A Truly Defining & Defying Moment!

by Martin Jalleh

The Umno-BN hegemony has come to a sudden halt. The 50-year old political juggernaut has been severely jolted. Its formidable force fragmented. A mean machine has been reduced to a mouse.

The coalition that had used its brute majority to bully and bulldoze its way and will in Parliament, blinked when the Opposition breached its two-thirds majority. It was something that they had not bargained for.

The regime of humbug, hype, hypocrisy, hysterics and histrionics, displayed especially in Parliament, has been humbled, even humiliated. People in high places came hurtling down without knowing what really hit them.

The government of unbridled arrogance of power and brazen high-handedness has been brought low. A haunting silence hovers over the once haughty as their political future hangs heavily against hope. The high and mighty are hushed.

The powers that have dominated, dictated and decided for “the good of the people” have been dented. The BN is left in a daze as to why and how they have been ditched and damned so decidedly.

Umno’s high-profile ‘heroes’ had failed to prepare the party to cope with the winds of change. Instead, they became experts in denial, diversion, damage control and in demanding that they be not deprived of their “crutches”.

They had tried to stamp their superiority by demonising others, demolishing critics, “desensitising” non-Malays by brandishing a keris annually, and dramatically displaying Umno as the staunchest defender of Islam.

Umno’s elite would even walk over each other to grab any and every opportunity to satisfy their insatiable and grotesque greed — and they would have the gall to do it under the guise of fighting for the poor Malay.

Incapable of reforming themselves, as former PM Mahathir had inspiringly pointed out recently, it was only a matter of time when Umno would implode – self-destruct – the inevitable happened on 8th March!

The rakyat were fed up, frustrated and furious at the unconscionable Umnoputra elite and their lapdog coalition partners for having bled this country dry and gambling the country away with the racial and religious card.

The people were tired of the government’s make-believe. Behind its portrait of a “successful nation” hung an increasingly strained and soiled social fabric – which they had to contend with everyday of their lives.

Pak Lah’s advisors failed to read the groundswell of disillusionment and discontentment. Detached and disconnected from the grassroots, they discussed day-to-day realities from the 4th Floor…as the PM dozed off!

For four years they had gone on a frolick, fumbling and flip-flopping all the way, while the people struggled to stay afloat against the rising cost of living…and as the leaders of the country grew fat and flaunted their fortune.

Khairy and his boys on the 4th Floor must have flogged themselves or went into a fit as four more states fell to the Opposition. Oxbridge must have wished they never had such an ox-brained graduate.

Dr Mahathir says Pak Lah is responsible for ‘destroying’ Umno and BN. He forgets that the ruins of today have their roots in his government of yesterday — one riddled with the most rotten of policies, practices and public personalities.

“Small” Smart Voter

Alas, it was the “small” and ordinary man and woman on the street without cash, clout or connection who succeeded in clipping, curtailing and even crushing executive supremacy.

In the run-up to the elections they were unafraid of being gassed or goaded on like animals into police trucks. They also refused to be gagged by the gamut of executive powers to contain, cripple and crush legitimate dissent.

Neither did they succumb to the government’s threats and taunts, or fall for its treacherous tricks, treats and theatrics or bow and bend in servile subservience, or allowed themselves to be bribed or ‘bought over’.

In the long ‘march’ to freedom, the rakyat matched the BN’s ‘Man, Media, Money and Machinery’ with their ‘Courage, Camadarie, Commitment and Cyberpower’. It was People’s Power that pushed this nation forward.

The populace were also not swayed by the four economic corridors (totaling RM1 trillion) – a cheap claptrap meant to keep the PM and his cronies in the corridors of power.

They did not flinch nor faint when met with another “formidable force” – the Elections Commission – which left indelible traces of farce, flaws and fraud behind.

Aided by the alternative media, the rakyat were able to make out and even mock at the spin and slant created by the mainstream media assisted by their band of “convertible” intellectuals.

General Elections 2008 saw the voter of Bolehland coming of age. Crossing the age-old race and religious divides many boldly made their ‘one choice’ in the ballot box and told the PM the blunt truth.

The voter of today is discerning enough to decipher truth from falsehood, daring enough to cross mental borders, barriers and bias and to risk uncertainty that accompanies change, and determined enough to synergise with others to bring about genuine change.

The representatives of the Opposition must take note of this evolution of the matured and politically sophisticated voter – who will have no scruples over voting them out of office if they failed to keep their oath of office.

One can imagine Abdullah Badawi looking back on the day when the citizens of Bolehland gave him a massive mandate to seize the moment and to bring about much-needed change but the PM failed miserably.

The daggers are now drawn on poor Pak Lah. Perhaps Hishamuddin Hussien could tell us when they are going to use it? What a tragic and twisted irony! What an ‘unmitigated disaster’ for Umno, BN and the whole country!

(22 March 2008)

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:22 am

Pity the old geezer lah. Let him sleep on in Putrajaya for another 5 years…
    http://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/bnm/20080325/tpl-umno-cheras-resolution-bm-98d6c80.html

2. #2 by hotsync on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:39 am

I really cannot wait for this thick skin, ugly, sleepy head to step down. He really didnt deserve our respect, show no integrity and dignity at all. What a let down to our beloved country.

3. #3 by lextcs on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:40 am

kit, are we still harping on old issues? Whats the way forward? [deleted] Whats your say on this MR. Kit? Even in an absolute monarchy like Thailand, the King listens to the voices of the majority even in times of coup. For us, we have voted for more effective governance and it is time to move ahead for the sake of the properity of our land. Check we will….balanced we must…..To our Agong, Daulat Tuanku and ampun Tuanku beribu ribu ampun….But please let the democratic process of the system prevails….

4. #4 by sotong on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:01 am

This is what happened when one is trying to cover up the gross mismanagement of the past administration……the ordinary people are now made to pick of the pieces, for generations to come, of failed policies, bad leadership, gross mismanagement and incompetency.

5. #5 by PSM on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:02 am

I agree with Jalleh on all points except ONE. In his last sentence he said “What an ‘unmitigated disaster’ for Umno, BN and the whole country!”
    No, it’s not an unmitigated disaster for the whole country, simply because we have shown “All & Sundry” (i.e. both the Bn & the Opposition) who’s really the boss…we the Rakyat. This is good for Malaysia.
    Malaysians are NOT stupid. If the BN continues with it’s policies as before (& all indications point that they have not chnaged), we will vote them out in the next GE.

6. #6 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:03 am

We can’t wait for another 5 years.
    Just imagine how much of our country’s fortune will be gone if there’s another 5 years.
    Whoever takes over then will suffer.
    Who’s gonna take the risk?

7. #7 by Jimm on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:09 am

After 50 years of waiting, we are just at the beginning of a new dawn.
    Now, we must have more patience and determination to seek changes.
    This country is stronger than all of us as long as we all stand united.
    We will seek the changes to come as long as there are significant hope still arises each day.
    Malayisan Malaysia.

8. #8 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:14 am

Since someone is trying to delay the Umno election to next year, better get Anwar to plan his move fast!

9. #9 by sotong on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:23 am

The aim of the present administration was not to blame the past administration and giving the people the false impression the present administration is doing its best to fix ” normal ” problems….killing 2 birds with one stone.

These irresponsible people are using politics to play with the future of the ordinary people and country.

10. #10 by wormie on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:25 am

Badawi is both a hero and villian.

Hero, because he allow more freedom for the press. You do not expect news about religion conversions, Lingam case to be published during Mahathir’s time.

Villian, because he did not carry out what he promised. Even when the royal commission agreed for the setting up of IPCMC, he did not carry it through. Worst he was snubbed by the then IGP, clearly a case of subordination. Hence he had shown that he is a weak leader.

With the recent election he finally woke up but too late. Now everyone in UMNO is eyeing his seat. He has changed the Cabinet with more upright people like the rare Rais Yatim and Sharir Samad, but what about the grassroots? Mindset takes a long time to change as can be seen when Mahathir ‘reprimanded’ the Malays in one of the general assembly.

On the bright side, like it or not, status quo had changed. Like I said in my blog, even if this was a freak election result, it has presented an opportunity that may never be repeated. Lets try out new formula and ways for the betterment of Malaysia.

http://thewormiepage.blogspot.com

11. #11 by lbn on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:29 am

These sore losers will keep coming out with surprises. Sdr. Kit, let’s not waste time over these unproductive matters. Let see good changes and make good things happen. I’m waiting for the CHANGE!

12. #12 by lorkh on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:44 am

I’d like to thank Pak lah for a series of blunders, including but not limited to releasing Anwar. He is not only Bapa Mertua, he’s Bapa Opposisi too!

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:52 am

Don’t bash the old guy too much! He’s doing a good job at bashing himself. Don’t think he needs our help.

14. #14 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:53 am

“he allow more freedom for the press.”

Excuse me! that’s prior to the election or after? I still remember the BN advertisement in the press “vote for BN or face consequences” i was wondering what the hell was that?

I wouldn’t be surprised if they (Khairy-Pak Lah) drag the time, these will enable them to consolidate their loots. To begin the consolidation of Mainboard and 2nd board. Then converting the shares on hand will become faster to cash out. All they need now is time to quickly convert the on hand shares into cash then transfer out to Cayman Island and Switzerland. Then when the new reform govt take control, they will flee this country with all the loots, and tell all M’sian, “So Long!”

15. #15 by justiciary on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:58 am

Those racists, religious bigots and extremists must wake up now and seriously consider how to build a new Malaysia for everyone irrespective of race,religion,language,culture and creed.

16. #16 by maxplus on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:13 am

UMNO just seems lost nowadays; they could not comprehend what has happened. Of course its a wake up call for them; positive changes can be seen. It will hard thing to swallows especiallt to the hardcore supporters but they should think back why this has happened.

The tsunami did get rid most of the ice old creatures; but hand full escaped; but that is alright we win some and lose some. Nobody can think of absolute power after this. The ppl check and balance motive thorugh elections will continue as long as democracy lives in Malaysia.

As the bible says..

Do the things you fear the most and death of fear is certain.

And we got over the things we fear the most. Nobody going to stop us now…

17. #17 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:18 am

the fall of BN is not possible as long as opposition like DAP not stick back to their propaganda …

please show transparency and fair play that we always hate of … please give an explanation or at least the guide on how the selection of candidate in Selangor exco is made …

you owe me an explanation, we support you becoz of the propoganda …

18. #18 by grace on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:22 am

I agree that Pak Lah had failed miserably.
    With so many opportunities given to him, he could have been the best PM ever.
    First there were so many high profile cases of corruption. If he could convict a few of them, just imagine how much respect he would have won.
    In Lingam’s scandal, he too could have proven to be firm and fair. If only he could get retitred judges from UK, Australia or India to conduct the inquiries, no one would have doubted his sincerity. But no it was not to be. He prefer the present make ups despite numerous protests.

When those Islamic officials snatched dead bodies from the oove ones, he remain stupidly dumb. Like a ‘father’ in a family, he could have cautioned those officials whose acts are causing much hardship to the deceased families.

There are lots more.
    I believe he is not really cut for the job of PM!!!

19. #19 by teejay on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:48 am

Tks, Kit for your reassuring words that the DAP team of Teresa,Teng,Ronnie & Ean Yang will work together to fulfill the dreams and aspirations of the ppl who voted them in.
    I am a Malaysian and proud of it. I was born in1958 and experienced the political climate in the 70’s,80’s,90’s and up to the present time.
    I have experienced the euphoria of Tanjung 1 in 1986, steadfastness in1987 during Operation Lallang, despair in 1999 when the ppl rejected our B Alternative and now renewed hope & joy at this present time. Many ppl shake their heads and tell me that they never expected this in their lifetme !

ric23 is obviously not a DAP supporter – he keeps on harping about Teresa having various posts etc.
    LET’s IGNORE THOSE WHO KEEP MOANING ANG GROANING ABOUT TERESA.TENG,RONNIE & EAN YANG. They just want to sow doubt and confusion to those who are reading the postings

Many tks to Tony, Dr Cheah & Weng San for their PJU thanksgiving dinner on monday nite. I even got to shake hands with Edward Lee and told him I voted for him.

20. #20 by jennifer cheong on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:52 am

PM said he make mistake by underestimate the power of e-media attack and propoganda done by opposition which make BN defeated. he still sleeping…still underestimate the intelligent and capability of the RAKYAT,DAP,PKR and PAS. for him, we are nothing.sheh….

21. #21 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:05 pm

teejay,

i guess u r from UMMNO Putera … that’s y i said cant see wat is my main point …

my main point is when we critics others, we must make sure the critics we make towards other, we cannot implement it .. else it will not convincing …

Why we do not choose BeeNNN? As simple as we hate about the style that they have, compete for power and crony …

And we choose DAP becoz of their propaganda! And we have the responsibility to ensure that they do not follow the step as BeeAnn!! As we do not want DAP only be goverment for 5 years!!

Why CANT we see this issue as a NEUTRAL SIDE? Why we want only to listen to good things about us but not bad thing about us?

If can read chinese, try to read as a NEUTRAL SIDE on this article:
    http://malaysiakini.com/columns/80375

22. #22 by ALtPJK on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:17 pm

Martin,
    How true “What an ‘unmitigated disaster’ for Umno, BN”. But please stop there, don’t include the “whole country” yet for there is still a glimmer of hope. Let the new governing coalition in the 5 states show the way to salvation.

23. #23 by teejay on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:18 pm

Don’t give me this UMNO putra rubbish lah.

You have been exposed as one who are targeting the DAP and cause doubt in ppl’s mind.

Your modus operandi is all too obvious ……don’t wori I will track your postings. You have been following a set pattern and use the same phrases and words again and again.

24. #24 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:28 pm

teejay … for sure i will use the same phrase again and again … coz wat i want to know is as simple as these:

(1) why cant we see this issue in a very NEUTRAL way? it seems like ur reaction is only willing to hear how good ppl are saying towards u?
    (2) i am not belong to any group of supporters to specific DAP leader. i am supporter to the party and the concept of DAP that brought to us.
    – and for this reason, i am scratching my head to understand why w leader that have some many achievements are sidelined?
    (3) i wanted to see DAP is stronger enough to face idiot like BN and their running dog component parties
    – For this reason, we must make best use of people

In this issue, it shows that we slap our own face when we laughing at abdullah critics him “you said you want to listen, but u only listen to good things about you, and finding excuse if ppl saying bad things about you”

25. #25 by baoqingtian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:43 pm

Hey! Where are Pak Doulah Bodowi’s UMNO buddies? I thought he said he has their support. But we have not heard from them lately.

Where is Naa-Jeep? Why is he not speaking? He is probably keeping his mouth shut so that Bodowi can ‘go down’ faster and then he can become the next PM

26. #26 by teejay on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:46 pm

ric23 , you are using the same phrases again and again becos you got nothing else to say and becos the you have got no other argument.

I repeat – you are not a DAP supporter. Instead you are out to undermine the DAP and cause rifts snd doubts among the true supporters of BR – you have been exposed !

27. #27 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:54 pm

i am using the same phrase again and again, because so far DAP is doing well in the other matters …

(1) penang is going good so far and many people are proud with that. We hope that LGE can be a successful chief minister there and eliminate gerakan permanantly there. But must becareful when handling the corruption matter since we know the trick that’s going to be used by UMMNO when it is going to harm them
    (2) the perak issue is acceptable and reasonable as it is out of control when it involved sultan. This one we give full back up to uncle lim.

The only issue is about the Selangor exco list we have now. That’s y i am asking for the same thing again and again. Why should i attack DAP leader on other areas that they are doing well?

I am just asking for the selangor issue as many feel that it is not convincing. U have to differentiate there are 2 types of critics, one is harmful … and mine is positive critic that want to ensure DAP will not follow the step of BN …

Is it this is considered too much or not our respoinsibility?

[Early this morning, I posted the following in another thread: “As much has been said, let me assure all that the DAP team in the PKR-DAP-PAS Selangor state coalition government includes Teng as well as the three DAP Excos, Teresa, Ronnie and Ean Yong. As the full DAP team in the Selangor coalition state government has not been formed, it is premature to explain. Suffice for the present to say that all four, i.e. Teresa, Teng, Ronnie and Ean Yong are fully conscious of the responsibility of working as a team to make a success of the coalition state government. Manoharan will be the fifth member of the DAP team in Selangor state government when he is released from ISA, hopefully very soon.” Suggest that the subject rests at this stage. – Kit]

28. #28 by ALtPJK on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:21 pm

Timely intervention, too.

Let the fledgling coalition govts in the Democratic Corridor be focussed in their effort to bring progress to the respective states and not let component parties be distracted by pettiness.

29. #29 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:26 pm

In 2008 GE, MCA,Gerakan and MIC lost becoz of UMMNO …

Later on Anwar is going to lost becoz of DAP … it is wasting of time and oppoturnity to see such a golden moment to take over the federal goverment …

All the ppl around asking on this and feel uncomfortable with this decision on selangor exco selection … the votes now is turning back to BN especially chinese community … labelled DAP same as UMMNO Putra ….

if this issue is not well taken, it is wasting of time and oppoturnity that we are waiting for so long …

30. #30 by novice101 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:42 pm

Martin Jalleh has given an comprehensive description of the ills of and gross abuses perpetrated by the UMNO-BN hegemony.

He says of Mahathir :-

“Dr Mahathir says Pak Lah is responsible for ‘destroying’ Umno and BN. He forgets that the ruins of today have their roots in his government of yesterday — one riddled with the most rotten of policies, practices and public personalities.”

He has hit the nail squarely on its head , here. Mahathir schemed and plotted to draw up policies to keep himself in power. He propagated corrupt practices to enrich himself. Cunningly, he surrounded himself with cronies, who were prepared to sell their dignity, for the crumbs he threw their way. Together, they perpetuated the political patronage in the hegemony, oblivious to the great damage they were inflicting on the nation. Now, he feigned love for UMNO and the nation by trying to pin the blame on Abdullah Badawi. Is this honesty? Where is the integrity?

Martin Salleh continues :- “Alas, it was the “small” and ordinary man and woman on the street without cash, clout or connection who succeeded in clipping, curtailing and even crushing executive supremacy.”

“Patience has its limit”, this is obviously what is happening in Malaysia. The rakyat has had enough. Though it was deeply frustrated, it tolerated these gross injustices and blatant abuses in silence. This was misread by the abusers, they thought they had become master strategists and tacticians. They lured themselves into believing, they had become experts in shaping public opinion. But, when the rakyat decided to act, its action speak volumes !

Martin Jalleh :_ “What a tragic and twisted irony! What an ‘unmitigated disaster’ for Umno, BN and the whole country!

Martin, it is definitely an unmitigated disaster for UMNO and BN, but, it is definitely not for the whole nation ! The whole nation is celebrating, and, rightly so, too! It shows the world, democracy is alive and kicking in Malaysia!!!

31. #31 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:47 pm

Tun Dr. Mahathir has 22 yrs, Pak Lah is only 4 yrs in office, it is consider fast oledi! but I must admit he’s not a good liar! The problem is with Khairy, a liar blend with a not so good liar the end product is “stupid”. You will see some “stupid” claiming they are UMNO members protesting at Komtar, and protesting at outside Sultan palace carrying blatant and unislamic banner. I can’t stop laughing when i see these bunch of lost wild monkeys “Beruk Beruk liar di jalanraya” are in fact UMNO members, the leader Pak Lah and as a deputy UMNO youth leader Khairy did not condemn such action, where are they now with their microphone? Ketuanaan Kroni Kroni Malaysia must be condemned.

32. #32 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:51 pm

lakilompat,

you are right, we dont like kroni …. BUT … we have to make sure we not implementing kroni policy as well …

33. #33 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 1:57 pm

It was a defying moment sure, but the jury on defining is still out. In fact, its more likely a de-defiining moment. The hegemonist and ultras have been temporarily pushed back but they have resources to come back meaner and harder and in fact likely.

No, its not a defining moment yet. For Malaysia to rely have a defining moment, it will take more time and a lot more effort than historically we have been able to muster.

No not quite yet..

34. #34 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:11 pm

I can’t wait to clob Khairy with a Keris for the sin he has done to Paklah, UMNO, BN, ISA detainees and fellow Malaysian.

Look how proud he was during the UMNO General Assembly to talk abt. Bersih adalah haram, is he a King, a prime minister, minister, or MB to raise his voice at UMNO Assembly?

I agreed with Bigjoe, it’s not ez now as Khairy’s still in power to control the Federal Govt. Already new case coming, Maybank using RM 8.6 Billion to buy Indonesia bank. What the hell is that? why not Maybank use RM 8.6 Billion to stimulate Malaysia Economy. God damned Khairy again.

35. #35 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:15 pm

lakilompat,

u also mad for khairy right? this is the consequences if we choose wrong person in place …

this is the same reason why ppl are mad with the Selangor exco list …

36. #36 by Godfather on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:20 pm

“Dr Mahathir says Pak Lah is responsible for ‘destroying’ Umno and BN. He forgets that the ruins of today have their roots in his government of yesterday — one riddled with the most rotten of policies, practices and public personalities.”

Absolutely ! Mahathir corrupted the judiciary, the Police force, the AG’s Chambers, the ACA. Badawi inherited the system, found that it worked well for him too, and he perpetuated it. If we get rid of Badawi now, and the guy that Mahathir has championed all along becomes the new PM, what do you think is going to happen ?

Three words – Business As Usual.

37. #37 by controlnation1 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:21 pm

I think the DAP had made great mistake regarding the Selangor exco line up.

BTW,What position Manoharan will get?

38. #38 by sotong on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:42 pm

Decade after decade, bad leader/s are elected to lead and used narrow, short-sighted and damaging politics to play with the lives of the ordinary people and retain power.

It is long overdue for the ordinary people to take control of their future.

39. #39 by teejay on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:43 pm

The ppl who are still harping on the Selangor Exco are obviously NOT DAP supporters. They want to keep this issue alive to give the impression that DAP make a big mistake and that there is cronyism, lack of transparency,etc……
    Their ploy is to create the impression that the public is “unhappy” with the choices and cause doubt in the TRUE DAP supporters mind.

Ok, Kit. Got your msg loud and clear. You are our hero ! Incidentally I was discussing politics with a Malay brother and he suddenly volunteered that he respects you very much !
    How times have changed.

40. #40 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:52 pm

teejay,

ur comments show that u r a narrow minded person that only want ppl to say u r good, u r handsome and u r great … u cant even hear a single word that say that u r not good …

while we are keeping on to attack ppl like abdullah on how he select the candidates of minister … but we dun allow ppl to ask on the criteria how we select Selangor exco, is it convincing?

REMEMBER!! Why we choose DAP?? We select becoz of the propaganda and the semangat of DAP. We have the responsibility to ensure that the party stick tighly to the propaganda … is it this is too much or wrong?

41. #41 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:57 pm

I like this statement in Malay,

Syed Ali berkata, ini kerana kemenangan melalui pertandingan membuktikan beliau seorang ‘anak jantan’ yang berani berdepan dengan apa juga cabaran.

To ric23_my
    “this is the same reason why ppl are mad with the Selangor exco list …”
    I know u r still mad becos ur favorite idol wasn’t in the lineup, but i don’t see that’s a good reason to be mad at the new lineup, jus give them a chance first, as i mentioned earlier, we should respect the decision, tolerate, and monitor. Well, if the exco do something really piss me off, I’m sure i will go against it, and blame the leader. Well, now I hope you can take deep breath calm down and look forward. Do you know sometimes Donald Trump have to make tough decision to fire someone look at season 5, the two final apprentice are so great, but Randall didn’t buy the idea end up the other finalist unable to join and work in Trump Organization.

I understand your feeling now, i hope you jus don’t get too emotional attached. Well, tell you, when i first look at Teresa Kok at 1 of the DAP campaign trailer there’s a special chemistry happening, i start to fall in love with Teresa, becos she’s so pretty i think all successful man will want a wife with those characteristic, she looks sharp and intelligent. Too bad, I’m married now, becos when I’m young around 23 i get too emotional and committed myself too early and now I’m 30 i realized that I’m more experienced now, i’m able to pick what is best compare to 7 yrs ago when i’m too emotional attached. Choosing leader is also the same, you would rather choose the leader with necessary skill rather in haste. Pls do not relate to crony, it is different story, if Teng is a good ppl, he will earn his respect, there are still bright future ahead. Like DSAI after 10 yrs he’s still as pure as gold, any of his Ceramah, ppl will come to listen not becos he hold any post but becos DSAI is a good person.

42. #42 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:58 pm

teejay,

learn from the mistake that BN did and cause the lost of 2008 GE … now u are having the same mindset as BN … when ppl express the disatisfactory and want a REASONABLE explaination … u just give an excuse we are creating chaos and impression … and simply label ppl as not a DAP supporter …

U try urself to go around and ask about opinion on this issue (DO NOT ask Klang ppl, ask people from other states) … see wat is their comments on this BY URSELF …

If this issue is ignored and labeled as not relavant … u are going to pay for the same consequences that BN have in this 2008 GE … TOO ARROGANT and IGNORANT

43. #43 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:15 pm

Dear ric23_my,

Why not give the new S’langor exco line up a chance to proof you wrong?

Only then decide! don’t spit now, swallow it what you said today might be right tomorrow or might be wrong, you will have to calm down, have some sex and relax yourself.

44. #44 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:22 pm

lakilompat,

To think in a mature and stable mindset, ur suggestion is really appreciate and convincing.

But sometimes, this “small matter” will affect the outcome of other “big matters” … Anwar is going to be affected due to this issue later …

and btw, should i suggest all of us here also “dont split now, calm it down, have some sex and relax” … and let newly form cabinet led by Abdullah to have chance to proof we are wrong?

45. #45 by wag-the-dog on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:25 pm

Tony Pua (MP PJU) – Even A Cow Could Have Won

On Monday evening I was invited to a thanksgiving dinner by DAP Petaling Jaya Utara. About 600-700 hundred DAP or otherwise Barisan Rakyat supporters attended the dinner braving the rain and traffic that evening to a restaurant in Kampung Kayu Ara. Also present were the DAP winners Tony Pua (MP PJU), State Assemblymen for Dr. Cheah Wing Yin (Damansara Utama), Edward Lee Poh Lin (Bukit Gasing), Lau Weng San (Kampung Tungku), Hannah Yeoh (Subang Jaya). Also present former MP’s and assemblymen.

Visit http://www.wagthedog-malaysia.com.blogspot.com for details.

46. #46 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:34 pm

Don’t think it is about ignorance or arrogance, perhaps there are people out there who would like to give the “general” the benefit of the doubt. After all, they were entrusted with the responsibility to act the best they can possibly see fit. Perhaps, there could be other issues at hand that have not been fully settled. Then again, it could be the person has the strength and ability that is best used elsewhere for a reason. Perhaps, the person’s weakness is only known by certain people privileged to it and is seen to be detrimental to the whole objective/ strategy.

Early signs of distress can be false if not fully understood and if one fails to look deeper. As an analogy, a company with high stock level is considered to be weak but it may not be the case for another company which have high stock level. There are many factors/ force that drive the difference.

No one has the answer right now. Patience I believe is requested.

47. #47 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:36 pm

Well, i don’t think that idea is working for Pak Lah, i don’t wanna give him a chance! He must go within this year. I think Tun Dr. Mahathir and Tengku Razaleigh will support my statement.

Look at the new Polis uniform, and hand gun, how much govt. spent this time? Do you think with better uniform & gun will boast the Police morale cut down on crime rate? Can the police find “Shalinee” with the new uniform? Do you need a stylish police or a police who can resolve crime and prevent crime? Which Koperasi supply uniform to the police? again $$$$$ soon after election.

Who order or approved Maybank to bail out Indonesia Bank for RM 8.6 Billions? Why not use the money to boast local industry? are they moving out funds now, because the new dawn is approaching?

48. #48 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:38 pm

jetaime … u all more and more sounds like MCA and Gerakan … everything also for “general” benefits … and things discuss with door closed and in a black box … which we laugh and critic them last time … convincing if this is an excuse?

49. #49 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:40 pm

lakilompat,

I use back ur statement … since u also cannot sit quietly and spit …

Why not give the new ABDULLAH appointed cabinet a chance to proof you wrong?

Only then decide! don’t spit now, swallow it what you said today might be right tomorrow or might be wrong, you will have to calm down, have some sex and relax yourself.

50. #50 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:52 pm

ric23_my, it is difference again

Pak Lah already have 100% mandate given once that’s 2004. And now DAP new S’langor Exco is the 1st time mandate given to them.

At that time even opposition was routed to only 17 Parliament Seat.

1 term is enough, all the crazy cases that put shame on all Malaysian. During Tun Dr. Mahathir time, I’m proud to tell foreigner I’m from Malaysia, but during Pak Lah time, It’s better i jus shuddap becos nothing proud abt my country and its cronies.

1) Atlantuya
    2) Lingam
    3) ECM-Libra
    4) RM 4.6 billion Port Klang Free Trade Zone bailout
    5) Soi Lek Sex Scandal
    6) ISA – HINDRAF & BERSIH
    7) KERIS
    8) MOTOROLA RM 1 billion project
    9) State LAND scandals
    10) Shukoi jet fighter & Scorpene Submarines
    11) Man on space tourist mission
    12) Zakariah Mansion
    13) SCOMI
    14) Ruling Coalition losing 5 states
    15) Collapsed of Gerakan, MIC, MCA, UMNO

51. #51 by max2811 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 3:58 pm

Actually, I’m waiting for a witch-hunt. I hope to see all those who made a bundle during the previous regime thru illegal means must be put to trial.

LGE has something big about Gov land in Penang. He shouldn’t stop.

52. #52 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 4:10 pm

lakilompat,

u can just find any excuse to escape from being question about the selangor issue … and keep arrogant and ignorant … and smiling for urself for the next 5 years … see whether u still can gain support in next election or during Anwar competition soon … u will pay for the consequences due to the arrogant and ignorant …

It is very sad to see how a person betray it’s propaganda after they gain the power … i wish to see DAP can gain confidence back for ppl around especially after this issue …

If this issue is not well taken … it is very obvious wat ppl commonly said about DAP is true? -> A PARTY WITHOUT PARTIES, IS NOT A PARTY …

I hope this issue is taken care well … else i will still keep questioning

53. #53 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 4:10 pm

what’s SCOMI?

54. #54 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:27 pm

SCOMI helm by Pak Lah son, Kamaludin Abdullah. It’s a company that tackle all kind of govt. project whether it’s on air, land or sea.

ric23_my dun be like tat, u need a life, if ppl not selecting u doesn’t mean they are arrogant, when im playing a basketball game, the teacher will ask the 2 leader to choose their starting 5, if u r not been pick, dun get curse, becos overalls u will still be sitting on the bench. This is what i call team work. I think not even 2 girls can satisfy your mockery on S’langor exco list.

55. #55 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:31 pm

lakilompat, thanks. My guess is that Scomi is the public listed company in the KLSE main board.

56. #56 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:45 pm

jetaime, yes it is, On 1st November 2007, Scomi Engineering bags RM 122 million LRT Expansion Job. Who’s the man behind this project?

Khairy has 20% stake in Rapid KL, Rapid Penang, wow! I’m jealous well too bad I’m not Pak Lah son in law. Well, it will be tough to be one. It’s lucky I can lived a good life without being call “Raja Beruk”

57. #57 by ric23_my on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:45 pm

lakilompat,

Then there is no point why we choose DAP rather than BN, since whoever is in power, the one will implement for favourism and crony policy … then next time dun ever use again the propaganda “best use of talent” .. and “transparency policy” … coz it will not be convincing anymore …

It only make ppl like me feel being cheated. We urge ppl around us to vote for opposition, 1 vote also kenot less to ensure that the opposition will not lost to the BN by postal vote …

and after they gain the power, we are forgotten and ignored … can be understandable if DAP leader did not appreciate for member that can contribute for so many years long … how would they appreciate to normal person like me who only contribute a small vote?

I will ensure that the voice of ppl regarding this issue is highlighted in public and widely spread if 1st attempt to discuss it internally is ignored… to create awareness so that the ppl will not cheated anymore … as we have been cheated for BN for 50 years …

We will see wat are the consequences in near election for anwar … we want to see the rakyat voice is greater than crony voice or teh other way round …

DAP leader can ignore, but u will pay for it … pay for the lesson similar to BN due to arrogant and ignorance …

58. #58 by joehancl on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:49 pm

REMEMBER the 7th day of the 7th moon of the chinese calender. It comes around once a year. When the gates of hell open it sweeps forth and the devil takes in its own. Be not afraid, be forewarned rather, those who suck the blood of the rakyat will be nailed one way or another.

59. #59 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:57 pm

joehancl, they dun care, even killing some1 and blowing it up into pieces is still OK. They will kill you 1st before been nailed. They are much worst than devil.

60. #60 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:59 pm

Thanks for volunteering the info. Appreciate it.

61. #61 by jetaime.f on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 6:02 pm

Nay, don’t think one wants to earn a living in that manner, if the intention is bad.

62. #62 by chiakchua on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 6:52 pm

I fully agreed with what Martin Jalleh had written. Fantastic write-up. Really pray that our new BR would show the BN what is the proper administration! Be prepared for full take over in the next GE!

63. #63 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:17 pm

He knows that and he knows that we know that – and we in turn know that he knows that we know that. But he so hates the guy that he has to be heard saying that he has made a ‘mistake’ in appointing him as his successor – public admission of failure that we never heard him make before. The truth is it wasn’t a mistake when he made the choice. The ‘mistake’ is he forgets that power changes the man – like it did him. Power corrupts.

64. #64 by penang308 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:20 pm

So far so good in Penang!

The Penang people are happy. We know the job is not easy and we know BR can do it!

KS & LGE! we are 100% behind you!

65. #65 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:21 pm

Abdullah soon realizes that if it ain’t broken why fix it – especially if being in the different stages of being ‘broken’ he could benefit from it.

66. #66 by kslaw70 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:34 pm

Mr Lim, what u said of team of 5 DAP adun in the coalition gomen is just your lips service to quiet down the complaint by voters and party members pertaining Teng’s case.

2 weeks after election DAP CC still cant or reluctant to explain why and how Teng was drop. Show to us once and for all the judgement DAP CC used to drop him. I think if the reasons is good and you got nothing to hide than the whole story will be closed.

It looks to me that DAP CC dont have any reason to explain why a 29 years old freshie is more qualify than a 4 terms ADUN. I pity Tan Sri Khalid try over and over again to help DAP to explain to journalists everytime being ask about this matter.Dap now is part of the state gomen not opposition any more, pls act according to your latest status.

When people never complaint or silent dont treat people like stupitful. What u do now will give u the impact come next election.

Just to say : BN BOLEH, DAP LAGI BOLEH!

67. #67 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 8:00 pm

this is malaysia.we hv leaders who hv even abused the laws.even if a prime minister is found guilty in anyway…he shoudnt be immune by the laws of malaysia.if hes dirty he shud be put away and in jail for misguiding the country and its people with all the lies and all the cheats.but these clowns are too good actors and they will always hv a scapegoat to get away with any sins they hyv done while projecting their god-like looks.and these people really made most of us malaysians sick.[deleted]

68. #68 by Loyal Malaysian on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:39 pm

Does the PM read? Send him and the ‘lapdog partners’ a copy of this analysis so they do not have to still look for reasons or give stupid reasons for the BN loss of 4+1 states and the 2/3 majority.
    And I’m sure the opposition leaders know it is true that the rakyat will hold them to account in the administration of those states in 5 years time.

69. #69 by straight talk on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:32 pm

Give Pah Lah some credit lah. If the PM was Najib with Mahathir’s backing Barisan Rakyat -DAP,PKR & PAS would not have captured the other 4 states or wld have been able to deny 2/3 in Parliament. Look the BA is in 7 states. Don’t forget the Sultans of Perlis & Trengganu also opposed Pa La’s nominations. The time is now for the BA to show how they can rule in these 5 states effectively and efficiently. If this is achieved then come next GE the rest of states will follow to elect the BA. Rule well with a heart.

70. #70 by pjboy on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:29 pm

Well, BN is always good at blaming others for their misdeeds. The recent Star forum was just a chance for MCA-UMNO to propaganda & test YB TP reactions. Bravo YB TP for putting up with it. Some of the things said were hard to swallow – but I have to say the only one that stayed to the topic (80% I say) was only YB TP. However, the remark on “voting the dog” should be reserved to teh-tarik talk lah, no need to highlight…that part was turning into almost to a ceramah! Maybe BR should have a bi-monthly ceramah until next GE!!!

71. #71 by pjboy on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 11:34 pm

Like any war strategy, attack the enemy at its weakest points…draw away the enemy strongest points away from your own weakest points. Likewise, going to war has only one option: to win! The 12th GE was only the 1st battle. This is now like the 1st landings of the Allied Forces against the Nazi. Maybe I had too much coffee…

72. #72 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:08 am

Did you fellows read or not Sdr Lim’s posting here and also in another thread. Why keep on arguing about Teng like “eating dead chicken intestine”. Sdr Lim said wait, we wait lah. For how long we wait, I don’t know. But be patient lah, may be when State assembly meets we will know lah.

In the meantime, have we got anything new and interesting to discuss or not. All these old stories already lah.

73. #73 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:12 am

LadyGodiva Says:
    Abdullah soon realizes that if it ain’t broken why fix it – especially if being in the different stages of being ‘broken’ he could benefit from it.

Huh??? Du kong hami kwei? Hollow philosophical or sophistication?

74. #74 by ric23_my on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 12:21 am

limkamput,

from your comments … can i say this?

If abdullah ask you wait then you also wait lah … why like “eating dead chicken intestine” and keep arguing about abdullah lead cabinet?

i guess u will not accept this also, right?

75. #75 by kickbutt on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:01 am

limkamput eats dead chicken intestines?? you gotta be kiddin’. he only eats dead pigs intestines. check it out!

76. #76 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:39 am

ric23_my, AAB never gives me reply mah, so we eat dead chicken intestine lah. But Sdr Lim already gave you reply mah, so go eat something else lah.

owah, gorilla finally found his password for kickbutt as i expected.

77. #77 by LadyGodiva on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:33 am

Listen, kickbutt! Let’s leave this guy alone.

With the elections over, now is the time to enjoy a song or two witb Bob Dylan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8nz00qgWwE&feature=related

78. #78 by lakilompat on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:54 am

akarmalaysian, u might be wrong. In Taiwan, Chen Sui Bien is charged with corruption, but President is immune to charges. Hence, they will charge him after he officially handover the sit to Mah Ying Jiou.

I’m looking forward they capture Khairy and sentence him to treason, destroying Pak Lah, UMNO, and BN.

79. #79 by PSM on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 3:23 pm

I don’t see what’s wrong with the new Selangor Exco. The DAP is also represented there with good people right?
    Even before they do anything, some of you are alreday questioning!
    Bro Kit has agreed to the appointments, & he should know what is best.

80. #80 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 5:36 pm

PSM,

we dun blindly against, and we dun blindly support … we against if it is wrong, and support if it is right …

if everything also agree without thinking, then better go MCA blog … then Kah Ting ask you whether he look likes britney spear or not, and you will say yes …

81. #81 by kurf85 on Wednesday, 2 April 2008 - 9:01 pm

Let us put the religious thing to aside shall we.

All religion said there is only one god and the name of their gods is different but that does not mean we should not love one another is it?

Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t the 10 commandment state that you should love your neighbour??? And does it state which or what type of neighbour or skin of the neighbour?? I believe it’s not. So please leave the religion thing to one side and put your political belief to another side. Last time I check in the Bible didn’t have or had a chapter about democracy or republic does it…and I’m a Muslim…what am I doing reading the Bible???If you guys are wondering…Islam doesn’t said that we can’t study other religion…”learn other things in this world and hope it can make you a better person”..that is what my lecturer said to me.

We all born ignorance, arrogant and racist. Don’t ever said that you aren’t racist because I can say that you are lying. We all are. That’s that. But we all try to be open minded for other people. Don’t you guys ever wonder why does God created people with different colour?? Is it because for racist purpose?? Or probably because God want us to learn from each other??? Be friendly…well I can go on and on…

About the media thing. Like I said…put the religion aside first..let us look from other country’s media..say..the US..with their CNN…if you said they aren’t bias, then why do they always telecast about Iraq..not about the people but about how their army is doing..how many people they are killing..hmm..thats a bit odd doesn’t it?

And the wheel keep spinning round and round until a media company suddenly said that they are going to telecast everything and anything about the world. Without being bias to anyone or any country the world are going to be the same as always. But you guys probably know this that sort of stuff isn’t going to happened because nowadays most of the “democratic” is using the communism best weapon. PROPAGANDA. It’s all propaganda…and what better way to channel it unless by using your own countries media network.

What I trying to explain from my gibberish sentence above is that, not only the Muslim media is narrow minded but so does every network in the world. And probably they are like that because of the media nowadays is not a hub for bringing knowledge or news to the people but it is like a commercial thing. Who have the most rating..who have the most viewers..things like that…Globalization and Capitalism if you ask me brings a lot of problems as well..

Well if you think I’m wrong than say it..but then again we all have different mind and view..does we not?? here’s my email [email protected] …email me if any of you wants a discussion with me…TQ for you precious time.

82. #82 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 3:10 pm

There’s a saying History is written by the victor so as media is manipulated by those in powers.