own interests.

The degree of corruption, is less being observant when compared with UMNO. MCA and MIC are often given less important ministries such as health, human resource, work, housing, etc in the basis of power sharing. This cabinet portfolio has been arranged in the spirit of BN, respecting the special rights of Malay to allow UMNO to hold more significant portfolios.

To test the integrity of the person, give him or her the power; which is none the case for MCA and MIC.

It is a tragedy for Pak Lah.

72. #72 by yhsiew on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 7:41 pm

Ex finance minister seeks to lead Malaysia ruling party.

Read more:

@@http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idINKLR33039620080927?rpc=611

73. #73 by grace on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 7:52 pm

Think of it Abdullah should quit immediately. He can no longer function effectively knowing that his orders holds no water any more.
    He must know that the longer he delays his exit, the more the country suffers. Investors would shun away from us and flight of capital would increase.
    Pak Lah, why should you he delay? Everyone in the world knows that he is dysfunctional PM. Only he still think that he still commad the respect of the public.
    As Tengku Razaleigh has aptly put it, he and Najib are the jokes of the world. Every one islaughing at them!! Ha!Ha!Ha!

74. #74 by alancheah on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 8:09 pm

Many changes have been going on in this country.

God Bless.

75. #75 by calvin_ngan on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 8:49 pm

4th option is to open Pandora box. Implement the changes he promised, judical reform and many more… and if they tried to remove him, it would ultimately seal UMNO’s fate as a party than can not be reformed internally… subsequently, he will be remembered as a PM that tried to change Malaysia for good but was given the boot… one stone kill two bird!

76. #76 by nkeng11 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 8:56 pm

The End is near…

but Pak Lah need to do the needful. Najib will be oust in no time after he becomes PM. Dr. M will see to it and a new ball game will begin. Life is so predictable in Malaysia.

Everyone wants a position but do not work!

Pak Lah, you need to free RPK and expos all the wrong doings of Najib, Dr. M and all those in power

Malaysia needs righteous leaders, god fearing and Raayat centred.

Not even like some PKR fella who said the Chinese girls they have sex with were sent to them. They did not go and seek them out! What is the difference?

Park Lah

77. #77 by jt84 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 9:24 pm

Hi YB Uncle Lim,

The latest event took place at Teresa’s family house has again proven the incompetency of police team to protect a Member of Parliament but why were the police efficient in detaining innocent people under the ISA?

As an aspiring Malaysia to look for a change in the Federal Government as instituted by “916” phenomena, it is very depressing to watch the main stream media like TV3 and even NTV7. In addition to that, the cyberworld provides very little momentum in burning the “916” flame. The majority of the Rakyat has pinned their hope for a swift and quick change in the Government for a better Malaysia as it has happened in 308 & 826 “Political Tsunamis”. Now, the rakyat needs the Pakatan Rakyat and I sincerely hope that Pakatan Rakyat will deliver its promise to take over the federal government and start implementing changes and policies as promised in so many “ceramahs” my fellow Malaysians and I attended.

Everyday’s wait for a great news to the country can be tiring. Eventhough the Pakatan Rakyat leaders are not “hungry” for power as expressed in the “delay” in taking over the government eventhough securing enough MPs in the Parliament as confirmed by our Oppostition Leader Anwar Ibrahim on 15th September, the rakyat who supports the Pakatan Rakyat agenda is losing spirit “little by little”, if not more.

Even the “new Malaysian flag” flying in our homes and vehicles in the spirit of 916 since 16th September is taking alot of “damage” from the weather, similar to the spirit of change in Malaysia taking alot of political drama that result in worsening economy worries and aging ISA detainees. How much more Malaysian flags we need to buy to replace the old ones “damaged” by weather to keep the “916” spirit alive until a new dawn and hope rises in the Malaysian Sky?

We want “916”, we want “Sky change”, that is loud and clear from the Rakyat.

Judiciary reforms, Independent Police commisions, Abolishment of ISA agendas cannot be trusted with a BN Government in place. The loss of hope in BN has spelled/ triggered the two “Political Tsunamis”.

The country is in distress, the economy is in distress, the rakyat is in distress. The BN government given a slim majority mandate in the recent General Election is too busy with their own power and wealth agenda. Then, the next best option for the Rakyat and country is to depend on Pakatan Rakyat.

No doubt that UMNO-led Government has failed in many ways since given a huge mandate on 2004 General Election. YB Uncle Lim, your suggestions and proposals are all taken in vain. Therefore, the Rakyat want “Sky Change”, the Rakyat instituted two “Political Tsunamis”.

The Majority of the rakyat will all be behind the Pakatan Rakyat government.

Last but not least,

–to expect the “51 years of reign” BN to give up their “place in the Government” without a shriek (NOW or LATER) is unrealistic.

–to expect the “51 years of reign” BN to stay completely “silent” when PR takes over the government (NOW or LATER) is unrealistic.

–to expect a “completely smooth” transition of power to the Pakatan Rakyat when the “51 year old Dragon” has been reigning is unrealistic.

It is going to be some “tough ride” when the Pakatan Rakyat takes over the goverment but rest assure that the Majority of the Rakyat is behind PKR, DAP,PAS.

While PM Abdullah or UMNO holds the three options as mentioned above. The fourth option is within the hand of Pakatan Rakyat!

78. #78 by chin on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 9:51 pm

The more he linger on, the more hatred among UMNO members will show. The best thing & not option is to leave with some respect, if there are left any ! Anyway, the damage is done, what is done is done. Don’t make it a hard & painful, its not worth fighting on with cancer at last stage. Give up, while grace still exist.
    At least if he left as a man & not a whimp !

79. #79 by chin on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:03 pm

The chance for DSAI to become PM is great, the question is WHEN ! If he let time fly by too long, situation may not goes as what he planned. Don’t mention about the defection list, it will not goes as what most people think of.
    Politics is like a poker game, if the stakes are high & money is not on your side. Then you need to stir up problems to break loose the other players to make way for your opportunity to stand as the next option. Take too long, then way you opt out fast & no chance. Too soon will risk your stake. Therefore, play the flow & slide in when there are players going for each others throat.

80. #80 by OneMsian on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:13 pm

Frankly, between AAB & Najis, I would still prefer AAB. At least AAB is not as racist as Najis. And no mongolian girl or hateful wife. Hopefully AAB will fight on. Perhaps AAB should use his position as defence minister to conduct a full scale investigation on C4 & submarine deals?

81. #81 by code13am on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:35 pm

AAB, DSAI, LKS, BN, PKR, PAS, ….. or whoever it is … all of you are destroying this country with your alibaba politiking crap ….

just cut the crap lar, and let’s all work together to rebuild our beloved nation.

stop talking and start working.

82. #82 by baochingtian on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:45 pm

Pak Lah to set free RPK and Hindraf 5, pls……….

83. #83 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:51 pm

I would not be surprised that the guy who acted on Teresa’s parents was a chinese, although he pretended to be a Malay. This kind of guy should be arrested and put under ISA.

84. #84 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:51 pm

“What’s Right Rather Than Wrong”
    focus on basics (Rebecca Garland).

YB Kit,

We need to stop criticizing on each other for now, focus on current issues, how to takle global challenge, how can we survive, how we need utilised our resource to its full used for the country.

I suggest PKR should start a Mass Proposal tackling Malaysian Issues, forget about the dramatic play by these comedian we have NO interest with them.

Our country currently runs by kleptocrats who endores TDM era’s and even facism comes in role by completely irresponsible politician who cares for their own coffer.

Whats more annoying when the whole components are not on the far right and does blindly as follow their leaders when they are wrong.

My suggestion could come in list but i took this for a start as i think its crucial for our country.

1) How do we fight Inflation as we’re selling out our precious gift by mother nature as were located at equator(Khatulistiwa) spot, and we had planty of Natural Energy(SUN generates Electric by SOLAR) and Natural Resources(FUEL)!

Why not invest money and assign contractor from the international developers if we doesn’t have the technology to do it.

We have the finest “White Sand” located in Kuala Abang Dungun, Terengganu. It’s high-grade silica oxide(the main raw material to produce solar cells). WHY EXPORTING IT?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(The ENERGY and FUEL) are the “MAIN KEY” to developt a country, with Solar Energy and Low Fuel Price in the country, i doubt Malaysia wouldn’t succeed to lure and create vast opportunist of investors coming in our country in this region!

WE WOULD BE THE 1st IN THE LIST!

P/s: im not a good child during my school days, i would like to apologise for your painful by reading my post. Tata…

85. #85 by rahmanwang on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:51 pm

BN can do whatever.AAB can be out as PM.Now the rakyat wants Ahmad Ismail to answer for his utterly bad racist behavior.Khir Toyo must also be answerable to his false report on MP Teresa Kok.Syed Hamid must also be responsible for putting Raja Petra under ISA.Just remember everyone must be responsible for their wrong doing!

86. #86 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 10:59 pm

IF Pekatan debate for “Solution” and Not “Criticism”, i believed UMNO whatever component can’t do you anything bad.

FIGHT them with Knowledge as kleptocrats has none!

87. #87 by nkeng11 on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:04 pm

Don’t let the molotav cocktail give syed labar the excuse to put Theresa back into ISA! Syed may again say that it is for her own protection!

Strange things in strange and stupid country and leaders.

88. #88 by daryl on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:34 pm

UMNO politics doesn’tconcern me unless they drag the whole MAlaysia down wit them. Hopefully they will die a natural death because rakyat no longer fear them.

89. #89 by homeblogger on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:39 pm

nkeng11 Says:

Today at 23: 04.23 (32 minutes ago)
    Don’t let the molotav cocktail give syed labar the excuse to put Theresa back into ISA! Syed may again say that it is for her own protection!

Strange things in strange and stupid country and leaders.

=============================

Why not? in Malaysia, the one who throws the molotov cocktail is innocent. The one who receives the molotov cocktail is a threat to national security.

90. #90 by homeblogger on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:47 pm

daryl Says:

Today at 23: 34.21 (2 minutes ago)
    UMNO politics doesn’tconcern me unless they drag the whole MAlaysia down wit them. Hopefully they will die a natural death because rakyat no longer fear them.

==================================

What are you talking about? They are already dragging us down and they don’t give a damn. Abdullah is concerned that he is already going down in history as the biggest failure in Malaysian politics. Najib is desperately waiting to be top dog (maybe) so he has all the power to quash those nasty rumours of him with that Mongolian model.

All the while, Malaysia is the LAUGHING STOCK of the entire world. We are looking like a nation led by money and power hungry fools.

UMNO will NOT die a natural death. They will kill thousands before that happens. Because people like Ahmad Ismail will lose their corrupted, maggot filled ricebowls if UMNO dies, they will die kicking and screaming – an unnatural and painful death.

91. #91 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 27 September 2008 - 11:56 pm

Human 1, you are wrong Sami was given the Works post where all the toll operators are parts of the Mamak’s scheme, so through MIC, Sami had made his piles! In MCA only LLS and CKC had the piles at MOT which does not have much to offer now as most of the profitable projects are all PIRATIZED!

92. #92 by daryl on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 12:50 am

Homeblogger
    You are definetly correct. Go ask DAP why so many of them are against the “frog”. In politic nice guys finish last. There is a guy who can lead you now and DAP acts like coward that “froggy” is wrong and this and that. Than you have PAS saying majority must be muslims if PR is to come to power but didn’t they see what the muslims are doing to other muslims in the current government. I haven’t give up hope yet because I hope they are “playing politic” just like my comments above.

93. #93 by KennyGan on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 1:16 am

If Umno leadership thinks a change of PM who just continue as usual without any reforms will bring back support to Umno and BN, they are dead wrong. Malaysians aren’t really against Pak Lah, they are against the lack of reforms. Why can’t Umno get that into their thick heads?

94. #94 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 8:43 am

The time for Pakatan Rakyat to strike is NOW before Najib-Muhiyiddin takes over. You cannot underestimate a Najib-Muhiyiddin partnership. Combined, they have strong strength in troops and resources. They both now feel UMNO is under threat and neither will endanger it. Muhiyiddin may want to be PM and will test the waters in the next GA but it unlikely he will contest the top post less he be seen as greedy and impatient. Like wise Najib may not want Muhiyiddin at his side, he has no choice but to share power with him.

UMNO/BN can recover temporarily under the Najib-Muhiyiddin partnership and if PR fails to keep the momentum going or its coalition start to fall apart internally, they can consolidate power and keep all of BN parties in line.

While eventually the Najib-Muhiyiddin partnership will fall apart naturally, PR must and can play a huge role to quicken the breaking up of the partnership. BUT it needs new ammunition, new scandals. It could be crime, judicial, economics, immigration but it need new fresh material that will shake the confidence they have in each other. Break that mutual hate for the opposition between them and UMNO/BN will fall like the house of cards its really built on.

95. #95 by lew1328 on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 9:08 am

“Throws the Molotov cocktail” incident reflected the uncivilized and terrorist action, what do you says the education level in Malaysia at current! To me, it’s not threatening of criminal as claimed by local police officer I overheard but it just another plot… Shall they put on ISA (Ikut Sukahati Aku) but I doubt they know who plot was that…

Kit,

The candle light vigil at PUDU last night overwhelming by the public that shown they are many who’s care of Raja Petra K. and the ISA…

FREE RPK & ALL DETAINEES UNDER ISA… ISA MUST ABOLISH… BN MUST GO…

96. #96 by taxpayer on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 9:55 am

The biggest mistake made by AAB was to increase the price of petrol by 40% and diesel by 60%. He is surrounded by stupid economists who give stupid advices. eg the outflow of FDI. ” Within the 10-member Asean trading bloc, Malaysia was glaring as the only country to record a negative flow. ” Malaysiakini. In trying to protect the Govt’s economic policies, Zainal Aznam Yusoff, member of the Malaysian Economic Council gave the most illogical and stupid justification for the outflow.

97. #97 by parameswara on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:15 am

samy value is trying to capitalize on this one temple demolition.

scores of temple demolition occurred when he was works minister ??

yet he is still in BN.

98. #98 by Swordsman on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:24 am

There is a Fourth Option. That is to be a Statesman PM, a PM for all Malaysians transcending the tradition of being PM by virtue of the Presidency of UMNO. He could only achieve this if he garners support from the majority Malaysians.
    He can demonstrate his Statesmanship by taking immediate actions in the interests of all Malaysians:

1. Abolish ISA and free RPK and all who had been cruelly detained under this “un-Islamic” law.
    2. Immediately reduce petrol price further to alleviate the economic hardships of the struggling working class.
    3. Put all privatization projects on hold, and buy back all highway concessions to provide toll-free usage to the Rakyat.
    4. De-corporatize TNB, and re-negotiate with all IPPs to bring down the cost of energy generation and distribution.
    5. Immediately establish an independent Anti Corruption Agency and give it a free hand to investigate corruption in UMNO. (This would put every member of the UMNO Supreme Council under remand, and Pak Lah can continue to be PM with the Rakyat cheering him on).
    6. Replace the top hierarchy in the Police Force with secondment from the more disciplined military personnel.
    7. Revise the NEP from a race-based policy to strictly a poverty eradication program focussing exclusively on a need basis.
    8 An immediate Revamp of the entire Judiciary to regain investor confidence.

Pak Lah became a “lame duck” PM because no one in UMNO wanted him to do the right things and his “non-performance” had sealed his own fate as a Ceasar surrounded with 25 Brutus. Only the Rakyat can stop these 25 Brutus, but Pak Lah must do the rignt things to enlist their support.
    Like they say, a week in politics is a very long time. View from the perspective of politics, Pak Lah has sufficient “window time” to accomplish what could be a “reverse tsunami” drowning his political opponents in UMNO with the will and power of the Rakyat.
    During this holy month of Ramadan, may Allah shine the “light” on Pak Lah and guide him towards his own political salvation.

99. #99 by Lim Koo on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:36 am

Dear Taxpayer,

When George Soros came to Malaysia riding on the Tom Yam momentum, the entire bunch of those economic advisers to our government could do nothing to stop his one-man-show rampage.

Soros eventually met his equal in Hongkong, where he eventually lost all the ill-gotten wealth accumulated in this region.

Yam Chi Swong, the then Chief Executive of HK Monetary Authority, is a Malaysian-born economist.

Malaysia has paid, and is still paying, dearly for failing to appreciate the virtue of meritocracy.

100. #100 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:37 am

eversince (2003)phucklah occupied the premier seat,till now,not finished yet,malaysia is still on auto-pilot mode!
    he is only a sloganman!
    he is totally incompetent!
    old-horse picked him just to mess-up everything (tried to show tradition transition),so that later he,his gang could return to this monarchy-type of gomen,and things just happened not as planned!
    phucklah is implementing ‘money’ policies,since he is the treasurer,issuing pay-cheques to umno elites to gain support is not a problem,but when on the other hand,so much of social,economy,security and political issues arise,he is getting ‘phuck’ by his very own ppl,so now,they counter attack and ask him to :you phucklah,not us!

101. #101 by bclee on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:38 am

Pah Lah please free all ISA detainees before u step down,leave a good name atleast the most u can do

FREE RPK ABOLISH ISA

do it now no more dely

102. #102 by Lim Koo on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:40 am

Typo error — Yam Chi Kwong

103. #103 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 10:49 am

What will we see next about Abdullah-Najix’s struggle for power?
    Abdullah’s camp should tell the public all he knows about najix, especially if what Raja Petra wrote were true. Or release Raja immediately such that he can continue to post! When the irrelevance of Najix as prime minister is clear, Abdullah has a slight chance of clinging to power for slightly longer.

104. #104 by katdog on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:10 am

Isn’t it highly convenient for Najib that his public enemy number 1, RPK, has now been served with a 2 year ISA detention, supposedly by Abdullah?

Most likely Abdullah is nothing more than a puppet and is being used as a front by the ‘gang’ behind the scenes to stamp down on any dissent before they take over.

105. #105 by justiciary on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:12 am

YB LKS,in view of the deteriorating status of public safety due to the increaing crime rate,is there any quick and practical measures to solve this problem that affects everybody except the very few privileged people with close personal protection.Sorry to digress.But I feel the crime situation is getting from bad to worse.Concerning what was happening in Penang,I hope the robbery that befell the familes of the past and present Aduns(including the latest that happened to YB Pee’s daughter) is not politically connected.However the appeal made by certain MCA leaders definitely had political overtones.The problem is the sense of insecurity haunts most people these days whenever they are out of their homes moving around the streets or anywhwere.The molotov cocktail attack on YB Teresa Kok’s family was obviously committed by individuals or groups linked to a certain political party.

106. #106 by veddy.lum74 on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:21 am

wat happen to the lingam -videoclip -scandal issue?tengku adnan,vincent,tdm,,ex-cj………..?
    when are they being prosecuted?
    DONT THINK THAT THE RAKYAT WILL FORGET THIS ISSUE!

107. #107 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:42 am

I remember in 2005 Pak Lah had made an anouncement regarding CHINA had assign with PETRONAS MALAYSIA for 20 YEARS of Fuel Contract!

Is anyone had information regarding the Contract? How much Pak Lah had agree apon selling per barrel, was it fixed price on that time or follows the market price from time to times?

If he follows $USD80/barrel x(20years) during the time Malaysia in deep sh!t.

108. #108 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:46 am

I would agree to have ISA if it is used against the thieves, robbers, gangsters

109. #109 by katdog on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:52 am

We already have laws for thieves, robbers and gangsters.

ISA is a law meant to give powers to the government to detain people SUSPECTED of causing/planning ‘unrest’. It is intentionally vague.Because such people have committed no actual crime and therefore their guilt is difficult to be proven in a court of law.

110. #110 by katdog on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 11:55 am

If there had been ISA in US, Martin Luther King and all the african american leaders would have been locked up under ISA for ‘civil disobedience’ or ‘attempting to incite civil unrest’.

111. #111 by Swordsman on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 1:07 pm

To Lim Koo,

Joseph Yam Chi Kwong is NOT Malaysian born. I think you got mixed up with Andrew Sheng who is Malaysian born, former Chairman of Hong Kong Stock exchange, and a former Advisor in Bank Negara before moving over to HK.

112. #112 by lofuji on Sunday, 28 September 2008 - 5:01 pm

TDM cried(whether croc tears or not we dont know) when he tried to combat money politics in UMNO but failed to reform.ZzzZZ PM took over in 2004 with overwhelming majority.The expectations were high that he could do what TDM couldnt but alas,the corrupt culture was so ingrained that he has to put the whole lot of them in Sg Buloh if ever any reform were to take place.This time in 2008 it is his turn to cry because the whole lot of them dont want change or cant change.So when party failed in the GE12m AAB was made the fall guy.Very convenient!Let the mayhem begin.

113. #113 by PHUAKL on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 8:54 am

The SIL is trying his best to keep the
    FIL in power.

Without the FIL, where would the SIL be?

Malaysian politics under the BN regime is
    getting more and more debased by the day!

Phua Kai Lit

114. #114 by iggy on Monday, 29 September 2008 - 2:50 pm

I must say mates, that this seems to be rather disturbing.

http://www1.mstar.com.my/cerita.asp?file=/2008/9/29/mstar_mutakhir/20080929125641&sec=mstar_mutakhir

Now, PAS wants to ensure that there is a muslim majority in Pakatan Rakyat??
    What a monkey wrench into the whole mechanism!

Why can’t they see past religion?
    It beggars belief!

Perhaps this is why, 916 had a little glitch. If those 31 MPs that were supposed to cross over were non-muslim, then PAS might have pulled out and snatched the majority away from PR.
    Plausible?

What do you guys think?