Khairy, Dont forget also to remove the Housing subsidy for Bumis

Letters
by Richard Teo

Mahathir was right when he said that we have a indecisive PM with half past six cabinet ministers. Even his accusation that his son-in law Khairy was calling the shots from the 4th floor of the PM’s office was proven correct.

During the recent UMNO General Assembly Khairy gave a long winded exposition why there should be a two tier subsidy system for petrol and diesel subsidy. He questioned the wisdom of giving subsidy to rich towkays who owned luxury cars. This racist insinuation of course implied that most rich owners were mostly Chinese while most Malays were driving around in Kapchais (Honda cub).

However, Khairy’s proposition would have been more creditable had he also said that subsidy for Bumis to buy houses should also be removed since it was also benefitting the rich Malay class. Why should non-Malays have to subsidise rich Malays to buy luxurious houses and condominium costing a few million? Shouldn’t we implement a housing policy that would subsidise those who are poor and irrespective of race.

To prove what Mahathir said about PM taking instructions from the fourth floor boys, namely Khairy, the mainstream media next day published the PM parrotting what Khairy had said earlier at the UMNO General Assembly. Subsidy cannot be sustained and will have to be gradually abolished, he said authoritatively. Any fool could see that it was no coincidence. .Yes someone was whispering to the PM’s ear and no prize for guessing who.

1. #1 by k1980 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 7:48 am

Let’s be realistic: if that infamous son-in-law were to merely that subsidy for Bumis to buy houses should also be removed, his umno youth deputy chief and all other posts would disappear in 24 seconds

2. #2 by Jan on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:07 am

Implementing laws that favors one race at the expense of another is their forte. They are becoming the most racist people on earth and no shame about it.

3. #3 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:14 am

I put it to everyone that Khairy did a great job in selling the idea of removing the subsidy and the PM will appreciate it and frankly Mr. Teo misses the real slight of hand..

The issue is, should the government be allowed to spent the money they will get from the subsidy removal without further accountability?

I almost fell sick especially with Najib waxing lyrically about having RM40 billion to spend to boost the economy.

Make no mistake, removing the subsidy is no different than a windfall tax by the government. This ‘windfall tax’ will tax the economy and slow it down. So the gov has to spend the money if it does not want to slow the economy down. Spend it wrong and people will be worst of. Spend it unwisely and people will be worst off in the long run….

The issue is not KJ opportunistic ways, that is bad no doubt, but that KJ is trying to fool people from bringing out the real issue is what is most wrong….

4. #4 by helpless on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:36 am

Without feeling ashame of using the name as son in law of the PM, I believe this guy is out of political agenda except focusing on racist issue.

The same go to PM when he said top 40 rich ppl in Malaysia is non bumi. It seem as though no one in the world shall make a fortune better than the bumi.

It is the fact that business make better money but in Malaysia, politic make money through an inefficiently umplemented wealth balancing policy of NEP.

In fact, the rich bumi especially those with ” Dato ” , ” Datuk “, ” Tan Sri ” in which those supposely to contribute to the society.

But how can a government servant to gather such a wealth ? A teacher, lecturer, any Umno chief are the title holders. How are they going to carry out work as lecturer or public service when the focus is how to make more money from the politic as other ” success story ” achived by those politician.

Just wonder when the Higher edu. minister can bring local university to shape.

5. #5 by k1980 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:56 am

Najib and Dollah are jumping with joy over saving RM40 billion to send more space tourists to space

6. #6 by chin8lee on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 9:17 am

The 2 tier system means they gets x% discount at the pumps, like everything else.

There area alot of Bumis and Indians driving in Big cars. Look around you.

7. #7 by shaolin on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 9:36 am

Stop All the Subsidies speculated in New NEP to All Rich
    Malays!! They do not need this kind of assistance any
    more as they can get even Tons of Millions of Dollars
    from All Government Project contracts(directly awarded
    to them w/o open tenders) and later sub to the Non Malays
    to do the donkey jobs(Ali Baba style)!! Before that, the
    Main Contractors Already syphon out tons of money before
    giving the sub-contracts to the ‘Orang Cina’!!

The Middle Class Malays depend 100% help from Government
    from Schooling to Job Securing!! Even the Ph D holders are
    doing the same… Without help from Malaysia Government,
    they All can die!!!

Stop sending the 2nd and 3rd Malay man to the Space!! It
    is the No Shame act as I put it to all of you. It disgraces the
    country call Malay-sia!!!

Are we going to mass migration to other planets?? Are we
    going to compete with Super-Powers of our Military Prowess??
    Are we too Rich to simply spend our Fuel Money??(1 day the
    Oil field WILL definitely dry up!!)

It is a very Silly Act of Malay-sia Government as the Leaders’
    heads are stuff with cow dungs and cannot think properly!!!

8. #8 by Daniel Quah on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 9:54 am

if they cannot afford to subsidy petrol, how about stop subsidy the NEP and go ON with their life…petrol may cost us bil but what about NEP which last for 20 yrs? ain’t that more than ever..the sad news is the NEP will keep going..and the greedy UMNO still say Malays is lag behind…i almost laugh out, 20 yrs!! 20yrs!! even a baby already growth up to be adult…still the UMNO talk like a babies that just born and need to spoon fed..maybe til another 20yrs… wake up UMNO..we dont owe u anything…stop pushing..even Najis say Malays are polite people but if get side line they will have impatient…c’mon Najis..how about Non-Bumi..do we enjoy being marginlized? stop treating Non-Bumi ask your enemy..u have to deal with outside invansion..still u thing Malaysia is like a planet..and no other country beside Malaysia in this world…i can see how the Zam guy reply to the reporter…seem Katak Di Bawah Tempurung….

9. #9 by chloo on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 9:59 am

Please dun insult KJ, he is from OXFORD, so obviously the things he knows is more than any Malaysian….. people of his intellect will have courage to face challenges and not get “protection”, make use of their connections or play racial issues.

10. #10 by oknyua on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:07 am

Mr Richard Teo,

In Malacca, 2 years ago, an Iban was declined in his housing application. He married a Chinese. Some years back, the Malacca Legal Adviser made the comment that “an Iban might be a Bumi is Sarawak, but in here, he is not.” That prejudice against Sabah/Sarawak born non-Muslisms exists until this very day.

For your information I am from Sarawak and not a Chinese. My children have 9 As in for 5 but neither preference or financial support were ever given to them. My children are educated overseas entirely on my small resource. Neither am I rich, planting padi and tapping rubber until I was form six.

I am writing because of the misconception that BUMIPUTERA means privileges, subsidies, preferential treatments etc. Mr Teo, that is a big government lie that I read, not only in this YB Lim’s blog, but everywhere.

Similarly, the word “Malay” does not mean all Malays are treated equal. Many are being overlooked. And certainly, the word “Chinese” is not synonymous with being “under-privilaged.” There are “elite” Chinese.

I hope readers have a better understanding now.

YB Lim, I hope I don’t offend you with this outburst.

11. #11 by Godfather on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:10 am

Stop the stealing and there is money enough to bring up the last 10 pct of the population. They have run out of money in the kitty, so the only way is to remove subsidies and use the money on “projects” that they control.

The rakyat takes the so-called “noble” intentions of the thieves and swallows it hook, line and sinker.

Read this article by Bloomberg:

Asia’s Richard Branson Exposes Tiger’s Blemishes: William Pesek

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=email_en&refer=&sid=aaOcUhVj5uo8

12. #12 by megaman on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:36 am

Hi oknyua,

Totally agree wif your opinions and sentiments.

This is one of the reasons why the majority of the ppl in the BERSIH march are Bumiputera malays as well.

Corruption and discrimination are like arsenic poison slowly crippling the nation and we need to do something about it regardless of whether we are bumiputeras, non-bumiputeras, malays, non-malays, muslims or non-muslims. Doesn’t matter anymore.

The longer we allow the robbers at the top to continue their plunder, the less we would have for our next generations.

The saddest moments for parents is to see their offsprings struggling harder than their did to survive despite all their sacrifices and the frustrations that they no longer can make any changes because they are too old or already missed the opportunities to do so.

13. #13 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:53 am

“Yes someone was whispering to the PM’s ear and no prize for guessing who.”

Yes, it is called ‘management by whispers’ – an innovation of the UMNOristas. The problem?? The problem is how to distinguish an UMNOrista who suffers from schizophrenia which is a medical condition and not a management style.

Nazri could be hearing voices and like all who suffer from this medical condition they thought they were hearing instructions from God.

14. #14 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 10:54 am

Talk about wire ‘putuiiih”

15. #15 by shaolin on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 11:03 am

To OKNyua,
    Sorry to say that Not everyone is born EQUAL!! Even Bumis
    and Lower class Malays are the same… they Do Not receive
    what their entitlements too becoz they do not have money
    to invest in government shares or get the necessary loans
    from banks!!

Middle/Upper Class and ‘professional’ Malays have all the
    opportunities and invest lots of money in the Bumi shares
    and obtain huge monetary returns besides NEP Benefits…
    etc!! They can easily secure loans from the banks whereas
    low income Malays cannot even secure low-cost houses!!

It is time the filty Rich Malays Must help the Poor Malays
    now and NOT the Non-Malays!! We have helped the Malays
    for 38 years(after May 13, 1969)!!!

It is Not our duties to subsidize their purchase of Bungalows
    and Middle and upper end houses and many more…etc.!!!

16. #16 by madmix on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 11:05 am

KJ should suggest a 2 tier fuel pricing system: Bumis get a 30 % discount while non-bumis pay full price. He will be the hero of UMNO youth.

17. #17 by whitecoffee on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 11:20 am

If an Indonesian muslim marries a local Malay, and gets his IC in no time, he instantly becomes a bumi and enjoys all the privileges. Same for any other foreign muslim. 50 years of merdeka means nothing to this group, because they know nothing about our struggles. And all those Ah Chongs and Thambis who are born and breed here still gets doubts about their citizenship status.

18. #18 by Man_of_Honour on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 11:28 am

chloo Says:

November 14th, 2007 at 09: 59.17
    Please dun insult KJ, he is from OXFORD, so obviously the things he knows is more than any Malaysian….. people of his intellect will have courage to face challenges and not get “protection”, make use of their connections or play racial issues.

Hmm, please dun mind me ya. KJ from OXFORD with CGPA of barely 2.25? Hmm, this u never mention… From OXFORD, so? OXFORD is just another university where people study! What has it got to do with knowing anything more than any Malaysian by the way? Does OXFORD offer inttelectual courses? If yes, has he done well?

Now, back to the story. What gave him the authority to create so much nonsense in the national front? Because he’s the son-in-law of AAB? Well, intellectually that’s “POWER ABUSE”.

We need leaders who benefit the rakyat as a whole. No racism, Fair and just, No misuse of power for personal gains, transparent and with integrity.

Hmm, if only KJ can prove us all wrong… I’d be glad… So far? Let’s hope they walk the talk!. Finger crossed.

Without prejudice.
    MoH

19. #19 by valt76 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 11:58 am

What KJ was proposing has a good ground. Instead of reducing or removing fuel subsidize, better still to make ritch people (all races) to contribute more (maybe via an extra road tax for high powered cars and expensive cars). If you can afford to buy them, you won’t mind to pay a premium. Also this move could be extended to other sectors of economy. Why not removing Bumi benefits on purchase of houses above a certain value, purchase of any property made by people with personal income above a certain amount or purchase of any property after the purchase of the first house?That, in my view would not only be fearer to all Malaysian but may help to control speculation that affects and inflates the real estate market.
    Valter

20. #20 by oknyua on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:01 pm

Shoalin, the word Malay, Bumi, Chinese etc has nothing to do with contracts or shares allocations. In the Malays, it’s UMNOputra. In Chinese, it’s MCAputra, sorry for the word. I hope you get it.

I heard of the terminology UMNOputra from a Malay almost 20 years ago. I was assisting a Malay setting a shop distributing rice. The sad thing, Bernas officers asked for money from him. “Melayu pun minta wang dari Melayu. Kalau Umnoputra, semua boleh jadi…” I asked, “Zul, what do you mean?”

There are many middleclass Malays who shun politics. They get their money from pure hard work, waking at 4 or 5 am, distributing meat, fishes, vegetables. They are in construction, welding, etc. They ask for no favour and they give none.

In regards to banks, it is wrong to think banks treat people differently. I have been in commercial and investment bankings for years and I appraise every application on merits. One or two rules may favour Bumi, but I have approved and declined loans from Malays, Chinese, Indians, Taiwanese, Japanese, Mat Sallehs..

I support DAP and PKR not because I have anything against Malays. It’s the abuses and blatant disregard for common goodliness in the ruling coalition that I stand against. I can relate the many instances of these abuses, but for space.

And I think that is what YB Lim is fighting against too.

21. #21 by Filibuster on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:31 pm

I think Oknyua has grasped the very essence of the Barisan Nasional’s strength. They use racially polarizing methods to divide the public; it is indeed sad that things had to go down this way, but I suppose they are now sticking to the old adage of “if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it”! The public accepted it back in the 50s when Dato Onn Ja’afar’s IMP and Parti Negara lost to the Alliance Party (which consisted coincidentally of a Malay and Chinese party), not to mention his proposal to open UMNO to everyone, and I don’t think anything has changed since then.

22. #22 by Filibuster on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:32 pm

In this case, image of two races going head to head against each other is good for them, the truth is dangerous because it can unite the people.

23. #23 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 1:21 pm

Hello Khairy, you clever boy.
    Maybe u can solve this problem that Rafidah & yr FIL failed to deliver?

Nov 14, 2007
    M’sian-US FTA likely deferred until Bush departs:
    KUALA LUMPUR – A FREE-TRADE deal between Malaysia and the United States is likely to be deferred until after President George W. Bush leaves office, a US business group said according to a report on Wednesday.

24. #24 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 1:23 pm

Oh, next time don’t run around protesting Condoleeza Rice & pretending u r such a smart aleck, ok?

Rice doesn’t even know yr name. And she doesn’t care!

25. #25 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 3:54 pm

When u hv so many corridors to open and the amount comes up to BILLIONS, where else can u get the money in an instant?

26. #26 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 5:01 pm

if things are so good and fair as its been pledged 4 years ago…we wudnt hv the masive turnout in the BERSIH rally.khairy wans to be in the limelight as more as he cud while his FIL is in power.thrs nothing i wud respect him as a leader in my point of view.what hes said or done are only rubbish so far.he knws nothing abt governing a country cos he knws nothing abt the people.hes living under the comfort of his FIL.hes too young to be anything except shouting and appearing as a hero to sampah masyarakat like the mat rempits.

27. #27 by borrring on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 8:35 pm

The word “bumi” doesn’t benefit bumis in general except those who are UMNO bumis……

28. #28 by cancan on Thursday, 15 November 2007 - 9:21 pm

The Umnoputras are living in a state of constant fear.

They fear the decline in number of their race,so they want to bring the Javanese in our place.

They fear of losing the NEP for their race,so by hook or by crook,they will make sure it will not be displaced.

They fear the progress of the other race,so they will change the rule of law to suit their taste.

They fear of losing its control for their race,so they will threatened the people with race, race,race!

They want some face, so they sent a passenger to space.

At the end of the race,these Umnoputras mahu jadi hantu pun tidak boleh!

29. #29 by helpless on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 11:41 am

“……PM brother’s company SkyChef , food supplier for MAS for 9 months in 2005. A bottle of mineral water sold at RM30 ? And MAS lost RM 300 Mil ?

Trengganu MB,Idris Jusoh organised “lumba kapal layar Monsoon Cup” cost RM300.0 Mil. & paid to Patrick Lim dan KJ.

Telecom Malaysia compensate RM700 Mil to Deutsche Telecom..? ”

What is this ?

30. #30 by tunglang on Saturday, 17 November 2007 - 12:29 am

When a small boy is let loose running and ordering around the Putrajaya corridors of power, you can imagine how harmful, dangerous and risky business this is going to be for our country’s future. A small boy only knows what he wants, not think or reason first and devoid of any benefit of life experiences (maturity -politically, socially, economically and intellectually) to be of any good to this country’s administration. Worst this small boy KJ got his title by default. Nothing’s been achieved by him so far except to cause racial irritations with his Oxford-class? deliveries.
    For me, I would just locked him up at home until he grows up!