Free and peaceful demonstration is provided for in the constituition

by Richard Teo

Why should the govt stifle dissent by refusing to give permits for its citizens to demonstrate? It does not matter whether the govt thinks that the issue is not justifiable or for some imaginary reason it is a threat to national security. Whether their grievances are legitimate or not is something the public will have to judge. The govt’s role is merely to ensure that the demonstration is held peacefully and without any violence.

When people take to the street to demonstrate it is always for a cause. History has shown us repeatedly that when the voice of the people is continually and contemptously ignored the only recourse is to show their displeasure by demonstrating. After all this liberty to demonstrate peacefully is provided in our constituition and it is the inalienable right of every citizen to exercise this right.

I disagree with some view that because the rally was specifically for a certain community the demonstration should not proceed. This view is in direct contradiction with the basic principle that the right to peaceful assembly is enshrined in the constitution and if the aggrieved party is of the view that their grievances have not been addressed than they should have every right to demonstrate. It does not matter whether their grievances merely highlight a particular community interest as long as they perceive there is a need to publicise and convey their message.

It is totally irrational to say that the demonstration is acceptable only if it also espouses the grievances of the other community.What if the other community is not interested in joining the cause? Does that means then they cannot proceed with their own cause?

Free and peaceful demonstration is one of the cornerstones of a democracy and the govt cannot repeatedly come out with preposterous excuses that it causes inconvenience and an imaginary threat of racial disturbance.

By denying people the right to demonstrate the govt is implying that it has indeed something to hide and that the issue which caused the demonstration is indeed a legitimate one.

1. #1 by k1980 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:02 am

This is the published results of a Merdeka Center Survey on the economic health of individuals according to race: (Source: NST Prime News page 7, November 25, 2007)

Question in the survey: What is the financial situation of your family?

(a) They have more than what they need to make ends meet: 14% Malays, 12% Chinese, 16% Indians

(b) They can make ends meet: 74% Malays, 51% Chinese 49% Indians.

(c) They occasionally struggled to make ends meet: 10% Malays, 26% Chinese, 29% Indians.

(d) Struggling to make ends meet: 2% Malays, 10% Chinese, 6% Indians.

Concluding thought: Why should the malays vote against umno since they can have the nep?

2. #2 by People on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:22 am

They say demonstration is not our culture. Indeed its not our culture but then again corruption and oppression of human rights are also not our culture. Provocation from the police has marred the otherwise peaceful gathering. I guess if the police does not over react or be aggressive, they may be thinking that people will assume they are “lembik”. We are now in the headlines for the wrong reasons again.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:25 am

What most most remarkable of all the comments made was one line by the PM where he said the arrest of Hindraf organizers was not about the rally but about sedition. He was obviously using the party line but in that you sense that he knows the Hindraf cause is real and the rally NOT unjustified.

What does that mean?

It means that in the mind of the PM – not now, not this way. In other words, the PM think that even if Hindraf want to push this issue up front, he does not think its the right time and he does not think its the right way.

Which means? – As far as this PM is concern, not now, not this way, means NOT ever. Oh something will be done, but it will be far from justice and not even come close. This PM doesn’t get it that he has no ability to decide when and how on the big issues. Its the core of his weak leadership to make these decisions when he does not realize he is no good at it. It would be better serve if he just step out of the way of those who want to stake their claim on the issue and take the lumps politically. But he does not have the guts and the leadership to do that and hence we have this mix-up state as it stands.

4. #4 by pulau_sibu on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:46 am

Why only Indians appeared in the gathering? Shouldn’t other races also join their brothers and sisters to show the support?

5. #5 by negarawan on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:48 am

UMNO says that public demonstration is not our culture. What about Khairy’s demonstration against Condoleeza Rice and Hishamudins US flag burning demonstration? Did they sack public servants who took part in their rallies? Why the double standard of police permit issuance? UMNO set the precedent in public demonstrations. Down with UMNO and their political eunuchs MIC and MCA!

6. #6 by k1980 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 8:59 am

Goodbye, Samy, Goodbye?
    http://www.reuters.com/article/worldNews/idUSKLR16504820071125?sp=true
    Veteran journalists and analysts could not recall a bigger anti-government protest by ethnic Indians, who make up about 7 percent of the population, although some said a larger rally had been held over internal Indian politics in the late 1980s…Many protesters complained of a lack of educational and business opportunities, saying a government affirmative-action policy in favor of majority ethnic Malays had marginalized them.

7. #7 by oknyua on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:03 am

YB Lim,
    For the ruling administration, what right do we have to demonstrate against a regime in Myanmar? What right do you have to demonstrate against the US government? What right do you have to demonstrate against issues that are not yours?

All of these demonstrations, the police consented and provided support. Mr Fu AK didn’t threaten them. IGP sent his force to protect them.

HINDRAF is highlighting issues in our own land. The issues concern everybody. Thank you, Hindraf. Your action might affect the administration not to

1. emphasize one religion, neglecting the other,
    2. support one racial group and neglecting others,
    3. “ketuanan” one at the expense of others.

The message is clear.

8. #8 by bra888 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:20 am

9. #9 by shaolin on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:23 am

Richard Teo and Oknyua,

100% agreed!! Our government is 1 race and Racist
    Government with double standards set to any one issue..!!

The government has a unique system and it is the follower
    of Apartheid Government in South Africa…!!

What can all of us expect to have if we have a RACIST
    Government..??!! Khairy and Hishamuddin’s protest rallies
    at US Ambassy were termed Legal Processions…!!

Malang-nya maruah kami!!

10. #10 by k1980 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:38 am

The Hindraf Campaign: A Critique – Dr. Kumar

Thousands of Malaysian Indians from all over the country are responding to Hindraf’s campaign. SMS messages are being amplified and sent out by the hundreds, petition forms are being signed, funds have been collected, and there is a massive mobilization to present a memorandum to the British High Commission on Sunday 25th November 2007. All this highlights the extent to which Malaysian Indians have been neglected and marginalized by the policies of the Barisan Nasional government. It shows the level of frustration and resentment within the community.

Many friends and contacts have been asking what is the Parti Sosialis Malaysia’s stand on the Hindraf Campaign? Why is the PSM not organizing buses to support the program on the 25/11/07? The main points of the PSM stand are outlined below –

It is undeniable that Indians in Malaysia face racial discrimination.
    – difficulty in getting government jobs;
    – lack of special programs for Indian students from poor backgrounds;
    – the poor state of many Tamil Primary Schools;
    – absence of laws to protect the estate community when they are evicted in the name of development; Ditto for the peneroka bandar;
    – insensitive handling of Hindu Temples which are demolished to make way for “development”;
    – extremely insensitive handling of cases of Indian individuals caught in “inter-faith” situations for example Moorthy, Subashini, and others;
    – the negative profiling of Indian youth by the police and other authorities as “gangsters” and the harsh treatment of these youth when caught by police;

These are just some aspects of the reality of Indians in Malaysia. Indians are made to feel that they are second-class citizens, and after 50 years of Merdeka they are beginning to resent it more and more!

Ethnic based mobilization is relatively easy to do. Malaysian society has been tutored in racial politics by the BN parties (as well as by some opposition parties also) for the past 5 decades. The vast majority of Malaysians think in ethnic terms. However ethnic based mobilization of Indians will not be able to overcome the racial discrimination that Indians face. At this point Hindraf is asking for

– Cessation of the Bumiputra policy
    – Institution of affirmative policies for Malaysian Indians
    – Monetary compensation from the British Government for “leaving us in this mess”!

These are emotive issues, and it is obvious that many Malaysian Indians have responded to them. But is even remotely possible that they can be attained by ethnic based mobilization of the Indians who make up only 7% of the population?

We should not forget that apart from racial discrimination, the majority of Indians face economic discrimination because they are workers in a system that favours the businessmen and the capitalists. About 70% of Malaysian Indians are workers. The problem they face as workers include

– low wages. In many factories the basic pay in RM 18 per day, which works out to RM 468 per month.
    – There is no job security. Outsourcing, the widespread use of contract workers, and the easy availability of migrant workers all weaken the bargaining position of Malaysian labour.
    – Labour laws are being tightened and being made more pro management;
    – Low cost adequate housing is difficult to find.
    – Prices of goods is rising faster than wages! Petrol, toll and now flour.
    – Basic services – health care, education, roads, water – which used to be heavily subsidized are now becoming increasingly expensive;

The problems listed above are also experienced by workers of all races in Malaysia – even the Malays, who are the beneficiaries of the Bumiputra policies. Only about 20% of Malay workers have jobs in government. The remainder have to work in the private sector where they too experience economic discrimination as workers in a capitalist economy. Malays workers are not exempted from the problems of low wages, job insecurity, rising costs of basic services, etc.

It appears that that some sections of working class Malays are beginning to question the Bumiputra policy which has benefited the UMNO-putra and their cronies far far more than the average Malay worker. Consider the following –

– the Mat Rempit phenomena. Isn’t this, in part, an expression of the frustration and resentment of ordinary Malay youth who are having difficulties finding and holding jobs because of the low-wage and migrant labour policies of the BN government;
    – more than 50% of the 40,000 Bersih demonstration on 10/11/07 was made of Malay youth who were not from PAS or KeAdilan. They turned up because they are fed-up with the government which is only helping a small sector of Malay elite.
    – Anwar Ibrahim has been openly calling for the ending of the Bumiputra Policy which he claims only helps the rich UMNO politicians. He wants a new policy – the Agenda Baru – that is based on economic need and not on race. All poor Malaysians should get government help.
    – PAS spearheaded the Protes Coalition which opposed the hikes in Petrol and Diesel prices. They are also active in the Coalitions against Health and Water privatization.

Anwar is an astute politican, and PAS does have close contact with the Malay community. Their articulation of such issues must mean that in their assessment, ordinary Malays are resentful of government policies that favour the rich.

The political choice facing Malaysian Indians is simple. Do we mobilize ourselves as Indians to fight the Bumiputra policy and ask for affirmative action for Indians?
    OR
    Work towards a working class coalition that fights for a better deal for all ordinary Malaysians irrespective of race?

In other words, do we use ethnic based mobilization or class based mobilisation to fight the present state of ethnic discrimination of Indians?

Obviously 1000’s of Indians have jumped into the Hindraf bandwagon of ethnic mobilization. But the support of large numbers does not necessarily mean that that campaign is in the long term interest of the Indians in Malaysia. Nor does it mean that it is likely to succeed!

The PSM salutes all those who have thrown off their apathy to stand up for their rights despite the threats being made by the BN government in the media.

However, action for action’s sake is never enough. Action must be guided by the correct analysis, and this is where we differ with Hindraf. Though Hindraf leaders have made sacrifices, and have shown courage, we believe that they are inadvertently playing into the hands of the “enemy”. Why?

Who are the major beneficiaries of the Bumiputra policy? Surely people like Najib, Hishamuddin, Khairi and other top UMNO leaders must be very uncomfortable with growing perception among the ordinary Malays that the Bumiputra Policy has been abused to make a small group of Malays filthy rich – all in the name of uplifting all Malays. These UMNO leaders are also worried about the coming elections for the people are frustrated with price hikes and corruption. Ethnic mobilization on the part of Hindraf would provide them with the perfect opportunity to

– resurrect the “Ketuanan Melayu” issue. They could use Hindraf’s demands to abolish the NEP as an example of how “lebih” the Indians have become, and of the importance to band together under UMNO for race and country!!
    – Use some of the gangster groups associated with UMNO to provoke a racial incident that will come very useful for BN in the election campaign period. The old BN argument that we have to vote BN to avoid another May 13!

This does not mean that the PSM is advocating not fighting back when Indians are evicted or when houses and temples are torn down. Not at all. The PSM track record on this is clear – we have gone to stand with the people facing eviction and bullying by developers or the government in many estates and Peneroka Bandar kampungs. But we never have generalized this into an ethnic issue for all the reasons listed above.
    This local fight-backs must continue whenever any community is faced with bullying by developers or government. But national level mobilization should be of all ordinary Malaysians (from all races) and not of Indians only!

We hope these brief explanations make sense to you. Do not retire from the struggle! Just reorient it to make it multi-racial and fight for the justice of all the ordinary people of Malaysia!
    Salam Berjuangan!!

http://www.parti-sosialis.org/?p=31

11. #11 by kslaw70 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:43 am

Let the UMNO organise a rally, see what the gov will do, what police will do. By then hear what BN crooks will say

12. #12 by AhPek on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:47 am

Oknyua,
    I am still wondering what makes you think that the Hindraf demonstration would make these gang of plunderers realise that they shouldn’t
    (1)emphasise one religion,neglecting the others
    (2)support one racial group and neglect others
    (3)’ketuanan’ one at the expense of others
    No way for they didn’t come this far ie turning all institutions regardless of whether it is the Police,ACA, AG chamber or the Judiciary into institution doing their bidding just to dismantle them again just because Hindraf comes out to protest OR even for that matter any group wanting to voice out their grievances and have them addressed.Simply no way brother.They have grown accustomed to thinking that this land is theirs and are entitled to take, take and take.Nobody is going to stop them least of all you people.

13. #13 by DarkHorse on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:48 am

To quote K1980, who reports:

“This is the published results of a Merdeka Center Survey on the economic health of individuals according to race: (Source: NST Prime News page 7, November 25, 2007)

Question in the survey: What is the financial situation of your family?

(a) They have more than what they need to make ends meet: 14% Malays, 12% Chinese, 16% Indians

(b) They can make ends meet: 74% Malays, 51% Chinese 49% Indians.

(c) They occasionally struggled to make ends meet: 10% Malays, 26% Chinese, 29% Indians.

(d) Struggling to make ends meet: 2% Malays, 10% Chinese, 6% Indians.”

Unquote

Yet a commentator here – the better-than-Cambridge-educated ‘scholar’ “limkamput” – insists that the “The Chinese are relatively wealthier and economic mobility higher” and there are “thousands and million of smart bumi undergraduates from local universities”.

14. #14 by Public Freedom on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:52 am

well at least we know now were BN stands…still has a strong support but with a few more rallys may be can bring that down a littel….

15. #15 by HJ Angus on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 9:54 am

But UMNO has already organised a rally that caused disruption in KL when Con. Rice visited some months back.

And he was offered a police permit without even applying.
    The police are Hypocrites when it comes to UMNO gatherings.

16. #16 by budak on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:21 am

HJ Angus, police belong to UMNO…
    they can print the permit anytime…
    the police force only part of their “ma chai”…
    macam abang-adik kind of relationship…

17. #17 by sotong on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:24 am

I don’t think the Merdeka Centre Survey is accurate and meaningful to form a conclusive judgement on any particular race.

” Make ends meet ” could be defined and interpreted differently by the people surveyed.

Most Malays lived a simple lifestyle where spiritual fulfilment is more important than material wealth.

18. #18 by Short-sleeve on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:24 am

Hi folks,

Just wanna share with you what I did this morning.

I closed my account with my newspaper man this morning!! After watching how the police rained teargas and water laced with chemical at those in Batu Caves yesterday, I decided I had enough of daily lies in Star, NST & Malay Mail.

Why should I waste my money on these lap dog newspapers?

19. #19 by boh-liao on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:44 am

Famous line: Malaysia is a democratic country. BUT we cannot have our citizens holding rallies on the streets to express their feelings. They can do so during the general elections. We are democratic.

Of course, BS. Only certain people can hold rallies on the streets. And democracy is not equivalent to having a general election once every four or five years.

20. #20 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:53 am

“Why should the govt stifle dissent by refusing to give permits for its citizens to demonstrate? It does not matter whether the govt thinks that the issue is not justifiable…”

Where is Jeffrey QC??

He is about the only commentator, a layman and not a lawyer, who is conversant on the Federal Constitution, Police Act, the ISA, the Penal Code, the CPC etc.

Tell us if the freedom to assemble is not subject to other provisions within the federal Constitution. I sincerely hope we have not lost Jeffrey.

21. #21 by boh-liao on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 10:58 am

Funny, why did it take the police so many hours to decide to give permission to Hindraf to present a memorandum to the British High Commission on Sunday, 25 Nov 2007?

The police should have done so right from the beginning and offered their service to Hindraf. In doing so, the police would have ensured that the event to occur peacefully and orderly, and to finish within a short time, without creating problems to others moving in and out of KL.

All events that happened last weekend and the show of fire and water power were really unnecessary.

22. #22 by Godamn Singh on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:01 am

Now that Indians have received their ‘baptism of fire’ expect more to be similarly ‘baptized’.

23. #23 by AhPek on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:03 am

Short Sleeve says he has had enough lies from NST,STAR and MALAY MAIL and stopped their accounts.Good on you!
    Yes where is Jeffrey?Come on, Jeffrey you are not telling us that limkamput has put you off to such an extent that forces you to give up posting comments just because of him. Surely that’s not the case, I hope.

24. #24 by Count Dracula on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:13 am

YB Kit once referred to Samy Vellu as akin to Count Dracula. So where is Samy Vellu? Is he sucking the blood of Indians as they bleed?

25. #25 by k1980 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:17 am

Samy Vellu is in hiding (in an underground hole like Saddam Hussein?) because he fears the 10,000 Hindraf protestors would send him back to Tamilnadu once they get their hands on him

26. #26 by oknyua on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:18 am

“What makes you think…?” AhPek

Either that, or else we have only two options left. Option 1: Continue marching.
    Option 2: Another police state where a few rules the majority.

I am just being hopeful we won’t reach that level.

27. #27 by sani on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:40 am

Free + peaceful demonstrations are part and parcel of the constitution.

To say something that is totally wrong, for 50 years, is the rights of all democrats.

To change a goverment of the day, which fails us, in all most every department, is a conscience.

For the servants that we voted in, that we pay their salary,to use the riot gears, that our tax money paid for, which are suppose to protect us, is totally unacceptable.

For those that went on to the street at high risk, we Malaysians say a big Thank you, for ungagging us. For highlighting the narrowness of our goverment. For those of us who are timid, it is time to repay back our brothers + sisters + for the sake of our next generation……..help to vote them out.

Need not fear too much of the change to come, not only BN can govern. A change is needed + it is our moral obligation to show those who had done us wrong the door. Twin towers, KLIA, Sepang + Spaceman means nothing if it is only to divert us away from our survival as a nation + people.

28. #28 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:45 am

one small step for our fellow malaysian indians.
    one giant leap for democracy.

abdullah badawi:-

do you think the indians will like this peaceful march if they are given the opportunities to be like any other malaysians regardless of race and religion ?

do you think the indians will like this peaceful march if you have consider the sufferings of the poor regardless of race and religion?

can you distirbute the amount of monies spent on buying a new jet for your worldwide travel and share with the poor ? would you have done it ?

have you been to the estates and see how many indians are living in deplorable conditions , but you are graciously showing how much malaysia contributed to others’ nations.?

where, i ask you this , where were you when malaysia was flooded, but in australia to officiate the opening of your kins nasi kandar stall?

i am not an indian. but they too have a right to live and live well in malaysia. this is the right of all malaysians.

abdullah badawi – you have forgotten your promises to be fair and fair to all. you have broken your promises to hear the truth and real truth.

the truth is out there. ONLY IF YOU LISTEN WITH AN OPEN HEART.

lastly, if you oppose any street marches and demonstration, please use the same standard of intimidation on your son in law . GOD SEES ALL.

29. #29 by Joetan on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:47 am

The demonstrations objective is to show to the world that in Malaysia the ruling party practices discriminating policies on the minorities. The ruling party in the hands of the few elite malays or UMNOputras misused their power to enrich themselves through corruption and imposed biased policies that are in favour of them. In order to stay in power they blind the eyes of their own communities by using racial issues so that their communities will continue to support them. They used a few representatives of other races by giving them positions in the government in order to act as their stooge so as to blind the world as well as their own races in the name of SHARING POWER. This make the world thinks that in Malaysia the policies are fair and every citizens are given equal rights. One of the world body that have been fooled by this elite malays or UMNOputras is the united nations. So, Hindraf has met its objectives by sucessfully shaming this ruling part of Malaysia and open the eyes of the world on the discriminating policies practices here,

30. #30 by g2geetoo on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:50 am

Do you people think that during Mahathir’s time, he would allow BERSIH and HINDRAF peaceful march takes place? The issue here is not police violence against the ones who marched, the issue here is that messages were conveyed!

One up for Badawi! Thank you for holding back and not going to the extreme in curbing street protests!

31. #31 by tidaknama on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:06 pm

This reminds me of a joke :

This Russian emigrant comes to Israel, and he’s met by an official. Says the official, “Welcome to Israel!” “Thank you,” says the man. “How was Russia?” asks the official. “I can’t complain,” says the man. “How were you treated there?” “I can’t complain.” “Could you provide for your family?” “I can’t complain.” “Were you comfortable?” “I can’t complain.”

“Well, tell me,” says the official. “Why have you moved to Israel?” The man’s eyes get big and he says, “Here I can complain!”

32. #32 by sani on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:08 pm

Mahathir, not only would have bashed the Bersih + Hindraf more than what we had withness. He even took control of the courts + monarchy.

Badawi “held back” because he was not, is not + will not be in control of anything.

If some one comes up kick me, slap me, stab me, then another guys came up kick me + slap me “only”….still doesn’t make the second guy right.

33. #33 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:14 pm

Read this confession of a Malaysian Indian and a Hindu and tell us what you think.

“I am Indian, and a Hindu, but I just can’t bring myself to support this rally by Hindraf, and had, without mincing my words, made that clear to Hindraf in an email some weeks back.

What’s the rally got to do with temple demolition in Malaysia, or did I read it wrong? If I am not mistaken, it would seem like the rally has something to do with so-called oppression of Indians in this country, and I personally, as a Hindu Indian, have yet to feel that I’ve been oppressed, ill-treated, asked to sit with the “coloureds” in a bus, or not enter certain buildings, or not be able to worship where I want to…

This temple demolitions – are they not a result of the government doing what needs to be done and the occupants not having done what they should have (get a permit for crying out loud!)?

My friends and family members have been wanting to know, why on a Sunday? Or is this something quite unique about the Indians in Malaysia, in that they must rally on a Sunday when the world is asleep?”

34. #34 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:29 pm

http://edition.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/asiapcf/11/25/malaysia.protests/index.html

When they raise the toll rates, it is good reason for a rally. When they raise fuel and electricity prices, it is also good reason to rally. Come on, Bolehland thieves, give us some more reasons to stage public rallies.

35. #35 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:40 pm

Undergrad2:

Substitute “Indian” with “Chinese” and “Hindu” with “Buddhist”, and the general myopic view is the same. The masses don’t look beyond their generation, and are so immersed with their daily lives that they don’t see the deteriorating future for all Malaysians. To them, BN thieves stealing, cheating and lying can be tolerated.

The support of this type of voter is the key reason why BN continues to cling to power.

36. #36 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:40 pm

“When they raise the toll rates, it is good reason for a rally. When they raise fuel and electricity prices, it is also good reason to rally. Come on, Bolehland thieves, give us some more reasons to stage public rallies” – Godfather

Hello Brother!

Did you attend the Nov 10 and yesterday’s Hindraf rallies??

37. #37 by harrisonbinhansome on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:41 pm

Hasn’t anyone thought that the police is UMNO and UMNO is the police given accounts of protests, demontrations, and peaceful rallies tacitly sanctioned by UMNO (the KJ led thugfest during the US Secretary of State visits, among them) and denounced by UMNO (whenever marring their image).

However, I am contented of the nature of HINDRAF’s lawsuit against Britian and not the Goverment of Malaysia and the MIC for abbeting the marginalized Indians notwithstanding their peaceful march designated at the British embassy and not Putrajaya or the Royal Palace.

If this still fails, HINDRAF can always sue GOD for allowing such travesties.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:50 pm

Harisonbinhansome, you wrote an intelligent and provocative piece over in Susan Loone’s blog. Allow me to re-post it here for readers on this blog to peruse.

“For the records, Hindraf is behind a US$4 trillion class-action suit, (US$2 million each for every Indian citizens in Malaysia) against Britain for the regression of Indian race having brought the Indians here as the suit was struck out by the Malaysian court, henceforth the recourse is presented to Her Majesty. (An abbreviation of what Hindraf and the rally is all about)

Western societies have long matured enough to take criticisms of political dissents, racial inequilities, and religious freedom within their framework of civilized debate with exculpatory embrace. The British in this case is a sacrifical lamb for the purpose of the rally. Mahatma Gandhi’s hunger strike did it, ending British colonization when the whole nation rallies behind him but if Gandhi is geographically misplaced in Myanmar presently, I doubt the ruling Junta would have relent and restore to democracy.

I have personally no dispute but in support of any rally. As for the regression of the Indian community, shouldn’t the BN goverment or more accurately the MIC be held liable for the Indian’s economic grievanves?

Should the blacks in American sue those who brought them into slavery and not thank Abraham Lincoln?

I hope that the police will not repeat thier infamous unruliness and allow the peaceful rally.

Against the BN, I am absolutely prided to walk along any Hindraf members, but against the British, I am writing myself out of this.”

39. #39 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 12:59 pm

RealWorld, the Gestapo supporter, I can tell you now that I attended one and not the other, but I won’t tell you which.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:00 pm

If the other communities were to up the ante, we are likely to see the blue line replaced by a green one with M16s – and the unit?? The Royal Malays.

With general elections around the corner, the stage is now set for the long awaited declaration of Emergency and the indefinite suspension of Parliament. It is a textbook response to the issue of law and order in a country with a record of race riots.

41. #41 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:01 pm

By the way, some of my friends and I agree that we will also be there when there is a rally against toll hikes in January. Tell your propaganda chief, Zainuddeen “Goebbels” Maideen to be prepared for some more rallies against the BN (Barang Naik) thieves.

42. #42 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:12 pm

Undergrad2:

Mahathir used to say that the best insurance against race riots would be to bring up the status of the Malays to the level where they would have something to lose if riots break out. Unfortunately he ended up creating a small group of elitist UMNOputras who have very little to lose as their assets are already overseas – in places like Perth, Sydney, London, Indonesia.

The only thing that UMNOputras stand to lose in Bolehland may merely be the right to steal. Given that they already have nasi kandar shops overseas, even residences and hotels overseas, you may find that the only ones fighting very hard against losing the right to steal will be those UMNOputras who haven’t made it to the stratosphere of riches. These are the ones who won’t go quietly. These are the ones who will impose emergency rule, and will use force against those who dare to promote peaceful demonstrations.

43. #43 by smeagroo on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:18 pm

Where is Semi?

He has probably flown to UK to settle his accounts before the downfall like CKC.

MAybe the best way to bring down these buffoons is to start with ppl like Semi. Once one is out, it gives us the confidence.

Down with BN!

44. #44 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:25 pm

Whilst all the excitement is boiling over in KL, “Abdullah Arrives In Egypt For Two-day Visit” (From S. Retna, BERNAMA).

He might as well have taken a cruise on the Nile while he is there!

45. #45 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:27 pm

Oh, BTW, Jeanne was in tow. Splendid time for yet another honeymoon at taxpayers’ expense.

46. #46 by dawsheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:39 pm

“I am Indian, and a Hindu, but I just can’t bring myself to support this rally by Hindraf, and had, without mincing my words, made that clear to Hindraf in an email some weeks back.”

You don’t have to be an Indian to support the Hindraf rally.

47. #47 by dawsheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:52 pm

“If the other communities were to up the ante, we are likely to see the blue line replaced by a green one with M16s – and the unit?? The Royal Malays.” Undergrad2

The other communities must seriously consider to up the ante, the crime rates has reached a horrendous level we are living in fear for our lives. We can see the police is not doing their job. Yep, I wouldn’t mind the men in green patroling our streets, but for the right reasons.

48. #48 by lakshy on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 1:56 pm

I salute the guys who took the frontline yesterday and took the force of the water cannons and tear gas and still stood strong. They have all shown us that something is wrong with teh system and that they are willing to makew a stand.

If we feel the same, we should also act. We should work hard to topple BN. Not only deny them the 2/3rds but leave them with less than 1/3.

All MIC stooges should be voted out, and so should AAB and Najib. Hopefully the opposition place suitable candidates against them to ensure their sppedy elimination from the political arena.

We all need to spread the message and bring about the winds of change.

49. #49 by dawsheng on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 2:03 pm

“With general elections around the corner, the stage is now set for the long awaited declaration of Emergency and the indefinite suspension of Parliament. It is a textbook response to the issue of law and order in a country with a record of race riots.”

Undergrad2, my view is that the opposition should not take part in the coming GE if BN did not meet Bersih’s demand. What do you think?

50. #50 by Libra2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 2:37 pm

Demonstration is the voice of the voiceless. They were not noticed. they were ignored. They were neglected, marginalized and exploited. And so they spoke.
    Will government give details of the following:
    1. How many Indians are enrolled in the Mara Colleges, Sekolah Menengah Sains, Residential Colleges, Nursing,Teaching colleges, Form Six and the Universitites.
    2. Give a breakdown of low cost houses given to deserving Indians (not MIC members).
    3. How many Indian were given government contracts. (Need not go into multi million contacts)
    4. How many Indian Transport Company licences issued?
    5. How many Taxi licences given to Indians?
    6. How many Indian professors or Vice cencellors?
    7. How many Indian civil servants in the different categories?
    8. How many Indians in Telekoms and Tenaga?
    9. What has happened to promised house ownership scheme for Indians some 20+ years ago?
    10. How many executives, senior staff in the GLCs?
    11. How many shares alloted to Indians in any public listing. (Besides the TMB shares which were hijacked by Samy)

We can go on and on. Will the government listen? None are so deaf than those who do not want to hear.

51. #51 by HJ Angus on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 3:15 pm

I think we should not involve in the PM’s wife in this argument.
    Coming from an even smaller minority like the Eurasians, maybe she can influence him on the treatment of minorities.

There seems to be a perceptible shift in the attitude of the police towards demonstrators – no doubt some people got hurt but not many years ago, there would have been some guns fired.

52. #52 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:06 pm

“RealWorld, the Gestapo supporter, I can tell you now that I attended one and not the other, but I won’t tell you which.” – Godfather

Gestapo supporter??? :) Dude, I merely asked you a simple question. Why resort to petty name calling??

Why only attended one and not the other since you are all for equal rights?? Why didnt you stand with the minority??

53. #53 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:09 pm

“By the way, some of my friends and I agree that we will also be there when there is a rally against toll hikes in January.” – Godfather

Ohhh toll punya rally, you pergi. But when it comes to standing up for the minority, you prefer to stay home.

I guess this is the equal rights you are championing.

54. #54 by ngahc on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 4:26 pm

Malaysian Indian, I heard your cried.

Yes, the world richest man is an Indian (no longer Bill Gate);

Yes, the second richest man in Malaysia is an Indian;

But, most of you are still live in poverty and stay in estates as labours.

You went to MIC but got ignored. There is no avenue for you to cry.

So, you opt for peaceful rally and appeal to the Highness Queen.

But, even that rally was not allowed by the police.

What options do you have to cry out your sorrows other than Hindraf? Yes, we heard your cried.

55. #55 by budak on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 5:13 pm

2nd riches man in M’sia is TDM man lah…

most powerful Indian is TDM + Pak Lah man…
    no other than “Ling KAM” (take gold)…

most powerful Indian traitor is also TDM + Pak Lah man…
    no other than “Semi Value”…

latest traitor inline Deva-Money…
    he thought UMNO are Dewa and giving him $$$..

56. #56 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:08 pm

RealWorld:

Your masters have created a Gestapo-like climate recently. Witness the comments of Taxi Nazri and Zainuddeen “Goebbels” Maideen about how they were going to treat the protestors. People who gather to rally peacefully, to hand over petitions to the appropriate people, should be left to rally peacefully, and not threatened and intimidated. In this sense, UMNO is not better than the Gestapo.

By the way, which of the two rallies I didn’t join is none of your business. How do you know that it was one and not the other ? Do you know I have voted PAS all my life, too ?

57. #57 by Godfather on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:17 pm

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG – The real UMNO slogan.

58. #58 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 6:30 pm

GODFATHER: “Mahathir used to say that the best insurance against race riots would be to bring up the status of the Malays to the level where they would have something to lose if riots break out. Unfortunately he ended up creating a small group of elitist UMNOputras who have very little to lose as their assets are already overseas – in places like Perth, Sydney, London, Indonesia. ”

I think you missed the words “unfortunately for the rest of us but fortunately for them” he ended up etc” because it is part of the grand scheme of things he has devised for himself and his cronies and their families – a lifeline when the boat sinks.

As captain of the ship, and a visionary one at that he has prepared a lifeboat for himself and his cronies because he knows among other things that Malays are shortsighted and selfish, that when the inevitable happens and the ship sinks, all he and his cronies need do is to make their way to their ill-gotten gains accumulated over the years and over the misery of his people, and there to build a new life for themselves and their families.

Malay politicians have always looked upon public service as an opportunity to serve as much as an opportunity to enrich themselves and their families – an ‘equal opportunity’ clause in the contract they make with themselves. They have devoted their entire lives to public service and in the process of helping to rob Paul to pay Peter what additional harm will fall on either when the inevitable happens?

Mahathir has been a good captain of a ship built to sink.

59. #59 by undergrad2 on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 7:01 pm

“Undergrad2, my view is that the opposition should not take part in the coming GE if BN did not meet Bersih’s demand. What do you think?” Dawsheng

What I think does not matter. It is what Kit thinks that does.

In the game of soccer, Kit is not the type to leave the field open. When the whistle blows he and his team will have to come down to the field because he knows however one-sided the competition may be, he and his team will not win anything by not going down to the field. He has everything to lose but nothing to gain.

What those involved in the BERSIH demonstration did was to try to change some of the rules and the umpire. However, I do not believe that the organizers are so naive as to think that the rules will be changed. They are simply puting forth the reason, or laying down the excuse for the electoral losses that they expect to befall their parties.

60. #60 by toyolbuster on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:20 pm

Does it mean that we can sue the government for denying us of this right. But then again, the thought of correct correct correct, we might as well channel our energy elsewhere more useful.

61. #61 by RealWorld on Monday, 26 November 2007 - 11:36 pm

“UMNO is not better than the Gestapo.” – Godfather

Obviously, you have no understanding of history.

And by the way, I merely asked you which of the two rallies you attended. No need to go on a tirade and all.

Funny … for someone who is ranting daily about injustice and etc, you decided not to attend the one concerning a minority group. Well, so much for you empty rhetorics, eh?

62. #62 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 2:03 am

Ask no questions and I will tell you no lies. My understanding of history is reflected in a black and white picture that I saw a few days ago, where a Jewish family was walking away with all their possessions under the watchful eyes of the Nazi police – the Gestapo – who were smiling.

Those who do not learn from history will be condemned to repeat it. It also applies to those who turn a blind eye.

63. #63 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 7:31 am

“In the game of soccer, Kit is not the type to leave the field open. When the whistle blows he and his team will have to come down to the field because he knows however one-sided the competition may be, he and his team will not win anything by not going down to the field. He has everything to lose but nothing to gain.”

This is what always happened isn’t it, it has always been the case, Contest for the sake of contesting! It seems like there is no hope winning at all at the general election.

64. #64 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 7:37 am

“What those involved in the BERSIH demonstration did was to try to change some of the rules and the umpire. However, I do not believe that the organizers are so naive as to think that the rules will be changed. They are simply puting forth the reason, or laying down the excuse for the electoral losses that they expect to befall their parties.”

I thought I heard it somewhere and now you said it I believe it is true. It will be naive to think UMNO will change the rules because they won’t, if they do they will lose.

65. #65 by RealWorld on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:18 am

Dear Godfather,

Whining and ranting about unfair treatment and etc on a daily basis. But when it came to standing side by side with the minority, you decided to sleep in. Toll hikes punya rally, you pergi. But when it came to championing the cause of the minority, it is someone’s else problem eh??
    Dude, I like your Malaysian Malaysia.

“Those who do not learn from history will be condemned to repeat it. It also applies to those who turn a blind eye.” …. spot on! spot on, dude!! I like that turn a blind eye part … and your decision to stay home instead of standing with the minority sure rings a bell.

Cheers!

66. #66 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:46 am

That black and white picture of a Jewish family (parents and two kids) holding whatever belongings in their hands and walking away under the watchful eyes of the Gestapo – this should haunt those of you who think that the downward spiral of personal liberty or the continuing marginalisation of minorities can be tolerated or accomodated. One reader even said that he currently lives in comfort and has enough to eat, unlike his relatives in India, so why the fuss ?

Such inability to worry about the future in the face of UMNO antics over the eyes is indeed myopic. Yes, look at the Jewish family as a Chinese or an Indian family, and look at the Gestapo as UMNO – and history will repeat itself in Bolehland.

67. #67 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:49 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” The leader of Islam Hadhari, 2005.

CEMERLANG, GEMILANG, TEMBERANG !

68. #68 by Godfather on Tuesday, 27 November 2007 - 8:53 am

should be “over the years” and not “over the eyes” in the previous posting. The RealWorld dude already have properties overseas, so he has already hedged his bets like most wealthy UMNOputras. All he will lose if riots break out will be his Bentley.

69. #69 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 28 November 2007 - 9:38 pm

They only drafted the constitution because they were supposed to draft one, not because they needed one or intended to follow what was written. This applies to the RUKUNEGARA too!!!!!