Oil policy – change it to encourage economic growth

by Dr. Chen Man Hin

The present oil policy to set gasoline and diesel prices at international market prices has caused a sharp decline of the economy causing hardships to the people.

This is the current policy adopted in developed economies which do not advocate subsidised oil for the people. Their experts contend that subsidised oil would distort the market, and people would not be encouraged to conserve the use of oil. In the end there would be a disastrous impact on the economy and on the environment.

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who is also Minister of Finance slavishly followed the concept practised in developed countries. It has proved to be disastrous for Malaysia.

Because of the high pump prices of gasoline and diesel, the economy has slowed down considerably. The wheels of industry are not humming, and more people are laid off.

Consumers buy less because of lower income and inflationary prices of food and other essentials.

Every sector of the economy is affected, be it transportation, industries, consumerism, tourism or health.

The DAP has been advocating that Malaysia as an oil producer and exporter should use its revenue from oil to subsidise pump prices, in order to keep the economy going and ensure that the people do not suffer. Unfortunately, the advice has fallen on deaf ears.

The dap highly recommend a smart way to deal with rising oil prices, by adopting an oil policy that is centred to encourage economic growth at any cost.

It is the same policy adopted by China, whose economy is kept going at a fast clip. They were smart enough to adapt and innovate to ensure that the people were not made to suffer by raising gasoline and diesel prices to international. market rates.

China’s oil policy of ‘subsidies and price-ceilings’ have proven to be the right formula to cope with rising oil prices. Their subsidies are capped at 1% of the GNP and at the same time they impose a ceiling on pump prices.

Malaysia should send a delegation to China and study the hows and whys of a tried and successful system.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 6:08 pm

The biggest impediment to economic growth in Malaysia is the NEP as it is a major drain on resources.

2. #2 by Yee Siew Wah on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 6:11 pm

This sleepy flipflop guy what does he know about economics. He is not even fit to be a finance clerk in a small firm. AS a PM and also a “Finance” minister is all to suspicious la.. No wonder our country economy is now in shambles.

3. #3 by badak on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 6:21 pm

Yes oil price short up very high.Yes petronas made a killing in the oil market.But the thing is how the oil money is being spent…The UMNO led BN Government had thrown RM BILLIONS in oil profit down the drain on projects that only benerfited the BN elites.

Why wait till 1st september to lower the fuel pump price.As of today, oil has gone to 113 USD P.B.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 7:07 pm

Abdullah is not a skillful finance minister. He did not take into consideration that people in developed countries have a purchasing power 3 or 4 times higher than that of Malaysians. Americans need only spent 16% of their income on food leaving them a lot of disposable cash to pay for petrol, whereas Malaysians spend some 36 – 45% of their income on food leaving them little money to spend on petrol.

5. #5 by taiking on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 7:07 pm

When you first spend you thousand you felt guilty.
    After a while you got used to it.
    Then you progress to tens of thousands.
    Again you soon became desensitised.
    And the sum got bigger.
    Finally, you enter the arena of hundreds of millions.
    And then billions.
    And you would just say, oh thats peanuts.
    So you see, UMNO did not throw away billions of ringgit.
    They are nothing but one whole load of peanuts.
    Its nuthin’ man.
    Just peanuts.
    VOTE ANWAR IBRAHIM FOR PP

6. #6 by Mr Smith on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 7:21 pm

How can Malaysia take advice from the Chinese?

7. #7 by thaiming on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 7:46 pm

the BOLEH LAND policy-‘ MASUK POCKET’

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 7:50 pm

Follow the West to withdraw oil subsidies for economic efficiency? What is effect of withdrawing oil/fuel subsidies but otherwise still maintain the whole range of NEP subsidies which are economically inefficient and don’t help in produictivity?

9. #9 by RKP on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:05 pm

Malaysia won’t be in this state if they cared for the people.

If they wanted to learn from other countries, they would have done so, long ago.

Malaysia will be an effective producer of beggars, if we continue like this. ‘Oil’ in Malaysia is a comodity to feed the elites of the country,not the poor.

10. #10 by glokaltower on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:08 pm

The rising oil price and high inflation rate cost the economy dearly. Now, the government wants to reduce foreign workers, this idea sounds good but will force many business and factory to close shop.

11. #11 by badak on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:33 pm

After watching the TV3 News at 8PM,It made me want to puke. Firstly ,Saiful sweared in a mosque againts DSAI.Is this how they use religion for their own gain.It was not DSAI that was given a slap But Islam.This is the lowest of low.
    Secondly the showing of UITM all over the country having demostration.
    In one state they walk for 2 KMs without any problem.Yes the police was there ,not to stop the demostration but to stop traffic so that the students can walk easily.
    Where is the fairness.To day not only the INDIANS ,CHINESS must stand up but all right thinking MALAYS must but a to UMNO,s bullshit.
    Earlier i had no plans to go to PERMATANG PAUH.But watching the way UMNO is using all the main stream media the wrong way.I will be going to PERMATANG PAUH to help DSAI win the election. I know i can,t vote but i will made sure that i will speak to each and every one i see about UMNO,s bullshit.

12. #12 by badak on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:40 pm

I am still surprise that MCA MIC PPPand GERAKAN can take all this rubbish from UMNO.From the raising of the kriss to the using of force againts children during the HINDRAF DEMOSTRATIO.
    During the CHERAS TOLL problem water cannon was use againts RAKYAT who was just taking back what is theirs.

13. #13 by batman_1 on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:56 pm

The government decision is always slow and Flip Flop.
    I wonder with the drop of crude oil below USD 100 per barrel, directly tax pay to govenment by Petronas will drop too.When more tax Petronas pay to government – government still claim no fund.What government will look for when the tax pay receove from petronas get less.Cari from rakyat ? But our ogvernment popularity now is low.A question to all of us-what will then to be !

14. #14 by malaysia-united on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:08 pm

I don’t believe in subsidy. Subsidy means, the more you spend, the more subsidise you get, the bigger car you drive, the more subsidize you get, and this is really unfair. Economy need to be independents.

But in the same time, I hate petrol price had increase 72cent per little bcos I know the extra money will not benefits the rakyat but will make the umno and their fellow friends fat!

15. #15 by max2811 on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:14 pm

The bright Chinese don’t even consider UiTM as one of their choices. So, why the bruha? It only makes me hate UMNO/BN more. They are also training many bigots and future nutheads with all the protests.

News about the mat and minah rempits marching and shouting slogans will only polarised and segregate the people. What unity!

16. #16 by michael13 on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:35 pm

The so-called finance minister is only fit to be a DNA minister in charge of sodomy affairs.

17. #17 by chiakchua on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:37 pm

Watching the rally by UiTM students at various campus give me a chilled feeling of the bright future of the country! And the ‘heroic’ criticism of Zaid Hamidi for the last few days add salt to the wound! This is Malaysia bolih! Congratulation to MCA, MIC and Gerakan for having groomed UMNOputras to this stage. I for one would not want to send my grandchildren to such an institution with such immature students.

18. #18 by Pak Long on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:48 pm

If our government is smart enough then they won’t have so much silly story and drama for us to enjoy watching. I believe there will no ending for this unless we (people) do something about it.. “A CHANGE is to IMPROVE, to IMPROVE is to CHANGE” . Let’s do the right thing for our next generation…

19. #19 by RKP on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:55 pm

Despicable tactics by BN,- Pakatan will win by big majority.

20. #20 by noohceekeel on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:57 pm

pm shud exercise more so he can stay fit to face the coming days n not sleeping during meeting…

malaysia boleh……blah!

21. #21 by malaysia-united on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:58 pm

UiTM open for non-bumi? Thanks PKR but no need lah… What for begging for that 10%? And from a bunch of people who can’t think positively, can’t take any challengers, can’t improve, can’t mature, can’t get out of the coconut shell???

Oil price decrease? The things that Pak Lelah pre-anounce will never happen, cos plan never work… The only thing that will happen is when he talk the other way around, or maybe price will increase again after September??? Who believe what he said anyway… UMNO people, do you believe???

22. #22 by noohceekeel on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:59 pm

we pay tax n they use the tax to build the university n now they dont allow us to enter it….unreasonable…

23. #23 by dawsheng on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:03 pm

Oh yes, it is definitely the ghost month.

24. #24 by Blue.kinetic on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:07 pm

What on the earth is BN doing? Support mob’s action at forum, support racist discrimination of UiTM, double standard in allowing UiTM match, flip flop on organising the meeting at hotels? After the downhill popularity, i thought BN will be smarter, responsible, sensitive to the issue. But what we see? dummies are running a country. MIC, MCA said want to reform, and till now, they are still sleeping. Not even 1 voice, a BN’s slave.

Permatang citizen, pls teach BN a lesson and slap their face!

25. #25 by dawsheng on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:08 pm

When I saw Saiful on TV with all the camera flashes focus on him while he was taking the muqabalah oath with some ulamaks sitting around him, my brain stop thinking for a while, then I realized that you don’t have to be a muslim to be embarrassed by the whole thing.

26. #26 by badak on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:15 pm

GERAK WANTS ACA PROBE ON SENIOR MINISTER.WITH ALL THE EVIDENCE GIVEN TO ACA NOTHING HAPPEN.AS LONG AS NO ONE IS NAME IN THIS REPORT.I WILL TAKE THAT ALL SENIOR MINISTERS ARE CORUPPTED.
    EZAM THE FOUNDER OF GERAK IS NOW IN UMNO ..SUDDENLY HE TRUST THE PM WILL DO THE RIGHT THING.
    EZAM YOU MUST GO TO THE NEAREST MOSQUE AND SWEAR THAT YOU WAS NOT PAID TO JUMP SHIP.IF YOU DON,T HOW TO TRUST YOU.
    SINCE SAIFUL HAD DONE IT ..THE WHOLE BN CABINET MUST NOW SWEAR IN THE MOSQUE,TEMPLE ,CHURCH.CUT A WHITE ROSTER OR WHATEVER.TO SHOW THE RAKYAT THAT YOU ALL ARE NOT CORRUPTED.THE IGP and the AG MUST ALSO SWEAR IN THE MOSQUE TO SHOW THE WHOLE WORLD. THAT
    CHARGING DSAI IS NOT POLITICAL MOTIVATED.IF THEY DON,T DO IT. THE WHOLE WORLD WILL NOT TRUST OUR JUDICERY.

27. #27 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:18 pm

What do Ah Beng, Saiful and UiTM student have in common?

Read the related article at following site and see his take on this.

http://politics101malaysia.blogsome.com/

28. #28 by imranj78 on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:21 pm

I disagree with indiscriminate petrol and diesel subsidies. Yes subsidies is a necessary evil but only for certain circumstances. It is not to be provided to the general public where those who don’t need also get to enjoy it. Rather then subsidy fuel, it is wiser to subsidy essential goods and services such as food, hospitalization, education etc.

I say abolish fuel subsidies gradually. We Malaysians have been pampered for far too long that we can’t even phantom the thought that we are much better off in the long run without such subsidies. Yes high fuel prices might hurt us in the short term, but we will emerge stronger in the long run as we will become more competetive.

In this particular instance, AAB’s decision to increase the fuel prices is spot on. I laud him for making a tough decision that was bound to be unpopular. Thats a trait of a leader – making tough decisions that are right and not just trying to stay popular. AAB should however improve the automatic adjustment mechanism so that pump prices are adjusted more frequently rather then on a monthly basis.

29. #29 by gundam on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:24 pm

satan has no problem swearing on the holy book too.

as for the Uitm students, jst let them be, if they wanna be kampung champion forever.

dear badak,
    i salute ur determination to make it to PP in full support of anwar.

30. #30 by pjboy on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:35 pm

Question: Which is better to drive the microeconomy…

1. money in the pockets of over 20million rakyat ?
    or
    2. money in the hands of present ruling gov ?

When there is no microeconomy, what happens to the macroeconomy ? If a high rise building, looking tall & massive on the outside, does not have the proper foundations (hidden concrete+steel base, pillars & beams), the building – no matter how big & strong it may look, will surely collapse.

Huge amounts of money (subsidy from oil) – in a corrupt gov hands – will only circulate among themselves & cronies. In each mega project, maybe to a group of say 20-100 (incl family members, uncle, aunty, grandma, granpa, cousins, etc) will benefit. The money stops there, but maybe 50% spent on maybe buy a new merc, bmw, bungalow, new golf set, etc. The other 50% put in bank for bank to use to lend to poor rakyat, to collect interest for the people who put the huge sum of money in the bank in the first place.

Huge amounts of money spread to over 20million rakyat is a different perspective. The money spent will eventually end up in the gov tax vault again when all the small-medium retailers pay their tax from the profit made from the spending rakyat. The tax-$ collected will still be there for gov to use to build school, etc. It is the money that’s taken out of the country that will harm us more. Money taken out of country will be spent elsewhere – & who do this better than the rakyat?

To me the removal of oil subsidy is bullshit. Now the fisherman is probably making more money selling diesel to northern bros coz the price of diesel in M’sia is now RM 2.58 (at pump) & RM 3.50-3.80 (industry). Meanwhile, across the border to north, diesel is RM 4.50-4.80 (at pump & industry). This is what I gathered. Maybe someone can verify.

31. #31 by yhsiew on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:40 pm

The people’s nightmare will begin on 1 September 08 when Abdullah reviews the price of petrol every month from then onwards. The rakyat will have nothing to fear if the price of petrol is revised downwards. However, when the price of petrol is revised upwards traders will increase prices of goods since they ignore price increase which was carried out when the petrol price was adjusted to RM2.70.

Anwar’s method of fixing the price of petrol at a RM2.00 is still the safest way to prevent multiple price increase of the same item within a short period of time.

I bet the traders will not reduce prices of goods even though Abdullah claims that petrol price will be reduced on 1 September 08.

32. #32 by imranj78 on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 10:52 pm

Anwar’s target of setting low fuel prices go against the worldwide tide of high fuel prices. If we are Saudi Arabia or Venezuela who have oil everywhere maybe we stand a chance with such a unsustainable policy. But we are tiny and miniscule in terms of oil production and it is unsustainable to have artificially low prices.

Anwar’s target will not stop the nightmare, it will make it worse when his house of cards come tumbling down one day when it becomes apparent that his idea of fuel subsidies cannot be sustained. Better we get used to high fuel prices now and be more efficient rather then face a big shock later.

33. #33 by badak on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 11:08 pm

Petrol is just a part of business expences.The government is always going after the small vegetables sellers,fishmongers and the roti chanai sellers.Even taxi drivers are told not to increase its price.It is not fair to them.This very small business hardly made RM 6O a day in nett profit.
    TNB which made RM MILLIONS a day in nett profit. Had increase its tarif by 35 percent this month will they reduce their rates.Now that oil price will come down
    Every year quit rent and assesment in all municiple will go up.This are all UMNO led BN government ,s doing.

34. #34 by badak on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 11:28 pm

We are always talking about oil subsidies,Oil is not the only means of income of UMNO led BN government.We are blessed with abundence of natural resources.Which brought in hundred of RM BILLIONS over the years.
    All this was squandered away by the UMNO led BN GOVERNMENT.Just look at all the government projects,All reek with corruption.Privatisation of GOVERMENT entities was suppose to help the RAKYAT.But all this privatisation project made a few Malays super rich.But the poor MALAYS in the kampung are still poor .

35. #35 by choonchoy on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 12:43 am

Dr. Chen,

I total disagree with you. In the first place the govt DOES NOT subsidize our fuel. They take OUR money in advance when we purchase a car and give it back slowly without interest. And that does not inflation to the equation. We the rakyat are being played for fools. Now like in TDM’s time after the world oil prices drop the govt gets tax on the fuel.

If the govt is so hard up for money why not go after PSC Industries for the 24 billon plus the late deliver charges. That alone will cover the so called “subsidy” for a couple of years.

For those who voted BN;
    Heeeooooogggg. The govt takes you for a jackass!!!

36. #36 by dont_give_up on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 12:43 am

Learn from China or Singapore? Those “Blind and Deaf” big mouth will say ‘Don’t compare apples with orange’.

But, on the other hand, “they” compare inflation is lower than venezuela, oil price lower than norway, and we are well ahead of Burma.

So, in the end, “our govt” are forever a public cheaters govt.

37. #37 by monsterball on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 1:13 am

You think UMNO will listen?
    Now they owe so much..all exposed for the 12th election..and see what are they talking.
    They need to take more money from us…to cover up their evil deeds.

38. #38 by aquaimplotec on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 1:26 am

Malaysian petrol is the bottom of the tank stale stuff that does not vaporise easily. The good stuff on top is sold to other countries, this stale bottom of the tank sludge is sold to us Malaysians. So also with the diesel that is sold here that is full of sulphur crap and has totalled many an UMNO member’s 270CDi Mercedes engine. (To their surprise)

Other countries will never buy this substandard stuff as it will polute their environment. Therefore our petrol and diesel have NO international market value!!!!!!

How Abdullah Badawi can say that the government has subsidised 30 sen for every liter of crap sold to us, I can not but wonder how Malaysians got to be so forgiving of such crap and gullible to such an extent that when we smell his fart, we believe when he says that it’s his aftershave.

39. #39 by Elwin Heng on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 1:27 am

Eye-on ‘blue’ today contribution!
    Economic moving downhill! Violent-&-crime-&-robbery!
    Wish st.market wouldn’t continue depreciating till or <= 1,000!…

2 months ago, ‘blue’ demand us should spent$ in a right or smart way! Sounded ‘themselves’ need to cut-cost till minimized ‘our’ petrol price subsidy!

Unfortunately why today reported ‘blue’ approved and allocated such amount of 4m for the preparation of re-election! How-&-why, isn’t it necessary or a ‘must’ expenses till required so big.amount?

Well..well… as part of citizen or tax payer, should we authenticate or authorize to query or demand a complete-&-reasonable ‘elaboration or explanation or expenses list’? Again, isn’t it necessary and/or must ‘spent’-or-‘waste’ too much money?

Doubt upon our head of home.administration, all the while you mentioned ‘blue’ is well-trained and very professional; how about yourself? Positioned or played important role, shouldn’t you be profession not all the times to complaint or ‘blame’ other person?

Why? Reason of you seen had the most accuse or reason to allocate such amount$, why don’t you manage and utilize the resources and do it right and be professional standard!

Suggestion: should you responsible to elaborate and complete explanation to publicity? In believe, this is a way or best way to authenticate ‘blue’ profession and responsible enough! As well as enabling you ‘to buy’ our heart, or might be helpful on this coming re-election!

Back to square, allow me to do a survey, what’s a good idea if ‘blue’ spent and contribute those 4m on petrol price or others subsidy! Believe I/we are most welcoming this contribution rather than unnecessary expenses? Dear all, do you agree? You know the answer, don’t you!

STOP!
    Don’t try to split up us!

Peaceful life style!
    Comfort-&-harmony country!

Enough is enough!
    We lived harmony in 51 years!
    Believe you-&-me agreed, never-ever differentiate who are we-or-you, Malay-Chinese-Indian or other races! I/we convinced and confident, we are having a lovely country, and living in comfort and harmony and peaceful environment!

No one direct-or-indirectly or intend to challenge or burden or minus or taken any benefits from each others!

Wish and query yourself or ourselves, be realize WE ARE A FAMILY (as mentioned by En. Anwar), living under one roof! We should stay together, contribute and bring more bright lights, most comfort and harmony environment to our generation-by-generations!

Always remind ourselves, I/we are smart, well trained; no one can split up us and/or destroy our lovely country -or next generation living environment!

Once I/we notice anyone try to these bad ideas, say ‘NO’ and ask ourselves : “Who is the black.hand? What is his or her motive? Isn’t it dirty politic threats again?” If you-or-me lost direction or confused, just consider and think about our generations! Why? You know the answer, don’t you?

I love my country!
    I love all races citizen!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

40. #40 by trublumsian on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:53 am

google the pros and cons of state subsidy at the pumps and u’ll find ample material on topic. in general, the notion of free market forces is a good one. but quite simply umno’s fallacy in pegging the local oil prices to the international market is due to its failure to discourage dependency on oil. doing it at an inopportune time and glaringly failing to plan for it in a phased approach just points to how elementary the people running the country is. spending money on wasteful projects takes away from public transportation infrastructure, which would have soften the impact on foreign oil’s whimsical tendencies.

41. #41 by k1980 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:49 am

Will the BN administration implement this brillant idea? Those who want DSAI as PM are to be given a card entitling them to petrol at RM2.00 a litre. While those who prefer Dollah as PM would get a card enabling them to purchase petrol at RM2.70 per litre. Then there will be “peace on earth, goodwill to men”

42. #42 by cheng on on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:24 am

Why, that ….Merican of Petronas resigned now??

43. #43 by Elwin Heng on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:42 am

Malaysia standard?
    International standard?

I/we are smart tax payer or loving our son-&-generations, will you consider local standard or most welcoming international standard?

If not mistaken, Tun M had spoken or shared same feeling or statement “the idea by spending and contributed so such money is develop or enhance our local standard, upgrade to the goal of international standard for future country development!”.

Frankly, I/we not intend to enroll to such local standard university, by spending such money equals to international standard! As the 1st statement posted, WE ARE A FAMILY, no differentiate malay, chinese, indian, or other races, no one would like to challenge or taken away benefits from each others!

Doubt upon why the leader misuse or misconduct ‘protest’, yes, waste resources or our money by fulfilling his leadership (or might be ‘blue’ dirty politic threats). Why? How can you lead our future professional personnel to protest? In what course you are undertaking? Politic threat? Come on, save times and qualify yourself to become ‘Malaysia -> International Standard’!

Stop showing international, misuse your leadership, misconduct protest, black.dot our lovely country! Same to ‘blue’ administration, be fair to each other, especially topic of ‘protest’ or ‘legislation’!

Peaceful!
    Lovely country & harmony living environment!
    Think and care about our future generation-by-generations!

Show worldwide we are profession!
    Not to show unfairness, protest, or 2nd-or-3rd sodomy cases!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

44. #44 by Godfather on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:59 am

Continued subsidies is never the answer, for it encourages a black market and leakages. Witness how many fishermen have decided to peddle in diesel as compared to actual fishing. The answer is to reduce our dependence on petrol and diesel – and to reduce the number of vehicles on the road.

Just take a sampling of the daily vehicles on the road, and you will find that close to 90 pct are single-occupant vehicles. This has to stop. Aside from inefficiency, it also means traffic jams, and further wastage of fuel. The answer is an efficient public transportation system – and we can thank the den of thieves for continously debating on who gets what from the contracts, and thereby failing to deliver a proper transportation system.

45. #45 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:12 am

“Consumers buy less because of lower income and inflationary prices of food and other essentials.” Dr. Chen

I think you should avoid writing on economics. It gets confusing each time!

Because of lower income?? Lower real income or monetary income? Apparently real income with the decrease in the purchasing power of the ringgit. But this need not necessarily be true. It’d be true if you assume ceteris paribus.

46. #46 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:15 am

All other things remaining equal – which is true only in the long run. But in the long run we’d all be dead!

47. #47 by wongsieyin on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 10:13 am

Filem ’21’ mengisahkan gelagat enam siswa pintar cerdas Matematik yang mengguna daya fikir mereka untuk berjudi. Ben Campbell (Jim Sturgess) adalah siswa MIT yang terpaksa berjudi bagi melunaskan pembayaran yuran pengajian di Harvard sebanyak USD300,000 sepanjang tempoh pengajiannya. Beliau paling cerdas berbanding rakan-rakannya. Iklan

Cerita ini diangkat daripada buku terlaris Bringing Down the House, Ben Mezrich yang mengisahkan kewujudan MIT Blackjack Team. Ben Campbell dibawa masuk dalam kumpulan ini oleh Prof. Micky Rosa kerana kemampuannya mengira dengan pantas.

Ben bagaimanapun menolak pada asalnya kerana dia mahu hidup jujur bagi mendapatkan wang untuk melunaskan pengajian beliau di Harvard Medical School. Sebab itu Ben cuba mendapat Biasiswa Robinson. Malang sekali, sudah ada 76 permohonan dan kebanyakan pemohon biasiswa tersebut memiliki latarbelakang pendidikan yang baik.

“Semua pemohon mendapat markah yang baik seperti anda Ben, jadi anda tulislah sebuah esei yang menarik hingga kami fikir anda layak menerimanya,” kata penemuduga itu.

Ben tiada kisah menarik untuk menulis eseinya
    Di sini masalah Ben bermula. Sebagai siswa yang selalu menumpukan terhadap pelajaran Ben hampir tak menemukan sebuah perjalanan hidup yang menggembirakan sepertimana siswa-siswa lain yang gemar bersosial, berparti dan sebagainya.

Suatu hari di dalam sebuah kelas matematik Profesor Micky Rosa mencabar Ben mencari penyelesaian untuk mencari sebuah hadiah dalam sebuah pertandingan olok-olok. Beliau berjaya menyelesaikannya dengan mudah berbanding pelajar yang lain.

Micky mula menyedari kecerdasan Ben dan dari situlah dia dilatih secara rahsia di dalam kumpulan blackjack rahsianya dengan 5 orang rakan sekelas Ben yang lain.

Setelah membuat latihan dan menjalani tempoh percubaan, Ben telah dilantik sebagai ‘big player’ dan rakan pasukannya bertindak sebagai ‘spotters’. Big player membuat pertaruhan terbesar setelah ‘spotters’ membuat pertaruhan kecil. Daripada pertaruhan kecil itulah ‘big player’ akan mengetahui maklumat rekod daun yang akan diberi oleh ‘spotters’.

Setelah mahir, pasukan rahsia ‘blackjack’ Harvard itu mula beroperasi dari Boston ke Las Vegas setiap hujung minggu. Mereka menyewa suite mewah dan bermesyuarat diketuai pensyarah mereka, Micky. Ben yang na? mula jadi liar dalam dakapan kemewahan.

Ben seorang penjimat cermat orangnya, duit hasil kemenangan pertama diagihkan dan dia mendapat USD16,700 yang disimpan atas bumbung kolej kediamannya. Akhirnya, beliau berjaya mengumpulkan lebih USD300,000. Tapi, ketagihan berjudi sukar dihentikan.

Setelah membawa pulang kemenangan demi kemenangan, kegiatan mereka mula dihidu oleh pihak pengawal kasino, Cole William. Rupa-rupanya, Micky adalah seorang penjudi handalan ketika usia mudanya dan dia pernah diburu oleh pengawal kasino tersebut.

Dalam suatu permainan, Ben ditangkap dan William mengesyaki Ben ada hubungan atau dilatih oleh Micky Rosa yang pernah diburunya satu masa dahulu. William meminta agar Ben memerangkap Micky ke Las Vegas untuk diberkas. Ben bersetuju.

Apabila Ben pulang ke kampus, wang simpanan di atas bumbungnya telah dicuri dan dia mendapat surat berhenti belajar daripada Harvard. Ini semua gara-gara Micky, tetapi Ben tidak dapat membuktikannya. Ben berasa dirinya dikhianati oleh Micky.

Ben menukar strategi untuk perangkap Micky agar cuba bertaruh sekali lagi di Las Vegas pada kali berikutnya. Kali ini Micky bersetuju. Dan Ben telah dapat tempatnya semula di Harvard dengan bantuan Micky. Mereka bertaruh sekali lagi dan menang $640,000!

Tapi pada kali inilah Micky tertangkap. Dan Ben dilepaskan William kerana bekerjasama dengan pihak kasino untuk memerangkap Micky. Bagaimanapun, William curang kerana bertindak merampas wang hasil kemenangan pertaruhan itu.

“Aku mahu bersara dengan wang itu,” tegas William kepada Ben, sambil menunjuk pistol yang tersisip di pinggang. Kerana gentarkan ugutan, Ben terpaksa serahkan duit itu.

Walhasil balik asal. Ben telah pun hilang semuanya kecuali pengajiannya yang masih lagi terselamat. Wang yang telah didapatinya dengan banyak sekelip mata telah hilang sekelip mata juga. Tetapi, inilah kisah Ben yang paling berharga. Beliau tidak mati akal.

Dia masih ada satu peluang. Ben kembali menulis esei mengenai pengalamannya berjudi di Las Vegas, didera pengawal kasino, ditipu Micky dan dicurangi oleh William. Semua riwayat menarik itu mungkin berguna untuk dia mendapatkan Biasiswa Robinson.

“Demikian kisah saya tuan,” kata Ben kepada penemuduga Biasiswa Robinson. “Dua kali duit pertaruhan judi saya dicuri tuan, dua kali ?”

Sambil bercerita, Ben tersenyum memanjang ketika penemuduga itu terlopong mulutnya mendengarkan kisahnya yang menarik itu. Kerana ingin membayar wang yuran Harvard Ben terpaksa berjudi dan bergelut dan merempuh segala ancaman bahaya.

Pengajaran
    Pertama, kenalilah kejahatan. Barangsiapa yang tidak mengenali kejahatan, akan mudah terjebak dan terjatuh ke dalam lubang kejahatan itu. Manfaatkan usia muda pada zaman pelajar ini untuk mengenali falsafah sesat dan kejahatan untuk menghindarinya.

Keduanya, jangan dekati pensyarah yang cenderung membawa kita ke jalan sesat. Antara mereka itu, ialah kaum ‘cendekia’ HEP yang memperalatkan Auku untuk mendera siswa mereka sendiri. Seorang guru yang baik, tidak akan menganiayai murid-muridnya, malah mereka akan membelanya.

Antara kesesatan HEP ialah memansuhkan pilihan raya kampus pada sesetengah kampus dan menggertak, mengugut, mengancam calon pro mahasiswa agar tidak bertanding.

Ketiga, al-Qur’an berpesan agar kita tidak cenderung kepada orang yang zalim, kelak kita akan disambar neraka. Oleh itu, cubalah seboleh-bolehnya berlari daripada mereka.

Keempat, sesiapa yang terjebak dengan kejahatan kerana terpaksa, maka selalu ada ruang untuk mereka pulang ke pangkal jalan dengan selamat. Dalam kes kehidupan Ben, beliau dilatih oleh Micky untuk berjudi. Ben asalnya enggan berjudi, maka dia terselamat.

Sebaliknya Micky telah berjudi sejak usia muda, dan dia mempengaruhi pelajarnya untuk berjudi, lalu dia menerima balasan setimpal dengan kejahatannya, walaupun dia seorang guru. Tidak semuanya mulia. Yang mulia, hanyalah mereka yang benar-benar ikhlas.

Kelima, sentiasa gunakan pengaruh anda untuk membuat kebaikan dan jangan gunakan ia ke jalan kejahatan. HEP misalnya, banyak menggunakan pengaruhnya ke arah kejahatan sehinggakan ramai ‘jaguh’ pemikir Aspirasi mendakwa demokrasi tidak perlu. Ini semua hasil salah asuhan, ‘berkat’ pengaruh ajaran, salah asuhan dan dakyah HEP.

Keenam, sentiasalah cuba merekodkan pengalaman baik buruk anda untuk tatapan orang ramai. Supaya keburukan boleh dihindari dan kebaikan anda dicontohi. Amalan menulis ini perlulah berterusan kerana kita sudah tidak ramai jaguh-jaguh pemikir.

Ketujuh, hendaklah pelajar yang tertindas itu berani berjuang untuk membela dirinya dan mempertahankan segala yang telah dimilikinya, serta jangan takut dengan sebarang usaha dan percubaan HEP untuk menyingkirkan mereka daripada universiti.

Kelapan, berdampinglah dengan guru-guru yang baik dan elakkan berdampingan dengan guru dan alim ulamak jahat yang sanggup menjual kebenaran dengan harga murah.

Kesembilan, segala kemahiran, ilmu dan kecerdikan kita haruslah digunakan sepenuhnya untuk mengeluarkan umat daripada bebanan dan permasalahan mereka. Maka jangan kita jadikan ilmu yang dituntut di universiti itu hanya untuk kepentingan diri sendiri saja.

48. #49 by cheng on on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 10:32 am

Gomen oledi tax so much on car, so should subsidize retail petrol price lah. then only fair mah!

49. #51 by parameswara on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:25 am

a gomen for the people should be sensitive to how much beating its people can take from a downward economy.

there has to be a break point, and this shows up in the Mar 8th general elections.

50. #52 by parameswara on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:52 am

they should be sensitive to the wage/cost disparity faced by the people.

it determines how much they should keep in reserve, and how much they should reinvest in the people.

51. #53 by riversandlakes on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 1:01 pm

Forget oil. We’ll be a net oil importer within 10 years. We need to be far-reaching and look at economic difficulties and opportunities in the 21st century.

#1 Stamp out corruption
    #2 Stamp out corruption
    #3 Stamp out corruption
    #4 Malaysia for Malaysians. I’m no less Malaysian than that “babi” chanted in that lawless scene at the Bar Council
    #5 Alternative energy – solar power in the equator

52. #54 by i_love_malaysia on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 1:24 pm

Dr Chen,

It is timely to remove all the subsidy mentality altogether, but it should be carried out stage by stage and consider all factors with a holistic view!!!
    What happens now is that the money saved is being siphoned off the economy and going into the hands of few and ended up in overseas which dont benefit our country at all but only to themselves!!!
    Any policy that prevent waste and misuse should be adopted and the money saved should be channeled to the right people who deserve them most i.e. the poor and hungry who cant afford the minumum health care etc. and not those who can affort to drive a big cc car that consumes so much petrol per month that the subsidy money is enough to be used to help the poor and hungry for a month!!! I am not saying that the rich should not use a big cc car if they can afford to, but they have to pay for the price of owning one instead of getting all citizen regardless of rich or poor to help subsidizing them!!! (I know the rich pay a lot of taxes, but it is another matter all together when comes to subsidies).

53. #55 by wesuffer on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:26 pm

if one guilty person can go swearing muqabaran, so can clean hiim is innocent..so what do we need a police, high court to fighting for those who are guilty or not guilty?? what a funny action ! please stop doing such idiot thing !

54. #56 by wesuffer on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:28 pm

found we are living in disneyland. everybody act like cartoon !

55. #57 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:40 pm

“Malaysia should send a delegation to China and study the hows and whys of a tried and successful system.” – summarised by Dr Chen.

My goodness. I can’t imagine sending our people to learn from a country which is 20 years behind us. I think China should come to Malaysia to learn from us instead. We have a successful oil company Petronas which is in the top 100 companies in the world. Does China have?

56. #58 by chiakchua on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:44 pm

I’m in total agreement with Godfather that we should focus on effort to reduce reliance on fuel. Improve public transport system; let whoever are capable to participate in this revamp, irrespective of race and religion to chip in their contribution. Marginalisation of non-Malay talent is a big waste.

Revise traffic system, implement busy time central business district vehicle entry levy, odd or even car number plate city entry restriction, SOV penalty in certain busy area, totally no vehicle entry at certain hours at certain area (like curfew of vehicle), morning and evening traffic lane change on bridges, and many others.

The Transport Ministers all this while are either sleeping, Yes men to UMNOputras to protect their self interest or are just dumb! OTK is only hero for once; he saves RM27000 out of RM30000. After that, no more! He talk hell of a lot at Chinese functions, but has never express his feeling with the UMNOputras. He is the same as the other so called MCA leaders.

Our only hope is a change of government; PAS may be a devil but UMNO has already proven to be one, I would still go for the PAS coalition!

57. #59 by chiakchua on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:52 pm

Dear Kasim,
    China had successfully sent one man to outer space. Oh, ya, we did send one too right?

Our Petronas is the only one company in the top 100 companies in the world, may be you have to read up again the latest Fortune 500 to see China has how many in the top 10!

What Chen says is China policy in oil pricing; subsidy with price ceiling, please get it right.

58. #60 by lhslhv on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:06 pm

Let us look at the following histories.

During Kuomintang era, China’s economy was controlled by only 3 famililies because of high level corruption. There was civil war after that.

Russia was a communist country where economic production was so centralised and controlled that it did not encourage incentive for productiion. The Soviet Union disintegrated.

Zimbabwe forcefully confiscated highly productive farms in the name of equal national wealth distribution but ended up in the hands of Mugabe’s cronies. The result was total destruction of the economy and ruinned the country with inflation rates in the range of millions of percentage point.

Myanmar was under the control of army. The country was curtailed from outside influence so that population is misinformed. They are one of the least developed contry in the world comparable only to Africa.

Now look at Malaysia.

We have policies that retard the growth of economy, unfriendly to investors and all kinds of repressive policies. With a Malaysian population of 26 million, we have 60% Malays giving about 15 million. Out of this population we have 7.5 million work force after deducting the very youngs and the very olds. Let us say the gorvernment and Governmenet-Linked Corporations both employ 2 million of the Malay work force. We still have 5.5 million of them. If our private sector economy which is significantly controlled by the Chinese cannot create jobs due to poor and oppressive economic policies, where are the rest of thr Malay work force going to find jobs?

This does not end here. If our 5.5 million Malay brothers cannot get jobs to support the family, how are the dependents going to survive? If the family, to be conservative, has 2 members, there will be 11 million of them struggling hard to put foods on their table.

So with oppressive policies, who will suffer? Most of the poor Malaysian irrespective whether they are Malays, Chinese, Indians. Ibans, Kadazans, etc! We will be like Zimbabwe in no time. Are you going to let this happen?

Whoes fault is this? The UMNO-led government!

Change we must! Otherwise please say sorry to your offsprings.

59. #61 by lhslhv on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:17 pm

Kasim Amat

How backward you are!

Are you still dreaming that China is 20 years behind Malaysia!

Please read widely!

60. #62 by cheng on on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:19 pm

Ai yah! Saudara Kasim, Kamu telah ketinggalan zaman lah,
    You said China don’t hv any company in the Fortune 500, which Fortune list you read, 1996 one kah?
    China is 20 years behind Msia?? which aspect? economy? technical develoment? higher education? highway construction? city public transport? railway construction? masih mimpi kah?
    If China is so backward, why Msia need to borrow money from China to build Penang 2nd bridge?

61. #63 by chloo on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:33 pm

ICBC, China Mobile, Lenovo, Hua Wei, Cheung Kong, Zijin Mining, Shenhua, Petro China, Sinopec, Cnooc, Baidu…and the list goes on and on…… for those who are uninformed, I suggest to read Forbes, Fortune or Business Week. Reading just Utusan is not enough to climb out of the “Tempurung”.

62. #64 by lhslhv on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:46 pm

Kasim Amat

Wake uppppp!

China is hosting the Olympic Games!

Can somebody spell out to Kasim Amat the criteria to be able to host the Olympic Games?

63. #65 by badak on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:59 pm

Kasim Amat another kindergarden drop out .but having a diploma from UITM..

64. #66 by davelim881 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:53 pm

To Kasim Amat:

Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha……. I do not know if your response is intentional or just plain naive. China is 20 years behind Malaysia??. I guess you have not been to China at all during the last 5 to 10 years.

65. #67 by Godfather on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 7:09 pm

Kasim Amat’s comment is purely intentional. This is what UMNO wants the grassroots to believe – that Bolehland is far ahead of China, Taiwan and other “chopstick” countries.

Kasim my bisnes partner, have you been getting your payments from Mike Tyson ? I heard that they have no money to even pay the banners and buntings at Permatang Pauh, so my advice to you is to make sure Mike Tyson pays you first, and then you can post like a dutiful UMNOputra.

66. #68 by pjboy on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:53 pm

Not to forget that when we buy a car in Malaysia-boleh, we are already “subsidising” the price of oil by paying more than RM 15-20k per car than any other country in SEA. The gov is pocketing this & then say they subsidised fuel to us all. In actual fact, we paid for it & pay interest to the bank/financier for it. But gov get the cash & use it – then say they are helping us. We are totally screwed from behind. So when BN used a banner “don’t look behind” in Ptg-Pauh, were they referring to themselves?

The role of the AP should have been to the gov fund as well. Not go to only an elite group of UMNO cronies. Imagine the millions if not billions of AP collected from the sale of luxury cars, as a form of luxury tax & these then can be used to “subsidised” whatever you want to call it. No TOLL is one of them. The rest is up to your imagination.

67. #69 by katdog on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:30 pm

Ha ha ha Kassim Amat is very funny. Here in Bolehland, the UMNOputras still think China is 20 years behind Malaysia.

However back to the topic on hand, the flip flopping of the oil subsidies basically show the incompetance of BN. I myself don’t support infinite subsidies, however any change in subsidies should be gradual and in a properly planned and scheduled manner. Not ad hoc decisions and one day announcements.

Some interesting calculations. US petrol price now about USD3.90/gallon which is about USD1.00/litre. Which is about RM3.35/litre. We’re probably paying pretty close to actual market prices right now.

68. #70 by imranj78 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:32 pm

aquaimplotec,
    Your comments on Malaysian petrol and diesel is not only inaccurate, but ignorant. May I suggest you read a bit before making such pitiful comments?

There is no such thing as `bottom of the tank’ petrol. Petrol and diesel quality is determined by the government. Better quality equals to higher price. Are we ready for higher priced fuel? Even when subsidies are reduced so many people shout murder! Many Malaysians are pampered. We want everything but we don’t want to pay for it. Be realistic people.

69. #71 by imranj78 on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:36 pm

About China, yes they may be ahead of Malaysia in several aspects but they are still lacking in many areas. Their political scenario is probably even worse then we are and political freedom is not as wide. Religious freedom is extremely curtailed. I wouldn’t say either Malaysia or China is ahead of each other but we are both growing in a different way. Nevertheless, China is not one country I would consider looking up as a `model’.

70. #72 by katdog on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:05 am

“Religious freedom is extremely curtailed”.

In what ways? Because syariah law is not allowed to be implemented in China? I don’t see China behind Malaysia in terms of religious freedom. Maybe equal but definitely not behind.

I went to China with one of my Malay colleague and we had some interesting experieces. We found a man wearing a muslim skullcap hawking what seemed like barbecued meat by the roadside. A few days later we found a noodle shop with arabic verses hung on the walls. The shop was operated by chinese muslims selling halal food. Similarly while visiting another area we were able to locate another eating shop operated by chinese muslims. These shops are easily identified by the Arabic verses hung around the walls of the shop.

From what i have seen you are free to practice whatever religion you want. As long as you do not turn it political to oppose the ruling party.

Compare that to Malaysia. You think Malaysia is ahead in terms of religious freedom? I don’t think so.

71. #73 by imranj78 on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:23 am

katdog,
    Similar in Malaysia, in China things might look well on the surface but dive deeper you might see things are not as rosy as they appear. At least in Malaysia followers of any particular religion are not told who should lead their religion. In China, the Roman Catholics and Tibetian Buddhists are forced to follow leaders chosen by the central government. I am sure you are aware about the conflicts between China and the Dalai Lama and also with the Vatican.

I am not saying all are well in Malaysia, but in the overall picture, I still believe Malaysia is ahead of China in terms of religious freedom, political freedom and human rights.

72. #74 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:38 am

religious freedom, political freedom? does it feed the masses?

73. #75 by katdog on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:56 am

imranj78, isn’t it sad that today you can only talk about malaysia ahead in terms of religious freedom, political freedom and human rights (which i believe how much ahead is debatable).

China has shown some good management of their economy. Maybe Malaysia should look at learning some things from them instead of trying to find other faults with China.

74. #76 by Godfather on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:57 am

I think we are debating my bisnes partner Kasim’s comment that China is 20 years behind Bolehland. I don’t see any agreement with this dumb assertion.

75. #77 by Godfather on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:59 am

At least, the China leadership doesn’t steal from their people. They shoot those who steal. If we apply this principle strictly in Bolehland, the Barang Naik consortium would be reduced significantly in its leadership ranks.

76. #78 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 1:22 am

Malaysia must be ahead of China where it matters, like the economic superiority. What’s the use of being ahead on kucing kurap things like religious freedom. Lina Joy would disagree with me.

77. #79 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 1:45 am

China is already world’s 2nd largest economy, according to World Bank data:

.http://uk.reuters.com/article/marketsNewsUS/idUKN1145131520080411

78. #80 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 2:18 am

“I think China should come to Malaysia to learn from us.’. Kasim Amat.

Why don’t you people have a mind of your own instead of being determined by your bosses who only want to make you people stupid!They tell you that we have astronauts when in fact we have space tourists.In the case of China,she has developed her space industrial complex to such a stage that she is able to make and send launch vehicles and spacecrafts to orbit the moon with instruments to study the moon and beam data back to earth.Eventually taikonauts will be there by 2012 and it has been speculated they will make it to the moon earlier than the Americans in the race to return to the moon!! China has also made 2 telescopes,a solar space telescope and a hard X-ray modulation telescope waiting to be sent up to space. Her solar space telescope is even more powerful than the current American Hubble Telescope for it has better resolution to probe into deep space to study the Universe.
    Have you heard of Haier , a Chinese manufacter of freezers,washing
    machine,televisions,water heaters,air conditioners and microwave ovens,third largest white goods manufacturer in the world? She has opened up a production facility at Camden,South Carolina and moved into the Landmark Building in downtown Manhattan.She also has production facilities in Indonesia, Philippines Malaysia,Jordon,Tunisia,Egypt,Algeria and South Afica.Have you not heard of Lenovo, China’s top personal computer company has bought over IBM’s PC hardware division? She has even developed China’s supercomputercapable 1.027 trillion calculations per second!!Less than a handful of nations are capable of manufacturing supercomputers.
    Do you or can you name any Malay scientist or academician who can have half a standing as the following people in China…..(a)Li Siguang (b)Qian Xuesen (c) Qian Sanqiang (d)Li Guohao (e) Tang Aoqing (f) Yuan Longping (g) Wang Yongmin (h)Wang Xuan ?? You will more likely have people like the Vice Chancellor of UiTM who is a disgrace to the chair he sits on.Just imagine bringing up a legal case against Khalid not apologising to students of UiTM for suggesting to UiTM to take in 10% non Malay students into the university. How dumb can he be!!!!
    So please Kasim don’t be as stupid as that vice chancellor from UiTM!!

79. #82 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 2:48 am

We have to wake up to the reality that china has indeed overtaken us by 20 years. How are we to forge ahead if we are still in dreamland?

80. #83 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 3:39 am

Possibly within the next 50 years China will become the biggest economy in the world but because of its large population the GDP per capita will be still far below western nations.Take for example the GDP per capita of China vs Malaysia, the GDP per capita of China is 2460 usd whilst that of Malaysia is 6146 usd. However in terms of wealth distribution China is better since its Gini Index is 44 whilst Malaysia’s is 49.2.AS a matter of fact Malaysia has the worst wealth distribution in South East Asia and in Asia as well if not for Papa New Guinea.
    The reason why wealth distribution is in such horrible state favouring the few rich over the vast majority of Malaysian stems in no small measure to UMNOPUTRAS goal of making themselves and their cronies millionaires and multi-millionaires, leaving large number of rural Malays languishing in poverty!!

81. #84 by cheng on on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 5:05 am

Cookie Monster Says:
    Today at 02: 41.36 (2 hours ago)
    (china does have a few blacksheeps who is corrupted……but still they had a few success provinces…..to name a few…shanghai , shenzhen , dalian , guangzhou , zhu hai , xiamen …….)
    Hey! none of the names U mentioned is a province’s name, all are city’s name lah!
    Guangdong province alone had a higher GNP than Thailand (2nd) or Malaysia (3rd in ASEAN), more km of intercity express way than Msia. Bullet train between Tianjin and Beijing. A long bridge (more than 38km) between Ningbo n Shanghai built 100% by their ppl n money…
    If anyone like to believe China is behind Msia, maybe , he can say 5 years or so but surely not 20 years.

82. #85 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 9:26 am

Sorry Sdr. Lim, but what is the hell is Dr. Chen talking about. It makes no sense and he does not seem to know what is going on.

Malaysia can learn little from China energy policies because its energy mix use is very different. The price of China’s energy policy is a polluted environment that in later years will see a health bill that will never be paid i.e. with inhumanity. More importantly China growth fueled by massive cheap and abundant labour in hyper competitive markets where basic rights are not protected. Oil don’t drive it and even as a stumbling block it does not even play as big a role as the RMB exchange rate and monetary policies.

The sensible energy and growth policies to be learn is from the Europeans and Singaporean largely especially those that channel oil revenue to productive means rather than subsidies and ill-concieved spending. But its a a level of performance that is beyond the BN govt…

83. #86 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 11:10 am

dr chen is suggesting going there to study only, not implementing.

the europeans and singapore don’t subsidize fuel because, firstly, they are not oil producers.

secondly, their population still have the means to live within the current adverse economic condition, due to higher per capita income.

thirdly, singapore has the means and mechanism in place to help those in financial straits.

84. #87 by mohrafael on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 11:33 am

I have been doing business in China for years, and I can write a long thesis on how smart and brilliant these chinese and chinese government are and in particular, in managing a big state, and how China has so far prospered by avoiding the US or Western’s ploys and advocacies. Malaysia government as represented by its very weak and gullible self-interested leaders,… listens and as usual becomes victim arising of its own stupidity and self interest. I absolutely agree with Dr Chen…. Our BN leaders’ integrity is highly questionable, that is why Najis said “nothing is impossible in politics”. And “… can do whatever at whatever cost…” So listening is believing.

85. #88 by badak on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 11:59 am

Lets stop about China for now.Help DSAI win the BY ELECTION.This UMNO led BN GOVERMENT had been SODOMIZING the RAKYAT for to long.
    With the amount of money wasted by UMNO and its goons its a shame that we still voting them in.They say “”a picture says a thousand words”” Few days ago there was this picture of an old lady staying in a chiken coop sleeping side by side with ducks and chiken.This was in the NST.I felt shy being a Malaysian.

86. #89 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:24 pm

Bigjoe,tell me which country does not pollute? America? Japan?of Britain? In fact the biggest polluter is America!And which country does not have a labour policy that exploits its people in its history? Again is it America,Britain or Japan?
    Europe has come a long way to what she is today and Singapore with such a small population they are much easier to manage than the 1.3 billion people in China. Like what Parameswara says they are much richer nations (by virtue of comparison on per capita GDP) and therefore are in much better position to control pollution as well as dispence basic labour rights.It is the luxury of rich coutries.Wait till China comes to a per capita GDP maybe 15000 USD, I am sure the air will be cleaner and basic mininum wage and work conditions will be in place.Already China is going to go into nuclear energy for power generation in a big way doing away with coal and gas.Pollution laws are being implemented in a big way too and one reads that hundreds of factories along China’s rivers are shut done for not conforming to its laws.Mote and more diesel cars will be introduced into Chinese roads and I won’t be surprised that China could be one of the first nation to get hydrogen fuel cell cars to replace cars on fossil fuels on its roads.

87. #90 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 1:08 pm

america refuses to sign environmental protection treaty like the kyoto protocol because,

pollution = $$$$$
    no pollution = no $$$$$

they are the largest economy in the world, built on pollution.
    they are aware, but argue otherwise, because $$$$ is more important to maintain their eroding No.1 position in the world.

88. #91 by boilingmad on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 1:12 pm

Our current problems are due to the recruitment of incompetent idiots who know next to nothing about economics, let alone about running a country. Thanks to Mahathir, we’re in deep shit today. So afraid was he to take in talents who might question his strategies, he decided to take in greedy fools so that he could have complete control over them.

Our politicians have travelled the world, several times over and still have learnt nothing. They can’t speak Chinese nor proper English, so what’s the use of sending them to China? Whatever strategies China uses, or any country for that matter, will be over their heads. Too complex for their simple minds (if they have any!). Please don’t let them go there on a holiday at our expense.

The only way for us to move forward, is to strip THE ENTIRE fat and dead meat and replace it with fresh and well qualified individuals who understand economics and good governance.

89. #92 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 1:25 pm

And all the man-made wonders of the world, the pyramid,hanging garden of Babylone, the great wall of China, the Petra (recently discovered by Swiss explorers, the Inca temples up in the Andes etc etc are all built by slave labour!!!

90. #93 by chiakchua on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 3:03 pm

Learn how China has good public transport system in several of their modern cities; I was much impressed with their MRT in Guangzhou and Shanghai.
    How they try lessen the early morning and evening office hour traffic jam on the highway bridges in Xiamen; while 2 more new bridges are under construction.
    How they restrict entrance of non-Shanghai city registered vehicles using the city highway during morning or evening peak hours.

We should learn from anywhere if it helps to bring down our fuel consumption.

Our UMNOputras are prepared to let the public transport system rot, let everybody rely on SOV, wasting billions in fuel price, rather then opening up this sector to the non-Malays! This is inline with Mahathirism; the Malays would prefer to see thing rot rather than seeing non-Malays progress. However, only the Malay elites in UMNO benefits, not the Malays in general.

91. #95 by Kasim Amat on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 3:38 pm

We should not downplay our own country when comparing with other countries. Every country has their own uniqueness and the ways their people like to live. For Malaysia, it is still developing and it is heading the right direction. With regards to the public transport problem, there maybe some problems but please note that it is all the while being handled by the Ministry of Transport, the Minister of which is from MCA and UMNO has no right to interfere.

In recent years, our government has opened up for all races to participate in the economy development of Malaysia and whoever has the strength will get the jobs. It is not necessary that only Bumi-companies will get jobs from government. Under the leadership of UMNO, there is no issue on favouritism in the allocation of projects. Those who accuse our government being bias in the allocation of projects are purely talking out of jealousy.

92. #97 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 4:44 pm

Kasim Amat,
    Nobody is downplaying Malaysia. However you stated that China should come to Malaysia to learn from Malaysia and that’s where you needed telling off for you are the type of agent trained by your bosses to bull-shit the bulk of the population so that they can continue to live in the well the proverbial ‘katak di tempurung’ type of mentality telling the kampung people ‘semuanya OK’.It is precisely because of this type of ‘temberang’ you employed that needs to be corrected with the truth and the truth is this country has been properly sodomised by your bosses throughout the 50 years in power.Nothing wrong with my country, it is the government mouthing such untruths ‘cermilang, gemilang,terbilang’ thro the main media and only those who are more informed knows that all thses are ‘temberang’!!

93. #98 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 5:25 pm

Yang Chen Ning,a Chinese who has been in America for a long time, was a Nobel Prize in Physics back in 1957 and he has since returned and is currently with Tsinghua University.He was once asked about America and why he thought America was so successful.His reply was ‘America is wealthy precisely because people are free to achieve greatness, unencumbered by primitive rules of behavior.’.Doesn’t it ring a bell,Kasim Amat about the behavior of this government??

94. #99 by AhPek on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 5:29 pm

Kasim Amat,

One more comment before I go and that is I love this country for this is the place I was born and bred and how could it be otherwise. However I want to boot this government out with my vote, that’s my mission.

95. #100 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 6:01 pm

kasim,

you mentioned “leadership of UMNO”,

at the same time you also mentioned,

“…public transport problem, there maybe some problems but please note that it is all the while being handled by the Ministry of Transport, the Minister of which is from MCA and UMNO has no right to interfere.”

the leadership that you mentioned is required to fix the problem, and not passing of the buck from one member to another member of the very same gomen.

96. #101 by davelim881 on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 7:33 pm

Kasim Amat says:
    With regards to the public transport problem, there maybe some problems but please note that it is all the while being handled by the Ministry of Transport, the Minister of which is from MCA and UMNO has no right to interfere.

Kasim, this statement is smack of “racism” from the way you put it.

All, we must understand, who is leading the various component party, MCA, MIC etc.

97. #102 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 9:06 pm

imranj78,
    Aiyah, When I say “bottom of the tank”, I do mean the bottom of the tank, just like when they say UMNO is scraping the bottom of the barrel for capable people to run the country.

98. #103 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 9:31 pm

Kasim Amat,
    You say, “It is not necessary that only Bumi-companies will get jobs from government. Under the leadership of UMNO, there is no issue on favouritism in the allocation of projects.”

Well said, that should be the way, however, as usual you missed the point, the issue is cronyism and favouritism also smacks of cronyism. Then again you highlight another contentious point by making a sweeping statement that the leadership of the country is UMNO with complete disregard for other component parties; without the support of which UMNO will not even have a majority!!!

It’s not surprising judging from your comments that all other component parties are set to walkout from the BN coalition and join PR when DSAI comes into parliament as a representative of the people who will fight UMNO oppression.

99. #104 by StevePCH on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 10:09 pm

BeEnd’s policy is best in the world. Aparteid and wealth amassing altogether. Cronysm, Nepotism
    The current govt has got no right to shake hand with Nelson Mandela as he advocates freedom from racism.
    UiTM = cradle of racism = BeEnd.

100. #105 by StevePCH on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 11:14 pm

look at the a lot of tender documents and you will find, “di buka untuk syarikat bumiputra 100% etc ” or Preferably bumiputra status companies.

I am in business and I know what it’s like having to deal with so called leach that does not do anything except having the status.
    With these overprotection, look how much we have grown over the past 50 years as compared to our neighbors.

Even FDI countries are very well aware of these practises and shunned Malaysia for other countries in this region.
    These policy had truly backfired and Malaysian as a nation does not deserve BeEnd. We deserve a better goverment.

Kasim Amat, you said there is no favoritism ? you must be kidding man !!! Either you do not understand the word favoritism , misleading readers , being ignorant or provoking. typical AIDS.
    Some non Bumi businesses had to apoint or set up Bumi status companies with proxies to remain in business.

As much as much of us like to see and ignore you comment, sometimes you do really deserve the fire you get from Malaysians of all races here. We are again as Malaysians here and will be united against Kasim an Co.

1 race – Malaysian , 1 party – Pakatan Rakyat and 1 PM – Anwar

101. #106 by trublumsian on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 12:45 am

kasim amat, puuullleeezzz, stop smoking crack!

2007 Global 500:
    Sinopec, China, rank: 17. Industry: oil
    China National Petroleum, China, rank 24. Industry: oil

Petronas, Malaysia, rank: 121. Industry: oil

kasim amat, Malaysia, rank: 1. Industry: stupidity

102. #107 by trublumsian on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 12:51 am

imranj78,

malaysians, bumis and non, cry murder because driving is the only realistic way of getting around in most cases, whereas umno spends billions on bridges to no where mega projects.

103. #108 by aquaimplotec on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:09 am

With the present oil crisis Malaysia is saddled also with the monstrosity called PROTON which for more than twenty years has bled Malaysians dry with car prices that cost more than a house.

Elimination of competition from imports by imposing import duties of 300% and more and now replaced by imposition of excise duties of equal amount so as to “comply” with AFTA pressure on the lifting of such tariffs on international trade. They had to change the universal meaning of EXCISE DUTY of course to apply to any car manufactured on this planet. Previously meant for those assembled or manufactured in Malaysia. A blatant disregard for other members of the AFTA community.

The end result of such foolhardy dogmatism to develop a national car is the obvious predicted inability of PROTON to keep up with engine technology. Today the most advanced diesels that are common in Europe give better fuel efficiency of more than 60 miles per gallon, which is more than the out of date Civic Hybrid that Honda Malaysia is trying to push at exhorbitant pricing. Bearing in mind that the assembler of Honda vehicles is also an UMNO crony, they together paint a picture that the public have no choice but to buy PROTON cars which give similar fuel efficiency as other offerings from other car manufacturers but are sold at cheaper pricing.

See – http://www.toyota.ie/innovation/engines/d-4d/

The manufacturers of these efficient cars have commented that Malaysians do not take cognisance of fuel efficiency as a deciding factor in purchase decisions and this is perhaps the official stance projected by pro PROTON supporters and their cronies.

With all the fuel inefficient commercial and private vehicles now owned by Malaysians, it will take another decade to finance the upgrade of these fuel guzzlers to the fuel misers that are now available but not brought into our country.

When will they bring them in? When PROTON & UMNO permits!!!!

104. #109 by trublumsian on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:16 am

umno recruits people with 2 grades, D’s and F’s (A’s-C’s are too smart). In standardized tests, the D’s and F’s directly maps to the A’s and B’s in UiTM. the F’s get to help run the country or be groomed to run the country. the D’s are smarter, so they’re assigned to this blog to mutter crap.

105. #110 by procol on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:54 am

Yes high fuel prices might hurt us in the short term, but we will emerge stronger in the long run as we will become more competetive. – Imranj78

Would you advocate the abolishment of NEP and all special rights accorded as well? If subsidies meant pampering, what would NEP mean then? If one is not competitive enough, then be humble and learn from others. One does not get more competitive, stronger and wiser by insisting on special privileges to get a head start. In fact, those who race fair and square would be the ones who will get stronger and wiser as they have no choice but to train harder in order to overcome the disadvantage placed before them.
    Badawi’s decision is not deserving the credit you give to him. It’s not the first time the government simply adopts a system without thorough understanding of its suitability.

106. #111 by imranj78 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 2:14 am

trublumsian,
    True that driving is the easiest way of getting around in most cases but not all. No one is contesting that and our public transport MUST be improved. But on the other hand, the ease of driving a car has been engrained into Malaysians due to the poor subsidy policy that has been implemented for far too long. For this I must give credit to Badawi in the sense that he brought us out of the unsustainable low fuel price bubble, though the manner he implemented it was not well thought of.

procol,
    NEP as it stands is not sustainable. It must be widen to include poor people of other races. However to abolish it out right now is not going to be acceptable as it is likely to result in potential conflicts within the country. Instead, the government must make a clear roadmap, targets and timeline for its abolishment. There must be commitment and compromises by all races for it to work.

Special priveledges is another matter altogether. Abolishment of special priviledges is unacceptable as this is enshrined in the Malaysian constitution.

107. #113 by AhPek on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:10 pm

There is also no such thing as the special priviledges, only the special position of the Malays in the Constitution rightly recommended by the Reids Commission
    and agreed by the founding fathers who at that time agreed on a gentlemen’s handshake (unfortunately) that this special position should not be perpetual and would be reviewed after 15 years which was, of course as we all know reneged.The whole rationale behind this ‘special position’ thing is to help Malays financially to prepare themselves better to be independent thro education.

108. #114 by imranj78 on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 9:56 pm

Cookie Monster,
    Agreed that the poor, irrespective of race and religion, should be given appropriate assistance.

AhPek,
    The idea of a gentlemen’s handshake with regards to special priviledges is debatable. You are right that originally there was a proposal to include a 15 year review period. However, after negotiations, this was removed from the constitutional document. Hence the 15 year review period is just that, a proposal that was never accepted.

109. #115 by aquaimplotec on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 5:41 am

Under Article 153, and due to the 13th May 1969 riots, the New Economic Policy was introduced. The NEP aimed to eradicate poverty irrespective of race by expanding the economic pie so that the Chinese share of the economy would not be reduced in absolute terms but only relatively. The aim was for the Malays to have a 30% equity share of the economy, as opposed to the 4% they held in 1970. Foreigners and Chinese held much of the rest.[9]

The NEP appeared to be derived from Article 153 and could be viewed as being in line with its wording. Although Article 153 would have been up for review in 1972, fifteen years after Malaysia’s independence in 1957, due to the May 13 Incident it remained unreviewed. A new expiration date of 1991 for the NEP was set, twenty years after its implementation.[10]

However, the NEP was said to have failed to have met its targets and was continued under a new policy called the National Development Policy.

110. #116 by aquaimplotec on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 6:19 am

Article 153 only applies to the special position of the Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak.

111. #117 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:51 am

(1) It shall be the responsibility of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong to safeguard the special position of the Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak and the legitimate interests of other communities in accordance with the provisions of this Article.

112. #118 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:56 am

If you examine the English meaning of article 153(1), it is illegal to comment so I have no comment.

113. #119 by BNseedell on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 3:23 am

Kasim Amat: What’s so great about Malaysia is ahead of China in terms of religious freedom? Have Malaysia received any internatioanlly recognised GOLD Medal in terms of religious freedom? If yes, please name me that Medal.

By the way, is Malaysia ahead of China in the field of sports or in terms of sport-related events? Have you been watching or following the ongoing 2008 Beijing Olympics? If not, here is the overall Medal Count at the time of posting my comment:

CHINA:
    Gold = 45
    Silver = 14
    Bronze = 20
    TOTAL: 79

MALAYSIA:
    Gold = 0
    Silver = 1
    Bronze = 0
    TOTAL: 1

Now, tell me, Tuan Kasim, who is ahead of who in terms of Olympics’ Medal Count if you want to make comparison??

114. #120 by aquaimplotec on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 11:07 pm

Know your English used in our Constitution:-
    Interpretation of the word “the”
    –definite article (used, esp. before a noun, with a specifying or particularizing effect, as opposed to the indefinite or generalizing force of the indefinite article a or an): the book you gave me; Come into the house.

Interpretation of the word “and”
    1. (used to connect grammatically coordinate words, phrases, or clauses) along or together with; as well as; in addition to; besides; also; moreover: pens and pencils.
    2. also, at the same time: to sleep and dream.

Hence in the sentence “to safeguard the special position of THE women AND children of any of the states of Zimbawee and Myanmar” , the “THE” is specifying a particular group and the “AND” groups the two nouns “women”, “children” together. Women and children (treated as a single group) belonging to any of the states of Zimbawee and Myanmar.

115. #121 by aquaimplotec on Friday, 22 August 2008 - 12:00 am

According to constitutional scholar Shad Saleem Faruqi, the Constitution has been amended 42 times over the 48 years since independence as of 2005. However, as several amendments were made each time, he estimates the true number of individual amendments is around 650. He has stated that “there is no doubt” that “the spirit of the original document has been diluted”.[1] This sentiment has been echoed by other legal scholars, who argue that important parts of the original Constitution, such as jus soli (right of birth) citizenship, a limitation on the variation of the number of electors in constituencies, and Parliamentary control of emergency powers have been so modified or altered by amendments that “the present Federal Constitution bears only a superficial resemblance to its original model”.[2] It has been estimated that between 1957 and 2003, “almost thirty articles have been added and repealed” as a consequence of the frequent amendments.[3]

Anwar Ibrahim’s battle cry – justice for the malays, chinese, indians, Ibans and Kadazans – reflect the flaws in our amended constitution. Ibans and Kadazans have been left out of the list of natives in article 161a(7).

With a straight forward interpretation of the “the” and “and” in article 153, it is hardly surprising BN is loosing malay support in peninsular Malaysia. The malays have finally realised the true meaning of article 153, although it had already been worded this way since 1963!