by TT

13th November 2007

Dear Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz,
Prime Minister’s Department,
Bangunan Parliament,
Jalan Parliament,
Kuala Lumpur,
Malaysia.

Subject – : Parliament on 12th November 2007 And Bersih Rally.

Dear Datuk Seri,

With reference to the above subject, I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, if allowed and with much due respect, would like to comment on the words you used in the august hall.

Be it for opposition parties/people and/or to any other people who are gifts fm The Man above, words like ‘pondans’, ‘wimps’, ‘wires in their heads are severed’, ‘bodoh’, ‘racist’, ‘perkauman’, etc., to my honest opinions, should not be used in the august hall where people all over the world are watching us, especially with what is happening in our country lately. Also, especially coming from someone who is serving the country and her citizens under the prime minister’s department. Those kind of words like ‘pondans’, ‘wimps’, ‘wires in their heads are severed’, ‘bodoh’, ‘racist’, ‘perkauman’, etc., are, to my honest opinion, definitely uncalled for.

Yes, I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, know those may be one of the spur-of-the-moment kind of thing, but those kind of spur-of-the-moment thing has been happening very frequently lately and has been repeated time after time. Perhaps Malaysiakini and Youtube have tons of the articles and video recordings to prove it.

Datuk Seri, for your information, the 100,000 Bersih Rally was not a political gathering and there was nothing political with that gathering. It was meant for the concerned rakyat from various backgrounds to gather and march to the Istana Negara to submit a memorandum to the King and to ask His Majesty for a massive reformation of the electoral roll which is tainted with smears of negativities.

With much due respect, I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, would also want to know why are there no action/s being taken by the election commission in hearing what the rakyat want which the rakyat have been longing for?. Is this democratic or is this democracy? The rakyat have definitely spoke in one loud voice.

On the same subject, you may ask us, the rakyat to dissent our anger via the ballot boxes, speak our mind via the ballot boxes, let our feelings be known via the ballot boxes, etc., but, if the whole electoral roll is tainted with smear of negativities, how can the rakyat put their trust in believing their votes will not be tainted with smear of negativities?

Malaysia is a democratic country as many leaders in this country would put it, but what is happening currently definitely proves
otherwise.

I, as a concerned rakyat of our beloved and peaceful country, Malaysia, would appreciate if you, as the minister in the prime minister’s department, could personally look into the interests of the rakyat, as the rakyat are the greatest assets of this lovely and peaceful country, definitely not any natural resources which will ‘dry up’ in due course of time!

Pls assist and let the voices of the rakyat be heard and together we shall bring Malaysia back to her feet competing with the best in the world, where the countries were once behind us in everything went ahead of us in everything.

Have a good and productive day ahead!.

Thanking you in advance.

1. #1 by bra888 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:17 am

What I’m about to say is what I believe will make many people to argue against me. However, I believe I should point it out anyway.

Lim Kit Siang
    I believe that name calling should not be used in an argument. Considering that name calling, to me, does not prove anything and in fact isn’t a constructive argument at all.

What name calling does is that it provokes your opponent to counter-argue with more name callings. Name calling also shows emotions, it isn’t professional. Therefore, it almost seem to look like children calling names at each other.

We have to remember that this is politics, not a playground where children call names to each other. The job does not come with name callings. Name calling is like a mockery in your profession, not a sacred weapon.

I don’t believe lawyers argue with name callings to win their cases. I don’t remember seeing any other famous politician in the world who argues with name callings.

I understand that the name calling truly does fit to Zam. But it should be used by anyone else other than you. You also have a reputation as a professional politician to protect.

Yes, you are only human. There’s a limit of your patience to accept their name callings to you. But I certainly believe that you don’t want to end up being like them, shouting and calling other people ‘Bodoh’.

If you continue to name call other people, then to me, you seem to be going towards the path where Zam is going, calling and shouting.

2. #2 by bra888 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:28 am

I believe that in the end of the day, Lim Kit Siang should take his remarks to Zam (Ministry of Misinformation) and they (the one who call the opposition names like pondan, bodoh and so on) should also do the same.

I believe that this is more important because your political profession reputation is at stake.

You can let them call names to you, let them ruin their own image. But I believe you simply cannot allow yourself to follow their path.

3. #3 by BoDo Singh on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:55 am

wah i oso want to write letter like that!

dear latuk nazli,

why you condemn pondan one?? pondan oso human what?? after all you buggers always play behind one. take money and charge 2% commission. why we cannot oso play behind? front, back and side what the difference?

when i first saw you in yourtube, i very angry. why you talk like that? calling people bodoh pondan head with wires broken and so on. don’t be like that la!

ok. i want to go drink teh tarik. aiyaa! you banyak hamsap!

4. #4 by chloo on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:02 am

If someone talks like that in Parliament, you wonder how they talk at home….. imparting a more extensive vocab to their children no doubt.

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 11:16 am

6. #6 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 7:45 pm

these idiots think parliament is their school…can call names and shout as if its their granfathers parliament.wat they dunno is their attitude is so low and distasteful of a minister.and yet they think they are smart.they speak for themselves wat kinda minister they are.look no further if we wanna see apes,monkeys or scumbags….we hv them here aplenty in the government.

7. #7 by Old.observer on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:26 pm

I watched the youtube video twice to make sure I understand the tactics used by the ruling party.

To me, it is obvious that the ruling party simply doesn’t want to address the real concerns of rigged election process.

BN prefers to divert the issue by name calling and any means at all. Anything from having to address the charge of rigged elections. Notice how it needs several labels to press one’s hot buttons. To just call “pondan” alone is insufficient. It must be repeated several times, and it must be added with many more cheap shots such as “wires in their heads are severed’, ‘bodoh’, ‘racist’, ‘perkauman’, etc.

And then, it must be delivered with anger and insults. In general, delivered in a manner similar to a mad man infected with rabid. The stronger the emotions, the better, since it makes it more likely to be successful in diverting the issue. One must bark, shout in the heat of one’s arguments, but yet, make sure to open the speech in a calm and respectful manner first. Build the emotions up slowly but carefully, and surely.

And don’t forget to accuse the opposition Ministers of committing illegal acts …. don’t just say it once, say it as many times as possible. And have a few dogs ready to bark in support at the right time. Oh, timing and support by numbers are just so crucial …

Bottom line, all these are diversions. You could say irresponsible behaviour, but bottom line is to avoid discussing and to avoid admitting that the elections are rigged. Notice how they never discussed issues like “phantom voters”, “postal ballots”, how 60%+ voters can result in 91% seats, etc.

So, any ideas or suggestions on how our small number of opposition ministers should reason calmly in cabinet in light of these dogs barking continuously without reason? How does one discuss rationally and calmly, when the ruling government has persistently showed that they are not people of honesty and integrity, as well as having not an iota of intention to change what they already have?

Old Observer.

8. #8 by sotong on Thursday, 15 November 2007 - 9:07 am

Only insecure and inadequate people behave this way.

9. #9 by ktteokt on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:50 am

Absolutely biadab!!!

10. #10 by socall malaysian on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 10:52 am

wht kind of leadership r u potraying mr.minister … a good leader shld nt be using stupid words like tht on anyone in the house …. don’t u think tht u should be learning first wht is leadership qualities before talking in d house…

11. #11 by socall malaysian on Thursday, 29 November 2007 - 11:05 am

please practice proper leadership before speaking in the parliment and know the wide scope of good words available in d dictionary … stop using vulgar words …. the whole world is watching