IGP should suspend Segamat OCPD for using force on seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate in Labis to demonstrate police respect for women dignity and rights

(Media Conference Statement (2) by DAP Ipoh Timor parliamentary candidate Lim Kit Siang at Ipoh Timor Ops Centre on Wednesday, 5th March 2008)

IGP should suspend Segamat OCPD for using force on seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate in Labis to demonstrate police respect for women dignity and rights.

The Johore police called an unprecedented 1.30 am press conference in Johore Baru yesterday morning to give their version of the scuffle over a mike between the Segamat OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching in Labis on Monday at about 2.30 pm during my 24-hour four-state 11-stop election whistlestop tour.

This is a reflection of the power of the internet for immediately after the scuffle in Labis at about 3 pm, the Internet was abuzz with reports of a police officer in a scuffle with a seven-month pregnant DAP parliamentary candidate which resulting in her being hospitalized, creating concerns about the health and welfare of both the mother and the unborn child.

In the 1.30 am press conference, Johore police chief Datuk Mohd Mokhtar Mohd Sharif denied that a police officer had used force against a pregnant woman DAP parliamentary candidate.

Mokhtar denied that the police officer had pushed anybody let alone take away by force the microphone Teo was using to say “thank you” to several hundreds of supporters who had turned up to welcome my visit.

Nobody alleged that the Segamat OCPD “pushed” Teo, but what is undeniable is that Abdul Majid was involved in a scuffle with the seven-month pregnant candidate when he tried to snatch her mike – as illustrated the photographs (below) and video tape on Youtube .

Mokhtar’s claim that it was Teo who did the pushing is both preposterous and outrageous, as borne out by the photographs and video clip.

I had gone up to Abdul Majid to urge him to refrain from continuing the scuffle with Teo in trying to snatch away the mike.

I find it most regrettable that the Police had given a selective and dishonest account of what happened, hiding photographs from the media which would have told the country the whole truth.

It is most shameful,for a police officer to use force on the seven-month pregnant DAP woman parliamentary candidate when all she wanted was to say a few words of thanks to the public who had gathered to meet me.

The Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Musa Hassan should suspend Abdul Majid as Segamat OCPD to demonstrate police respect for woman dignity and rights instead of siding with him in his deplorable conduct r using force in a scuffle with a seven-month pregnant DAP woman candidate.

If the police are not prepared to do justice in the Labis seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate case, then all Malaysians should use their vote on March 8, which is also the International Women’s Day, to express their condemnation of the police officer’s scuffle and using force on Teo on Monday.

scuffle over a mike between the Segamat OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching in Labis on Monday at about 2.30 pm scuffle over a mike between the Segamat OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali and the seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching in Labis on Monday at about 2.30 pm

1. #1 by showsomemercy on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:18 pm

Aiyoh, cheat to win now use force on a pregnant lady. Shame on those scum bags. Main kotor lagi bn!

2. #2 by go4dap on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:20 pm

Now they cannot win the people heart. Majority on opposition side. So have to by force one lar. Pregnant lady also don’t want let go ahh.. What a shame on police force!

3. #3 by budak on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:30 pm

BN/UMNO have no other resolution to reduce the voices of the RAKYAT… MAKKAL SAKTHI… :-)

I personally urge the Rakyat of Labis to vote for DAP candidate for Teo Eng Ching and her unborn child’s to Parliament… We need your vote to rewrite the Malaysian history… and for the sake of our children, please vote BN out…

4. #4 by a-malaysian on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:36 pm

The big question in my mind is: What business has this police got to do on the stage?. She has every right to welcome YB Kit and moreover she is the DAP Candidate. What had she spoken to make the police want to snatch the microphone from her?

Did she speak about anything unlawful to warrant the police to act this way? If she did, she cannot run away. The police can get her anytime but why act in this manner.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

5. #5 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:47 pm

will there be blood or plenty of shits ?

6. #6 by jus legitimum on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:48 pm

The image of the police in Malaysia has long been tarnished by corruption,incompetence,inefficiency,and lots of other negative characteristics and you name it and they have it.The OCPD in question is a good for nothing bum.He practises discrimination against only the opposition.It is totally abhorrent to have another scum like this in the force.In order to cleanse the stinking police force,use your vote to whack BN out.

7. #7 by sean on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:51 pm

condemn the police acts….that show they are running dogs for BN
    side track a bit here…
    Anyone knows where Nurrul Izzah speaks tonight?

8. #8 by Godson on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 5:54 pm

What the hell is that police a$$ doing up there? He knows mandarine or not or maybe he is just thinking that she say something bad about him. Hey Tidurwi, what the hell are you doing? If you dont understand mandarine please ask some a$$ in your BN MCA to help you lah. Why are you such an a$$? Tidurwi what are you trying to show to the world? Why are you such an a$$? Are you sleeping?

GO GO GO DAP TO VICTORY.
    GOD BLESS DAP.

9. #9 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:02 pm

After the elections I suggest the DAP should sue the police for interfering with the election campaign.

Most unprofessional behaviour by the OCPD.

10. #10 by cheng on soo on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:03 pm

Is this polis try to show “ketuanan polis”, thought this is election time, everyone can “talk a bit more”, this polis act is really despicable!
    Why should polis snatch a harmless mike from a pregnant lady. Would any 7 month pregnant lady want to push polis? (even if this is true, polis , being strong male should just walk away, and not involved in a scuffle with a pregnant lady, BETUL, BETUL KURANG AJAR!)What rubbish is the polis version of the incident!
    Everyone should CONDEMN this KURANG AJAR polis!

11. #11 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:07 pm

nation wide got mega posters showing pm inspecting a police line, what a smug image

12. #12 by burn on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:12 pm

polis berat sebelah!
    and pity, he’s brainless, moreover an OCPD!!!
    anyway, my mom in-law is goin back to segamat. her siss recently call her to comeback to vote. her family parent was once BN strongman in segamat, but now, everything change. all her families and relatives is voting for DAP!

hidup rakyat! hidup DAP!!!

13. #13 by devilmaster on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:13 pm

Bolehland Police
    . n.[treated as pl.] a disgracing unit used by UMNO as political tool to intimidate political opponents.

14. #14 by LittleBird on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:16 pm

Well LKS can raise this in bnext parliament sitting but then be prepared to hear their standard reply ” Not urgent” by the speaker and ‘tadak suka – keluar” ( Is he still contesting? ) ;)

15. #15 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:19 pm

enough of fear politics, we need politics of hope. change we can believe in

16. #16 by cmbss on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:24 pm

See u 8 March 2008!!!!

17. #17 by highhand on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:27 pm

what say the minister of women affair ?

18. #18 by blueblue2626 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:37 pm

BN Goverment is Low Quality……!

19. #19 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:40 pm

This is just another example how

DEMOCRACY IN MALAYSIA IS BEING ADULTERATED BY BARISAN NASIONAL.

OTHERS ARE:

1. UNFAIR MEDIA COVERAGE -MAINSTREAM MEDIA BEING USED BY BARISAN TO CHANNEL THEIR PROPAGANDA, PORTRAYING THEIR OPPONENT NEGATIVELY . BLACK-OUT ALL NEGATIVE (BUT IS THE TRUTH) ISSUE RELATED TO BARISAN NASIONAL.

2. EXERCISE UNDUE INFLUENCES ON BUSINESS COMMUNITY TO HAVE THEM SHOW THEIR SUPPORT TO THE BARISAN. IN 2006 SARAWAK STATE ASSEMBLY ELECTION, ANWAR IBRAHIM CAME TO MIRI TO CAMPAIGN FOR PKR CANDIDATE. The PKR candidate at that time booked MEGA HOTEL (a 4-star) hotel in Miri. However, when ANWAR IBRAHIM arrived and the hotel learned that the BOOKING was actually for ANWAR IBRAHIM, it was told that the hotel management do not want ANWAR IBRAHIM to stay in the hotel. THAT NIGHT ANWAR IBRAHIM HAVE TO STAY IN THE PKR CANDIDATE- DR TEO’S HOUSE …hotel do that with the fear that the government might blacklist them and not awarding future contract to them…….IT IS INDEED AN ADULTERATION TO DEMOCRACY!!

3.BARISAN NASIONAL CANDIDATES WITH THE INFLUENCE GET THE COMMUNITY LEADERS, ORGANISATION LEADERS TO DELARE THEIR SUPPORT TO BARISAN NASIONAL – AND PUBLISHED IN THE NEWSPAPER. On the contrary, dissatisfactions voiced out by the villagers would never be published to protect nice image of barisan nasional . VOTES ARE SUPPOSED TO BE SECRET, PERSONAL OPTION -WHEN A COMMUNITY LEADER OPENLY VOICED THEIR STAND OF SUPPORT ONE PARTY AND AND THE SAME TIME PORTRAY THE OTHER PARTY NEGATIVELY WITHOUT STRONG BASIS, IS THE VOTE STILL SECRET? IS THE INDIVIDUAL IN THE COMMUNITY STILL EXERCISE THEIR FREEDOM OF CHOICE – OR THEY ARE OBLIGED TO FOLLOW THE LEADER? In this is done in IRAQ or pakistan, or even TIMOR LESTE, the person who openly declare his stand, could have been shot by the agitated other party. But Malaysia is the land where people are peace-loving….. however, the true democracy should not be adultered by the people in power.

20. #20 by gofortruth on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 6:53 pm

Once again it proves beyond a shadow of doubt that the Royal Police force of Malaysia is not serving our Agong to take care of his subjects (the citizens).
    Its no longer a Royal Police force, its BN coalition’s private police force.
    This must be changed!

I am only amazed & perplexed our Agong is taking all these sitting down!!!

21. #21 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:01 pm

“Seven-month pregnant woman DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching”

There’s only one word “respect”! She’s tough!

22. #22 by StevenT on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:01 pm

This is what i called an opportunity of a lifetime to get majority of the chinese votes who prefer not to interfere with governance and therefore voted for BN. Publicize this video rapidly and spread the word around. 3 days more before the election and this video will be crucial in securing the Chinese votes. Publicize this in Penang, show it during the Han Chiang ceramah and make that the finale to emphasize why it is important to have a change in governance. If it’s well done, it will be all over the news on Friday.

23. #23 by UzMiNoOnist on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:04 pm

Lets keep all the recordings, and after election it will be replayed whenever opportunity allows. Post it to you-tube, convert to short clip and send it to your friends.

24. #24 by voteforDAP on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:10 pm

THIS IS STUPID! DOES THIS HAPPENED ONLY FOR THE OPPOSITION? WHY OPPOSITION? THE BN CROONIES GETTING THE COPS TO GET INVOLVED SO THAT THEY COULD SPOILT THE PARTY’S CERAMAH?

BN, sorry to say… u people are goin too far!

25. #25 by voteforDAP on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:12 pm

DAP, do not worry, so far, you have 30 votes from my side. Those are real people and not phantom voters. May BN loose this time!

26. #26 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:16 pm

The Police supposed to be impartial in carrying out their duty… but this incident implied that they are serving ‘certain party’. no impartiality…

In altantunya’s case two police officers who served as bodyguards of the prime minister ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI were the the suspects in the Mongolian Altantunya murder. The other Suspect was the Barisan Nasional political analyst and strategist -who were close to the two top Barisan ‘s government leaders… C4(believed to be from military source) explosives were used to blow the mongolian woman, and the woman’s entry to Malaysia was erased from IMMIGRATION department of Malaysia….The case has yet to be closed… maybe it would remain a mystery…. MALAYSIAN X-FILES……

many question marks…..

# who authorized the deletion of immigration records?

#that the bodyguards of Prime minister involved unnecessarily in that nasty case?

# Who authorized the use of C4?

mystery…..mystery….mystery…..

27. #27 by Democrats on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:19 pm

“I think everyone here misintepret the video. Abdul Majid very considerate policeman….sedia membantu. He worry the mike too heavy for a pregnant woman to carry. Wanted to help her.”

Johor Police Chief should have used that angle…. At least we have something to laugh at.

28. #28 by AnakSabah on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:33 pm

As the old saying goes “action speaks louder than word”. What on earth is that “damed” police doing? Who he thinks he is? Its time, its time to make a change for the betterments. Its time to change the 2/3 majority in favour to the Oppositions!

Need we say more than this “action speaks louder than words”?

29. #29 by taikohtai on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 7:34 pm

Lucky people of Labis,

One vote and you can send two people (Dr Teo and her unborn child)
    into Parliament! Now, that’s a world record Malaysia has got to have and be proud of it.

3 Cheers from Brisbane!

30. #30 by showsomemercy on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 8:00 pm

I am doing my best already. My house here already got 4 DAP already. I am telling my friends all to vote DAP also. I even asked my uncle and aunties to vote Tony Pua for PJU. No Matter what, just vote opposition for a better Malaysia! :)

31. #31 by IsaMrofer on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 8:36 pm

Bodoh punya Polis. If you wanted to stop the speech just unplug the mic lah..Why go and harrast a pregnant lady.

32. #32 by kickbutt on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:00 pm

There are other more effective ways to stop somebody from speaking. Why wrestle with a woman for control of the mike?? Or doesn’t he know??

Time to kick butt fellas!

33. #33 by politicalopinions on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:04 pm

http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftar.asp

Go to this website and check

T719756

The top is citizen IC and the bottom is army IC. Both belong to the same person.

One vote in Penang and the other in Kelantan. No wonder BN is so confident they will surely take back Kelantan.

34. #34 by concerned_citizen on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:08 pm

This is what I call democratic country. The police that practice BN-way. Don’t be agree with them. They are trained to act like this, the are pathetic.

35. #35 by alaneth on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:22 pm

There’s nothing we can do – see all the scandals back from Anwar’s time all the while….. just name it. Many cases have been swept under the carpet.

But nothing can be done – perhaps we need a Royal Commission to resolve all these problems.

36. #36 by PSM on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:22 pm

Wow! Another example of our “Macho” Police! Remember how our police force were scared of the Mat Rempits?
    They can only shoot Water Cannons & Tear Gas at Women & Children. They “bully” Pregnant Women! Did you guys see how he walked up to her & grabbed the mike? Wow! he must be very proud of his bravery!
    I bet this guy gets a promotion after the GE!
    This is on YouTube. The world can now get to see how our Macho Police Force behaves!

37. #37 by dylsee on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:22 pm

What politicalopinions has pointed out about an single person having two electorate is true. I have checked it out and found the same person’s name, one under army in Penang, and another IC in Kelantan. Try it out and see how the phantom voter. There may be also many other such cases.

38. #38 by PSM on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:26 pm

Oh by the way, I suggest our Police change their name from PDRM to PDBN (Polis Di-Barisan National) since they don’t work for King & Country, they work for BN!

39. #39 by chanjoe on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:38 pm

DISGUSTING & DAMN FOOL is the word for the OCPD. you r supposed to protect the people but u chose to protect the BN. You bully a 7 mths pregnant woman and you shall pay for it by way of CSL’s son losing the seat of Labis.
    Calling all women folk of Labis….show your courage and bravery…vote for Teo and her baby in her tummy and we shall have a happy ending and show who is the bravest of them all….the OCPD (bully) or the people of Labis & whole of Malaysia.
    All other Malaysians who have families, relatives or friends who are voting in Labis, please call on them to stand up to such uncivilized butchery….. VOTE for DAP & TEO….TQ

40. #40 by all ready on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:48 pm

No wonder that most of the rakyat do not have confidence and trust in the Malaysia Police Force anymore UNDER THE GOVERNANCE OF THE BN, and that a pregnant lady candidate was not spared either.

By way of the photos, one can deduce really ” BERAT SEBELAH ” by that OCPD rather than the standing instruction to maintain and control or ensure no chaos during cerrmah .

DID HE ACT ON HIS OWN ACCORD OR ON THE STANDING INSTRUCTION OF THE POLICE FORCE?

G O D O N L Y K N O W S !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SUCH UNCALLED FOR INCIDENT WILL DEFINITELY FRIGHTEN VOTERS AND PROMPT THEM TO VOTE THE OPPOSITION MORE SO AS TO ENSURE SUCH PHENOMENON WILL NOT BE REPEATED.

TO ALL VOTERS OF MALAYSIA OUT THERE, LET US UNITE TOGETHER TO VOTE THE ROCKET OR ANY OPPOSITIONS. LIKE THE DAP SAYS, ” ENOUGH IS REALLY, DEFINITELY, TOTALLY , TERMINOLOGICALLY AND FINALLY ENOUGH “

41. #41 by Libra2 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 9:49 pm

If only the police know how much they are despised by the rakyat. [deleted]
    May I ask why the police send truck loads of police personnel to opposition ceramahs?
    Why should the OCPD refuse to give permit for the 2 ceramah in Segamat?
    Why can’t the stupid OCPD just give her 5 minutes to speak some word of thanks? Is it that necessary to snatch the phone?
    I can tell you the woman folks are angry with the police. In fact everybody hate them. They are just like legalised bandits and thugs.

42. #42 by Dan on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:17 pm

Would like to discuss about the Motorola issue and canditate of chief minister in penang, anyone ?

43. #43 by bolehlandor on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:18 pm

Those shameless inhuman @#$% are desperately despicable & behaving worse than wild animals. Cannot refer to them as guardians of the laws; more like thugs of the worst kind!!

Such is the BN ilk that all their members & supporters are akin to vampires sucking the country dry & at the same time oppressing innocent rakyat for their ill-gotten evil profits at the expense of the country. These @#$% will sell their mothers & wives for a few rinngits. Utterly shameless…….

44. #44 by mickeymouse on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:22 pm

[deleted] even dogs would not do something which is wrong. they r employed by BN to do their dirty work. BN is scared of the truth which is told by the opposition. that’s why they don’t give permits to opposition. They still think that we, the rakyat are stupid and they can continue to fool us. HEY! we don’t live in the medival times alright! we know all ur lies and dirty tricks.

BN is getting very desperate for votes till they have to resort to putting up fake lying advertisements in the papers and billboards(MCA,MIC)esp. now the cancel the use of indelible ink. why? to buy more votes just to cover their position in case of loss. and the money spent for the ink? its in Bodowi’s pocket.

in tourism dept, many LCD tv worth 9000 is purchased for 50000 and hardly being used. the difference in price? –>in the minister’s pocket

how about 15billion going to be spent on cloning a tortoise?? what a idiotic thing to do.. please lah.. we’re not that advanced yet. why waste the money on something u don’t know. Go and help the poor lah.. even a small kid can tell u that.

BN has to bribe us with free makan, free shirt, cap, bla bla bla to attend their talk. our tax money. whereas during opposition talk, ppl come voluntarily even though place not so comfy, no food. BN treats us like kids, bribing us with food and stuff.

VOTE OPPOSITION AND MAKE A DIFFERENCE!!!
    50 YEARS OF BN REGIME IS MORE THAN ENOUGH!
    WE LOVE PKR,DAP,PAS,PSM BUT NOT BN!!!

45. #45 by choong on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:28 pm

pathetic… this shows the police only know how to live in denial, hallmark of what is wrong with country’s administrators…. time to kick BN out…for good….

46. #46 by OldManoftheSea on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:34 pm

No wonder the confidence in the Police is eroding. This is too much, I am sending this news by emails to all my friends to see.
    See for themselves how the Police bully a pregnant lady.

47. #47 by smartee on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 10:56 pm

Regarding Case of 750909035727 / T719756

“The first is a citizen IC and the next is his army IC. Both belong to the same person. He can vote in Penang and then drive to vote in Kelantan. “

I feel info such as these should be kept secret for the BA Top Leadership and not let out on the web.
    With Video cameras ready in both election centres, we can then record a movie of the man turning up at both centres, Then, if BN wins, we can declare the election null and void , producing the proofs…. :-)

48. #48 by Godson on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:09 pm

Driving home one nite, saw something lying motionless by the roadside. Wondering what is it……..looks like a policeman but also looks like a dog. If its an injured dog, i will send it to the vet but if its a policeman……..mmmmm…..what shoud i do?????? Reminds me of a story by M.Bakri Musa “The tale of the Rattlesnake”.

WASTE NO TIME, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE………………….

GO GO GO DAP TO VICTORY.
    GOD BLESS DAP.

49. #49 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:25 pm

What do you expect from this OCPD?? He probably abuses his wife, a home maker for asking money from him!

50. #50 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:29 pm

Malaysians denied fair vote: Human Rights Watch
    http://asia.news.yahoo.com/080305/afp/080305060904int.html

51. #51 by musyu99 on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:39 pm

stupid fool ocpd…
    Vote for Opposition… DAP/PKR/PAS…
    go to hell Pak Lah @ Pak Liar…
    Go to hell with his Hadhari…
    I’m a not only a muslim and a malay…
    but I’m a Malaysian….
    JUST CHANGE IT………………….

52. #52 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 5 March 2008 - 11:53 pm

I saw the press conference on TV. Clearly the CPO Johor was trying to lay the blame on the 7 month pregnant Teo.

These morons forgot today we have the Internet and You tube to expose their lies.

This OCPD will be rewarded with a promotion soon. Cold blooded police like these are much needed by the BN Govt. to crack down on any voice of dissent . They must be devoid of feelings for anyone.

53. #53 by samooi on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:03 am

we being waiting this for 10 years….finally this sicko is come

http://www.kulimtimes.com/cms/av/2008/0303/article_41.html

54. #54 by Joshua Tan Kok Hauw on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:15 am

If the speaker was Rafidah Aziz, I can be sure that she would not be dealt with. Like I said before, the police should be described as ‘qi shan pa er'(a mandarin idiom) which means that the police bully the kind but dread the fierce and powerful.

55. #55 by justiciary on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:26 am

The police is the most despicable group among the civil service.Anyone who has no choice but is compelled to deal with the police will testify my statement.Of course there are other groups in the civil service that also prompt strong negative comments by the public.However,the blue uniformed fellows seem to be the worst.

56. #56 by badak on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:48 am

I just got back from an opposition ceramah. Its the first time that im seeing so many Indians openly supporting the opposition.Surprise was ..An MIC BRANCH CHAIRMAN was also at the ceramah distributing OPPOSITION flyers.

We all know that UMNO BN LED GOVERMENT IS CORRUPTED TO THE CORE..EVEN the PDRM and the EC are component parties to the BN.With the police and ECsiding the BN do you think the election will be fair..

57. #57 by choonchoy on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 2:31 am

Oh, AAB, this what hadari is about. Police terrorising women. PM you can take your hadari and you goons and get lost. Malaysia DOES NOT need you.

Undurlah Bangsat Negara.

58. #58 by clear conscience on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 4:35 am

After attending two DAP ceramahs in USJ 12 on last Friday and 3rd March 2008, I came to know that there was a Bolot Negara ceramah at USJ20 by Dr Kow which was only announce at about 8pm when the ceramah was just to begin.

Since staying in USJ for the last 8.5 years, I had not seen the Bolot Negara Kinrara DUN Dr Kow (MCA candidate) at all. Thus out of curiosity to have a glance of his face, I decided to attend that ceramah but stood far away from the ceramah tent. On arrival, I was taken by surprise that the ceramah has only an attendance of less than 60 residents.

I began to ask myself that the wind of change is so apparent a reality especially for an incumbent DUN member. Only about 30 were seated whereas the rest stood far away from the ceramah tent. This is a far cry from the crowd at the 2 DAP ceramahs which can’t be mistakenly in the region of 6,000 and 10,000 respectively.

I was also given a copy of Dr Kow’s booklet which depicted all his achievements from 2004 since his election to represent Kinrara. To my disbelief, those projects he had undertaken is nothing to shout about over a period of 4 years as the constituency rep.

His appeal to those who attended to give him the votes was so pathetic that it appears to me he was begging. The many clear cut traits that I noticed of Dr Kow as my elected constituency representative is his lack of charisma, poor command of English (despite of his PhD degree and his claim on the booklet that he is fluent) and lack of inter-personal skills. In the ceramah, he had boasted of the many achievements he had carried out. I had my last laugh deep inside when he announced each of those projects.

It dawned upon me that as compared to what DAP has been fighting on national issues, Bolot Negara seemed to concentrate on minor issues in USJ. As Hannah Yeoh had pointed out in her ceramah speech, more needs to be done without wastage of funds.

I am certain of myself being happy to ensure that Bolot Negara will not get my vote but on the other hand sad to see such pathetic YB can be chosen during the last elections. To console myself, I felt much relief knowing that my one vote counts to deny such future idiotic representation in the Kinrara state seat.

Please, all voters get your acts together and vote for DAP to deny Bolot Negara from squandering our future generation’s monies.

59. #59 by fjjs on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 6:23 am

PDRM = Polis Di-Raja Malaysia ….. maybe the Barisan Neraka have change their name to…

PRDM = Polis Raja di Malaysia…..no law, no justice and arrogance bunch of fools..

We are the boss…VOTE DAP on 08.03.08 and the OCPD will be sacked the following day.

JOM BERUBAH……vote DAP for a better tomorrow.

60. #60 by burn on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 6:48 am

it’s so obvious that gomen will do anything to stop oppo from doing ceramah at certain places.

the more they do that, the more rakyat will get piss off. they’re killing themselves for playing dirty.

to the police force, you might have been given an order to do that, but you too can make ur own decision, mana yang betul dan salah! this is election, so ceramah will be everywhere. kalau yang betul betul buat kecoh, lain lah cerita…

61. #61 by lakshy on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:12 am

Hats off to DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching for making a stand and contesting even though she is 7 months pregnant! Well done!

These are the true malaysians who are willing to make sacrifices while the rest of us sit on our fat behinds and write on the blogs and hope for a better malaysia.

Lets all work towards creating a better malaysia for future generations. A future where all our children will be treated as equals and with equal opportunities. Where each malaysian will help another malaysian and work towards making our nation more competetive in the international arena. Lets all have this goal in mind.

62. #62 by js on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:16 am

“http://daftarj.spr.gov.my/daftar.asp

Go to this website and check

T719756

The top is citizen IC and the bottom is army IC. Both belong to the same person.

One vote in Penang and the other in Kelantan. No wonder BN is so confident they will surely take back Kelantan”

I can tell you that the SPR will say PLEASE HIGHLIGHT TO THEM FOR CORRECTION ONLY.

I think we should discuss more about this issue rather than the topic issue.

63. #63 by somaris on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:22 am

WHAT A SHAME TO THE POLIS FORCES.
    ALL MALAYSIAN PEOPLE.
    THIS IS WHAT WILL HAPPEN IF U VOTE FOR BN .
    VOTE DAP,PKR TO FIGHT FOR US.WE NEED U FOR OUR FUTURE.
    IF DAP,PKR WON THROW ALL THE BAD POLIS OUT WE NEED GOOD POLIS TO PROTECT ALL OF US.
    JOM BERUBAH
    MALAYSIA FOR ALL RACES.

64. #64 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:37 am

DAP ceramah at the compound of the Labis DAP office in Taman Bintang Jaya about 2.30pm on Monday was, according to the police, held without a permit. From Youtube, it can be seen that Segamat OCPD reached out to take the microphone (“mike”) from DAP candidate for Labis Teo Eng Ching. (He obviously could not ask her to hand over the mike because she kept on talking on it). It can be seen that Teo used her left arm and hand to thwart and keep at bay and away the OCPD’s hands from reaching for the mike held in her other right hand. There was neither suggestion nor evidence that Teo Eng Ching 33, who is seven months pregnant, was pushed or ever fallen down (YB LKS was there to intercede with the OCPD). Teo was rushed to the Segamat Hospital at 8.50pm by members of her family after she complained of abdominal pain. That was 6 hours later. There is also no evidence that the 2.30 incident had caused her such profound emotional distress that could have an effect on her pregnant condition to cause abdominal pains 6 hours later. There was no emotional distress because she was not even afraid of the police intervention : her facial expression did not show fright, in fact had she been afraid, she would not have kept on talking on the mike in spite of the police trying to take the mike from her, and even using her right arm to keep the OCPD’s arms from reaching her mike! The statement “nobody alleged that the Segamat OCPD “pushed” “pushed” Teo, but what is undeniable is that Abdul Majid was involved in a scuffle”.
    However, I don’t think Segamat OCPD’s attempt to snatch the mike from her right hand would tantamount to or could appropriately be described as a “scuffle” in context of a fight or struggle in a confused way at close quarters amounting to any brutality or man handling on Segamat OCPD’s part. Johore police chief Datuk Mohd Mokhtar Mohd Sharif held an immediate press conference at 1.30 pm to deny that a police officer had used force against a pregnant woman DAP parliamentary candidate. He was afraid of the incidence being politicized. I think we should not politicize the incident as example of police brutality on pregnant woman when no reasonable interpretation of such could be attributed to what happened based on the YouTube and photographs, in the last of which he was raising her right arm, all smiles. There is no evidence at all anecdotal or medical attributing her abdominal pains 6 hours later to any emotional distress at the ceramah. Lets be fair on the police – they were only doing their job under instructions that the ceramah was without permit – and not pin such a thing on them where it is not apparent.

65. #65 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:39 am

correction – “photographs, in the last of which She was raising her right arm, all smiles”.

66. #66 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:47 am

Jeffrey QC,

This is an objective, accurate and fair assessment of what happened from what I could see.

But you and I are about to face a firestorm!

67. #67 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:06 am

This is what I see from the images provided.

I see a woman who is with child obstructing a uniformed police officer in the course of his duty. She could be charged with obstruction of justice.

Some six hours later, according to Jeffrey, she was brought to hospital by relatives because she suffered abdominal pains. She was in an advanced stage of pregnancy.

What’s wrong with this picture?

68. #68 by k1980 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:17 am

More than 50 years of “merdeka” and only now talking of bringing great transformation
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/National/2178331/Article/index_html

69. #69 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:27 am

Not only was she pregnant. The officer was a more than a head taller than her.

This is UMNO, big and fat and still want to bully small little people.

70. #70 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:29 am

What Jeffrey said is right.

71. #71 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:35 am

two days more to go to the polling stations.

with all the campaigns and verbal attacks on each other. i do hope that after the election, we should all heal as one nation again.

i do hope for the love of Malaysia , regardless of race and religion, lets have a bigger role to see a PEACEFUL MALAYSIA.

we have and had our say. but if MALAYSIA SUFFERS , MALAYSIAN WILL SUFFER.

72. #72 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:36 am

To be fair to LKS, the Youtube videoclip is actually less than 1 minute. What is equally important is what actually happened in the minutes before and after the videoclip……, something that YB LKS would have seen with his own eyes which then became his subject for this thread.

The issue is larger than a mere scuffle. Why should the Police deny the permit for a GE campaign rally? I don’t know what other sensible and reasonable man on the street think but as for me, the denial of a police permit and the subsequent ‘scuffle’ is indicative of bad intent. Who can somach that? Remember, this is not a Pasar Malam ‘jual snake medicine’ soap box speech. This is a GE election rally. It will not happen again in 5 years! So if I am not permitted to speak now, I would have consented to be muzzled for the next 5 years! I don’t suppose Jeffrey QC or Undergrad2 would have been willingly acquiesced to such a scam!

Then again, to be fair to the Police, have they administered her sufficient ‘warning’ before the ‘grab’? And, if they have, did they wait for a reasonable time before they acted…after all, this is not a life-threatening incident or one that afffected national security or peace (if ‘kicking BN’s as*** is not considered a naional security breach). I understand rational policemen on duty in many other states have been more considerate and more relenting under similar circumstances.

Anyway, watch out for the news when this OCP Segaamt is going to get a promotion. It always happens that way…that was how the IGP came to occupy his seat, anyway! Not because he was better than others but because he carried the right ****balls!

73. #73 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:44 am

“So if I am not permitted to speak now, I would have consented to be muzzled for the next 5 years!” endangered hornbill

Sadly to say, the issue of police permit and why it has been refused is an entirely different issue.

74. #74 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:45 am

According to The Sun’s report, Johor police had approved 1,366 permits for the holding of ceramah after nomination day on Feb 24, 54 of them sought by the DAP. Johor police chief Datuk Mohd Mokhtar said the DAP had also not applied for a permit for a lion dance performance at the ceramah. You have to ask YB whether its true or not DAP’s Labis ceramah was without a permit unlike the cases of other DAP’s ceramahs elsewhere.

75. #75 by paradiseoflove2020 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:54 am

What the heck is the policemen doing there? Go and arrest murderers lar..better !!

The goverment had misuse our tax payer’s money. We MUST stop them now. 50 years is enough! Instead of serving the rakyats, they had become lazy, ignorant, liars, irresponsible, cruel, selfish and deaf to our pleas. They had become richer and richer, while we, the rakyat had to suffer with Barang Naik.

Let’s us come out and VOTE..VOTE for Opposition. WE MUST DENY 2/3 majority win by BN.

STOP being negligence to our country.

Each vote counts. We could make a difference.

76. #76 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:58 am

The police is part of the government and is supposed to be neutral. Again we are seeing the concept and doctrine of civil service neutrality being rubbished here! Only 54 permits out of a total of more than 1,000 police permits??

If the ‘ceramah’ is without the mandatory permit then the police has the right to intervene and stop the ‘ceramah’. By refusing to hand over the microphone when requested, she was obstructing a police officer in the course of his duty. I see that she physically forced him away. Was the force if any applied by the police officer excessive?

77. #77 by paradiseoflove2020 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:05 am

I am not a racist. I am a Malaysian Chinese, studied in National school since standard 1, love malay’s cultures and befriended many muslim friends. Even my colleague sitting besides me is a malay.

To say DAP is a racist opposition party is NOT true. DAP fight for nation regardless of races. Remember that Lim Guan Eng was imprisoned because he protected an underaged malay girl. How could UMNO-BN said DAP is racist while they themselves keep quiet when there are pleas and issues arise from rakyat?

I love my country. I am proud to be Malaysian. Let’s not misunderstand the meaning of “patriotism”. We love and devoted to our country, NOT the government. The government is corrupted now and we MUST stop them from ruling us.

78. #78 by Jimm on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:08 am

OCPD Supt Abd Majid Mohd Ali.
    Rakyat Malaysia …. is this what we want from our future government ?
    We can change it ……
    Make that one decision and together we will bring back rightful justice to all these uncalled for actions.
    Keep this record and we will make him pay back even at his last breath …… after that he will need to face Allah.

79. #79 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:09 am

The report said 54 of them “sought” by the DAP. It did not say 100 sought by and only 54 aproved by the DAP.

80. #80 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:10 am

I mean – “54 approved for the DAP”.

81. #81 by teckwyn on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:13 am

It’s not what happened that actually matters in this instance – it’s the context. The context is a country where the police is seen (rightly or wrongly) to be part of the election machinery of one party. The bigger picture would be unchanged even if the person with the microphone had been a huge man and the police officer had been a small woman.

82. #82 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:34 am

Jeffrey, Undergrad2 and moronic sidekick,
    I think all of you have a false sense of what is right and wrong. You fellows have always thought you are great judges sitting to hear ONE high and mighty court case. That is why I have always said, you fellows are not realists, but idealists and talk “cockists”.
    You want fairness to everybody, but who does not? But let me ask you fellows, in the overall scheme of things, is there fairness? If this incident was Pak Lah being welcome at Labis UMNO office with one of the UMNO candidates talking and welcoming Pak Lah (and without permit), would the OCPD concerned be as vigilant and conscientious to try to snatch the mike from the person talking. That is why I am amazed at you fellows’ false sense of what is right and wrong. You fellows have concocted and dogmatic sense of what is right.
    I think you fellows should write more on all the unfairness being perpetrated by BN right now in this campaign rather than harping on this one incident. Please write more why we need police permit for every damn thing. Isn’t this run counter to democracy and free speech which you fellows have never stopped harping. By the way, you have no way of knowing for sure your interpretation of the video and the subsequent admission to hospital was accurate or otherwise. If you are not 100% sure, why give your benefits to the police who are known for their abuse and arrogance. Is this not a typical case of looking “at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye”? Chih sin la, you fellows.

83. #83 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:39 am

“Mokhtar’s claim that it was Teo who did the pushing is both preposterous and outrageous, as borne out by the photographs and video clip.” YB Kit

With due respect to YB Kit, he is wrong when he said she did not push him away. She saw him coming and knowing his intention clearly resisted as you can see from the video.

84. #84 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:41 am

teckwyn, well said. But try telling to this group of wannabe judges and lawyers. Sometimes it just amazes me. They have lots of knowledge but no wisdom. They have lots of intelligence, but no discernment. They have lots of principles and ideals, but full of dogmatism.

85. #85 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:43 am

undergrad2, just shut up, ok. You are no a great jurist. Please just take a break, we no need you here till saturday.

86. #86 by matterofchoice2008 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:53 am

This is so sad. The Segamat OCPD used force on the seven-month pregnant woman is already sad enough. When people all over the world first look at the action of this OCPD, they may in the first place wonder that may be an isolated case arising from the particular OCPD’s EQ. But to have seen the pictures and video from internet and to know that Police had given a selective account of what happened in Police Press Conference, this is really really sad. What hope do we ordinary people in Malaysia have with this kind of Police?

87. #87 by eyeopening on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:58 am

Nothing wrong with the images provided undergrad2……but don’t forget it is election time. Campaigning is going on and all voices should be allowed to be heard. Do you know where the meeting took place ?
    Yes on the five foot pathway in front of the DAP office.Which happens to be a double story shophouse.
    The opposition is not granted a permit but hail and behold all the barisan ceramah’s get instantaneous permits from the police.
    Shameful on you BN. Look at the Americans. Every candidate is given his or her share of right to stand and speak. Our cowardly government is once again shameless in the way they treat the opposition candidates.They are not even bothered that the person happens to be a woman who is 7months pregnant!!! Imagine how they will treat the ordinary citizens like us . Vote BN out. Vote for the opposition.

88. #88 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:59 am

Comments are canvassed based on YouTube posted here and given as such and thsu has nothing to do with other irrelevant issues (a) whether we need police permits or not (DAP afterall does not contest this and has applied for 54 permits and elsewhere the ceramahs have proceeded without troubles presumably based on permits being given) or (b) whether police would have acted the same if Pak Lah were welcomed at Labis UMNO ceramah without permit. Don’t confuse the issues just because one has lots of anger for the police. As a body especially during elections, they are careful to avoid aspersions that they are not professionally neutral – and whether they are or not – one should not politicise that they are high handed in a manner of treating a pregnant lady when the facts don’t bear out. It will have consequences on the DAP otherwise. To Lim Kam Put, well I shall not comment on your “amazement” since I have long ceased being amazed on anything that you express amazement about.

89. #89 by eyeopening on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:05 am

A poem by Martin Niemoller ;

When the Nazis came for the communist, I remained silent;
    I was not a communist.
    When they locked up the social democrats, I remained silent;
    I was not a social democrat.
    When they came for the trade unionist, I did not speak out;
    I was not a trade unionist.
    When they came for the Jews, I remained silent; I was not a Jew;
    When they came for me,
    There was no one left to speak out.

90. #90 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:07 am

jeffrey, as for you, please shut up also. take a break and come back after saturday. we have had enough of your half bake views. Enough. read carefully what i wrote above. You are NOT as smart as you think.

91. #91 by matterofchoice2008 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:07 am

Malaysia crime rate especially Johor is still very high, Police should try their best to reduce crime rate by going after the robbers and thiefs etc. Police should not focus too much into controlling opposition ceramah’s permits, scuffling over a mike in opposition ceramah etc….

92. #92 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:15 am

Jeffrey, Don’t politicise? Huh, every damn thing in the country is politicise, ok. Where do you come from? And don’t appease the police thinking that by showing them good gesture, you will get fairer treatment from them. High hope.

93. #93 by St0rmFury on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:19 am

I don’t normally comment on limkamput’s fiery replies as I believe he has every right to comment. You know, freedom of speech yadda yadda yadda. Besides, he makes a lot of valid points from time to time.

But this time, I believe his anger and bias against the police has clouded his judgment to the point of fanaticism. At this point, I would say he is immune to any challenge against his views as he truly believes his version of what transpired even though he wasn’t there to witness the whole scenario.

I would advise Jeffrey and undergrad to cease provoking him further for now. It would be a waste of time since you can’t change a zealot’s mind.

94. #94 by Ryanlai on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:23 am

Let’s demolish the BN 2/3 seats at parlimen…Support the opposition parties as the Ex-Prime Minister said that we Malaysia need opposoition to do checking on the Government…50 Years is enough for us..Demolish the Bumiputra and non-bumiputra sytem..DAP bukit bintang…wish you have a excellent result.

95. #95 by Ryanlai on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:24 am

i wish Malaysia to have an debates something like the US government..i like their debates very much

96. #96 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:28 am

has nothing to do with other irrelevant issues (a) whether we need police permits or not ….. or (b) whether police would have acted the same if Pak Lah were welcomed at Labis UMNO ceramah without permit.

Irrelevant issues? Jeffrey, I suggest that you be careful of what you write because you are fast becoming irrelevant.
    Hello, everything is interrelated ok. If the police had been fair, if the campaigns are given equal opportunity, I believe we would not have such a hectic schedule for Sdr Lim which I think at times may not be able to determine precisely in advance where he is going to be next. That is why I feel that the police can not go by the book because the system in not fair in the first place. This incident would have had happened if the police showed some flexibility and discretion. We are human, not robots like you.

97. #97 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:30 am

St0rmFury, I was not there. But were you, Jeffrey and undergrad2 there? Please don’t insult for nothing. You have your right and I have mine.

98. #98 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:37 am

… This incident would NOT have had happened if the police showed some flexibility and discretion. We are human, not robots like you.

99. #99 by jus legitimum on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:42 am

Probably the implementation of IPCMC can help to improve the tarnished image of PDRM.Nobody can deny that the police must earn back the respect of the public by being clean,competent,efficient,dedicated,diligent and impartial.

100. #100 by St0rmFury on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:43 am

You have your right and I have mine. – limkamput

So does Jeffrey and undergrad. Asking them to shut up is akin to denying them their right to present their views and opinions on what might have happened. None of us were there, so none of us are in a position to insist that our version is correct. The most we can do is speculate and form our own opinions based on what we have at the moment.

101. #101 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:56 am

St0rmFury, when I said shut up, it is just an figurative expression. YOU and I know that I have no right or the power to ask anybody to shut up. Just like that kickbutt has never stopped calling me name. If all of us are not there, why can’t we just let DAP leverage a little advantage from it. We all know the oppositions are fighting this campaign under enormous disadvantage. That is my point. Please go back to read my first posting on this issue above. I think I have expressed myself clearly there. I did not say Police abuse or was rough with her. I just said police action – the act of going to her to snatch the mike – is unnecessary. Got it? You people have always said we never read or understand others’ posting. I think Jeffrey and Undergrads are famous for that.

102. #102 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:59 am

“Don’t confuse the issues just because one has lots of anger for the police.”

This limkamput fella has anger for the police? Gimme a break! Don’t we all have anger against a police force corrupt, ineffective and brutal in their ways anywhere in the world? This stupid fella is extremely naive in thinking that being right gives him to right to abuse fellow commentators for their opinions.

The topic of the thread is ” IGP should suspend Segamat OCPD for using force….” and not “Should the police have issued a police permit”?

Admittedly there are secondary or collateral issues like the requirement of police permits for ‘ceramah’ during elections. But Jeffrey and Undergrad2 are just addressing the only issue raised in this thread which is did the police officer commit assault against the pregnant speaker to the point of endangering her foetus?

Everone here has the right to express his opinion right or wrong without having to be harassed and insulted by the likes of this limkamput! I really think the moderator should throw him out!

103. #103 by matterofchoice2008 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:08 am

undergrad, sorry to interfere but this is my unbiased comments.

Teo did not push OCPD away as described by undergrad. What the video showed was that OCPD kept advancing till Teo stepped back from her original position.(at least 2 steps back)
    Teo is seen as raising her left hand (quite naturally as a defensive action) as to block further advancing actions of the OCPD.

It is unable to tell exactly from the pictures especially from Teo’s facial expressions if Teo got a shock from the incident or not. As far as a pregnant women is concerned, a stimulus such as this and as seen on youtube (minor thing you may see it) could possibly cause a pregnant women got some kind of shock effect and feeling not well.

In a smaller picture, one can say that police is acting accordingly as ceramah is not granted a permit by police.
    But in a bigger picture, one should also look at police if police is granting ceramah’s permits fairly to BN and to the oppositions and controlling BN’s ceramah and opposition’s ceramah fairly.
    If the bigger picture is not in place and we start to zoom into the smaller picture, of course the police is always acting accordingly. That “act accordingly and menjalankan tugas” in fact is what our police always claim.

Nevertheless my advice to Johor’s police is that they should “act accordingly and menjalankan tugas” to catch the robber and thieves in Johor as in a bigger picture Johor’s crime rate is very high.

104. #104 by jspt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:15 am

I hope that this topic can end it here. We have more and more important topics to discuss such as how can DAP play its role in the development of this country;work hand in hand with other parties in DUN/Parliament if able to deny 2/3 majority;etc..

Frankly speaking, I do not want to see DAP always be the opposition side,not only on the check & balance BUT also on the development of the state and country as a whole.

I am Penangite, I always hear people said DAP just play their role to fight in the Parliament/DUN only without providing much on services to the people. Any requests/ application by DAP to the local authority mostly being ignored or slow in processing by local authority. I do not know how true is it. That’s why until today, penangites prefer to vote for DAP just for Parliament seats only. Hope that DAP could look into this issue seriously and able to convince Penangites in tonight’s Grand Ceramah to have both vote to DAP for DUN & Parliament. I really sad if DAP not able to grab more seats for DUN.I have done my part to convince my friends and customers to vote for DAP irregardless of DUN/Parliament seats. Hope you all can help DAP too.

105. #105 by scorpian6666 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:24 am

the one man two votes shock me! the police actions anger me. This is work of the “DEVIL”. or Simply BN = DEVIL offering shinny “apple” then slaughtered them. GOSH! no more no more no more no more

106. #106 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:24 am

kickyourbutt @ come2papi, I think the moderator should kick you out first for being a coward and by trying to make a pass on fellow bloggers.
    You must have waited for many days before a topic concerning law and right come up, one-dimensional man. I guess I have to add you to the list of people who never read and understand others’ postings. I suggest you go back and read from my first posting to determine whether I have said anything about police brutality in this particular case.
    What I said was police action of going after the mike is completely unnecessary given the circumstances. But to you wannabe lawyers and judges, this is about the law; whether the police touched her or abused her, that the police are just performing their duty; that we must all follow the law of the land, blah blah blah. Now, if the OCPD had not acted the way he did (i.e going after the mike), I guess the DAP would have nothing to “capitalise”. Has it ever occurred to you fellows that this is the defensive strategy of DAP. Yes, if you try to be prickly and come after us, be prepared to face all the consequences and publicity. This is how the game is played because we all know Police is just an apparatus of BN. No wonder I have to keep reminding you that you are mega stupid.

107. #107 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:28 am

Permit or no permit thats no way to treat a lady, don’t mind a pregnant lady as well. Has anybody bothered to check if all the BN parties do have a permit to hold similar ceramah? Just becos the police only harass the opposition side, the BN ceramahs are being left alone with no bother.

108. #108 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:40 am

kickyourbutt says…..the only issue raised in this thread which is did the police officer commit assault against the pregnant speaker to the point of endangering her foetus?

Yes, if the police come for the mike, and forcibly take the mike from her, this is what the DAP is going to imply. So what, may I ask?

109. #109 by matterofchoice2008 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:47 am

all,
    As said let us not lose our focus and momentum. We should look at the bigger pictures rather than spend too much time studying and arguing the details of the smaller pictures.

jspt,
    Let us penangites this time round vote Oppositions for both parlimentary and state seats. One more day or so to go before this saturday’s election, lets garner more support for oppositions by convincing more of our friends and relatives. I am a supporter for Jeff Ooi, the star blogger.

http://www.geocities.com/matterofchoice2008/My_page.html

110. #110 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:52 am

///I would advise Jeffrey and undergrad to cease provoking him further for now. It would be a waste of time since you can’t change a zealot’s mind///-St0rmFury.

Thanks an advice based on the best of intentions.

However it seems strange that just because Lim KamPut asked me to “shut up” (whether it I metaphorical, figurative or actual) until election day I should heed what he said! Who is he?

Countless others have asked him to shut up, and he hasn’t.
    Anyone of us can say what we want to say here whether or not it meets his approval – which is of no consequence, at least to me.
    No one should be held hostage to the vexations of anyone else’s ‘fiery’ postings or gibberish mutterings. He can put a 100 postings here so can anyone of us so inclined and unless the Moderator deletes, there is not much anyone here can do, that’s a fact.

We can continue to say what we want. The choice is own whether we want to argue rationally or emotionally – in a manner civil or grunt like animal, it is up to us, and a reflection of us as well.

111. #111 by AnakSabah on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:52 am

We have another 2 more days to go before polling. I saluted to DAP Candidate of Labis, Teo Eng Ching for her braveness.

The photographs and video tapes had spoken loud and clear.

I wanted to vote for her but I can’t as I am from Sabah, but YOU and your entire family CAN………I appeal to all Labis voters…. vote wisely, vote for those who dares to speaks, vote for Teo Eng Ching and her unborn Child!!

112. #112 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:55 am

///I would advise Jeffrey and undergrad to cease provoking him further for now. It would be a waste of time since you can’t change a zealot’s mind///-St0rmFury.
    Thanks an advice based on the best of intentions.
    However it seems strange that just because any poster asked me to “shut up” (whether it I metaphorical, figurative or actual) until election day I should heed what he said! Who is he?
    Countless others have asked him to shut up, and he hasn’t.
    Anyone of us can say what we want to say here whether or not it meets his approval – which is of no consequence, at least to me.
    No one should be held hostage to the vexations of anyone else’s ‘fiery’ postings or gibberish mutterings. He can put a 100 postings here so can anyone of us so inclined and unless the Moderator deletes, there is not much anyone here can do, that’s a fact.
    We can continue to say what we want. The choice is own whether we want to argue rationally or emotionally – in a manner civil or grunt like animal, it is up to us, and a reflection of us as well.

113. #114 by iPOH BABY on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:15 pm

Since when the country allows a policeMEN to rest their hands on a women ????? A women should only handle by policeWOMEN…..damn idiots! The OCPD must be sued!

114. #115 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:34 pm

Jeffrey, Nobody is stopping you. But come back to the issue at hand. No problem, we can argue rationally or emotionally, it is up to all of us. It is a matter of style and nobody has to subscribe to your style. Don’t try to divert into a personal attack when obviously you have lost an argument on substantive issues.
    No, you are factually wrong again. There are no countless people asking me to shut up. It is just one coward using different IDs. I only argue with people when I see the points are obviously skewed. Those who think they are invincible shouldn’t be here. I have no qualm in saying it; I see lots of pua tang sai stuff here. What we write here matters because this is a forum many people read. When I criticise someone’s posting, it is not just meant for that person alone. It is to counter the argument and to allow others to read. Let others judge.

115. #116 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:39 pm

In election time, there is more reason for DAP to maintain its curability. It is not that simple as “if all of us are not there, why can’t we just let DAP leverage a little advantage from it”.

The picture painted was that the Segamat OCPD engaged in such acts of restraint or physical restraint without any sensitivity Teo Eng Ching’s pregnant condition against a background that 6 hours later she suffered abdominal pains and had to go to hospital.

Though not explicitly stated, there is an implied suggestion (innuendo) that she suffered abdominal pains as a result of what happened earlier on – which draws serious implication on the professionalism of the police (here we’re not talking generally but on that specific occasion).

Of course the Opposition can take advantage during this time but so can the opposite side. The police already taking statements from the hospital and medical personnel – and what happens if it is medical opinion that her abdominal pains is a natural symptom of pregnancy at that stage and had nothing to do whatsoever with what happened in the cerama 6 hour ago, which from what we could witness from YouTube there was no emotional distress apparent? You want to proceed to accuse the hospital and doctors of being pro-Barisan or police?

There will be an 11th hour a counter allegation from the BN’s side supported by medical opinion that the Opposition is merely kicking up a fuss and irresponsibly dramatizing for political capital something that is not supported by facts at the expense of the police’s reputation and image at the sensitive time of imminent election when police have to appear non partisan.

This kind of thing will boomerang against the DAP.

On the question “did the police officer commit assault against the pregnant speaker to the point of endangering her foetus?” – yes nothing substitutes facts and credibility.

Get it right, don’t just think of cheap shots at leveraging a little advantage from it.

God forbids that the DAP, with its track record for decades of championing Malaysian rights should need this kind of petty leveraging to score points two days before the election!

116. #117 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 12:42 pm

Sorry typo error – “In election time, there is more reason for DAP to maintain its CREDIBILITY”

117. #118 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 1:17 pm

I think one point we miss is that Police is an apparatus of BN. May be DAP is highlighting this case to use as a defense mechanism to make sure that the Police would not be too trigger happy to intervene and interfere with the slightest excuse. I still want to maintain that this incident would not have happened had the police shown restrain and professionalism. Yes, professionalism here means police not taking action despite no permit. By taking action (because without permit) is to me police not acting professionally. The police was doing the wrong thing right. What we need is for the police to do the right thing, even though it may be wrong procedurally. I don’t know whether you get what I meant.

I agree that the “game” (if it is really a game) DAP played may boomerang. Well, what choice does DAP have? They have so short time and so little resources. This is how I see the game is played and rest assured that it will become more dirty, spearheaded by none other than BN. We don’t have to be so “upright and proper” with DAP while at the same time leave BN to do what they like.

118. #119 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 1:24 pm

To make it clearer for you, Jeffrey, when I saw the OCPD went up to Teo to try to take a mike from her, it was like I saw a BN candidate or supporter intruding into a DAP’s function and tried to snatch the mike from Teo. YOU people get it or not. Politics can not be so legalistic lah. If all people like you fellows, Opposition semua tutup kedai lah.

119. #120 by Toyol on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 1:48 pm

This is really an embarrassment to Malaysia. If the police wanted the mike, the least they should have done is to request a policewoman to do it. A heavily set baboon trying to coax a mike from a pregnant petite woman is really disgusting. Is wanita MCA going to do anything about it since they profess to fight for women’s rights or do they have to wait for their UMNO masters?

120. #121 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 1:51 pm

///By taking action (because without permit) is to me police not acting professionally. The police was doing the wrong thing right///.

One can maintain this stance only if one rejects altogether the requirement of getting a police permit for ceramahs. Here I assume that the DAP does apply and get permits for its ceramahs whether in Johore and elsewhere. According to The Sun’s report, the DAP sought in Johor 54 police permits, which I assume some have been given. If the DAP, by its own conduct, subscribes, applies and conducts ceramahs in some cases with police permit, making them “legal” ceramahs, then what is the reason or excuse to conduct in ceramahs “without” permit like the one in Labis (if report about that ceramah being proceeded upon without permit were true?) I mean you can’t play by certain rules of engagement (like applying and proceeding on ceramahs with permits) and yet on the other occasions flout these rules of engagement that by conduct you have elsewhere accepted according to your whims and fancies. Whether or not there was a permit issued for Labis is therefore a relevant issue because it provides the background – and excuse, lawful or otherwise, for the OCPD of Segamat to enter the compound, intervene and use such reasonable force as may be necessary to stop the proceedings – even if what constitutes reasonable intervention or force and, whether taking the mike from a candidate in pregnancy is reasonable or not may be subject to different opinions here.

121. #122 by badak on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 2:13 pm

Opposition parties should learn from BN .Because i have not heard at all of BN CERAMAH without a police permit.With all the big guns in BN going round the country giving Ceramah ,ITS NO PROPLEM FOR THEM GETTING A POLICE PERMIT.

Few days ago KJ came to my area, even the BN candidate was caught unaware.Every one was excited.A ceramah was held no proplem.NO PERMIT NO PROPLEM , EVEN SAW A few policemen rushing forward to shake his hand.BN BOLEH

122. #123 by chanjoe on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 2:52 pm

I agree with limkamput totally. I was involved 100% in an election before and it seems police actions are different from each area…it all depends on the reaction and patience of each OCPD. Some are very accomodating but some try to show their power and make life difficult for the opposition only.
    jeffery & Undergrad2 have to experience it to know how it was.
    Therefore here, I called upon you guys to stop ur bickering and look at the issue on the point of Teo being a pregnant woman and she would have had attended breifings by the OCPD with all candidates and to say the OCPD doesnt know she is pregnant is bullshit.
    The OCPD should have just let her cakap and finish and be tactful as Teo is a candidate and should be given some leeway. Furthermore what harm can she do by speaking for a few more minutes at the daytime????????
    The women folk and men of Labis should take the cue and show the door to CSL’s son and vote in Teo to show that the people are the boss and OCPD should ikut arahan rakyat.

123. #124 by mauriyaII on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 2:54 pm

What is that barbarian in the guise of a police officer of the PDRM trying to do? In the first place he has no place on any political stage. He is a government servant. He is supposed to be neutral. In other words he is there to serve the people who elected the government in the first place.

Secondly he has no right whatsoever to invole himself in a scuffle with a pregnant women.

Thirdly if as alleged by certain quarters that the DAP did not obtain a permit to hold the rally, then charge the organizers in court. You can always ask Pak Lah to use the ISA. Then you don’t have to charge anybody in court. The truth might come out in a court of law. That is if Lingam doesn’t write the verdict!

These sort of nonsense happens in Bolehland because the top executive is daydreaming part of the time and letting his son-in-law run the country all the time.
    The future for Mukhriz is very, very bleak. When KJ becomes the PM he may be tempted to send Mukhriz to Kamunting for being a risk to the peace and security of the nation.

Who knows by then the Segamat OCPD might become the IGP to whack whoever opposed KJ.

124. #125 by jgspot on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 3:01 pm

125. #126 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 3:08 pm

Jeffrey, I think you are Saint Jeffrey.
    1. I have already implied earlier that in this particular case in Labis, DAP may not have the permit. The reason being (I am just postulating) Sdr Lim’s arrival (both date and time) was so unpredictable and hence probably no permit was sought for in the first place.
    2. In case of you are thinking the reason for not applying for the permit could not be attributed to DAP’s failure to plan or organize the ceramah in advance. It is just the whole campaign process has been so unfair, and DAP leaders are short in supply and Sdr Lim probably has to be everywhere at the same time. It is in this context that I feel that the OCPD (if he is really professional and fair) should act with restrain and allow just for a few minutes more for Teo to finish his welcoming speech.
    3. As I said many time earlier, your mind are simply too “legalistic” or you simply never read what I wrote earlier. (I read every line you wrote here and elsewhere and I think that makes the difference between you and I. I learned a lot from you, honestly, but I don’t think you learn any damn thing from anybody because you felt in love with your own views and opinions).
    4. Who is saying that DAP never apply for the permits for their ceramah in other occasions in Johore. I think DAP will try their very best to comply with the permit and other legal requirements when conducting their election campaign.
    5. Unless one is blind or in total oblivion of what is happening in this country, how can one not able to see that the OCPD is over zealous, probably with tacit approval from BN and in the process hopefully to gain some “recognition” for his effort.
    6. This was probably a short visit from the Party Advisor to Labis for the first time during this election campaign. Why the police must be so prickly?
    7. The issue here is not that DAP is attempting to follow rule (getting permits) whenever or only when it suits them. Far from it. Tell me what DAP has to gain to purposely violate the permit requirement. Sometimes it is just unforeseen that they have to have a gathering like in this case.
    8. Jeffrey, since you are such a rule and law abiding person, why don’t you spend some times monitoring whether BN has also violated the permit condition. May be you should also monitor whether the police has taken quick action against BN for any violation. May be you want to make a report against the police for closing both eyes when BN hold their ceramahs without permits.
    9. In your world, every thing is black and white. In real world, everything is in different tones of gray. Come back to the real world.

126. #127 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 3:17 pm

sorry for 2, is should be written this way:
    2. In case you are thinking the reason for not applying for the permit could be attributed to DAP’s failure to plan or organize the ceramah in advance……

127. #128 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 3:24 pm

Jeffrey, i read your posting again and again to try to figure out your thinking process. You know what, you certainly know what you know. But i am not sure you know enough to know the exception. And i am not sure you know what you don’t know.

128. #129 by sungaisiput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 3:41 pm

I think limkamput may not be brilliantly eloquent in his expression but he is true to his word and he has guts to say what he believes in with out fear unlike a few spineless commenters.

129. #130 by nckeat88 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 3:42 pm

Jeffrey, I think your view on this issue is truely neutral, those DAP supporter’s view are just blinded by their anger towards police. Anybody connected to the government when touch the pregnant lady will be blamed. If she were to have any complication of labour few months later, I am sure the police will be blamed again.

130. #131 by sungaisiput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 3:55 pm

I just hope more rakyat like limkamput will come forward and silence these spineless ones.They are making this site soooo boring and dull.

131. #132 by raverus on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 5:28 pm

Thugs, what else.

132. #133 by Navinachendra on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 5:58 pm

Do we need another Royal Commission? If the thugs in the government and the police keep on doing this they will encourage more street demos. See what happened in Thailand.

133. #134 by dylsee on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 6:22 pm

Law and order are important, but wisdom and mercy is the guiding principles. If such a clip would to show people of the world on their opinion, I think most of them would render their vote to the pregnant woman because the whole world knows that we should protect the weak against the strong. The right of the unborn baby is very precious in the eyes of God and us. Don’t you agree?

134. #135 by goldenscreen on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:01 pm

Well said limkamput. I hate it when people start to speak in legal jargon and totally forget empathy and reasoning. Not to mention context and situation. Not everything in the world can be viewed through a legalistic, black and white prism. Welcome to Earth.

135. #136 by sungaisiput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 7:58 pm

Hi dylsee..well said and you dont need be a rocket scientist to know this simple facts of life.

goldenscreen…yes me to when ppl try to show off their cleverness to the others.mere show offs.i rather we look through the eye of wisdom and mercy.

limkamput man you are not alone….when you speak from the heart it will be heard.keep up the good work

136. #137 by LadyGodiva on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:08 pm

“Yes, professionalism here means police not taking action despite no permit. By taking action (because without permit) is to me police not acting professionally. The police was doing the wrong thing right. What we need is for the police to do the right thing, even though it may be wrong procedurally. I don’t know whether you get what I meant.”

I read that some posters refer to this character as Lebai Kamal bin Put – I wonder why? Put or no put, he clearly has his head twisted the wrong way!

This at best is a police officer shown in the pictures as reaching out for the mike, not to grab it away with force, and the woman shown in the picture knew and expected it as she saw him coming, even had a smile on her face – especially after his first failed attempt. She knew the crowd would be behind her and she continued to pander to the crowd.

Pictures speak for themselves. They do not lie.

Notwithstanding the above, question could be asked as to the whether the police officer could have handled the situation better. This of course is after the fact, and is what we call, Monday morning quarter backing! He should know that police permits are not easily issued so ‘ceramahs’ could be held especially when the requests are made by the political opposition, that whatever reason given is an excuse, and is wrong. This is election time. There should be liberal use of their discretionary power in granting permits. But like I said this is after the fact. What do you expect him to do? Extend an invitation to the speaker holding the mike to give it up?? He should have waited for another speaker to take control of the mike before making his move. Again this is after the fact. I am sure he now regrets it because now the opposition is using and politicizing the incident – political fodder for the opposition.

Just what we need! Just like negative campaign in an election. It always works and is effective.

“The police was doing the wrong thing right.” Lebai Kamal bin Put

It is more like the police doing the right thing in the wrong way!

I’m not going to ask you, Lebai Kamal bin Put, to “shut up” or stop writing – like you did to the others and then calling them names using derogatory words etc. Your writings here are not much more than the twisted ramblings of someone who badly craves for attention – and is not getting enough of it. So you must abuse and insult.

To: The Administrator

This blog has been trashed, is being trashed and will continue to be trashed by this character until you take some action like a final warning. It worked the last time. It should work this time. Your non-action has emboldened this obnoxious character and he will continue to be so emboldened. He is taking advantage of Kit who is too busy to read.

Do not expect the others like Jeffrey who has been a serious contributor to this blog not to react to his insults and name calling. I suspect Jeffrey tried the best he could i.e. not to react – but there are limits. Even when he did react, he showed exemplary behavior by exercising self-restraint.

137. #138 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 8:55 pm

“Now, if the OCPD had not acted the way he did (i.e going after the mike), I guess the DAP would have nothing to “capitalise”. Limkamput

You are saying in other words that YB Kit sought to capitalize on the incident. You have also earlier said that there is nothing wrong in wanting to politicize the incident. I think you should show some respect to YB Kit and the DAP.

The police officer was not smart in acting the way he did i.e. trying to take away the mike from her. He could easily have cut off power to the microphone and confiscate the equipment since it was after all an illegal assembly.

Also this kind of situation would not arise if police permits are routinely issued during elections. DAP supporters (the genuine ones, of course, and not someone who is an impostor ) already know that the police is used by the BN led government as a tool to disrupt lawful though illegal assemblies. We do not need convincing. We certainly do not need to have our intelligence insulted either – especially by an impostor!

138. #139 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:34 pm

Ladygorilla, Why running to administrator? You think he/she will be listening to a coward like you? Look, now it is ladygorilla. May I know when is papi dog, kickyourbutt, darkhorse, colonel or blackeye coming back here to thrash me again? You have to face reality, you are a coward and you are simply not good enough.

The last time I took a voluntary leave from the blog. The administrator or Sdr Lim did not ask me to. I thought by going off for a while, the situation will cool down. However, to moron like you, you think that was a sign of weakness. I think by now most bloggers here know that I did not start the quarrel. I merely retaliate and the reason why I do that is because that is the only language you understand. Why run to the administrator now? Be man enough to continue to irritate me and you shall see what will happen to you. I give you my word. The moment you stop insulting me (with regard to my contribution to DAP’s fund), ridiculing me (of my education background), accusing me for being a fraud, and doubting my racial origin as you do now, I will give you minimal decency you deserve. I think you don’t know who you are up against.

Now coming back to substantive issue.

The issue is not how the OCPD reached for the mike. You either never read what I said or your poor command of English does not enable you to understand.

Then you said on hinge-sight it is easy to say that the OCPD should have done this or not to do that which you referred to “as after the fact”. Look, that police office is an OCDP. He is not a constable. If an OCPD does not how to exercise discretion or can’t feel the tempo of a situation then he should be constable and not OCPD. Now, if indeed there are OCPDs who can’t think and act maturely, it is also the fault of the present system which continues to appoint and promote incompetence people at all levels of government.

You said and I quote, “It is more like the police doing the right thing in the wrong way!” How can the police be doing the right thing when the police does not how to exercise flexibility and discretion (just to make sure your moronic brain does go elsewhere, right thing does not mean legal, ok, wannabe).

I don’t ramble on like you; I am usually quite clear with what I want to say. And I don’t tell long grandmother stories like some of you. Sometimes I may use strong or figurative words. That was because I was impatient with some of the views expressed. Election is so near and I don’t want other readers to be wrongly influenced by intellectual cocks. Those who are sensitive and think that whatever they write is invincible shouldn’t be here. I am being harassed all the time, but I still come here because I feel that I have a role to play.

For one let me ask from you one more time. Touch our heart and be honest, just use one ID and let our thinking capability do the talking. Be a gentleman.

139. #140 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:49 pm

“Then you said on hinge-sight it is easy to say that …” limkamput

“On hinge-sight”??? LOL

140. #141 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:53 pm

What do you expect this impostor doesn’t know the difference between “trash” and “thrash” either. LOL

141. #142 by kickbutt on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 9:57 pm

“…I feel that I have a role to play.” limkamput

And what role is that?? Trashing the blog is one of them?

142. #143 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:08 pm

Kickyourbutt, You are a typical moron. First, I can say things on my own behalf. Sdr Lim is too experienced and too smart for anybody to speak on his behalf. See, the thinking process again, very very char lah. Yes, to me there is nothing wrong to politicize if that is the game the police (and probably with tacit support from BN) want to play. Again I am speaking on my own behalf. By the way, are you here speaking on anybody behalf? PDRM or BN perhaps?

See, to wannabe like you, every damn thing is legal and illegal. I guess it is useless to discuss further because you are in love with your own views and opinions like Jeffrey. We are not talking about law or legality here. If by now you still don’t get it, then surely it is beyond all doubts that you are an oxy-moron.

Have I not also stated earlier that DAP would certainly (to my mind) try to comply with all the permit and legal requirement before holding a ceramah. But I have also mentioned that there are situations that are unforeseen or unpredictable where gathering are held without permit. Given the impending general election and for the sake of fair play and equity (you know how the oppositions are deprived), the police should exercise discretion and allow some leeway if only they are completely neutral and professional.

Instead of being professional, if the police chose to be used by BN, then as I said earlier, be prepared to face the consequence and the adverse publicity because DAP, I believe, can also play along. I think this is the only language police understand, just like you. You think I should talk nicely to you? I am not trying to insult you too much; frankly I think your thinking process is not there. I think the education system you went through was not vigorous enough.

143. #144 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:10 pm

see, when you have nothing left, you resort to petty insult which is so akin to BN.

144. #145 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:13 pm

for those who bash limkamput , i believe that you are from another planet. like chew mei fang of bn that was surprised that nep is still around. !!!!!!!!

in the arena , where the fighting ground is not level .where some one big is taking on some one small, please forget about the rules.

i remember the murdered case of canny ong ( with deepest apology ) where it was reported that she tried to talk SENSE to her kidnapper and how much opportunities she had to escape, but finally raped and murdered.

the same scenerio here , in a warzone, where it is do or die , please leave your jacket n ties at home. in parellel, where the opposition is not given equal and fair treatment , is enough to fight poison with poison ( e tuk kun tuk ) cantonese saying.

145. #146 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:13 pm

from now on i will be looking out for your silly mistakes, watch me. so you better read five times before you post your poor quality writing.

146. #147 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 10:15 pm

Adam thank you. i am fighting with this pervert here.

147. #148 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:15 pm

No, limkamput!

I think he is just helping you with your English.

148. #149 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:17 pm

His methods may be questionable.

149. #150 by limkamput on Thursday, 6 March 2008 - 11:33 pm

Well, in haste, we all made mistakes. The great QC also made silly mistakes, did anybody correct him? By the way, my thrash is not necessary his trash, ok. Talking about the finer nuances of English. In attap school, we learn English the proper way.

150. #151 by Come2Papa on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:24 am

kickbutt is right!

i’ve never come across any commentator beating up the blog before – which is what “thrashing” means!

“trashing the blog” on the other hand, means you are destroying the blog by your trash talking.

like kickbutt says “you’re being clever by half” and by doing so you only succeed in making a fool of yourself. not that any of us mind!

don’t let that lady godiva stop you. keep trashing the blog.

151. #152 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 12:54 am

go read how i used the word thrash before coming back to me. please don’t start to talk to yourself again, coward..

152. #153 by pjboy on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 2:26 am

What was the purpose of the police? 8th Mar is also International Women’s Day ! This supposedly senior police has shown no respect nor dignity for women, & mothers ! “Good example” to junior officers ! This is exactly how LOW they will go.

153. #154 by LadyGodiva on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 3:06 am

Wow!! Such conceit! Never come across anyone with such misplaced sense of self importance.

Continue trashing this blog (not ‘thrashing”) Good for you. Not good for the blog owner.

154. #155 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 4:48 am

That there may be situations (DAP’s ceramah) that are unforeseen or unpredictable where gatherings are held without permit that police ought to have exercised proper discretion to give a little leeway, and even if police action were wrong, it being in the opinion of some, quite unnecessary to snatch Teo’s mike when the ceramah had proceeded without a permit during this election time –is, I maintain, a separate issue from the other question whether it is justified and a proportionate response to impute or cast implied innuendo and aspersion, for the sake of politicization, on a police officer the commission of physical manhandling of a pregnant speaker to the point of endangering her foetus when the facts and pictures do not support such a conclusion.

There is really little to discuss, by way of exchange, if one does not see the difference in issues and the stance is then taken that, given the un-level political and power playing field, anything goes, one does not need to play fair with the other side that does not play fair….

The fact that such a stance of ‘tit for tat’ and the only way to treat a hoodlum is to be a hoodlum to him resonates with the emotional sentiments of many here, fed up with government or authorities, still does not make it right.

Nor does it, as a matter of political strategy, necessarily serve one’s own cause or protect one from getting, in a matter of time, into serious troubles, having regard to the uneven balance of power between one self and the other side controlling and enforcing the legal rules of engagement, considering that doing right (on part of an Opposition like DAP) is an important political weapon, for both offence and defence, and the true proof of the measuring cast (to the rakyat whose support is canvassed) of the difference that separates the Opposition from that of the Barisan National and their functionaries and apparatus.

155. #156 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:31 am

sir jeffrey.

IN THE REAL WORLD OF POLITICS AND POLITICAL SCENERIO.
    in Malaysia , the playing field is certainly uneven.
    upholding justice and fair play is certainly appreciated by all IF AND ONLY IF justice and fair play is dispensed to all in equal.

there is no right or wrong in politics. if there are such rules, wonder why many do not join politics. wonder why many great politicians like gandhi ,lincoln,martin luther are all assasinated.

if as jeffrey so stated “tit for tat ” does not make it right – for which i certainly agreed, BUT IF THE TRUTH OUT IN THE FIELD is that jeffrey you are deprived of the very liberty of civil rights to voice your cause. if you are shut off from the media . if you are shut off from the public . if you are threatened with arrest. are we than to be on cause for ahimsa or just be bullied.

set aside emotional sentiments, as that is cetainly why politicians are made to arouse our intense curiousity to cast votes for them. SET IT ASIDE FIRST. and ponder seriously please on the following:-

1. vk lingham judge fixing:- innocent until proven guilty. you may be able to swallow this being an honourable man. BUT i tend to fall into the category ( among which members of the Bar Counsel ) initiate the march of justice to demand a royal inquiry. Even with the royal inquiry – many key actors “feign” memory loss. do you buy that ?

2. ISA – have you ever been detained ? have you ever been remanded ? if you had or have someone you love or know having been detained without trial, MAYBE you will still feel that justice prevails.!!!and if you feel that justice prevailed,than please join us in BERSIH and risk arrest and remand. Please get first hand information from x isa politcal detainee and ask if they had been treated humanely.

3.while you and others have different views from limkamput. similarly limkamput has his fair share of support. there is no utopia in this real world. i will be fooling myself that there is. even in countries without multi racial mix ie BURMA ( OLD NAME ) monks are murdered. guns against the saffron robes . fair ? nyet.

so humbly i suggest this is best translated into our votes of conscience ( if any is left in this species called homo sapiens ) . the way people are murdered, father raping daughters. i dont think we are human anymore. SADLY. so at least cast your votes tomorrow and life goes on.

156. #157 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:46 am

btw, if not for hindraf – who took on an alternative cause of actions and did the ridiculous of suing British Government . wonder if the indians are wooed by every party NOW. it was an illegal assembly by all rules of the law of the country – BUT i am sure we were all apathy about the indians plight , and none so courageous to stand up for them, but the indians themselves. they broke the law- but raise a point. a valid point. THE PRICED PAID : 5 DETAINED UNDER ISA. MORE PROMISED ASSISTANCE TOTHE INDIANS. what the action of hindraf right or wrong ? if according to law – its definitely wrong. but as a fellow human, my heart felt for them.
    same as the palestinians being killed by the Isrealist. children dead and mained. what alternative cause of action can anyone propose to those suffering palestinains. Or the actual ethnic cleansing of the Bosnians.

undi saja. debates are easy in the net. but the warzone is a different scenerio.

157. #158 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:49 am

the moderator had to moderate my later comments when hindraf, ethnic cleasing of the bosnians and the suffering of the palestinians were commented. the webmaster ‘s right.

just vote la.

158. #159 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:52 am

ADAM YONG, thanks for the comments but remember that the principle of “tit for tat” and behave a gangster to another bigger gangster works effectively where there is level playing field, in terms of power, and not when the bigger gangster controls an array of weaponry controlling al levers of power in the state. If you want to behave a gangster against such a bigger gangster under such circumstances you’re only waiting to be quashed. In such circumstances you must surely recognise that your true weapon – the only one available – is the unassailability of your moral position (rather than gangster methods) that provides vindication. Nelson Mendela and Mahatma Gandhi used the moral position and cause to prevail over superior force. Had they otherwise advocated armed insurrection, they would long been killed, with the cause not served.

159. #160 by Jeffrey on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 5:55 am

I am also talking in terms of the real world of politics and political realities in which the playing field is certainly uneven and where the other side can arrest you arbitrarily even when you are right, let alone wrong!

160. #161 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 6:06 am

Jeff.

there is only one MR. NELSON MANDELA , who had a heart so gracious that he forgives all and forgets all. but jeff, can you be nelson mandela please. seriously. let the government put you into kamunting using isa for 20 years and still write in this manner.

i salute you .
    i admit i cannot.

161. #162 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 9:32 am

Jeffrey,
    1. If you can, please write in shorter sentences can or not. Your postings are like a contract document lah. It is not an insult ok Jeffrey. We know your English is powerful. But it is a request to facilitate reading not just for, the attap school type, but probably for many others also.
    2. What we call for is an appropriate response from DAP if Police can not act fair, but certainly not to the extent you alluded to. There is no blatant accusation from the DAP of the incident in Labis but I guess a little insinuation here and there is sufficient to put the police on the defense and that to me is one of the effective means to deal with people who do not talk reason. Didn’t you realize that the police are now in defensive mode?
    3. As for other points, I think we have both stated long enough and wise in my earlier postings and we shall leave it that way. Let others read and judge.
    4. I apologize if I have hurt your feeling. It is not personal here, we are just cyber personality trying to put our ideas across and sometimes we get emotional and prickly.

162. #163 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:23 am

““Then you said on hinge-sight it is easy to say that …” limkamput

What??? “hinge-sight”??? a typo error?? a misspelling? or all of the above??

that’s why you need to have more than an attap type education.

“hinge-sight” ??? muaha..haha..muahaha!!!

163. #164 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 10:30 am

“I apologize if I have hurt your feeling. It is not personal here, we are just cyber personality trying to put our ideas across and sometimes we get emotional and prickly.” llimkamput

Apparently the pressure by our lady friend on the moderator to do something is working!

“cyber personality”?? A term used by undergrad a few postings earlier. Lebai Kamal bin Put, be original or at least acknowledge undergrad’s use of the term earlier. It is only polite.

164. #165 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:01 am

Kickyourbutt,
    You just don’t get it. I may argue with Undergrad2 and Jeffrey, but in my heart I have my respect for them when occasionally they provided views which were refreshing and discerning.

But for scumbag like you, never! You are a destructive one liner. You may laugh at my English, but the reality is you can’t even write three paragraphs. I have challenged you on numerous occasions to write me three paragraphs on any of the issues here. I promise to debate with you on what you write. At the end, if I find you credible, I shall stop writing for a period of time just to watch you contributing. How about it? It is one stone killing two birds. First, you get to prove you are better than me; second you can kick me out of this blog. You have my word. I am not like you. I can be trusted because I am not a coward that keeps changing IDs to talk to himself. How low can you go, scumbag. I am not being cocky. I am 100% sure I can write better English than you.

165. #166 by kickbutt on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:11 am

“I am 100% sure I can write better English than you.” Lebai Kamal bin Put

What??? For someone who can’t spell ‘hindsight” you should be embarassed at the thought!

166. #167 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:14 am

Ok, forget about the one liner, accept my challenge and write me three paragraphs, not much just three paras.

167. #168 by limkamput on Friday, 7 March 2008 - 11:57 am

The reality is you can’t write anything substantive other than trying to feign Jenny. Luckily the moderator spotted you early – a pervert on the prowl – and deleted your depraved posting completely. You are pathetic. You shouldn’t be here. Certainly those who can’t spell hindsight are more deserving than you to be here.

168. #169 by lopez on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:21 pm

Those lamers in the blue, are sick, from morning to evening they are reminded by their peers but still don’t know what they are doing.
    only like to be clad in uniforms and be member of some group but dont know their purpose.

Taking law in their own hands, and selectively administer them or instructed by their masters.

Worst dont even know how they came into this world.
    His karma will take care of him.

Small man with small brain not fit to wear that uniform , for all i know he could have bribe his way to get the position.

169. #170 by lopez on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 12:33 pm

When news came about that malaysia’s university has churn out many scholars but was of terribly low standards.
    Many of these parents were furious, but could either do nothing or accept it because it is fated.

The gomen quickly makes GLC companies and other friendly companies to take them up.
    The other were given handouts or retrained .

I was wondering when plantations were converted to other purposes like housing, factories , did the Economic planners thought about the lives of all the plantation and estate workers and their families.

So I say the gomen had many so called experts but why these people are not given the same , retraining, handouts, licenses, compensations as those victims of bad education system and sub standard lecturing.
    Vote for Change

Vote NOW

VOTE DAP , and take part for our children future as we dictate and no be TOLD, TOW and TOLLed.

170. #171 by adamclp on Saturday, 8 March 2008 - 4:21 pm

Maybe the OCPD is showing his frustration because he couldn’t find the culprits behind the hidden cameras in Room 1301. Someone please tell this ‘sob’ that he can take his frustrations to the privacy of his own bedroom hopefully without any hidden cameras, otherwise the VCD peddlars are in for another windfall.

171. #172 by allasstra on Sunday, 9 March 2008 - 1:29 pm

any1 remember the incident where the police,with the help of “public” just ran over some alleged criminals on motorcycle,resulting in one death and the other wounded ?

i remember seeing it reported on tv3 sometime ago…

172. #173 by alwan67 on Saturday, 15 March 2008 - 10:40 am

Frankly speaking, just focussing on the video…while at the same time putting aside legal technicalities and arguments of exercising democratic rights etc.etc. It does NOT seem that the police officer was using force. The still photos can be interpreted that he was (using force), but with the bad publicity that the police force have been getting, the public will generally just jump up with another opportunity to put them down. However when looking at the video, I just cannot say that I agree 100% with THIS blogs report on the case.

173. #174 by bochenghu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:14 am

Glad I voted DAP…. BUT…. People, please. Do have some sense and dignity not to swear and fume when replying. We don’t need grammar cops or testosterone charged challenges. To belittle another’s point of view is exactly what we are trying NOT to accomplish here.

DAP is not about hate. It’s not about expressing your anger and frustrations. DAP is here to change Malaysia. To make it better for everyone.

Let’s show the world that DAP supporters are dignified for we fight for the right of the people. Remember, we are here for the Rakyat. No room to differentiate between races, religion or color.

No more name calling. No more hate mongering. DAP is now the government. We chose DAP and DAP, because of it’s right reasons now represent the people.

Hate not those who have wronged us for they are the ones with the festering wound. Doctors heal one and all and I believe deep down in my heart that DAP is the miracle doctor we need to heal Malaysia.

I believe all Chinese knows the theory of Ying and Yang. There are good and bad in everything, including the police, the government, and even in the family.

174. #175 by bochenghu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:40 am

I feel for everyone’s plight. My father was an ISA detainee for ten years when SUPP was the opposition. He fought for Sarawak’s development, for her freedom and what did he get? A poor wife with five hungry children, working at construction sites waiting for her husband who have been detained without trial and without a release date. Even through that, he fought for the schools that we so casually take granted for. He fought for electricity, water and communications. And for all that… he gained nothing except 10 long years of hard labor. After all that, he never hated the government. He never resented. Even today, when the SUPP failed to help him with his land issues, he NEVER resented. He, earned my respect not because he gave me life, he earned it because he is dignified.

And although he was and still is a grass root supporter of SUPP, he knows and accepts my decision to vote and support DAP.

I accept his point of view and he, mine. He sits together with DAP champion, YB Chong of Kuching at dinner tables, and YB Chong calls him Teacher. Learn not to hate for we all fight for what we believe to be the best for our community.

Why did I vote DAP? I believe DAP still have that conviction to make a change… the same conviction that burned in the hearts of the SUPP when it was still the opposition. Along Sarawak’s 1000 kilometer interior road from Kuching to Limbang, they braved it all, jungles, rivers, sleeping in cars, getting malaria. If not for the opposition then, we would have ended up like Indonesia where you cannot use your Chinese name, attend Chinese schools or even speak mandarin. Because of the opposition, we have chinese schools all along the interiors of Sarawak. Such is the work of the opposition. DAP now carries that torch and I pray and I will commit myself to making sure that DAP lives up to my expectations. It is easy to ask of others, to do it ourselves is the actual key.

Yes you voted for DAP. What now? Join the DAP as members and take ACTION.

If the government won’t build it, we will.
    If the government won’t repair it, we will.
    If the government cannot, we can!
    Remember, Talk is cheap.

175. #176 by bochenghu on Sunday, 16 March 2008 - 4:46 am

FYI, follow Sibu’s lead. Join your local RELA outfit. If you have beef with the police, then don’t rely on them.

I patrol my neighborhood with a bunch of RELA mates from 10PM to 4AM. I go to work at 8.30 and will only be home by 5.30pm. Still, it’s no excuse not to take ACTION.

The police never patrolled my neighbourhood but now they do. Regularly. Kan malu kalau Rakyat dapat, mereka tidak?