Untimely gift of RM160,000 watch for Khir Toyo

The Sun September 12, 2008
Untimely gift of RM160,000 watch for Khir Toyo
by Terence Fernandez and R. Nadeswaran

PETALING JAYA (Sept 11, 2008) : What can you buy with RM160,000? An X-ray machine for one, or five low-cost homes, breakfast for 1,000 poor schoolchildren for two years and feed a hardcore poor family of 10 for almost 20 years!

However, a company owned by the Selangor government, Permodalan Negeri Selangor Berhad (PNSB), deemed that it was better to spend the sum on a watch for its then chairman and mentri besar Datuk Seri Dr Mohamad Khir Toyo.

On Jan 8, PNSB paid RM159,250 for a Patek Philippe watch as “cenderamata untuk pengerusi PNSB” (souvenir for the chairman of PNSB) – Mohamad Khir at that time.

It is understood that the watch in white gold was presented to the former MB before the March 8 general election.

But Mohamad Khir returned the watch. And it was not until two months later that a buyer was found.

“When we presented the watch to Datuk Seri, he declined, saying he did not need such an expensive gift,” said PNSB chief executive officer Datin Khairiyah Abu Hassan.

She said a buyer was found in March and the watch was sold for about the same price and the money banked into PNSB’s account.

What is perplexing is that PNSB deemed it fit to spend on such extravagance after posting losses of RM7.5 million in its 2006 financial year. (Companies Commission of Malaysia records show that this was its last financial returns).

But Khairiyah clarified that the company had made a profit of RM10 million and that the watch was a sort of emolument for Mohamad Khir’s “contributions”.

The purchase was not tabled for approval by PNSB’s board of directors. However, Khairiyah said that board approval was not necessary for such purchases.

“We have a certain amount for entertainment and other such expenses which can be decided at management level,” she said in a telephone interview yesterday.

The purchase of the timepiece from Sincere Watch Sdn Bhd was listed as “sundry expenses” by PNSB.

According to a Sincere sales agent, the watch was a collectors’ item from the Perpetual Calendar series, retailed at RM235,600.

The agent expressed surprise at the price PNSB paid, saying that the discount was far more than usual.

“We usually don’t give more than a 15% discount,” she said when theSun contacted Sincere’s outlet in Suria KLCC.

Meanwhile, executive councillor for health, plantation workers’ welfare, poverty eradication and caring government Dr Xavier Jayakumar expressed disgust over the “gift”.

“As an official entrusted to take care of the state, where urban poor is on the rise, I find it disgusting that one can even think of such an expensive gift.

“Do you know how many families we can help with that money?” asked the Sri Andalas assemblyman.

Khairiyah said PNSB was always careful with spending its funds.

“We are mindful that we are dealing with public money but we are also a corporation and it is not unusual for chairmen and directors to receive such benefits,” she said, adding that the purchase of the timepiece was considered “frugal” compared with other firms that dished out large cash dividends and luxury cars for its top executives.

Incorporated on Oct 15, 1990, PNSB is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Selangor state government. With an authorised capital of RM100 million and a paid-up capital of RM24 million, it was specially established to take over the commercial projects of Selangor State Incorporation (SSI), involving a host of diversified activities; namely housing and property, tourism, investment, manufacturing and services.

According to its charter, “PNSB strongly believes in balancing profitability with social responsibility. PNSB is assertively assisting in the evolvement of mesra rakyat”(people-friendly) and Caring Government Programme (Kerajaan Prihatin) of Selangor.”

1. #1 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 12:52 pm

WARNING, dont jump when u see the link…

http://img528.imageshack.us/my.php?image=salarybd8.jpg

Talk About BIG Money heheh… “Goverment is where the money is”.

2. #2 by baochingtian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 12:55 pm

who were the ones in PNSB approved such an expensive gift? Any system in place?

3. #3 by melurian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 12:56 pm

what’s wrong dishing out gift when the “company” is making money. plus the company bought at great discount 150k, not 200k, so the company is actually helping to save money. you ppl just only jealous at ceo, directors, exco spending, so many ppl still with kampung mind saying using money for charity – it;s not our business to tell “company” how they spend their money, just like donald trump or some other big ceos having their toilet bowl gold plated. and how about having pm, tpm traving malaysia with protons and feri. so funny..

4. #4 by monsterball on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:01 pm

Are we not sick of getting such news and their sickening replies?
    You see…they are so used to huge sum stolen and spent off…for more than 20 years…they have no more sense of proportions or dignity.
    They are such clever twisters.
    No need to think. Just 30 kilometers away..from K.Lumpur….is Ijok..with Malaysians living …like in the jungle.

5. #5 by PureMalaysian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:06 pm

Luckily Toyol was “wise” enough not to accept that gift! otherwise… ;)

6. #6 by mauriyaII on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:07 pm

Such criminal designs to waste funds just to please an elected officer of the state government should not be condoned.

When such an expensive watch was listed under “sundry expenses” shows the board of directors of PNSB are just leaches pandering to the avarice of officers in the state government. What lame excuse is Datin Khairiyah trying to give when she says other companies give very much more in gifts to their high ranking officers?

Such extravagant gifts should be investigated by the ACA. Corrupt practices of this nature should be investigated and if any hanky-panky is discovered, then the officer(s) involved should be charged in court.

They should be suspended pending investigations by the police and ACA to ensure they do not tamper with evidence.

Evidence being blatantly destroyed is quite rampant as was seen immediately after the 12 GE.

7. #7 by Joetan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:18 pm

Why is it always UMNO and their cronies in GLC have a different perception of controversial issues that arise in this country. When racist Ahmad Ismail called Chinese were only squatters in this country and therefore cannot enjoyed the same treatment and ctitzen’s right as their Malays counterpart UMNO leaders and members instead of condemning him came out with statement saying that they malays have been terlalu sabar and afraid to be branded racists all these while. When PNSN had been seen spending unneccessary rakyat’s money even though PNSN has been suffering losses their CEO Khairiyah justify their spending by saying PNSN believes in social responsibility and they are assertively assisting in the evolvement of mesra rakyat and Caring Government Programme. Their statements really insult the rakyats intelligence. Sometimes I wonder how is Malaysia going to progress and move forward when our government and the GLCs are run by all these morons.

8. #8 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:20 pm

melurian, you are right i have to agree with you here…

As a CeO TNB can get a RM1.1mil salary alone what was 160k means lol! Poor Nation indeed.

9. #9 by chinymin on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:24 pm

Normally, anyone will be too happy to receive a present especially in appreciation for a good contribution. The only reason that I can think of is that the gift may be too “small”. What is so great about a RM160,000.00 gift? Why not a much bigger(expensive) one? Ha….ha……
    Don’t be too serious!!

10. #10 by cactus of sarawak on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:25 pm

I thought KT has the broom to sweep it under the carpet? Hasn’t he?

11. #11 by jus legitimum on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:35 pm

The expensive watch as a gift to the exMB is just another scandal exposed and made known to the public.What about those which are still hidden and not yet exposed?If we relate the latest case of ” the shameless,stubborn,arrogant and unrepentant AI ” and this one and also many others which cannot be erased from our memory,we can conclude that it is time to end all these rubbish that stinks for decades throughout the length and breadth of the nation.Let us hope 916 or whatever suitable date will serve as the panacea for all these nonsense.

12. #12 by Freddy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:42 pm

apologies … out of topic but urgent..

Breaking News: Raja Botak Petra ISA-ed!

Controversial blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin has been detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA).
    According to his wife Marina Lee Abdullah, Raja Petra was arrested when 10 police personnel who arrived at his home in Sungai Buloh at 1.10pm.
    When Malaysiakini contacted her at 1.25pm, the police personnel were still there. According to Marina, Raja Petra has yet to appoint a lawyer to handle the matter.

This is the second time Raja Petra has been detained under the ISA. The first incident was in 2001.

13. #13 by gofortruth on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:56 pm

Beware of the return of Lalang!

14. #14 by max2811 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:56 pm

Some newspapers have been asked to show-cause. If you write anything, even if it’s the truth, better be pro-UMNO or else…

The problem with semi gov or state corps, the ppl that helm them are shoe polish. We cannot find any capable person at the top this very moment. All of them are related somehow or other to UMNO. It’s all about the left giving to the right and they have a thousand reasons to justify their actions. Stupidity reigns in UMNO/BN gov machinery.

15. #15 by baochingtian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 1:57 pm

Raja Petra got arrested under ISA?

16. #16 by Ken G on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:02 pm

My God! It’s true. RPK has been arrested under ISA. For what reason except that he poses a threat to the regime with his expose? Meanwhile no such action against the racist Ahmad from Penang who caused far more trouble than RPK. Those who question the morality of defections should chew on the morality of this government.

17. #17 by baochingtian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:04 pm

My, my, my …. this Bolehland… what has it become to???

18. #18 by newchief on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:05 pm

i totally disagree with melurian’s comment. civil servants shouldn’t accept any gifts or monies especially from the public because they are MADE TO SERVE the public. any acknowdgement of such offers shall be tendered as ‘bribes’ in the eyes of the law.

luckily, this MP has the sense to reject such offers but i was wondering is it because he is not satisfy with the offer or has another offer in mind instead. mind you, if give RM150,000 cash at the backdoor, no one can really get caught so this MP is not that stupid.

PNSB chief executive officer Datin Khairiyah Abu Hassan and those involved in this transaction should and must be held under ACA investigation for using public funds without it being being minuted or approved by the BOD . who knows how much has been swindled out under this so-called ‘sundry expense’ account unless the auditor general investigate .

for presenting a gift to this MP, what is the ‘reward’ will Datin get in return though she gives such a lame excuse of giving out luxury cars,etc. i wonder what will she get for being part of PNSB that doesn’t need BOD approval since she can simply charge it under ‘sundry expense’ account for HER OWN THING!! .

there is also contradiction that Datin claimed PNSB was making a 10M profit but in ROC, it was posted at a loss of RM7.5M. which is the truth?

anyhow, if this MP didn’t accept the gift as the law don’t allow it and it is against his principle, i salute this datuk. there should be more people like him in the government sector !!

19. #19 by lakshy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:08 pm

OMGawd, RM160,000 is considered as sundry expenses? And no need Board approval for a single cheque of such large quantum? Something is not right here! Where is the Auditor General? Ambrin Buang?

By the way, is PNSB’s chief executive officer Datin Khairiyah Abu Hassan, the daughter of former MB Abu Hassan?

Is this why umno wants to remain in power at any cost?

Can a Selangorian please file CBT charges against her and see where it leads?

20. #20 by lakshy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:12 pm

They are trying to cause unstability by arresting RPK. Dont do anything rash as they can use it to call Emergency Rule.

We need to think what we can do that will hurt them the most!

Stop buying their newspapers! Dont attend their functions. If you do attend, do get up and leave the room when they start speaking (that is more effective than not going at all). Mass exodus better still.

21. #21 by Richardqed on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:20 pm

The den of thieves are up to no good. When they appeared so “kind” as to unblock the MT site, they are trying to give themselves an excuse for this next action in arresting RPK.

Hopefully RPK will be alright. But it looks like only a PR takeover will save him. May God bless and protect RPK.

22. #22 by HJ Angus on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:27 pm

If we must really pander to the egos of VVIPs, I suggest this kind of monies be spent as a schoalrship named after the VVIP.

That RM160k could put one or two poor Malaysians through college.
    This concept of cheap gift reminds me of the story that IIANM is in the Tunku’s biography.

Tun Tan the Finance Minister had some personal matters to attend and was considering leave. The Tunku urged him to go settle the matter.
    So Siew Sin asked,”Who will look after the Finance Ministry?”
    Tunku answered.”Don’t worry, I will look after it.”
    Siew Sin decided not to go on leave.

23. #23 by cazz on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:29 pm

Dear melurian,
    i am sorry, i dont quite follow yr comment. it is so enlightening in Mahathiristic style; whenever ppl dig out wrong doing by the government, it is immediately slammed with accusation of “being jealous”.

Permodalan Negeri Selangor Berhad (PNSB) is no normal company, it is a government own company. We wont care less if you or your company dish out the 150k to buy that watch, that will be your own stupid act. But for a government company, all malaysian citizens have the right to question the appropriateness of any expenditure.

Furthermore, the company made a loss of 7.5M in 2006, it probably broke even in 2007, in 2008 it merely make a profit of 10M. Do you think it is financially sound? Shame shame, a government own company only makes 10M in a financial year, mediocre.

It is very simple and clear, Melurian either has the intelligence of a bull dog or he is one of those blending agents planted by BN to spoil the soup.

Stay out of this, Melurian, you are not a Malaysian, you are not qualified!

24. #24 by Emily Pratt on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:32 pm

YB Lim and his gang of 80 merry men may be RPK’s hope.

All it takes for evil to win if for Good men to do nothing.

EP.

25. #25 by oknyua on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

Hj Angus, intesting betweenTunku and Tan Siew Sin.

But knowing Tunku and his “excesses” he’d probably spent a few thousands here and there on his fouvorite horses, nothing else. He left no big house, no big corporation and untainted name. Nothing from the state left for his descendants.

Maybe Melurian need to look at Tunku’s life.

26. #26 by Jeffrey on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:35 pm

YB,

Anwar has to account whether he’s serious about 9/16. He is elating hopes of his supporters whilst causing dismay and nervousness amongst the ruling party to the extent that the latter may be commencing a crackdown beginning with RPK’s arrest under ISA, and issuing demanding ‘show cause’ to theSun, Chinese daily Sin Chew Daily and Suara Keadilan .

Malaysiakini reports that Pakatan Rakyat has admitted it might not meet its goal of seizing power by 9/16 by virtue of potential defectors being ferreted to Taiwan. What is this joke of PKR sending 4 to Taiwan when Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing is reported to be ending the study trip and bringing the MPs back from Taiwan by this weekend to meet PR’s Sept 16 deadline?

Eventually this question will have to be asked : Is what Anwar doing justified? Its Ok if he’s real, but what if’s a mere hype – is it responsible?

27. #27 by lovepeace on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:39 pm

rpk is arrested under isa…………….not fair at all…………..

28. #28 by Anti-Monarchy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:47 pm

melurian Says:

Today at 12: 56.55 (1 hour ago)
    what’s wrong dishing out gift when the “company” is making money. plus the company bought at great discount 150k, not 200k, so the company is actually helping to save money. you ppl just only jealous at ceo, directors, exco spending, so many ppl still with kampung mind saying using money for charity – it;s not our business to tell “company” how they spend their money, just like donald trump or some other big ceos having their toilet bowl gold plated. and how about having pm, tpm traving malaysia with protons and feri. so funny..

My reply to you melurian:
    Do you actually think??

Are you a spokesperson of PNSB? Here you are talking about the savings by PNSB when we are actually crying foul about the way the people’s money being wasted. And before you go any further ‘duit kerajaan’ is actually ‘duit rakyat’!!

We are not jealous my ‘learned’ friend but we are disgusted, angry and dissapointed.

There’s something called corporate governance in case you have never heard of it. I suggest you read up on that. It applies to state-run companies too!!

The only person with a kampung mind is you.

It does not matter if the company makes money or not, you just cannot use public money to lavish someone with an expensive gift. Toyo would have rejected maybe because he was expecting something bigger!
    p/s: The company is loss making by the way! Khairiyah comment that company made RM10m was probably based on the management accounts which are based unaudited figures.

I am sure if we were to look into other state run companies, we would come across something similar. Just look at some of the state run government companies or agencies, they have their own football teams!!

Khairiyah must be made answerable and accountable for this. I am also interested to find the actual buyer of this watch and did they actually sell it at the price they claim they sell?

Kumar

29. #29 by sheriff singh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:47 pm

” “When we presented the watch to Datuk Seri, he declined, saying he did not need such an expensive gift,” said PNSB chief executive officer Datin Khairiyah Abu Hassan. ”

Good on you, Toyo. But then how do you expect him to wear the RM 160,000 watch in public for everyone to see? Try something more discreet perhaps.

” “We have a certain amount for entertainment and other such expenses which can be decided at management level,” she said in a telephone interview yesterday. ”

Yes of course. There are loopholes that can be made use of for private gains. No proper checks and control. This is what some companies called “entertaining yourselves”.

” Khairiyah said PNSB was always careful with spending its funds.

“We are mindful that we are dealing with public money but we are also a corporation and it is not unusual for chairmen and directors to receive such benefits,” she said, adding that the purchase of the timepiece was considered “frugal” compared with other firms that dished out large cash dividends and luxury cars for its top executives. ”

Yes of course and they don’t have to answer to their stakeholders who are kept in the dark about the abuses. No need for accountability, integrity and transparency? No need to declare this in the annual statements and for the receipient to declare such rewards to income tax?

So who else did they reward “normally”. Did they do so in previous years?

30. #30 by baochingtian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:47 pm

What is DSAI doing on the racist remarks? I heard nothing in media.

31. #31 by sheriff singh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 2:55 pm

What the government “gives” in one way it “takes” back in another.

So they unfreeze and unblock blogs but then jails the blogger(s).

Is another Ops Lallang being planned, now that tensions are running abit higher?

Maybe 916 or whatever will not happen because many will soon be in “protective custody”?

32. #32 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 3:11 pm

OMG NOT Pete!!!! WE MUST DO SOMETHING!…

ARE THE GOVERN GOING LEARN BURMA FACTOR TO RULE THIS COUNTRY WHEN YOU FAIL TO MANIPULATE MAJORITY SUPPORT FROM THE MALAYS, YOU CANT WIN ANY SUPPORT WITH YOUR DIRTY TRICKS FOR GOD SAKE, FIGHT LIKE A MAN WITH DIGNITY YOU B@STARDS#@!!~

33. #33 by boh-liao on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 3:20 pm

This is just one example that we are aware of. How many of such similar incidents occur everyday throughout all states in Malaysia?

Khairiyah Abu Hassan believed it is OK for PNSB to splash RM160,000 on a gift for a person.

As a Malay, why is it that she did not think of spending this amount of money wisely to uplift the social-economic condition of many economically disadvantaged Malays in Selangor?

It looks like the money earned by PNSB is used to make the rich Malay cronies richer, rather than to benefit economically disadvantaged Malays. Wonder how much did the late Zakaria pocket from PNSB?

No wonder, under NEP, the rich Malay cronies get richer and are showered with sinfully expensive gifts, while the economically disadvantaged Malays get peanuts.

No wonder Umnoputras cannot give up their political power, as power corrupts.

And who took the blame? NonMalays for robbing the Malays and hoarding the wealth!! As if there is much wealth for the nonMalays to possess!?

We need more exposures of this type!

34. #34 by FY Lim on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 3:26 pm

Aiyah, this RM160,000 Patek watch could be just for the financial year 2007 and could be the tip of the ice-berg only. Could PNSB had showered gifts to Khir and other members of the Board of Directors in earlier years ? Only a thorough audit will show the details as some of the expenses are lumped under entertainment expenses etc.

What is the reward for rewarding your own boss ? Only an audit can reveal what transactions occured in a you scratch my back and I scratch yours.

It is very unusual for an CEO to reward the non-executive Chairman and maybe some of the board members with gifts using PNSB funds which are rightly public funds as PNSB is a GLC.

Certainly, there must be control systems and policies spelling out what can be spend and what cannot to be in place. If there is none, then the rakyat will not be able to monitor the performance and accountability of GLCs. Then it is better not to have these GLCs as it would be a botomless well and a lucrative source of income for those in the management.

What is there to stop the management team to reward themselves and in their eyes this is frugal compared to what high performance private and public companies are paying their top executives.

35. #35 by Toyol on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 3:41 pm

Kick back takes many forms…need not be in cash. Anyway, nobody knows if he actually returned it, its heresay. Are their accounts audited? Who is the auditor? Maybe they can comment.

36. #36 by baochingtian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 3:55 pm

“Dailies issued with show cause letters”. Shouldn’t other dailies stand united to prevent such non sense from happening?

37. #37 by yhsiew on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 4:16 pm

Corrupt BN crooks must go by 17th September 2008.

38. #38 by Loh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 4:26 pm

From CheDet.com 12/9/2008: The Barisan National
    ///1. There is a tendency these days to condemn the National Front as being effete and an obstacle to the modern concepts of a free democratic Government. The miserable performance of the Barisan Nasional in the March elections is attributed by foreign observers as evidence of a wind of change, as a rejection of race-based politics of the past.

2. They believe that the Malay, Chinese and Indian voters voted for a change to a more liberal regime.///–TDM

Whatever the reasons given for the cause of the political debacle of BN, the people are happy that soon there is a possibility of a two-party system where race politics will be consigned to history. The rejection of race-based politics has been the norm since 1969 elections. That was why the opposition parties had gathered a significant share of votes in every election since 1969, though the perverted gerrymandering of parliamentary demarcation did not allow opposition proportionate number of seats. The UMNO government had been capable in making Malays believe that they have no future without UMNO as the guardian. UMNO government with its decades of experience was able to implement populist policies of not only giving Malays the special preference in life, but also have the implementation seen to be exploitative of non-Malays. That ensures that BN candidates are returned in Malay majority areas. Malays voters are wise to know that the non-UMNO candidates are needed to allow UMNO a free ride on the policies that benefit the Malays.
    PM AAB government allowed some liberal views in the press and and the advent of electronic media helped to expose corruption practices for all to see. Consequently, the myth that NEP was needed for the ordinary Malays was exposed, and Malays, especially the middle class know for the first time that NEP had in fact been hijacked for the few families connected to Putrajaya. It was the Malays who cast the votes in March 2008 election to deny BN the 2-third majority. TDM had his own secret desire and agenda to see that AAB was denied the 2/3 majority so that this article could appear. He is still in the mood of total denial. Of course AAB believe that BN was such a wonderful government that he considered a bit of ‘liberation’ serves no harm. It was TDM, the inventor of racial politics and cronyism knew the danger of having his secret exposed. It would be true that TDM might still have been able to be in control with 2/3 majority if he was in power, provided he did not give Anwar the black eye back in 1998.
    ( to be continued)

39. #39 by pselvams on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 4:32 pm

When RPK said “something was not right when the ban on his Malaysia Today was lifted ” I had the very same feeling too. It not only sounded unfounded but smelled rotton, Now we can say that the lifting was intentional.

40. #40 by Loh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 5:01 pm

From CheDet.com, 12/9/2008
    ///3. I have explained in a previous article that the debacle suffered by the Barisan Nasional was due to the voters’ disgust with the leadership of Dato Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.
    4. Let us examine the course of Malaysian politics leading up to the 2008 debacle in order to appreciate what happened. For almost half a century the Alliance / Barisan Nasional Governments had had the full support of the peoples of all races. There were ups and downs but the Barisan Nasional would invariably win elections with a 2/3 majority in Parliament. Other than Kelantan, the states had always elected Barisan Nasional Governments. Sabah for a time was not with Barisan Nasional.

5. In 1999 Elections Malay support of the Barisan Nasional was eroded because of sympathy for Anwar Ibrahim. But the Chinese strongly backed the Barisan Nasional to give it its usual 2/3rd majority and opposition stalwarts like Karpal Singh and Lim Kit Siang, who had never been defeated before, lost their seats.///—TDM

The Chinese formed the so-called Suqiu group which misjudged the character of TDM. They thought that TDM should be able to end NEP in 1990 since it had run its course of 20 years by then. The offered TDM the bonus of voting for TDM if TDM would only carry out the duties entrusted to him in ending the exploitative policies which other communities have left to UMNO to implement to its hearts content. For example, Article 13 provides that the King should reserve a reasonable proportion of education opportunities, such as no of seats to Malays, MARA colleges, institutes and universities had reserved 100% of the education opportunities exclusively for Malays. That was against the constitution and stated NEP objective.

TDM gave his words to implement changes. Unfortunately, immediately after the election TDM attacked the Chinese community and negated on his promise. TDM accused the Chinese of taking advantage of his weakness and resorted to calling them extremists and other unkind term. It was beyond TDM’s understanding that the Chinese are law abiding, and would only use its right to vote, just like other communities. The Chinese communities thought that TDM should be given the benefit of understanding of what the Chinese community looked for and considered as fair request, and they acted on their bargain as promised by TDM. Should they have known what TDM would cheat them of his promise, they would have done like what they did in March 2008. TDM in 1999 would have to be facing UMNO members like AAB is doing now if BN lose a few states, and the MBs of these state suddenly found that their lifelong career of easy money political profession had come to an abrupt end. The Chinese helped TDM but he is still ungrateful as ever. He now says that the Chinese gave him the support as if he was such a wonderful leader to the Chinese community. On the contrary his claim of Chinese support implies that the Chinese were stupid and did not know their rights, and worse that the Chinese were said to agree to all those discriminatory policies UMNO implemented against the non-Malays.

(to be continued)

41. #41 by lbl on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 5:56 pm

Thank you, YB for allowing us to read what Khairiyah had to say about the expensive watch. We also have to thank Melurian’s comments on why the watch cannot be given.For those who commented against Melurian, please read between the lines.
    At the rate news are being leaked, I think YB, the DAP will win the in any elections they stand.

42. #42 by Loh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 6:50 pm

From CheDet.com, 12/9/2008
    ///8. It was not all smooth sailing of course. There were problems – political, economic, religious and social. But all these had not reduced support for the Barisan Nasional or affected the progress and stability of the country under BN Governments unduly.

9. Can anyone say that the Barisan Nasional had not provided good Governments in the country? Of course the opposition cannot be expected to say it. But foreign observers have all been astounded at the progress made by this tin and rubber country which had bloomed into a modern industrial country. ///—TDM

Comparing to Myanmar, Malaysia has progressed tremendously. But when compared to Singapore what would people say? Foreign observers thought that after with corruption and nepotism imbedded in government services, we are only fit to be compared to Burma. Vietnam adopted market economy in 1992. She will within the next decade surpass Malaysia economically.

The British has left a good system of government with institutions that were ranked high in the world. Unfortunately TDM’s sacking of Tun Saleh Abbas as Lord President has killed the judiciary. Since then the Cabinet has been used as the office of an absolute monarch, and the PM, the absolute emperor. Malaysia is a failed state to all who are not in denial. The practice of public tender has been replaced with negotiated contracts, and it has been estimated that half of Petronas’ contribution of a trillion RM has gone to private pockets.

///10. There were people who all along had criticised what they term as the lack of democracy in this country, the “controlled” press and electronic media, the ISA (Internal Security Act) and curbs on the open discussion of sensitive issues. But obviously these people were in the minority and had never been able to influence the voters into rejecting Barisan Nasional. ///–TDM

That is the classic example of might is right. With the power of the state, it was possible to keep the voters foolishly voting for BN al the time. Parliamentary democracy has long been in the form of making the people go to the polling stations to move his pencils, with rewards for their action. Money politics has seen its worst form in this country.

///11. After the stunning victory of Barisan Nasional in 2004 why has it been clearly rejected in 2008? What happened between 2004 and 2008? Can it be that after almost 50 years of supporting race-based politics the voters have decided to reject it and opt for non-racial politics? Have the people in the kampong suddenly yearned for more liberalism? If so why did they give strong support to PAS, a race-religious party which is anything but liberal?///–TDM

Race politics has been bad and has caused this country to be forever at the lowest rung of economic development. The race-based discriminatory policies have seen brain drains and the educated do not help to make structural change to the economy.

The immediate cause of the 2008 election results was the sombong attitude of UMNOputras. Malacca MB found it proper to tell PPP to leave BN. Indians were said not to matter in the election. The Keris waving in the UMNO assembly, and the question when would the keris be used, and the threat for another May 13 giving credence to the perception that since the Malays were happy about it, they had organized it.

Non-Malays were suffering at the unfair policy. To add insult to injury, it was claimed that the rights were birth right.

///12. Maybe the ordinary Chinese are more sophisticated than the rural Malays. Maybe they have now rejected racial politics. But as far as can be made out the Chinese are upset over the economic situation. Even hawkers and small traders; the subcontractors, the retail shops owners are unhappy with the Government. They are however very cautious about criticising Dato Seri Abdullah but when pressed they admit that they wanted Abdullah out but dared not say it aloud for fear of being accused of rejecting Malay leadership. They also worry about their businesses being singled out for some unpleasant treatment like being investigated by the Inland Revenue Board.///—TDM

The Chinese have also been very cautious about criticising TDM as a racist and anti Chinese but when pressed they admit that they hoped TDM was never admitted to UMNO but dared not say it aloud for fear of action like Operation Lallang.

///13. So, unable to do anything else they cast their votes for the opposition. With that the Barisan Nasional, after getting the biggest number of Parliamentary seats in the history of the Alliance / Barisan Nasional went down and achieved the worst result in its history. Was this rejection of Barisan candidates due to the rejection of the Barisan Nasional coalition?///–TDM

The non-Malays have been doing it all these years. It is the Malays who have now come to realized that BN used their name for their benefits. The policy of getting them up the academic certificate level but with degree incommensurate with their paper qualifications made many a Malay graduate hide their university degrees but instead used their high school certificate for jobs. They could have advanced in their job without having to spend the extra years in the universities. But then UMNO would not be able to say that they care for the Malays, and discriminate the Chinese. It is the scheme of making UMNO look good as saviour of Malay race that the tens of thousands of students who could have excelled in other fields of jobs and occupations have to suffer the indignity of having to hide their paper qualifications of higher education. They have UMNO to thank for, and so they vote their feeling accordingly.

///14. The votes that the opposition parties got were not due to a desire to replace the Barisan Nasional with the unstructured Pakatan Rakyat. They were protest votes. But is it protest against the Barisan Nasional party? Is it a rejection of race-based politics? I don’t think so. ///–TDM
    Yes, race-based policies are still accepted by the people who stand to benefit. The people will have only Malaysia as its world. They would acquire the competition-deficiency syndrome. They can stay forever in the country to await handouts, and the politicians will have the opportunity to continue with the balancing acts, and be indispensable like TDM claims himself to be. The whole society is held hostage to insincere coexistence with no possibility of advancement, so that the politicians would continue to be in the seats of power to manipulate what they have the expertise to do so. Would TDM please wake up? The country that had worst racial disharmony in the 1960s have now become race-blind in life while we might have some misunderstanding between races in the post 1969 years, it has developed into the situation where people of different races are born enemies. If the people don’t think so, the political set up, and the government make sure that they are polarized by race and religion. This country will be a pariah which does not deserve a seat in the United Nation if it persists to continue with race-based politics

///15. It is a protest against the poor leadership of the BN, rather than the BN itself. The people saw a BN leader who was indecisive, unable to deal with the increasing cost of living, flip-flopping, unable to stimulate the economy and above all is known for putting his family’s interest above that of State. Everyone knows about the 4th Floor and the role of Khairy Jamaluddin’s cronies in determining policies and deciding on the business activities of the country. People consider these arrogant young people as contributing to the poor performance of the Prime Minister.///—TDM

I sense that AAB is the greatest enemy TDM has ever cultivated. The moment he sees AAB’s front, TDM ‘s hatred of him pierces through to his back.

///16. The Barisan Nasional coalition is still the best political party in Malaysia. It gave due consideration to the problems of all the Malaysian parties and the races they represent. And there can be no denying that the BN had built the Malaysia that we see today.///–TDM

Had Onn Jaafar been alive today, he would be the saddest person in the country. He would not have accepted that a country which he wanted formed would turnout to champion for mono race and single religion. The situation now would be most unfamiliar to him in all his adult life, and that was when the society was yet under developed. Onn Jaafar would never feel proud of the Malaysia we find today.

///17. It would be a pity if, as the Malay saying goes, “we burn the mosquito net because of one mosquito”.
    18. What needs to be done is to get rid of the mosquito but continue to use the net.///–TDM

It depends on the harm that particular mosquito could cause. It is hard to imagine that one man in the person of TDM could have caused so much suffering to the people in Malaysia in general, and the polarization of Malaysian citizens in particular. If we cannot get rid of the mosquito in the personality of TDM, it is worth it to burn the mosquito net.

43. #43 by AhPek on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 9:10 pm

‘…..it’s not our business to tell ‘company’ how they spend their money,just like donald trump …’. melurian.

Again the same melurian who said a few previous threads ago that Malaysia is richer than Singapore because its economy size is bigger than Singapore’s.

My dear fellow it’s precisely our business to tell PNSB that it is not proper to present Toyol with a RM160,ooo gift and in fact this matter should be investigated by ACA.It is definitely nobody’s business to tell donald trump that he shouldn’t purchase a helicopter on company’s to ferry him in and out ofoffice.
    You may then ask, why the double standard? It’s no double standard for in the
    case of PNSB it is a Selangor State Government company formed thro Selangor
    taxpayer’s money …a public company whereas Donald Trump’s company is formed from Trump’s own pocket and therefore it should be nobody’s business as to the fate of the company except donald trump’s.WHY CAN”T YOU SEE
    THIS!!
    If you still can’t see this,I’ll also give you the example of space tourists.Not counting ours, Russian Space Agency has already sent 5 space tourists to space for them to have the experience to feel what weightlessness is like at 20 million USD each but then nobody is making any big hu-ha about it,not in the case of our own space tourist(or you may even like to call ‘ourcosmonaut’).
    Why then is the double standard? Again no double standard since the fares of the 5 tourists are paid for thro their own pocket whereas that of ‘our cosmonaut’ is forked out by the taxpayers of this country.So now can you not see the reason now?

44. #44 by Godfather on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:28 pm

Who is Khairiyah Abu Hassan ? Is she connected to UMNO to be in that position ? Is she so wealthy that RM 160,000 means nothing to her ?

45. #45 by cactus of sarawak on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:29 pm

I don’t think he or she can see what you said. Just, just give the BROOM to him or her.

46. #46 by imranj78 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:59 pm

You talk about just RM160k here. Imagine the millions of RM spent lavishly by the Selangor government to give free water to its people, even to the rich people of the state! You can built hospitals, schools, improve public transport, help the poor with that sort of money.

LKS and the rest, you are quick to comment on BN but you don’t or won’t comment on similar mismanagement within PR itself. Is it right to give free water to the rich and middle classes?? DEFINITELY WRONG and UNSUSTAINABLE!

47. #47 by pjboy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:42 pm

Wow. Spending RM 160,000 as a gift is considered frugal??? You be the judge: frugal or waste. We are talking about Wakil Rakyat here. It is a state owned corporation. If RM 160,000 does not need board approval…wonder what is the ceiling that requires board approval. She treats RM 160,000 like Rp 160,000 !!!

48. #48 by scorpian6666 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:04 am

RM160K timepiece !
    “it is not unusual for chairmen and directors to receive such benefits,” she said ”
    What others interesting things they gave ? Gold bars ?

imranj78 says;

“Is it right to give free water to the rich and middle classes?? DEFINITELY WRONG and UNSUSTAINABLE!”

Please explain why it is wrong to give free water to the rich people and the middle classes of the state.
    Don’t you know they pay more tax to the government so that you could enjoy the benefit of hospitals, schools, improve public transport and help the poor! and most of all, so you the government could employ more and more “obedient and loyal servant”

How much taxes had these chairman and directors paid to the gorvnment to built schools, hospital and so on. If these chairmen and directors deserved “RM160 timepieces” and the like, What is free water for those who works hard and pay lot of taxes so that you could sent your kids to schools … oh is it free school.

Should all rich and middle class people sent their children to private schools and universities ????????????????????????????

What is free water to free school ?

imranj78 … YOU ARE DEFINITELY NOT VERY SSSSS

49. #49 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:08 am

imranj78,
    Do you not know that if not for Papa New Guinea,the wealth distribution in this country is the worst in Asia as indicated by the Gini Index?In other words a few rich is holding wealth (many of the few rich are overnight million and billionaires). In other words the giving of free water benefitted far more people besides being non discriminatory,and in the case of the RM160,000 it is meant for only one and he is the MB! can’t you even smell something rotten here or you simply refuse to see or choose to be blind!!

50. #50 by trublumsian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:14 am

imranj78 is … the free water to all benefits everyone, yes, including the rich, but how many rich folks are there, n how much water can they use u’r losing money by not charging them? middle class in malaysia is a struggling class right now, just because they r not below the poverty line does not mean they don’t need the help. afterall, the shxt job the govn is doing is screwing them up, n the middle class tax bracket is what’s sustaining the country, every country for that matter. schools get free water, hospitals get free water, libraries get free water, how do u compare that to a RM160k patek p. for the mb who is already living off public sweat n toil?

n the discount u claim for the watch?? golly my goodness, u can be so void of brain matter! didn’t the terengganu mb said the 10 benzes were procured at a discount? 2 wrongs sure make a right u piece of waste!

51. #51 by pangwl88 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:53 am

THE BARISAN NATIONAL IS NOW USING FEAR, UNREST AND UNCERTAINTY TO GOVERN THE RAKYAT.

DO WE WANT THAT?

WHO WOULD JOIN ME TO OPPOSE SUCH TERRORISM!