Umno and BN’s post-March 8 schizophrenia

Umno and Barisan Nasional leaders should end its post-March 8 schizophrenia – claiming to have finally heard the voice of the people and yet still refusing to “walk the talk” of reforms like closing down the Tamil daily Makkal Osai, continued detention of Hindraf leaders under the Internal Security Act (ISA) and stonewalling the proposal for an Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) to create an efficient, incorruptible, professional world-class police service to keep crime low and make the country safe for Malaysians, visitors and investors.

Such political schizophrenia seizing Umno and Barisan Nasional has become a daily staple in the mass media, as illustrated by the following two headlines today:

Najib tells BN: Win over support from non-Malays (NST);

Makkal Osai loses licence – Tamil daily’s application rejected (The Star)

Has it occurred to the Umno and Barisan Nasional leadership, including the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Home Minister, that the best way to ensure that the Barisan Nasional will lose even more support from the non-Malays are high-handed, arrogant and undemocratic actions like the closure of Makkal Osai, the refusal to release the five Hindraf leaders, P. Uthayakumar, newly-elected Selangor DAP State Assemblyman for Kota Alam Shah A. Manoharan, V. Ganabatirau, R. Kenghadharan and T. Vasantha Kumar or refusal to give Uthayakumar the best medical treatment while under ISA detention?

In fact, such political arrogance and contempt for human rights will also offend all right-thinking and justice-loving Malays, as illustrated by the March 8 “political tsunami” which saw Malaysians voting across racial and religious divides.

New Straits Times announced today that the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is expected to announce several measures to reform the judiciary at a dinner organized by the Malaysian Bar at Hotel Marriot, Kuala Lumpur tonight.

I will attend the dinner. While DAP and Pakatan Rakyat will support judicial reforms to restore national and international confidence in the independence, impartiality, integrity and quality of the judiciary after two decades of “judicial darkness”, however belated, they are merely first steps in a journey of a thousand miles of major national reforms whether in mindsets, institutions, laws or governance if Malaysia is to rise to the challenges of globalization where the competition is not between Malays and non-Malays but between Malaysians and the rest of the world.

1. #1 by max2811 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:16 pm

The Prince of Darkness has professed doom. The non-bumis must be grateful. Same line as UMNOputras before the election. [deleted] But then again, we still have Prince in the Shining Armour, the legal eagle, ever so elegant.

I was hoping PKR or PAS would comment on it. Looks like they smelled a trap.

As long as we have KKK members around, unity as Msians seems far-fetch.

2. #2 by lextcs on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:27 pm

Recent ‘jihad’ by raja petra in his blogspot against the chinese people is equally as seditious. He has used the word curse, rot in hell and calling for hanging by the tree. I urge YAB limKS to take up this issue as i no longer feel safe after such a calling by someone who has influence over the internet media. Now anytime i could be hanged because of his remarks eventhough i belong to no political parties.

3. #3 by controlnation1 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:38 pm

• Najib tells BN: Win over support from non-Malays (NST);

Support BN and get what?8 ministral post and no more…….while UMNO gets 22.Very fair indeed.

4. #4 by PSM on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:39 pm

It’s very, very clear that a leopard does not change its spots! UMNO (MCA, MIC & Gerakan are irrelevant!) will not change.
    Don’t doubt that they will pretend to try to change though! They need to win back the Voters so they will have to try to show how they have heard the voice of the people. Sure they have heard. But, they just don’t give a damn for anyone but themselves!
    We are not stupid UMNO, we know you are a bunch of crooked, corrupted, racists, Vipers & Blood-sucking Leeches! I’s about time that the lot of you crawl back into hell from whence you came!

5. #5 by ilovedap on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:47 pm

They just dont get it. Race-based politic have to go. Simple as that. Malaysian as one is the way forward. It’s bad enough that we spent so much time bickering. When will we ever catch up with Singapore? Let’s take Malaysia forward. This land is still full of promises. Make us the 1st class people not only in Asia, but in the world! Now, that’s a challenge!

6. #6 by ilovedap on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:50 pm

I dont want to hear anymore remarks from foreigner like “Malaysia? Where’s that? You guys are still living on top of the trees right?”. Bring us forward to a “developed nation” status.

7. #7 by badak on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 3:58 pm

For 50 years BN been ruling with a 2/3 majority .This bunch of bigots have treated us Malaysian with iron glove with all the dictatorrially laws, like the ISA,OSA,EO and the word sulit in all gorverment documents.UMNO being the big bullying member has done everything to made the INDIAN , CHINESS and others third class citizen.

When Tun.M and NAJIB openly said that MALAYSIA IS AN ISLAMIC STATE where was MIC ,MCA ,PPP ,GERAKAN, None of it leaders open their mouth to put things right.

8. #8 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:10 pm

I am sure the judicial reforms to be announced by PM tonight will, in principle, be meaningful – and not half hearted – covering matters like some kind of expression of regret for judges maligned in 1988 (and maybe compensation), establishment of judicial commission, increase of judges etc, reinstating judicial power by constitutional amendment etc There is no reason to think he is not serious. He admitted foreigners prefer to adjudicate cases outside Malaysia; he appointed defacto law minister Zaid whose ideas of reform are well known, and important dignitaries like Regent of Perak Raja Dr Nazrin Shah and our Chief Justice Abdul Hamid Mohamad support judicial reforms. The dinner is jointly organised by Bar Council and the government and used as forum to announce major shift of government policy. Starits times reported “Some 500 guests, including Parti Keadilan Rakyat president Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang, Gerakan acting president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, retired judges, representatives of non-governmental organisations, diplomats and senior government officials are expected to attend.

Former lord president Tun Salleh Abas and family members of the Supreme Court judges who were sacked in the 1988 judicial crisis, have also confirmed attendance”.

All these people will not be invited if PM not serious especially when the Bar Council that had organized march for reforms hosts it.

This is the opportunity for the PM to say, “OK I heard what you guys said, what you agitate for is vindicated, I agree and give in, this is what I unveil for you, hope you are satisfied, let me know input how to refine these reforms”.

We will not get all our demands met but the concessions from the government will still be considerable, in principle a milestone.

All it remains are the details – who will make up the judicial commission, will civil society play major part or government, how will the judicial & legal service commissions be split etc.

PM will read out script edited or even formulated by Zaid. Audience don’t ask too many detailed and technical questions to embarrass him.

A question arises as to who really runs the government. On one hand the government loosens to unveil judicial reforms; on the other hand it tightens by deciding to withdraw the printing and publication of newspaper licence for the Tamil-language Makkal Osai, and not freeing Hindraf’s leaders from ISA detentions or even allowing Uthayakumar to be admitted to any private hospital of his choice.

There seems to be conflicting signals given all the time. Who is running the government???

9. #9 by alancheah on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:30 pm

Pakatan Rakyat… Many of Malaysians
    are waiting for you people to form
    the New Government soon!

Fed-Up with what BN has been doing.
    After election, they still act as the
    same old way! @#%#*@^&!^@(!@!!

10. #10 by langkah baru on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:31 pm

Now finally they know how we the public especially the non-malays are very important to them. During the parliament meeting we could only read and know HOW these people Nasri, Hishamudin (worst – EDUCATION MINISTER that represent the whole schools in Malaysia -SHOULD show a good example to all the students and pupils but show a very bad example until it influence some mature students turn to bad eggs) AND LASLTY not least the highly educated Khairy ask people like MCA espcially and MIC to shut up and they think that their majority can make the UMNO win. well they are wrong the result opposition win all and we can say we feel very proud why because the true malaysian (malay,chinese indian ,sikh,portuguese,baba/nyonya, mamak and others) open their eyes and have guts and brave themshelves to
    step forward and choose the opposite parties. Time is running out for the Umno or BN what so ever. But here WE have the confidence that our opposition we bravely choose can do their work well because they learn from your side and now they mend from their side to better from worst.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:33 pm

Actually they are conflicted. On one hand, want to be like Nazis and yet they wonder why people don’t love them??

12. #12 by Damocles on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 4:51 pm

“All these people will not be invited if PM not serious especially when the Bar Council that had organized march for reforms hosts it.” – Jeffrey

Jeff, it seems that you’re still banking a lot on this PM.
    We all know that he’s a dead duck; the same goes for the rest of the so-called leaders in the BN.
    What is there to stop him from putting on a jolly good show like he did in 2004. You all fell for that, don’t you?
    Don’t tell me the lesson has not been learnt yet?
    Or you still want more of the same?

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 5:09 pm

///What is there to stop him from putting on a jolly good show like he did in 2004/// – Damocles

In 2004, he led BN to unprecedented victory of 92% parliamentary majority and BN with his promise of reforms but without actual reforms was still at that time master of the universe. Now after 8th March, the mighty BN fell due to failure to effect reforms and he is now functioning as PM at the grace of the Opposition (with help of cross-overs) of not invoking a vote of no confidence or internal UMNO warlords seeking to blame and depose him, whichever earlier occurs.

The situation is little different. He is fighting for his own political survival just a while longer that many within his party would seek to deny him. Why would he muck around? The situation is serious. I know Zaid is serious. Abdullah being head is the mouthpiece of reforms that Zaid has been talking way back well before last general election.

Read between the lines : this function hosted by Bar Council is jointly organized by Bar Council & government. Tun Salleh Abas invited so that PM could express regret; Opposition heads invited so that he could tell them, “you are right!” Bar council, the host, even organized walk for judicial reforms. If you’re not serious, you don’t attend, you don’t have govt jointly organize with the Bar Council, tell media about it and have organizers invite Tun Salleh Abas & Opposition heads.

I don’t know however about whether others in UMNo are serious and whether they will sabotage PM’s reforms proposals….

14. #14 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 5:18 pm

2004 strong cockerel with 92% mandate (unprecedented victory) based on promises of reforms which being unfulfilled led to unprecedented defeat (the other end of continuum/scale) of becoming “lameduck” on 8th March, if you want to survive/continue, do you think you’ll be serious or still want to muck around???

15. #15 by Bobster on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 5:51 pm

Those BN fellos never learn anything from 8 March 2008 political tsunami. Too blind to see, to pekak to hear.

Just observe how they stir and whack the piggies in Selangor State trying to stir racial sentiment already says it all.

Hey BN piggies ie Mohd Rustam Toyo gangs, no shame … waiting to be toppled by the rakyat soon.

16. #16 by clear conscience on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 6:01 pm

Dear YB LKS,

I would like you to take a look at my experience with the so-called
    much-to-shout about WarkahUntukPM website which was supposedly meant for the PM to hear the rakyat when it was launched b4 the PRU12.

I had incidentally became a whistle blower and decided to test out whether the PM does what he PROMISED during that launch of his said website.

It has been made a laughing stock out of what he intended it to be and I am sure if you were to peruse through my below emails (first initially sent to via the PM official website ie b4 the launch of the WarkahUntukPM website), you would agree and perhaps want to take it up in Parliament when Parliament convenes on 28th April 2008.

The Pakatan Rakyat should take this matter up to show to all Malaysians how inept our government agencies can be and how our Honourable PM had been talking the talk only.

I append below the various emails for your perusal which were sent and meant to highlight to the relevant authorities (including directly to the PM) on the existence of a non-license property management company operating in Subang Jaya. Despite of the numerous complaints, the relevant government agencies were just talking the talk and not walking the talk.

(Email dated 17/3/08 reply from me to En Najmudin bin Isa)

Dear En Najmudin bin Isa

Thank you for your below email reply.

I was eagerly awaiting the response therefrom from the Honourable PM just as he proudly said before the PRU 12 election in his WarkahUntukPM webpage. However, since my complaint on 20th Mar 2008 through that WarkahUntukPM webpage, all I received was your mere acknowledgment of my complaint and your sending out of the below email to all the Setiausaha/Setiausaha Kerajaan Negeri (SUK) which referred to the instructions of 18th Mar 2008.

Yes, no doubt there may be a change in the Selangor State Government, but I believe the government machinery still continues to work as usual pertaining to all official matters.

I am very disappointed that, since this complaint of mine was channeled through the WarkahUntukPM website, no further action was forthcoming from your end. I am directing this email to you since you are the coordinator of all matters which were brought to the attention of the Honourable PM.

It has been almost a month but sadly this is what we called the lack of enforcement on the part of the government agencies resulting in the rakyat having to suffer. Despite I had highlighted numerous times, there is indeed no action whatsoever from your end. This again shows the rakyat’s problems are not heard nor acted upon, less albeit an update of what subsequent action/s have been taken.

It really shows talk the talk and not walk the talk attitude. Perhaps, I may have to bring up to the Selangor Government to take up from here if I do not hear from your end by end of Mar 2008.

Thank you and await your reply.

Resident of Subang Perdana Court 7,
    USJ 14

—– Original Message —-
    To: [email protected]; [My Email]@yahoo.com
    Cc: [email protected]
    Sent: Sunday, March 30, 2008 12:55:25 PM
    Subject: FW: [212977] Keselamatan – [Name: (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)

Y. Bhg. Dato’/Datin/Tuan/Puan,

WARKAH UNTUK PERDANA MENTERI: ADUAN TERHADAP PERKHIDMATAN AWAM

E-mel Ketua Pengarah Biro Pengaduan Awam ( BPA ) kepada semua Ketua Setiausaha/Setiausaha Kerajaan Negeri (SUK) bertarikh 18 Mac 2009 adalah berkaitan.

2. Bersama ini dikemukakan aduan yang berkaitan dengan Kementerian/Jabatan Y. Bhg. Dato’/Tuan/Puan. Pihak Y. Bhg. Dato’/Tuan/Puan dikehendaki mengemukakan maklum balas secara TERUS kepada pengadu dalam tempoh 3 hari bekerja mulai dari tarikh e-mel dihantar.

3.Sila pastikan setiap maklum balas berkenaan disalinkan kepada [email protected], [email protected]. dan [email protected].

Sekian, terima kasih.

Yang Benar

Najimudin Esa

b.p. Ketua Pengarah

Biro Pengaduan Awam

Jabatan Perdana Menteri
    Tel : 03-88887777
    Fax : 03-888887778

Details keyed into WarkahUntukPM website
    Sent: Thursday, March 27, 2008 1:03 PM
    To: [email protected]
    Subject: [212977] Keselamatan – Resident of Subang Perdana Court 7 (deleted my actual name for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)

Name: Resident of Subang Perdana Court 7 (deleted my actual name for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)

Date & Time:20-03-2008 – 13:08
    Race: Cina
    Address : (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Org./Company:A Group of Subang Perdana Court 7 Residents
    City / State: Subang Jaya,Selangor
    Postcode: 47630
    Email: (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Tel / Mobile : (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Language: english
    IP: (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Type: Aduan
    Subject: Keselamatan

Dear Mr PM,

I had on the following days emailed our complaints (on behalf of a group of residents of Subang Perdana Court 7 apartment) to each of the below addressee but till to date there has been no action being action nor were there any reply therefrom to us pertaining to a company (Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd) in Subang Jaya which is operating security services to us without a valid license :-
    i) 10th August 2007 addressed to YB Ketua Setiausaha KKDN, Tan Sri Abdul Aziz bin Mohd Yusof
    ii) YAB PM yourself on 24th August 2007.

Representing those residents, I had highlighted the fear we have to go through as there were many thefts, house break-ins and car-jackings that happened in the past.

Kindly allow me to extract my first email to Tan Sri Abdul Aziz (10th August 2007 4.53pm) which is follows:-

“Dear Tan Sri Abdul Aziz bin Mohd Yusof (Ketua Setiausaha, KKDN)

Good afternoon Tan Sri,

My tele-conversation with your Cik Hasina (Assistant to Cik Rosmidah) refers.

My name is Mr……(deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com) and presently I am the Assistant Treasurer of the Management Council of Perbadanan Pengurusan Subang Perdana Court 7 (“PPSPC7”) which was established in 1998 via the Akta Strata Hakmilik 1985. The Management Council of PPSPC7 was only formed in 2005 & is empowered thereon to take charge of the welfare of our apartment premises located at Goodyear Court 7 Phase 5, Jln USJ14/1, USJ 14, 47630 Subang Jaya is a privately-owned (ie all the registered proprietors as owners) apartment.

In the past, the developer, Goodyear Management ( Malaysia ) Sdn Bhd (ie “GMM”) was providing in-house security when the project construction was being carried; thus in house security services are exempted from having KKDN license. Upon its completion and handing over of the vacant possession by GMM to all the buyers, PPSPC7 shall have absolute authority to run the apartment premises as PPSPC7 wishes. However, this authority was only passed on to the Management Council of PPSPC7 in 2005 & PPSPC7 continued to engage GMM’s subsidiary company Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd (“SPS”) to provide us in Good year Court 7 Phase 4:-
    a) property management
    b) security services

The Management Council initially did not know that SPS does not have the KKDN license to operate security services which is a requirement under the law and thus the Management Council had requested from them but they have not been able to produce one for the Management Council’s records. Our main concern is that the security services provided by SPS currently is worrying all the residents in Goodyear Court 7 with rising crimes, car thefts, indiscriminate car towings (which is not allowed in a private property like ours in Goodyear Court 7), house break-ins, etc & it is the duty of the Management Council to ensure safety for all in the apartment.

We had terminated SPS’s security services for the reasons stated above but they refused to hand over to our newly appointed licensed security services company Kawalan Keselamatan Sentral Sdn Bhd from 1 July 2007 onwards. We are facing a lot of problems from the SPS security guards as they refused to vacate at all & residents are not feeling safe anymore to stay here. PPSPC7 had also made a police report (REPORT NO: USJ 8/006672/07) saying that:-
    i) the SPS security services is believed to be operating without a valid license
    ii) the security services provided not adequate to ensure the safety of Goodyear Court 7 apartment & its residents

Since this police report, the police should have taken action as it violates the law in operating security services without a valid license but we do not know why no such actions were taken. As far as we know, KKDN issues license & the police shall enforce the law.

The Management Council of PPSPC7 appeals to Tan Sri & your good office in taking the necessary action via the police since there is a violation of the law in operating unlicensed security services. In fact, PPSPC7 had previously checked verbally with KKDN & it was confirmed that no such license was issued by KKDN. We prefer to deal with KKDN than to go to the press to highlight our problems. As you know, crime rate in Subang Jaya is rising & many feel the police should do more to ensure safety.

Please assist urgently & we request action be taken as soon as possible to relieve us of the fear. We do not want to see lives lost in the near future.

Thank you Tan Sri

Name: (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Assistant Treasurer,
    Management Council, PPSPC7
    Tel:(deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)

Similarly, allow me to also extract YB Tan Sri Abdul Aziz’s reply (10th August 2007 5.19pm) to me which is as follows:-

” Thank you for the information. I’ll check the issue and take necessary
    action. My officer will look into the details for further action.

Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof
    KSU, KKDN. ”

Thereafter, I also replied Tan Si Abdul Aziz (10th August 2007 at 10.53pm) which is as follows:-

” Dear Tan Sri

It is my pleasure to receive a quick reply from you and I believe this is what our Honourable PM has been advocating particularly in the area of security. I am extremely glad that you have taken a very keen interest into this matter and I strongly believe that cooperation with the public is utmost important. We residents want to live in a harmonious & safe environment.

We, the Management Council of PPSPC7 had also a few nights ago met Dato’ Lee Hwa Beng , our Subang jaya ADUN to air our case of security concern for this Sunday’s (12 Aug 2007) 3rd AGM & we were also fortunate that Dato’ Lee had immediately acted upon our request & had informed En Safiee (Pengarah Bangunan of Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya) who is the Commissioner of Building (ie Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya President)’s representative to instruct Inspector Foo (USJ 8 police station OIC) to sent in 4 policemen for the AGM night event.

Thank you as we strive to comply with the law; lest we may charged with abetting an unlicensed security service company.

Looking forward to here from you and your men.

Have a nice evening

Name:-(deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Assistant Treasurer
    Management Council
    Perbadanan Pengurusan Subang Perdana Court 7 ”

Thereafter, Tan Sri Abdul Aziz replied twice to me (13th August 2007 at 8.53 am and at 12.41pm) which are as follows:-

(13th August 2007 at 10.53am version)

” Dear Mr… [Name: (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com],

We kindly appreciate your concern pertaining to the above matter.
    However, this is the case between the Management Council and SPS. Since
    you have terminated the SPS services and they still remain refusing to
    move away, we therefore advise you that you should get a court order. If
    SPS still refuses to move mout, the police have got the authority to take
    action against SPS. At the same time, we will look into this matter
    seriously and will inform Bukit Aman for immediate action.

Thank you for your trusted and confident with the Ministry of Internal
    Security.

Tan Sri Aziz Mohd Yusof
    KSU,KKDN”

(13th August 2007 at 12.41pm version)

” Dear Mr….[Name:- (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com],

We appreciate your concern. However, this is the case between the
    Managemet Council and SPS. Since you have terminated the SPS services and
    they still refuse to move away, therefore you should get a court order.
    If SPS still refuses to move out, the police have to take action against
    SPS. At the same time, we will look into this matter seriously and will
    inform Bukit Aman for action.

Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof
    KSU, KKDN. ”

I followed up with my reply to Tan Sri Abdul Aziz on 14th August 2007 at 8.37am which is as follows:-

” Dear Tan Sri Abdul Aziz

In fact we are in the process of obtaining an ex-parte injunction to evict them from our premises. Currently there is no contract anymore between us & SPS & they are indeed tress-passing into our private property with their unlicensed property management & unlicensed security services which are both continued to be provided to us (supposedly free of charge perhaps as we have no contract with SPS since 1 Apr 2007). We will seek the assistance of the police upon being granted a court order.

It only goes to show that SPS is blatantly going against the law. We have very good law enactments in Parliament but similarly enforcement must commensurate with such laws intended them to be.

I would like to thank you very much for informing Bukit Aman as quick action needs to be taken. Just on Sunday night, when we were supposed to have our 3rd AGM, SPS sent in their security guards in full force without any official invitation of the Management Council. As one of the Management Council members, we are there to conduct our own 3rd AGM. Even I was intimidated in full presence of many residents by one of SPS guards who brought his security dog to confront me. The distance between me and the dog was about a foot & it shows blatant disregard for compliance (dog handling code & ethics upon licensing).

On behalf of the Management Council, we would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to Tan Sri for your initatives. Even Dato Lee Hwa Beng is assisting us in one way or another. The public needs more assistance from people like Tan Sri and Dato Lee. We can be whistle blowers but there needs urgent follow ups from the authorities; otherwise all of us will fail in curbing irresponsible activities.

Thank you Tan Sri

Name:- (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Assistant Treasurer
    Management Council
    Perbadanan Pengurusan Subang Perdana Court 7
    Tel: (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)”

However, there was no reply from Tan Sri Abdul Aziz thereon; prompting me to email him another message on 21st August 2007 at 8.36am which is as follows:-

” Dear Tan Sri Abdul Aziz

A very good morning to you.

Since your last email reply dated 13 Aug 2007 to me indicating that you had the matter referred this unlicensed security services matter by SPS to Bukit Aman, I would appreciate if you could provide me the personnel/s & contact number/s who are to assigned to look into it. Perhaps, would it help if I also see the Subang Jaya OCPD or its Ketua Jenayah for assistance?

We residents think this matter should be solved soonest possible by the police authorities since it is against the law. We do not want another tragedy to happen first; otherwise if such happens in the near future, there will be a lot to more to answer to many sectors including the public, press, politicians etc.

Kindly assist & we greatly appreciate your assistance.

Thank you

Name:- (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)
    Assistant Treasurer
    Management Council 2006-2007, Perbadanan Pengurusan Subang Perdana Court 7
    Tel: (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com)”

Since there was no reply from Tan Sri Abdul Aziz, I wrote an email to you Prime Minister on 24th August 2007 at 1.19pm (to email: [email protected] ) to seek your intervention and assistance on the matter going on at Subang Perdana Court 7. Again there were no reply at all from your Prime Minister’s department. My email to you YAB Prime Minister was as follows:-

” Dear YAB Datuk Seri Perdana Menteri

My name is Mr…[Name:- (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com] who is a proprietor of one unit of apartment in Subang Perdana Court 7. I am also one of the office bearers of the Management Corporation holding the post of Assistant Treasurer for the session 2006/2007.

All the residents in Subang Perdana Court 7 are living in fear of any untoward incidents that may happen as the security services provided by one security services company to us (Perbadanan Pengurusan Subang Perdana Court 7) is unlicensed. I had emailed to the Setiausaha Kementerian Keselamatan Dalam Negeri, Tan Sri Abdul Aziz for police assistance in taking the necessary action against a company as there were many cases of theft of cars, house break-ins, towing cars away, anyone can just walk in etc. For that, I must thank Tan Sri Abdul Aziz for his initiative in informing Bukit Aman on the matter.

However, I wish to appeal to YAB Datuk Seri PM to look into this matter of govt enforcement with zest just as the recent govt enforcement on bus companies. We only hope that laws are being enforced to weed out unauthorised security services; otherwise it is a mockery of laws in place.

The unlicensed security services company is also flouting the law for not having a valid license to operate property management services according to the the Board of Valuers, Appraisers & Estate Agents Malaysia. We have reported to this Board and have yet to see action being taken. Thus, YAB PM, you would be able to see that two laws have been violated & yet no action has been taken. I hope we would not have to resort to the press to highlight these violations or it would become a political issue for all others.

For that, I would forward all my emails to those concerned for YAB PM to see for yourself why we citizens of Malaysia should uphold Malaysian laws. I for one, would not fear being a whistle blower in order to achieve a harmonious living community as Subang Jaya had seen a rise in crime rate. We do not want to see more headlines in the dailies as far as lives taken is concerned.

Thank you Datuk Seri PM

[Name:- (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com]
    Assistant Treasurer 2006/2007

As there were no further replies from Tan Sri Abdul Aziz, I sent another email to Pn Rosmida (one of Tan Sri’s top staff) on 17th Sept 2007 at 3.09pm requesting her to find out the outcome & why the delay in action & take up this matter with Tan Sri Abdul Aziz. That email is extracted as follows:-

” Dear Cik Rosmida

Per our teleconversation just now, I am forwarding this email which I had sent to Tan Sri Abdul Aziz on 21 August 2007.

It has been almost a month since I received Tan Sri’s email reply, but I am wondering why and perhaps no action had been taken against the unlicensed security services company, Subang Perdana Servcies Sdn Bhd.

The question of evicting Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd by Perbadanan Pebgurusan Subang Perdana Court 7 via a court order is a totally different matter altogether from the clear violation of the law (not having a license to operate security services) by Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd. These are two different matters.

KKDN being the authority in issuing security services licenses should have taken the initiative to lodge a police report in order to allow the police to act against Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd. Instead, I may have to lodge a police report to protect Perbadanan Pengurusan Subang Perdana Court 7 and its Management Council office bearers if KKDN fails to do so.

As I had said, Malaysia has all the laws enacted but so what? When it comes to enforcement, it may not be efficient as all Malaysians would want the Govt agencies to be. Look at the express bus situation. Only when something grave happened (lives were lost) before strict action is taken. Law is law and all Malaysian laws must be respected by all and enforced by all relevant authorities. It is sad to see this real thing happening in Malaysia . All of us should live up to our Malaysia Boleh spirit.
    Police wants Malaysians to inform them so that the police can take action. I think the IGP meets Tan Sri almost every week;in fact there should not be any reason for the delayed action against Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd.

In fact, we had also complained to Lembaga Penilai, Pentaksir & Ejen Hartatanah Malaysia regarding Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd not being licensed to operate property management services. Lembaga Penilai, Pentaksir & Ejen Hartatanah Malaysia had taken the right move in enforcement by writing to Subang Perdana Services Sdn Bhd to stop their operations. That is the right BOLEH enforcement spirit. Our main aim to to ensure that Subang Perdana Services are not allowed to provide unlicensed security services to us (Perbadanan Pengurusan Subang Perdana Court 7) as we do not want to be seen abetting them in committing an offence under the law.

I hope we need not go to the press or the DAP to highlight this ugly matter of Govt enforcement inefficiency. For your information, I had also emailed to the PM’s department highlighting this issue to the PM for the PM’s knowledge.

Thank you

[Name:- (deleted for the purpose for this posting here at http://www.limkitsiang.com]
    Assistant Treasurer 2006/2007

17. #17 by gofortruth on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 6:04 pm

“Daily threatened racial harmony: Syed Hamid
    Apr 17, 08 4:53pm
    Home Affairs Minister Syed Hamid Albar today said he decided to stop leading Tamil-language daily newspaper Makkal Osai from being published because it had violated guidelines threatening racial harmony”………….
    http://malaysiakini.com/news/81524
    —————————-
    Someone should be sent to for a course of logic. Who is exactly threatening racial harmony?
    Is it not the people who barbaricly pushed the victimised Indians into the ISA camp and when this minority group voiced out their grievences through their papers, they closed down their papers?
    How long must ordinary citizens of Malaysia continue to suffer under the unchanging arrogance & bully of BN ruling?
    If there is still a little dignity left in some of the righteous BN MPs, they should do the rakyat a big favour to jump ship now.

18. #18 by negarawan on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:30 pm

Hamid says that Makkal Osai threatened racial harmony. That’s a blatant lie. Millions of sane Malaysians have realized that UMNO is the real culprit that threatens racial and religious harmony. UMNO is all out to take its revenge against supporters of Pakatan Rakyat. May God let the Pakatan Rakyat crush UMNO and its cronies in the months to come, and may the Pakatan Rakyat form the next Malaysian government soon ! Makkal Sakti !

19. #19 by Loh on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:34 pm

///Daily threatened racial harmony///–Syed Hamid

Syed Hamid has the authority not to renew the licence if the Daily threatened harmony. But he cannot just say that he is satisfied with the thinking or his conclusion that the Daily did so without giving a convincing explanation on how it did it, which are acceptable to reasonable persons.

Sometime ago, a Malaysian court ruled that the mere statement that actions of a person threatened the security of the nation was not the justification for arrest under ISA, but the justification to conclude that the actions would threaten the security was needed.

In the case of the Daily, the Minister has to justify how it had threatened harmony. Was the Daily merely telling the truth as it saw, and reported the incidents which would not promote harmony? Should it not be the right approach to prevent those incidents from happening to promote harmony, rather than to stop reporting hoping that they are not known so that the government can pretend that harmony exists.

Was the ban of the Daily a case of revenge for the subdued win in the election?

20. #20 by allen ng on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:52 pm

I think this is political bully and it is an act of revenge .The Federal Government is already in the mess and now trying to do some political cleansing.It is a pity that the Tamil paper Makkal Osai has fallen prey to this arrogant and heartless government.

21. #21 by philip vyti on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 7:55 pm

By closing down this Tamil Newspaper you have showed your true colours. You are arrrogant and beleive me must be brought down in the next GE

22. #22 by mysn1st on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:28 pm

“..the competition is not between Malays and non-Malays but between Malaysians and the rest of the world.”

Sir, I support you.

23. #23 by Godfather on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:32 pm

Jeffrey:

I like your optimism, but sadly, I think your optimism is misplaced.

Zaid wanted an apology, and he got shot down by the powers to be within UMNO. What they will do tonight is nothing more than an expression of regret – not even an apology that a wrong has been made. They will not admit that Salleh Abas and certain colleagues have been wronged. They will say that whatever happened was regrettable, and that everyone has to move on.

What will they do about [deleted] ? Nothing. What will they do will sub-par judges and brown-nosers like [deleted]? Nothing.

With Sleepy Head, we can only expect the following: Cakap tak serupa bikin.

24. #24 by devilmaster on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:41 pm

Only a fool will still believe UMNO-led govt will change. Once a rattlesnake, always a rattlesnake. Sorry for my pessimism in this govt.

25. #25 by JDoe on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 8:57 pm

I dunno about you all but I have a dreaded feeling that DSAI will be arrested…

26. #26 by Penang_soul on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 9:10 pm

A daughter devastated, a mother with no answers
    A Schoolteacher | Apr 17, 08 3:27pm

I am a teacher by profession. I am teaching in a government school. Being a teacher, I am expected to inculcate moral values in my teachings. I have memorised all the sixteen values ‘Nilai-nilai Murni’ as a result of twenty-five years of teaching – values that transcend curriculum. Day in day out, all the students are exposed to all the values which are expected to cultivate good thinking and moral values among our young citizens. Examples of some of the moral values are being kind-hearted, respecting each other, fairness, honesty, and moderation.

In the recent SPM examination, many of my students did very well, some scoring straight As. We, teachers of all races, felt so very proud seeing the achievements of our students. We had ‘Hari Anugerah Cemerlang’ in my school. Parents, regardless of race or religion were there to lend support for the programme and at the same time to motivate the children. One such student is my own daughter, who scored 12 As, best student of the school. She used to wake as early as 4 o’clock in the morning to start preparing for her SPM.

When I asked her why she has to take up 12 subjects and ‘torture ‘ herself, she told me, ‘I am not a bumiputera like many of my friends.’ So the need to take up two extra subjects (not offered in her school) in order to be on par with her Malay friends.

She applied for the Progran Matrikulasi well before SPM itself. Yesterday was the day she was eagerly waiting since obtaining her SPM results because all the applicants will get their reply from the matriculation office. While I was in school, my handphone rang. It was a call from my daughter. When I answered the call she was already sobbing, and I am so silly to think that it was tears of joy.

The sobs turn to cries after she heard my voice – she was devastated, depressed and very disappointed because she failed to get entry into this government-sponsored programme. She is the eldest in my family. I have another three school going children. May be I am to be blamed because it was me who asked her to study hard, get good results because being an ordinary teacher I can not afford to send her to private colleges.

When I came back after school yesterday afternoon, again I saw tears in her eyes. She asked several questions. ‘Is it wrong to get 12 As in SPM? My Malay friends who got 2As and 3 As got to do the matriculation programme, I am denied. What’s wrong? You are also a teacher just like uncle, (my Malay college in school) his son was offered a place although he scored only 5As. Why?’ I don’t have answers.

Being a teacher (I teach History and Moral Education), I teach my students to be loyal to the country, to respect the leaders, to obey the laws of the nation, to promote goodwill and so on. I encourage them to participate in ‘Rimup’ (a race integration programme among students of various races).

I do not know what to say to my daughter. I feel guilty because what I teach in school is actually rubbish, perhaps I need to tell them the reality being a non-Malay citizen of our beloved nation. For that I need to resign. Please Mr. Prime Minister, may be you have something to tell us.

27. #27 by billgates on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 9:31 pm

Win or lose in the GE doesn’t make this UMNO nuts any difference. Their recalcitrant will see them become irrelevant soon.

UMNO has lost the suport of the Malays thus the action against Makhal Osai is an act to win back Malays support. The same reason why the put Hindraf 5 into ISA.

http://pakatanrakyat-perak.blogspot.com

28. #28 by smeagroo on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 9:41 pm

Uncle Kit

why are u teaching BN n UMNO to do the right thing? Let them rot and be history in the next GE.

29. #29 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 9:42 pm

It must real painful to the UMNO leaders of the thrashing which they could not yet accept, which it has not yet sunk in.

50 years of arrogance is hard to change for the UMNO leaders, the resonance persists in their minds. The same behaviour, attitudes, UMNOPUTRA culture carries on lingering. They are still in the ivory tower.

Politically they are aggravating their early demise. It is good for the democracy in the country. The last nail will be be hammered in.

The more stupidity they commit, the earlier the days will come.

30. #30 by max2811 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 9:50 pm

Dear Penang soul,

My daughter had 11As way back in 2003. She was the top student in her school. The best school around. But she didn’t even apply for the matrix programme. She knew it was difficult to get but she also knew the products from these colleges were inferior. She did her STP and had 4As. She went to NTU, Spore. She did 3 semesters there but came back and joined UTAR when they didn’t give her a hostel place and the course of her choice. UTAR offered her a scholarship. She’s so happy now.

I think your girl has been misguided. Don’t beg. Don’t cry. Live with dignity. Hold your head up high. Only UMNO and BN don’t want clever and brilliant non-malays. There are so many choices. Try the foundation programme in UTAR. Her 12As will get her a scholarship.

31. #31 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 10:11 pm

Malaysiakini reports Apr 17, 08 8:28pm: “What is significant about the event tonight is the presence of former lord president Salleh Abas and the judges, some represented by their family members, who were implicated in the 1988 judicial crisis. It is reliably learnt that the prime minister has personally requested their presence at tonight’s event. This prompted a suggestion that Pak Lah may extend an official apology to them. Salleh was seen seated at the prime minister’s table – an honour that can best be described as long overdue for the former head of the nation’s judiciary.”

Well done Pak Lah. What better way to give your nemesis a “slap” than to honour the one he disgraced by having him sit at your table. You can call it apology or expression of regret, whichever way the substance of message is clear.

Judicial reform is the path to unroll the legacy of your nemesis.

Rationale is simple : One does not have to use words to ward off attacks. Your administration’s willingness to reform this once hallowed institution is not only a move that skeptical rakyat would approve but is an indirect statement and indictment of the predecessor’s administration that it corrupted the institution.

32. #32 by vehir on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 10:19 pm

from anilnetto.com

LIVE COVERAGE: PM announces Judicial Commission, stops short of apology
    2145: The announcement of an ex gratia payment/financial compensation has not gone down well with some of the lawyers present. There is some discussion at the dinner tables as to whether it would look as if judges could be sacked and later paid off as a crude way of saying sorry. One of the lawyers asks a family member of one of the affected judges in 1988 whether the Prime Minister’s words were sufficient and the response is an emphatic “No”.

2110: Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi has stopped short of an apology in his speech titled Delivering Justice, Renewing Trust, says one of the lawyers present. The PM says that in recognition of what the sacked judges went through in 1988 and their service, the government will make an ex gratia payment to them or their families. A Judicial Commission will be set up – not immediately, but it is in the pipeline.

2039: Ambiga is giving her speech. She acknowledges the PM’s role in loosening the tight grip on fundamental rights, a lawyer tells me. She also proposes that the original wording of Article 121(1) of the Federal Constitution be restored.

2035: PM Abdullah Badawi arrives.

2000: Present among the 650 guests are Wan Azizah, Lim Kit Siang, Salleh Abas, Dzaiddin and other judges. Gani Patail and Zaid Ibrahim are also present.

1930: The Bar Council dinner, jointly organised with the government, at the Marriot Hotel in KL gets under way. Among the guests is Samy Vellu. Lawyers murmur among themselves, “What’s he doing here?”

1800: A Singapore Straits Times report earlier today says Abdullah Badawi is expected to announce major reforms: a Judicial Commission to appoint judges, greater independence for the judiciary, financial compensation to sacked judges, and an expression of regret. We shall see. The report, however, quotes former Court of Appeal judge V C George as saying, “‘An apology or expression of regret would be sweeping everything that happened 20 years ago under the carpet… We need an investigation into the events of 1988 and to expose the conspiracy and its conspirators.”

33. #33 by hellokitty on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 10:24 pm

Dear max2811,
    What do u mean by NTU didn’t offer a course of your daughter choice when she already did 3 semester?

34. #34 by hellokitty on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 10:30 pm

Dear penang_souls,
    Dont be sadden by your daughter failure to get the admission to the matrikulasi as there are many other options that are in fact far more better than it. Just by seeing all those half past six malay students being able to get the admission, u can see the quality of the program. Btw, it is only recognize by Malaysia only and not like STPM which is world recognize.

35. #35 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:19 pm

Yes I agree that TAR College or now UTAR is a good place for further education.

Try to avoid matriculation in Malaysia as that will not be accepted if you want her to study in Singapore. I think she will also qualify for an ASEAN scholarship. Just see how Olivia Lum of Hyflux is doing – she came from a really poor back-ground but worked smart and hard but had to get to Singapore.

I think the PM’s speech was rather good. Having another RCI to probe the 1988 scandals may be too much. They can take action based on the Lingam tape report, if any.

http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/04/thats-way-mr-prime-minister-keep-it-up.html

36. #36 by bra888 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:37 pm

Government listens to the people? That’s a LIE!
    The blog below is the proof.

http://mohdalirustam.blogspot.com/

37. #37 by bra888 on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:38 pm

Government listens to the people? That’s a LIE!
    The blog below is the proof.

http://mohdalirustam.blogspot.com/

Comments was allowed before until recently it was disabled.

38. #38 by bennylohstocks on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:39 pm

39. #39 by passerby on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:53 pm

Will the government going to charge all those crook politicians, ministers, government employees for corruptions, murder and abuse of power after the judiciary reform?

Will the government going to ask these corrupt officials to account for their income and whether taxes of their income have been fully paid. We all know that:
    ASSETS + EXPENSES = INCOME
    and it is therefore not that difficult to go after these criminals, once you ask them to account for their wealth. We have seen the lifestyle of these corrupt officials and they are definitely exceeding their legitimate earnings. Can we also ask foreign government to charge these crooks for money laundering in their country?

40. #40 by Not spoon fed on Thursday, 17 April 2008 - 11:58 pm

Najib tells BN: Win over support of non-Malays – propaganda by New Straits Times.

How to win over support of non-Malays when BN is not liberal especially in religious discrimination as reported by CNN –

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/03/07/malay.elex.ap/index.html :

A key issue in the elections was the disillusionment among ethnic Chinese and Indians, who have complained about religious discrimination

What does “religious discrimaiton means?

It is a long way to go for BN before they could gain the support of non-Malays…there is no way unless they are liberal.

41. #41 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 12:25 am

Max2811, you did the right thing! but I still wonder why penang_souls wanted her daughter to do matriculation when as a teacher she knew that this certification is hardly appreciated outside the country? Are you also trying to find the easy way out in spite of your confidence that your daughter can take on an challenge facing her? Yes, Hj Angus is right either TAR College or UTAR will take her very far in the commercial sector. We in the private sector will be the judge, unless you too wanted her to join the Gomen service.
    So take heart, the world is still open and those with brains AND drives cannot lose out! Many parents have had gone through the same process with not just a little tightening of their belts.
    As Fieldman has put it to TDM ‘ even the US President could not change it if he wanted to’. What more with the present bunch?

42. #42 by HJ Angus on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 1:20 am

Please it is not Hj Angus but H.J. Angus

43. #44 by 77 on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 5:05 am

The Media freedom is dead.
    BN is still sleeping…………………………..
    Voices Of Rakyat, UMNO doesn’t llike it.

Let them continue…………………Soon all will change…………

when the PR will take the action?
    Once UMNO destroyed, Everything will solved.

44. #45 by Jeffrey on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 7:41 am

YB Kit,

Many of us are eager to hear your first-hand take on PM’s proposals of judicial reforms last night.

Malaysiakini’s Beh Lih Yi report | Apr 17, 08 8:28pm opined “BOLD – this could best describe measures promised by the government to reform the judiciary as announced by Abdullah Ahmad Badawi tonight”.

Do you agree with that assessment??

PM’s Proposals are only “in principle” broad ones as there were, according to him, other measures which would be announced in due course, (that) would form a comprehensive package of reform to strengthen the capacity and credibility of the judiciary”.

I think compared to the state of judiciary that we have had since 1988 with the climax in Lingam Video enquiry, his proposals are bold – it is a correct first step in the right direction – but the jury is still out until they are implemented.

And it is ‘implementation’ that has always been the problem beleaguering his administration from day one…Whatever he proposes, implementers and administrators and even cabinet officers all around may dilly dally, resist if not downright oppose or hijack the agenda: the system is screwed up!

And it is not only PM – you can ask Pakatan Selangor Khalid Ibrahim running Selangor state. He is doing the right thing to address the long standing problems of Selangor land registries and office that sometimes take as long as 2 years to register a land dealing, now facing problems of fraud with one title having 6 different owners!!!!!!!, and any land administrator or registrar who is not corrupt and efficient, he would be transferred out ahd have his house burnt instead for disturbing vested interests – Khalid said he would try to solve all these in 6 months, I think it would be challenging even if the time table were 6 years.

When Opposition rules, you will know the problems.

45. #46 by Jeffrey on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 8:00 am

Although government would not tender an apology on grounds that “it is not wise or useful to revisit this past decision as it would serve to prolong the sense of crisis – something our nation can do without” (per AAB), the PM, sounding apologetic, did say he acknowledged the “pain and loss” the affected parties had endured and announced that the government will make goodwill ex-gratia payment to the six judges implicated in the 1988 crisis, three of whom were later removed”. On the payment, Abdullah pleaded, “I do not presume to equate your contribution, pain and loss with mere currency but I hope you could accept this as a heartfelt and sincere gesture to mend what had been”.

I know it didn’t go down well with some lawyers. Money can’t buy everything with principled judges wronged. However if he had apologized, it would have same consequences of having to effect judicial reform and also give compensation (as a legal obligation) and not ex gratia…..

It is acts that count and not semantic words whether ‘apology’ or ‘regret’ or ‘I understand your pain, let me honour you by having you sit next to me’ etc. What he had done in the dinner should have achieved indirectly a large measure of what a formal apology would have done.

The government is not making explicit apology because the sacking of Tun Salleh Abas and other judges was ostensibly effected by a “tribunal” which though chaired by “conflict of interest’ Tun Hamid had other judicial luminaries and judges from other common wealth countries.

Whatever may be going on behind the scenes of which we could suspect but have no proof – that would be the excuse of TDM who said he was not responsible for the crisis.

If the government apologized for what TDM’s government did in 1988, it would provide ammunition to TDM to attack by saying:

1. present government is populist, pandering to popular demand without knowing what is right and wrong, apologizing for nothing;

2. which only proves present government under AAB has no substance and has no direction but just a lallang bending to the winds of populism, cries and demands of opposition and civil society critics.

46. #47 by ktteokt on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 8:08 am

What Makhal Osai is facing now is analogous to Nanyang. Nanyang was “bought up” by MCA just to “silence” it but at least it was viewed as a “commercial transaction”. What BN is doing now is true tyranny, denying the Tamil daily its publication licence without assigning legitimate reasons for its action.

47. #48 by Jeffrey on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 8:15 am

YB this govt cannot apologise at this juncture for what Mahathir’s govt had done wrong to judiciary until – no matter what popular opinion or informed and learned opinion from legal fraternity and civil society stakeholders – until and unless there is or has been in relation to law or investigation and a hearing under what is generally known as “due process” to adjudicate, make findings and determine with stamp of finality that TDM’s govt had actually done wrong to judiciary. One of the ways is Royal Commission of Enquiry to dig up Tun Mahathir’s and Tun Hamid’s respective roles, and such RCE has so established the fact. This however is not going to happen as PM said “it is not wise or useful to revisit this past decision as it would serve to prolong the sense of crisis – something our nation can do without”…Of course it would dig out other unsavory parts as well, so it is better to move on to make things better rather than revisit to open the Pandora Box that shows many had sinned and each had something holding on the other. Moving forward, the most important thing that we should concentrate on is the establishment of Judicial Commision promised and the criteria of appointment of its members that civil society stakeholders and legal fraternity must have a say!

48. #49 by Jeffrey on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 8:24 am

In RCE, we don’t exactly need but it would be preferable to call all 6 exjudges to depose and testify as to what had happened in 1988 but now 2 of them Wan Suleiman Pawanteh and Eusoffe Abdoolcader, had already passed away. You call TDM and Tun Hamid, they might say, “I don’t remember” and meanwhile all other allegations and counter allegations will surface tarring don’t know how many people like what Lingam Commission did, which course would not serve BN’s cause, will neutralise and negate all so called good the BN tries now to desperately redeem its image by launching bold judicial reforms. This is their angle.

49. #50 by PSM on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 9:51 am

Dear Penang_soul,

If u do read this know that your daughter is one of the many Non-Malay (yes, here we go again, Race-based Politics!) who do well in School, yet do not have a chance of Scholarships or University places.
    Try to get her into one of the private Colleges (I think they do have Scholarships). If all else fails, there is always Singapore! Singapore will welcome her with a Scholarship & a University place. WAnd when she passes out, Singapore will give her a “good” job & a PR!
    Let’s face it, until & unless is finally “kicked-out”, the Non-Malays will always be Second-class citizens!

50. #51 by PSM on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 9:52 am

Sorry, Unless UMNO is finaly kicked-out!

51. #52 by Godfather on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 9:54 am

It’s business as usual, folks !

52. #53 by Godfather on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 9:55 am

“I have big ears.” AAB, 2007

“I have two ears.” AAB, 2008

53. #54 by ktteokt on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 12:11 pm

Godfather, what good are two big ears which are not equipped with eardrums?

54. #55 by wag-the-dog on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 1:02 pm

Under threat? What threat?

BRAVE NEW WORLD By AZMI SHAROM

Since the recent general election, voices have risen up in a shrill warning cry that the Malays are now ‘under threat’. But perhaps the real threat is the threat to Umno hegemony.

AND so it begins. Race-based rhetoric has raised its ugly little head in response to a democratic process. Over 49% of the people of Malaysia have voted for parties that have rejected race-based affirmative action in favour of a needs-based platform.

VIsit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details

55. #56 by max2811 on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 2:03 pm

Dear Hellokitty,
    She wasn’t given a course of her choice in the first place. But she went anyway, hoping to change the course midway. Her course requires her to do many subjects, some of which, she doesn’t like at all.

NTU doesn’t give automatic hostel places to international students after the 2nd semester. A single room outside comes to about RM900. The bus fare and food will really burn a hole in your pocket.She was given 80% tuition grant. The balance 20% and the living expenses come from two other loans. The short stint she had in Spore costs me around RM60K.

Studying hours were like up to 4 or 5 in the morning! She has to compete with the best in Asia. A 6 hour sleep is a luxury. I have considered the after graduation working conditions. There is no life in Spore. They live their lives to work. Not work to have a comfortable and meaningful life.

She’s so happy now. Contributing so much to the coursemates with her experience from NTU. The learnng enviroment in UTAR is very good. Practically everybody studies very hard, not like the IPTAs. The lecturers are very knowledgeable and helpful. The hostel near UTAR is also well managed. Try it. You won’t regret.

56. #57 by Godfather on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 4:25 pm

Jeffrey:

We have been conned yet again. There is no apology, no commission of inquiry into the events of 1988, no truly independent judicial commission for the appointment and promotion of judges (since the PM has the final say).

Nothing has changed with this bunch of thieves. The only cosmetic difference is the cash paid out to Salleh Abas and his ex-colleagues.

57. #58 by cheng on soo on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 6:40 pm

“Najib tells BN: Win over support from non-Malays”, how to??, when u hv madmix n penang soul daughter cases,
    I also hv a relative who graduated with a first class honour in Engineering from UM, and yet when he apply to do research in engineering at UM (for master in a subject with his professor recommendation), he got a reply from UM is “Kurang sesuai”, i.e he was rejected

58. #59 by cheng on soo on Friday, 18 April 2008 - 6:43 pm

no need moderation, just throw away my comment lah!

59. #60 by TTDI_KL on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 4:16 pm

Nothing has changed with this bunch of thieves. The only cosmetic difference is the cash paid out to Salleh Abas and his ex-colleagues.

But paid by us the taxpayers. I thought those responsible should pay.

60. #61 by Evenmind on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 5:24 pm

Before elections , it has been always race based politics for UMNO , after election its even more hardcore race based politics, these moronic parasites would not change , i’m longing for the day when they will go into oblivion.

61. #62 by mysinSing on Saturday, 19 April 2008 - 10:36 pm

To Max 2811,
    I think people have a clear misconception about studying in Singapore.I am a Malaysian student studying in NUS honestly don’t remember a single day where I have to wake up at 4 or 5 in the morning to study.Yet,I am still a top student there.The issue is really about understanding what you are studying.If you really grasp the concept well,you can score in the exams with ease,frankly speaking.People are studying more than 10 hours per day because they have to memorize every single question to be able to answer their exam questions,but they are seldom in the dean’s list.Also, you need to demonstrate your capabilities to be able to stay in hostel as there are many students vying for the hostel places.If a student is active in ECA’s and demonstrate leadership capabilities,there is no reason why they would not let you stay in the hostel.Personally,I think your statement that they have no life is very far-fetched, just because of your daughter’s experience.By the way,SPM is no way to measure a person’s success, so please don’t think that by having 11A’s or 12A’s means that you must get a scholarship.5 years ago,I was in that position.But now I am glad that I didn’t receive any Malaysian government scholarship and get tied down by them.I am grateful for the scholarship that Singapore has given me as well as selected me for many enhancement program that gave me the chance to improve myself.

62. #63 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 10:35 am

There are so many A’s in Malaysia, do u know why, look at the multiple choice questions, who owned these printing companies, if I’m not mistaken most of the education publishers belong to the UMNO members.