Abdullah got it wrong again in his polling-eve TV message

Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in his 9 pm TV polling-eve message said:

“You have to vote for our future. You have to vote for our children…

“What will happen if there is chaos and there is instability?”

Abdullah got only the first part right, that Malaysian voters must vote for their future and their children.

He got the second part completely wrong – as the choice before the Malaysian voters is not between Barisan Nasional on the one hand and chaos and instability on the other.

This is a false choice.

The real choice in the ballot box today is whether to choose a Malaysia of excellence , glory and distinction or a Malaysia of mediocrity, indignity and shame; a Malaysia where every Malaysian regardless of race or religion has a equal place under the Malaysian sun instead of a Malaysia where the best and brightest are driven to foreign lands in one exodus after another to bestow excellence, glory and distinction to other countries instead of to their homeland.

Abdullah said the Chinese and Indian voters have to decide whether they want a louder voice in parliament or a bigger role in government bv voting in the MCA and MIC.

This is another false choice, for 50 years of Malaysian history have demonstrated that the MCA and MIC cannot guarantee a bigger role in government whatever their numbers in Parliament – in fact, the stronger the MCA and MIC in the government, the weaker the Chinese and Indian communities in the country!

Let Malaysians vote to tell Abdullah that they want both – a louder voice in parliament so as to ensure a bigger role in government!

1. #1 by lopez on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:02 am

AAB still floating in the air, like an angkasawan-nah,
    using big words and all like mba wannabe, i not too sure he knows what it means, and leaders of other nations would be laughing themselves out this malaysian morning
    and would be LAUGHING AT US MALAYSIANS if we allow a crown like him and us cronies for 50 years to further take us to have-none…..HOL LANND

CAnt control even the local authority and municipalities and talk about what grand imaginative talk for all malaysians.

GO BACK TO SLEEP.

2. #2 by Justicewanted on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:02 am

Abdullah said the Chinese and Indian voters have to decide whether they want a louder voice in parliament or a bigger role in government bv voting in the MCA and MIC

==================================

The Chinese and Indian had voted BN in 2004 to give BN a total of 92% of the total parliment seats.

Isn’t that loud enough but what do the Chinese and Indian got in return????

Nothing………

3. #3 by Jong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:07 am

Excellent, well put! My votes will go to DAP without a doubt! Get ready your winning smile YB Kit and prepare to make changes tomorrow morning!

To Abdullah, enough of your lies. Go ahead continue your sleep.

4. #4 by Justicewanted on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:15 am

Is this call stability and security????

1. Pay for our own guard in the place we stay.

2. Crimes reached a figure of more that 200,000.

3. Children cannot even play safely around our neighbourhood.

4. The terrorising of the Mat Rempit.

5. The Lingham type of appointed Judicury

and the list goes on……

5. #5 by fm2 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:16 am

That’s enough for 50 years, lets vote for a change.
    Cant wait to see tonight result. All the best YB and wish everyone becareful, who know they’ll come n attack us.
    YB, we will always support DAP.

6. #6 by malaysianboleh on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:32 am

I am still at work,but as i promise myself i must travel 350km from my work place after 12 noon today to cast my long awaited vote. But the decision is final. I do not wanted to stay in a place where i need to triple lock my house gate. The place i stay i need to pay the security fees from my own pocket. I need to watch out for robbers even on my routine. Vote smart today vote the one and only malaysian Party.

7. #7 by ktteokt on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:36 am

As if BN can guarantee the security of the nation. Even the police commits crimes these days! So can we trust what BN has promised? Can we trust what AAB promises?

8. #8 by ipohleong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:45 am

vote for DAP a must. 18 votes from my close family relatives. uncle kit i will be celebrating with u tonite in the ballot centre. good luck.

9. #9 by Justicewanted on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:47 am

Can you believe in someone who say that the parliment will not be desolved during the Chinese New Year, then desolved the parliment in less than 24 hours???????

10. #10 by AhPek on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:49 am

Pak Lah,

I bloody much prefer a louder noise in Parliment so that you and your UMNOPUTRA will think twice whenever you plot to stick your dirty fingers into our cookie jar or to try further marginalise the non Malays than having more of your lap dogs in Parliment to do your bidding to recieve some crumbs from you.
    YB KIT, today is new day but it is also a different new day for a new MALAYSIA will be born before the end of the day.
    MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU,DAP AND ALL THE OPPOSITIONS.I am going out now to make a difference for MALAYSIA.

11. #11 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:50 am

No Uncle Lim, you’re the one who got it wrong. “Our” here refers to the you-know-who election candidates, not Malaysian :)

12. #12 by justice6 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:52 am

aiya…you guys all misunderstood our Abdullah la.. he is a good man, even on the eve of election he said..

“You have to vote for our future. You have to vote for our children…” — this mean vote for DAP,PKR,PAS, apart from BN.

“What will happen if there is chaos and there is instability?” —- this mean if you vote for BN.

he also urging the rakyat to vote DAP and the gang mah…. why u all scold him leh…

13. #13 by Short-sleeve on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 8:59 am

Hello Badawi,

Take your chaos and instability thingy and shove it up your behind!

Saya ni pantang dicabar AND I AM VOTING FOR CHANGE TOGETHER WITH MY FAMILY & RELATIVES.

We are gonna bring down your Sharizat in Lembah Pantai!

Bring on your phantom and postal votes. We got the rakyat determination for change.

Lawan tetap lawan!

14. #14 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:01 am

The news headlines on 9.3.08:

PM sacked by Supreme Council for massive polls defeat

MCA President commits suicide in shame over Polls defeat

Gerakan President asks for political asylum in US after polls defeat

MIC President attacked by illusioned party members after defeats

15. #15 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:03 am

Let’s Vote For:
    Good over Bad/Evil
    Right over Wrong
    Equality over Inequality
    Justice over Injustice
    Peace over War
    Health over Sickness
    Honesty over Hypocrisy
    Crown over Clown
    Strength over Weakness
    Courage over Fear
    Wisdom over Foolishness
    Indiscrimination over Discrimination
    Light over Darkness

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 080308
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    http://msi.Rocky101.com
    Sat. 8th Mar. 2008.

16. #16 by Bigjoe on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:09 am

Well, falsehood is nothing new. But what is more persistent is the outdatedness. Even if he is to make a spin on thing, the message need to be changed. The lines he used is old while the world and Malaysian has changed.

He just don’t have answer and behind the curve on the issues and challenges. He is just not the person for the job – that much Dr. M is right although he is the person who put him there and we all know Dr. M is good at messing things up and Badawi is another one of his mess.

Don’t get me wrong, I think he started out wanting to do the right thing and still do but he face a conflict immemorial – to do the right thing and the safe thing. Inevitably the well-intentioned but unskilled get lost and mess the job up and do much worst damage in his confusion. When they start to lie, you know its time for him to go.

This time around we may just have be able to sent him a notice of him messing up. Its up to Kelantan to decide if he should go or not. But next time around, if he fails to get the notice and he can still fail to do so because he is that mediocre then his own people will finish the job we start out to do.

I actually pity him because I think he is so lost he will not get the notice we are sending. He already sounds like it – unable to change.

17. #17 by Joetan on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:14 am

Pak Lah is telling lies again in his TV polling eve message. If he is so concerned about the future of the country then he should have dropped candidates who have shame our country. Candidates like bocor Bung Mokhtar or his racist son in law and many others like them should not have been nominated to stand in the election. If Pak Lah is so concerned about the chinese or indian representation in the government to fight for their communiites rights then he should not have allowed cases like body snatching or christian books confiscation to happen when the chinese and indians have put up a strong pro- government representatives in 2004. If Pak Lah is so concerned about proverty eradication then he should have restructure the NEP to allow the poor among the chinese or indians communites to buy houses at a discount instead of allowing the rich bumiputras to enjoy the privilege. The List can go on and on.

18. #18 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:18 am

What do you expect from a feeble village cretin who knows his limitations but yet wanted to perform impossible tasks? An “economic expert” who tries to fool his people by repackaging previous failed development projects into “economic corridors”? A buffoon who does not know the difference between standard deviation and variance but yet holds the Finance Minister post?

19. #19 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:23 am

What Dr Mahathir said about Pak Lah is true – he is a seasoned liar.

He can say he is the PM for all and yet do nothing when injustice is done to other ethnic groups.

Tonight we celebrate MERDEKA from the neocolonists UMNO

Merdeka ! Merdeka ! Merdeka !

20. #20 by max2811 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:35 am

My family and I have done our part this morning. My daughter and I voted for Dr.Lee Boon Chye in Gopeng. My wife will do the same for Po Kuan in B Gajah. Will wait for the results tonight.

21. #21 by Demon on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:47 am

Voted PAS

22. #22 by Demon on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:48 am

Voted PAS for P.113 and DAP for N.56

23. #23 by grace on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:48 am

I do not want to allow my children to follow MCA or Gerakan’s values.
    I simply cannot sell my principles for a fistful of dollars!!!

Shame on you Pak Lah. Haven’t the Chinese andIndians given MCA or MIC a VERY BIG VOICE after your thumping victory last ellection.
    Did you lend them your BIG EARS?
    OR THOSE ELECTED MCA AND GERAKAN ARE REALLY DUMB IN THE CABINET MEETING?

I PRAY VERY HARD THAT ALL MCA, MIC AND GERAKAN CANDIDATES FAILED MISERABLY!!!

GOD BLESS LKS AND ALL!!!!

24. #24 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:49 am

ANWAR”s LETTER TO MALAYSIANS

Fellow Malaysians,

Assalamualaikum and warmest greetings,

The moment of truth is upon us. The 8th of March 2008 is the pivotal moment of our time – when the people of Malaysia have a choice between changing to a better, more wholesome Malaysia; or continuing to be trapped and shackled by 50 years of a chequered independence.

From day one on nomination day itself, fraud upon fraud has been the hallmark of Umno-BN, through their ever-willing puppet, the EC. The introduction of stamp duties, followed by its abrupt abolition; uneven campaigns and gangster-like threats towards opposition candidates; the EC’s admission that there are apparent 8, 666 votes above 100 years of age; un-secret postal votes; and most shockingly – the abolition of the use of indelible ink on the grounds of ‘public safety’.

These absurd frauds are clearly desperate attempts to maintain the rule of Umno-BN, even as they shiver in fear, seeing the readiness of the people to voice out their dissatisfaction across the length and breadth of the country. But what is truly sad is that it seems, from this endless series of trickery, that in the eyes of Umno-BN, the people of Malaysia are so easily manipulated and fooled with impunity.

That is what Umno-BN wants – for the people to shift their attention away from them, into a morass of deception and misplaced distrust. Dirty tactics are the order of the day, including the ‘import’ of phantom voters in certain areas, including Kelantan, Terengganu and not forgetting Pekan, Pahang. The opposition is blasted daily in the mainstream media, with barely an opportunity to respond to the allegations. I myself, supposedly ‘irrelevant’ in the arena of Malaysian politics, have been attacked mercilessly day in and day out with an array of libellous accusations. Ironically though, thousands seem to attend Opposition talks without ever needing the incentives of money or ‘entertainment’.

From North to South, I am glad to say that we have made the best out of our 13 days of opportunity. Alhamdulillah, I have been privileged enough to witness the people of Malaysia rise up across the country. Far from being a marginal struggle, this is a struggle for all our people, who have long wished to free themselves from the tyranny of UMNO-BN! The response given to our KeADILan candidates, as well as our comrades from PAS and DAP, has been nothing short of phenomenal, while Umno-BN looks increasingly desperate by the day. Even with their complete control of the mainstream media, they continue to be on the defensive – rather than engage with our manifestos, they have only managed to attack us blindly, stabbing in the dark with no real rhyme or reason.

My dear brothers and sisters,

Each and every Malaysian has the right to an opportunity for a better life. Malaysia has tremendous potential, but it has been worn down and suppressed by the vile political games of Umno-BN, who continue to poison our minds and bind our potential with narrow racial sentiments and the all-destroying ooze of corruption. The judiciary has become the marketplace of gambling kings; crime is endemic, with rape, snatch theft and murder all on the rise. The police have been taken away from their positions as guardians of public safety, and shunted instead to the useless surveillance of opposition figures. Inflation is spiralling out of control, even as wages shrink; and the people just keep on suffering. And what does BN tell us? That we should be thankful for what we have.

What you need to do on the 8th of March 2008 is to have the courage to change. KeADILan’s commitment is clear. The victory that you grant to us will translate into reduced petrol prices, a lid on inflation, a more sustained and credible effort at tackling crime, free education for all; and a government that is fair and just to all its people, regardles of race and religion.

KeADILan has given you a Manifesto titled A New Hope for Malaysia, which strikes at the heart of the basic problems that the average Malaysian faces today, and offers you solutions for tomorrow. The hope that KeADILan promises shall be realised by each and every one of our candidates, coming as they do to you from all sorts of different backgrounds, united by their shared credibility and calibre of the very highest degree.

KeADILan, PAS and DAP have played their roles in saving Malaysia from its current course of self-destruction, fanned by the greed and lust of the Umno-BN leadership and the gamblers of the nation’s future. Now, it is your time to make a choice. All our hopes and dreams for the nation are now but a step away from being realised – it is in your hands, as a citizen of Malaysia, endowed with dignity and the freedom of choice.

I firmly believe that the people of Malaysia are a mature and wise people, and I am confident that that wisdom will be translated into votes for KeADILan, PAS and DAP come this 8th of March 2008, in the name of saving our beloved Malaysia.

It is now time for Malaysia to tread the path towards a new future, armed with a New Hope, great and bright in its promise of glory. The choice is in your hands. And in God we trust.

I wish you all the very best, as you fulfil your civic duty tomorrow in bringing about a better Malaysia for all.

ANWAR IBRAHIM

25. #25 by grace on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:51 am

Oh yes,
    I just cast my votes:

I VOTED DAP PROF RAMASAMY IN PRAI ADUN!!!
    I VOTED DAP PROF RAMASAMY FOR BATU KAWAN PARLIAMENT!!!

MY WIFE AND NEIGHBOURS TOO!!!

26. #26 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:52 am

For the PM who is also the Internal Security Minister to suggest chaos and instability is to admit he has not done that job well.

27. #27 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:56 am

You guys are not supposed to reveal who you voted for. Undi anda adalah rahsia

28. #28 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 9:57 am

Certainly there is a wind of change sweeping Malaysia but it may not result in a change of government this time; maybe eliminating that 2/3 supremacy.

That will cause the BN to reform and get Malaysia out of the racist politics agenda. It will also allow the BR to develop more strategies and tactics on how they may operate the government in the near future.

The poll on my blog indicates a great desire for change but maybe most of my readers are anti-BN!

29. #29 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:00 am

i will be voting PAS today, at least they wont break my temple and steal my dead bodies

30. #30 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:07 am

You have dead bodies to be stolen? The police will be raiding your house soon

31. #31 by drmaharajahrk on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:09 am

ZhouYu, sssshhhhhhhhhhhh the mention od dead bodies itself is just too much.

these fellows may be already getting on their trucks to come take the body.

32. #32 by choonchoy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:10 am

Vote MCA,MIC! Louder voice! Chaos! Children’s future!
    HAHAHAHA. ‘wat you tink, I born last night ah’

1. MCA&MIC are so loud in parliament that they silence was deafening.

2. What is the voice for??? For the sleeping hear not the cries of the people!!!

3. Chaos? Only Chaos I can foresee is created by a bunch of sore losers and their MAT-REMPITs. We the raykat are civilized enough unlike some who are over educated.

4. Vote for the future of our children. YES. That is why I vote DAP. By the time BN is done with the ‘Corridors’ Malaysia will be so ‘pok kai’, our children will be the laborers building Indonesia’s builings.

5. When we get rid of this oppressive, intimidating, greedy, mathematically handicapped, govt. We can have all the bloody voice we want. BN needs the rakyat, the rakyat doesn’t need the BN. The sun will shine, the earth will spin, the tide will come in with or without any human being or organization. So stop intimidating and insulting our intelligence.

50 tahun dah cukuplah
    Bangunlah wahai rakyat Malaysia
    Tuntutlah hak asasi anda
    Malaysia ini Negara kita semua
    Ambil semua yg kepuyaan mu.

VOTE BN OUT!!!

33. #33 by Billy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:15 am

To the former prime minister of Malaysia:

You wanted our votes, we gave them to you overwhelmingly in 2004, but what did we get in return for our support?

1. More Hindu temples are torn down
    2. More dead bodies are snatched from grieving families on the assumption that the deceased was a Muslim.
    3. Christian bibles are confiscated
    4. The banning of the word ‘Allah’ when this has been used by the natives in Sarawak and Sabah for so many years.
    5. Children bible books are confiscated arbitratily from the book stores. How in the world are we going to teach our little ones their religion when these books could no longer be used?
    6. Academic standards have dropped and very soon into the abyss.
    7. The integrity of the judiciary. This has become a joke, really.
    8. You PROMISED to arrest those corrupts involved in the 18 high profile cases in the last election. What has happened?
    9. You said you are FAIR and that you are the PM for all Malaysians. When 9 cabinet ministers brought up matters pertaining to the faith crisis, why did you directed them to rescind the memo with a reprimand?
    10. Why did you not bring those to books who shouted during the UMNO assembly about running amok and killing the non-Malays? Your silence implied you condone such activities.

When you lose this election, it is not us the rakyat that made you lose. You are the one who is responsible for your own actions. We just merely react. For have we voted you and your goons in for another 5 years, we fear things will be worse off than the above liste. So thanks but no thanks. You had your day in 2004. Now let us have ours in 2008.

34. #34 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:17 am

DAP will be holding a ceramah in Ipoh town opposite Methodist Girl School (MGS) and MCA is also holding a ceramah at Chin Woo Hall right opposite the DAP ceramah….By this time (11pm) the estimated population at the ceramah is around 15,000 people. I can no more walk around to take pictures anymore as there’s just no space to move. The road is filled up with people.
    Observing the sentiments of the people in Ipoh and speaking to many others, it is foregone conclusion that MCA will be trashed. I was told that the MCA ceramah at Chin Woo Hall has less than 200 people.
    http://maverickysm.blogspot.com/2008/03/ipoh-ceramah.html

35. #35 by Cinapek on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:17 am

I just came back from the polling centre with my wife. I am not sure if it is still early in the day but it was strangely quiet.

Even though my housing estate has quite a good mix of races, I noticed while standing in the short queue that most of the voters were Chinese.

I saw AAB on TV last night. I have to give it to the man. The show he put on of a “good” man is impressive. Of course, he is still asleep if he thinks he can still con us after his dismal performance of the last four years. I agree with him that we should be thinking of the future of our children and children’s children. And I know if I vote for BN, their future will be worse off from what has been dished out so far. If we have to suffer in the short term, so be it. But we have to make the changes. If BN (aka UMNO) cannot change its corrupt and racialistic ways, then the decision is simple. Boot them out.

36. #36 by Jamesy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:21 am

Uncle Lim & all DAP candidates,

All the best to you all!

Dear all Malaysians,

Vote for a better Malaysia and for our children’s future.

The choice is in our hands.We can make a difference.

Please vote wisely.

37. #37 by lopez on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:24 am

A fellow malaysian told me,
    in his culture there is a proverb
    you cannot teach a crab to walk straight

Believe me , the newbies out there from the BN club wont be able to walk straight, it is just impossible, they came from the same source.

50 years they tried to tell us to walk their way, they failed, because deep at the bottom of all malaysians are straight walkers.

One club of black sheeps had spolit the whole good herd.

But it took us 50 years to realised it,
    all not lost it is a good begining a bright malaysia is becoming

Our neighbhours and visitors wont laught at us anymore and might just give ears to what we say instead of whispers, grumbling but still allows our children to fade away and away

38. #38 by LittleBird on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:31 am

I think the opposition supporters should show the ballot slip to the observers so that we can really know how many votes went to opposition. Correct??

39. #39 by adamclp on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:33 am

I was among the early birds to cast my vote this morning and i am very sure i made a wise choice, to vote for the opposition regardless of party. This is to teach our ‘forever sleeping’ Prime Minister that the place to sleep is his bedroom with his ‘gene’, not before a worldwide audience. Malu lah. To his Khairy, i have this to say. You are just a ‘mat rempit’, still wet behind your ears. You want to be our future PM? Pls. come and line up early because tonight you are going to have a ‘lame duck’ father-in-law. Ha, ha, ha.

40. #40 by TripleM on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:41 am

Done!

Voted DAP for parliament and state!

Elated!

What a feeling!

41. #41 by showsomemercy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:41 am

Going to vote a while more! :) Just woke up… I guess all the people in my house all went to vote except for me… :) Who did my family members vote? You know, i Know can already lah…

Come on, mari ramai ramai keluar mengundi parti opposition! :)

42. #42 by g2geetoo on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:46 am

Badawi and your govt. of 2004………..Go to Hell!

I have just voted for the new govt. of 2008 consisting of PAS, DAP and PKR.

Now, we see the real Abdullah Badawi who is part and parcel of the UMNO regime who pratice ETHNIC cleansing. You don’t scare us!

The RAKYAT is the BOSS!

43. #43 by dasilva on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:49 am

malaysianboleh,

U wont happen to reside in JB or Singapore?
    Because I am in a limbo to drive all the way from JB- KL to vote, because my name is still on KL electoral rolls.

44. #44 by grace on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:50 am

Just read on MT that Koh said pitifully that he WON’T BE MADE A SENATOR!!!
    Ha!Ha!Ha!

NO PITY AT ALL. I AM HAPPY THAT I AM A PARTY TO YOUR LOSS IN BATU KAWAN IF IT SO HAPPENS!!!
    GOOOOODBYYYYE KOH! I WON”T SHED A TEAR FOR YOU!!!
    IN FACT ANY BN LOSS IS ALWAYS A JOY!!!

45. #45 by malaysia born on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 10:51 am

Some of you might be making plans to go watch a movie at the nyour favourite cineplex. Some of you might be wondering what numbers to bet on today’s lottery draw. Some of you might be thinking of what to cook for the family for lunch/dinner today.

I hope that ALL of you take time off to do your part and cook something pedas for the present government. For years we had been served dishes of lies, corruption and abuse of authority. Why not have a change of menu?

Give them G-men a meal that they will not forget and nourish our children with OPPOURTUNITY, HOPE and DIGNITY.

46. #46 by democrate on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:01 am

Answer is simple, We believe in human right and democracy’ Chaos and instability of the country will not happen even if the opposition win. unless there is a foul play by the ruling party that like to create chaos and put a blame to the Opposition. like 1969 election.

47. #47 by Libra2 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:02 am

Believe it or not. My wife and my daughter travelled 250km just to return home to vote for PAS!!!!!!!!!!
    Can you imagine their anger and disgust with the government, the keris and the arrogance of UMNO. They think they own the country.
    Since I have not changed my 30 -year -old address I will be voting Rocket as I have done in seven previous elections.
    Yes, I am on my way to the polling station to cast that sacred vote.

48. #48 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:05 am

Its time to say “Up Yours”.

49. #49 by mickey01 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:09 am

If DAP and PKR score big victory tonite, do not celebrate but serve the people and country with all your hearts and souls to convince the people the days of Umno BN is numered.

50. #50 by justiciary on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:15 am

Ya,he is a compulsive liar just like a compulsive gambler.A compulsive liar will lie until his last breath and a compulsive gambler will gamble until he turns into a bankrupt.

1.Using chaos and instability to threaten the voters again.He thinks
    the rakyat are fools.
    2.After 50 years,we still in fear for our safety,we cannot drive safely on the road for fear we might be hijacked and robbed.
    3.After 50 years,we still cannot live peacefully at home for fear of
    thieves and robbers and may be rapists or murderers.
    4.After 50 years,we still worry for our jobs,education of our children.Why? becos we are still treated as second class citizens.
    5.After 50 years,we still have to pay more for a shelter over our family than a bumi millionaire.
    6.Racial composition of the civil service does not reflect the identity of the nation.
    7.All the important posts in the cabinet,civil service,universities,state assemblies,local councils and municipalities,GLCs are all monopolised by one single race.
    8.Things are more expensive and cost of living is getting higher every year.
    9.Businessmen find life more difficult becos people have less money to spend.
    10.Quality of life is dropping.MPs are compelled to do the work of local councillors and local council staff.
    11.Local councils are quick to collect assessment rates but slow or never respond to complaints.
    12.Local council impose over rated assessment rates to condominiums.MBPJ is an example.
    13.Children have to travel miles away to study in overcrowded schools.
    14.Islamisation permeates schools,government departments,shopping malls and almost everywhere.
    15.Racial divide is widening as there is very little mixing between the races.This is the result of 50 years of practising racial politics.
    16.MCA election candidates dare not accept invitation to open debates.Why can’t they face hard facts but choose to behave so cowardly?
    17.Controlling MSM and suffocate TV viewers with biased adverts and reporting.Splashing extravagant propaganda materials in newspapers.
    18.Remember the Little Napoleons and the Little Mullah Napoleons.
    19.Non bumi parents have to tighten their belts in order to send their children for further education locally or overseas.
    20.Higher toll charges,poor public transport,traffic congestion,higher cost of non proton cars etc.

The list will go on……

Vote wisely if you still haven’t.Remember to vote and please vote now.

51. #51 by sammyvellu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:15 am

UMNO does not need MCA and MIC anymore. So what is there a need to support these running dogs that are a little less corrupts than the UMNO buggers?

52. #52 by A Malaysian on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:22 am

going to vote this afternoon with my wife.
    will go for DAP and PKR.

53. #53 by A Malaysian on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:23 am

All my chinese colleague is voting for PAS.

54. #54 by 002008 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:24 am

I KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING FOR ALL MALAYSIAN….WE ARE HERE….ONLY ARE NORMAL PEOPLE ….DAP,PKR AND PAS….GOD KNOWS AND SEE…..WHAT IS GOING ON HERE IN MALAYSIA NOW. 2/3 M’TY WE CAN MANAGE…..WE SEE TO NIGHT WHAT? …HOW?.. ORANG KAMPONG KERJAKAN…..’BN’…..BIAR BN RASA APA ITU KEADILAN…

55. #55 by marD on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:26 am

AAB came on with a BANG in 2004 then he AA BA, AA BAA
    BA BA BA BA BA AB BA…….are there many 9MP projects being implemented according to schedules? People can see for themselves.

He then tries to blur our vision by announcing so many corridors with multiple exits.

Pak Lah … even if you win, be brave and admit you cannot lead our country, exit Lah!

56. #56 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:27 am

…analysts predicted the opposition would win between 35 and 38 seats in parliament, nearly doubling its 19-seat share of the 289-seat body amid growing disenchantment among ethnic minorities who complain of discrimination.

Abdullah has been accused of failing to properly manage inflation, crime, corruption and, most importantly, ethnic tensions between the majority Malays and ethnic minorities…A reduced majority for the National Front would be seen as a personal rebuke for Abdullah, who has lost much of the goodwill he had when he replaced longtime leader Mahathir Mohamad in 2003.

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/03/07/malay.elex.ap/index.html

57. #57 by 002008 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:32 am

WE ARE SABAHAN BUT WORKING HERE IN KL….VOTE FOR DAP,PKR,OR PAS….TQ UNGLE LIM.

58. #58 by js on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:34 am

I received sms last night that total army vote 15K for Koh TK and 5K for Teng HN, is it true?

I have voted just now for PKR Parliament Bayan Baru and DUN Sungai Nibong, Penang.There is serial number printed on the vote paper but I did not see the person in charge recording down my number on their list.Should be ok!

59. #59 by bukanbumi on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:47 am

Hello Pak Lah,
    We voted for Barisan the last time and what did we get? Our reward for voting B.N. is a KERIS WEAVING UMNOPUTRA who threatherned us and the episode broadcasted all over the country! Who do you think we are? “Binatang KE?” You can go on KETUANAN UMNOputra! All in my family voted this Morning for PAS and PKR lah.

60. #60 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:53 am

Voting for MCA and MIC may give their party officials some ministerial or deputy ministerial positions but does not translate the “bigger role in government” because of the simple fact, as testified by 50 years of experience, that the ruling BN coalition operates on basis of the Whip principle – component parties and representatives must toe the official line as defined by UMNO. An MIC or MCA Wakil Rakyat is generally not allowed to speak or vote according to his conscience or according to the mandate the rakyat he represents gave him during the elections. Examples : when Gerakan Youth vice chief S. Paranjothy empathized publicly with frustration and anger of those drawn to Hindraf, he and Gerakan’s leadership were subject to calls for disciplinary action from UMNO Youth leaders; another example is the membership suspension imposed on MCA Penang state legislators, namely Lim Boo Chang and Tan Cheng Liang when they were censured by the BN Supreme Council for having abstained on the DAP sponsored anti-PORR motion. Even ministers were not exempted from operation of the Whip. When Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Datuk S. Sothinathan questioned and criticised the government (in Parliament) over its decision to withdraw recognition of Crimea State Medical University’s degrees, he was suspended from the front bench for three months. When Deputy Higher Education Ong Tee Keat alleged that officials had misused funds meant for Chinese schools’ refurbishment, Education Minister Hishamuddin blew his top and Ong was reprimanded by the cabinet. And these are not even issues direcly affecting the communities they claim to represent. In the case of one such issue – proposed amendment of Article 121(1A) – Non malay BN ministers put up a petition to PM that they immediately withdrew when UMNO politicians chastised them. Even the modest accomplishments of MCA’s policy on the Chinese Education, when compared to bigger issues of fundamentals rights of its constituency not fought for, are but mere bread scrap beggared for.

All these cases amply demonstrate the supremacy and hegemony of UMNO. What “bigger role in government” when MCA, MIC and Gerakan Ministers and officials cannot even speak much less fight on behalf of their respective communities according to dictates of conscience without getting whipped?

The choice is therefore not between a bigger role in government by voting BN’s component parties or louder voice by voting DAP – this is as stated a false choice.

The real choice is between voting for MCA, MIC and Gerakan for UMNO’s hegemony or voting for the DAP in repudiation of UMNO’s hegemony maintained through farce of power sharing with MCA, MIC and Gerakan.

No matter how much MCA now portraying itself as the underdog in the final lap of the campaign plea for mercy from its targeted group of voters, it will not change the reality.

Neither will any amount of punishment inflicted on MCA, Gerakan or MIC change the reality that unless there is any unexpected swing amongst majority Malaysian Malay voters turning against and rejecting UMNO’s hegemonistic policies, these policies will prevail supported by more than two third BN’s parliamentary majority, facilitated no doubt by other alleged factors of the unfair election rules, phantom and postal votes and delineation of electoral boundaries.

Then the PM could form the government without as many non Malay ministers as before. It would make no difference either way to many of us who would opt for a bigger Opposition voice in Parliament – in favour of greater democracy in Parliament than keeping up to the farce of communal representation.

Good luck Opposition.

61. #61 by yhsiew on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:54 am

I have just voted for DAP.

I am worried there is rigging of votes in this election. A member of the ruling party was said to be in possession of 28 identity cards for use in electoral fraud. See website below:

http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080308/3/3gasc.html

62. #62 by dasilva on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 11:54 am

Sorry Everyone,

I am not able to vote this time. I dont think 13 year old proton wira cranky auto gearbox can withstand the trip from JB to KL.

I went to the bus and train station on Monday. But all the ticket to KL were sold out already.

I will book a renault next Monday. I really had enough of shitty proton-umno cars. U cannot depend on UMNO when u needed them.

My apologies again.
    I will be at home to pray for the victory of Malaysian people in this election.

63. #63 by Jan on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:00 pm

BN is so disgusting I will have no hesitation to vote for PAS.
    We need change, the ruling party is too much. They have mismanaged our country and threatened the minorities to leave the country. They have been corrupt but seems to get away.
    This PM simply has no leadership and a proven liar. He’s also surrounded by goons who are running the country to the ground.
    We have to vote this bunch out!

64. #64 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:04 pm

“You have to vote for our future. You have to vote for our children…

hes talking abt his own future and his own children.he probably wont even knw if thr are chaos cos he will still be sleeping and dozing off as usual on the job.as for instability…i wonder if hes ever got the message why the heck the people in the country held rallies during his tenure as a pm.and if tens of thousands who went to the streets to show their dissatisfaction over his government and if he thinks (I wonder if hes ever has the brain to think) he can still sleep over and pass it as a small problem cos hes got his monkey SIL behind him…thn hes got it all wrong.pledging sweet promises on billions of projects…which i doubt will ever materialise cos he doesnt knw wat hes even talking abt in the 1st place.why?….simple…if he can spend so much money jz to send a man on a passenger flight ticket to space…jz for the sake of glory and air muka and some more can welcome him back as a hero and telling the world wat great achievement malaysia has made….do u think our pm has the wisdom and intelligence to implement such huge scale projects?
    and we hv to face it…these hungry wolves will be rushing in to korek all the money even before these projects start.and mr pm…if u are talking abt fighting corruption all i can say is….u did a great job with yourself and ur monkey or monkies.

65. #65 by selvam on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:05 pm

just voted PKR for parliment and PAS for ADUN.

66. #66 by TripleM on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:05 pm

From Malaysiakini:

`The latest unverified SMS to be making its rounds – there are 5,000 army (postal) votes being shifted to Bukit Bintang, 15,000 to Sungai Siput, 7,000 to Pekan and 3,000 to Kulai.’

67. #67 by dappy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:06 pm

I felt a true Malaysian and proud, the feeling’s is so wonderful n grea…at when I casted the votes for DAP. 5 x 2 votes from my family to Kawasan TANJUNG and KOMTAR. SHAME to those who vote for BN, your guilt will also be with you..

68. #68 by grace on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:07 pm

“I received sms last night that total army vote 15K for Koh TK and 5K for Teng HN, is it true?”

If that is true, I think the whole country feel cheated. I stay in this area under Batu Kawan. I do not know the existence of an army camp here. Maybe i is a ‘ghost’ army camp!

If you need to loose, loose sportingly! please do not teach the people to cheat. When the children grow cup they would follow the leaders. Then we would have a nationof cheats.

Similarly, bribery and corruption. It started with BN component parties. There was a dinner thrown by one one of the compnent parties. All those inocent peoplewent to have their fills and booz.I understand ang pow was given too. Isn’t it bribery?

This is learned by the rakyat.

69. #69 by cheng on soo on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:08 pm

If BN lost power or lost 2/3 majority this round, Who is likely to hv the power or want to create chaos and instabilty (if any)??
    Wil the winning oppositions (now) want to or hv power to create any such things??

70. #70 by Chong Zhemin on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:09 pm

damn thing, i should have left my IC in Malaysia. lol……..

71. #71 by LimHur on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:13 pm

I voted for Pak Lah in 2004, but I got threatened with a kris!

This time around I’m much, much, much wiser. BN, you cannot trick us again!

I just came back from voting. And I voted Against Corruption; Abuse of power; Political Hegemony of UMNO; Religious Intolerance; Abuse against women (Dr. Teo (Labis) hang in there. You’re my hero for standing up to the unjust act of the police in your ceramah. Hope you are well now – You have my family’s support); I also voted against economic inequity (scrab the NEP!); and against false journalistic practice of The Star.

I feel happy and satisfied for having made the right choice this time!

72. #72 by simsimsim on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:18 pm

Just cast my vote , of course DAP !!! Yah , Mr AAB , vote for future , vote for our children !! Enough is enough , for 50 years , corruption and high crime , hige price ( though Petronas’s profit hit RM80 Billion !! )
    Not sure if OPP cud win or not , BUT that’s mi decission ! NO one cud influence me ….That’s MY D day

73. #73 by Jeffrey on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

Going forward upon premises of my preceding posting, if at the end of today’s elections results, there were a substantial swing of non Malays’ votes to the DAP and Opposition in general at the expense of MCA, Gerakan and MIC, it will deliver the unmistakable signal that Non Malays have consciously or unconsciously opt for a louder Opposition voice in Parliament as the preferred means of resisting UMNO’s hegemony (viewed inimical to their true communal interests besides national as well) over the well tried means of having communal representation in government under the umbrella of its hegemony (enforced by BN’s whip) that after 50 years of experience has shown to be unsatisfactory. Who can demonstrate that such an exercise of choice is ilogical or unwise given the contraints of circumstances and political realities?

74. #74 by UzMiNoOnist on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:25 pm

I have just voted for PAS (state seat) and PKR(Parliament)

As a citizen of Malaysia, I am proud to have performed my part for the country and the King. Hidup Malaysia.

I am especially proud because I have make one vote less for KJ (pronounced as Kera Jahat)/BN and one vote more for Pas and PKR.

Today is the beginning of the end for UMNO, MCA, and MIC.

Tomorrows my children will grow up without fear of being marginalized

75. #75 by Dr. W on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:30 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

No matter what happens elsewhere, you can be assured that DAP will bag the votes from the Ipoh people. All my friends and family are backing your red army as do many others in Penang, Selangor, etc. I believe together with the blue army from PKR and green army from PAS, we will be able to smack the UMNO-machinery with the greatest people’s power ever in Malaysia history. It is for the first time, the 3 races speak with the same tone, and thus created the strongest ever wind-of-change phenomenon, thanks to the heavily corrupted BN-UMNO government and the mummy’s boy and pontan-alike MCA.

To AAB and OKT, you can say whatever you like to scare chinese community, but we all know that you would never succeed. This is so obvious in Ipoh judging from the cold response in many MCA ceramah. And it makes many of us wondering (including the uncles and aunties in my neighbourhood), who is really fear and desparate at this moment of time. This has proven the ultimate pillar of a healthy democratic system where: “People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people.”

Thank you for the hardship these years in defending the pride and freedom of the people. May god bless Malaysia, and the victory of DAP, PKR and PAS!

76. #76 by chongs on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:34 pm

Zhouyou, you got it wrong. Yes, undi anda adalah rahsia. No one can FORCE you to reveal whom you had voted. But it’s my prerogative if I want to tell you whom I want to vote. Nobody can stop me.

DAP, Dap, Dap, it’s my calling

77. #77 by justiciary on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:36 pm

If they play foul and dirty,using phantom voters,vote rigging and all sorts of cheating and unfair means including bribery,free transport,free food etc,then they should change the syllabus of ‘moral education’ in the schools.If they are so blatantly and grossly unscrupulous and dishonest,then try to teach school children and instil in them the values of dishonesty and corruption.Then see the havoc it will cause to the future of the nation.It is time to throw these hypocrites,cheats,thieves out.

78. #78 by simsimsim on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:38 pm

Yah , Zhouyou , undi adalah rahsia , tetapi , ketidakadilan and ketidakpustian BUKAN lah satu rahsia lagi !!!! Undi lah DAP/PKR/PAS ,
    Hidup Malaysia

79. #79 by simon_79 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:51 pm

Just voted in Subang.. Only BN and PKR available……..and of course 3 alphabets is better then 2. Voted for PKR. Hopefully all malaysians who earns the same level of salary can get to buy properties/houses without any race discrimintation. Got to go sent my sis to bukit bintang cause she is voting for that area. her support will be for DAP…. Good luck and all the best.

80. #80 by showsomemercy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:53 pm

My friend just called me when he was in the polling station asking me who to vote. Before this, he semangat vote rocket, but in the room ask me who to vote. I told him what to scared, vote rocket la… I guess he voted rocket already.

Later he called me again, hey u know or not, got serial number for every form… he getting scared again… lolz… i told him it is your rights to vote whoever u want to vote. no need fear them one! :)

81. #81 by Loyal Malaysian on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:09 pm

I have voted as my conscience dictates it must.Now, other than pray that enough Malaysians will think likewise, I can only sit tight and await the results tonight. The PM’s threats and undemocractic demands on the Malaysian Chinese and Indian voters, I hope, are just a sign of his desperation that the winds of change are blowing strong.Otherwise, he is not fit to be the PM again.

82. #82 by ahluck on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:10 pm

latest sms i received! says: urgent and act now!! 5K army(Navy) votes to bukit bintang, 15K to batu kawan, 8K to sungai siput, 7K to pekan, 3K to Kulai….here is the first mission to hit one of the unfair General Election… pls fwd to 20 friends. Tell the whole world tonight. EXACT SMS MSG RECEIVED AND NOT SURE HOW TRUE.

becos malaysia boleh this also boleh happen.

83. #83 by xpainxgain on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:11 pm

Saya baru undi DAP di Dun Kota Darulaman dan Parti Keadilan utk Parlimen Alor Setar.

84. #84 by dappy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:14 pm

showsomemercy, why your friend so ‘penakut’, tahu pun tahu-lah. Do you know banyak orang ‘gomen’ and BN also vote for BA. Apa itu ‘DEMOKRATIK’.

85. #85 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:15 pm

Anwar and other opposition leaders have been drawing big crowds at political rallies in Kuala Lumpur, campaigning on issues such as high inflation and rising crime rates which resonate with voters.

More than 7000 Malaysians of all races braved the pouring rain to gather in a village outside the capital on Thursday night to hear him speak, standing transfixed despite the thunder and lightning.

“You can cheat as much as you want, but you cannot change the will of the people,” he roared, drawing chants of “Reformasi, Reformasi”, the battle cry that emerged after his 1998 dismissal and jailing.
    http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,23337179-2703,00.html

86. #86 by grace on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:20 pm

My sisters families voted PAS in Kedah!!!
    YES. many Chinese and Indians are voting for PAS!!!
    Down with BN!!!!

87. #87 by powerofunity on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:26 pm

This is the first time i have voted in my life and the satisfaction of voting for this year is like having chow koay thiau in Penang ( the best in Malaysia ) . With all the comments that read i can see the new generation of people has awaken from slumber and they will not asleep again.the power of unity among the chinese and the indians minorities has shine in the voting season. To my heroes Lim Kit Siang and Karpal Singh ….we will tell our children about you eventhough not much history that was captured about you guys but the impact that you guys has given will last forever.
    again I would like to Thank the 5 hindraf heroes that has woke the dragon in all our hearts to fight till the end . I was there in the 25th NOv and i am dam proud about it .Well done all.

Penang Indian

88. #88 by k1980 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:27 pm

Due to the thieves running the country for the apst 50 years, Malaysian per capita income in 2007 was only USD14,400 compared to Singapore’s USD48,900. We are earning only 29% of what the average Singaporean is getting!
    http://siakhenn.tripod.com/capita.html

89. #89 by pisang mas on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:28 pm

Preciely caretaker PM. I am voting for my children and the future. That is why I am giving it to the opposition.

I gave you my vote in 2004 based on what you promised to do. But after 4 years you said that you are still warming up. Thats fine to you but to me it is game over.

I read that Ong Ka Chuan is beging for mercy from Kinta Valley folks. I hope Kinta Valley will show MCA the door and bring back the glory days when the old PPP of DR Seenivasagam controlled the Kinta Valley.

Good luck to you LKS.

90. #90 by showsomemercy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:43 pm

dappy you can’t blame him 100%… Cause he first timer! :) Anyhow, i have converted him into practicing his rights! :)

No worries… both of his votes went to space…

91. #91 by hiro on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:43 pm

I am infuriated that the Prime Minister no less have to resort to violent threats to scare Malaysians into voting for Barisan Nasional. What chaos did he have in mind? People are rallying PEACEFULLY until they get shot at by police, by chemically laced water, by tear gas, police batons or police barehands?

It seems that it is voting BN that will bring about chaos and mayhem.

If we don’t fix BN this time round, we must persist to fix them good in the next 5 years.

92. #92 by smeagroo on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:45 pm

Done my duty as a Msian and gvn rocket the boost and cacing the boot.

My fear is still on vote rigging.

Apparently accd to SPR the vote counting will be conducted at each polling station and not bring back to a central station to be counted. Am i rite?

If this is so, they still need to tally up the various polling station for a constitunecy / Parlaiment. How will they get the numbers from each station? Via a phone call? NOthing in B&W? Just curious. As any method apart from looking at the tallied votes in B&W could be used to the max by unscrupulous agents to gv different numbers to the central station to get the final votes tallied.

How is it done this time? Any idea?

93. #93 by wombatahem on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:47 pm

PKR got my vote for Parliament and DAP got my vote for the State Assembly.I have done my part.

All the best to the Opposition parties in Malaysia!

94. #94 by mohdmusa on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:53 pm

Uncle Kit, I just came back from the polling station. This is my first time voting, and I vote for changes. I voted DAP. I’m in your parliamentary area Uncle Kit. I’m a Malay from small kampong. People from this kampong can only choose between DAP or MCA (BN). So please, don’t ignore us from the small kampong if you party win majority. It’s had been too long the BN had ignored us.

95. #95 by born loser on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:54 pm

KIT,

my place dun hav rocket but i voted for PAS for DUN and ADIL for PARLIMENT………….
    lets hav a new malaysia tomolo

96. #96 by grace on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 1:58 pm

read that Ong Ka Chuan is beging for mercy from Kinta Valley folks
    This ong ka chuan fellow just run for his life from Batu Gajah. Suppose to be big gunin Perak being brother toOKT. Tetapi takut lawan Fong seorang perempuan. Malu la!!!
    I thinkOKT goes to Batu Gajah, he too would be humiliated!!!

MCA, GERAKan we can do without you!!!
    You are there pun macam tiada la!!!
    Lebih baik tah usah ada. Sakit hati when you keep your mouths shut when big issues arise.

97. #97 by pwth888 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:04 pm

Dear Mr. Lim,

I have fulfilled my responsibilty and voted for our better future and our children. Vote for DAP and any opposition party. Fast! Go to vote before too late.

98. #98 by yeongor on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:05 pm

Just voted together with sis for Tan Kok Wai- DAP, Cheras

To a New Malaysia on 09.03.08

Thank you Uncle Kit and DAP for all your contributions to Malaysia.

99. #99 by showsomemercy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:06 pm

I am going now to vote. After voting ill report what i have vote ok? lol… Oh well… :) You all should know who i am going to vote… ciowz!

100. #100 by simsimsim on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:09 pm

Mr AAB , Mr Clean !! Yes , very clean !! Do nothing , very Clean !!! Let’s vote him and all his croby out this time (including KJ and Keris man …)…WE nee check and balance , we need real clean government !!! No corruption,,,, use our fund and tax payer’s $$ wisely …. use Petronas’s $$ wisely…
    Yes , vote for future , let’s clean them up …. Put a new one.

101. #101 by pgsilai on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:10 pm

Got a call from a friend of mine who is a polling and counting agent for DAP, she told me she caught 2 ghost! One old lady escorted by BN supporter came in to vote, without IC and indicating her number on the list. She refused to let her vote without IC.

Another case, IC read out even number at the end but a man walk in to vote, also without IC. Now, she is making me regret for not signing up to help! She has been working since morning and there is nobody to take over and she just drove out to vote, wonder what happens now? Let’s keep our finger cross , pray that DAP will win BIG in Pg!

102. #102 by adamclp on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:10 pm

When during his 4 year rule as a ‘sleeping’ prime minister did he get his facts right. The only thing he got right was when he wed his ‘gene’, a left behind waiting to be picked up. Just get rid of him today or else make him a ‘lembek’ never able to stay ‘upright’ again day or night. Its our voters honour to do it and lets do a good job today at the polls.

103. #103 by Allyfoot on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:13 pm

Why no DAP for Dusun 2? I have voted for PAS, hope they will win.

Too many advertisements by MCA and BN shouting about what they have done. Where the money come from? Is it from our income tax???? MCA said they are not bragging about it, and just want the results. Full page advertisement in the dailies are not bragging, TV commercials during prime time are not bragging, Radio ads during drive time are not bragging, see who is bragging now? I think those who are in the media related fields, you should know the most expensive slots for each medium….

I want to highlight that some ads are just a big joke… JPA scholarship for Chinese??……. miserable…. Chinese scored straight As in SPM did not get and Malays with 6As…. all set to study abroad. Can the government show the total number of reciepients who get the JPA scholarship each year???

Why SPM and STPM results will only be released after election? Less complaint mah…….

The road closure of Cheras Mahkota….. sad case again…..

Petrol price….. sure will go up again.

104. #104 by chuchueey on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:18 pm

I just received this from someone who was at the mammoth rally in Han Chiang School where a reported 50,000 to 60,000 people attended and a whopping RM123000 was raised! Some excerpts:

You can feel the excitement in the air when the whole neighbourhood start going out at the same time. We took the bike there and many people were walking towards Han Chiang (which is within walking distance from my house as well).
    I felt a sense of togetherness when I see people wearing red shirts! It is not often that we come together as a community in this way. What more, it is all voluntary and not bind by any faith or any association uniform. We wear a red shirt because we want to. That’s what make it so heart-warming.

The moment we got on our bike, it started to drizzle. But thank God the rain stop after about 15 minutes. I heard many elderly folks said that it is a blessing from heaven.

However, inspite of the rain, people just keep walking towards the venue, ignoring the rain. There are no proper place to sit, it is just one big muddy field but no one cares! It is unbelievable that the fussy folks can just stand, sit or squat in the darkness to do something they believe in. It has to be something big that compelled them to actually put aside all the discomforts, their busyness, their dry and cosy home, watching Astro or shopping in the aircond supermarket. Otherwise, why would all these people
    bother go out of their way, braving traffic jam, wet field, rain?
    Now that I see this huge crowd, I get more fidgety. Do I see a streak of light? Am I going to be part of the people who are going to rejoice come 8th March? Or will I be with them, feeling disappointed that all the talks, the fireworks (yes, there are fireworks too), the RM123K collected tonight are not enough to help us realized that dream of seeing a change?
    I suddenly felt the need to pray. And I prayed to the Heavenly Father to look down on all of us here. Only God knows how each
    of them think and feel, what hope and wishes are in their minds. I am afraid that I have a life I considered fulfilled and I have no particular needs to ask. I am a satisfied person. But if God knows why these people are there, why they need to be there, then let there be change for the better.
    When I see Karpal Singh in his wheelchair and his two arms all weak, too weak to even position the mike, I pray that this man will finally see victory for all the years he had given to his belief. I don’t know what drove him to do what he had done for all those people, getting into ISA for them and etc. But there must be something magnanimous in them, Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, Karpal Singh, Anwar Ibrahim and all those opposition parties people. They are losers in the political game most of the time but
    they keep going on and on and on. But they are winners in God’s eyes, I can see it.
    So, Lord, gives us wisdom to make the right choice.
    Someone Who Has Seen and Believes that For Us to Prosper – God Willing – We Must Not Be Scared of Change
    I pray to God that we make the right choice. WE SHOULD NOT BE SCARED OF OUR GOVERNMENT – THEY SHOULD BE SCARED OF US. We are the ones who decide who deserves to be in Government.

I am pausing for a moment as I am emotionally exhausted after reading this email. I shall continue in the next posting

105. #105 by showsomemercy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:20 pm

Ok done, i have voted already. :) Both to DAP!

106. #106 by dappy on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:41 pm

rec sms regarding Han Chiang school was punished by the Govt. for providing the site for DAP. Signboard torn down. If its true, its real UNDEMOCRATIC.
    BN also can used PISA for their ceramah, they will have many ‘ghost busters’ attending.

107. #107 by NotProudToBeMalaysian on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:41 pm

Vote rigging, phantom votes, votes buying?
    Go ahead and do it!
    President Musharraf have done that.
    President Chen Shu Bian have done that.
    Who cares!!!
    Both of them ,”kaput” already!!!
    Wait till who’s next???

108. #108 by chuchueey on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:43 pm

Yeah, I am sorry but coulnt feel a bit teary as I posted the above to share with you.
    To share my own experience, I too was driven. Something in me told me to walk into the campaign centre of the ISA detainee, M Manoharan where I donated some money and left my h/p no. for them to call if my help was needed. It soon came, and I was out with them, headed by his wife (with 3 young children), doing walkabouts, distributing pamphlets, appealing for support in the hope that if he were to win the election (state seat) the govt wll see reason to release him and the 4 other detainees.
    Karpal Singh came to pitch in and we pushed him around a pasar malam in his wheelchair. The love and admiration for him was unbelievable! Yes, he’s been sent to save the country.
    I volunteered to speak at a rally, and the following was my intro:

I am here tonight because the wind of change blew me here. And I wll tell you what I am not and what I am.
    I am not a DAP member, not political, nonpartisan. I am not a voter in this constituency despite being born and live since in this town. Because of govt’s gerrymandering I was shunted to a neighbouring constituency. But I am a anak Malaysia, a Bangsa Malaysia and nobody can tell me to go back to my ancestor’s country. And most important of all, I AM A CONCERNED CITIZEN who is fed up with the illness in this country and want to make this country liveable for all.
    I proclaimed to them that while they had the luxury of voting rocket in their constituency, I have PKR and PAS which I would also vote for.
    For the next 20 mins I persuaded them to vote opposition – which was rather unnecessay as they had already focused on the journey of change.

109. #109 by voice on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 2:47 pm

4 votes for DAP for the parliament and DUN from my family, which is only 2 persons eligible to vote including me (first-time voter).
    Voted, and now we will pray for our future.

110. #110 by maxplus on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:02 pm

Mr LKS; if there is a popular vote in the Parliament if oppositions make landslide win. I wish a non Malay to become the PM; and i wish it would be you!

Yeah why not; its constitutional and if you get popular choice; it can happen.

This will be revolutionary!!!

Lets wait and see what happens tonight!

111. #111 by roticanai on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:10 pm

Just voted. Both votes for DAP

112. #112 by Sting Ray on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:25 pm

I have just received a sms from this number +4540590097 that says “Terima Kasih mengundi Barisan Nasional. Semoga negara kita selamat aman dan makmur”. Has anyone also received the sms ? another funny trick from the BN camp ?

5 votes to DAP & PKR from me and my family !

113. #113 by Allyfoot on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:34 pm

I got this as well. I have received an sms from Bukit Bintang BN candidate, Dr Lee Choong Ming…. How they get my number???

114. #114 by devilonpois on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:36 pm

yup me also…go go…….DAP/PKR/PAS…..
    u know what switch on tv today….all focus on bn news…apa lagi..dia olang ada… bukan kah semua layak dalam liputan berita…
    apasal…saje…dengar berita-berita sedemikian…

let’s forget all those craps …… let’s make a wind of change for a better and transparent government…..we do not want…all hidden agenda ….we want the truth, therefore, we need DAP/PKR/PAS to continue berjuang untuk rakyat…..

115. #115 by sammyvellu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:39 pm

Just crossed the box for elizabeth wong and unker siva just then!

116. #116 by negarawan on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:47 pm

The international community must be made to be aware of the corruption and serious fraud committed by UMNO and the so-called Election Commission headed by Abdul Rashid http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/79430 The US and EU must blacklist UMNO “leaders” and Rashid as criminals and impose sanctions and travelling restrictions on them.

117. #117 by negarawan on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:50 pm

DO NOT ALLOW ANY POSTAL VOTES FROM BEING COUNTED. THIS IS A SERIOUS ELECTION FRAUD. PREVENT THEM FROM BEING COUNTED AT ALL COST!!

118. #118 by mmc2008 on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 3:52 pm

Hi, i have casted my votes this morning! Cast for a change definately! PM for all Malaysian seems like cheating the RAKYAT!!! We will not be fooled again…Come One Malaysian, wake up and VOTE for a change!!! We want a zero corruption government, a Malaysia for all races, a safe environment and a fair place to live in!!! I will pray hard that the Opposition will win big!!!

119. #119 by mickeymouse on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:08 pm

Sting Ray
    i also received that msg from that number. BN is wasting money sending these nonsense cuz we know we want CHANGE. BN is practically on their knees begging for our support. too bad, its too late to change, bn. all DAP&PKR here!

120. #120 by hanuman on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:10 pm

PM WARNS OF INSTABILITY & CHAOS

Who has the power to create instability & chaos ? UMNO, we bigots in Najib, Khairy, Hishamuddin, … the lists goes on.

HISHAMUDDIN SAID WE HAVE 60% OF THE MALAY VOTES WE DONT NEED THE VOTES OF THE NON-MALAYS.

Threatening their bosses, Malaysians, with May 13, instability & chaos. Now, their bosses have will speak through our votes, “PEOPLE POWER” MAKKAL SAKTI.

121. #121 by highhand on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:35 pm

1 for slit eye
    1 for kepala kerbau

AYE !

122. #122 by sammyvellu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:35 pm

Postal voters? Maybe should call the phanpos voters instead

123. #123 by Windchime on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:47 pm

AAB really make me want to laugh la! What you asking us to give the BN more power? We gave you a strong mandate in 2004. What did you do? Insult our intelligence. Telling us (through your silence) that we have no place in Malaysia and that your Keris wielding Hishamuddin is correct is doing so.

And that your son-in-law (who thinks he is out from some Bollywood movie) copying the antics of the people in Pelastine (who happens to be fighting for their lives) demonstrating in the streets of KL while getting immunity from the police. And yet the folks doing the same thing (Hindraf and Bershih) were whacked by the police (they should be looking after our neighbourhood thats why security so bad until we have to pay monthly subs for our own security – pathetic).

And marching up to Parliament to meet their elected MP, they get whacked by the police (see Tian Chua on way to Parliament on YouTube) – shame on those police who whack defenseless and peaceful citizens of Malaysia.

Not to mention all the shortcomings in your selection of MPs – what “Erection” instead of “election” such elegant English used by our INFORMATION Minister. Aiyoh so embarrased la!!

And the insults thrown by some MPs in parliament are so degrading it is sinful to even see them “representing” the Rakyat.

And what about “Chiak Kah Liao”? How can a such a person rise so quickly and get to build his castle in the middle of a kampung?

Sending an “ANGKA – SOWHAT” on a Russian taxi up to space and declaring that Malaysia is now on the forefront of space exploration! Spare me… the money could have been put to good use to subsidize for the poor and needy. And no thanks to you, I get to pay the taxi fare again soon since you have okeyed the second ‘space joy ride’!

My goodness me. I can keep going on as I have so much on my list. But I shall stop here. I am sure I have made my point.

It is a disgrace that you kept silent to all these and continue to support unproductive and wasteful projects with money from the Rakyat.

I voted today, it is for my children’s future. I have lost faith in you and your UMNOputras. You do not deserve my vote!

I strongly suggest you quit and go honeymoon with your Mak-Lah! That will suit you fine.

As for the MCA, working “quietly” for the Chinese is not what we want you to do. If you do not have the guts to speak out, then ship out!!! I anxiously wait for all these pariahs to be kicked out. Hidup Malaysia!

Saya dan keluarga saya adalah anak bangsa Malaysia. Kita, rakyat Malaysia, pantang di cabar!!

124. #124 by Tantech on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:52 pm

They played foul thru army and police postal votes. This is a desperate means of recuing abdulah bodowi, najib, ong ka ting, samy vellu, and koh tsu koon. God will collapse a kingdom that came by thru cheating.

125. #125 by Tantech on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:53 pm

The reason for withdrawing the indelible ink was to allow armies and police to vote twice.

126. #126 by Tantech on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:54 pm

In order that the RM2 million be not wasted, I suggested that abdullah bodowi, najib and abdul rashid consume all of them.

127. #127 by noaki on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:58 pm

i was told tht y’day night @ pdn perdana, our cash-rich MCA held some kind of makan ceramah to try to retain their seats…while on the other side @ tmn muda night market…hundreds and hundreds of people stand in wind and rain, with their democracy blood so hight up, and i was there myself, i was so impressed and certain about my choice…i m an employed myself, i trust in ppl who work hard, not those who party’ing around…may GOD’s mercy on malaysia!

128. #128 by highhand on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 5:04 pm

THERE will be BLOOD

129. #129 by highhand on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 5:12 pm

Rusila: Tear gas fired, 22 arrested

130. #130 by Loh on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 5:35 pm

MCA and MIC MPs are not allowed to speak their mind or vote their choice. MCA and MIC ministers are not allowed even to say no privately in a memorandum, they would definitely not be allowed to offer views different from UMNO in open fora. There is no way they can defend non-Malays’ rights, even if they wanted. Voting MCA and MIC only makes a few non-Malays enjoy at the expense of the sufferings of 10 million others, and worse, the latter are said to have agreed to the discriminatory policies of the UMNO-led government, because of them.

What happens in the Cabinet meetings cannot be heard. What happens at the Parliament can be known to the outside world. The government can ignore what are said in the parliament, but they cannot fool the people all the time.

No where in the world would the head of government suggest “What will happen if there is chaos and there is instability?” as a result of the general election. It can mean the following:

1. If the government is not satisfied with the election results, it is prepared to create chaos and instability.

2. Chaos and instability which happened once before in the history of Malaysian general election was the creation of the people in power. Don’t challenge us to do it again!

3. The government is not able to carry out its basic functions of providing security and personal safety.

4. General election is meant to show the world that the is a practise of voting, but there is no freedom for choosing government.

5. The person does not understand the implications of his statements. He is hopeless.

131. #131 by songsong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 6:37 pm

They are so many crimes committed even by those so-called authority.. but he is closing one eyes, and manipulated the media to tell us lies. The papers couldn’t wrap the fire. By thinking that he will get through, he is damned wrong.. He only knows how to fear us. I am so disappointed to look up unto him now…

I was always a BN supporter when I was a student. But when it comes to the time that I officially qualified to vote, I voted the oppostition instead. Cos DAP speaks the truth, and fights for the right. Not like those people who only know how to say yes.

132. #132 by sammyvellu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 6:42 pm

Insya allah, bn will loose 2/3 majority tonite

133. #133 by marD on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 6:53 pm

My auntie Sal invests a lot in the stock market and she asked me this morning what would happen to her money if opposition wins… I told her” Auntie you can make money but you cannot make “fairness”. The only way to have a fair government is to vote out the current unfair one.

Good on you Auntie Sal! I know who you voted for. It does not matter if we lose because our conscience is clear.

BN if you win tonight…. think of us who have sacrificed for a fair government.

134. #134 by AhStone on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:11 pm

this shows how cowardly and pathetic AAB is. He is not only hopeless but dreaming that we will support him. even for me as still a student and ineligible to vote, its so easy to tell that he lies and he is BAPA PENIPUAN Malaysia. even without reading LKS blog and Raja Petra’s writings the newspaper already shows how much he contradicts himself left, right and centre. remember when NaJib aka Womanizer said that we should reject leaders who are not performing? thats so true bcoz its the BN that we should be rejecting who have been sucking from us all these years. non-stop lies and deception everywhere like wild fires. i gathered from a source that corruption that costs us Malaysians when Barang Naik was in power is a whopping RM 27 BILLION a year. i m not sure how true is that but won’t be surprise if its true. they are like throwing water to the longkang. i won’t want to be paying taxes to these ppl throwing money like that.

no more BN. no more Pak LIAR.

135. #135 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:13 pm

DAP retains Kuching – 7.15pm
    DAP’s Chong Chieng Jen has retained Kuching with an increased majority of 11,000 votes according to unofficial results. Chong won the seat in 2004 with 2,000 majority.

136. #136 by cfcluvdap on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:13 pm

Opposition is leading in quite a number of hot seats.
    Patiently waiting for more good news.

137. #137 by ZhouYu on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:14 pm

Congrats

Latest updates – 7.10pm
    – Teresa Kok leading by 10,000 votes in Seputeh

138. #138 by AhStone on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:17 pm

just so damn frustrated that even at student level, signs of their incompetence is so visible even within the school systems. its so hard to believe that i have friends who just seem to be so oblivious of the extend of rot and stench we have in Malaysia.

this to future voters including myself:
    as a student myself who will be able to vote the next election, i urge any of you students who are reading this blog to pls pls be aware and do stg abt our rights in Malaysia to vote and not to be blinded all the lies, bulls and deception of AAB & co. u think he really cares? HELL NO! u don’t have to be an genius to know that he is Pak Liar. here is a warning for students- if u don’t vote you are giving a hand to BN and says its ok to do what they please and this makes u having NO RIGHTS to complain as you did not fulfill you duty to the country even to your own families to vote. vote not only for the sake of country but your own children and the generation to come. can u imagine if we have children who have to make ends meet being maids to other ppl in other country? HELL no ain’t gonna let BN suck the life out of us Malaysians. Malaysia is abt MALAYSIANS not Malays, Chinese, Indians exclusively.
    so what if they wanna cheat to win elections, let it be. but we as the people have then done our parts even if they cheat. the world will know that its not us Malaysians are the loosers but our BN and AAB. so pls, just becoz of a few obstacles, pls don’t abandon your responsibility not only to vote but also our responsibility towards our children and theirs to come. no matter how much they want to cheat, we still can make a difference. with leaders like LKS we are assured that we do stand a chance to have a future

hope Opposition wins and even better form a new government ;p

139. #139 by hotsync on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:31 pm

MERDEKA! MERDEKA! MERDEKA! Lets proclaim our independence today!!!!! Free from lies, deceits, corruptions, NEP, racial discriminations etc etc….. Long live Malaysia!

140. #140 by Jong on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:42 pm

Just received from unconfirmed sources via sms that Penang has gone down to Barisan Rakyat! Need to verify, anyone?

141. #141 by son of perpaduan on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:46 pm

To all opposition fans,

No more debate on who will win, if opposition dun win this time, I’ll never come back to malaysia again, coz i’ve bet with my family members. My mom confidently intruct me to come back on the 9th march 2008 celebrate together lah. What do you think?, do you all welcome me back???

142. #142 by Lee Wang Yen on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:49 pm

I really hope that DAP and PKR can win big.

I especially hope that DAP will win in Klang, Kota Alam Shah, Pandamaran, Sg. Pinang. Any news about them?

143. #143 by Lee Wang Yen on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 7:49 pm

If the opposition wins in Penang, who will be the Chief Minister?

144. #144 by kickbutt on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:11 am

Lim Kam Put

145. #145 by Jong on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:32 am

May be a good idea, at least he’s a gentleman proud to disclose his name Mr Lim Kam Put.

146. #146 by kickbutt on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 3:44 am

You may say you’re a woman. The closest we could come to that is to say you’d have us believed that you are one – which is different from actually being one.

147. #147 by sammyvellu on Tuesday, 11 March 2008 - 10:12 pm

Blurdawi always gets it wrong as he is always advised by his son in law

148. #148 by limkamput on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:22 am

kickbutt, are you behaving like Sothinathan? Why don’t you challenge Jong to fight with you?

Jong just ignore this pervert. By the way, Limkamput is my only ID, unlike someone who keeps changing ID like changing his/her underwear, that is assuming that he/she changes everyday.

149. #149 by One4All4One on Wednesday, 12 March 2008 - 12:25 am

Well, well…the election results have been known and a lot of us are still in a daze…BN and the Opposition alike. The people have made their choice. The Opposition got more than what they actually asked for! The power of Makal Sakthi. Like it or not the people had crossed the ballot papers in a way that had never happened before in Malaysian election history.

I believed the main reason is that the masses are fed-up with the way things are happening in the country which led to pent-up anger and dissapointment enmasse.

If any MCA or Gerakan big-shots are reading this (or someone who has any communication with any MCA/Gerakan leaders do read this message) please consider the following observations because they are obtained from the ground where things are happening.

The issues may not be new, but because of oversight and short-sightedness or perhaps over-confidence or even arrogance on the part of MCA/Gerakan/UMNO, mundane and everday issues were much overlooked.

DAP/PKR/PAS had their heart and soul and hands and feet on the ground. They are the underdogs. AND because of this they cannot afford not to know the rakyats’ sentiments and immediate needs.

Eventhough the BN had the machinery..whatever you name it , they have it, as opposed to the under-privileged Opposition, who had to depend on hand-outs and donations and volunteers, they cannot match the hard-working Opposition’s tremendous effort.

As such, the Opposition deserve the results they had achieved 8 March 2008.

A lot of ordinary people had been victimised in their everyday life, which the people of MCA/UMNO/GERAKAN/MIC thought they knew very well. But they may not have seen the whole picture. Why? Simply because they DON’T really have the WHOLE picture! Do they know that for every person whom they helped, there are many more who were overlooked? It is NOT just about giving out financial aids, though that may be necessary in specific cases. It is NOT just about having just better roads / facilities. It is CERTAINLY NOT just about knowing that you are influential / have the political clouts, that you can help out! You don’t have to show your muscles and power, because we would be grateful and thankful if you can just render assistance whenever we need it.

Now, who are some of the people who are victimised? And quite a considerable number of them. If one cares to go to the morning and night markets and observe those traders who are making a living, you may see who and why. These are the people who do not expect much from the government but are willing to work very, very hard to make ends meet. Due to lack of opportunities in the job market and a lack of capital, a lot of people turn to doing small/part time business in those markets.

However, licenses are diffficult to come by to even do such small businesses. Some lucky ones have them and are able to earn a living without hassle. Of course these people do not have much complain; a portion of them may even have connection with local authorities or political parties to help them obtain the licenses.

Do you also know that for every licensed trader, there are many more who do not have the license from the local authorities to do so??? These unlisensed traders are victims of circumstances. They do not have / know any connections to help them to be licensed. LIFE IS DAMN HARD FOR THIS SEGMENT OF THE CITIZEN. DAMN HARD, if the powers-that-be care to know.

When the “penguat kuasa” from the local authorities (everyone in the market knew them as the so-called “bandaraya”) come around , those unlicensed traders would run helter-skelter, their wares/goods being confiscated and also being issued summones. POOR, POOR people. It is so sad and pitiful to see these already down-trodden being ‘man-handled’ in this manner. Afterall, they are only trying to eke out a living. They have mouths to feed, debts to settle (perhaps from “alongs”), and a lot of other expenditures to meet, for example, highway tolls, gasoline, and their capital to purchase goods/wares , etc.

People who are not in their shoes will not be able to empathise with them. They are REALLY suffering literally everyday! Of course don’t compare this category of traders with those who are already established and who had already made it. Consider this: for every succesful trader , there are MANY more of them who are just making ends meet! DO the Yang Berhomats know about this? Do they really care?? From my observations, NO!! That’s the reason why a lot of these traders protested through the ballot box. You cannot blame them because they have no other channels. When they tried to get help from MCA/GERAKAN/UMNO/MIC to get the licenses of any sorts of permits to trade, they are more often than not TURNED DOWN! The LOCAL AUTHORITIES are of no help either. Believe me! They are not “prihatin” at all. They just couldn’t care less. They are, more often than not, the “little napoleons” that one has to contend with. Anyway what can you expect from them. They are the ones whom the unlicensed traders detest, because they are just like thugs, robbers and gangsters with the license to do as they wished. The poor traders ,besides having their good confiscated, have to fork out ther sweat money to settle summonses.

Does this makes to anyone? On one hand, the federal government is encouraging the rakyat to be independent and venture into doing their own business or trade. BUT, on the other other hand the “Bandaraya” are doing all they can to put a stop to any such entreprise. ANGER..raging in the people’s heart and mind…translating and cascading into PROTEST votes. Do they, the powers-that-be, know this?? What are the wakil-rakyats doing?? Normally they know only some of the traders, especially the more established ones. They do not know the plight of those poor , poor chaps and aunties who are slogging so hard to make ends meet.

Where are the YBs when the “bandaraya” are raiding the morning markets, the night markets? It is so pitiful, it is so sad. Goods gone ( sudah dirampas ), besides “kena saman”. How to survive?? Family suffering; maybe have to consider looking for an “along” to make ends meet, thinking about the interest of the last borrowings, maybe from another “along”. Sad and angry and helpless… and anger turns into protest votes. This scenario is VERY, VERY real, take note YBs, YABs from MCA/GERAKAN/UMNO/MIC/DAP/PKR/PAS.

There must be a revamp in the manner traders are being treated, be they licensed or unlisensed. The Local Authority cannot go on with the way they had been carrying out their operations. JUST CANNOT GO ON LIKE THAT. There must be a more humane, viable and people-friendly approach. Considerations must be given to alleviate the plight of the small-time , honest and helpless traders.

Action must come from the state government and the local authorities. THE rakyat are suffering and their interest must be protected , especially the small/medium traders. The big timers have their resources and can take care of themselves; of course that is another matter.

With the change in the Selangor government, it is hoped that the local authorities are replaced and the enforment arm be revamped to better serve the rakyat. THe councillors also have to be replaced as some of them have interest in the running of the markets. Rubbish fees should not be allowed to be collected from the traders ( by associations/individuals/other parties be it UMNO/MIC/MCA/GERAKAN) as the collection of rubbish had been outsourced already by the local authorities and paid for in the form of yearly licenses.

The above is one example of the tasks the YBs and YABs need to look into seriously and address as it involves and affects the livelihood of a lot of the rakyat. To them, it is a rice-bowl matter. And alot of Malaysians are trying to make ends meet and cannot afford to let matters fall into the hands of opportunists and the little napoleons.

150. #150 by mirexastan on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:19 pm

So rightly put One4All4One. Practically ripped the words out of
    everyone’s mouth, especially for those who have witnessed the
    high-handed ways of the ‘bandaraya’ enforcement ppl who came
    with their well designed trucks to load up whatever ‘goods’ that
    had ‘rampas’ from these poor, poor traders. Imagine having only
    that little bit of capital to purchase goods hoping to ‘untung’ a bit
    at the pasar malam’s/pagi’s and in the end, blood capital no return.
    Mostly, only the poor will get bullied by the authorities. Maybe,
    this is due to their ignorance like say, on the requirement to have
    a license to trade or even worse, calculating on their profit from the sales of whatever they have, paying the license would negate the profit that they would get! There should be more ppl friendly
    ways to ‘help’ the rakyat earn a decent living. Yes, the more
    established shops would complain about the unfair competition
    from these unlicensed traders, or at least that is the excuse
    given by the enforcement officers. Be more sensitive to the needs
    of the poor, not singing the tunes of the rich, which is the case
    now with most if not all enforcement authorities. Well, now that
    the result is out and the padi already cooked, congrats to all YB’s
    who won and bide your time. As they say, 5 down, 8 to go….

151. #151 by Penang_kia on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 7:42 pm

abolish those DEB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    DEB useless, only benefit to those kroni2 umno malay….see!! umno menteri2,umno high level ppl, all kaya raya…..but, what happend to malay resident?…most of them still poor compare to other racers..what have umno do to improve their situation via DEB?????????? umno do NOTHING!!! now is the time to change to abolish DEB….and regain OPEN TENDER for construction…is much more better fair enough to all racer…..i support Penang CM to abolish this stupic DEB….just give him some times to come out great idea for DEB replacement…i beleived LGE will perform much better than KSK….at least LGE dare to talk and voice up our concern to BN goverment…