Brand new era for Universiti Teknologi MARA?

BY Azly Rahman

We must congratulate the present leadership of Selangor for suggesting that Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) be open to non-Bumiputeras; a good suggestion indeed and UiTM students and alumni should in fact be proud that such a statement of hope and reconciliation is made public.

More than merely ten percent should be allocated for Malaysians of other ethnic groups. This is indeed and excellent way to begin restructuring our public universities so that they can become truly global and embrace multiculturalism as a pillar of intellectual pride.

This will be in tune with the spirit of the The Beijing 2008 Olympics in which there will be competition amongst the races. Way too long the Malay students in UiTM have been unfairly denied the opportunity to collaborate and cooperate with their peers from other ethnic groups in the learning process. They have been shackled in a place wherein the only ideology they know is one of “Ketuanan Melayu”; a concept that is a contradiction to what a university must aspire to become. The 3-4 years of their wonderful college experience should provide them the skills to work in a multicultural environment.

Many “Bumiputra-centric” institutions have opened up to non-Bumputras in order for us see a reflection of Malaysian-ness in diversity. Universiti Perguruan Sultan Idris, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, and Maktab Rendah Sains MARA are examples. There is no need for the administrators and students of UiTM to be upset over such a proposal.

Restructure leadership first

But a larger issue is we must first begin restructuring the leadership of all our universities to reflect our desire for Malaysians to be truly Malaysian, “truly Asian” as the slogan goes.We must begin by closely reading the philosophy and principles of affirmative action and translate these into practice and to monitor its successes.

Let us do a better job with our policies of diversity and affirmative action in order to find a peaceful solution to the dead-end issues of quota, meritocracy, dread, mundaneness, blind nationalism, cemented racism, closing of doors to the best and the brightest, and a spectrum of malaise in our public universities. Our vice-chancellors must enculturalise what is good, new, and true that they have learned from their alma mater in foreign lands, so that they can govern institutions with purity of thought. Most of them are US, UK, and Australian-trained and well-versed in the issue of diversity and affirmative action.

The problem is that many get afflicted by philosophical amnesia as soon as we are back in Malaysia after many years of studying abroad and learning about what worked in advanced countries. We let ‘this old house we inhabit’ define the culture that will intellectually disable us. The University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) in the US proclaimed its commitment to diversity in a statement issued on Sept 20, 1999:

“At UCLA, a public university located in one of the most heterogeneous regions in the world, diversity is an indispensable element of academic excellence. We are fundamentally committed to including and integrating within the campus community individuals from different groups as defined by such characteristics as race, ethnicity, gender, socioeconomic background, religion, sexual orientation, age, disability, and intellectual outlook.

“This commitment requires efforts to attract to the campus members of historically under-represented racial and ethnic groups. However, to create a rich academic experience and intellectual and cultural environment for everyone, we extend our concern beyond representation to genuine participation. Our commitment to diversity entails devising strategies and programmes to realise its benefits fully in education, research and service. This commitment inevitably means an openness to change – indeed, to transformation.”

Einstein once said that we cannot solve problems from the same plane on which the problem was created. We would be going around in circles, looking for the door to equality, justice and wisdom in our collective hope of creating a nation of peace-loving Malaysians. The New Economic Policy and the problem of race in governance of our universities must be framed within the Einsteinian maxim.

Need for multi-cultural audit

Many would like to see a diverse team of top leadership in our public universities. Chinese, Indian, Iban or Kadazan Malaysian students would like to see a vice-chancellor or a deputy vice-chancellor of their ethnicity. Our foreign students are not lured here to learn more sophisticated political-economic forms of racism.

A multi-cultural mix of top leadership will ensure a good sense of student belonging to the university and will show the world that not Malaysia will not only has a ‘world-class’ image but also practises a ‘world-wise’ educational policy. Universiti Teknologi MARA, in this case, can be made less Malay and more multi-cultural, so that we may teach students to view success not solely in racial terms but through a transcultural lens. This university will benefit intellectually and culturally from a good composition of multi-cultural leadership. A multi-cultural university senate may help ease the migraine of the quota mentality and will educate the top leadership on the need to evolve wisely thorough good affirmative action policies that are also in line with the teachings of the great religious traditions and humanistic educational philosophies.

Islam, Christianity, Catholicism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, and even atheism teach us to look at human beings not through the eyes of race alone. A good system will look at class as a basis of creating a just system that brings out humanism in all of us. The concept of democracy in education demands us to integrate all the diverse cultures so that each may learn to better respect, and next, help each other build better a vision of an ethical society.

Create a new varsity order

Borrowing the words of the American social reconstructionist George Counts, who wrote of the need to reconstruct society through education, I propose that we seriously engage in a national dialogue on the beauty of diversity in our public universities. It will be a guarantee that whatever we have set up as a multi-cultural nation will be achieved if we begin with this vision from the top of the ivory tower.

If we let the higher education minister restructure the culture and nature of who should constitute the leaders in the ivory towers, we will see discrimination being properly addressed and resolved. This may be painful in the beginning and the healing process will not be pleasant, but heal we all must. An all-Malay, all-Chinese or all-Indian educational institution will not educate well but will indoctrinate excellently.

Education in the broadest sense of the word should train people to become transcultural citizens able to build a strong foundation of radical multi-culturalism so that society will continue to be critical of governments that lie to their own people through policies that give new meaning to the colonialist policy of divide, conquer and rule.

How much have our universities progressed in the area of cross-cultural understanding? To what extent will our graduates be colour-blind in their work for national development and ultimately, for human liberation? How much do the universities perpetuate ethnocentrism through their hidden curriculum of excluding each other based on race matters? The 22-year policy of the previous administration has reached its ideological shelf-life.

The universities, especially UiTM need to evolve beyond the paradigm of blind nationalism which has never been healthy for this nation. We need the ‘sensor-fused’ technology of eliminating the vestiges of hyper-addictive neo-feudalistic educational pill we have been made to swallow en masse. We need to radically reconstruct the composition of our university leaders to put a stop to this conveyor belt of disabling and paralysing strategy of social reproduction.

Truly diverse administration

Monthly university senate meetings would be more vibrant if we choose to create a culture that will celebrate the diverse perspective that addresses the issue of class, the marginalised, and the criminalisation of the best and the brightest students. We may even discuss how to apply cutting-edge strategies to meet the diverse needs and intelligence of students. We will learn to become less suspicious of our ill-derived and acquired ultra-nationalistic sentiment. Our senate room will be a beautiful forum and may also in decades to come evolve somewhat like the “Conference of the Birds”, as the great Sufi Master Sheikh Fariduddin Attar would call it. In it, we will see the faculty seeking wisdom and truth rather than arguing their biases using politically-correct academic jargon.

We will see a beautiful senatorial culture in all universities. The common goal would be to celebrate humanism, not to dehumanise students and faculty through discriminatory policies. We will gradually free ourselves from the shackles of shallow politicking that has plagued our universities ever since Independence.

All voices will be heard and the voices of social justice and intellectual freedom will be the most celebrated. We can become like America and its insistence on diversity in its universities. Walk into a good American university and you will see a diverse faculty – white, black, Hispanic, Asian and Pacific Islander – all appointed on merit.

We can embrace such multi-culturalism and trumpet to the world how we truly value diversity. This will add more meaning to the idea of a truly world-class Malaysian university. Our university senators will spend more time discussing the philosophical and transcultural foundations of university education, rather than argue tediously over this or that quota and then go home scheming against one another and using their intelligence for less noble purposes.

UiTM will do even better

Let the rakyat insist on the diverse composition of our university leadership. Let us see which Malaysian university will embrace this idea of projecting a ‘world-class’ and ‘world-wise’ university. After all, aren’t we supposed to be a world model in racial harmony? Let us then quickly put an end to racial segregation in our ivory towers.

Let UiTM pave the way to not only prove that change is not only pleasurable, but also inevitable. As an educator who also had the excellent opportunity to be part of UiTM first as a student and part-time faculty albeit briefly in both instances ages ago, I truly believe that Malay students will be all the more enriched with all the races pursuing knowledge not necessarily to compete with one another, but to collaborate in the spirit of diversity and multiculturalism.

For too long UiTM has been dubbed a “universiti untuk Melayu sahaja” (a university for Malays only). It is time to create a new image. From an educational philosophy and psychology point of view, the current image is a misrepresentation. Ultimately it is the students themselves that will continue to be shortchanged. This is a form of oppression and structural violence on the Malay mind; especially when these same bright young minds are also subjected to mind-controlling programs such those created by The Biro Tata Negara and shoved into the brains of the participants. Who benefits from all these?http://azlyrahman-illuminations.blogspot.com/2008/02/155-malay-view-of-ketuanan-melayu.html

To UiTM alumni and faculty of whom are my best of friends and colleagues, do enlighten the students with the fact that to succeed in this globalized world of opportunities, one must embrace positive change and be pragmatic about shifting circumstances. Our job is to suggest the best for the leaders of the future. We cannot settle for anything less for the bright, young minds called Malaysians. We must create a robust multicultural environment to affect positive changes for us and our students.

To UiTM students known to be creative, street-smart, and good problem-solvers, there is a bigger world outside of UiTM that awaits those who are world-wise. If education is a gentle profession that promises progress and prosperity, you will not be victimized in your never-ending journey for knowledge and wisdom. Demand your university to provide you with a multicultural environment in order to have a better and rewarding university experience. Challenge yourself to be highly proficient not only in English but in Bahasa Malaysia and other languages. You do not live in a cocoon. You are not to be blamed for the environment created for you; one created for political reasons that no longer have the appeal nor the educational logic.

Universities the world over are taking pride in how multicultural and global their campuses are, making sure that diversity and affirmative action becomes the culture. In the United States, parents want to send their sons and daughters to colleges that have a truly diverse population. The key word is “global education and international experience”.

Universiti Teknologi MARA will have a brighter future with this new vision of multiculturalism.

Good luck in your Olympics of the mind, body, and spirit. My best wishes goes to the students of UiTM who are missing a major component of their college experience.

To help the Malays, set them free. This is the first ray of light for the dawn of this new era.

———————-
My Facebook supporters page.

1. #1 by Amoeba on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:01 pm

I am the 1st one heheheh…..!

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:10 pm

But if you watched the TV3 bulletin and those demonstrators you know these graduates will face a bleak future as they are full of “ketuanan” shit.

Then there was the UiTm official who boasted of his 120,000 zombies, oops students, parents, alumni and etc who would take on the MB. That guy should be a politician and not in academia.

What a disgrace!

3. #3 by gundam on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:11 pm

4. #4 by year of snake on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:28 pm

The PM said the MB of Selangor has no power to Propose that UiTM be opened to non-bumiputra. I thought that a person has no power to Decide but what is there to stop a person from Proposing. UiTM students have strongly objected to the proposal saying that it is Illogical and Inappropriate. I would like to ask this racist students what is Illogical and Inapprociate to have Multi-Cultural mix of students reflecting the various races in Malaysia. The upkeep of this university is by the government or should we say the tax payers’ money and who pays the bulk of the taxes? Maybe these students are worried that the 10% non-bumiputra students will be the Top Ten in the exams.

Frankly with this type of attitude by these racist students, I would not send my children there as they will be abused, bullied and even molested.

5. #5 by nyghtsky on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:36 pm

Cheers to Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim for proposing UiTM to open up 10% of its intake to other races despite the objections from the Malaysian Muslim Consumers Association (PPIM).

Its good that opposition led states are making an effort to keep their promise to Rakyat Malaysia. No matter if its only 10%, of even if the proposal be rejected…. but at least we know there are some that are willing to stand for equality despite their own popularity!

6. #6 by gundam on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:38 pm

it might nt be a gd news for PR and anwar as majority of voters in PP are malays.

7. #7 by PureMalaysian on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:42 pm

When TAR college was set up, the agreement was to take in a certain number of bumi students – and so MCA agreed and pride themselves for setting up such well-known college.

However when Mara UiTM was set up, it NEVER needed to set a rule to take in a certain number of non-bumi students.

This is the vast difference and gross imbalance u can see in the education system of Malaysia.

All of us pay the same amount of tax, but not all of us get to enjoy everything in this BolehLand. All my foreign friends really cant believe this logic behind it.

8. #8 by qookhoo on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:54 pm

The logic is…

There can be only one… Own_one…

It’s a sad & very sick country…

What would be the remedy? Lots & lots of antibiotic…

This country has no accountability, transparency, honor, integrity…

Go figure…

Cheers..

9. #9 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 3:59 pm

If the 10% thing was made by TDM, Najis or AAB or Krismudin, then the reaction would be different!

10. #10 by Loh on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:01 pm

///Notwithstanding anything in this Constitution, but subject to the provisions of Article 40 and of this Article, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall exercise his functions under this Constitution and federal law in such manner as may be necessary to safeguard the special provision of the Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak and to ensure the reservation for Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak of such proportion as he may deem reasonable of positions in the public service (other than the public service of a State) and of scholarships, exhibitions and other similar educational or training privileges or special facilities given or accorded by the Federal Government and, when any permit or licence for the operation of any trade or business is required by federal law, then, subject to the provisions of that law and this Article, of such permits and licences. /// Article 153 (2)

The key words are “the reservation of SUCH PROPORTION as he (Agong) deems reasonable”. Of course the government of the day acts without necessarily consulting his Majesty what proportion would his Majesty consider reasonable. It is clear that 100% cannot be called a proportion, much less a reasonable one.

11. #11 by ahluck on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:01 pm

pure malaysian! why u pay tax? just pay zakat as tax like bodohwi and enjoy life. this way all malaysians are equal. non muslim say hamba allah…. and pay…. u are safe. hahahahaha

12. #12 by yellowkingdom on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:03 pm

A well-written piece from Azly Rahman. I’m impressed with his erudite and incisive thoughts. It is void of biasness and undertones , yet enlightening and positively encouraging to the young minds at UiTM. It does not disparage the impressionable minds of the undergrauates but logically and impassionately points to a brighter future for all Malaysians.

13. #13 by JeyS on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:04 pm

UiTM students are afraid on taking competition. They are so spoon-fed so why rock their boat. Do not forget that 97% of unemployed graduates are malays.. has anybody asked WHY? Bcos they live a shallow life and are not forward thinking. They will not be able to cope with day-to-day work if they live a sheltered life (as they do in UiTM and some other uni-s).

Actually their education fund comes from where i wonder??? Tax payers whom are multi-racial!!!!!

Duit non-bumi mereka mahu..tapi orang non-bumi mereka tak mahu. Dah lah fed-up with whats happening these days!!!

14. #14 by m.hwang on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:19 pm

Azly Rahman is fast becoming one of the foremost forward thinkers in Malaysia. One step for Azly, a giant step for Bangsa Malaysia.

15. #15 by pkrisnin on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:26 pm

JeyS you said it perfectly.

16. #16 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:34 pm

if the malays in PP thinks that becos of this UiTM issue they are gonna vote for BN then good for them. They can continue to be screwed by BN just to save some face and lose their own future.

Frankly, I wont even wanna admit my kids there even if they gv my kids free scholarship. Such mentality doesnt bode well for their future. Where does UiTM gets its funding from? UMNO?

I suggest Khalid Ibrahim to forget abt this 10%. No one would be interested already la. If UM standard also jatuh like dead flies becos of some ketuanan issues, imagine where will UiTm be in 5 years time.

Save your breathe, whilst we save enough money and send our kids abroad. They can have all 100% and be kings and masters in those Unis which are churning more unemployed graduates by the lorryfull!

17. #17 by wahai kawan on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:41 pm

In my opinion, students should focus on their no:1 priority which is getting an education. I must say here that most companies in Malaysia is still using English as their medium of communcations and also I do agree with Dr: M on the subject, Mengajar Sains dan Mathematic dalam bahasa english.

While I note the good intention of the quotas set for bumis, we must also not forget and analyze all results and consequesnces of setting such quotas. We must study all the negative impact for a healthier Malaysia.

At such, a suggestion of a good reflection whether it is a good program in the interest of a better Malaysians can be reflected by conducting survey results upon graduations and their acceptance in the work force. We should put a accrediation level for such tertiary schools otherwise it may back fire in the future. ie: the survey must stereotype/group graduates on how do they fit into the working place and society. We cannot afford to have schools that produce bad employees that is still lack of certain fundamentals when they apply for jobs

If you recall back on our history, many grand fathers/fathers in any family despite any race posses a higher command in English as they were taught by using the Brittish education system. Many of our current great leaders posses similar English standards versus the younger populations. While noting that we should not derail from who we are or from what race we are, we should not also politicise our education system in any form such as quotas, teachers etc. Education should be free and given to all people despite their back ground.

This part, we as adults or decision makers/law makers owe this to all our future generations for the betterment of all Malaysians. You really do not want t resend a graduate to learn more on computers or english upon their graduation later as it will most definately effect their moral of the day

Education should be viewed and hopefully free for all

18. #18 by wanderer on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 4:58 pm

UiTM 0pening the door to non-malays is long overdued, 10% is considered to small a number, perhaps, 30% is more realistic. Mara is paid for my taxpayers’ money, who is PM to object?
    Intelligent students have been denied by this Umno led govt for far too long, because of their discriminating policy towards non-malays. At least, we are giving a chance for top grade students to better their potentials, than wasting it on brown skinned poor graders of this country.

19. #19 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:11 pm

High time they do that, otherwise how to live up to its name MARA – Majlis Amanah Rakyat. You mean all these while non-Malays were not RAKYAT of Malaysia????

20. #20 by kcb on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:14 pm

Thanks, but no thanks, dear Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim.
    The Malays can keep UiTM all to themselves, if you know what I mean, he he he.

21. #21 by Dr.Ken on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:19 pm

I really admire Azly Rahman for his deep thought, open mind & vision. The student at UITM doesn’t know how to appreciate multiculture socialization , infact it is essential ingredients for Success in this Globalization Economy. I think UITM should allocate 5 % to foreign students so that UITM student have a chance to know & learn different custom & cultures.

Why the M’sian Gov’t send student overseas for higher education?
    Education is not just about academics theory but also learning other social values & making contact. i studied in UK & USA & really valued that kind of training I received. I attended classes with students from more than 100 nations & we live in the same building.

The Malay student at UITM need to be more open mind & learn to interact w/ people from different culture , custom & background as part of their Academics training so that they can compete in this global Economy.

Our Education system need a drastic reform , we need to instil a concept into our student that we need to interact w/ student of other race, all race are equal , we need each other for survival, we need harmony & peace. these kind of training need to start at school & at home.

22. #22 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:29 pm

JeyS Says:

Duit non-bumi mereka mahu..tapi orang non-bumi mereka tak mahu. Dah lah fed-up with whats happening these days!!!

Well said :D
    It is very,very hard to change the mentality of these parasites. And with Umno as a catalyst, the non-bumis will always be regarded as 2nd-class citizens.

23. #23 by haris01 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:33 pm

malay took the merdeka…..so malay gets something special lah….
    why chinese want to get up-set….
    if chinse took the merdeka then….
    u lim kit siang can become the malaysia king lah….

24. #24 by shadow on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:35 pm

I’m paying tax every month but my children were denied places in the local U. I have to send them elsewhere. All political reps were chosen by the rakyat and they are suppose to represent them. Do they? What a shame? Hopefully PR will change all the existing policies and make Malaysia for Malaysians. Only then we excel in the world of modern era.

25. #25 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:42 pm

haris01 Says:

hey budak, go ask your grandfather/father how Malaysia achieved merdeka first lah. Hopefully your seniors are not as dumb as you.

26. #26 by aje on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:48 pm

Now with this episode of ONLY opening up 10% of UiTM places for non-bumi and fereigners it has caused so much noises and protests let me ask you WHO is more tolerent?Sometimes I was wondering whether UiTM is the only university in the world that limit students of a certain race.I am becoming more pessimistic about our education system.We should be more open-minded and liberal.See UTAR,MMU are opened to ALL.

27. #27 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:52 pm

Do remember that UiTM evolved from MIT and ITM, and it wants to preserve its uniracial heritage! A self-preserved uniracial entity is really like the Emperor’s New Clothes – self-shiok and self-denial to convince the race that it is numero uno!

Sensible people should just let it be. Let the racists preserve their bastion over their dead bodies. Don’t think many non-Malays have a desire to be a tiny minority there and face what-have-you hanky panky academic prejudices.

28. #28 by blong on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:56 pm

The students that demonstrated did not reflect the views of all malays. Most educated malays would like their children to study in a multicultural environs, but they cannot afford it financially. So they send them to UITM. So, fellow commentattors, please bear this in mind before you criticise the malays.

29. #29 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 5:57 pm

Now PAS too joined in the race game with Umno. From politics to education to business, it has always been race! At all costs, the race must be upheld and pushed up. Race first, nation second.

30. #30 by pkrisnin on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:12 pm

# wanderer Says:
    Today at 16: 58.02 (54 minutes ago)

UiTM 0pening the door to non-malays is long overdued, 10% is considered to small a number, perhaps, 30% is more realistic. Mara is paid for my taxpayers’ money, who is PM to object?
    ………

LOL he is the PM for all races in Malaysia or so he claims.

# devilmaster Says:
    Today at 17: 42.19 (10 minutes ago)

haris01 Says:

hey budak, go ask your grandfather/father how Malaysia achieved merdeka first lah. Hopefully your seniors are not as dumb as you.

devilmaster you have to forgive haris01 you should know MARA style education and BTN’s brainwashing kind of shrinks the brain.
    Local U are now gear to producing BN robots.

31. #31 by cheng on on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:24 pm

haris01 Says:

Today at 17: 33.28 (42 minutes ago)
    malay took the merdeka…..so malay gets….. go n ask your grandfather or great grandfather??? U know it was the Chinese who paid some of the ship passages of early Malayan politicians to go to London to negotiate with the Brits !
    Fact is all the 3 major races together negotiate with Brits to get Malaya merdeka in 1955 — 1957. British agreed only if all 3 races cooperated, but now U know how they brainwash the young Msian on merdeka….and on the Malayan ppl fight against the Japs (1941 to 1945) !

32. #32 by caishen on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:39 pm

Why cry and fight over a place in UiTM???
    UiTM degree holders are 1000% not recognised in all developed countries..
    There’s no big deal studying there….
    No Standard lah…..just kampong-level only…
    My Form Three level LCE can beat all the degree holders….
    Let them be like that…forever.
    They can’t even dare to face challenges or pain…

If the Chinese were to study there….Habislah.
    Another ‘katak’ in the making….

33. #33 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:46 pm

The demo by the students is a graphic display of the tragedy that has been caused by many years of brain-washing by the BN government about the weakness of the Bumis – now they believe they really cannot compete with others – that is the real tagedy.

The problem is worsened by the UiTM official who even threatened the MB with his thousands of students, parents and alumni.

34. #34 by Adolf_Napoleon on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:56 pm

Dear YB And To All
    I AGREE THAT UiTM should be 100% Bumiputera, based on the following points:

a) Let the students there to continue to enjoy, so to speak “World Class Education” with international recognition and let them continue to feel that they really have the “graduate” standard.

b) If non-bumi would to enter the UiTM, they would be discriminated in various ways from all level and everything. That is really damaging in terms of mentally and psychologically and finally self esteemed.

c) Non-bumi who may graduated from UiTM may not be commercially marketable compared to even private institutions like HELP, Taylor or Sunway esp. Multinationals companies. Is better for Non-Bumi to go for private colleges or singapore. At least the english competency and educational standard are comparable to 1st world country.

d) Is not WISE to challenge this as they see UiTM as part of the “Ketuanan Melayu” symbol and a Special Right enshrined bla, bla, bla. Dont give any reason or excuse for another racial tension again.

ALWAYS REMEMBER : SPECIAL RIGHT EXIST IN MALAYSIA is BECAUSE OF THE EXISTENCE OF CHINESE AND INDIANS. THEREFORE SINCE THE NON-BUMI’s POPULATION IS DROPPING, THEN NATURALLY THE SUPPLY OF SPECIAL RIGHT WOULD NOT MEET THE DEMAND OF SPECIAL RIGHT IN THE LONG RUN.

I respect the MB for Selangor for being far sighted. He just want to let the Bumi in UiTM a little feel of what is the meaning of “competition”, “merit system” and “globalization”. Just a very little mental preparation and a “feel” so to expose the Bumi on these. But again is being political issue.

Because in the very long run, the country’s natural resources will diminish. And is really very less remaining to maintain and support the “Special Right” thingy. Naturally, the only resources for the country is Human Capital Resources. It will come one day :-))

35. #35 by KennyGan on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:56 pm

Malaysia must be the only country in the world where a university is open to only one race thus openly declaring itself as a racist government.

It doesn’t end there. only a token 10% of matriculation places are reserved for non-Malays thus forcing non-Malays to take a longer and harder route to enter public universities.

Non-Malays pay most of the taxes in Malaysia despite comprising only 30% of the population. Yet they are not treated as equal citizens.

Only when Pakatan Rakyat takes over can we expect this racism to end. As long as Umno and their shameless running dogs (MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP) are in power, there will no no change.

36. #36 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 6:57 pm

During my university days in UK, it was a tremendous experience for me to be able to make friends with British, African and China students and understand their culture and the way they do things. We met together to not only discuss class assignments but also things that happened in each other’s country. This part of my time in UK had been very memorable.

I am afraid UiTM students are missing out all these excitements.

37. #37 by k1980 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:09 pm

38. #38 by Old.observer on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:12 pm

caishen,

It’s not about fighting over a place in UiTM. I would be very worried if I send my kid there, as I fear for their safety – 10% is too small a number, whereas 5,000 protestors is already nearly 5%.

To me, it’s about racial integration – UiTM has been around for a very long time since Merdeka. 50 years of racial segregation is long enough isn’t it? I don’t think it does the students there any good to be segregated.

And why is taxpayer’s monies being used inequitably for Bumiputera exclusively? Is this roughly correspond to the concept of equity?

39. #39 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:20 pm

kudos to the Tan Sri khalid, he is a good man with good intentions. ok so PM slams his idea, what does that mean, would he like to initiate the change then, even better at least when he leaves office on sep 16th, one good thing he has done for malaysians!

40. #40 by chiakchua on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 7:31 pm

Congratulation to Azly Rahman for this realistic, factual, brave, honest , far sighted and touching (from a Malay) comments on UiTM taking in non-Bumi student.

Frankly, non-Bumi do not necessarily need UiTM but vice versa!

With non-Bumi in UiTM:
    1. it will promote racial integration.
    2. it discourages ‘racial’ and ‘religion’ extremism compare to if the campus is 100% Bumiputra.
    3. it encourages academical competition with non-malays which would indirectly improve the Bumiputra’s standdard.
    4. Graduates of UiTM could walk taller compare to if it is only ‘for Melayu’ only.
    5. Enhance the status of UiTM internationally rather than oh, this is an university for the Malay only.

41. #41 by hellokitty on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:05 pm

twe non bumi will not bother to go the racist university…

42. #42 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:31 pm

If we see the demonstrations being staged in TV over this issue, it is the Malay leaders who are guilty of committing their own people to perpetual mental slavery and feudalism. I think the issue is not really the non Malays are hard up of the 10% of the admission to UiTM. There are now sufficient tertiary education opportunities for all Malaysians both within the country and abroad to be quarrelling over these few universities places.

The issue really is the tussle between enlightenment and darkness; between inclusiveness and exclusiveness; between parochialism and cosmopolitanism; and between third world tribal mentality and a self assured and confident Malay race.

43. #43 by wanderer on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:35 pm

haris01;

Maybe, you should know more about, how we got Merdeka. You must be reading the malay twisted history book, the Birth of Malaysia.

44. #44 by aha on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:46 pm

Dear all,

I’m a muslim. Just wondering, why the chinese in malaysia allow bumiputera to enroll into the chinese schools but malays are so afraid of chinese friends to enroll into Uitm??? Islam is against racism. Islam encourage healthy competition for the benifit of the people and rakyat as a whole.

45. #45 by bongkk on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 8:52 pm

Even if you reserve 10% for the non-bumi, I doubt if any non-bumis would want to enrol. It will have the same fate as the national type primary schools. It is laughable because it was MB khalid that made the suggestion, not the non bumis. Common lah. This racist are barking up the wrong tree. Unbelievable over-reaction. I learnt that there is a U in the east coast reserves 10% of its places to foreign students. It is distressful that this U threat foreigners as being more bumi than Msian non-bumi. To add salt to the wound, I am contributing to this U as tax-payer, thus I am subsidising this foreigner students.

46. #46 by vyti on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:19 pm

I salute the MB of Selangor for his far sightedness. However we have a maronic PM who has no b### #and keeps on playing the racial card. To quote ‘I am a Prime Minister for all Malaysians’ he said but that was lip service. Now that he may not be PM for too long he plays the racial card to consolidate power. You are a disgrace to Malaysia. Where are his running dogs MCA, MIC,PPP Gerakan and other parties from Sabah. Are you hiding under the UMNO sarung?????

47. #47 by haris01 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:39 pm

devilmaster…
    mind u words…..
    look at u nick first kid….
    your stupid 2 old man haven teach u some moral…punk

48. #48 by AA234567 on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:39 pm

Isu UiTM,

Penjelasan Tan Sri Khalid perlu diteliti dengan sejujurnya dan kita haruslah siap untuk menerima hakikat mutu institusi pendidikan kita yang jauh ketinggalan berbanding universiti di negara jiran. Ternyata keprihatinan beliau adalah untuk melihat mutu pendidikan negara dapat ditingkatkan terutamanya institusi yang diamanahkan untuk mendidik serta melatih bumiputra. Saya telahpun membaca kenyataan beliau dan berbincang dengannya, nyata sekali hasrat beliau tidak lain hanya untuk memberikan pendedahan seluasnya kepada mahasiswa UiTM. Dan ini termasuklah kemungkinan untuk menerima pelajar asing dan bukan bumiputra dalam beberapa bidang tertentu terutamanya yang melibatkan isu global dan peluang untuk bersaing di luar negara. Malangnya media UMNO memutarbelitkan kenyataan tersebut. Umum mengetahui Tan Sri Khalid merupakan tokoh besar yang mengangkat Permodalan Nasional Berhad sebagai gergasi korporat antarabangsa dan agak janggal dan lucu bila perasuah besar bumiputra serta konco-konco mereka mendabik dada berbangga kononnya merekalah pejuang Melayu tulen! Saya berharap rakyat Malaysia turut mengkaji implikasi cadangan beliau secara matang dan tidak terperangkap dengan muslihat kalangan tertentu.

Isu Forum Majlis Peguam

Saya menyinggung isu ini beberapa hari sabelum majlis berlansung. Pendirian saya konsisten iaitu menghormati hak sesiapa saja untuk mengulas serta memberi pandangan terhadap sebarang isu. Namun memandangkan sensiviti mauduk, serta persepsi sebahagian umat Islam seolah-olah terdapat rencana menghina Islam, maka saya cenderung agar isu tersebut dibincang secara tertutup. Saya menyambut baik pendirian Tuan Guru Ustaz Hadi, Presiden Pas tatkala mengulas isu tersebut. Malah Majlis Profesional Muslim berjaya merumuskan keadaan dengan mantap melalui kenyataan mereka. Kepimpinan parti pastinya berhasrat untuk mendengar penjelasan dari YB Zulkifli terlebih dahulu yang kemudiannya disusuli dengan perbincangan empat mata dengan saya.

ANWAR IBRAHIM

49. #49 by KennyGan on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:49 pm

Sadly, Umno is stoking racism and religious tension to shore up its flagging support among the Malays. However, the same acts are alienating non-Malays. Where do we go from here? Umno’s politics are becoming uglier and its running dog partners are losing their dignity (if they haven’t already lost theirs already) to stay in the coalition.

50. #50 by pkrisnin on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:51 pm

media UMNO … you should have watched TV3 8pm news tonight.
    It wasn’t news but a propaganda telecast for hitting Tan Sri Khalid. They even used PART of Dr.M response to strengthen their position “they are not ready” when what Dr.M said “It is a good idea but they are not ready”

51. #51 by malayguy on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 9:51 pm

I do agree with my “saudara” (Azly) which I assume is also same races like me. However, the fact is UITM was established to help Bumi’s who actually most of them can’t afford a high fees of higher educational in our country( Most of them still can’t afford). So my suggestion, the 10% kuota can be open to Non-Bumi who actually comes from low-income family, and hopefully from kampung or any pekan-pekan in Malaysia. As you know, UiTM is the world’s most lowest fees of higher educational ( Degree a semester fee’s only cost around RM500++, corect me if im wrong.. that was when 2001 :-) …hheheh..). So what actually that makes me happier if I can see many Non Bumi from lower income family.. maybe from my birth kampung at kelantan or at estate housing which I think many Indians still live there… or even a Chinese boy who’s father still operate Kedai Motor Ah Weng which I always go to repair my honda 100cc can afford to have a higher education and affordable like many other his/her chinese or indian friends from big cities. If I were the ruler of government(mimpilah..), I would probably allocate that 10% to Non-Bumi who are really can’t afford higher education fees in Malaysia which I believe many Non Bumi yang miskin memang ada cita2 nak sambung belajar tapi ada masalah kewangan, so they have to forget them and save their money to their child. You know what, when we talk about education, I think they musn’t be any political agenda or racism base.
    I always believe only education can sets us free. We don’t want another Lim Goh Tong who didn’t have a high education but is a successful billionaire. Lim Goh Tong should have the opportunities to further his study at his young age and I wish he would be happy and thankful if it’s happen.Well, I dunno much. Maybe my opinion is not right. I always dream that our country can be like Germany – free education for everyone in public university. So, every races can further study no matter you come from poor family and everyone will has the same equal opportunities by using their education to make their life better. So nobody will ever marah2 or tak puas hati minyak naik barang naik because semua orang ada pelajaran tinggi and can find other job overseas sebab gaji kat sini rendah banget..or with our higher education we all can create new job and new market just like orang puteh do… more intellectual property of product to be market globally instead just rely on our own natural resources…. I believe so much that many orang miskin Non bumi who would be thankful if their children can afford higher education… Man, nothings can beat a smile of a parent who see their children at konvokason holding a skroll.. to know that we have actually gave them a first step of hope in their life… :-)

ps:// No, I’m not a Malay who actually will put my race behind.I’m still proud of my races and we should proud of any of our races too whether you’re chinese or indian.It’s the proud of what you are that makes people respect you. But just like Quran teach me, for every problem, they are always a solution. It’s up to us whether we to solve it or not.

52. #52 by badak on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:00 pm

Its simple logic.UMNO led BN Government had lost the support of 40 percent of the Malays. 70 percent of the chiness.90 percent of the Indians .No matter what UMNO or BN do,they can never get back the support of the Chiness and Indians.
    Now UMNO is only banking on the full support of the MALAYS.To get this Malay support UMNO will do anything,All this relates to the PERMATANG PAUH BY-election.Now a days in all GOVERNMENT MEDIA.They are saying if “” DSAI wins the BY -election the MALAYS WILL LOSE ITS KETUANAN MELAYU and its MALAY RIGHTS.
    Even in todays news they accuse LIM KIT SIANG for KHALID,s Statement.If what i heard is right .Even PAS is now fighting with UMNO for KETUANAN MELAYU.

53. #53 by For Malaysia on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:05 pm

I am a Malay. I graduated from ITM. I say YES to the proposal by the MB. Go on open the varsity. Let there be some competition. Why the hu ha? Isn’t MRSM also now admits non-Malays? Who decided about that? Anyway, why fear the non-Malays so much? Who is this Patrick something? And Eric Chia or Ananda Krishnan? Whose friends are they? I don’t remember they are Malays!

54. #54 by choonchoy on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:08 pm

I had a shot chat at a kopitiam with a stranger about the opening up of MARA to all Malaysian. This is what he said, “Only 10% and they want to protest. So what if they allow non-Malays. like I want to send my children there. The standard of education provided is a joke. Just look at all the unemployed grads”.

55. #55 by izrafeil on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:15 pm

how much Malay pays income tax
    how much Chinese/Indian/Kadazan dsb contribute
    so how much % MARA financed by non-Malay?

interesting…..

56. #56 by Old.observer on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:34 pm

UiTM Vice Chancelor Ibrahim Abu Shah claimed … “MAJORITY of students in leading fields of study in higher learning institutions in Malaysia were non-Malays”, to justify UiTM to remain 100% Bumi. – http://us2.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/11335/84/

I personally don’t trust UiTM VC because he did not provide any statistics to back up his claim.

Even though I don’t trust UiTM VC personally, I think we cannot also ignore his claim.

Does anyone has statistics that can show whether the UiTM VC is lying through his teeth, or is telling the truth?

57. #57 by Old.observer on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:39 pm

Another reason why I don’t trust the UiTM VC’s claim is because his phrase “LEADING FIELDS” is very, very vague.

A further reason for not trusting is because quite likely, due to the quota to limit non-bumi to minority % such as 30% or less, it is statistically unlikely that the non-bumi would form a majority %, even though this is in theory possible also. But just law of averages tilt the non-bumi to still be a minority in “leading fields” – however these are defined.

In short, without concrete statistics to back up his claim, the UiTM VC’s claim is shallow.

These statistics should be readily available.

Anyone?

58. #58 by kopi kau kau on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:42 pm

Yb,

Tan Sri Khalid is just like man in the street character… still immature and incompetent as a politican… What a wishful thinking… too childish and is now one up for BN …. They would be using this topic to kill Anwar for the Permatang Pauh by election….

If at all you want to do anything good for the Chinese or Indian or other ethic people…. Wait till you are the GOVERNMENT and meanwhile he better keep his mouth shut up and do his work for Selangor and don’t try to be smart…… ( Don’t be branded as the Botak Hamid of PKR)

59. #59 by walao on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:50 pm

Seriously, I don care the 10% or 30% intake of non bumi in UITM. I will not send my children there . Why? Because I don want my children to think and act like them. Living in the “cocoon”, no pressure, no competitive environment. I know the importance of “Ketuanan Melayu” but this ideology has gone all wrong. The malay has been too pampered to live in this challenging world. They will not survive in the open system and I worry for their children even I am chinese. ”

I always teach my children to adapt to the changing environment. I even told my children every religions is good no matter they are Buddhism, Christian, Islam. As long as their teaching is good, my children should respect and adapt their good teaching . I told them so as our world is getting smaller due to globalisation through modern technology and you will be surprised we have to work with American /chinese muslim or Jews in the future.

Malay reactions on this issue has shown how pampared the malays has becomes. Those who make noise are obviously spoilt brats in our “family”. How to put this…..just imagine if one of your son always pestering you to pass all your hard earned money to him , claiming his right even you are not yet dead, I believe you will put all your money in good hand instead of giving all to him. Why? We all know this son will be lazy, greedy and will be wasting your hard earned money like spraying water. Malaysia is not yet dead. This protesters are just like malaysia’s spoilt children who only worry what is his while the father ( Malaysia ) is still much alive. Malaysia will not let go of this spoilt children like I will not abondon my spoilt son. Instead I will make him work hard and if he does not do so as I said, he can kiss my money goodbye.

So malaysia government, go ahead and spoill your kids and you are to be blamed if they becomes lazy, greedy, useless with low surviving skills

To all protesters of this issue, “kETUANAN MELAYU” is something you earn hard through hard work, you cannot just ask for it. Even you get it free, you will lose it like a spoilt kids.

60. #60 by just a moment on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:52 pm

Sorry folks, This is the latest
    “No need to open it up to other races, the Malaysian Muslim Consumers Association (PPIM) said.”

PPIM said the move would be seen as challenging the special rights of the Malays

Director Noor Niwandy Mat Noordin said the government and its leaders had to be tougher in defending such issues because although the country was multiracial, there was “no need to sideline Malay special rights.”
    will crumble and be ‘Malaysia-nised’.

This is a classic example how leaders set example for others to follow. 10% for non-bumi’s is equavelent to sidelining the Malays.
    They make it clear its gonna be Malay-ised, not the country.

Its the same old story… The Malays to Non-Malays: What’s yours is mine and What mine is Mine. So so typical.

Someone just asked: Wonder how much this ‘thing’ is funded by Non-Malays?

61. #61 by Bernice Tang on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 10:55 pm

hei Azly – why didn’t you masuk gelangang last election? we need quality ppl in parliment lah..!

62. #62 by RKP on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:11 pm

These people are ‘blessed with scales’ in their eyes that they cannot ever see the truth.

They can only believe in a lie that will keep them ‘chained’ from any changes that may come through a sober and relevant Malay leader like Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim.

Thy cannot visualize the benefits they may reap out of this plan.
    Um-NO wants to keep the malays in ‘bondage’ that way so that support for hem will not slip away. The support is nearly zero, they should know.

63. #63 by Malaysian Mummy on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:13 pm

Dear Readers,

My nephew was a Malay smart student graduated with double degrees in Accounting, Finance and Information Technology in UiTM 2004. He regretted for wasting his few years in pursuing his studies in MARA College and then to University Technology Mara. His reasons are simple to tell his true stories that Mara students are less competitive in their quality merits in learning, poor comand in English communications and less exposure to various competitions from other non-Malay or foreign students. He was jobless for almost 18 months before he found a sale career but unable to find a lucrative permanent corporate career due to his poor English communication and less demand for UiTM graduates from MNCs or corporate sectors.

My younger brother decided to quit UiTM after studying for six months under full scholarship. He prefers to study at a new University Tuanku Abdul Rahman (UNITAR) and paying full fees. He noted that he cannot continued his accounting and finance degree in UiTM because he felt that he cannot acquired the superior knowledges and the competitiveness among his fellow Malay students. Furthermore, his decision to switch to UNITAR because he needs more interaction and exchange knowledge with multiracial & foreign students and he is able to compete with them. True enough, he scored a very good 1st Class Honour Degree in Accounting and Finance this year 2008. He also secured a good career as an Assistant Accountant in an oil and gas international company while waiting for his graduation. He tried to assist his nephew in getting a good career in the same company but was rejected and never call for an interview. He got to know from the Group Human Resources that too many MARA graduates in town but less quality, exposure, poor english and non competitive are the reasons.

UiTM Vice Chancelor Ibrahim Abu Shah claimed … “MAJORITY of students in leading fields of study in higher learning institutions in Malaysia were non-Malays”, to justify UiTM to remain 100% Bumi.

We, Malay graduates disagreed with VC Ibrahim for his unwise comment because “MAJORITY” does not determine the “QUALITY” of Malay grads today.

64. #64 by badak on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:24 pm

With out KETUANAN MELAYU..Where do UMNO stand no where.That is why UMNO is all about KETUANAN MELAYU.MIC MCA PPP GERAKAN what is your stand.
    Not all MALAYS are into this KETUANAN thing.Only UMNO MALAYS are shouting about this.UMNO is brave in shouting KETUANAN MELAYU because in the open MIC MCA PPP and GERAKAN are behind UMNO on this issues.

65. #65 by simply on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:27 pm

Frankly, if today UiTM is opened to other races, I don’t think many non-Malays may even want to join the university. I must say those in UiTM are really “ketinggalan zaman” (left behind) people. It is not that they don’t want us. We may not even want to join them – extracted from this url which I fully agree with the writer.

http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/2008/08/uitm-admission.html

66. #66 by BNseedell on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:50 pm

Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim is the type of leader we want in this Bolehland. This is a man with great wisdom and he is also very far-sighted. This is a man the non-Malays and the educated and open-minded Bumiputras would like to keep as the Menteri Besar of Selangor. He is even fit to be a Minister of Education.

If the Bumiputras are afraid of competition and do not wish to go global in the feild of education or even in other fields, we should leave them alone and forget about begging for the 10% quota.

As a non-Bumiputra (born in this Bolehland’s government-run hospital) I don’t think I could excel in UiTM even if given the chance to enrol as a student. I don’t think UiTM can meet my expectation and I don’t think I could get a high-paying job after graduation from this internationally unknow institution. Keep 100% quota to Bumiputras if the authorities want it that way.

Anyway, I want to salute Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim for taking efforts in proposing this wise idea. You are a man of wisdom and you are the man all educated and civiliased Malaysians are looking up to. You may count me out as I am not interested to enrol in UiTM as I deem this institution’s standards are just average — noting great about their achievements in education as it is too regional and protective. Worst of all, with very narrow thinking. So how to compete globally after graduation??

Long live Tan Sri Ibrahim Khalid. Stand firm in your pursue for a fair and just society.

67. #67 by Pak Long on Wednesday, 13 August 2008 - 11:54 pm

What a good proposal from MB Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim!!! Anyway it’s just a proposal..Why all of us has to make it a big issues. It’s sad to know that Uitm students has such a narrow mindset, everyone are now talking about globalisation but they still live behind the wall.. so sad.. How to achieve vision 2020?

But unfortunately, there are people still don’t understand the meaning of “Rakyat Malaysia”. Kita semua orang Malaysia lah… We should spend more times and efforts to solve the food, oil price and other issues.. not this please..

68. #68 by rookie on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:12 am

Malays are complacent and they could not even strived to secure a mid management level post in a MNC BUT they keep complaining about it!

“Ketuanan Melayu”….try it in a real world! My Malay friends!

69. #69 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:20 am

Why are the Malays so worried about competing with just 10 % for the non bumi intake? After all,our population is dwindling making up less than 25% of the total population.Why are you so helpless even after 51 years of tongkat? But your people with tons of datuks and tan sris are everywhere and many of you are quite rich driving BMW and Mercedes.We just do not understand why until now you still want protection.Look out of this small country and go global.You will never go far if you remain under the ‘coconut shell’.Meanwhile there are also many poor Chinese and Indians around although they have lived here for many generations.They do not have any protection given by UMNO and yet they can survive although quite miserably.Please open your mind and learn to accomodate.If you still persist in your narrow racist policy,the country will have a bleak future.Wake up.

70. #70 by StevePCH on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:27 am

when I look at the protesters, I just cannot figure how stupid they are.
    This is the only chance Mara can be better. The quality of MARA graduates are very questionable. I have a few working for me and found the quality to be … well below … salary always lesser than university and most colleges.
    Complacency leads to sloth and that when you get low quality grads.
    To be frank, I would rather send my children to other colleges. I doubt any non Malays Malaysia would enrol to Mara.
    These misguided Malays don’t really need to protest because non Malays are not interested with MARA.
    I really think Datuk Khalid is really smart and envisioned competitiveness as key to better quality. unlike the so call defenders of Malay rights.

71. #71 by passerby on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:38 am

I think it is a very good idea. This will level the playing field and all non-bumi will be trained to be like all bumis – not to study too hard, not to work too hard and waste time playing 5 times a day. Then we will achieve a harmonious society before China!

72. #72 by lhslhv on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:48 am

I think a lot of people can still remember the slogan put up by MARA university: “We are the best”. Just think of this mentality.

For one I would not want to send my child to study there even with full scholarship.

73. #73 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:31 am

I really doubt AAB will repeat his routine crap about being the PM for all races come this Merdeka Day.If he does then he is a hypocrite because that is mere lip service.These three recent shocking news have proven beyond doubt his hypocrisy.The three hot new are: 1)Allowing racist and religious bigots cum hooligans to storm and hurl unwarranted racist remarks against participants of a forum organized by the Bar Council.
    2)Condemning the Selangor MB for his proposal to open UiTM to non bumis.(only 10%)
    3)Promoting a teacher to a better school for uttering racial and derogatory slurs to her students.

74. #74 by m.hwang on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:32 am

haris01 Says:

Yesterday at 21: 39.02
    ‘devilmaster…
    mind u words…..
    look at u nick first kid….
    your stupid 2 old man haven teach u some moral…punk’

Is the standard of UiTM graduates this bad? Why bother sending anyone there?

75. #75 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:36 am

No wonder our graduates are not marketable.Just look at the horrible English just above.

76. #76 by mohammadharrisjalil on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:02 am

I was an ex UiTM student…. and I am 100% sure that 70% of the student that went to the demonstration had BEING FORCED BY THE MANAGEMENT OR BY THEIR HOSTEL WARDEN…. when i was in UiTM Shah Alam for 3 years i had been forced to attend such useless activities such as this kind of demonstration, umno assembly, ceramah umno (when election season) and other…

i still remember when we had been threaten by our hostel warden that we could loose our hostel facilities for next semester if we do not attend Program Ceramah Umno With Dr M.

I dont have any problem having our non bumi friend in UiTM… but for those who are freaking scared with this 10% non bumi entering the Uitm… It’s A Very Big Shame…

Somehow i really dont understand why this vise chansellor are soooo damn racist… TRUST ME GUYS… UMNO INFLUENCE ARE SOOOOO STRONG IN UITM ESPECIALLY THOSE PIHAK ATASAN… AND UiTM Vice cansellor was also UMNO People and widely known by us as one of the biggest Kaki Kipas Perdana Menteri…

They said that University should not mix with politic but in Uitm, anything that is under UMNO are Halal… when KJ came to UiTM to bribe RM200.00 to all the Kelantanese student so that they will vote for BN on last GE are halal (althought most of them voted for PAS)

Any lecturer that looks like PAS supporter had been kicked out from Uitm and Islamic subject and Islamic Co Curricullum had been changed to be more ‘UMNO Hadhari’ Islami style. Tabligh group are being banned and labelled as threats to the UiTM.

So Many things that i wanna say..but as the conclussion…

i support Dato Khalid Proposal… and i am sure many will support them… !!

77. #77 by mohammadharrisjalil on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:11 am

haris01 Says:

Yesterday at 17: 33.28

Hey Mr Haris01….KAMU MEMANG MEMALUKAN ORANG LAH! CAKAP TAK BACA BUKU KE ADIK??

78. #78 by roger lim on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:16 am

DSAI, RPK, Tan Sri Khalid, Azly Rahman, Mohammadharrisjalil and a few others.

Before we ‘bash’ the malays for their mentality, think of these people. There is still hope for malays. But how I wish there are more of them.

79. #79 by Kathy on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 7:04 am

If they want to keep UiTM for Malays only. Let them be. No point in arguing over this small issue. Wants to keep on being “ketinggalan zaman”let them be lah. Is there any way that tax payers (non-Malays) are trully able to avoid supporting UiTM since UMNO is rich enough to support them themselves.

80. #80 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 7:04 am

“To help the Malays, set them free. This is the first ray of light for the dawn of this new era.” Azly Rahman

Help the Malays free themselves from bondage.

81. #81 by Kathy on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 7:04 am

Oh!!!! I forgot that UMNO’s coffers come from non-Malay citizens as well… What a bummer!!!

82. #82 by NoktahHitam on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 7:54 am

Deary non-bumi friends,

I came from a 100% Malay secondary boarding school and was the only Malay student in my Engineering department (local private uni). Having known both world, I have to admit, Malays have yet to be awaken from their slumber.

Please, please PLEASE do not generalized us Malays with the likes of UiTM. You have to know UiTM is ‘owned’ by UMNO. Don’t blame the rest of the Malays for this. I’m ashamed of this matter. However, I have to accept, this is my RACE doing such pitiful acts.

While Khalid puts his neck on the line, you people bashed him by declining the 10% he proposed. Imagine how could he sleep that way? Malay don’t want non-bumi, non-bumi dont want Malay. Either way, he’s in a gridlock position. Spare some pity-lah for the old man. He’s a nice guy, trying to open up UiTM to globalization like he did for PNB.

Be a kind citizen, don’t unjust his actions. What if he quits because he cant stand being … both sides? Umno will take over again, and here we go again, fighting for the same thing, except your kids are running the show. Dont you want your kids to have a great life without having to fight over puny stuff?

If I was the PM, I would open up local uni for those who couldn’t afford higher education. This way, people (irregardless race) from pekan, kawasan pencil, small towns could fortify their existence. Rich people can get loan and study at private uni.

My dearest chinese & indian friends, again, please do not think all Malays are alike. I care about your generations as much as I care about mine. And I’m dead sure many Malays would support me on this.

Azly Rahman wrote a wonderful piece. It’s like listening a piece by Pachebel. Hands down to you Azly.

ps: At times like these, I miss Adlan Benan. May his soul rest in peace. Amin.

83. #83 by StevePCH on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:00 am

If you lived in a cave forever, the roof is the sky. Being ignorant and over protective is good for nothing.
    The legacy of DEB is so strong that it hinders growth and competitiveness. Proton , Perwaja , Felda to name a few failed projects.
    UiTM does not have anything to boast other than having 100% clean record of Malay students.

Whilst Felda may have acheived part of it’s economic target, the social failure is very obvious.
    It’s truly a ” fail to plan then u plan to fail “

84. #84 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:05 am

You don’t know the truth, you won’t know what you have to do. Period.

85. #85 by Kathy on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:17 am

They are forever in denial. Can’t help those that don’t want to help themselves.

86. #86 by pkrisnin on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:38 am

LOL just did a video search of on goggle for UiTM, study hard guys.
    You’ll find some interesting videos.

87. #87 by taiking on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 8:43 am

First the americans, then the russians now the chinese. They spend a lot in some dubious space programmes. Worse, the stupid americans want to know whether there is life in planet mars. What fo? Of course, there is none. So what if there is?

Based on the same logic, why on earth the government bother to send malay scholars overseas – assuming that they are the proper scholars by singapore standard. Its a pure waste of good money. They dont learn anything extra outside there. We can have all the best facilities that money can buy here. So keep them in the country.

Foreign experience? Nonsense. We dont need any foreign experience or knowledge. Ours is good enough. In fact ours is the best in the world. Look, the multi-media supercorridor is our gift to the world. We are that good and we can afford to be that generous.

Bill Gates is no big deal. Its an open secret. We have Kassim and Zad and the whole train load of Bill Gates equivalent here in Malaysia. Its bang and Microsoft would be swallowed whole. I am speaking the truth. I mean look at our immigration policies. Malaysia is a land or wonder of talents of super achievers. We have enough of them. In fact too many that we are running short of labourers and cleaners.

Azly left the country because he is not good enough you know just like the tens of thousands of chinese in malaysia. They cannot compete with the likes of Zad and Kassim. Hei, Zad and Kassim are not even anywhere near the top malay guys we have here. Wow, imagine if those top guns were to cybertroop this blog. Limkamput, Godfather, Jeffrey, Undergrad2, Kathy, k1980 all and the rest will be reduced to tears rightaway so much so that you people cannot even find the courage to type even one alphabet on the screen.

Of course UiTM must be keep closed to malays only. I support it completely. Its a damned good idea.

88. #88 by just a moment on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:04 am

Ppl, pls read above “mohammadharrisjalil Says:
    Today at 02: 02.53 (6 hours ago)”.
    First hand info what UiTM is all about. Congrats and thanks to ‘mohammadharrisjalil ‘your unselfish input. God bless you with many more blessings.

89. #89 by limkamput on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:08 am

First the americans, then the russians now the chinese. They spend a lot in some dubious space programmes. Worse, the stupid americans want to know whether there is life in planet mars. What fo? Of course, there is none. So what if there is?

Please don’t degrade this blog by posting nonsensical views. How can you be so sweeping in your criticism of space programme. What do you know really? According to your mentality, the European would not have discovered America. What for, it is a big ocean out there, there got land some more!

90. #90 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:13 am

These UiTM students can’t think – why is something good for UM. UKM, USM and all the best universities in the world, NOT good for me?

91. #91 by limkamput on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:26 am

I posted this earlier in another thread before Azly Rahman’s.

limkamput Says:
    August 12th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 21: 15.04

It is just so funny.

Selangor MB Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim suggested UiTM opens 10 percent of its admission to non Malays. The Prime Minister, in response, said that Khalid has no power to do so. On top of that UiTM students (thousands of them) gathered at Khalid’s office demanding him to rescind the suggestion.

The argument of the students was UiTM has this “special tradition” – a tradition that the university is solely Malays from its inception. See how archaic some of the people in this country have become. It is like USA trying to keep its all white schools or universities in the 1960s. So, we are in a way half a century behind in mental development.

It is so funny I must say. I thought with non Malay students, UiTM could become more competitive to face the world. I just wonder why some Malays dislike other races so much. Are they not bored mixing with their own people? Is it part of their psyche or is it because they are indoctrinated from young.

Frankly, if today UiTM is opened to other races, I don’t think many non-Malays may even want to join the university. I must say those in UiTM are really “ketinggalan zaman” (left behind) people. It is not that they don’t want us. We may not even want to join them.

I think there are good reasons for Tan Sri Khalid to make such a suggestion. I think he could see the hollow and stupidity of single race institutions. He could see that unless the Malays change and adapt quickly, nothing in this country could work. The non-Malays population is getting smaller proportionately and many are migrating. If we want a dynamic and vibrant Malaysia, the Malays must be efficient and dynamic.

92. #92 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:33 am

It should be 30% if they want to talk about fairness in everything.
    Listed public companies must allot 30% share holding to them.
    Selected private sectors must employment consists of 30% of Bumi quota.
    What The Make Chinese Angry (MCA) and Make Indian Cry (MIC) have to say? What have been done for these 51 years?

93. #93 by PSM on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:40 am

Another well written logical article by Azly. HOWEVER, we are talking about Malaysia here, about UMNO, about Ketuanan Melayu, about Racism, about Bigotry (sounds very similar to Nazisim & Apartheid right?).
    Azly forgets he is in the US! If he were in KL, he’d have a few thousand UiTM undergraduates at his door step shouting murder!
    They want to keep the purity of their Race lah (really sound like Naziism & Apartheid)! You can’t have us dirty INdian & Chinese “Pendatang” taking away their “Rights” can you?

94. #94 by Evenmind on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:43 am

As racism is the prerequisite for anything and everything here, and its has been proven again and again by the parasitic party and its ardent followers, what do expect for the future ?? Very bleak indeed becos the brain drain is expect to continue and we will still not be lack of these so called professional morons with like of our AG , who appeared at Haque for Pulau Batu Puteh and lost the case, why not at the Olympics , they should send only the Malays to compete, and then the stupidity of this nation can be showcased at international level.

95. #95 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 10:53 am

/// This will be in tune with the spirit of the The Beijing 2008 Olympics in which there will be competition amongst the races. ///

Hi Dr Azly,

You have got the Olympics backwards. It should be “there will be races amongst the competition”.

Likewise, the Selangor MB also got it backwards. By opening up MARA to other races, the non-Malays will be doing the university a huge huge favour, and not the other way round. MARA needs non-Malays much more than non-Malays need MARA. As things stand, non-Malays will not touch MARA with a ten-foot pole. Talk about making virtue out of necessity.

:(

96. #96 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 11:46 am

I still remember the good old times when my father was sharing the same coffee table with friends of all other races, talking to each other as friend should be, asking them about their families and few borrowed money from my father and didnt pay back after that. Every thing was so simple and there’s no hard feeling even when people of different races calling the others “kui” or hantu after the name of the other race, as there’s relationship between them i.e. when there’s relationship, we can talk to each other in anything and wont feel offended so easily, the problem arises when there’s no relationship between each other especially with different races and religions and thinking that they must be having ulterior motives when saying something which is actually meant for the good of the other, but due to no relationship, they cant talk and listen to each other!!! Institution like UiTM and others which dont promote interactions between races are no good for our country!!! Why spent so much money in NS when this can be carried out in the Universities etc. ???
    Compare before and now, all races are going to different directions without any relationship except in working places where relationship with each other is very shallow!!!
    BN-UMNO is not doing anything to help to resolve the race relationship problem, but on the other hand, they are doing all they can to destroy the opportunity to promote better relationship between races!!! A very good example is UiTM where only a single race and few other bumis are allowed, another good eg is public services where only a single race dominates all!!!

97. #97 by 7even Sins on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:00 pm

The Glorious days of Muhibbah Spirit has gone or almost when every time and everything is about Ketuanan…Ketuanan…Ketuanan..!!! If UMNO really wanted to be “Tuan” of all, behave like one rather than have all these inferiority complex. But I can tell you these “Tuan” are hollow and that’s why they have to remind everybody again and again. Does the Queen of England have to remind the whole world that she is the Queen? Only those with low self confidence does that…!!! Hope they get “Taun” and purge uncontrollably soon…!!!

98. #98 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:08 pm

“To help the Malays, set them free. This is the first ray of light for the dawn of this new era.”- Azly Rahman

————————

Only the true God is able to set them free!!! Let’s all pray to God to set all the Malays free from all the bondages and curses!!! We should also pray to God to set all the other races free from all the bondages and curses!!! Amen!!!

99. #99 by cheng on on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:14 pm

It is only a suggestion, why those UITM student have to demonstrate?? AAB had to sid Selngor MB had no power?? etc.surely everybodey know MB had no power, but he sure had a right to make a suggestion, what is wrong with that??
    BN create an issue out of nothing??

100. #100 by taiking on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:21 pm

Lets play a little game.
    The game we used to play as a child.
    The game of mixing colours.
    Lets us get started.
    Red is a nice colour.
    Dont we all agree.
    Now, mix some white to it.
    What do we get?
    Pink!
    That right.
    Isnt that interesting?
    We got three colours from two.
    Actually more depending on the concertration of red and white used.
    Its magical.

101. #101 by JeyS on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:25 pm

mohammadharrisjalil Says:

Today at 02: 02.53 (10 hours ago
    They said that University should not mix with politic but in Uitm, anything that is under UMNO are Halal… when KJ came to UiTM to bribe RM200.00 to all the Kelantanese student so that they will vote for BN on last GE are halal (althought most of them voted for PAS)

hahahaha….so whatelse is NEW?? So ACA…please check this claim la!!

The SIL and his dirty deeds..

102. #102 by Dominique on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:25 pm

“malay took the merdeka…..so malay gets something special lah….
    why chinese want to get up-set….
    if chinse took the merdeka then….
    u lim kit siang can become the malaysia king lah….”

Haris01 what the hell are you talking about? Do you even know Malaysian history?

103. #103 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:27 pm

I have seen another non-sensible proposal coming from a Malay, with the aim nothing more than aiming at buying more votes from the non-Malays, knowing that they would not have enough votes from Malays in the coming by-election. This proposal is very obvious a politically motivated proposal which only appears just before the by-election is about to be held. I would say this would help to buy some votes from non-Malay but the MB of Selangor who made this proposal has violated the founding policies stipulated in the Constitutions of Malaysia. This proposal has seriously challenge the concept of “Ketuanan Melayu” which is the founding stones of the country. Including Azly who wrote the blog and concurred to such suggestion, could be detained under the ISA for making such racial sensitive proposal. As a matter of fact, there are enough universities in the country for Non-bumi and more government universities are also starting to open up (even though we are strongly against it). Being a prestigious university, Universiti Teknologi MARA should continue to remain 100% Bumi to be in line with the special rights accorded to the Bumi in this country. Opening up to Non-Bumi will cause serious disruptions in the uniqueness of the University culture and the value that it has spent great efforts of promoting in the past. For the sake of racial harmony and to respect Ketuanan Melayu, please stop making insensible remarks and proposal concerning race issue.

104. #104 by kcb on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:29 pm

Dear limkamput, please do not be too hard on taiking, he’s just being tongue-in-cheek.

105. #105 by kcb on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:35 pm

Thank you, dear Kasim Amat, you never fail to amuse me!

106. #106 by Against Racism on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:40 pm

I am not shock at all when UiTM student protest at this suggestion. Malay always feel scared when someone suggest to put them in a competitive environment. I study in a malay primary school and I am sad to say that i only have a handful of malay friends during that time as the others simply dont want to make friends with other races. Whenever there was a fight between malays and non-malays, the malays will said this “Aku melayu tau. Kau ingat kau boleh menang ka!”. I hate this phrase extremely. Some of my malay friends also shook their head when they heard this phrase but its common during then and now. When there was competition, they will suggest this “Cina lawan Melayu. Orang india pergi campur cina.” If we suggest otherwise, there will be no competition at all as they will not agree to it. This is how malays were being educated since primary school.

Let UiTM students have all they want. Since they are scared of competition, let them be. They wont even pass the interview session when they comes out to work. Their mind is so shallow, i seriously doubt their ability to communicate with other races when they steps out into reality. I will not send my kids to local university even if they qualify. To me, sending them to local U means that I fail as a parent to provide the best to them. Their standard is soooooo bad that when you interview 2 candidates (one local U, one private U), the difference is extremely noticeable and the choice is obvious. If they still remain status quo, then their direction is nowhere but south.

107. #107 by boleh-an on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:42 pm

Mamakthir says it’s a good idea but UiTM is not ready yet. I wonder when will UiTM be ready, or will it ever be? If it’s a good idea, call for support and plan it for the near future. The educational standard is deteriorating, it’s high time to do something about it.

108. #108 by cheng on on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:46 pm

Ai yo yo, Kasim Amat, Awak ni memang pandai twist and turn, fact is for non bumi, UITM, will be the last choice , even if UITM open to non bumi.
    UITM should also limit its lecturers, professors, admin staffs, cleaners, suppliers of stationery, foods, etc, contractors, plumbers, repairers, maintenance staffs, technicians, wiremen etc, to one race only,(100% , no less). No mat salleh or any orang putih etc,
    All the materials, equipments (all lab equip), used, or consumed, must be manufactured by bumi only. Any new building or facilities must be done by 100% bumi only, Never use anything (material, equipment, plant, machinery, computers, handphones, cups, spoons, forks etc). produce by non bumi or foreigner?
    Make sure all cars, vehicles used inside campus also 100% produced by bumi only. Even all banknotes, coins circulating inside campus must be also halal,
    Any deviation will surely mencemarkan its “pureness”.
    Kasim Amat, Dont you agree?

109. #109 by cheng on on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 12:55 pm

Make sure all clothing, sport equipment also supplied by 100% bumi company. UITM students must not take any public bus / train etc, which also carry non bumi, dont go to any cinema, supermarket, shops, where there are any non bumi around, OK?

110. #110 by highhand on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:25 pm

katak di bawah tempurung

mati katak

111. #111 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 1:55 pm

The UiTM students were pretty quick to retort with a peaceful protest, makes u wonder……..so much of insecurity amidst them, they feel so threatened by a mere suggestion of giving the non malays a 10% quota.

Like this macam mana lu orang mau pegi international scene, compete with international people, tak bolehla, in malaysia itself takut competition, tak boleh achieve vision 2020 la. Malu saja.

Aiyo better start educating the malays since young to be open minded, see uni level already like this. Countries vision down the drain la.

112. #112 by smeagroo on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:02 pm

peaceful protest?

since when has there been any peaceful protest coming from this bunch of hooligans? I can still remember the famous beruk face storming US Embassy. NOw if i can recall his name……….

113. #113 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:45 pm

I think some of the comments here are very sarcastic. I mentioned all students in Mara must be Malays but I did not go on to mention other positions must be also 100% Malay. Some bloggers have nothing better to do and are reacting in a very sensitive ways to my comments. I am pointed out facts which are beneficial for racial relationship and my comment is in line with the government policies.

In our view, since Bangsa Melayu is getting its acknowlegement in the international scene gradually, it is time now that all countries must take heed and respect the notion of Ketuanan Melayu in this country especially the members of the Commonwealth. I would like to refer to UK and Australia to be more specific as these are the two countries preferred by most Malaysian students for their advancement of tertiary education. The Malays have not bee able to be admitted widely to the top universities in these countries because of the meritocracy policy which is very sad for us. UK and Australia must understand that Malaysia is different whereby meritocracy is not suitable to be practised here. We would propose they adjust the admission standards according to the admission standard here when taking in Malay students. This will enable more Malays are being accepted in these universities and if they do this, it will be welcomed by the Malaysia government. For the benefit of mutual ties, it is time that the Commonwealth countries must open up more places for the Malay students. This will help improve the ties between Malaysia and these countries significantly and help create a more balanced Malaysia.

114. #114 by tenaciousB on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 2:56 pm

Dear Kassim,

Meritocracy like you said is in aussie and UK, they are not going to bend the rules for malays or any other races. It is survival of the fittest so the say, the problem is the malays are not given the opportunity to participate in a meritocratic environment in their home country due to the above mentioned laws and rights and so forth.

They are not going to survive in these countries as well. In fact the bangsa melayu that are slowly being recognised interantionally that you mention are foreign graduates not locals. It is culture shock for them to come from such a restricted thinking environment to an open international forum.

The meritocractic approach has to be embraced by the malays if they want to shine in the international scene. period.

115. #115 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:03 pm

/// limkamput Says:
    Today at 09: 08.15 (5 hours ago)
    Please don’t degrade this blog by posting nonsensical views. ///

Zzzzzzzzppppppppppppphhhhhhhhh – taiking’s parody/spoof/sarcasm just flew over your head…

116. #116 by Loh on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:04 pm

Before 1957, the idea that Malay needed article 153 was to have 15 years special privilege to catch up with non-Malays. The Malay race then was obvious, you know them by sight. But for the written document, the constitution, it was decided to classify Malays by the criteria of language, religion, and culture. The framers of the constitution would be shocked that the description of what ought to be based on blood lineage has now been hijacked for religious advancement. People who were unqualified to be Malays before 1957 have since not only claimed to be Malays, but one among them from the Indian race has manipulated the privilege to become for 22 years, the emperor of the country. The synthetic definition of Malays allowed more Muslims of other to be made bumiputras, and out of political expediency it facilitated through Project M more foreign muslims to outnumber local Sabahans. There were only 6,000 Malays and 125,000 other muslims in Sabah in 1960. Today, there are 3.5 million with UMNO controlling more than half the states constituency. The large number of ‘Malays’ from Indonesia, and the new Sabahans coming into the Peninsular afford TDM the claim that there are still Malays who are in are still at the stage of becoming drivers for Chinese, and hence NEP is still required.

Until and unless the people of Malaysia would agree that they have equal right, there is no way the country would ever progress. TDM said that UiTM is still not ready for non-Malay students. He has to mean that the students in UiTM are of such poor quality that they would not be able to compete with any non-Malay at all. Are the students in UiTM from Mars?

When other Malays have to face non-Malays in universities and other higher institutions, how have students in UiTM been selected to fit the qualification that they could not even compete with non-Malays at all? Are they the endangered species which required protection like AIDs patients would? If the students now in UiTM are not ready to face non-Malays, when would they be? As UiTM is a teaching institution and the students would graduate one day, one would not expect them to stay back after graduation so that they would be able to compete with non-Malay students. When would the new batches of students at UiTM be ready to compete? Has TDM conducted any test on the new UiTM students to claim that they are of inferior quality compared to other Malay students? He had not. How was it possible that TDM could claim that the students at UiTM are inferior when they could be the best among the Malay students, and yet TDM can get away insulting the students of the university?

The late Tun Dr. Ismail said that out of pride Malays would give up Article 153 when they are ready. If the students of UiTM would accept that they are there to go through attendance requirement to qualify for a degree, or even to enjoy themselves in the campus for a few carefree years, and that whatever paper qualifications awarded by UiTM were fit only to grace the wall, then they should take exception to statements by its Vice Chanceller and TDM. TDM cares not about the pride of the Malay race, because he is a post-independence Malay so classified based on the definition.

117. #117 by Against Racism on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:12 pm

Meritocracy is the way to move ahead. Why other countries has to take note of Ketuanan Melayu. With due respect, Melayu to them is just a race who like other races are ordinaly human. They wont and do not have the obligation to spoon feed and kow tow to Melayu.

Asking other country to relax their fair admission criteria so as to admit more Melayu is one big joke that I have heard today. Try to suggest to other commonwealth country and see what is their response. I bet they will laugh their mouth off.

118. #118 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:13 pm

We are at grave concern of the comments made in this blog. Loh is completely contempt of the Malaysia Constitution. As a major stakeholder in UiTM, we will not allow it to open to Non-Malays. Anyone who are still questioning the validity of “Ketuanan Melayu” must be prepared to face serious consequence.

119. #119 by taiking on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:28 pm

They will just have to get themselves used to being a JAGUH KAMPUNG.

120. #120 by cheng on on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:44 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

Today at 14: 45.41 (48 minutes ago)
    “I think some of the comments here are very sarcastic…….. propose they adjust the admission standards according to the admission standard here when taking in Malay students. This will enable …….”

So, Encik Kasim,
    Who is going to write to all tertiary educational institutions in UK, Australia and other Commonweath countries to request them to do what you proposed for Bumi students from Malaysia? Maybe the best person is you,
    Please do Malaysia a favour, go on and write to all of them soonest ! (Very easy now, just email, a few clicks away only).

121. #121 by cheng on on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 3:58 pm

Encik Kasim,
    If these UK, Australia etc do not response (after you wrote to them), then organize many protest around their embassies high commissions here until they accept your proposal on their admission rules of their tertiary educational institutes!

122. #122 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:03 pm

Kasim Amat,

I dont understand how come you are still not convinced after so many here trying to explain to you and yet you are still using the shield of “Ketuanan Melayu” to brush aside all the valid points and facts!!! No wonder our country is moving backwards instead of forwards because I believe you are one of the best among the Malays but still thinking the opposite which the whole world considers the best way forward!!! Time is not on your side and waits for no man. Protection of any kind will only prolong the illness and not cure. All the other races in Malaysia are very understanding so far, but the world is not!!! When the world is coming to be one in real sense, there’s no way to hide even if you are trying to use the shield of “Ketuanan Melayu”!!! You may be shielded for now and in the near future, but how about your children’s children? do you want them to suffer because of your present wrong action and inactions for change??? Just look to Africa and some other countries nearer to Malaysia and you will see what happens if people are not well equipped in all fronts!!!

123. #123 by JeyS on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:04 pm

Kasim Amat

In our view, since Bangsa Melayu is getting its acknowlegement in the international scene gradually, it is time now that all countries must take heed and respect the notion of Ketuanan Melayu in this country especially the members of the Commonwealth. I would like to refer to UK and Australia to be more specific as these are the two countries preferred by most Malaysian students for their advancement of tertiary education. The Malays have not bee able to be admitted widely to the top universities in these countries because of the meritocracy policy which is very sad for us.

—————————————————————

You ketinggalan zaman atau orang UMNO…cakap macam mereka sahaja.

En Kasim…..the world is not recognizing UM or any Malaysian Unis.. The malaysian whom want to enter for work esp doctors..have to pass another set of exams before working overseas..esp Malaysian grads…

Your so called Ketuanan is ONLY applicable in malaysia…and by the way..other countries have no high regards of it.

So please go and do some soul-searching and ask WHY the malays are not getting thru in the international unis. YOU have answered in yourself actually..bcos their standards (Msia’s Uni) ARE SO LOW…

124. #124 by Kasim Amat on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:12 pm

tenaciousB says:

“The meritocractic approach has to be embraced by the malays if they want to shine in the international scene.”

tenanciousB you are wrong in making this statement. Meritocratic approach is being adopted by Singapore where there are more Chinese in the country. When there are more Malay in the country, the approach cannot be implemented and that is why “Ketuanan Melayu” has to come first.

125. #125 by JeyS on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:21 pm

OH MY GOD Kasim

Are you talking with your senses in tact???

If the Malays (as you mentioned) have failed to get in with meritocracy…What does that tell you?

Wake up la…its bcos of people like you that we are facing these probs..

126. #126 by cheng on on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:34 pm

So, Encik Kasim, You had expalin well for Spore, Malaysia,… but,
    Can you advise whether “Ketuanan Melayu” can be used in Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia and Philippines where both Chinese and Malay are in minorities. How about the other 2 neighbour Brunei, Indonesia? Can use or not? also Myanmar & Laos. Thank you!

127. #127 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:34 pm

Kasim Amat and those who fail or refuse to understand,

Let me use an analogy to explain to you. The world is full of all kinds of viruses (i.e. challenges, disasters or attacks from enemies etc), you will be exposed to such viruses even if you dont come out from Malaysia as the viruses of the world will still come to you in one way or another in due course or the viruses generated within Malaysia itself (i.e. natural disasters, NIPAH virus etc)!!! In order for you to be protected from the attacks of these viruses, you need to be exposed in small dosage to the various kinds of viruses so that you would gain immunity (equipped yourself well in all fronts) before the virus finally arrive at your doorstep, but be warned that the time left for the virus to attack you is not very long, you must expose yourself to the virus in small dosage quickly, failure which you and your kind will suffer much as a result of the virus attack of the world or within!!!

128. #128 by roger lim on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:44 pm

Sdr Kassim A.
    I have heard about this ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ issue quite a number of times but still unsure what it is all about. Maybe sdr can shed more light on it. I don’t think it means the ‘Malay greatness’ or something similar does it?
    Echoing Marina Mahathir, ‘what is so great about a race which thrives on privileges?'(can’t remember exact quote).
    You can’t be really that great if you only contribute to only 10% of the country’s income tax, right?
    How great can you be if you are afraid of other races and foreigners coming to compete with you in your beloved UiTM?
    When you think you are great, you stop learning and progressing. Your loss and ours. Because believe it or not, our fates are somewhat linked. When our brothers and sisters prosper, we can’t be that far behind.
    I may be a stupid idealist but I still believe of Satu Bangsa, Satu Negara. I apologise in advance if I sound like a rasist, I am absolutely not. No one race is ever greater than the other. Each is great in its own way.

129. #129 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:52 pm

Kasim Amat and those who fail or refuse to understand,

The worst of all is that even if you and your kind refuse to equip yourself to meet the challenges of the world in the very near future, you are also stopping or preventing others from equipping themselves in one way or another!!! This is the GREATEST sin of all!!! Just like some people put it “If you want to die, please do, but please dont drag others who dont want to die, to die together with you!!!”

130. #130 by cheng on on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 4:55 pm

Encik Kasim, maybe UITM can teach our ASEAN neighbour how to develope the following in their countries.
    a) “Ketuanan Thai” in Thailand
    b) “Ketuanan Viet” in Vietnam
    c) “Ketuanan Khmer” in Cambodia
    d) “Ketuanan Bama” in Myanmar
    e) “Ketuanan Lao” in Laos.
    f). “Ketuanan Nusatenggara”?? in Indonesia
    g).”Ketuanan Tagalog” in Philippines,
    h).”Ketuanan Brunei” in Brunei Darulsalam
    since Msia is so good at this “Ketauan” matter !

131. #131 by MPSPK on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 5:09 pm

U know.. the UiTM VC himself is an UMNO member…. the students were used…. the VC himself has political ambitions… in one event last year, he said that he gonna resign if the “kepimpinan” (UMNO leaders) want him to be a candidate for PRU12…. I think he is eyeing for PRU13….

see lah how double standard is he.. he has been known as an objector of street protests and demos… but this time, he himself encourage the students to down the street.. really wasting time.. they shuld be in class studying instead!!!

132. #132 by walao on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 5:09 pm

Kasim Amat,

Yes….what is “ketuanan melayu” actually means??

133. #133 by MPSPK on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 5:11 pm

in uitm now no competition…. that’s y uitm produce low quality of students…. when u r in protective environment u gonna lose the edge… just like proton r…

134. #134 by Against Racism on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 5:49 pm

No need to argue with Encik. Kasim. He is too engrossed with his Ketuanan Melayu. He do not understand a simple fact where one has to fight and compete in equal ground in order to grow and become stronger. Spoon feeding is only when you are a baby. To grow up, you will have to learn to run and to fight yourself.

Will he send in the proposal to have other country lowering down their admission criteria to accomodate melayu’s inability to compete on equal ground? The answers is NO because deep down in his heart, he knows that it IMPOSSIBLE. Its just that he is too egoistic to admit it. So sad.

135. #135 by kcb on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:05 pm

Guys, let’s not be too hard on En. Kasim. I am convinced that he believes what he said.

136. #136 by maggi mee on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:14 pm

Kasim Amat says,
    I would like to refer to UK and Australia to be more specific as these are the two countries preferred by most Malaysian students for their advancement of tertiary education. The Malays have not bee able to be admitted widely to the top universities in these countries because of the meritocracy policy which is ………

Does Kasim Amat mean that to open up the UITM students eyes,, send them to UK and Australia is better than letting the non-bumis into UITM.
    Oh my god. To send my son to a local college in KL, I have to eat maggi mee for 4 years.
    Now if Kasim amat succeeds in persuading UK and Australia to lower the standards just for the sake of the UITM students,
    then i will have to eat maggi mee my whole life.
    Who is going to sponsor them if not taxpayers?
    I pay tax and have to feed two parents, a wife, 4 children.
    If i don’t eat maggi mee, then what do i eat?

137. #137 by taiking on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:30 pm

Kasim said:

“Meritocratic approach is being adopted by Singapore where there are more Chinese in the country. When there are more Malay in the country, the approach cannot be implemented and that is why “Ketuanan Melayu” has to come first.”

Logic is the science of reasoning and inference. Take a look at the first part of the argument:

“Meritocratic approach is being adopted by Singapore where there are more Chinese in the country.”

The inference here are:-

1) “Singapore practices meritocracy.”
    2) “Singapore has more chinese.”
    3) “Meritocracy works in singapore because there are more chinese in singapore.”

Now turn to the second part of the argument:

“When there are more Malay in the country, the approach [i.e. meritocracy] cannot be implemented”

This part of the argument represents a reinforcement and an expansion of the inference expressed in the first part.

The reinforcement may be expressed thus:-

1) “malaysia has more malays.”
    2) “meritocracy cannot work in malaysia.”
    3) “meritocracy cannot work in malaysia because there are more malays in malaysia.”

And the expansion as thus:-

“Meritocracy does not work for malays.”

So far so logical except that I really symphatise with all the malays in malaysia who has merits.

Then he drew this conclusion:

“that is why “Ketuanan Melayu” has to come first”

I cannot for my life see how this conclusion can flow from the inference made above.

Apa ini? I cannot understand this argument. No logic. Argument without logic is not an argument. If it is not an argument then it is better left unexpressed. The upside of not letting logicless argument slips off one’s tongue is that one would not give others the erroneous impression of stupidy.
    When there are more Malay in the country, the approach cannot be implemented and that is why “Ketuanan Melayu” has to come first

I dont think he is engrossed in the ketuanan thingy. He has a really complex complex of sorts.

138. #138 by 7even Sins on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 6:59 pm

Wahhkakakahh..!!! LOL..!!! Meritocracy cannot work in Malaysia. It is really a blow of nasty & stingky fart on the faces of their competent forefathers to know their cucu-cicit have this type of mentality..!!! Weak mind only reserve for weak people.

Perhaps in the next Olympic when Malaysia send the contingent, they should pre-apply for few free scores ahead since the Malay players need help…!!!

139. #139 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:11 pm

>>>>>>From Malaysiakini:
    ‘Dayus’ jika Majlis Peguam terlepas
    Aug 14, 08 12:12pm * kemaskini 5:24pm
    Kerajaan dayus jika tidak mengambil tindakan terhadap Majlis Peguam yang sering menganjurkan forum isu-isu Melayu dan Islam, kata Menteri di Jabatan Perdana Menteri, Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.<<<<<<<<<<

Zahid Hamidi seems to claim for the right to discriminate and to violate Human Rights…

Rights to Discriminate against fellow human being is comparable to Rights to Slavery….. both are morally wrong… and I don’t think any religions approve this!

All Malaysian are born in Malaysia, live in Malaysia and perhaps would die in Malaysia. All Malaysian just have 1 life, be it Malays, Indians , Chinese. Dayaks, Kadazan or any other races origin. No one live in Malaysia to face the inferior rights while in Malaysia and live another life in another country with better rights…..

140. #140 by Loh on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:23 pm

Somebody posted a comment regarding the contempt of Malaysia constitution. The Malaya constitution and its succeeding Malaysia constitution has been changed hundreds of time over the past 50 years. It is therefore correct to say that the constitution has been held in contempt by the ruling BN government. In BN whatever UMNO says goes, so it is UMNO which is holding the constitution in contempt. The government cannot be overthrown if it commands more than 50% of the votes in the parliament. Yet it considers a misfortune when it could not gather two-third in the 2008 election. It is so because for the first time in 50 years, the constitution could not be changed without the agreement of the opposition parties. The amendment to article 153 of the constitution in the aftermath of May 13 could not have been possible had Tun Razak not threatened to reconvene parliamentary. Razak would have to continue with the emergency rule, and be an outcast of the modern society until he died in 1976 if the opposition parties then PAS and Gerakan had not sold their soul. The country would have long recovered if Hussein Onn did take over as he did, and we will be talking about how to overtake Japan in economic development had TDM not been accepted by Razak then. So apart from TDM, Razak was the major cause of Malaysian’s downfall. That should be seen with the recent revelation that May 13 was actually a coup d’etat against Tunku who gave the instruction not to allow the procession after the 1969 May 10 election but Tun Razak did exactly against his instruction behind his back. The rest were history.

141. #141 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 14 August 2008 - 9:41 pm

Any articles in the Constitution should be amended if it is discriminatory in nature and violate Human Fundamental Rights..

Articles in Constitution are all man-made -not perfect. It should be amended when it is ‘not so right’ ……. it starts with discussion, forum

If we continue to protect the ‘uncivilised mentality’ , vision 2020 could never be achieved

142. #142 by simple simon on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 12:06 am

Dear En. Azly Rahman,

A well written article & I hope they see a ray light at the end of the tunnel, which I doubt any of them will.

To all my open minded Malay, Chinese & Indian friends,

Lets continue our joy of sharing and learning over a cup of teh tarik.

And to En. Kasim Amat,

You can well assured to keep your UiTM 100% for Bumi students, b’coz if they were to open-up the offer to Non-Bumi, I will also protest like the UiTM students against it. Don’t la drop our standard pulak.

Let all parties maintain its “Prestige” Within and In the real world respectively & separately.

143. #143 by katdog on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 12:51 am

Ha ha. UiTM. What’s that?

I work in a factory and when we hire new employees we normally look for graduates from particular universities who have proven to be usually highly reliable.

Ignoring foreign universities, 1st choice would be MMU or UTAR. 2nd choice UTM or USM. 3rd choice the remainder.

Send your child to UiTM and no matter how brilliant he/she is, you’d be handicapping his/her chances at securing a job.

144. #144 by justiciary on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 12:53 am

The Beijing Olympics strives to achieve One World One Dream.However we cannot even hope for one country one dream.But very sadly our so called national leaders are striving for one country one race and one religion.

145. #145 by katdog on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 12:55 am

To add on from my comment.

Lets sympathise with the smart and capable Malays who are poor and have to attend UiTM (yes there are such people). For, in a way they are getting handicapped by their own society and leaders.

146. #146 by treefinger on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 1:58 am

yb Lim,

as i read those comments above, i cant help but feel disappointed by some commentors and disturbed by their comments. note that thats not the uitm students that opposed tan sri Khalid suggestion, but the vc of the uitm, who is, as we all know, must be the ‘kuda’ of umno-bn. im very sure that majority of the students will be glad to meet and greet their chinese and indian peers, to be their coursemates. comments from a few ketuanan melayu crazed umnoputras surely cannot speak for all malays.

147. #147 by mohammadharrisjalil on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 2:06 am

Just wanna stressed that NOT ALL Malays are like Kasim Amat and UiTM Vice Chansellor…

Dont they think what they did is some sort of racial discrimination????

148. #148 by BNseedell on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 5:12 am

My dear brother, Kasim Amat,

One day, there were three Malay candidates who came to our company for an interview for the post of Senior Marketing Executive. I was the HR manager at that time. When I went through their CVs, I realized that among the three of them, there was one slim man whom I was most impressed due to his educational background.

Candidate “A” graduated from UiTM with three years working experience.

Candidate “B” graduated from UKM with three years working experience.

Candidate “C” graduated from TAR College with two years working experience.

After the interview, I finally selected Candidate “C”. Why??

Simply because he could speak, write and read three languages and he is not-narrow minded, more marketable and also a strong advocate of meritocracy.

149. #149 by trublumsian on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 5:33 am

digress a little..

i still don’t get why there aren’t really good private colleges in malaysia. i’m talking about bona fide 4-yr institutions that leads to sought after degrees in the job market. aren’t the non-bumis an adaptable lot in the face of the cards dealt by the self-serving umnos? if we can take the foul ball n turn it into an out (baseball analogy) by sending our kids abroad or just focus on doing well in business with street smarts, why isn’t there a supply to the demand in high quality private tertiary education? i know there r private colleges, but none that comes close to being a stanford, usc, or santa clara that’s in ur face to the california state u’s.

where r all the business and education minds when we need them? here’s a proposal to the 5 pr states, yes, penang u listening? start a state school, model it after the american ones, run it like lives depend on its efficiency and quality. o yeah, anyone is welcome provided u hv the merits.

in 5 years, umno n zombies will eat shxt.

150. #150 by StevePCH on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:29 am

trublumsian , it’s all because Malaysia private colleges are too profit orientated. Not for academic excellence.

No point talking about MARA because it is the way for under qualified students to enter University courses via “backdoor” matriculation.
    See the common feature of Ameno and Backdooring ? it’s everywhere.

151. #151 by taiking on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:33 am

Yes BNseedell.

I once had to interview some job applicants for the post of legal assistant.

One of them had my particular attention.

She was a graduate from we-all-know-where and she told me “Saya pandai berdancing” in reply to my query “What are your strong points?”

152. #152 by taiking on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:37 am

One more thing.

Like us non-malays, soon even malays who have real merits and true yearning to progress further would have to leave the country to realise their dreams.

153. #153 by StevePCH on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:44 am

non Malays are not begging for a place in UiTM but the mere suggestions by Tan Sri Khalid had created a furore amongst the “top level” management and Ameno.
    Where do you think the money to set up UiTM come from ?taxpayers !!! Is the Malay community paying an extra tax for setting up UiTM ?
    The mentality of Abg Kasim and co., ltd is of aparteid regimes where blacks are not allowed entry into white managed universities and colleges.
    Is TARC and other non Malay managed schools and colleges open to our Malay brothers and sisters ? There is no doubt it’s a big YES.

Don’t blame the students because they are being hoodwinked by Ameno into believe that it is for Malay supremacy in Malaysia. just like white supremacy.

154. #154 by limkamput on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:49 am

I have long discerned Kasim’s intention was never to engage in meaningful discourse. He is just a red herring here. If only all of us could just ignore him for a while, he will die a natural death.

155. #155 by limkamput on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:57 am

One more thing, there is no need to relate too much about your (big time interviewer) anecdotal experience here. I think it is sweeping and productive to condemn a race or an institution based on your one or two personal experience. It is degrading to others and it also shows biasness and arrogance on your part. Talking about meritocracy, I did not see much merit in your postings.

156. #156 by MuhammadFaiz on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:06 am

Refer to the comment from BNseedell,im absolutely disagree with it.Based on your comment shows that only TAR college graduate who have the marketable quality.What about other universities?UM?USM?Dont they have that quality too?…it is wrong to judge a certain community or race as a whole just because of one person.If we think Malay as savage community just because of image shown by the MatRempit..What about the chinese who sell DVDs in the night market..the loan sharks….But still chinese always seen as the good one and Malays are the bad one.There are Malays who are really capable..but because of one bad apple..the whole image of Malay ruin…Maybe there are some Malay who graduated but still arent capable to do work as required because of our language boundry and lazy our attitude..but that does not show our real capabalities…we earn our certificate..we dont get it just like that.Maybe our image is not as professional as Chinese because Chinese are seen as fluent in english(even though mostly their english are broken) and we`re not that fluent…but we have the same standard like them…

157. #157 by tenaciousB on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 11:19 am

I agree with MuhammadFaiz, we should not be judgemental however i must correct your statement as well, there is no generalisation of which races are bad and good and such labelling would be an utter hypocrisy on either views.

But saudara Muhammad, BNseedell is trying to put forward the fact that a product of such an institution (the local bumiputera unis) so to say ilequip their graduates. The reasons are unmeritocratic admissions into university! When people regardless of race but with merit are not admitted into the faculty, there is an obvious lack of quality and thus it affects the end products..the resultant graduates. These graduates find it very difficult to survive in the real world as so eloquantly put forward by BNseedell.

Embrace meritocracy people!!!! that’s the only way to move forward.

158. #158 by kcb on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 2:16 pm

And more demonstrations at other UiTM campuses?
    Has this something to do with an upcoming event?
    I symphatise with those UiTM students, do they know what is going on and what they are doing?

159. #159 by MuhammadFaiz on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 2:43 pm

i agreed apart of tenaciousB comment referring that lack of quality affect the ends product..But what makes the Bumiputra rises to object the kuota in UITM is because we(personally viewed) that there the competition that may occur causing Bumiputra far left behind.There wont be any healthy relationship that can cause competition and put Bumiputra forward.Besides hatred,we will feel that we being marginalise from other races because of language differences…thus,the ends product is still lack of quality….

160. #160 by Toyol on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:13 pm

Aiyah, we are decent Malaysians. Why take away crutches from the disabled? Please give them back their crutches. They need it permanently!

161. #161 by JeyS on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:21 pm

Muhammad so you agreeing that Malays (most of them) are lazy and will be left behind this rat race if the are not given “ketuanan’ stuff?

Am i right to say that?

If YES…then friend…Malaysia will surely never progress with that attitude. (Not saying its progressing now – looking of the things happeing around us!)

MFaiz….that why the change is important. YOU must change the mindset and move forward and not backwards…

162. #162 by JeyS on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:27 pm

Sorry..

…..if they are not given “ketuanan’ stuff?

….looking at the things happeinng around us!)

….that’s why …..

LOL…no spellcheck!!

163. #163 by JeyS on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 3:30 pm

Errr…

happening…

164. #164 by NewDAP on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 4:18 pm

I wonder why the Malays are so afraid to open up UiTM for non-malays? a mere suggestion to open up 10% only, some of them already went berserk…. hello, it just a suggestion only…….

1% to 2% they also cannot accept.

why they are so racist? what are they really worry about? they are so frighten of the non-malays? do not want to interact and share with the non-malays?

it is not good to always close our doors.
    must learn to open up our doors in order to enchance knowledge and wisdom….

165. #165 by trublumsian on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 4:19 pm

MuhammadFaiz,

having what it takes to do well in the global job market is more than just book smarts. in my school days, i knew bumi friends who studied hard and got good grades, but if u look at the subjects they mastered in, they’re hardly what the real world will call marketable skills and knowledge. the secondary school i went to was a pretty competitive one and bumis were a minority, the ones who chose not to transfer away were the few who could cope (sadly the school has since gotten a malay name and a predominant malay faculty. gone were the days the school was the pride of town). what i’m saying is this, we don’t doubt the discipline some bumis put into books and prep for exams. but textbooks can get u only as far as the campus gates. and if my school was any indication, most bumis choose curriculum that do not require rigors of the brains like sciences and numbers. whatever the reason, u’ve got to put the lack of competitive nature as nurtured by the so called bumi protectors on the no. 1 spot.

in america, especially in regions with larger asian populations like california, the cities with the highest standards of living are usually the ones ethnic chinese call home. public schools in these cities rank among the top in the nation. asian parents would sell a limb to get an address in these areas, and whites would pack for less stressful schools for their kids. naturally blacks and hispanics need not apply. high school grads not getting into an ivy league or a u.c. IS the anomaly. through the last decade, what educators and employers have realized is that these kids coming out of the top colleges do not fare well in the job market over a few years’ period. long story short is that the lack of mingling with other races during their formative years, (and of course you throw in the obsession of parents over gpa’s) were robbing kids of their adaptability to the real world.

for the sake of the next generation malays, bite the bullet, stop the bleeding, take the hit because you’ve GOT to open up to the natural elements. the vase in the greenhouse syndrome is a sad sad alternative.

166. #166 by wesuffer on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 4:49 pm

graduat student should be important people in our future society but they want became useless people to society in future.
    they even worry and scare of this 10% opportunity, i dont know when they come out to work next time. to face multi racial company or even MMC corporation.
    they should not be given honour because they are useless. not dare to face new challenge
    they will become slowest in future.

167. #167 by Kingkong on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 5:35 pm

It is not a big deal really to open up 10% places for non-Malay eligible students. As a matter of fact, good universities of other countries are competing fiercely for the intake of good eligible students. By shutting the door to good non-Malay students, it is a loss to UiTM itself. At least MB of Selangor has that kind of vision. “ I do not wish to send my kids to places where they teach the wrong things” many non Malays have expressed that.

However, this issue is more or less a politically motivated one especially at the moment when the Permatang Pauh by-election is getting hot.

mohammadharrisjali an ex UiTM pointed out that UiTM was one of the political pawns of UMNO.

It is encouraging to hear people like NoktahHitam says:

“ My dearest chinese & indian friends, again, please do not think all Malays are alike. I care about your generations as much as I care about mine. And I’m dead sure many Malays would support me on this.”

Times change, there are more and more broad-minded Malays especially the young ones who believe in living in harmony with other races. There is still a hope for Malaysia if people together keep on fighting for the right things. The last March election result is an outstanding example.

168. #168 by MuhammadFaiz on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 5:45 pm

you see `wesuffer`,its not we want to become useless…The problem with the `10% opportunity` is that when it is open to non-bumi,the numbers of bumiputra who enter the UITM become lesser…this cause burden to a lot of other Bumiputra as they have to pay higher at private uni.i know a lot of non-bumiputra who maybe have higher qualification cannot eneter university..but the problem is that we bumiputra is not economically wealth then others as a whole..and im not talking this just from malay perspective..but also other Bumiputras in Sabah and Sarawak…i know not all Indian and chinese are rich like always seen in Malaysian society..but the numbers are not that as much as we Bumiputra..
    Note:it is rude to said that Bumiputra wear crutches as when we accept the non-bumi during indepence as Malaysian citizen..who wore crutches at that time–(personally for Toyol).

169. #169 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 6:41 pm

Dear Dr Azly Rahman
    Fair-minded loyal Malaysians should not be waste our time cracking our head over how to improve the standards of UiTM as long as UMNO is in control of UiTM. It is for education of the small-minded people who suffer from very serious inbreeding & non-exposure to the imperatives and priorities of our times. The students have because of UMNO’s policies their brains & minds locked up to archaic & useless values as there is no interaction with the more exposed non-Malays.
    UiTM’s degrees & diplomas are not even worth as much as toilet paper which at least serve a very useful function to the bodily functions of humans.
    UiTM is at the lowest rung of all the tertiary educational institutions in the world. It is only good for producing Mat Rempits & for small-minded people who can’t accept dissenting views and opinion. Many of the students behave in a herd-like manner & can be easily manipulated to carry our demonstrations & violent display of anti-social behaviour, use of obscenities & racial taunts. UiTM is worse than ghetto schools.

170. #170 by jus legitimum on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 6:46 pm

I seriously doubt the reason as put forward by Mohammad Faiz about bumi students being poorer than the non bumi students and therefore they are worried that opening Uitm to other races would deprive them of opportunity to enter the university.The real reason is to exploit the issue to incite hatred by certain racist politicians for their ugly and selfish motives.OTK revealed that when he was the deputy minister for higher education,the cabinet already decided to open all uni to other races including Uitm.So those idiots who bashed Khalid have chosen to lose their memory over the cabinet decision.On the other hand,why Uitm can open its door to foreign students but not to the non bumi students ? What is their rationale behind the decision?

171. #171 by Rose Fashion on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 7:04 pm

We have to work hard to meet the standard, not lowering the standard to suit our ability. By doing this the country is moving backward.

172. #172 by MiddleEast-Bumiputra on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 8:25 pm

This so-called multiracial country, Malaysia, should have more smart and wise Malays such as Azly Rahman and Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim. I am shamed with some of the commens posted by my fellow countrymen, especially the Malays who always deem that UiTM is the best institution of higher learning in Malaysia for he Bumiputras.

I would like to share this piece of news with all of you — a Qatar-based university’s wisdom in inviting admission of students from all nationalities. I encorage all Bumiputras, especially those studying and working in UiTM to read this and then give their comments here. All non-UiTM students and staff re also welcome to post your comments here after reading. Thank you and Hidup Malaysia! Long Live Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim!!

>> Qatar varsity gears up for admissions<<

QATAR University’s Admissions Department is all set for the influx of new students for the academic year 2008-2009 which begins next month, it was announced yesterday.

The process of intimating prospective students, who have been selected, started on August 10. Some QU Colleges and academic departments are still conducting entrance examinations as well as admissions interviews, and decisions are to be finalised by the end of this month.

“The Admissions Department is also awaiting the release of the final high school examination results from graduates of some international high school systems which are expected during the second half of this month”, Admissions and Registration consultant Sean Dollman said.

The deadline for applicants from international high school systems to submit their official and final transcripts is August 31.

Admissions counselling is also provided by the Department to applicants who did not satisfy the minimum requirements for their major of choice.

Data on the number of students – by gender, by College, and by those who are local or international – have not yet been finalised.
    “It is too early to tell; we are still in the midst of the admissions cycle and final admissions data will not be available until around September 18,” Dollman stated.

The Admissions Department is expecting to see a greater diversity among the Fall 2008 admission class than in previous years.
    “We have seen an increase in the diversity of our applicants, both in terms of nationalities represented as well as different high school systems attended,” the official said.

He was of the view that this diversity is certain to enrich the learning environment and co-curricular activities of QU.

The Department is also preparing for the New Student Orientation programme which will be held for new Fall admissions between September 2 and 11.

“In a departure from previous years, orientation will be organised into smaller cohorts and by college to better connect the student with the university, their college and their peers,” Dollman observed.

During the orientation days, students will be informed about the academic, co-curricular and extra-curricular opportunities provided by QU.

They will be given an overview of QU community e-facilities such as MyQU portal and MyBanner functionality and will be provided with individual MyQU logon and PIN details.

The new students will also meet with their academic advisors before registering for Fall semester classes.

“Entering university is always an exciting and challenging time for new students. We are looking forward to welcoming them all and helping them to transition into the QU community”, Dollman added.

REMARK:
    Perhaps, a delegation from UiTM or Ministry of Higher Education could call on Qatar University to see for themselves what they could learn from the people who are managing this university, especially the admission policy, etc.

173. #173 by parameswara on Friday, 15 August 2008 - 9:06 pm

if uitm is unable to face even 10% of domestic competition, how will they be able to face international competition for Malaysia?

174. #174 by kcb on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 1:41 am

“…..The real reason is to exploit the issue to incite hatred by certain racist politicians for their ugly and selfish motives…..” – jus legitimum

Come on guys, remember the upcoming by-election, don’t fall into the trap!!!

175. #175 by jarod on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:32 am

To MuhammadFaiz :

i would like to say that not all chinese graduate from TARC are good english speaker or perfect in their studies. In work field, most of the companies are usually looking for good grades grads and a competitive worker. UiTM was not that competitive as compare to TARC. The system is totally different. i studied there (TARC) and I can’t take it as well. therefore, the grad produced by tarc is of high quality or second best among all uni. Of course, we can’t exclude other uni. They have their standard as well. there must have competition in order that Bumiputra have the urge to do better, not to say that they are marginalize. We can’t think in that way. If I think in that way, I am always marginalize by my own folks. We have to think positively.

I am sadden that this has arise and the matter is getting big. If one would look into the positive side, we can go one step further. For a better education towards a better future for all Malaysian.

176. #176 by Loh on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:18 am

Once Bangladesh universities protested that they were not allowed to cheat in examinations. The students in Mara protest against taking in non-Malays. Same mindset.

177. #177 by cheng on on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 10:39 am

Can Kadazan/ Iban/ Melanau/ Bajau, etc students fr. Sabah/ Sarawak enter UiTM? They are not Malay! If a UMNO minister suggest such a thing, sure no so much protest lah!

178. #178 by cheng on on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:22 am

Leave UITM alone lah, one day they will realize what they hv been missing /losing all these years.

179. #179 by i_love_malaysia on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 1:02 pm

cheng on Says:

Today at 11: 22.33 (1 hour ago)
    Leave UITM alone lah, one day they will realize what they hv been missing /losing all these years.
    ——————————–

We can leave them alone, but they will affect us as a family member in Malaysia!!! If they dont progress, they will drag the others down, all the others will have to suffer because one member of the bodies is not functioning well!!! As a result of that, it is not just one member of the bodies will suffer but the whole body will suffer, too. So it is our duty as another member of the bodies to find ways to rectify the situation so that the whole body could function well and move together as one body. Thou shall not leave another part of the body when it failes, but find all means and ways to help to improve, that is the reason why we are eager to do that, it is for the sake of the whole body i.e. country!!! But I know many dont see this, they consider themselves are out of the body and they are alone in this planet earth!!!

180. #180 by Dom on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 2:38 pm

Let the frogs be. Globalisation is here whether everyone like it or not and the world will become smaller and competitive. It is the survival of the fittest and the weak will be purged gradually.

Education is important but not the be-all and only roads to better life. Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Lim Goh Tong and others have shown that what is important is to be open minded, added value to ourself. Those people who are in their own comfort “ketuanan melayu” zone will be left behind. it’s not like i care anyway that UTM didn’t want to open up. It’s a disgrace for me to be associated with something ppl consider “weak and useless”

181. #181 by Loh on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 2:45 pm

Do the UMNO leaders care for Malays? They do, but they don’t know who are the Malays. To them Malays are those who would vote for them. That is why project M was carried out, to get people to vote for them in Sabah. Naturally these new Malays would share whatever privilege that was meant for the true Malays, and hence more men have less share, and they add to the burdens of non-Malays.

Even in Peninsular Malaysia, the term Malay has been used to classify Malay not by lineage, but by practice. In Sarawak, there are 42 races who qualify to be bumiputras. Among them there are Sarawak Malay, and Brunei Malay. The Sarawak Malays and Brunei Malays know who they are, and they are known to others as such. But Peninsular Malays have ceased to become a race since 1957, when the definition of Malay took over which allowed TDM to become Malay. TDM’s father was Indian Muslim known as Mohammad Iskander. After 1957, he was also known as Mohammad bin Iskander. In mix marriages, the race of the children follows that of the father. So after 1957, the race of the father does not matter, and people are free to claim whatever blood flow in their vein, because blood lineage no longer matter.

The 1957 constitution provided special privilege to Malays for 15 years. The privilege was meant to be for the Malays who were already in Malaysia, and their descendents. Though the document did not clearly specify who are entitled, but like all contracts where the 1957 constitution is said to be a social contract, only those who are entitled to the privilege should be so given. Those who fit the description of a class of people called Malays, but are not the descendents of the Malays who were citizens of Malaya in 1957 should not qualify.

Malays who are truly Peninsular Melayu similar to their brethren Sarawak Melayu, and their descendents have the status as privileged persons diluted; they have been swarmed by others who are liberally classified as Malays and are entitled to those privilege through ‘privilege politics played by UMNOputras. Those UMNOputras have the wealth of the country at their disposal. The liberally increased the number of Malays to help serve their political longevity.

Peninsular Melayu who were known by the late Tun Ismail as somebody who took pride of their race, and would be willingly remove article 153 when they no longer require them, may not have the political power to decide as such. Other people classified as Malays but do not care for the pride of the race are still claiming that Malays are not ready when the top brains in the country represented by the teaching staff in the universities, the professionals, the head of government departments and ministers are Malays. True, some of them as so classified as Malays according to the constitution, and they are not Peninsular Malay as Sarawak Melayu would classify people of their race.

In the 21st century, race should not matter on how one lives his life. Without race as a dividing criterion, there would be much fewer issues where the truth, or the choice could be turned according to racial divide. That would reduce the number of subject which might be called sensitive.

The politicians who make it to the position of power could easily remove race as an issue if they do not practice divide and rule which is not condoned by any religion at all. To do that they will have to serve the country rather than themselves, as people’s representative. But are they there for that purpose?

182. #182 by Kasim Amat on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:33 pm

It is absolutely interesting to note that the standard of the UiTM students will only improve through opening up its door to other races. What a ridiculous argument which has no logic at all. According to UiTM, the standard is already one of the highest in the region and there are many other ways of improving the standard further. There is no need to open up to other races to help “improve” the standard. I don’t care how other countries do with their universities but this is Malaysia and everyone should respect the status of Bumiputra and should not have any doubts on the validity of the special rights accorded to us.

I would also like to stress that UiTM is now one of the very few assets belong 100% to Bumiputra. To take it away from us is to demolish the notion of “Ketuanan Melayu” and is equivalent of declaring war with Bumiputra. I hope everyone here be cautious with your comments and postings.

183. #183 by MiddleEast-Bumiputra on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 3:57 pm

Kasim Amat: Nobody is declaring war with Bumiputra. You too must be cautious with your comments and postings when you are asking others to do the same. You shouldn’t post any comments here at the first place if you are not prepared to hear others’ views. Nobody is going to care much about UiTM if not because it was raised up by the far-sighted Menteri Besra of Selangor who happens to be a non-UMNO politican.

You commented: //According to UiTM, the standard is already one of the highest in the region and there are many other ways of improving the standard further. There is no need to open up to other races to help “improve” the standard.//

Well, keep it that way as you said so. No further dispute about this claim or statement. You are absolutely right in saying so. Congratulations and long live UiTM ….

184. #184 by maggi mee on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:13 pm

imkamput Says:
    Yesterday at 08: 49.49

I have long discerned Kasim’s intention was never to engage in meaningful discourse. He is just a red herring here. If only all of us could just ignore him for a while, he will die a natural death.

You are 100% correct

185. #185 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:24 pm

I concur with Maggi mee.

186. #186 by cheng on on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 4:32 pm

A related comment in the malaysiakini
    http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/87868

187. #187 by sudokuku on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 5:03 pm

Memang tak logik,

Melayu tikam melayu – suggestion is hardly a knife in the back, it is either a good suggestion or bad suggestion, depending on who is the receiver. ie.” I suggest you take a rest” – is this a good or bad suggestion? nobody know for sure but definitely not a “tikam belakang”.

Is UiTM going for “UiTM untuk Melayu, Melayu untuk Melayu”?
    This do not sound good from anyone to anyone.

Even MCA never said MCA untuk Cina, Cina untuk Cina or MIC untuk India, India untuk india. UMNO said UMNO fight for all.

No logical, respectable good person or religious person would choose to be 100% one sided, even Datuk Nik Aziz said Islam is Just for all.

So why, why, why?

We been educated to work as a team, to cooperate, to give, to contribute, to Sama-sama berjaya no matter who our jiran is, we do not differentiate by race, handicap, skin color or where the person is from, as long as everybody work toward a mutual goal than we are Rakan Sepejaungan, that was what I use to believe to be the foundation of all higher education center, I never doubt it, until now. omg could UiTM be so different?, i mean most employer want the employee to be open minded and can work with any other race, do employer now start to worry that maybe UiTM student can not mix with other race? since they are 100% Bumi and do not mix?

tak logik langsung.

One of the function of the “U” is to educate & prepare the coming adults to be a responsible able person to serve the public, most “U” students want to mix around to understand other culture, other race and global issue, so that when they come out in to the real world they are as prepare as possible. Is this still true in UiTM?

I once heard this story about a boss ( a Bumi Company Owner ) that ask one new staff to buy a pack of cigarette, after 30minute the new staff came back with cigarette and sweating all over, the boss ask what happen? the store is just next door, the new staff said that the store next door is operate but Cina so he have to go over to another 2 block to buy from a Melayu owner, the boss said bodoh & buang masa. I do not know why the new staff act that way at that time. Now maybe.

188. #188 by mohammadharrisjalil on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:05 pm

Its quite encouraging when i see in Youtube, lots of comments condemming the demonstration and support Tan Sri Khalid’s suggestion… and most of the comments come from young Malays…

189. #189 by sudokuku on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 6:39 pm

Suggeston for UiTM Students that protest –
    Please be more Open Minded & show more willingness to cooperate with all Malaysian for your survival, your potential employer are studying what you are doing now. ( I just confirm with a HR manager, they are seriously worry.)

190. #190 by Kingkong on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 8:17 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

“There is no need to open up to other races to help “improve” the standard. I don’t care how other countries do with their universities but this is Malaysia——-“

This sounds more like an ostrich hiding its head under the sand. How could one’s standard be improved when one adopts such a closed mind attitude? I believe that the majority of those science and technology text books used in UiTM is from OTHER COUNTRIES, the original text books written by ketuanan should be close to nil. One needs to be humble in order to learn the best. As big as the US electronics manufacturing industry at one time was humble enough to send people to Japan in order to learn their quality control method; quality circle was a craze then. Why one has to do that? Simple , for the competition and survival of the industry!

Even if UiTM opens 10 % of its places to Non Bumiputra, I doubt there will be a good response for good non Bumi students to seek for admission. They still need time to convince people whether it is worthy to pursue those unemployable papers or not? However, it is a good opportunity for those who come from poor background to have at least a chance to study in a so-called higher institution. Before and after independence, it was difficult and a pride to be able to enter a government school. Now, for sure, non Bumi do not wish to put their kids in national schools. There must be a reason which is hurtful. Where is the ketuanan then?

I don’t know what happens to those 80000 unemployable graduates now! I hope they could find something to do, be it taxi driving or running hawker’s stalls!

In other country, a cleaner gets paid five times your graduate paid if ever he could find an employment. Where is the ketuanan then?

191. #191 by sudokuku on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 9:36 pm

Kasim Amat Says:

“The Malays have not bee able to be admitted widely to the top universities in these countries because of the meritocracy policy which is very sad for us. UK and Australia must understand that Malaysia is different whereby meritocracy is not suitable to be practised here.
    We would propose they adjust the admission standards according to the admission standard here when taking in Malay students. This will enable more Malays are being accepted in these universities and if they do this, it will be welcomed by the Malaysia government.”

Kasim do you really want this for your community?

It is like asking for Marathon Race distance to be made short only for certain group of person because they think they can not made the distance.

I assure you that all human are born equal, the effort you put determine the distance of your achievement, education is not just to get the paper to qualify someone to sit in top position, it is a process of building your strength to face the challenge in real world, so the higher the difficulties the stronger you are.

Which mean if you ask for lower standard, you are making your community weaker. again is this what you want? please confirm.

192. #192 by fish-warezmasterz on Saturday, 16 August 2008 - 11:59 pm

YB Lim, if you can say brand-new-era fro UITM..why not you say brand new era for our education system??? if you are truly HONEST to fight for Malaysian Malaysia,then why not suggesting DISSOLVING VERNACULAR SCHOOL (sekolah tamil and sekolah cina)?? we should have 1 school for all races,which is NATIONAL SCHOOL (sekolah kebangsaan) shouldnt we? there is no so-called-multi-racial-country in this world has different school for different races. 1 silly mistake there when talking about so called nationalism,multi racial blabla..education should start from primary school..learn this from other country also YB Lim

ps;ive graduated from top local private university

193. #193 by davelim881 on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:10 am

To Kasim amat:

Your statement as follows:

According to UTiM, the standard is one of the highest in the region…….

Ha Ha Ha Ha…..whose region, the highest within Bolehland??. Or comparing with China, US or Australia or even Singapore??

For all that matter, you can keep the 100% Bumi, or the special right accorded to Bumiputra as if the world cares.

It will be this crutch mentality that will be the undoing…….of Malaysia.

194. #194 by cheng on on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:49 am

Want to hv one type of schools, fine, but, would gomen provide facilities for pupils to learn their mother tongue like Spore?
    Then do gomen prepare to hv only one pre U course? No separate matriculation / form 6?? No quota for all gomen Uni n colleges?? only base on true merit?? Unless gomen prepare to do all these, if not dont talk rubbish to close vernacular schools.

195. #195 by ykcir on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 10:06 am

Kasim Amat says “According to UiTM, the standard is already one of the highest in the region …”

So so true but that was according to UiTM. In the 2007 THES-QS World University Rankings, even UM, USM and UKM have all dropped out of the Top 200 listing. And which position are you, UiTM?

196. #196 by sudokuku on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 10:40 am

lowering other standard to suit your own low standard just do not work in real world no matter where you are.

Even communist country who is total control freak found out that it do not work that way, the only way is to improve thyself and push your standard higher step by step, there is no short cut to excellent.

Gobem ask for increase of BUMI ownership of property, I hope they have a formula to increase BUMI income too, if not what you get is only increase in BUMI Bankruptcy. You can check the current Bankruptcy level between Bumi & Non Bumi.

Basically – BUMI increase in property ownership + Increase in income = good for everyone ( more spending power – more TV, more reno, more air-con, more business )

if – BUMI increase in property ownership – no increase in income = more bankruptcy ( totally not good for everyone – more con man, more stealing, more gambling, more broken home, more racial anger, no business ).

suggestion Gobem should ask Gomen to reduce Mega Wasteful project, get the budget to increase Gomen staff income, this will really help the Malaysian Economy.

If Gomen could double up ( current Gomen salary x 2) this will solve a lot of Hardship for everybody, the snowball effect will roll over for everybody, this is way to move forward, remember the adv “Jalan Biar Kehadapan”?

If anyone here ask – Gomen do not have those money.
    then my response is Gomen better spend on Rakyat then spend bottomless sink hole like PKFZ and countless others, name saja cantik tapi tak nampak apa apa baik put.

also Gobem please do not ask the Non-Bumi to stop buying property or put up barrier just increase the BUMI/NON-BUMI ratio, this will be a horrendous disaster, think before you act.

197. #197 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 11:41 am

not a single race in the world, chinese included, ever progressed without direct interaction with the world.

race means to race with the competition, then you have a race.

it means, no competition, drop out of the race.
    simple as that.

198. #198 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 11:57 am

haris01 Says:
    “malay took the merdeka…..so malay gets something special lah….”

do you know how lim goh tong got that big piece of land at genting highlands?

199. #199 by Kingkong on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:36 pm

fish-warezmasterz Says:

“there is no so-called-multi-racial-country in this world has different school for different races.”

Why not? Switzerland is a country which uses four official languages, namely German, French, Italian, and Romansh. They must have different schools to teach those languages.

I do not know much about the Tamil schools, but, for Chinese schools, there appears that their discipline, and standards, (recognized by many overseas universities for entry) are quite good. There are now many Malay families which send their kids to Chinese schools too. Chinese language is getting important as China has risen in economic power. It is indeed an asset for Malaysia to have such population which is proficient in the language. We have experienced the suffering as a country of killing English language. Why we want to simply close something which has proven its worth? It would be a great mistake to try to kill the Chinese language.

We must have a broadminded attitude. We need wealth creators in this country. Whether it is white cat or black cat, as long as it can catch mice, it is a good cat.- quoted from the late Teng Siew Peng – Ex- premier of China.

Meritocracy is the way to go. Why kill the good hunters, or expel them to other countries and keep those fat parasites which can’t even move, let alone hunting.

200. #200 by FY Lim on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:44 pm

Why is the huha made by UITM students ? They are coming down the streets with full protection from the powers that be at the Federal level and the police. When others go down the streets, they are deemed illegal whilst this protest is considered legitimate.

If this is not orchestrated by UMNO, what is it ?

Please tell me why when the cabinet made the decision a few years ago to allow 10 % non-bumiputras to be taken in for the preparartory course in UITM, why there was no hue and cry by the students ?

Even today, we can see foreign students in UITM campuses. Tell me why these foreign students get better standing in UITM
    than Malaysian born non-bumiputra students ? Why no street protests by the UITM students ?

The whole issue had been politicised and will not benefit our
    education system , what more involving young students during their formative years in protest march.

Where is the harmony and unity which all Malaysians are trying
    so hard to foster ?

Unless the BN government has the hidden agenda, this whole issue had been blown out of proportion by the university’s authorities, the Education Ministry and the Federal government.

Please look at it objectively in the wider interest of nation building ,
    harmony and unity among the different races and religions.

201. #201 by think1st on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 12:45 pm

don’t you dare to disturb the malay lim kit siang.what about what DAP are doing to malay in penang.don’t try to make thing worse or you will be pay one day because of your idiotness of disturbing our malay rights.

202. #202 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 1:17 pm

think1st Says:
    “what about what DAP are doing to malay in penang.”

give some details of what dap is doing to malay in penang.
    spell it out.
    it would be nice to hear.

203. #203 by cheng on on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 2:01 pm

Yes, interaction with other ppl or races is necessary for progress, advancement,
    FYI, Canada had French language schools for their French speaking children. Switzerland had 4 different schools, nothing wrong, surely Switzerland or Canada are far more advance than us!
    If Msian keep arguing along racial lines, instead of how to best develope the country, soon, will be behind Thailand lah !

204. #204 by maggi mee on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 2:10 pm

Those of you who are employing foreign workers in your factories now, please relocate to Vietnam, Bangladesh, Laos, Myanmar, anywhere.

In a few years time, when the country runs dry of oil, and the foreign investors do not want to come here anymore, at least;
    the bumis will be given food as they are the ketuanan, the non-bumis will have nothing, no food, no work. no anything,

Please then employ us non-bumis to go and work at your factories as foreign workers so that we can send some money back here to feed our wives and children.
    Malaysia Boleh.!

205. #205 by cheng on on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 2:19 pm

India also had different primary schools, teaching Tamil, Assamese, Malayalam, Hindi, Urdu, Telugu, Gujarati, Kannada, Kashmiri, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Nepali, etc, so what is the problem, with 3 types of primary schools in msia

206. #206 by parameswara on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 2:53 pm

canada and switzerland may have schools for citizens with a language preference, however, there is no such criteria for admission according to race.

this have to be clear.

207. #207 by mohammadharrisjalil on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 7:02 pm

I Just found this blog… and this is from an ex uitm student… wanna share with you…what he did said is totally the same like what i had said in my previous comments

http://tronohtranquility.blogspot.com/2008/08/warkah-buat-adik-adik-uitm.html

full blog…

Warkah Buat Adik – Adik UiTM

Ke hadapan adik-adik UiTM yang dikasihani,

Abang guna istilah ‘kasihan’ sebab abang kasihan pada adik-adik. Kasihan sebab tempoh hari adik-adik berarak di bawah panas mentari berpakaian baju hitam. Keldai mana punya idea suruh adik-adik berarak pakai baju hitam bawah panas mentari, Tuhan saja yang tahu.

Tapi abang faham, kemungkinan besar adik-adik semua dipaksa untuk menghadirkan diri. Terpaksa turut serta, kalau tidak nanti tidak dapat kolej semester depan. Cuma yang abang tidak faham, apa hal berarak hari kuliah? Apa adik-adik semua tidak ada kuliah?

Kita kena ingat pesanan Sivaji, maaf, pesanan VC Ibrahim Abu Shah dulu-dulu. Pelajar UiTM mesti rajin belajar, mesti tumpukan pada pelajaran. Pelajar tidak boleh berpolitik, kata Sivaji, maaf, kata VC Ibrahim Abu Shah.

Apa adik-adik semua sudah lupa pada pesanan Sivaji, maaf, pesanan VC Ibrahim Abu Shah?

Atau Sivaji, maaf, atau VC Ibrahim Abu Shah sudah berubah mazhab dan pegangan? Sudah berubah jadi VC yang revolusioner, yang mendukung pergerakan aktivisme pelajar universiti?

Entahlah, abang sudah lama meninggalkan UiTM. Zaman abang guna duit PTPTN untuk beli handphone baru sudah lama berlalu. Sekarang abang beli handphone guna duit gaji sendiri, tapi handphone adik-adik UiTM masih tetap lagi hebat dari handphone abang. Handphone adik-adik ada 3G, ada kamera, boleh MMS dan boleh rakam aksi hubungan seks dengan pasangan masing-masing.

Ops. Abang tersasul. Itu mungkin adik-adik IPTA lain punya perangai. UiTM universiti bastion terakhir Melayu, takkanlah beli handphone untuk rakam hubungan seks dengan pasangan jadi amalan para pelajarnya, betul?

Bercakap tentang bastion terakhir Melayu, abang bangga tengok adik-adik berarak tempoh hari. Sungguh hebat adik-adik berarak dan memperjuangkan prinsip UiTM. Adik-adik keluar suratkhabar, keluar TV dan keluar di Youtube, bercakap tentang UiTM untuk Melayu dan Bumiputera, bukan untuk lain-lain bangsa.

Abang faham, adik-adik bertindak sedemikian sebab adik-adik patriotik, mendukung semangat kenegaraan Malaysia kita yang tercinta.

Bercakap tentang Malaysia yang tercinta, petang semalam abang ada menonton siaran langsung Olimpik. Perlawanan separuh akhir badminton perseorangan, pemain Malaysia lawan pemain Korea Selatan. Abang tonton siaran langsung melalui live streaming di Internet pejabat, bersama rakan-rakan sepejabat, 2 orang Melayu, 4 orang Cina dan seorang Portugis Melaka.

Abang yakin, adik-adik UiTM yang tidak ada kuliah waktu petang juga pastinya menghadap TV di kolej atau rumah sewa. Turut mengharapkan Lee Chong Wei menang dan layak ke perlawanan akhir, demi meneruskan pencarian emas Olimpik untuk Malaysia.

Abang tidak mahu tulis dan ulas perlawanan semalam. Abang bukan pakar ulasan badminton macam Pak Hasbullah Awang. Lagi pun kita semua sudah tahu Lee Chong Wei menang semalam.

Cuma yang abang nak kongsi bersama, abang percaya kita semua tumpang seronok bila Lee Chong Wei menang. Dia menggalas harapan jutaan rakyat Malaysia untuk memburu pingat emas Olimpik pertama negara.

Tapi dalam menyambut kemenangan petang semalam, abang terbayang satu perkara. Bagaimana agaknya kalau Lee Chong Wei menang pingat emas esok, dan selepas menang beliau berkata “kemenangan ini ditujukan khas buat rakyat Malaysia berbangsa Cina sahaja, bukan untuk lain-lain bangsa.”

Taubat, adik-adik mesti berarak dan merusuh satu Shah Alam nanti. Sivaji, maaf, VC Ibrahim Abu Shah mungkin keluar TV lagi dan bercakap bahawa Lee Chong Wei mendapat latihan badminton selama ini yang dibiayai melalui kutipan cukai setiap bangsa di Malaysia, bukan orang-orang Cina sahaja.

Mesti gila punya kecoh bukan? Tapi, tempoh hari adik-adik pun buat perkara yang sama. Dan Sivaji, maaf, dan VC Ibrahim Abu Shah keluar TV tempoh hari, bercakap tentang UiTM milik Melayu dan Bumiputera sahaja, bukan lain-lain bangsa, walaupun Sivaji, maaf, walaupun Ibrahim Abu Shah tahu duit peruntukan UiTM datang dari poket rakyat Malaysia tanpa mengira bangsa.

Semalam, selepas menundukkan Lee Hyun-Il, Lee Chong Wei berlari ke arah jurulatih Misbun Sidek, memeluk jurulatih beliau sambil Misbun mengusap kepala anak didiknya. Lee Chong Wei kemudian berlari ke salah satu kamera di tepi gelanggang, mencium Jalur Gemilang yang tersemat di baju ketika berdepan dengan kamera.

Lee Chong Wei, seperti yang adik-adik sedia maklum, bukanlah seorang Cina dari Tanah Besar China. Dia seorang Cina dari Malaysia, lahir di Parit Buntar, Perak. Negara beliau ialah Malaysia, tanah tumpah darahnya.

Lee Chong Wei, berbangsa Cina, kini merupakan pemain badminton ranking ke-2 dunia. Beliau dilatih oleh seorang bekas pemain badminton yang berbangsa Melayu. Bagi mereka, soal bangsa bukan persoalan pertama dalam buruan pingat emas mereka. Bagi Chong Wei dan Misbun, apa yang mereka tahu ialah mereka menggalas tugas negara tercinta, Malaysia. Tanpa mengira latar belakang dan perbezaan budaya, mereka adalah satu pasukan di bawah Jalur Gemilang.

Tapi tempoh hari adik-adik berarak di Shah Alam, memprotes dengan lantang, kononnya mempertahankan UiTM dari lain-lain bangsa, termasuklah bangsa darah daging Lee Chong Wei sendiri, mungkin saudara-mara beliau sendiri, mungkin juga akan menafikan peluang anak-anak Lee Chong Wei untuk belajar di UiTM pada masa depan kelak.

Mana kesedaran adik-adik tentang Malaysia ini tempat tinggal kita semua, negara kita semua, negara setiap rakyat Malaysia tanpa mengira perbezaan warna kulit?

Bila Lee Chong Wei berjaya melangkah ke perlawanan akhir semalam, adik-adik meleleh air liur memikirkan prospek untuk Malaysia mendapatkan pingat emas yang pertama di Olimpik. Tapi pada ketika yang sama adik-adik menafikan peluang mana-mana rakyat Malaysia berbangsa Cina, India dan lain-lain hak ke atas pendidikan yang mampu dimiliki.

Jadi di mana kesedaran dan sensitiviti adik-adik semua, sebagai pelajar sebuah universiti yang adik-adik banggakan? Adakah adik-adik memang bebal dan benak hati, atau pemikiran adik-adik UiTM sudah dikaburi oleh misai tebal Sivaji, maaf, misai tebal VC Ibrahim Abu Shah?

Entahlah. Apa yang abang tulis hanyalah sekadar buah fikiran dan pendapat abang semata-mata. Mungkin adik-adik lebih arif dan faham sebab adik-adik pelajar UiTM masa kini. Zaman abang dulu UiTM hanya UiTM. Zaman adik-adik sekarang, UiTM sudah ada aspirasi global, mahu menjadi sebuah universiti bertaraf dunia.

Mungkin UiTM juga perlu ada aspirasi mahu melahirkan pemain badminton Melayu bertaraf dunia. Nanti bolehlah kita memburu pingat emas Olimpik pertama untuk orang Melayu. Bukan apa, sebab pada pandangan abang, adik-adik nampaknya terlalu berkira sangat tentang persoalan bangsa.

Sudah panjang abang menulis. Cukuplah sampai di sini, hingga ketemu di warkah yang lain.

Salam sayang dan peluk cium dari abang buat adik-adik UiTM (perempuan sahaja, yang lelaki, kirim salam sudah cukup)

UiTM Di Hatiku,

Abang Lucius.

208. #208 by sudokuku on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 10:08 pm

# think1st Says:
    Today at 12: 45.17 (9 hours ago)

“don’t you dare to disturb the malay lim kit siang.what about what DAP are doing to malay in penang.don’t try to make thing worse or you will be pay one day because of your idiotness of disturbing our malay rights.”

“think1st” if you what people to understand your point you need to put in some fact 1st, dare & threat only make you sound like hooligan.

you should think 1st before your write, how ironic

209. #209 by BNseedell on Sunday, 17 August 2008 - 11:31 pm

To: think1st and fish-warezmasterz,

This entrey, “Brand new era for UiTM”, is written by Azly Rahman and posted in Lim Kit Siang’s Weblog, if I am not wrong in saying so. Why are you not directing your “funny” remarks to Azly Rahman? Why threatening DAP or LKS? What mentality is this? If you fellows are not able to bear with others’ opinions and criticism, then don’t participate in blogging. Go somewhere else to blog.

By the way, //ps: I’ve graduated from top local private university.// Why feeling shy to name that top local private university of yours? You should be proud for being able to graduate from there! Let us see if this is true as what you so claimed?

Look far and high, and be open-minded, my dear friends and countrymen. Don’t habour any hard feelings over exchange of opinions and comments. This is healthy debate for better understanding of each other’s perception on matters of common interest to all of us in this wonderful motherland which we called Malaysia. Right or wrong?

Walau, time is really passing fast! It’s going to be 51 years after the nation’s independence.

MERDEKA! MERDEKA! MERDEKA!

210. #210 by trublumsian on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 12:35 am

think1st, u think 1st w/ ur head, not with the axx, pal!

kasim “kiss-my-axx” amat, now too much axx kissing will do that to u, please snap out of it. what do u mean uk and australia should take into consideration malaysia’s admission policy when admitting malay students?? r u calling malays stupid? don’t stoke the malay fire lah.

211. #211 by kwmark on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 1:10 pm

Saudara Azly, you do have my salute on the Uitm issue. I have many Malay friends which I have known since I was in my primary school totally agreed with your article.

Hope you are able to enlightened those still worry about this rights and that rights…How are we going to compete globally if we still live in the ice age?

Do away with racist policy.Why can’t we all live as Malaysian? I am proud to be a Malaysian.To all Uitm students who protested and held street demostrations…please wake up and concerntrate on your studies instead of busy worry about the country’s politic.

Ask yourself this simple question, who paid for the setting up of Uitm if not the tax payers?

212. #212 by Adolf_Napoleon on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 3:36 pm

PLEASE READ ** IMPORTANT MESSAGE ** PLEASE READ

Dear YB and All,

In this difficult times of UMNO and also the “presumed” decline unity for Malays, it is very very important that the Non-Bumis must not involve in street protest and also respond to any “Ketuanan Melayu” propoganda like the recent UiTM.

Because there are many people out there who will LOVE to spark the May 13 incident again.

Tell you friends and love ones. Just stay out. They are very free. Let them protest.

The Polices and the Army are biased. Like in May 13th, they will shoot at non-bumis. Ask your grand-parents or elderly. They will know.

213. #213 by cheng on on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 4:30 pm

VC of UiTM, want to sue Sel. MB? then pls organize UiTM students for another 30 or so protest march, get at least 12,000 students in each march, at least 1 march everyday, so that can claim more “ganti rugi” from Sel. MB. also create another Malaysia Guiness Books of Record. Malaysia Boleh !

214. #214 by Dr.Ken on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 5:55 pm

So surprise to know the V . Chancellor of UiTm want to sue Selangor MB just for his Suggestion of UiTM to open 10% of the intake to non bumi. Is Malaysia a 3rd world communist nation ? Even China & Russia accept suggestions. what wrong w/ suggestion ? Is it an offence to suggest in the Bolehland ? Look at China after opening her door , China will be the Powerhouse economically & military in 30-40 yrs time. The bolehland is far behind many Asian nations. Everyone in Bolehand should learn other languages beside Malay . it is only useful in Indonesia, malaysia & Brunei. I f we want to join in the Global Economy, we have to be proficiency in other languages. Can we survive or progress just by doing business among ourselves in side our Bolehland. ? I think only UiTM graduated can do that.

I suggest UiTM should open 5 % of the intake to foreign Students beside 10 % to local non-bumi , so 85 % for the bumi. Of course foreign students pay the full tuition fees. V. chancellor , please don’t Sue me for this suggestion because i don’t have money.

Obviously , Our racial integraion & harmony have failed even after 51 years of effort. I believe we won’t have racial harmony at all even after 500 years. It is so sad. Why can’t we live in harmony ? it is our Gov’t problem.

215. #215 by sudokuku on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 7:56 pm

hmm actually how much is minimum penalty for being sue for suggestion?, if let said RM5000.00/suggestion, then I would stand to make million this year.

Over the year my boss gave a lot suggestion (~138 suggestion), Gomen Staff ( ~ 386 suggestion ), customer suggestion box ( ~30/day/365 = 10950 suggestion ), wow if the stupid idiot VC open this can of worm, Malaysia will achieve the most sue case in the world.

216. #216 by kwmark on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 8:45 pm

Fellow Malaysians…especially those dare to speak out the truth and against racism in Malaysia, my salute to all of you.

I am totally newbie in blogging but I was so impressed by these group of Muslim blogger friends who actually care for the nation as a whole.

Kita masih ada harapan jikalau isu-isu perkauman dimansuhkan buat selama-lamanya.

217. #217 by taro on Monday, 18 August 2008 - 10:30 pm

Anyone know that MARA Junior Science College(MRSM) has been opened for non-bumiputras since 1980-an? The objective is bringing in non-bumiputras to motivate bumiputra students. It will be benefit to bumi if UiTM is opened to non-bumi or foreigners. Only those jaguh kampung and katak di bawah tempurung will takut…

218. #218 by MiddleEast-Bumiputra on Tuesday, 19 August 2008 - 12:27 am

//”We welcome such an initiative to tell the Malaysians who want the truth. We believe if it happens, we will prioritise the truth,” said Khalid Ibrahim, Menteri Bersar of Selangor. Khalid also said the issue was not new.//

//”I feel Malays are matured in this matter and that they know such efforts need to be continued in order to lead the Malays towards globalisation and for Malaysia to compete effectively with others.”//

I salute you, Tan Sri Khalid, for standing up to speak on behalf our race. At least, there are Bumiputras who are with you and will stand by you. On the other hand, I feel heart-pains when it was reported that the educated UiTM vice-chancellor, Datuk Seri Prof Ibrahim Abu Shah, was demanding a far-sighted Bumiputra to apologise and even threaten to sue him for making a reasonable and non-political proposal. Wonder what will be the scenario if the person who makes this same proposal is the Prime Minister?

I am afraid the whole world, including our Muslim brohters and sisters in the Middle East, would be laughing non-stop when hearing that a VC of an institution of higher learning intends to sue a person over a proposal. I have been laughing with tears dropping down from my eyes after reading the news online. What a joker he is (I mean the VC of UiTM). I suggest he refers to the Webster’s dictionery to find out the true meaning of “Proposal”.

A few of us have a chance to talk about this issue when we get together after work and all of us found it to be amusing. Anyway, Tan Sri Khalid, you are right to say: “Welcome Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM)’s threat to take legal action over my suggestion that 10 % of student quota at the universitiy be opened to non-bumiputras and foreign students.” Cheers!!

219. #219 by fish-warezmasterz on Thursday, 21 August 2008 - 2:19 pm

Why Switzerland people dont speak Swiss language? Because they have many races ka.We know they have 4 (read FOUR) official language.But we have 1 (read ONE),Malaysia language.i said school for different races,not languages.read more….

German, French, Italian, and Romansh <– all those languages have their own country.from immigrants.why no swiss language there.here,Malay language is local traditional language.ahh simple issue

Switzerland is not and has never been an ethnically homogeneous nation.German language is 74% of public use there.
    Again,compared to Malaysia,is it same? Why dont we speak Siam,Indon,of Philippine as they are our neigbours?? Compared to certain European countries you guys mentioned,do you know that there are AREAS/REGIONS for native to speak certain language? especially borders (simple example Switzerland). Not like us,even people from Perlis speak Malaysian (except slang),people from Johor also speak Malaysian.Demographic doesnt matter.

Then look back for 100 years ago,where Malay language (now Malaysia language) was spoken by people of Tanah Melayu.For hundred years ago,we have been using Bahasa Melayu written in Tulisan Jawi.No problem,Kesultanan Melaka became popular (i deleted word Melayu there,history cheated us,ignoring how importance the Chinese contribution to Kesultanan Melaka).Clearly,holding on our own language never been a problem.Japanese,they use their own language not english in their country,but became developed.Korean? They are very proud of their own language.but us??? Even in this blog we are not using national language (Bahasa Malaysia) especially YB Lim! surprise! nationalism? huh.We are speaking/discussiing our own problems,our local issues,Malaysian politics but why still using English.ohh to be globally competitive maybe,global la sangat.(shame on me also,use english haha,i prefer english in writing lah)

How about us? Do we need to use all languages.No,english must be used in order to be globally competitive.Its a must to know english,but thats not an excuse to not to speak Malaysian language within ourself.see Japan.When i was in Tronoh,i met 1 local Indian,very old man.I talked to him in Malaysia language..Then 1 Indian came and he talked in Tamil..Suprisingly,when a Chinese came they chatted in Mandarin!! wah.Compared to current condition,let me ask you guys,how many times you have seen this situation in your daily life?? Hmmm..But what i regret is,Malays (mostly) cant read Jawi..Dont ever ask other races to read Jawi or ask Malays to read hanyu pin yin.Even Jawi is a traditional writing.Noted that Jawi was widely used in Tanah Melayu not Rumi.Why this thing happened? We we born here,but still cannot speak/read other language/writing..Race superiority is taking place.malays only speak or befriend with malays,same thing with other races.Poor Malaysians.Im a mix,but still can speak malaysia,mandarin,english,arabic quite well.I can read Jawi hehe ofcourse la,im a Muslim..

I do agree,chinese schools are way better than sekolah kebangsaan.sadly i was from sekolah kebangsaan (read sekolah melayu),but my brothers/sisters are/were from sekolah convent/chinese schools.in my place 80% students of local chinese school from Malays.nowadays malays can go to chinese school,chinese can go malay school.how about indian? can chinese/malay go tamil school?do we have a substantial amount of other races there..you got the answer.

My fellow bloggers,dont label me as racist.Me myself dont see Ketuanan Melayu introduced by UMNO leaders is an important agenda.go to hell ketuanan melayu..In Islam,all races should be treated EQUALLY! Except in Aqidah (relation with the only God,ALLAH).thats what mentioned by YB Zulkifli Nordin in Parliament yesterday.i do need non muslims respect muslims.thats all..if they want Islamic State,why not.In Islamic State,all races are equal not like Islam Hadhari State (read Pak Lah).dont do something like Majlis Peguam did.freedom doesnt mean we can talk everything in public.Dr M said in his blog,

6. Jika kita ada sekatan tertentu untuk mententeram dan menjaga negara, kita harus terima.

15. I believe not being able to discuss certain issues is a small price to pay for having stability and peace in this country. It had paid off hansomely. We would not be where we are today if we slug verbally or otherwise, at each other every day.

FOR MALAYSIANS!!! TOGETHER WE UNITE!! MERDEKA MERDEKA!!

ps;still remember when i was in secondary school (sekolah agama),people call me Koh Tsu Koon coz i have had those sepet eyes.damn racist! haha.ohh forgot la,i was from not so top private local uni la haha,i was from UTP.