Suggestions for more suitable term than Pakatan Rakyat are most welcome

Many suggestions have been made for a more suitable term than Pakatan Rakyat for the proposed co-operation of KeADILan, DAP and PAS as a follow-up to the March 8, 2008 general election results for the common objective to promote justice, freedom, democracy, integrity and good governance in Malaysia.

When the term Pakatan Rakyat was tentatively chosen, the consensus was to avoid the use of the term “Barisan”.

The term Pakatan Rakyat is subject to the confirmation by the respective leadership of the three parties. Suggestions for a more suitable term than Pakatan Rakyat are most welcome.

Statements issued in the past three days have raised the question whether all the three parties have fully learnt the lessons of the 2001 crisis of the Barisan Alternative, where the DAP had to leave the opposition coalition because of PAS’ insistence to pursue the Islamic State objective, which was not in the common Barisan Alternative manifesto.

These statements include that of the Kelantan Deputy Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Yaakub that “Pas wajar menjadi tunjung kepada pakatan itu sekiranya ia mahu merealisasikan impian menubuhkan sebuah Negara Islam”, and the full support given to this statement by Dewan Pemuda PAS Kelantan and the statement by the press secretary to Pas president Roslan Shahir Mohd Shahir that “the values of the Islamic state were already incorporated in the Negara Berkebajikan” and that “In states where Pas is the dominant party, we will try to set up an Islamic state”.

It is clear that the proposed co-operation of the three political parties in a new front in post-March 8 political scenario has to proceed with caution to ensure that all levels of leadership of the respective parties fully understand the basis of co-operation of the three parties which will not lend themselves to inter and intra-party differences and exploitation by political foes, as well as avoid the repetition of the 2001 break-up of Barisan Alternative.

1. #1 by Taikor on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:00 pm

Wait a minute… I don’t get it. Can the government be changed through such a way? Majority of the people did not vote for the oppositions so why not respect that and leave the replacement of new government in the next election?

If members of the constituencies can simply jump here and there to form new government, what’s the purpose of voting??

What kind of politics are we playing?

Sorry, I’m not against the oppositions forming new government. In fact, I supported the opposition parties but if we simply corrupt the political system and ignore the people’s choice (Sabah & Sarawak), the system will begin to atrophy.

As I said, Malaysia’s democracy is a farce like America and Singapore. Don’t make us the number one.

2. #2 by petestop on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:15 pm

Indeed, DAP should tread carefully in this alliances.

We don’t want DAP to lose its ideals for the sake of governing in a coalition government.

Malaysian First and a Secular Malaysia with Islam as official religion should never be compromised.

If DAP starts comprimising it may one day loses its backbone, just like what happened to Gerakan.

3. #3 by Godfather on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:16 pm

Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia as suggested by a writer in another thread. Or Pakatan Rakyat SeMalaysia in order to avoid confusion with the initials PRM of a now-defunct political party.

4. #4 by anak merdeka on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:21 pm

As long as PAS does not come outright to declare that they are dropping the Islamic State objective, then DAP should really play safe. Another stab behind DAP’s back will be fatal this time around.

5. #5 by Libra2 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:24 pm

But in English it sounds fine to me – People’s Alliance –

But ‘Alliance’ was the Barisan’s predecessor.
    With so many brains in the DAP I am sure we can come out with another name. But then, what’s there in a name?

6. #6 by cmbss on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:27 pm

There cohesion among the 3 component must be seen and practice.

The statement post by Anwar Inbrahim and the Joint Statement on trhe same day Pakatan Rakyat is proposed reflect contradiction.

How would this Pakatan able to last if the fundamental issue is not be sincerely dealth with from the onset?

All the main discrepancies must be resolved to avoid the perception of marriage for convernience.

http://anwaribrahimblog.com/2008/04/02/muafakat-berasaskan-kematangan-hak-rakyat-terjamin/

“……Muafakat tersebut berlandaskan agenda perubahan – negara hukum, keadilan – serta berteraskan prinsip Perlembagaan. Ini bermakna hak dan kebebasan rakyat terjamin dan kedudukan Islam sebagai agama Persekutuan, Bahasa Kebangsaan dan hak keistimewaan Melayu dan Bumiputera tetap dipertahankan…..”

http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2008/04/01/pakatan-rakyat-%e2%80%93-logical-next-step-of-march-8-political-tsunami/

“……Pakatan Rakyat pledges to uphold the rights and interests of all Malaysians, regardless of religion or race, as enshrined in the Constitution……”

Why is Anwar still talking about race? This hiprocrisy is disturbing especially the above statement was posted within hour on the same day that Pakatan Rakyat was mooted on 1 April 2008.

7. #7 by lkt-56 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:30 pm

It is clear that the proposed co-operation of the three political parties in a new front in post-March 8 political scenario has to proceed with caution to ensure that all levels of leadership of the respective parties fully understand the basis of co-operation of the three parties which will not lend themselves to inter and intra-party differences and exploitation by political foes, as well as avoid the repetition of the 2001 break-up of Barisan Alternative.

Kit,
    Your approach is pragmatic and gives hope to those of us aspiring for CHANGE.

For a real chance of forming the next government, the three parties must venture beyond just trying to work together in a manner that will not expose the coalition to exploitation by the incumbent government. They must make a serious attempt to understand each others aspirations/vision for the NEW MALAYSIA. A MEETING OF MINDS is required in order to go all the way to achieve our dream.

I HOPE THAT….
    1) All three parties in the coalition will try to fully understand each others aspiration.
    2) The leaders of the respective coalition partners sincerely strive to share with one another their visions for the NEW MALAYSIA, their FEARS, their DOUBTS….

I HOPE FOR A….
    TRUE MEETING OF MINDS

The people need you to take the lead….. :)

8. #8 by Bobster on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:31 pm

PR should ensure no more party hopping next coming election. Foresee many Tom, Dick and Hairy going to become ‘politicians’ to make quick buck. Rakyat will continue to be the lossers end of the day. If Tom, Dick and Hairy decide to resign or jump party that’s find, make them pay the penalty, call for re-election, rakyat to decide.

Barisan Rakyat sounds better. Anyway, whatever you name it, hope it PKR/DAP/PAS can withstand storms and sunshine for the sake of the country. Putting plight of the rakyat above personal agendas.

9. #9 by seage on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:32 pm

YB LKS,

You may want to consider Persepaduan Rakyat.

10. #10 by home run on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:35 pm

I like the former thailand party name , something like ” Thai Rak Thai” – is that mean Thai Love Thai.

Love is the KEY WORD – it is there to remind us that we need LOVE to bind all Malaysian TOGETHER!!!!.

How about ” MY LOVE ONES ”
    MY – is short for Malaysia. or MYLO in short.
    In Hokkien, have to change to ” AILO “…ha..

11. #11 by chanjoe on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:36 pm

yes, I think the name is not impt but wat is wrking behind is more impt.

SINCERITY is the most impt of all and with the ultimate desire of all to work for and towards a common GOAL, then whatever name will be ok.

The GOAL shall be for the betterment of the Govt and the people.

Once again, I wish to propose to all 3 parties to conduct professional public relations courses for all elected reps and their assistants who deals with the rakyat. You all must not only be fair, hardworking and determined to work be must actually be seen to be doing just that.

To avoid repeats of sudden outbursts of feelings that may hurt others or throw tantrums (like Sivasubra), all reps must undergo such courses to be better equiped with the wisdoms of seeing the Macro and not the micro.

Work and think professionally as now all must be working with a much better system as you are now the Govt…so be prepared and trained for future positions as the Federal Govt.

All the best…go corporate…go professional….it will do you lots of good.

12. #12 by lkt-56 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:41 pm

How about:

People’s Aspirations or

Cita cita Rakyat

13. #13 by home run on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 5:51 pm

MY Sejahtera
    MY Sejahtera MY Sejahtera MY Sejahtera MY Sejahtera

14. #14 by strupper2003 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 6:18 pm

I remember vividly how Abdul Hadi Awang likened Lim Kit Siang and Karpal Singh to “expired medicine.”

Forgive don’t forget.

15. #15 by DoingTheRightThing on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 6:41 pm

Dear Kit,

Whatever happen in 2001 may not be forgetten easily but life must go on.

At the end of the day, people of Malaysia must benefit from co-operation of DAP-PKR-PAS. The ideology of these three parties has been acknowledged but should NOT be the stumbling block for benefit of Malaysian.

Thus, the best name should People’s Party or Parti Rakyat. At the end of the day, the agenda is struggle towards raceless, and colour blind. We have to move towrds that not backwards.

We have achieved the “50 years is enough” agenda whereby we have broken the race-based parties’ agenda and move towards people-based ( clour-blind) parties’.

We have a long way to go. A thousand miles journey starts with a first step.

Long Live People’s Party. Let move on 5o years down the road and beyond.

16. #16 by cklife on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:26 pm

Proposal:-

Senjata Rakyat

Pakatan Bersatu

Geng 3

Kumpulan Helang

Budak Budak Pembangkang

Heroes Malaysia

Geng 3746

Anwar-KitSiang-Hadi Bersatu

17. #17 by Freehand on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:27 pm

Dear Kit,

Pakatan..hmmm… you know chinese always associate “pakat” with something that’s evil, unethical or not acceptable that form between two or more person or group? When i was a kid, i really dislike the word pakat, which for me is something disgusting that form between others even among my kid friend that bear the meaning cheating or taking advantage etc etc…. Therefore it’s crucial by hook or by crook to drop the word pakatan from the newly form alliance sooner or later

18. #18 by tclyn on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:32 pm

Actually, Pakatan Rakyat sounds okay. PAKAR for short.

Here is one name that comes to mind, in BM and in English:

Organisasi Hak sePadu Malaysia (HAKami)
    Orgainsation for United Rights in Malaysia (OURights)

19. #19 by AnakJohor on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:33 pm

I suggest “KEPADA Rakyat”, which symbolizes the KE-ADILAN, PA-S and DA-P.

20. #20 by k1980 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:33 pm

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah made a hard-hitting speech in which he attack the current Umno leadership in his speech at the Gua Musang division’s special meeting today. He lamented that Umno is now suffering from the perception that it no longer cares for the poor, that it has become a party of ‘Malay fanatics’ and that its leaders are corrupt.

http://maverickysm.blogspot.com/2008/04/tengku-razaleigh-umno-leaders-are-buaya.html

21. #21 by k1980 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:41 pm

To avoid the use of the term “Barisan”, PR ought to take the name of “Gagasan Malaysia”. Geng 3, Budak-Budak Pembangkang ect as suggested by cklife is already reserved for BN when it becomes the opposition in the remaining 8 states in the not too distant future

22. #22 by jane1 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:42 pm

Pakatan Rakyat sounds nice. What about Perikatan Rakyat? The most important thing is the 3 parties have a common name. At least don’t let people call you “the opposition” again.

23. #23 by Freehand on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:48 pm

i suggest why not just use something like

Party Rakyat Malaysia

The name shall center at OF MALAYSIAN, BY MALAYSIAN AND FOR ALL MALAYSIAN and therefore the term rakyat should be there ever since it’s the rakyat that demand changes but whether we need to emphasized on plural(coalition) or singular (such as the word “party” only) that we really need to work out.

24. #24 by ahpiow on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:53 pm

I think there is nothing wrong in the name Pakatan Rakyat. However the word “pakatan” may be loosely intepreted into English to mean “a secrecy pact” of the People. Possibly some BN politicians may actually use this translation for their ulterior motives in the future. Maybe a better name would be Parti Rakyat, still retain PR.

The main concern of the rakyat at this phase is for the PR coalition to work things out to ensure long-term viability, and to capture more states in the next GE. Who becomes the PM is not important as long as the people’s welfare is the goal.

25. #25 by haveaview on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:53 pm

Sir,

PAKATAN RAKYAT is just alright……strong with people in mind…

Just make it “:beautiful” with good news for next 5 years….

26. #26 by devilmaster on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 7:55 pm

Pakatan Rakyat(People’s Alliance) sounds fine to me. There’s no need to change.

“Pakatan” means coalition whereby all parties will have mutual respect for each other. None can exert power over another.
    “Rakyat” of course means us la. Makkal Sakthi.

27. #27 by Killer on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 8:04 pm

Well Kit

Looking at cutthroat jostling for positions and intense politicking that is happening behind the scenes, Penyangak Rakyat is most appropriate.

Sad but true, but the lamentable behaviour of DAP/PKR/PAS reps has already shown that power corrupts and it has been just a month, these folks are already been biten and blinded by the serpent of power and untold riches that this entails. In matters of week these reps are drunk with the nectar of political strength and behaving no better than the very people they had criticised in the past.

Kit, you might be sitting on a moral and political high horse but your guys and gals are wrestling with the pigs in the muddly fields.

I am might be too early to judge, but PR has already failed the very people who elected you.

28. #28 by enid on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 8:07 pm

How about the following names (I am claiming copyright.. hehe.. just in case you use this, I will charge) :

“Gabungan Rakyat” = “People’s Alliance”

29. #29 by kickbutt on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 8:08 pm

Time to stop the Makkal Sakti sh*t. It is “people power” – that’s what it is.

30. #30 by sheriff singh on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 8:35 pm

“Pakatan” is not “Alliance” according to the dictionary.
    “Perikatan” is “Alliance” or “Union, United”.

“Pakatan” does have bad connotations in many circumstances. It just don’t sound right if you use the word “pakatan” colloquially.

So call it Perikatan Rakyat Malaysia (PeRak) – Malaysian Peoples’ Alliance (MPA).

31. #31 by limkamput on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 8:39 pm

Sdr Kit,
    What is in the name? Black cat, white cat, does it matter so long as it can catch a mouse? I think you are troubled not by the name, but more by the troubling statements made by PAS leaders. If you have read the postings in “Pakatan Rakyat – logical next step of March 8 political tsunami”, I think there are many who have expressed reservation and concern on this issue.

I think DAP must decide whether the party want to work with or work for PAS and PKR. I wish to highlight for your attention a statement made by Tian Chua in the NSTP today, “If people want to ask how PKR and DAP can work with PAS, then the same logic must be applied to how Umno can work with MCA and MIC.” I think this is a stupid observation! As far as I know, MCA and MIC did NOT work with UMNO, they docilely served UMNO. So, the most fundamental issue faces DAP is: does the party want to serve PAS or work with PAS? If a PKR leader and MP can’t see the subtlety involved, what hope do the grassroots have?

DAP must be an equal partner, never subservient to any party in PR. The moment you sense it, walk away. They need DAP as much as DAP need them.

32. #32 by Penang_soul on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:00 pm

I think the best name is “GAGASAN MALAYSIA”

33. #33 by sheriff singh on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:00 pm

A good “Brand” name is important if one wants to be successful.

A “poor” brand name would not “inspire” and would probably lead to nowhere.

All said, at the end of the day, everyone within must work together, have mutual respect for each other and support each other. Otherwise it will lead to ruin and failure like that “Barisan” which got lost many, many miles ago.

34. #34 by Penang_soul on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:00 pm

Or “GAGASAN RAKYAT MALAYSIA”

35. #35 by Penang_soul on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:01 pm

GAGASAN RAKYAT MALAYSIA sounds great and sounds gigantic and powerful

36. #36 by Blind Faith on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:05 pm

Some suggestions:

Rakyat Bersatu

Malaysia Bersatu

Tindakan Rakyat

Tindakan SeMalaysia

Tindakan Keadilan SeMalaysia

Tenaga Rakyat

37. #37 by max2811 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:10 pm

There will be problems at the beginning. How problems are solved is very important. DAP must never give in to demands on human rights, religion, meritocracy and fair play.

There will be members from DAP/PKR/PAS who will behave like the BN people. There will be corruption, nepotism, cronism and racism. In fact, some of your ppl are already being racist and power hungry.

The country has never been so divided. But things have got to change. We need better people to lead. Spore has a 6 month stockpile of rice. We only have two weeks.

Intelligent and honest people are wiser and make better decisions. But the BN gov still has a knife-wielding mad man as a minister. A money launderer caught in Austalia. A stupid woman who wanted a sports complex build in London.

God help Msia!

38. #38 by a_better_malaysia on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:16 pm

I agree with Penang_soul that GAGASAN RAKYAT MALAYSIA is a suitable name for the opposition coalition as this name suggests that MALAYSIAN CITIZENS are of a STRONG FRONT who could RESIST any form of HINDRANCE.

39. #39 by skyquest2000 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:17 pm

Dear friends, my blog and Facebook account have become cobweb for past two weeks. I have not had the chance to even open my email for past two weeks. My life becomes much more busier after swearing in as state exco, so many people want to see me, besides government business, I am also trying my best to meet the constituents in order to thank them and build rapport with them.

These are the words from one of the members of the former opposisition camp. However, there is a member from the same party who are also elected state assemblyman siiting on the fence with nothing much to do for the time being,although he is the most experineced and capable of the pack. I feel sorry for him.

40. #40 by david chew on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:25 pm

Uncle Kit,

How about Perpaduan Rakyat? Perpaduan infers unity for common cause, and that was exactly what DAP, PKRM and PAS did in the last GE and you won 82 parliamentary seats and 5 state govts. Pakatan suggests something more secretive and also “alliance” which I think would as unacceptable as “barisan”. You can still retain your PR initials in Perpaduan Rakyat. Just my 2 sen worth

41. #41 by One4All4One on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:30 pm

One4All4One Says:

Today at 21: 17.23 (11 minutes ago)
    We all seem to always forget the basic and fundamental principle of Freedom.

Freedom as it should be is the inalienable, inherent and God-given right of EVERY man (woman included, of course) to be what he/she wants to be or do. Of course with the condition of not harming or hurting another soul in his quest.

Man is clever enough to be himself and should be allowed to be himself. None can intefere with his being himself.

Rules and regulations happen to be conditions imposed in a controlled environment, and as such is ‘artificial’. As long as one does not bother with the rules, the rules should not bother him.

We often forgot about Nature, to which we belong , just like any other naturally found entities. And nature has its rules, to which we conform naturally.

To say so , of course is not to advocate the law of the jungle. Mankind is of a higher order, and has an intrinsic desire to understand his being, though of course bound by certain limititations.

As for religion, it should be left to the individual, upon reaching adulthood, to seek and understand its significance to his own existence. We are not living in a primitive envoronment. Man is capable of discerning right from wrong; evil from good; current vs archaic; coloured vs. pure; truth from falsehood. And time would attest to all what and which had been done.

Let us not be hypocrite in our own midst. If we do not know better, it would just be wise to let the other person who knows better to answer. LEt us be honest , very honest about what we can and what we can’t be.

Let’s not abuse religions and beliefs for our own benefit. It is because of this misguided and selfish stand which brought about untold miseries and misunderstanding among man.

Had those people who vied for power of position and influence been sincere, honest, responsible, truthful, there would be much, much lesser problems and strife happening around us.

Let us hope that good sense would prevail in our beloved country.
    We are One. United we stand, Divided we fall.

It is funny. Malaysian leaders travelled far and wide to promote peace and harmony. However, in our very own backyard, members from opposition political parties, though ’sama-sama’ malaysians, are treated as aliens and enemies who are to be run down at any cost. And the enmity is so real and unbearable at times.

Come on people. Just different political parties only what. Aren’t you guys professing to work for the good of the country? Why bicker among yourselves? Shame on you! Grow up man. It is just a game you guys are playing. Be gentleman enough to accept defeat. And be magnanimous enough in victory. Shake hands after the ‘game’ (election) and proceed to do your respective work. Don’t sulk, nor be arrogant.

Well, enough of analysis after analysis had been made of the GE2008 (3/8). A loss is a loss. If you wish to win again, try again lah the next time. Do your homework , be really good, and the rest will take care of itself.

THere is so much to be done. THe people at large are expecting results. They need help and assistance; making a living is hard enough, don’t make it harder. Some would have it easier for reasons they know better. But not all, the majority of them in fact, do not have it easy. THey have to slog day in day out. Give them a hand.

Hey guys, BN or PR, go around hug one another. Be friends. THe divide between you guys is an artificial one. Don’t lose your senses over politicking. Are’nt you guys suppose to be working for all of us? IF you fight so much, you won’t have much time to do your work. Now that you fellows have different states to manage, it seems more reasonable and sensible. Just politicking and not working (administrating and running the states) would be too easy. Likewise, just working and less politiking makes politics boring.

Well…good luck to all of you.

42. #42 by lbl on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:41 pm

YB,
    I think the Pakatan Rakyat(PR) should stay for the moment until the next Election. If PK could form the Government, then a confirmed name will be in order.
    I think the Opposition parties have still not adjusted on what formula to use in seat allocation.Should PR form the next Government, then we will see a clearer picture of the DAP, PKR and PAS.Which party will get what posts etc.
    Hopefully States under the PR will let us know what they have un-covered during the BN’s rule. The newspaper seldom tell us the full story of what is happening.

43. #43 by cklife on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:44 pm

How about PANTAT?

PArti Tindakan Atas Tekanan

44. #44 by OCSunny on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:54 pm

What about Parti DapaskeADILan which is a combination Dap+Pas+KeADILan. The emphasis is ADIL meaning fairness to all things.

45. #45 by ktteokt on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:54 pm

PR is meaningful as it also denotes “public relations” which is all part of politics. Leave the name as it is. “Let sleeping dogs lie”.

46. #46 by yhsiew on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 9:59 pm

Any party name involving the use of such words as “alliance”, “united”, “pact” etc. is unsuitable as it implies that the party is made up of many races – we have had enough from race-based parties such as UMNO, MCA, Gerakan and MIC for the past 50 years.

To forget about race, why not just call it Parti Tsunami? Such a non race-based name not only reminds us how BR started but also propels party members to move forward like a powerful tsunami.

47. #47 by Jong on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:00 pm

Today 4 Apr 2008 at 19: 33.51
    I suggest “KEPADA Rakyat”, which symbolizes the KE-ADILAN, PA-S and DA-P. ~ AnakJohor

– “Kepada Rakyat” I think that’s very suitable!
    A union for the rakyat, by the rakyat. I second AnakJohor’s suggestion.

48. #48 by penang308 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:09 pm

I agreed with DoingTheRightThing’s suggestion “Parti Rakyat”. Just imagine, whenever the newsreader read the word “Parti Rakyat”, it give a sense of belonging that the party belongs to the “PEOPLE”!

As to whether the 3 parties capable of maintaining a long working relationship? Answer: The 3 leaders have to take the initiative to sought out whatever problems they have in the past…Relationship building.

Maybe, muslim leader visit churches and temples, and christian/buddhist/hindus leaders visit mosques in reciprocate…hey, there is only 1 god remember!

49. #49 by kickbutt on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:09 pm

DAP leaders must be congratulated for having the wisdom, leadership and the foresight to do what is politically expedient in the interest of long term political stability within the so-called alliance. Only a person with an attap type education would say DAP in Perak by being ‘subservient’ to PKR and PAS is playing the same role as MCA. Cooperation for the common good is NOT subservience.

50. #50 by lkt-56 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:10 pm

limkamput says:
    As far as I know, MCA and MIC did NOT work with UMNO, they docilely served UMNO. So, the most fundamental issue faces DAP is: does the party want to serve PAS or work with PAS?

I am sure all of us know that the partnership should strive for equality. For it is cooperation in the RIGHT SPIRIT that the coalition will move towards the next step of removing an incumbent administration that has overstayed its welcome.

It calls for wisdom and maturity in the leadership of the coalition to approach each other with an open mind, mutal respect, and due consideration for each others aspirations… and above all to remember that the interests of the people is above all else.

May I suggest that as a first step to get the coalition off onto a positive start, the joint secretariat should focus on issues that are not difficult to tackle (or divisive). Eg. The repeal of ISA, UCCA, OSA, Corruption, Poverty.

Only when they get to know one another better and are comfortable with each other should they tackle the more difficult issues like the position of Islam and Malays rights.

Suggestions of keeping each other at arms length is just simply foolish as the relationship would have gotten off at the wrong footing right from the beginning and the coalitin will be headed for failure which is not what the people wants.

I trust that the leadership in the coalition has enough wisdom to make what we have been dreaming of for a long time… One People One Nation…. become a REALITY and not just a DREAM. ;)

51. #51 by ric23_my on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:12 pm

Common name is not important, common goal is more important

http://my2cents2u.blogspot.com/

52. #52 by chanjoe on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:12 pm

Hey…I agree with david chew that the most perfect word is “PERPADUAN RAKYAT”

Perpaduan is unity n is the most appropriate word cuz unity is what lead to the best show on March 8.

53. #53 by octo61 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:28 pm

Sorry Unc Kit, can’t buy this..

Statements issued in the past three days have raised the question whether all the three parties have fully learnt the lessons of the 2001 crisis of the Barisan Alternative, where the DAP had to leave the opposition coalition because of PAS’ insistence to pursue the Islamic State objective, which was not in the common Barisan Alternative manifesto.

These statements include that of the Kelantan Deputy Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Yaakub that “Pas wajar menjadi tunjung kepada pakatan itu sekiranya ia mahu merealisasikan impian menubuhkan sebuah Negara Islam”, and the full support given to this statement by Dewan Pemuda PAS Kelantan and the statement by the press secretary to Pas president Roslan Shahir Mohd Shahir that “the values of the Islamic state were already incorporated in the Negara Berkebajikan” and that “In states where Pas is the dominant party, we will try to set up an Islamic state”.

We are to believe statements from minnows like a deputy MB and a press secretary? I’ll believe it if the President Haji Hadi and Nik Aziz comes out with sincere statements.. something like “For the sake of this Pakatan, we WILL NOT be pursuing the Islamic State Agenda for Malaysia or we agree that Malaysia is and will remain a secular state”

I hope Uncle Kit will get them to agree to this.

54. #54 by smeagroo on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:29 pm

Freedom Frontiers

55. #55 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:30 pm

“DAP must be an equal partner, never subservient to any party in PR. The moment you sense it, walk away. They need DAP as much as DAP need them.” Limkamput

Clap! Clap! Wow! Such display of loyalty to party is rare and a quality that DAP leaders henceforth must not only take note but emulate.

This is a lot of bull!

We are not talking negotiation here but cooperation. You do not walk away from your problems. Since when walking away from problems is a solution to anything??

56. #56 by fjjs on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:39 pm

In my opinion, the name of the coalition is not important. The Rakyat will support whichever government that is just and fair and look after the rakyat.

Every people may establish what form of government they please, and change it as they please, the will of the nation being the only thing essential.

Government should be judged by how well it meets its legitimate objectives. Good government is that which most effectively secures the rights of the people and the fruits of their labor, promotes their happiness, and does their will.

The care of human life and happiness and not their destruction is the first and only legitimate object of good government

The only orthodox object of the institution of government is to secure the greatest degree of happiness possible to the general mass of those associated under it.

The first object of human association is the full improvement of their condition.

The happiness and prosperity of our citizens… is the only legitimate object of government and the first duty of governors.

The energies of the nation… shall be reserved for improvement of the condition of man, not wasted in his destruction.

The freedom and happiness of man are the sole objects of all legitimate government.

To preserve the peace of our fellow citizens, promote their prosperity and happiness, reunite opinion, cultivate a spirit of candor, moderation, charity and forbearance toward one another, are objects calling for the efforts and sacrifices of every good man and patriot. Our religion enjoins it; our happiness demands it; and no sacrifice is requisite but of passions hostile to both.

All religions are equally independent here, our laws knowing no distinction of country, of classes among individuals and with nations, our creed is justice and reciprocity.

57. #57 by limkamput on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:40 pm

I think the real message in this thread is not soliciting for names. I think Sdr Lim is deeply troubled by the statements made by PAS leaders over the past few days. We can have lots of wishful thinking like: the leaders must work together for the common good, give and take, compromise, trust each others, act maturely and wisely, tolerant, due considerations for each others’ aspiration, etc. but when the reality of power sharing and politics bite, things will turn nasty.

I think PAS is beginning to flex its muscle to extend the party’s (not PR’s) aspiration. I can’t help but amazed by the continuous assumption shown by many here that only politicians and component parties in BN are motivated by corruption, personal ambition, racism and intolerance. I think far from it. Parties in PR are equally capable of being motivated by the same unless extreme party philosophies are quickly truncated and proper institutional checks and balance put in place to ensure common good prevail over parochial interests as demonstrated by PAS statements.

58. #58 by wtf2 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:44 pm

before the alliance cracks under individual pursuit of their ideals they should first get a replacement for the so called speaker of the parliament, find some better person to replace the AG as part of the judiciary renewal programme. These are concrete first steps towards democracy and separation of judiciary and the governing body.

59. #59 by kickbutt on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:46 pm

“I can’t help but amazed by the continuous assumption shown by many here that only politicians and component parties in BN are motivated by corruption, personal ambition, racism and intolerance. I think far from it. Parties in PR are equally capable of being motivated by the same…” limkamput

I agree with limkamput. DAP politicians are no less corrupt.

60. #60 by limkamput on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:53 pm

Undergrad2, I don’t know your actual motivation when you made those comments. Despite that, I still feel that you can make much well thought out comments than that. Please don’t be consumed by ego and anger. It will be a waste of your talent really. I forgive you for taking an active part in bashing me. I saw the postings this morning but they were removed subsequently.

Cooperate they must within the PR. But if cooperation is based on dominance and subservience, that it is not cooperation but compromise and worse still appeasement. If you don’t walk away, then DAP will be like MCA, MIC and Gerakan. The message and DAP’s tenacity must be shown upfront, period.

61. #61 by Come2Papa on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:54 pm

“I think the real message in this thread is not soliciting for names. ” limkaput

What message?? Stop insulting the intelligence of readers. That is what it says up there: “Suggestions for a more suitable term…” We can read and think for ourselves, thank you.

62. #62 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:57 pm

“I saw the postings this morning but they were removed subsequently” limkamput

Sure. Since they were removed nobody else could have read those – except you. The only posting I made is still here.

63. #63 by lkt-56 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 10:58 pm

We can have lots of wishful thinking like: the leaders must work together for the common good, give and take, compromise, trust each others, act maturely and wisely, tolerant, due considerations for each others’ aspiration, etc. but when the reality of power sharing and politics bite, things will turn nasty.

Sheesh… Mr. LimKamPut….
    What you termed “wishful thinking” is really a sincere attempt to get the basis of the relationship in the coalition off on the right footing. Imagine we have three people in the joint secretariat with the sort of thinking like yours… would it have any chance to even progress into the real task of governing a nation and looking after the interest of the people who placed their trust in them?

Do you know why after 40 years of governance under the incumbent administration, our nation has become more divided than united? IT IS BECAUSE THE RELATIONSHIP IS ONE OF DIVISION ALONG COMMUNAL LINES! YOU LOOK AFTER YOUR COMMUNITY AND I LOOK AFTER MINE

Haven’t we had enough of these nonsense? Wake up my friend and make an effort to unite with your fellow countrymen!

I think we should stop being NEGATIVE

64. #64 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:00 pm

To: limkamput

Did you mean this posting?

kickbutt Says:

Today at 22: 09.34 (47 minutes ago)
    “DAP leaders must be congratulated for having the wisdom, leadership and the foresight to do what is politically expedient in the interest of long term political stability within the so-called alliance. Only a person with an attap type education would say DAP in Perak by being ’subservient’ to PKR and PAS is playing the same role as MCA. Cooperation for the common good is NOT subservience.”

This too is still here. The only problem for you is that it is not by me.

65. #65 by limkamput on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:02 pm

undergrad2, never mind, let not spend more time on unnecessary personal stuff. I have responded to your comments, now is your turn. I am going now out for my hokkien mee, wish you could join me.

66. #66 by kickbutt on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:07 pm

Yep. That was mine. THis is undergrad’s

“DAP must be an equal partner, never subservient to any party in PR. The moment you sense it, walk away. They need DAP as much as DAP need them.” Limkamput

Clap! Clap! Wow! Such display of loyalty to party is rare and a quality that DAP leaders henceforth must not only take note but emulate.

This is a lot of bull!

We are not talking negotiation here but cooperation. You do not walk away from your problems. Since when walking away from problems is a solution to anything??

67. #67 by adoionline on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:08 pm

HOW ABOUT “HARAPAN RAKYAT”? … HR instead of PR? “Perpaduan Rakyat” has a good meaning but it doesn’t roll off the tongue the way Harapan Rakyat does.

68. #68 by devilmaster on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:23 pm

Let me remind readers that the using of the word party is inappropriate. The meaning of party refers to a single entity in political term. Any alliance formed by the 3 parties will still have their own party constitutions preserved. The using of the word party to describe the newly alliance means all 3 parties having a single common constitution. In election time in the future, we dont refer DAP-PKR-PAS as a party, but a coalition.

69. #69 by DoingTheRightThing on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:24 pm

Dear Kit,

Please read the following article and you will realise how important is it to choose an easy and simple name to get through the message to the general public.

http://www.mckinseyquarterly.com/Crafting_a_message_that_sticks_An_interview_with_Chip_Heath_2062.

Long Live People’s Party or Parti Rakyat.

70. #70 by pilihanrayaexpert on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:29 pm

I don’t like ” pakatan ” this word !!!

it sounds like you pakat me and I pakat you , all pakat pakat to do something wrong

I rather use Barisan Rakyat which is much better than PAKAT PAKAT EACH OTHER !!!

71. #71 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 April 2008 - 11:36 pm

“undergrad2, never mind, let not spend more time on unnecessary personal stuff. ” limkamput

Pray tell which part of my posting is ‘personal’?

“Clap! Clap! Wow! Such display of loyalty to party is rare and a quality that DAP leaders henceforth must not only take note but emulate.

This is a lot of bull!

We are not talking negotiation here but cooperation. You do not walk away from your problems. Since when walking away from problems is a solution to anything??”

I speak my mind, using sarcasm where that is called for and where sarcasm serves to deliver home my message.

But you just misled readers into thinking that I had made postings deemed by the moderator as unsuitable for publication if nothing more. I do not know if there is a worse form of behavior.

There are others here who are equally if not more passionate in their views but they do not resort to insulting the intelligence of readers to make their point.

72. #72 by warganegara on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:09 am

YB,

How about the following names :

Pejuang Rakyat?
    Pembela Rakyat?
    Pelindung Rakyat?
    Penyatuan Rakyat?
    Permuafakatan Rakyat?
    Petunjuk Rakyat?
    Pimpinan Rakyat?

73. #73 by winwinsituation on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:18 am

I always believe that “win win situation” relationship only can lasting and make everyone feel comfortable and together work for the mission and vision. “win lose” or “lose win” is only for short term and will not lasting. For my personal option, “win win” in another word mean “exchange”. We use something which is less important for us exchange with something which is important for them. For BN, it is praticing “win lose” concept which UMNO is the winner and MCA, Gerakan, MIC etc are the loser. This is not a healthy relationship. I hope that Pakatan Rakyat can schedule more meeting to create “win win” relationship and not “win lose” or “lose win”.

74. #74 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:23 am

To: LIMKAMPUT

Kickbutt’s one-word response to your claim that the “U.S. Constitution says all men are created equal” is appropriate. His one word response is “bollocks” a popular term not with the Yanks but with the Brits.

His response is appropriate because the U.S. Constitution which you claim to know well makes no mention of “all men being created equal”. It was the “Declaration of Independence 1776” which states:

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

You must be familiar with this if you had lived in the U.S. as you claimed you did as a matured student with a family. I was only responding to your earlier posting on the same subject. That is not bashing.

75. #75 by leeann on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:24 am

what about ‘ GEMILANG’, even got a song from Jacklyn Victor.

Parti Gemilang Bersatu

PGB

BN=Barisan National

GB=Gemilang Bersatu

In English, would be United Glorious?

Pretty cool name right.

76. #76 by dap-for-pj on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:27 am

GABUNGAN KERAKYATAN MALAYSIA!

UNITED PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA!

That should be the true name and spirit of the alliance!

Supporters pleeeease…….

77. #77 by cfcluvdap on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:29 am

Hello,
    Harapan Rakyat sound good and hopeful
    What about Gemilang Rakyat and Suara Rakyat

Wish members keep the momentum going on getting the right name for coalition.

78. #78 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:48 am

If there is anyone who constantly insults and shows a “know all” attitude, it is you. If there is anyone who think that by living in the US now entitles that person to know more than others, it is you. If there is anyone who constantly insults the intelligence of others, it is you. Please don’t insult the moderator and other readers thinking that I can mislead them. The truth will prevail. For a while, I thought you are the one I could look up to because you certainly have the intellect to engage in issues. But your value and biasness are just too messed up. If you are really I lawyer, it is my earnest hope that you will never be a judge. You have no inbuilt sense of fairness and justice in you. Your judgement on an issue is purely based on personal, never on the merit. If the view put forth by me earlier was from kickbutt, I guess you will never say “This is a lot of bull!” Please learn to accept that there are people out there who are probably as smart, if not smarter than you. The soonest you get this into your head, the less conflict you will have within you.

79. #79 by kingkenny on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:51 am

A name should carry well the party’s manifesto and promises to the Rakyat.

Above all else, the word DEMOCRATIC should be retained just to remind everybody inside & outside of the party the events that had transpired on the 8th of March 2008.

Here goes:

1. National Coalition for Democracy (NCD)

2. Malaysia Democratic Coalition (MDC)

3. National Democratic Coalition (NDC)

4. New Democratic Organisation (NDO)

5. United Malaysia Organisation (UMO) !!!

6. United Malaysia Democratic Organisation (UMDO) !!!

7. United People’s Party (UPP)

8. United Democratic People’s Party (UDPP)

9. People’s Power Alliance (PPA)

10. Rakyat’s Power Alliance (RPA)

11. Rakyat Organisation for Democratic Action (RODA)

80. #80 by alancheah on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:52 am

Pakatan Suara Rakyat

81. #81 by kingkenny on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:04 am

12. People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA)

13. Rakyat’s Democratic Alliance (RDA)

82. #82 by kingkenny on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:07 am

And maybe create a logo with certain little elements that reminds us all of our sweet progress and gains on the 8th of March 2008.

Makkal Sakti!

83. #83 by kingkenny on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:09 am

14. United Democratic Organisation (UDO)

15. United Democratic Alliance (UDA)

84. #84 by kingkenny on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:17 am

16. Perpaduan Demokratik Rakyat (PDR)

85. #85 by Lee Wang Yen on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:18 am

1. In the 2001 crisis of BA, PAS decided to pursue its agenda of Islamic state despite the absence of this agenda in the BA manifesto.
    2. In the past three days, we heard aspirations for Islamic state voiced by PAS’ leaders although there is no mention of Islamic state in PAS’ election manifesto in 2008.

This is a consistent pattern and very much in line with the principle of Taqiyya (a deceptive strategy of temporary compromise when they are in a bad position so as to resume their real agenda when they regain strength and grounds from such a deceptive compromise), which is seen as a virtue according to some interpretation of Islam.

I’m glad that Kit Siang is cautious. By the way, I think that in some ways Kit Siang and Guan Eng have shown that they are different from BN leaders. For example, Guan Eng’s statement about the abolition of NEP shows that he is a man of principle.

86. #86 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:25 am

Yes, it was a mistake, I knew that. But since you guys were so arrogant, I just left it there. I have always admitted my mistakes unlike some who think they never make one. I never claim to know all. Anyway the point was cited for its logic, not whether it is in the constitution or in the declaration of independence. So what a big deal simply because you are right on this. The debate was not on this issue, or was it? If it is that pertinent, I could have just look up in two minutes.

Are you jealous of my stay in the US? I don’t see why you have to keep harping on an issue that is personal. You think you are the only one privileged enough to stay there? I went there and came back purely based on my own choice. Do you have a choice to be there or here now? By the way, you should have read how Jong has told you off on my behalf. You see, there is inbuilt sense justice in others. In my running battles with kickbutt, have you seen any one supporting him other than he himself using different IDs and you. And has anyone supported you in your argument with me? I have many who supported me and that is a fact. You can’t deny fact.

I notice you are exceptionally harsh on me because I am one of the few who dare to challenge what you put in this blog. You have left others alone thinking that they agree with you. The fact is they may not even read or if they read, they may not even bother to comment even though they disagree.

87. #87 by Lee Wang Yen on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:26 am

Limkamput came across to me as someone capable of making excellent observations and very fair comments, despite his tendencies to sometimes burst out in emotional diatribes.

Of course, we should not encourage ad hominem attacks. But let’s be fair to Limkamput who has made a lot of very good points, especially when he is not distracted by ad hominem attacks, which he sometimes felt compelled to return (in kind).

88. #88 by Lee Wang Yen on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:30 am

Despite his tendency to sometimes get emotional, which leads into diatribes, Limkamput came across to me as someone willing to consider other’s arguments and make concessions when he thinks there are some merits in those arguments.

89. #89 by limkamput on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:32 am

IKt-56,
    Please don’t say what others said is nonsense because you may just get this word coming right back to you. Let me say again, politics and exercise of power to further one’s aspiration is NOT based on wishful thinking. Only those who are naive will think so, how about it?

90. #90 by I Malaysian on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:35 am

Visit http://www.no2umno.blogspot.com for shocking news. Mahathir who talks big actually had written a letter asking favor from former PM of Isreal Ehud Barak. Topic Surat Kontroversi 1999

91. #91 by cucu adam on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 1:54 am

I would like to suggest the name PAKATAN RAKYAT MALAYSIA and in short be referred to as PAKATAN.

The short name should not be PRM as this will remind the existence of another party – Parti Rakyat Malaysia.

92. #92 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 2:12 am

Parti Rakyat

93. #93 by kickbutt on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 2:23 am

Who says PAKATAN RAKYAT is all about conspiracy?

94. #94 by I Malaysian on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 2:26 am

Contradicting statements will continue to be the thorny issues that PKR and DAP have face from time to time. Hence the greater tolerance and understanding among top leaders of these 3 parties and working together for the common principle agreed by all will be foundation for greater unity. All leaders of PAkatan Rakyat should agree to consensus that they will avoid issuing statements that contradicts common principle.
    On suggestion of a name perhaps Pakatan Rakayat could be known as Pakatan Kuasa Rakyat which means very much what we all were talking about. People Power or Makkal Sakti.

95. #95 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 2:31 am

YB,

With due respect to all muslim.

No way to Islamic State in Malaysia.

YB understands this concern very well. DAP has been losing strategically inch by inch.. watch out.

96. #96 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 3:10 am

Enough of this rubbish!

97. #97 by Jong on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 3:15 am

sorry should read: “….but at least he has no vengeance so please…”

98. #98 by Jong on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 3:22 am

undergrad2,

You can’t be serious, kickbutt hasn’t finished doing the framing your words of wisdom, yet. :D

99. #99 by darren sky on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 4:27 am

You jokers make this blog a nuisance arguing wth each other with such a petty issues,as well sms to each other than taking so much of others time to scroll down the list.There are many readers who dont give their comments but are following this blog.PLEASE RESPECT the blog!!! If you have nothing relevant to say ,please keep it to yourself. My suggestion for the subject- PARTI RAKYAT. Its a fantastic name when used at the right time and atmosphere- THAT is NOW !!! The name blend well with the current political tsunami…

100. #100 by bumi-non-malay on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 5:48 am

Dear Kit,

More importantly could you have a Chat with Ku Li and ask his team (15-20 MP) to join DAP instead and build you Malay strength within your Party.

It is also time to position DAP in the correct light of this coalition.

Of late the endorsement of People Declaration have been sidelined…..it is IMPERATIVE that all Coalition states MUST move to Remove the APOSTASY Law immediately starting with Kelantan with its 2/3 majority. Freedom of Religion is a fundamental Human right mandated by Allah. Its no secret PKR/PAS did not condemn the Lina Joy judgement……..The poeple have spoken and Freedom of Religion must be ENFORCED!!

Don’t delay, time is not on your side. Financial Chaos is coming!!

Suggestion:

Malaysia/Malaysian United
    Liberal Party Malaysia.

Keep with the time and have it in English…….

be stubborn about it.

Pakatan Rakyat – in time will be Parti Rasuah (PR)..Parti Rusuhan, Poothoi rakyat…etc. Avoid Rakyat, Democracy, Party, ….etc.

101. #101 by lupus on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 5:54 am

I am sure alot of us reading this blog would like to know of other people’s ideas regarding the political landscape of Malaysia and to have a voice – no matter how small – in shaping Malaysia’s future. Even if it is too small to change by one lonely voice.

However, there are a few who are unable to keep to the topic, stray and start having personal bulls**t. I for one do not wish to read your ego, personal problems, where you have lived in the past, studied,etc.

Frankly, if you have nothing worthwhile to contribute to the topic, just read. We are not here to judge other people’s comments and I for one will disagree with another person’s comments but not attack them personally with the aim of beating that person down to “win” an argument (go to the BN website instead if you want to do that – they might even throw in the ISA for you to use to gag anybody you do not agree). I would like to read that person point of view if that person had something relevant to the topic – regardless of background, race or religion.

[Most distressful that feuding showing no disrespect to this blog or the visitors has resumed on this thread. Such most recent postings have been deleted. Administrator does not want to pass judgment on who is right or wrong but want such feuding to stop or the moderation list will have to come into play. – Admin]

102. #102 by lupus on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 6:07 am

Democratic Malaysian Party (DMP or PDMAL)

However, name change is one thing – I would like to see any proposed idea of the the new alliance in detail. Understandable, any “marriage” will have some disagreement and a “blue print” would go a long way to understand how it going to work. I would like to see a political system similar to Turkey’s where it is a majority Muslim population but a secular government system. Malaysian should determine their own political path that treats all it citizens’ equal. I for one see what will happen if NEP is taken to the extreme – just look at Zimbabwe today with similar home grown NEP policies.

103. #103 by kelvin kang on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 7:34 am

As the newspaper report, PAS still want to build Islamic Country. Therefore, if DAP still joining PAKATAN RAKYAT, sure DAP will step back to the previous lesson as lost all the seat in Parliment and State Assemble.Don’t YB LIM remember the Barisan Alternative that most of the Chinese citizen reject PAS because of the Islamic Country.

104. #104 by cfcluvdap on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 8:17 am

Hello,
    I saw some good suggestion on naming the coalition. Keep it up. Think of more and we might get to one which will bind the force of the 3 party into a formidable coalition.

105. #105 by rakyatbersatu on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 8:31 am

As the country is approaching Vision 2020, it is time for a paradigm shift in all aspect of our life for the betterment of Malaysia as a whole. Therefore I suggest a more appropriate term for the new coalition between DAP, PKR and PAS. Announcing:

Malaysia Bersatu or Malaysia United (MU)

We have to be UNITED in order to move forward regardless of our race or religion. The three parties concerned may have different ideologies. However the common core principles among the parties should be the UNITED force that binds them together for the benefit of the rakyat and the country as a whole.

Only then we can truly call ourselves UNITED Malaysians, not as a Malay Malaysian, a Chinese Malaysian, an Indian Malaysian, a Dayak Malaysian or a Kadazan Malaysian. Look at our neighbour Indonesia, even the Chinese community are proud to call themselves true Indonesians.

Therefore, it is high time for the country to move forward as one Bangsa Malaysia. Let us strongly consider:

Malaysia Bersatu (Malaysia United)

106. #106 by eagle_eyes on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 8:35 am

Uncle Lim,
    How about (Parti Demokratic, Keadilan & Islam Liberal Semalaysia) of course it should includes Sabahan too.

107. #107 by lkt-56 on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 8:48 am

limkamput Says:
    IKt-56,
    Please don’t say what others said is nonsense because you may just get this word coming right back to you. Let me say again, politics and exercise of power to further one’s aspiration is NOT based on wishful thinking. Only those who are naive will think so, how about it?

It is strange how our mind works. When I wrote “nonsense” I was thinking of the communal politics of division. ;) No offense meant, Mr. LimKamPut. I only wish you have more faith in the leadership of the coalition and faith that the collective will of the people of Malaysia will prevail.

IN LIFE WE HAVE NO CONTROL OVER EVENTS THAT HAPPEN AROUND US BUT WE HAVE CONTROL OVER HOW WE PERCEIVE THESE EVENTS AND THIS DETERMINES WHETHER WE SUCCEED IN FINDING HAPPINESS

THIS IS A MOMENTOUS OCCASION FOR MALAYSIA…. LET US LOOK FORWARD TO A STRONG COALITION ARISING FROM THE GOOD SENSE OF THE PEOPLE IN THE JOINT SECRETARIAT WHO ARE TASKED TO BUILD A STRONG FOUNDATION AND FRAMEWORK OF THE COALITION FOR THE PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA

108. #108 by devilmaster on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 9:10 am

kelvin kang Says:
    As the newspaper report, PAS still want to build Islamic Country.

Another poor misguided soul who has become the latest victim of BN’s propaganad machinery. Do you think PAS could form an Islamic state in the first place? You need 2/3 majority(148 seats) of Parliament to do that. PAS only contested 60 parliamentary seats out of 222. How are they going to achieve that?

109. #109 by Malaysian For Equality on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 9:33 am

Why change the name in the 1st place? What is wrong with BR? This was the loose ‘pakatan’ which gave the opposition unprecedented gains in the last election.

BR should not get into gimmickry. Surely people can distinguish between BN and BR. Please dont underestimate the intelligence of voters. You do so at your own peril!

Also any new name for the opposition coalition gives the impression of a formal alliance and this is dangerous because we are still not sure whether they are happy bedfellows.

How can DAP agree to have a formal coalition with a party like PAS whose senior members have only today called for the death of the Dutch lawmaker who produced a film which allegedly spread falsehood about Islam? Dewan Pemuda PAS have also been talking about setting up an Islamic State within the coalition!

Now all this is very provocative and insensitive. This is even after Hadi Awang commented that an ‘Islamic State’ was not in the PAS constitution. PAS should discipline these ‘Little Napoleans’ who seem to be breaking ranks with the leaders. BR will be undermined if the PAS leaders do not shout down these characters and silence them indefinitely, even threatening them with explusion if they continue with such divisive pronouncements.

DAP must make its position clear and have a written undertaking by PAS that as part of the coalition, it will not be advocating an Islamic State but will uphold the constitution which maintains that Malaysia is a secular state.

With regard to a suitable name for the coalition, I do not see any need to change it from Barisan Rakyat. Pakatan Rakyat can be shortened to PkR ! How very convenient for the ‘Taiko’ PKR! Also PR stands for ‘Public Relations’ which has a ring of insincerity about it. In the medical world PR stands for ‘Per Rectum’ which is also a very unfortunate connotation!

I see no convincing reason to change the name Barisan Rakyat (BR). This was what was presented to the Rakyat during the election and so it should remain.

Remember, it is early days yet, we need to ensure that the BR members are happy bedfellows first. There is no hurry!

110. #110 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 9:37 am

I don’t know what the term is. Lets face it what this really is. This coalition is broad together because BN lost its way i.e.,it broke its promises. But BN lost its way because it was not easy to fufill those promises and the easy way was too tempting. So its an opportunity in mechanics of politics NOT a wholesale fundamental shift traditional ideologies.

But can this coalition go forward? Yes if it see this as what it is – just the beginning-a dialogue if you will. If this coalition is to go forward, then it must have dialogue, intelligent, rational dialogue on what the future of this country should be and prepared to defend its stance. Forget the label and traditional definition. If DAP want secularism, then it must defend it in details with facts and figures. Does it mean absolutely state role in religion? Does it REALLY NOT deprive muslim the right to practise the religion? If PAS want an Islamic state, it has to prove it can work BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT(after all Syariah has death penalties). The literal code of HUDUD is simply NOT acceptable to most Malaysians NOT just non-Muslims.

This ideally should be about intelligent talk about common interested. So perhaps the term is Forum Rakyat?

111. #111 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 9:52 am

Devilmaster,

All PAS need to do is (1) dominate the Pakatan Rakyat coalition with non muslims acquiescing with their support of it and (2) if it had contested only 60 parliamentary seats out of 222 in 2008, to contest more seats in next election.

(1) above is easy to achieve if DAP and its supporters give way because PKR is “lallang”.

One minute Kelantan Deputy Mentri Besar & Dewan Pemuda PAS Kelantan say they support establishment of Islamic state (to remind that the agenda is not forgotten), some other PAS’s leaders will come out with a statement that PAS is not thinking or prioritizing the Islamic state but good governance and overthrow of BN. Against the reality that Malaysia is still multiracial, multi cultural and multi religious, PAS of course does not and cannot afford to alienate support of non malay/muslim at this present moment because on standalone it is not yet strong enough.

This is where giving mixed signals by different PAS officials becomes important. It caters for different groups. To Muslims, Deputy Mentri Besar & Dewan Pemuda PAS Kelantan’s statements show the agenda is still not abandoned. Other statements concentrating on overthrow of BN and playing down on Islamic state help to maintain non malay/muslims’ support.

This is not difficult because the human mind (esp non Malay/muslims’) always tend towards expedience and optimism when in an oppressed situation as they are now.

When people perceive themselves oppressed by BN system that cannot be rid off any other way, you give them a straw and they will clutch at it.

We tend to think in favour of PAS and are optimistic of its role within Pakatan Rakyat – ignoring its inconsistencies or ambivalent signals – because emotionally we tend to gravitate towards hopes that give succour than face hard truths that give pain.

If you think objectively, what is the raison de etre of PAS? Will it ever be given up? Others whether in BN or Opposition may seek political office for fame and fortune, their agendas may be modified to suit circumstances but in case of believers in PAS will they change? Their mission is not human goals of just power and a piece of action to make money. It goes beyond that. It is the mission of God. Can that ever be compromised? Yes one can makes compromises and deviations here and there as may be temporarily necessary but these are acceptable only to the extent that they play a part to achieve the final goal. The final goal is the unchanging constant.

The argument that PAS does not have 2/3 to change constitution does not take into account that if it is strong enough to dominate the Opposition coalition, all it has to do is to propose a motion or a law to advance the Islamic state in parliament : do you ever doubt that on matters of religion, UMNO will resist it and lend its votes to give the 2/3 ?

So far UMNO is on record trying to out compete PAS on matters of religion and certainly it will not do anything to be seen as acting against it. Therefore whatever PAS pushes for in this direction in the interest of the Faith, UMNO will either try to do better or at least not sabotage it.

112. #112 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 9:56 am

Typo omission rectified in capitals – “….do you ever doubt that on matters of religion, UMNO will resist it and NOT lend its votes to give the 2/3 ?…. “

113. #113 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:01 am

We will be subject to the same “boiling the frog” method of being desensitised towards progressive islamisation, but this time around by PAS (with added advantage of the carrot that Non Muslims’ acquiescence if not acceptance in this regard is absolutely neccesary to work towards the imminent displacement and dislodgment of the the imploding BN). With the latter imperative held for our focus holding us transfixed, we would neglect the other creeping agenda being slowly advanced.

114. #114 by bushido on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:05 am

Wawasan Rakyat ?

115. #115 by allasstra on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:08 am

a few unconventional ideas :

i.D.F.F—intergrated democratic frontier foundations

or

D.A.R.P.A—“DA”p + pk”R” + “PA”s

DEMOCRACY “r” US—self explanatory, and kids can relate to it.

116. #116 by pulau_sibu on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:27 am

an international naming such as Party Malaysia, Parti Malaysia
    Don’t have a strange Malay name like Pakatan Rakyat that looks so uninternational

117. #117 by year of snake on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:35 am

Whatever it is, the PR or xxxx have to prove to the people that they can be the government in the next GE by showing results in the 5 states which they are currently controlling. If they make a mess of running these 5 states in the coming years, it will be back to BN in the next GE.

118. #118 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:39 am

You have to realize the reality that PAS has several things going for its agenda. The lack of resistance of UMNO against pushing on matters of faith is only one of them. The other is the number of Islamists who have infiltrated the civil service, educational and tertiary establishment, uniform services, Islamic think tank, all are waiting patiently and some impatiently for final victory when PAS is placed in vantage position (with the help of Opposition coalition) to make the final push. All these will come out in full support then.

You notice that in wake of PAS’s political resurgence in aftermath of 8th March 12th general elections, Islamists become even bolder, and an example of that is (IKIM) and the Shariah Judiciary Department of Malaysia coming out with more assertive suggestions to impose heftier sentences on Muslims caught for khalwat, prostitution, consuming alcohol and involvement in gambling activities’ and also roping non Mulsim into punishment if they were participant.

Do you think that is consistent with Malaysian or Bangsa Malaysia or DAP’s premise of governance being separated from religion?

Yes Farish Noor, the moderate and liberal intellectual is aghast but the acid test is, do you so far hear PAS (which has become important after March 8th on back of Non Malay and Non Muslim votes) say anything against what (IKIM) and the Shariah Judiciary Department of Malaysia suggested in the seminar???

No instead you hear Kelantan Deputy Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Yaakub’s statement and the statement by the press secretary to Pas president Roslan Shahir Mohd Shahir that “the values of the Islamic state were already incorporated in the Negara Berkebajikan” and that “In states where Pas is the dominant party, we will try to set up an Islamic state”.

Many would hope that Anwar/PKR would hold the balance between DAP & PAS on issues of Islamic state but have we heard Anwar & PKR resist (IKIM) and the Shariah Judiciary Department of Malaysia’s statements? Or rebut Kelantan Deputy Mentri Besar Datuk Ahmad Yaakub’s statement or the statement by press secretary to Pas president Roslan Shahir Mohd Shahir?

What Anwar has done so far is to circumvent the issue. He does not address it. When he is eventually forced to do so, and the crunch comes, do you think he would support Malaysian Malaysia or separation of government from religion? He would support PAS and that is because the majority of Muslim votes are so inclined since religion is part of their cultural identity. That’s also where the road leads to power.

Anyway he has on record done nothing to support DAP in the past as what happened when he sided PAS, and DAP had in 1990s to dissociate from Barisan Alternatif.

Next time around – in the next election – when the colours of PAS & PKR show with DAP being sidelined by them within Pakatan Rakyat in their Islamisation moves, DAP will lose all its traditional supporters (as happened before when it joined Barisan Alternatif).

YB Kit, they using you & the DAP, surely you can see that coming. Better be vigilant, fight over the name Pakatan Rakyat, if you must.

Most of the bitter arguments in this blog over PAS & DAP collaboration with PKR in between are between people who want to go forward and hence want to look at the brighter side of things, whatever the realties to the contrary and the other side who try to look at things as they are (the truth) uninfluenced by whether their conclusions premised on what is likely the true position represent a step forward or backward for the Opposition coalition in relation to BN. Truth logic and hopes don’t mix like water and oil.

I rest my case.

119. #119 by madmix on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:40 am

My suggestion: Justice league like in the super hero comic. League as in League of Nations. Liga Keadilan in Bahasa.

120. #120 by Wisdom above on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:54 am

I suggest “KEPADA Rakyat”, which symbolizes the KE-ADILAN, PA-S and DA-P.

i suggest why not just use something like Party Rakyat Malaysia

” Thai Rak Thai” – is that mean Thai Love Thai.

Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia as suggested by a writer in another thread. Or Pakatan Rakyat SeMalaysia in order to avoid confusion with the initials PRM of a now-defunct political party.

To avoid the use of the term “Barisan”, PR ought to take the name of “Gagasan Malaysia”

Or “GAGASAN RAKYAT MALAYSIA”

Pakatan Rakyat(People’s Alliance) sounds fine to me. There’s no need to change.

“Gabungan Rakyat” = “People’s Alliance”

GABUNGAN KERAKYATAN MALAYSIA!

UNITED PEOPLE OF MALAYSIA!

So call it Perikatan Rakyat Malaysia (PeRak) – Malaysian Peoples’ Alliance (MPA).

Some suggestions:
    Rakyat Bersatu ,Malaysia Bersatu,Tindakan Rakyat,
    Tindakan SeMalaysia,Tindakan Keadilan SeMalaysia,Tenaga Rakyat

You can still retain your PR initials in Perpaduan Rakyat. Just my 2 sen worth

To forget about race, why not just call it Parti Tsunami?

suggestion “Parti Rakyat”.

HOW ABOUT “HARAPAN RAKYAT”? … HR instead of PR? “Perpaduan Rakyat”

How about the following names :
    Pejuang Rakyat?Pembela Rakyat?Pelindung Rakyat?
    Penyatuan Rakyat?Permuafakatan Rakyat?
    Petunjuk Rakyat?Pimpinan Rakyat?

Here goes:

1. National Coalition for Democracy (NCD)

2. Malaysia Democratic Coalition (MDC)

3. National Democratic Coalition (NDC)

4. New Democratic Organisation (NDO)

5. United Malaysia Organisation (UMO) !!!

6. United Malaysia Democratic Organisation (UMDO) !!!

7. United People’s Party (UPP)

8. United Democratic People’s Party (UDPP)

9. People’s Power Alliance (PPA)

10. Rakyat’s Power Alliance (RPA)

11. Rakyat Organisation for Democratic Action (RODA)

12. People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA)

13. Rakyat’s Democratic Alliance (RDA)

14. United Democratic Organisation (UDO)

15. United Democratic Alliance (UDA)

16. Perpaduan Demokratik Rakyat (PDR)

Pakatan Suara Rakyat

Malaysia/Malaysian United
    Liberal Party Malaysia.

Democratic Malaysian Party (DMP or PDMAL)

Malaysia Bersatu (Malaysia United)

How about (Parti Demokratic, Keadilan & Islam Liberal Semalaysia)

Pakatan Rakyat can be shortened to PkR ! How very convenient for the ‘Taiko’ PKR! Also PR stands for ‘Public Relations’ which has a ring of insincerity about it. In the medical world PR stands for ‘Per Rectum’ which is also a very unfortunate connotation!

I see no convincing reason to change the name Barisan Rakyat (BR). This was what was presented to the Rakyat during the election and so it should remain.

……..

Pakatan Rakyat is a political pact only.
    Pakatan Rakyat is a political arm of BR.
    It is not a merged party or a new party.
    Pakatan Rakyat is coalition of different people.

It is to bring out of the 3 parties.
    & then to champion these common goals aspirations & aims under
    a common platform, one voice, one unity.
    It helps to draw out common goals ,aspirations & aims .
    It helps to project common goals ,aspirations & aims .

Pakatan Rakyat is suffice for the moment.

121. #121 by Wisdom above on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 11:15 am

‘ Malaysia Bersatu ‘ (Malaysia United)

as proposed by ‘ rakyatbersatu ‘ is the best slogan.

It is unbiased , it connotes unity ,one voice ,one common aim,

It is Multi-racial . It reject hidden present & future political agendas.

Rakyat Bersatu actually means Malaysia Bersatu.

I overruled my earlier accpetance of ‘Pakatan Rakyat ‘as it did reflect misgivings of BA .

YB LKS being seasoned statesman sensed the ‘evil fervour’ of it.

I also sensed ‘Pakatan’ always lead to mischief. History said so.

‘ Malaysia Bersatu ‘ (Malaysia United) is the extension of Barisan Rakyat ‘s aspirations.

Syabas. Barisan Rakyat.

122. #122 by mybangsamalaysia on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 11:19 am

Party Rakyat Malaysia sounds good and meaningful.

123. #123 by orient4 on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 11:55 am

People know that the leaders in UMNO-MIC-MCA are mostly corrupt, this may perhaps the effect of a very long position in power. Since the 12th general election, The People made up their mind and swing a large number of vote toward the opposition. But, how sure are we that the PKR-DAP-PAS goverment not going to be the same as the previous? Their Human… plain human… playing with words to gain power.. a couple of promises…. maybe fulfill them for 2-3 years time… then, the power will get into their head… This had happen before. History has proven that.. please think.

124. #124 by UnkerLai on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:02 pm

Just stick to PR .Does the term flip-flop ring a bell ?the

125. #125 by Bob K on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:17 pm

You folks are aware that Parti Rakyat Malaysia is an existing party that’s been around since 1955 at least?

126. #126 by pongsakling on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:19 pm

I suggest we call it “Party Harmony Malaysia” or simply PHM

127. #127 by k1980 on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:32 pm

An extremely fine product of the NEP, the pride of the country and the hope of the umno-nites
    http://asiasentinel.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1134&Itemid=31

128. #128 by PSM on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:35 pm

Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia…? Keeps the original and adds our beloved country’s nake to it…

129. #129 by PSM on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:36 pm

sorry…adds our beloved country’s “name” to it

130. #130 by sec on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:51 pm

Before as a ruling party: it can not be registered
    People’s Sovereignity Coliation (PSC)
    Gabungan Keagongan Rakyat ( GKR)
    After as a ruling party.
    People’s Sovereignity Coliation Government
    Gabungan Keagongan Rakyat Kerajaan.

We want to maintain the word Agong / Sovereignity because our constituition is of Constituitional Monarchy ( provided they have their own code of behaviour than RAKYAT shown respect to them);this is the power that will act to balance the political power at present ;as wel as in future. The 5 pilars of Rukunegara should be strictly implemented and follow.

131. #131 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 12:59 pm

Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia,
    Pakatan Wawasan Malaysia,
    Angkatan Rakyat Malaysia,
    Gabungan Rakyat Malaysia.
    Have “Malaysia” name inside, so as to remind all works for Malaysia!

132. #132 by sydsyder on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 2:05 pm

I think if you follow even half of what’s suggested the party would be a laughing stock.

And to be honest, I don’t fancy the name pakatan rakyat. it sounds unprofessional and too simple- lacks class.

here’s my 2 cents:

1 People’s Power Coalition
    2 National Allied Party
    3 Democratic Labour Party
    4 Forward Alliance
    5 Forward Allied Party
    6 Joint Alliance Movement
    7 Malaysian Democratic People’s Alliance
    8 Democratic People’s Alliance
    9 First Coalition Party
    10 First Party Nationals

Cheers

133. #133 by lopez on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 2:09 pm

What we are today is what we did last.
    DAP must maintain her original ideals and aspirations there is no compromise, no discount , no trade off.
    What has been achieved is not just on current events, we have today is because what DAP has strifed and you people kept it still standing.
    Those fellas who stick their neck in the camp and away from loved ones are suffered for what…and still have to shake hands with those who place you in before.
    Get down on earth, don’t ever think like wrinkled laundry can be ironed out, it is all deep, deep inside , nothing can clean those 50 years, never.

HARD TIMES MAKES HARD MEN, HARD TIMES ARE TEMPORARY
    SOME OF US WE HAVE 5000 YEARS OF IT.

DAP

134. #134 by susuteh on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 3:07 pm

Pakatan Rakyat or PR that formed few days ago faces new challenge!
    Statement by Kelantan’s Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Ahmad Yaakub stir the moving forward plan by PR. Below are the statement by Datuk Ahmad Yaakub
    “Pas wajar menjadi tunjung kepada pakatan itu sekiranya ia mahu merealisasikan impianmenubuhkan sebuah Negara Islam”.
    As mentioned during the announcement by PKR-DAP-PAS joint press conference on 1 Apr 08, from what I understand, every party will have equal rights, no party have supreme lead, as the joint secretariat from 3 parties will meet up regulary to ensure the policy implement in the PR’s state in line with the PR’s values.
    Well, the statement by Datuk Ahmad whether to stress the PAS’s movement on Islamic state is firm or PAS should lead the alliance toward Islamic state?
    Next, the full support given by Dewan Pemuda PAS Kelantan and the statement by the press secretary to Pas president Roslan Shahir Mohd Shahir that “the values of the Islamic state were already incorporated in the Negara Berkebajikan”
    Based the my analysis believe PAS having difficulties to explain to their supports about not forming Islam state, so Saurdara Roslan joint the welfare state with Islamic state agenda could be a smart move, but this also explain that PAS have always wanted to form Islamic state if they are dominant. (as what happened during PAS rule Terengganu).

Perhaps let try to look from another angle
    Islam’s values of Muamalat surprisingly similar to Confucianism that influence the Chinese community all these while.
    This have stressed before by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim when he was DPM.
    Should PAS study these similarity rather than stress only Islam’s values.
    You have to put you foots in other people shoes in order to get the feel. Same size of course.

135. #135 by allasstra on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 3:49 pm

# cheng on soo Says:
    Today at 12: 59.12 (2 hours ago)

Pakatan Rakyat Malaysia,
    Pakatan Wawasan Malaysia,
    Angkatan Rakyat Malaysia,
    Gabungan Rakyat Malaysia.
    Have “Malaysia” name inside, so as to remind all works for Malaysia!

—which reminds me of
    [a] “M”…..c-a
    [b] “M”…..i-c
    [c] X”M”XX

still a good reminder ?

“sec Says:
    Today at 12: 51.59 (2 hours ago)

Before as a ruling party: it can not be registered
    People’s Sovereignity Coliation (PSC)
    Gabungan Keagongan Rakyat ( GKR)
    After as a ruling party.
    People’s Sovereignity Coliation Government
    Gabungan Keagongan Rakyat Kerajaan.”

—what about ex-ruling party[ies]

“lopez Says:
    Today at 14: 09.20 (1 hour ago)

What we are today is what we did last.
    DAP must maintain her original ideals and aspirations there is no compromise, no discount , no trade off.”
    —reading the title helps alot,….
    the title clearly says “suggestion for new name for the coalition between DAP,PKR AND PAS” as a new single entity,none has said DAP is seeking new name….

and lopez,u said :
    “HARD TIMES MAKES HARD MEN, HARD TIMES ARE TEMPORARY”

based on this premises alone,it’s safe to say:
    —hard men *are* temporary–lol ;-D

“SOME OF US WE HAVE 5000 YEARS OF IT”
    —elaborate……pls…

136. #136 by shortie kiasu on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 6:14 pm

People’s Alliance or Pakatan Rakyat is good enough, easily identifiable, easy to quote, and very relevant.

There is no need for all the funny names suggested.

Do not let name fixing take up too much of the alliance’s precious times. You have more work to do now to move forward.

Show that PR can do some thing that BN was not able to do for the people and the country.

Don’t just keep counting the chickens, how you are going to ensure that chickens grow uninhibited.

137. #137 by 1to1 on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 6:49 pm

Malaysian Integrated Alliance

Malaysian Democratic Coalition

Democratic Coalition of Malaysia

138. #138 by sydsyder on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 8:48 pm

yes, but the term ‘pakatan’ is a very poor translation of alliance. ‘Pakatan’ in english is pact. Alliance in BM is ‘persekutuan’

I think having it in english is more dignified. If adamant to Pakatan Rakyat, rename it in english to People’s Alliance.

139. #139 by teckwyn on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 9:48 pm

How about United Malaysian National Organisation or “UMNO” for short.

140. #140 by kopio2 on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 9:54 pm

I think Pakatan is not a “sound good” term as a name. Chinese will think that is not a former or positive mean.
    I suggest to use ” Democratic Alliance “.
    One more point I would like to hope DAP is I think PAS will not insist his Islamic state for the next 10 years. It is more important to join now becos people hope to see change and if just becos of a small issue that will not happen and the Pakatan Rakyat fail to fight till next GE13. It will make most of the supporter sad and malaysia politic will not grow and Improve.

141. #141 by DAPPKR on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 10:15 pm

PAKATAN really sounds weird…

somethin better is need perhaps something in English.

Peoples Party

Malaysian Pride

Malaysian Coalition

Malaysian…something

come up with somethin that involves the word MALAYSIAN as a whole then UMNO where the M stands for Malays

142. #142 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 11:20 pm

Pakatan Perjuangan Integriti
    Pakatan Perjuangan Integriti dan Rakyat
    Pakatan Perjuangan Integriti dan Demokrasi

143. #143 by mycroft on Saturday, 5 April 2008 - 11:49 pm

With due respect, anyone who is surprised that PAS still wants to set up an Islamic state should be sold a bridge in Brooklyn.

144. #144 by controlnation1 on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 4:02 am

Gagasan Kesejahteraan Bangsa Malaysia

Gagasan Kesejahteraan Rakyat Malaysia

Gagasan Keamanan Dunia

145. #145 by Come2Papa on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 10:09 am

DEPP (Johnny Depp)

146. #146 by caishen on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 10:14 am

Barisan Nasional…NATIONAL Front comprised of numerous parties.
    They have brand and position themselves 50 years ago.
    They stand proud of thier name, one-coloured logo and the DACING symbol.

Today..for the DAP-PKR-PAS-OTHERS Coalition, we need a name and logo that can be easily remember and called.
    Pakatan Rakyat sound like Pakatan Keadilan Rakyat (PKR).

Barisan Rakyat..would be my choice.

In order to capture other BN’s states in the next 13th.GE,we should confused them by name,colour and symbol.
    Afterall, the 5 states already recognised who they want to vote..

147. #147 by caishen on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 10:19 am

Sun Tzu said:
    In the practical art of war, the best thing of all is to take the enemy’s country whole and intact;
    to shatter and destroy it is not so good.
    So, too, it is better to recapture an army entire than to destroy it,
    to capture a regiment, a detachment or a company entire
    than to destroy them.

Hence to fight and conquer in all your battles is not supreme excellence;
    supreme excellence consists in breaking the enemy’s resistance without fighting.

148. #148 by ariff55 on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 1:50 pm

Bismillah (In the Name of ALLAH)

srap off the RAKYAT , better still PARTI IKHLAS

149. #149 by ariff55 on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 1:52 pm

reserved the term RAKYAT to US the rakyat the objects of IKHLAS

ALLAH knows better

150. #150 by haveaview on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 2:52 pm

ALL,”

NOW .. to choose the LOGO …..!!!

Suggest..

151. #151 by ariff55 on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 3:00 pm

Bismillah (In the name of ALLAH)

Parti IKHLAS SeMalaysia (PAS)

reserve RAKYAT to us “The Rakyat” so you can serve us better than better sincerely

Logo Green in Color

152. #152 by controlnation1 on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 5:25 pm

the logo has to be the Earth…….PEACE

We had the eye,
    we had the rocket,
    we had the moon

We need the Earth.

Earth is the base of all great things…….that is humanly acheivable that is…

153. #153 by robert wong on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 9:58 pm

1.Gagasan Pilihan Rakyat .
    2.Party Pilihan Rakyat.
    3.Malaysian Choice Alliance
    4.One Malaysian Alliance

154. #154 by CommonFolk on Sunday, 6 April 2008 - 11:02 pm

I’ll suggest something close the Rakyat’s heart and courage, because it was WE being brave and bold this time to slap BN face twice, left and right. :)

1. Rakyat Bersatu (People’s United) – to represent what we did(March 08) and what we want from that day onward.

2. Rakyat Inc. (People Incorporated) – Combo of B.Malaysia and English, to shows and remind we are the new era, the way of life and democracy we want in the future.

3. 308 – To change and bury the 513 forever. Replace with 308 to remind all of us that we are brave to stand up against threat and blackmail. People in the future will want to remember 308 more than 513. We were really brave this time.

4. Koperasi Rakyat – (People’s Corp.)

5. Rakyatara (for Rakyat Setara)

6. PERTAMA ( Persatuan / Persekutuan Rakyat Am Malaysia )

155. #155 by vehir on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 7:15 am

WARISAN RAKYAT

156. #156 by localgrad on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 8:50 am

Dear YB Lim,

I think for Bahasa Malaysia should be GAGASAN RAKYAT.

English one sounds great! PEOPLE ALLIANCE.

PAKATAN carries a negative connotation as in grassroot Malay Language. Dr. M taunt PAKATAN has BAD INTENTION behind it.

Thanks.

157. #157 by kkc on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 9:44 am

How about Kuo Ming Tang? KMT? :P

158. #158 by helpless on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 11:37 am

Why a term is needed ? Because a coalition is essential to form the new state government.

Why new state government? Because people want to have changes.

The tricky question is why people want to have changes. There shall be summaries into few major reasons though every malaysian has their own agenda.

Go back to basic needs. The fact is majority of the people earned an average income and below. The concern point is how to improve the social welfare.

Efficiency in public service delivery system, freedom in speech with respect to all human being, freedom to believe any religion with respect to others, transparency in awarding government project are the common expectation.

How to achieve that? The government’s leadership has forgotten about the simple supply chain rule. Efficient management of the national wealth is the priority. A “good” government shall at least able to ensure social welfare is intact. The target is free up to mark medical treatment. One way to provide sharing of direct national income – unemployment benefit, return to people of national income like practice by Singapore.

The basis for the term shall be based on the objective otherwise it serve no meaning except to have a term for self satisfaction.

159. #159 by ariff55 on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 12:32 pm

bismillah (In the name of ALLAH)

Parti IKHLAS SeMalaysia (PEACE)

Reserve RAKYAT to “the rakyat” like me so that u MPs and Aduns serve us better and IKHLAS

Logo GREEN+RED+NAVY BLUE STripe

160. #160 by azam on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 1:22 pm

PAS understand the vote that they get in previous election is NOT the endorsement of Islamic State. But certain local Kelantan leader does not reliased it because of their uniracial environment in Kelantan. Dato’ Ahmad himseft is NOT PAS central committee member. Maybe he speak on behalf of Kelantan which is PAS is leading the PR in Kelantan. He is just an ordinary local leader. He is not representative of PAS general idea.
    I do agree that DAP and PAS should have their own stand which may be contradict each other. DAP should not be resolved because of establishment of PR. Same thing goes to PAS. Very unfair to ask DAP to drop their ideology to accormodate to PR. Same thing also goes to PAS. But the beauty of PR because they can sit togather and agree to disagree at certain point.
    But as far as they are in PR, they should agree with common values for the rakyat e.g. transparent goverment, anti corruption, anti crony, pro-rakyat, ect… This is enough for you to get togather.
    At no single momment that PAS will develop so call Islamic states if they can get less than 2/3 parliment seats. And they contest only 1/4 of the seats. Only stupid person will afraid of PAS.

161. #161 by lakilompat on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 4:20 pm

Dear azam,

Ppl. are not afraid of PAS, it is just religion phobias still existed 8 yrs ago. Gender segregation, and marginalization & discrimination of islamic females should not happen if we are united.

162. #162 by Killer on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 10:13 pm

I find the whole exercise an oxymoronic attempt to side step the real issue and putting the horse before the cart.

In forming a party, the first thing people should do is to finalise the vision, mission, charter, objectives,etc. Here Kit wants people to suggest a name when HE should be preparing the policy framework.

First DAP denied it was working with PAS, and now that they have won the truth has been admitted. So basically this is an admission of lying.

Secondly, the whole coalition supposed to be founded on shared goals. This is as idotic as the notion of having Osama having an alliance with Barrack Obama just because both of them have the common goals of opposing Bush’ militaristic foreign policy. That PKR/PAS/DAP are in a coalition is not a marriage of convenience but a lustful one-night orgy of thieves.

Kit and his fellow partners-in-crime say that the issue of Islamic state is a non-issue. This made me laugh not only to hear such statement but also that so many people bought such *****. Well PAS without the Islamic state goal is like KFC without chicken.

And to prove my point, within days of announcement of this Penyangak Rakyat, PAS started to make statements for Islamic state.

Kit, instead of commenting on BN’s affairs, please do clarify the buring issues on your own backyard.

163. #163 by jinclary on Monday, 7 April 2008 - 11:56 pm

well, actually the better name for the new coalition will be

Parti Rakyat Negara
    Parti Rakay Kebangsaan

English: National People’s Party

164. #164 by jinclary on Tuesday, 8 April 2008 - 8:32 am

Parti Rakyat Kebangsaan (National People’s Party) is a good suggestion in regardless the word Party being singular or plural. the predeceesor of BN was also known as Parti Perikatan as well which comprised UMNO,MCA and MIC.

165. #165 by wag-the-dog on Tuesday, 8 April 2008 - 2:21 pm

Tun Dr. M Releases Statement Against Advise.

This statement was released to local papers today. News has it that it was against advise from his lawyers as it will expose himself further.

(The Sun) AS I had anticipated, my comment on (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department) Datuk Zaid Ibrahim’s suggestion that the government should apologise for the action taken against Tun Salleh Abas would draw accusations against me for my alleged misdeeds during my tenure of office.

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.blogspot.com for details.

166. #166 by taxpayersince1990 on Tuesday, 8 April 2008 - 4:56 pm

Dear YB LKS,

Let it be whatever name, as long as the rakyat can see you all (I mean all MP’s & ADUN’s from PKR, DAP & PAS) behave well in public and parliment, is seen to have good moral, sincere, transparent, trust each other, have noble values, respect fellow Malaysians of their faith, language, color, creed & culture, I think your collaboration will fruit good results and greater support from the rakyat.

Simple thoughts – A Muslim must repect the Hindus (ie not slaughtering cows in the parliment or in a Hindu neighbourhood), A Chinese must respect Muslims by not breeding pigs and dogs, polluting and creating unhygenic & unhealthy environment in a Muslim neighbourhood, burning joss-stick for days, burning fire-crackers in the wee hours. A Hindu builiding too many illegal temples on squatter land, where there are no enough worshippers, ie; more temple than hindu worshippers. It applies to all relgion in Malaysia. Basically any polluting activities in the name of religion MUST be banned. Be it any religion. Respect for each other must be the rule of the day. Do not be chauvinistic. Most developed nations had adopted this green environment policies. Malaysians are still far away. Good Luck, May God All-Mighty be with you.

Thank you & best regards.

167. #167 by GradUnion on Wednesday, 9 April 2008 - 1:37 am

DEAR KIT,

Pakatan Rakyat or Gagasan Rakyat or Barisan Rakyat …or any type of name for PKR-DAP-PAS is still acceptable to Malaysian Rakyat.

The Rakyat hope that three fellow leaders in Pakatan Rakyat dont always fighting in cat wars over Islamic state issue and Hudud law and power crazy among PAS, DAP and PKR in last few weeks. Now the PAS changed their mind to frighten or tipu non muslim on their Islamic state agenda and DAP is throwing siliva at PAS for such bad remarks. PKR is a silent dog when the two cats fight again over the religion sensitiv issue. UMNO & cronies MCA and MIC and other components in BN are laughing again at these three small new kids in town called Pakatan Rakyat always “GADOH Rakyat”

Shame on PAS and DAP and PRK too if you cannot stop cat fights again over religion issue. Wake up !! Stop it….Pakatan Rakyat is another bullshit when people see three cats gadoh gadoh. Name is not important to the rakyat but the rakyat want to see a ” MUHIBBAH RAKYAT” team in next 13th GE.

Terima-kasih

Anak Malaysia
    UK

In short,

168. #168 by taxpayersince1990 on Wednesday, 9 April 2008 - 9:52 am

Dear LKS web page moderator,

Could you please put the latest response on the top & the earlier response at bottom, so rakyat can see the latest response w/o need to scroll all the way down. Time can be saved. Thank you. May God bless you.

169. #169 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 9 April 2008 - 11:26 am

Dear GradUnion Says:

At first i thought PAS will still embrace hudud law, but after attending some PAS ceramah, i realized their attitude has already change they realized from their past mistakes, and stressed this time, they respect other religion rights.

I hope Haji Hadi Awang can ruled Kedah become an example.

170. #170 by LOTR123 on Wednesday, 9 April 2008 - 11:30 am

As the coalition is form to uphold the rights and democracy of the rakyat, just called it

Democratic Alliance”

171. #171 by Fairman on Thursday, 10 April 2008 - 6:25 pm

Should name it as: The next corrupted BN. Pakatan will become as BN in the future. Believe it or not??? Wait and see on next 10-20 years…

172. #172 by catharsis on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 6:48 am

People’s Coalition????

The power of the people to vote in or out the government or the representatives they so desire to represent them……….

173. #173 by clear conscience on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 9:42 am

Hey, what the PR name may be, what is most important is that the alliance works to show and derail what BN has to say.

Please look at how much insinuations, criticism and hatred being posted by bloggers on Ali Rustam’s blog topic (Pakatan Rakyat….Untuk Apa?)

Ali Rustam has now felled into the well with such rude shocking comments (including no class postings as compared to DSAI & LKS) he received from bloggers.

174. #174 by despin on Friday, 11 April 2008 - 2:29 pm

Considering that the Grand ‘Ole Chief Hypocrite of Malaysia is already making fun of the word “Pakatan” today, we should revert to “Barisan Rakyat”. There is no reason to avoid using the word “Barisan” because it is not exclusive to the other party. In fact, if the word “Barisan” implies “Government”, then the current coalition of DAP-PKR-PAS has more right to the word than the other party if not for their cheating in the 12GE.

If you still feel that “Barisan” is taboo, you may want to consider “Sinergi Rakyat” or “People’s Synergy”. “Synergy” is widely used in the ICT industry but may be an odd word for politics but hey, we are in the 21st Century where the Internet rules. The only problem: “Sinergi” is too lembik (like Badawi) whereas “Pakatan” is too keras (like Mahathir ).

Back to the word “Barisan”, let’s put it another way. If you do not seize the word, another multi-racial party might come along one day and call themselves “Barisan Rakyat”. Where does that leave you then???

175. #175 by durian83 on Sunday, 13 April 2008 - 12:48 am

-Parti Tindakan Rakyat
    -Parti Kebajikan Rakyat
    -Kumpulan Rakyat Bersatu
    -Gabungan Parti Rakyat