“What’s Tunku doing in DAP?”

“Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim raised many eyebrows, not least from associates, when he joined DAP in August and was promptly named a vice-president of the party. The co-founder of the Malaysian chapter of Transparency International has no intention of being a token Malay presence in the multi-racial but Chinese-dominated party. He has found a new platform in the DAP to advocate transparency, accountability, justice and equality.

“The Edge Financial Daily caught up with him recently where he spoke about the challenges facing the DAP, especially in reaching out to the Malay community, what ails the country, the spirit of the nation’s founding fathers and his plans in the party. While many would have rested on their laurels at age 74, Tunku Aziz, a former Bank Negara adviser and former group director of Sime Darby, has the enthusiasm of a young man, and is all geared up to help push the ideal of creating a better Malaysia. ”

Read The Edge Daily

1. #1 by giko on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 3:55 pm

here’s hoping that tunku will blog soon…

2. #2 by Tulip Crescent on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:08 pm

I do not know him personally, but I can assure you all that he does reply to emails.

It is now up to the DAP to give him a lot of room to play what I expect to be a pivotal role in the party.

Tunku, I wish you all the very best in your new undertaking and have no doubt that you will acquit yourself with aplomb.

3. #3 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:12 pm

Malaysia as a multi-racial country needs a strong government. Multi-racial countries have to face race relation problems. With the need to handle racial problems, the management of the economy becomes extremely difficult.

I cannot see the Opposition with its cavalier coalition being able to handle Malaysia’s racial and economic problems.

In the past, the BN Government had managed to keep Malaysia stable and to develop the country as well. If it seems not to be able to do so now it is not because the BN as a party is no longer suitable for this country. It is simply due to very poor and incompetent leadership.

The component parties of the BN should not think that their best hope is to see the demise of the BN. Rather they should all come together to resuscitate it. If it is necessary to dump the leader than they should do so. But destroying the BN will neither be good for the component parties nor for the nation.

I would like to suggest the component parties should stop blaming each other, stop taking pot-shots at each other. Instead they should all come together and review the structure of BN. They should try for a win-win or lose-lose solution in dealing with inter-party relations. They should listen to the people and to their own members and find ways to satisfy their needs; to overcome their dissatisfaction.

There must be some new thinking on the BN concept. But the basic premises about close collaboration between the parties, about the need to help each other, to accommodate and deal with grouses together should be maintained.

I believe that for this multi-racial, multi-lingual, multi-religious and multi-cultural country with extreme economic disparities, the BN is still the best political solution provider in absence of a healthier alternative. It is still the best way for the different races to cooperate to govern this country.

4. #4 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:30 pm

Zak, at least now you realized what had gone wrong! Getting together to talk about how to divide the booty without giving a damn to the society will not resolve any issue! BN worked for the first half of its regime because there was some semblance of consultation then. What had happened over the last 20 years can only be explained by those who had exploited the nation to the heel.
    At the moment, I don’t think BN’s very top leaders can re-invent itself! Period! The mandate was given in ’04 and what happened? So many topics have been discussed in all the blog-sites in the country, surely there are enough ideas for the ‘leaders’ to have a second thought of their performances!
    As for the YM Tengku, I believe he would certainly be able to further convince those who can think to think on a more positive manner. Of course they are many who would not change even they know they need to!
    If they have spent just some time looking into the changing environment over the last 10 years around the world, they certainly would change.
    Now that we have a leader like Tengku who could have had made his days by toeing the line, taking the lead, changes will come! As the sayimng goes ‘ Nothing is Constant Except Change!!,

5. #5 by bclee on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:32 pm

“I believe that for this multi-racial, multi-lingual, multi-religious and multi-cultural country with extreme economic disparities, the BN is still the best political solution provider in absence of a healthier alternative” quote zak_hammaad:

How can u said the corrupted Bee N with century ISA still the best for all Malaysians.
    I don’t think we still have extreme economic disparaties now,but we have a very undemocratic policy imposed here and now at this current moment.divide and rule policy by Bee N umno really was the bigger problem creater.

6. #6 by bclee on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:41 pm

people like RPK Dr.azily, Farish Noor which i think have more clearer mindset.

we want RPK out we want all detained under ISA to released unconditionally.

7. #7 by wanderer on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:47 pm

Zak, very idealistic but, hallow dreams. If BN no longer able to govern the country, let others try. What make you so c*ck sure the opposition will fail. “If a thing is broken, change it!”

8. #8 by dawsheng on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:50 pm

“I cannot see the Opposition with its cavalier coalition being able to handle Malaysia’s racial and economic problems.” – Zak

You need eye surgery, better still get a brain surgery, you probably get a package discount price.

9. #9 by Jan on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 4:51 pm

Is he earmarked for the Governorship of Penang?

10. #10 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:03 pm

waterfrontcoolie Says:

>> What had happened over the last 20 years can only be explained by those who had exploited the nation to the heel.

I would say last 5 years.

>> At the moment, I don’t think BN’s very top leaders can re-invent itself!

I agree, because the old dinosaurs do not make way for fresh thinking and young blood.

Wanderer, Chinese and Indians do not make up the Malaysian people and as I said before Pakatan is doomed to failure because it does NOT have the support of most Malays. Without Malay unity there can never be national unity simply because of their social demography. Pakatan can not rely on 20% Malay support and call inself “representing all Malaysians”. PAS is a token party with negligible seat representation, which I doubt will survive long in a pro-secular opposition.

Denying this basic glaring fact is simply a non-starter for the opposition.

11. #11 by Loh on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:03 pm

///21. I believe that for this multi-racial, multi-lingual, multi-religious and multi-cultural country with extreme economic disparities, the BN is still the best political solution provider. It is still the best way for the different races to cooperate to govern this country.///–TDM CheDet.com BN II, 22 Sept 2008

The term ‘extreme economic disparities’ in TDM’s mind relates to the different races, and so Article 153 is still relevant, and NEP should continue. When would he face facts? And more importantly 51 years after independence, the government should cease to be a guardian for the people determining how they should lead their lives. It is because of the inequality that angry words are exchanged. One side considered that it is not fair that it continues to be bullied. The other side is fighting for the right to continue to bully. The TDM comes out with all the theories why the people cannot live in equality without the government acting as referee based on unfair rules. The evil is Article 153, and under its aegis, racialism promotes corruption, injustice and all other social ills.

12. #12 by wesuffer on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:04 pm

yes , for past, opposite may no easy to manage a country because their party lack of som expert or professional on some development field. but once opposite have chance to become goverment. i bet they wll have more expert and profesional to work with them. all just dollar and cent.
    BN cant be goverment anymore. because they even cant know how to solve citizen problem. yes. they continue developing. but the result like shit ! and behind motive is corrupted of all project!

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:22 pm

I salute Tunku Aziz for wanting to make a difference in Malaysian society.

It’s timely & the public must work together towards developing multiculturalism and plurality in leadership based largely on meritocracy. The likes and policies of ex-PM Tun M and his blame game and devious divide-and-rule policies must never see the light of day again. Imagine Tun M has the cheek to blame Pak Lah for what was essentially and largely his policy failures that led to the tsunami on Mar 08. Tun says: “None seems willing to acknowledge that it was dislike for Abdullah which caused the BN to lose the support of the people. Instead, they picked on the parties and blamed each other,” he said.

That’s completely wrong. pak Lah may be dumb but he should not be the sole scapegoat. It was Tun’s mess largely. UMNO’s too (Zakaraia Deros, Close 1-eye Jasin, Rustam’s anti-PPP stance, Nazri’s racist!racist!racist! chant et.al). And the dumb MCA and Gerakan were emasculated (political pondans all!)

So, to Tun M, can I suggest – please retire gracefully. It’s embarassing for the public to have to denounce the failed policies of a failed regime under your watch.

C’mon, we all know it. So just kiss your resurrection goodbye.

14. #14 by kosmoalpha on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:26 pm

this is the type of indivual of ‘what it takes to make a great statemanship’…….a better malaysia for all malaysian!

15. #15 by ipohmali on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:28 pm

Zak

do you think that it is easier to remove the incompetent leaders without destroying BN? The problem is that BN members are so deeprooted in wrongdoings that removing one of them will trigger a chain reaction of exposing one another’s wrongdoings that will put almost all of them in jail.

Can’t you see that is why they’re all protecting each other’s hinds until now. And that includes the leaders in the police force too. The IGP’s son walked scott-free. Don’t you think it’s logical that the IGP would protect his political masters in return? You scratch my back, I scratch yours…

Wake up, Zak…

16. #16 by K S Ong on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:28 pm

It was a coup of sorts to be able to convince Tunku to actually join DAP, as he loses his ‘independence’ in the eyes of the public.

Personally, it would be nice to have more Malays joining DAP and Chinese and Indians joining PKR to reflect a more multi-racial composition for both parties.

I believe being ‘rare’ in a predominantly one-race party stands out prominently and stands a better chance in the selection of candidates for party positions and as election candidates. Why didn’t more people do that?

17. #17 by Old.observer on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 5:36 pm

zak’s shallow analysis ignores the rampant corruption, wastage, leakages, mismanagements that exists and pervades within the roots of BN. It has been estimated that something like a quarter to a half of the Government Budget is going to be corrupted, wasted, leaked, mismanaged away in some form or another. Out of $208 Billion planned for Budget 2009, we can expect $50 Billion to $100 Billion loss — courtesy of the BN leadership and party. The loss is too big when compared to total individual tax collected. Something we can ill-afford to have.

A party isn’t just its ideology, although that is very important. It is also about its current people and the people who will still be there in the party 10, 20 years from now. Young people like Khairy (world’s richest unemployed) and others who are so used to the BN way of doing things to enrich themselves. These people are true liabilities to the party and must be changed, if BN has even the smallest chance to win back the People’s trust. Extremely unlikely.

So, not everything is about race. It’s about values. Good values that all religion espouses. Fairness, equality, justice, good management of limited resouces, and so forth. Tunku can see it, but somehow, I doubt zak can.

18. #18 by hantu jerangkung on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 6:01 pm

how many malay in DAP???? how the percentage ??? monopoly by whom???? from when DAP establish … how many DAP create malay leader????

19. #19 by Loh on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 6:13 pm

When does plagiarisation end, and creation begin? Please take a look at the similiarity of ideas, and words of contribution made to this blog, and the writing of TDM in Barisan National II, CheDet.com 22/9/2008. See http://test.chedet.com/che_det/2008/09/the-barisan-nasional-ii.html#more

20. #20 by nkeng11 on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 6:20 pm

At 74 if Tunku is still midget in thinking something is wrong. Anyway it is time to put things right after so many years of wrong. Afterall how many years can a man have?

Yes, Tunku get it rightlah. Too many racists, narrow minded midgets, selfish, egoistic, brainless people in the last 50 years’ leadership in Malaysia.

Whatever you can do, do it yesterdaylah Tunku. I pray GOD gives you the wisdom, energy and vision to do the right things for Malaysians.

21. #21 by badak on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 7:03 pm

UMNO and the BN Government are too corrupted to be cured .The cancer is at its 4th and final stage.All we can do is pray for a fast and painless death.
    Zak for your information i read somewhere that in the past ten years UMNO led BN Government flushed RM 100 BILLION down the drain on corruption.85 % a lone when to its cronies in BN .
    Do you still think the rakyat want BN to rule the next 50 years?
    If we still want to,we need to check into TANJUNG RAMBUTAN.

22. #22 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 7:06 pm

We should give YM Tunku Aziz a chance to reform, transform & re-invent DAP to ensure its continuing relevance in the new political landscape.
    Let’s hope & pray that he will succeed in his quest to strengthen the Party & attract more members which fairly reflect the ethnic composition of our country.
    I was first acquainted with YM Tunku when I joined Bank Negara in 1971as a new officer & he came in as our Advisor in the same year. He soon make his mark as a fair & just senior officer. Give him every support, cooperation & understanding.

23. #23 by Loh on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 7:10 pm

According to the Chinese version of Malaysiakini, AAB after discussing with his power agents has decided to defend his position in December as UMNO President. It means that starting from the divisional meeting on 9 October different teams of President and Deputy might be nominated.

If Najib is the successor to AAB, he should be contented to be nominated as the Deputy. But as Rafidah Aziz said during the UMNO MT last Thursday, AAB might not even get 58 nominations as President. In that case, she would expect Najib to be nominated as President rather than Deputy. As AAB is defending his position as President, he and his supporters would accept nomination of Najib as the Deputy but not as President. If Najib is nominated as President in any Divisional meeting it will be deemed as though Najib has negated on his agreement to the transition plan. In retaliation AAB will accept others as his deputy who would then help him to gain more Divisional support. Since Ku Li has started campaigning for the position of President, and with AAB and Najib both nominated to the position, UMNO might for once have three candidates for the top post. Some Divisions might even nominate TDM when he is admitted as member after 9 October. With four candidates, UMNO might not have anyone attaining the quota to run as president.

UMNO is entering into an interesting era.

24. #24 by Saint on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 7:20 pm

When an individual is good, he is good – all others aside. Malay, Chinese, Indian or Iban. DAP should form a small team with YM Tunku Aziz as the head and try nto bring in more Malays, Sabahans and Sarawakians. We need to be “truely Malaysian”.

25. #25 by mincetoiletpaper on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 7:22 pm

Glad to hear YM Tunku Aziz had came on board. Welcome Tunku. Your wisdom and experiences will surely raise to built a better Malaysia. At such a senior age you still had the passion and desire to serve and built a better Malaysia. I am honoured. I’ll sign up my life membership with DAP.

26. #26 by AhPek on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 7:42 pm

‘If it seems not able to do so now it is not because the BN as a party is no longersuitable for this country.It is simply done due to the very poor and incompetent leadership.’. zak-hamaad.

If it seems not able to do so now, it is precisely because BN as a party is no longer suitable for this country.How could it be otherwise?The raping of this country has gone on for a long time even before mamakthir but it has gotten worse since he came on board with all the institutions of this country, the civil service,judiciary,police,AG chamber etc becoming appendages of UMNO.Of course with Bodohwi,it has even accelerated faster onthe backof the momentum inherited from the previous administration.Thus whilst UMNOPUTRAS (they include not only UMNO elites but all the elites of UMNO appendages as well)feast the elites of component parties (MCA,MIC,Gerakan…) are content even to wait at their tables for the crumps.Such is the rottenness of the BN party and the government that it has infested throughout the administration.It is akin to being inflicted by cancer.If it is discovered at the initial stage,it is curable but this disease inflicting BN has come to the 4th stage.At this stage of the disease,
    the medical fratenity has rightly term it as TERMINAL cos it sure leads to death!!!

27. #27 by Malaysian on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 8:30 pm

Zak-hamaad,

Are you copy from chedet blog ” The Barisan National II”, point 17 to 21? or are you TDM???

28. #28 by rahmanwang on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 8:44 pm

Its is good that Tunku Aziz has joined DAP.
    BN has been saying DAP is a Chinese party dividing Malaysian for the past 40 years(right after our first PM, TAR).It is about time DAP shed this image and also invite Senator Zaid to join so that they will be able to tell BN, we all live in one country and our enemies are not the malays chinese indians ibans kadazan & others.We have to face the world.It is the rest of the world we have to compete with.Do not fight among ourselves.You hear us stupid BN.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 8:54 pm

Loh said that according to the Malaysiakini, AAB after discussing with his power agents has decided to defend his position in December as UMNO President. So by now (after last Supreme Council meeting) he would know who draws long knives against him and who they represent. Wouldn’t this increase the likelihood of RPK to be released soon from ISA? There is no need for PM to incarcerate RPK any further to appease the power brokers since they have shown that they are against his leadership and cannot be appeased. Besides to release RPK tantamounts to releasing a fierce Pit Bull/Rottweiler that will surely bite his political enemy(ies) within his own party opposed to him.

30. #30 by ALLAN THAM on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 9:04 pm

All hope is not lost by having people like Tunku, Zaid and many many more who sincerely believe in Bangsa Malaysia.

31. #31 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:05 pm

Malaysian, I’m glad there are some secret chedet readers here :^) I post what is relevant and what I agree with as it makes for a lively discussion.

32. #32 by mincetoiletpaper on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:50 pm

We also hope that Zaid could join into DAP also. As he know what best for reforming the flawed laws in Malaysia. Sincerely pledge LKS and other Pakatan Leaders to ask Zaid to join in. A good caliber general is equal to 10,000 strong soldiers, 1 strong soldier equal to 100 soldiers. If so require a 10,000 miles walk, then we shall walk the 10,000miles to seek him.

33. #33 by biggun on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:55 pm

‘Sebab Nila Setitik, Rosak Susu Sebelang’, TDM said, its true, its because of the BLUE, it spoilt our nation’s image, Look at PK’s flag,it tell the MALAYSIAN to look and beware of the BLUE, too many blue eye boys and girl in BN, and it kill, the biggest mistake by TDM, was his 22 years in the government is a waste, until today he is still unaware that MALAYSIAN already phase out the ‘NILA’ for laundry purposes, and he still add ‘NILA’ in the washing machine.

34. #34 by just a moment on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:57 pm

Its certainly refreshing and a blessing to have Tunku Aziz with us. DAP can add another Chapter in expanding the reach to the Malays. I have every confidence in Tunku Aziz due to his generosity, pragmatic, and sincerity about his wish to help all Malaysians. A person of his caliber is extremely rare given the fact that he is a Malay and willing to see beyond race and religion for the benefit of mankind ( of all of us, including Zak in this blog ).

This new nation has to adopt an open door policy in that regardless of race, each party must strive together to achieved objectives that benefit of the Rakyat. I see a new dawn emerging. another example is, in PKR we see Tian Chua playing an active role as well. This are signs that PKR is leading by examples. Do away the race based party. Its outdated and obsolete. There are other avenue to address Race and religion issues, but it should not blend into decision making at the expense of National policy – The rakyat.

Sleep well ppl, tomorrow is another new day. RPK be free tomorrow.Justice will prevail.

35. #35 by just a moment on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 11:12 pm

Holy macro! Just this afternoon, was wondering what happen to Ahmad I@#$%l case? YB, need not reply coz I aready know what happen.

Latest M’siakini : “Penang Umno sticks by Abdullah”

Guess who attended the meeting as well? Malaysia Houdini! Wholla! Its Ahmad I#@$%l!!! A photo of him, having a jolly good time. Amazing!!

Also present was suspended Bukit Bendera leader Ahmad Ismail, who attended both the meeting and the press conference.
    Abdul Rashid clarified that Ahmad, who has since been appointed Bukit Bendera adviser, was allowed to attend because his suspension had not taken effect since he has yet to receive an official letter on the matter.

Ha ha ha, 1. Yet to received official letter of his suspension?!! Ha ha ha, really a joke.
    2. Because letter belum mali, and been appointed as Adviser now, boleh attend lah.

Malaysia memang boleh!! Take my hats off.

36. #36 by swipenter on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 11:16 pm

At all cost to the country TDM tried to modernise the country and change the mindset of the malays to make them competitive and he admitted he failed and the malays failed him and yet Zak said we should emulate him and his ways of doing things. What irony! Ofcos we have a modern facade but beneath the veneer there is a rot and yes the rot got worse in the past 5 years but the blame is unfairly heaped on AAB administration alone.

If Umno/BN is not capable of reform and want to carry on as usual dont blame the rakyat for wanting to chug them at the roadside and root for PR. We have tasted the bitter sweet fruits of Umno/BN for more 3 decades and we are fedup and want change and we are willing to take our chances with PR

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 11:24 pm

Tunku Aziz is very dogmatic in his views. He will either change DAP or himself in the process. I don’t think he will change himself and since he won’t be able to change DAP, I can only see his stay wthin the DAP as being short-lived.

38. #38 by dawsheng on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 11:38 pm

” I post what is relevant and what I agree with as it makes for a lively discussion.” – Zak

Please lah, don’t you know you are in that group with Kasim Amat and Shamsul Anuar, why you all keep coming here and make UMNO look stupid? That’s our job!

39. #39 by my on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 11:43 pm

Zak, of course we read chedet. I am curious to find out the so called ‘brilliant vision’ of our ex-PM. apparently it is not what we think. something must hv struck his brain, all his articles lead to the very same conclusion

> kick out ABB (…and replace by whom??)
    > change the top leadership (who’s the next leader? any?)

oh.. please save your hassle going to chedet tomorrow, i presume the same old conclusion. shouldnt that mamakir start planning where to retire instead?

40. #40 by malaysian4malaysia on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 12:16 am

Lets Abolish ISA = IKUT SUKA AKU!!!

Lets see the news…

A Step To Abolish ISA By 18 people

41. #41 by pjboy on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 12:21 am

Am i wrong to say that right thinking & well educated Malays are not in BN? That’s because nobody is suppose to be ‘smarter’ than the President. Anyone ‘smarter’ will not be welcomed into the party as it is a threat to their position & other leadership in BN. So, if this continues, the next President will be less smarter & less smarter…so, that explains it. Start with our beloved late TAR (smartest)…then Tun R…then Tun HO…then Tun DrM…then Pak Liar…then C4?

42. #42 by vsp on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 12:41 am

I can still remember that during 60s and early 70s, there were corruption also. But then these corrupted people were called the 10-percenters or at the most a 20-percenter. They are only interested in a little kopi-money.

But when Mahathir became the PM the corruption index exploded exponentially. Now, these people are not interested in the kacang putih type of corruption. They became the 100-300 percenters. Projects, jacked up 5–10 times the actual cost, is the norm rather than the exception.

It is a fact that many joined the BN just because they can dream, think and eat about projects! Projects are proposed not because of needs but of how much under-the-table money can be creamed off.

Oftentimes, the attendance record at parliament sittings of BN MPs were pathetic. They will either go overseas pursuing and arranging projects with interested foreign parties or parlaying proposals to powerful warlords. And don’t be surprised because there would be a lot of jealousy or stealing of project-proposals among the wolves in UMNO and BN. So in order to make one’s project secure one has to approach the most powerful patrons or else some other hyenas will steal it. If you happened to meet such people, all they would be talking is project, project, project… and nothing else. Parliament sittings are not important, they can be missed.

During those days, and still is today, development is the mantra among BN ministers. This one of the shrewdest cover for practising corruption among BN ministers because they claimed that they are doing it for the people. And how dare can the Opposition counter them? They will be labelled as anti-development and enemy of the people.

Also you would be wondering why many of the problems in this country were not solved. It is because if there are problems, the smartest way is: don’t solve it immediately. Wait until a justification can be found to implement multi-billion projects to solve problems in this country. Take traffic congestion as an example: billions and billions of ringgit were spent on highways, exchanges and tolls, but until today traffic congestion is still one of the worst problems bedevilling Malaysia.

Many of our problems: traffic congestion, crime, environmental degradation, housing problems, importing of foreign workers are not new. These problems were from the 70s that had been left unresolved and recycled every 2–3 years. There is no urgency for the BN to solve them immediately because someone wants to implement multi-billion projects to solve problems. Unlike our southern neighbour, Singapore don’t need multi-billion projects to solve problems but they tackle the basics and they had already solved all the problems, that we are still stuck with, 20 years ago. That’s the difference between Malaysia and Singapore!

43. #43 by limkamput on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 1:39 am

Zak_hammaad,
    The foundation of this country’s demise was due to BN philosophy, not just leadership. Mahathir was also third world tribal leader, don’t forget that.

In the past BN was able to keep the coalition stable? My foot, BN, dominated by UMNO was actually bullying everybody for its own enjoyment. So again you are wrong.

What multi-racial, multi-lingual, multi-religious and multi-culturalism are you talking about? There was never a policy of cosmopolitanism in this country. Let me remind you that any idea based on dominance and subservience, supremacy and slavery is bound to fail. This is 2008, not 1969.

BN dominated by UMNO is fast disintegrating. NO hope for you Zak. Don’t try to resuscitate. BN is alive physically, but dead spiritually.

There is no win-win situation in BN. There was only win for UMNO leaders and cronies and lose for everybody, including ordinary Malays. My regret is other component parties of BN realise their follies too late. Even now, I don’t think they are not sincere in their struggle. They are just playing along hoping for the storm to be over. High hope.

What extreme disparity are you talking about, Zak. Your idea of cooperation is to put incompetent people in charge of important functions. That is an moronic idea. If you can’t create value, the country can’t progress, as simple as that. Let competent and efficient people manage and govern, this country will be little the Switzerland of Asia, with no one feeling marginalised.

44. #44 by limkamput on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 1:42 am

sorry, …..Even now, I don’t think they are sincere in their struggle.

45. #45 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 1:54 am

I would like to share with all of you a joke going round in the USA.

A rich American contractor invited a rich Malaysian contractor over for a party. Our Malaysian contractor was shown around the house by the American contractor. The Malaysian Contractor was impressed with the wealth this American contractor has.

“How did you manage to make so much money?” asked the Malaysian.

The American while openning the curtain that is facing a township settlement along the river and pointing outside the window said, “Look at the buildings on both sides of the river bank, 5% margin is mine!”

Well the Malaysian contractor also wanted to show off his wealth and invited this American contractor over to his party in Malaysia.

As usual the Malaysian contractor brought his American counterpart for a tour of his palace. The American was impressed.

The American asked, “how did you manage to amass so much wealth?

While opening his curtain that is facing a river and pointing out the window said, “do you see the bridge across the river?”

The American was looking hard for the bridge across the river and said I didn’t see any bridge.

The Malaysia contractor said, “this 100% is mine!”

46. #46 by pjboy on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 2:11 am

what vsp said make sense. no wonder our BN MPs all don’t know how to behave now that they have to seriously attend parliament. more so, know what is parliament about.

47. #47 by vsp on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:00 am

LKS:

The Malays will always be the predominant people in Malaysia. For any party to survive in Malaysia it has to take this fact into account. UMNO has preconditioned the Malays that it is only UMNO that can fight for the Malay cause. DAP is always painted as a chauvinist Chinese party. Until DAP can break this perception problem among the Malays it can never hope to play any meaningful role in this country. They will always be marginalised. DAP has to think out of the box.

Wouldn’t it be nice if Lim Guan Eng can sacrifice his Chief Ministership of Penang, and if ever PK becomes the government, and be appointed as the Minister of Rural Development instead? This is a ministry that affects a lot of Malays. If Guan Eng can devote his whole effort to help the Malays and do a brilliant job at it, I think a lot of racial prejudices and perceptions will come tumbling down. Let a like-minded, incorruptible Malay, such as Tunku or Raja Petra be the Chief Minister of Penang. In this way a new paradigm shift would take shape in Malaysia and a new Bangsa Malaysia will evolve.

If this can happen then I think there would not be any problem for a non-Malay to be the PM of Malaysia one day. Look at the US today: who would ever dream that a black would potentially be the President of the US?

Remember when Guan Eng defended a Malay girl and has to sacrifice himself? It finally paid big dividend: the Malays have accepted Guan Eng as a true Malaysian leader. Who has ever dream that a convict can now be the Chief Minister of a state in Malaysia?

48. #48 by noor on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:04 am

I just don’t understand why the opposition didn’t want to accept the fact that it is the PR that lost the election by 141 – 81 which is a big margin. BN just lack a few more seats to get two third majority ( Don’t forget Pasir Mas MP even though he won on PAS ticket he is always with BN) but is still a big win. It is a strong government if we look at it positively.

How can you people said that the rakyat had rejected BN. If the rakyat had rejected BN the result should be the other way round.

The economy become unstable because we make it unstable by rejecting the decision of the people that gave majority win to BN which is not really simple majority but a big majority thus make politic unstable.

In the west a win is a win may it be simple majority is still a win, and the winner will form the government. There is no attempt to topple the government by pinching members from the winner thus make their politic stable hence make the economy stable.

Even if DSAI managed to pinch BN MPs to hop over and form the government in my opinion it will only make things worst as we will be under a weaker government with only 2 or 3 seats majority then we will see many more attempts to topple the government thus will make not only political unstable but it will many uncertainties may it be political or economical

49. #49 by Tulip Crescent on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:11 am

Zak_

Who is che det?

Are you talking about that guy who Tunku said has an inferiority complex?

50. #50 by vsp on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:19 am

“They will always be marginalised.”

Here I mean: The DAP will be marginalised and not the Malays.

51. #51 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:30 am

Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim and Zaid Ibrahim are two modern-minded Malay figures of noble character. I look forward to their contributions. Good luck to them both.

52. #52 by Godfather on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:44 am

“The foundation of this country’s demise was due to BN philosophy, not just leadership. Mahathir was also third world tribal leader, don’t forget that.” Limkamput

Oh dear, you mean Zak Hammaad has been worshipping a third world tribal leader. Based on his rants on this blog, I would expect him to say that Mamakthir’s sh!t does not smell !

53. #53 by AhPek on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:45 am

vsp,
    And do you know why an African American has come to this stage whereby he stands a chance to be President of America?

54. #54 by raverus on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 9:34 am

He earn his respect unlike some that get it.

Free RPK!

55. #55 by melurian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 9:59 am

“Remember when Guan Eng defended a Malay girl and has to sacrifice himself? It finally paid big dividend: the Malays have accepted Guan Eng as a true Malaysian leader. Who has ever dream that a convict can now be the Chief Minister of a state in Malaysia?”

so funny statement, yeah he got his dividend:

1) he was sent to kajang and sleep on cement in his own private cell.

2) after he released, the girl appeared on frontnews saying the ex-cm is innocent, and lge hype up the story!

3) lge cannot contest in 2004 election..

4) lge soured his relationship with kerk, so many backstabbing how he betrayed kerk in 2004 ge.

5) lge and his wife kicked out from malacca, and have to beg for state seat in pinang.

he is lucky that aab is pm and public got corrupted by rpk. if lge din get his cm post, he and his father would say goodbye in dap, and he is very fortunate to survive that gamble, thanks to aab!

56. #56 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:25 am

limkamput, well as they say “so you are, so shall your leaders be!” – Perhaps the Malaysian rakyat ‘deserve’ the leaders it gets, and if you think you can change this at the ballot box, you are very naive in deed. As for BN philosophy, there is not much of it left amongst the current clownbinet.

dawsheng, if you can’t make valid points and contribute intelligently to this blog, you better simply say so instead of getting personal, like your god Anwar, you are just as ineffective and fast becoming irrelevant.

Good day.

57. #57 by cheng on on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:55 am

Melurian is just mulut durian.
    Why not that girl said ex-cm is innocent or lge hype up story early early? why wait til lge go to jail for nothing, why has he done to go to jail? ask yrself seriously, if u think u are still right in yr allegation, then u r not to talk / or dialogue with! If ex-cm is innocent why not he press a civil suit on the accuser?
    Assess for yrself, lks allow you to post such comment in his blog show how liberal lks is. U think any umno ppl would allow u to post comment with wild allegation of his ppl on his blog?

58. #58 by melurian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 12:35 pm

“If ex-cm is innocent why not he press a civil suit on the accuser?”

lge already punished and sent to kajang, what’s more to sue ? he served his sentence of “publishing malicious” material. …. can you sue a murderer knowing that he was sent to gallow and no money to pay you …….

btw, malaysia should be proud. we got “ex-convict” as cm (not ex-isa, and many ppl proud of him) and bakal “ex-convict” as pm too …… if got any rehabilition program, the gov could use lge and dsai as good examples (we already got aab failed statistic climbed up and ordering bankers)….

59. #59 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 1:49 pm

Zak, in my view, Anwar is but a capable politician who can lead the government, and this government that we want is nothing but a group of civil servants who look after our needs, the rakyat is the boss, not Anwar. We did not say Anwar will be PM forever, the rakyat gave Abdullah one term to prove himself, the rakyat will also gives one term to Anwar, no more no less.

60. #60 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 4:58 pm

dawsheng Says:

>> in my view, Anwar is but a capable politician who can lead the government,

Yeah right, we all saw his ‘capabilities’ in his past positions didn’t we? I’m glad this is your ‘view’ as it is clearly not shared by the majority of the people. As the saying goes, “You can’t Fool all of the People all of the Time”.

>> the rakyat is the boss, not Anwar.

If Malaysia was a full-fledged democracy, I would agree with you but alas it isn’t, it is the government that is boss and not the rakyat. The rakyat has a chance to vote and air their opinions, but that is as far as they go. It is the government that has the final say and does not leave it to the people in towns and villages to determine a comprehensive and complex national agenda.

Islam is not strictly a ‘democracy friendly’ religion where every person in the country is consulted on state matters. What is compatible is the concept of ‘shurah’ (legislative consultation) with representatives (who are experts in their field and have the trust of their locality) to speak and vote on their behalf.

>> We did not say Anwar will be PM forever, the rakyat gave Abdullah one term to prove himself, the rakyat will also gives one term to Anwar, no more no less.

I am glad you distinguish between personalities and their purported parties. Sorry to spoil your fun, but Anwar’s term will never come.

61. #61 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 6:05 pm

“I’m glad this is your ‘view’ as it is clearly not shared by the majority of the people. ”

A denial.

“You can’t Fool all of the People all of the Time”

Yep, UMNO too!

“If Malaysia was a full-fledged democracy, I would agree with you but alas it isn’t, it is the government that is boss and not the rakyat.”

We know this, haven’t you heard of March 8 or this statement is another denial?

“It is the government that has the final say and does not leave it to the people in towns and villages to determine a comprehensive and complex national agenda.”

That’s not what the Permatang Pauh folks told me.

“Islam is not strictly a ‘democracy friendly’ religion where every person in the country is consulted on state matters.”

That’s why when UMNO declared Malaysia as an Islamic State, it is but a mockery on Islam. As a non-muslim, I am amazed that UMNO can just mocks Islam as they wish for their own gain. Yep, what you have pointed out is right.

“I am glad you distinguish between personalities and their purported parties.”

What are you talking about?

“Sorry to spoil your fun, but Anwar’s term will never come.”

I am not playing with you. Even if Anwar’s term never come, that’s ok you know.

62. #62 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:47 pm

dawsheng, there are so many holes in your logic in the above post that I am too tired to even entertain them now. Let’s leave it to the discerning readership of this blog to make up their own minds.

Night night.