BERSIH mammoth peaceful petition – video of Nazri berserk in Parliament

See on YouTube Minister in Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz “berserk” in Parliament during question time yesterday over BERSIH’s mammoth peaceful rally and petition to the Yang di Pertuan Agong on Nov. 10, 2007 for electoral reforms for clean, free and fair elections in Malaysia.

Malaysiakini had reported as follows:

Opposition are ‘pondans’ – Nazri’s tirade
Nov 12, 07 6:23pm

Insults were rained on the opposition in the Dewan Rakyat today over the massive rally held in Kuala Lumpur over the weekend.

Without mincing his words, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Mohd Nazri Abdul Aziz lashed out at the opposition, calling them among others, “pondan” (wimps).

It started when Che Azmi A Rahman (BN-Kuala Nerus) told Nazri that he failed to grasp the logic behind the rally which called for electoral reforms.

The rally, organised by the opposition-backed Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections (Bersih), saw some 40,000 people taking to the streets and the submission of a memorandum to the King.

“The opposition has won seats in the previous elections, especially in Kelantan. Why are they calling for the Election Commission (EC) to be freer and fairer?” asked Che Azmi.

“Are they implying that their respective victories were a result of the EC’s failure to be free and fair?” he added.

Responding to this, Nazri (BN-Padang Renggas) said it would be pointless to try and understand the reason behind the rally as the “brains of opposition members do not function well.”

“If I were to describe this in the language of today’s youths, I would have to say that the wires in their heads are severed. I don’t understand why they claim that the EC is unfair,” he added.

Fails to understand Anwar

Nazri also said that he was puzzled by PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim.

“I would understand if he (Anwar) says that the EC is unfair after losing an election, but he hasn’t even contested to say that the EC is unfair and that’s why I say that his head does not function well.”

According to the minister, the opposition icon realises that he will lose in the coming elections should he contest for a seat.

“Not just lose, but lose terribly,” he added. “That’s the reason why Anwar is trying to create a smoke screen so that he can say the EC is not fair when he loses.”

The minister then dismissed the episode as a “pondan matter” which required no further attention.

By the end of Nazri’s tirade, opposition leader Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Ipoh Timur) was already fuming and described the minister’s response as being “very irresponsible”.

“We are serious in this matter, and we are not playing politics. The real question here is whether the electoral roll has many defects. We saw thousands of people in the gathering. Is the government ready to give a positive response instead of making baseless and wild accusations?” he said.

Lim also refuted the government’s stand that the opposition had dragged the royalty into politics.

“The King is the fountain of justice. Is it not the government’s responsibility to uphold the dignity of the monarchy and not insult it in this issue?” he asked.

“Don’t politicise the gathering by saying that it’s a racial gathering. There was nothing racial about it. People from all parties and races were present so it is a national issue and not a political issue that can be played up by the ruling government,” he said.

Lim noted that the government sympathised with the pro-democracy demonstrations in Burma but react differently when it happens in Malaysia.

‘King is behind us’

An irate Nazri retorted by shouting that the rally was illegal as no police permit was granted.

“Yang Di Pertua (Speaker), this is a man (Lim) whose ‘wires in the head have severed’. We support the demonstrations in Myanmar (Burma) as there’s no democracy there. But we have democracy here, which is through the elections, not through street demonstrations,” he said.

“Don’t try to drag the King into this. The King and the people are behind us. They (the opposition) are afraid to face the next elections. If you’ve no courage, don’t become a ‘pondan’,” he said.

Earlier, Nazri, in replying to a query from Che Azmi, said the government has no intention to drawing up a law to allow citizens to be automatically registered as voters upon reaching 21 years of age.

He said the law would not be formulated as the system is not appropriate to be implemented as yet.

“Many Malaysians who shift to another state or district do not inform the National Registration Department of their new address.

“In this case, they have to return to their previous constituency to cast their votes and it creates the possibility for a very poor voter turnout as many will be reluctant to travel to their previous constituencies to vote,” he said.

1. #1 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 9:10 am

Nothing more than a [deleted].

2. #2 by oknyua on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 9:24 am

YB Lim KS, must he shout?

Must a man shout to be heard? Now since the Hon Info Minister reads this blog, can you answer? Must you Hon Ministers shout to be heard? Let this question and answer be posted inside your government website.

3. #3 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 9:36 am

Now Umnoputras are in overdrive:

theStar, 13.11.07: Adnan: Use the ISA to stop those who promote ill will

“Why must we take into consideration their [i.e., international media and opposition] views? Our own survival is more important. We can just ignore what they have to say about us.”

ISA for Umno’s survival!?

Rafidah Aziz said the international business communities were neither concerned with nor interested about the street demonstrations held by the opposition.

If so, why should Umnoputras panic?

Muhammad Muhammad Taib said if elections in the country were not clean, then opposition candidates would not have won any seats.

If elections were truly clean and fair, would more opposition candidates be elected?

Zainuddin Maidin has strongly criticised satellite television station Al Jazeera’s coverage of Saturday’s illegal gathering here.

4. #4 by Zim on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 9:36 am

Firstly, a minister calling people ‘pondan’. How can we respect a MINISTER for INSULTING people. We, the people VOTE in hopes of a better country, and yet, a MINISTER is acting like a teenager, calling people ‘pondan’. What has this country come to, having a teenage-minded minister. To begin with, at least the minister should show some RESPECT to people. ESPECIALLY the KINABATANGAN representative in the Parliament. He shows no respect AT ALL by just talking and shouting without even letting the opposition finish talking. How can leaders lead without at least showing some moral ethics. A person without basics is like a soldier who knows how to shoot but does not know how the parts of his weapon. I saw a video between the Al-Jazeera report and our ‘respectable’ minister. First impressions, he cannot speak english fluently. Why was he chosen to speak? Is the government so unefficient to let someone who is unable to communicate in English to speak to Al-Jazeera? Secondly, his points clearly contradict each other. Freedom of speech has been ignored. The protesters have a right to say what they want to say. Be it 1 person or 10,000 people. The minister even said the people are ALLOWED to protest. His excuse to why this protest is not allowed is because Malaysia has elections. How does elections relate to the permission to protest? He stated as well that the police had handled the protest gently. But Al-Jazeera’s correspondent had got chemicals in his eyes. Chemicals = Gentle Handling? NO. The minister concluded by saying Al-Jazeera is supporting the protests. On what account does he have? Isn’t this a case like when little children point fingers to someone else to lose the blame? He even states that the forces don’t believe in democracy. But having a protest IS DEMOCRATIC. FREEDOM OF SPEECH. If he meant civilised, that would be another matter. But saying that the rally is undemocratic. That’s contradicting his earlier point of saying that Malaysia is a democratic country.

5. #5 by FuturePolitician on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:02 am

It is our last straw here, we had enough of such beserkos such as Nazri, Zam, sexism MPs and mainly UMNO’s leaders..

They kept giving excuse of “HARAM” because current lead government would not give the permit. It is a small issue of Permit here, they can let millions of foreign workers into the country but OUR OWN CITIZEN gathering of our freewill in Kuala Lumpur, they call it illegal.

Furthermore! THE DEFINATION of “Illegal” has to be establish by court of LAW in the current context 1st before our moronic defacto Minister of Law start uttering nonsense without reference to the LAW.

It is true, we are stupid for not exercising our full right and let people like Nazri, Zam and many many people whom think they are permanent in their position of authority.

WE must act wisely and put these people out of power forever.

We dont need ministers whom debate in the Parliament without facts and without intelligent.

We dont need ministers whom utter nonsense and waste public funds and other minister’s life/time with their blantant irresponsive behaviour or brickwall attitude.

We dont need minister that utter sexism remarks and bringing up petty issues when our Malaysia state of social and economic is at the brink of disaster derived from public wasted funds, poverty, egocentric projects, corruptions, educational policies that is degenerating, infringement of the constituition,etc

We dont need ministers holding so many important roles at once and sleeps on his job.

We dont need Ministers whom unable to tactfully or articulately with correctness to handle international global media and make things worse on looking foolish being representative of Malaysia.

There many many ministers of ill calibers still I do believe there is a silver lining in the clouds of despair.

There are BN MPs whom are truly working hard and thinking for the RAKYAT, some even dare to suggest not to send a second “angkazerosawan” to space. Better spend the money for the developement of the nation economically or reduce the poverty.

All and all, It angers many because our MPs sitting in the parliament thinks that they are immune to the effect of a collective RAKYAT..

Dont forget being MALAYSIAN is being as ONE! We never abandon our citizen and if we(rakyat) are insulted in anyway like being called “BEROK”, “GILA”, “PONDAN”, we are actually being redicule as “ONE”.

Nazri refers the 40,000++ rakyat as “PONDANs”(degorative remarks for gays, in Bahasa Melayu/Malaysia) is refering MALAYSIAN citizen as gay.

A country has to be run like a FAMILY , there must be parents(government & the monarchy) and citizen(rakyat).. each has their responsibility but being Parents doesnt not give they the right to be above the law or utter nonsense!

sigh! WHY do we need to teach our minister how to behave?! arent we progressed to be mature enough to be able to act like civilized people?!

For once, I believe after 20+years, it is time for a new government composition for us to have a HOPE in the future for our CHILDREN..

I had a friend whom have left Malaysia to Australia and became an Australian citizen… I was saddened and seek his reason why would you leave Malaysia, where we could have teh-tarik anytime anywhere! why would you leave our country Malaysia where we live in harmony with everyone without regards to race or religion, why would you leave Malaysia when you are able to enjoy life 24hours eating and having fun??

His reason is I had enough what Malaysia can offer my children…

It is not current situation that he is worried or any of us are worried , IT is the FUTURE, it is what the RAKYAT has foreseen if the current government continue their ways of managing the country!

Your VOTE counts in the coming general election!

Lets us all be heard!

Honestly, If BN has great representative contesting, I will vote for them.. it is logical! if BN has someone whom the RAKYAT dont know or has knowledge of BAD managment and without interpersonal skills nor intelligents, we SHOULD NEVER VOTE for “BAD” representatives..

Use our vote wisely!

Peace out!

6. #6 by lupus on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:08 am

Let me take this blog to address the minster (Datuk Seri Nazri) directly. I am going to assume that he reads this blog just the other minister and considering that none of them have any means of directly contact with the people, I have to go thru this media.

Let us look at the issue here and consider what the official minister for information said on an INTERNATIONAL media. I have seen the reporter and yes, he was screaming but that is normal as with these sort of events. This shows that the minister has never been to a mass rally and address the people. He should have attended the UNMO Youth rally which is just as loud and yes, reporters have to shout to hear themselves. It is the same if you are reporting a soccer match or a celebration in the street or even New Years day. Mind you, during those events, you do not have tear gas and water cannon as a factor. So, yes, the minister of information should have called a press meeting after and address the issue and put his point across, clear and calm manner. Not like someone who’s country about to break into civil war!!!! Otherwise, what is the use of the Information Ministry ?

Now, unless, FRU are present in Parliament and firing tear gas and water cannons in the lower house sitting, there should not be a reason to shout and get angry. Is UNMO that pissed off or frighten by the small opposition ?

Yes, I agreed as a citizen of Malaysia that the EC should be reformed. The system is quite old and outdated. For example, why should only Govt official and their families overseas be given the right to vote and other Malaysian citizens living overseas ? I for one do not trust the EC and if they control the ballot papers and only answer to the Govt, then they work for the Govt and not for the people.

What I see is that the average Malaysian have become more informed compared to 10 years ago. Thanks to other non-Govt media like the internet, both Govt and non-Govt views can be heard and I say let the people decide and choose. Yes, elections are about voting for the best person that represent your interest in the nation. I will vote for an indian, malay or chinese PM or party if I feel that their policy and performance is up to par with the standard of the day.

We are not Burma (I use Burma as the minister still calls it Burma) – yes, I agree but where was the police escort and the Chief of Police ? I did not see the Chief of Police talking with the leaders of the rally about the situation or trying to resolve the situation ? Instead, I saw FRU with their water cannons and tear gas.

A stable country can have mass rally and yes, investors are not scared away as along as it does not become a full scale riot like in Indonesia. I fee the average Malaysia is intelligent to stage a rally and if the Malaysian Police decided to impose conditions instead of banning, it might have been nothing more than a passing comment in the media.

Afterall, the world have better things to worry about than 21 mil people holding a rally and it was the Police that blew this into a news worthy event by bring on the FRU. Let the people have a say and yes, to EC reform. If BN have nothing to hide and the claim of being very popular with the voters, then why not invite international observers in ? Assure your neighbors and ASEAN member such as Burma that you are leading by example and that there is nothing to hide or be afraid. BN – show us that you have nothing to hide and that the people have no reasons to listen to the lies that the DAP are tell people about. How about it BN ??

Long time reader, short time poster

7. #7 by lupus on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:11 am

I meant to say, oversea Malaysian citizens other than Govt official are NOT allowed to vote. I would like to see ordinary oversea Malaysians vote in the upcoming General Elections.

8. #8 by chloo on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:12 am

Malaysian way is to keep their mouth shut and take whatever is served to them (just the way the Gov likes it)…..too bad we dun have many monks in Malaysia, they can lead the rally and show the world how FRU/PDRM water cannon and tear gas them. Anyway, can’t wait for election to come. If they lose we should offer them the opportunity to change their appearance thru surgery as suggested by the gov.

9. #9 by raverus on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:23 am

10. #10 by azk on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:28 am

Lets see if ZAM will do as he said, publish this on RTM. I dun think he dares. Only cakap kosong… I am still waiting for RTM to publish this

11. #11 by Libra2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:42 am

None are so deaf as those who do not want to hear.
    None are so blind as those who do not want to see.

Not a single minister has given a sober, rational and matured response to the 40,000 gathering.
    What is the difference between the Burmse junta and UMNO.
    Ironically, it is only the UMNO Ministers who are talking,
    and through their hat.

12. #12 by sotong on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:47 am

There was strong support for Al Jezeera when they report on Iraq.

If you can’t take peaceful demonstrations to the streets, there is no democracy.

13. #13 by hanuman on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:00 am

Don’t underestimate power of the people. Once the moment gets going there is no stopping them. Let the government challenged the people of Malaysia and see what happens. The best scenario I can think of is rallies in all towns in Malaysia simultaneously.

I dare ZAM to expel Al-Jazeera from Malaysia.

News from another source for all bloggers to read.

From IFEX

http://www.ifex.org/en/content/view/full/87576

Government tells media not to report on rally for electoral reforms

Country/Topic: Malaysia
    Date: 12 November 2007
    Source: Southeast Asian Press Alliance (SEAPA)
    Person(s):
    Target(s): journalist(s)
    Type(s) of violation(s): censored
    Urgency: Threat

(SEAPA/IFEX) – Malaysian authorities have instructed the local media not to give coverage to a rally calling for free and fair elections, to be held on 10 November 2007 in the capital city Kuala Lumpur, reports the Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ), a SEAPA partner in Malaysia. [Editor’s note: the rally took place on 10 November and was broken up by police.]

The mainstream media – which are largely under government control through ownership and restrictive laws – were also ordered to report only the authorities’ views and to refrain from highlighting the rally or publishing the organisers’ statements, reports the sole independent web-based daily “Malaysiakini”.

The Information Minister Zainuddin Maidin recently told the media in a special meeting with editors that they need not report the truth – especially news that paints the government in a bad light. According to a 12 October “Malaysiakini” report, the minister said that, under the instruction of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, he would be giving such “advice” to the media regularly.

As the prime minister has vowed to crack down on the rally, organised by the Coalition for Free and Fair Elections, the government’s latest order to the media, which has the obvious intention of preventing public knowledge about the event, bodes ill.

The government’s outright hostility to the rally is all the more menacing as a past public talk on electoral reforms, which was to have been held on 9 September in Batu Buruk town in the state of Terengganu by the same organisers, could not begin after clashes broke out between the police and the participants, during which police shot into the crowd, injuring two people. A journalist from opposition Internet broadcaster TV PAS was arrested, along with 22 others in the following weeks. According to CIJ, media reports of the clashes were biased toward the police, with little mention of the organisers’ side of the story.

The organisers, a coalition of 67 civil society groups and five opposition parties, came together to address a flawed electoral system that has resulted in a one-party state since 1955. According to an independent analysis, in the 2004 general election, one vote for the ruling coalition equalled three for the leading opposition party, eight for the next and 26 for the third.

At least 10,000 campaign supporters are expected to assemble at the Independence Square in the heart of the capital city at 3:00 p.m. (local time) before marching to the National Palace about 2.5 kilometres away to petition to the King for four electoral reforms: i.e., the use of indelible ink, clean-up of the electoral roll, abolition of domestic postal voting, and fair access to the media. CIJ Executive Director V. Gayathry will be among those in the delegation leading the crowd.

Rallies are rare in Malaysia as the constitutional guarantee for freedom of assembly under Article 10 is limited by harsh freedom of assembly laws, most infamous of which is the 1962 Police Act, which requires a permit for gatherings of more than three people. Opposition and civil society groups often choose to disregard this law, insisting on exercising their right to peaceful assembly as a democratic way of getting their voices “heard” in the country’s restrictive media environment.

The last time large numbers of people came out to protest was in May 2006, over fuel price hikes. Coverage in the mainstream media was muted, as it had been for protests building up in the months before, following a media blackout order from the government. Police dispersed the crowds by shooting chemical-laced water at them, beating them with batons and canes, bringing in dogs to intimidate them and riding horses into them. An inquiry by the Malaysian Human Rights Commission into police conduct at one particular demonstration later found there was “excessive force” used to disperse peaceful protesters and that “the arrests made were disproportionate to the aims of preventing disorder and protecting the rights of other and are not necessary in a democratic society”.

Ironically, citing concerns of disturbance to public order, the police rejected the permit for the 10 November 2007 gathering. The capital city’s police chief, Zulhasnan Najib Baharuddin, warned the public to stay away from the rally or risk legal action. The police planned to deploy about 4,000 officers to disperse the crowd and set up roadblocks to prevent people from going to the square. Roadblocks were already appearing on 9 November on major roads into the city in an apparent move to stop people from other states, bused in by the opposition parties, from joining the rally.

State-owned television stations have been running clips of violent demonstrations in other parts of the world, including the 9 September riot in Batu Buruk. One such clip ends with the warning: “Demonstrations will only bring violence”.

14. #14 by malaysia_mana_boleh on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:04 am

Why are these jokers (zam, naz) showing such stupid reactions & comments?

Standard 3 students can behave and react better.

There is a valid reason to this.

They are scared. Very scared of the coming elections.

They know it will be no easy fight this time and their anxiety can be seen tru their childish antics.

They know. This time they might LOSE! It is for real. BN will be kicked out for the first time in the history of Malaysia. No joke. Look at Zam, Badwi & Naz. They look bloody worried, probably sheeting in their pants now. No joke, man. It is going to happen. BN will LOSE in the coming GE!

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:11 am

“Yang Di Pertua (Speaker), this is a man whose ‘wires in the head have severed’. ” Nazri

Funny, this description fits a poster on this blog. Nazri, speaking in Bahasa says “wire dah putuisss!” Wire must be ‘putuiss’ for anyone to call other readers of this blog who do not share his opinion, “moron” “stupid” and among others “pariah”.

Having said that some small credit must go to the Barisan MPs for not allowing the tirade of abuse that we often hear from them to plummet to a new low – which would be ‘fist fight’ which is not unkown in the U.S. among state senators in the State senates.

16. #16 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:20 am

Barisan MPs are facing the final curtain and I think this song best fits Nazri.

“And now, the end is near
    And so I face the final curtain.
    My friend, I’ll say it clear,
    I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain.

I’ve lived a life that’s crap.
    I’ve travelled each and ev’ry alley
    But more, much more than this,
    I bust it my way.

Regrets, I’ve had a lot
    But then again, too many to mention.
    I did what I ought not
    And saw it collapse without intention.

I planned each charted course
    Each careful step along the cry-way,
    But more, much more than this,
    I broke it my way.

Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew
    When I bit off more than I could chew.
    But through it all, when there was doubt,
    I hated it and spat hate out
    I ran from it and shrank down small
    And wrecked it my way.

I’ve feared, I’ve hurt and cried.
    I’ve had more than my share of losing.
    And now, as tears cascade,
    I find it not at all amusing.

To think I did all that
    And may I say – not in a shy way,
    “No, oh no not me,
    I screwed it my way”.

For what is a man, what has he got?
    If not himself, then he has naught.
    To hurl abuse however he feels
    The nasty words of one who sqeals.
    The record shows I dealt the blows
    And smashed it my way! ”

[Lyrics provided by Mp3.org]

17. #17 by Man_of_Honour on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:38 am

Just one simple questions to our “ruling government”…

If everything is clean and just, why worry about BERSIH rally on the first place? Guilty?

Now, who’s the pondan? No doubt! Those who are slamming on BERSIH’s initiative are the real wimps! Their actions speak for themself!

In my humble opinion, NOT ONLY the government and Election Council need to be reformed. The PDRM also need to be reformed.

I hope YDMM, King of Malaysia can hear his rakyat’s plea for a better future.

18. #18 by cala1900 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:42 am

I thought the whole affair by the BN representatives were rather ‘rough’ and unpolished. Politicians? Aren’t they the ones that overwhealms the majority with their smooth statements and convincing aura?

Maybe it’s just BN……..

19. #19 by johneye on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:44 am

Surprising? Not at all. In fact I would be surprised if Nazri didn’t act that way. Good job Nazri, keep up the good work.

20. #20 by optimuz on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:08 pm

well, if the wires in the opposition heads are severed, it is clear that his is intact…only, its attached to the wrong head!

21. #21 by justaskmeanything on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:15 pm

Scare tactics, intimidation, playing mind games with the majority of Rakyat with no access/no interest in politics is the key for BN aka UMNO. This had been BN’s best weapon for the GE and indeed this Gomen sucks.

22. #22 by layanglayang on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:17 pm

This is indeed a good video that shows all of us how our elected representatives and minister behave in the August house. Is it not our Malaysian culture to respect one another? The parliament is a place for reasoning but we have our honourable member shouting and labeling his fellow members with names like “rambut putik” and “botoh”
    Well done Mr. Lim, at least you didn’t follow his style and make Malaysia a laughing stock.

23. #23 by negarawan on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:18 pm

Nazri has the mentality of a Mat Rempit. He is very lucky to have a job

24. #24 by Anti_NEP on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:20 pm

Zam writes to aljazeera???? With his command of english will aljazeera understand what he is writing? This mamak tongkang is l**king bodohwi’s balls in order to keep his ministerial post.

25. #25 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:22 pm

“Pondan” is more than “wimp”, one can be a wimp and yet not a “pondan”. It is a sexist local reference (like Ah Qua) to a faggot, travestite or trans-sexual, often associated with a man cross dressing as a woman. He should apologise to all pondans.

26. #26 by grace on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:24 pm

I feel a monkey can debate in a better manner than Nazri.

With him as a minister, Malaysia will tengelam further.

Aiya, it is better to talk to a monkey than Nazri.

27. #27 by whitecoffee on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:27 pm

Throw a stone at a dog, and it will start barking. Throw another stone, and it will run away.

28. #28 by St0rmFury on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:34 pm

I’ve discussed this with a friend yesterday and we both agreed on the same conclusion: BN will still win in the next elections.

See, the problem so far from what I gathered is the oppositions are still not united. Sure, they handed over the memo together and walked together but what next? When are they going to sit together to discuss the elections seriously especially when it is so near? I want to read reports that DAP, PKR and PAS are finally willing to compromise and work together for the coming election. I want to see the words “Barisan Alternatif” again instead of DAP, PKR and PAS. The oppositions have a lot of qualified members whom I’m sure will make very good ministers, but from what I see now with the BN, quantity seems to overshadow quality when it comes to cohesion.

Currently, the opposition is still thinking like an opposition. I would very much prefer if they start thinking like a government. If people see you as an opposition, they will always think of you as an opposition. Present yourselves as a government, and people will see things differently. The first step would be to put aside your differences and work together effectively, no matter how hard.

I am no BN supporter, but don’t expect me to flatter the opposition just because of that. The BN may be a cancer to the nation, but you have to give them credit for being able to stick together for decades (even if greed was the main factor). If the opposition doesn’t buck up in their efforts to project a cohesive alternative front, they don’t deserve my vote. You have to earn it.

Show me a government, and you will get my vote.

29. #29 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:43 pm

i rather be a pondan than being a scumbag.a scumbag who acts so un-gentlemanly and an idiot who doesnt knw whr to focus on topics to ever give a good answer for questions thrown at him.hes just a clown among the crowds jeering and cheering just wanting to be heard.we hv a leader who says hes so decent and projecting such a clean image of himself and making pledges like giving sweets to a 3 year old.we hv a leader who encourages marrying single mothers so that he can do the same…a leader who looks like hes sleeping while talking…a son in law who seeks “protection” under his administration…a leader who does nothing abt all those scandals that involves millions and billions of dollars….a leader who spends so much money sending a fellow citizen to space and summore hv the nerve to tell us he will send another one up thr again…using whos money…for what….and worst of all…wats thr to be proud of whn our space technology is so far off behind even compared to singapore.wat a weirdo…a leader who doesnt even hv any sense of wisdom in the peoples needs.he brags abt shelving off the previous pm’s projects which brings no benefits to the country but he can come up with projects which are far more worse.a leader who has a bunch of scumbags making noise and making stupid statements everyday in the paper.and frankly speaking i stopped buying the “star” newspaper cos i got tired of reading only news fr scumbags and as u all shud knw the real reason why.a leader who can disappear without a trace.a leader who cant even acknowledge the peoples discontentments and all the grievances go unheard.so many things thats being covered up and this pm of ours think people of malaysia are all stupid.if talk too much we go ISA makan angin.if we dig too much he says documents under OSA.what a bunch of craps.

30. #30 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:49 pm

now,i am really confused with mr.nazri.

when the march of the lawyers from the palace of justice to the pm department was done off, nazri commented, that one thousand lawyers does not constitute the majority.

when bersih organise a march of 100,000 people,but restiction and roadblocks block access for the peaceful march to the palace, we are pondans

than again, what is 100,000 people or 40,000 people. it is still the minority as far as nazri is concerned. so if this bersih group is so insignificant to the government of the day,WHY OVEREACT ?

the moral of the story is to be humble in our words. the raayat also is pantang to be cabar. i am not condoning any violence in any gathering,but if we have nothing to hide, there is no fear.

and again the words of monkeys and pondans are used in the August house. by the way, dear nazri, dont insult the pondans. they are already suffering from genetic inbalance . many are suffering and rejected by the society.no one chooses to be transexual by choice.

31. #31 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:59 pm

sorry..tekan salah.this another scumbag ZAM thinks he owns al jazeera.he doesnt fully understand whats real news and whats not.becos what he knws he only reads fr the newspapers that the government owns.why dun u sue al jazeera ?we dun hv the freedom of press in malaysia as we all knw.the truth only comes fr the people who dares to reveal the “sial” doings of the scumbags in the government in the internet.i am not against the government…i am only against the scumbags who doesnt knw how to run the administration of this country.i love this country as much as those who comes into this blog.we really dun need somebody like ZAM,NAZRI,NAJIB,KHAIRY and lots more….becos these are really incompetent and unqualified and useless leaders.its a fact and it will always remain that way.

32. #32 by lakshy on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:04 pm

st0rmFury,

Yes BN will be returned to power because of people like you who will vote for them.

Consider this. If we dont vote for the opposition, when are they going to get a chance to prove themselves? Are you telling us the opposition dont have capable people compared to the likes of Semi Value, Nazri, Najib, AAB, Zam, Kong Choy, Keng Yaik, etc? Which Minister really stands out in BN tell me?

Which one is not making a fast buck at the expense of the rakyat, tell me? Which ministry was not found to be at fault in the recently released AG’s report? Do we see any Ministers being charged? I really wonder why!

Wouldn’t it be better to vote for an opposition government for a change and let them dig up all the cans of worms from their predecessors rule, and bring them to book?

That would do two things:-
    a) dig up the crooks and punish them
    b) develop an alternative team for Malaysians

That would be the best deal for all Malaysians. If you want what is best for Malaysians, dont let BN get too comfortable so that it goes ahead raping the country at will.

If we develop a credible opposition, then both parties will definately work on giving what is best for the rakyat. Thats what we need, and it is up to the rakyat to work to achieve this.

So my vote goes to the opposition for both state and parliament seats, even if it is PAS.

33. #33 by sj on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:16 pm

Uncle Lim,

If I were you in the Parliament that day, I would laugh at him so hard, while he shouts like a monkey. For a minister with that kind of low IQ, is just funny to let him entertain us. It just proves to all of us, he is useless retard to begin with. Show him no respect. Just laugh at him. He showed you respect. Why should you give him one?
    For the Speaker, is another useless dude. That guy should just go to primary school and teach instead of moderating debates in Parliament.

34. #34 by sj on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:34 pm

“Nazri has the mentality of a Mat Rempit. He is very lucky to have a job”

It speaks a lot on how people are recruited into job isnt it? Well it is not only in Goverment or politics, even in the corporate world, HR people fails to discern real talents from the BS. So it happens.

35. #35 by FuturePolitician on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:39 pm

Well couple of months back maybe 1 year ago, i would think BN will still win but their “overwelming victory” will be of a dream.

After the rally 10th November 2007, DONT you see the unity of the oppositions? The rule of the jungle, there can only be ONE LION KING in order to be united as a strong alliance.

I believe PAS and DAP has opt to let PKR to lead the opposition coalition because PKR has done well in the lingam’s case and played a superb political game against the machinery of the government of which currently many has consider UMNO”the lone ranger”.

I believe their coalition MCA,MIC and other parties would believe for the good of the nation MALAYSIA, they have to back-off and let UMNO whom galantly ride on their own to battle.

The UMNO’s meeting on a Gazetted public holiday during DEEPAVALI has already proven that they are pushing everyone aside and disregards and disrespect the indian community in the BN coalition. Soon I do believe MCA will face the inexperience UMNO’s young leaders wrath of bad-boys attitude.., which will destroy the Barisan National.

The oppositions and the general rakyat feels from their everyday lifes from suffering of high prices, high toll rates, low wages, spiraling cost of living with low quality of life..we all know the economy is doing bad.. Worse we do not have a functioning minister to tackle turmoil in finances of the nation.

The “OPPOSITIONS” for onces Now, I shall consider them as “viable” Alternative GOVERNMENT. We have now birth of a Possible “Government” which will benefit our RAKYAT and with this, we have a choice in the future to choose between TWO major Parties whom are capable of running the government serving the RAKYAT!

I dear to hear one day, that we are all MALAYSIANs! not MALAY, INDIAN, CHINESE,KADAZAN, IBAN, etc,etc,etc

I dear to hear that when we venture to outerspace , the next frontier for mankind, we are before a scholars in medicine, noble prize winners, a economic force of global status, a country of which capable of engineering products of their own, etc.. NOT Government sponsored space tourist! (note: Many would accept if the flight was a corporate sponsored, because it is not public fund, like MAYBANK, PETRONAS, etc) but heck its BN sponsored..or UMNO matter a fact.

We should start thinking and helping the opposition to be an alternative government, given the rakyat 1 more choice of Government leadership. This should be the progress in our electorial history..

Lets all give the so called “opposition” (when now they truly represent the “rakyat”) a chance to form a new potential government!.

YOU know deep in your minds, that only CHANGES will give us HOPE! without changes, we are stuck with current illiterate, etc ( you guys know better expressive words) for our ministers..

GIVE MALAYSIA and MALAYSIAN HOPE! GIVE “THE RAKYAT” a CHANCE!

36. #36 by bokliang on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:51 pm

Let see on the coming election. See who will lost more ? But I can see and feel the panic and worry among BN on coming election.

37. #37 by lakshy on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:07 pm

Lets vote for Opposition in state seats too! Thats the only way we can get back to voting for local councillor seats.

I for one would love for Perak to fall to the opposition. Then let the opposition show what they can do with an underperforming state like Perak.

We have had so many in-effective people running this state. That has got to change.

38. #38 by lakshy on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:10 pm

Then when Bn is knocked out we can have electoral reforms. Lets see a proper re-delineation exercise being done by the EC so that no seat has more than 10,000voters.

That would help avoid the situation where we are in now, where BN has 91% of the seats when it only has 64% of the popular vote.

We are the ones who can effect this change. And yes, every vote counts. Get your wives, girlfriends, daughters, mothers, aunts and all womenfolk well informed of the state of the nation, and convince them to vote for opposition, for the good of the nation.

39. #39 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:12 pm

“Wires severed from the head…” says Taxi Nazri.

Is this the reason for many UMNOputras to have wife No. 2, No. 3, No. 4, or kept girlfriends of all ages ? Wires not attached to the right head ?

40. #40 by Godfather on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:18 pm

Seriously, people like Taxi Nazri and Zainuddeen Maideen foam at the mouth because of FEAR. FEAR of them losing their jobs, and getting investigated by a Nuremberg-style council. FEAR that they may not be able to carry on stealing the country blind.

Governments have been toppled by non-violent protests, and they know it. Today it is 40,000; tomorrow it could be 100,000 – then what ? We don’t have to look far – witness the anti Thaksin rallies last year.

They are in FEAR.

41. #41 by LohPL on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:21 pm

“The opposition has won seats in the previous elections, especially in Kelantan. Why are they calling for the Election Commission (EC) to be freer and fairer?”

Opposition indeed won seats but it does not mean that winning a seat or seats can be deemed free or fair. For example, in the 2004 general election, the Ipoh Timur constituency has about 49,000 voters while Putrajaya has less than 5,000 votes. Likewise to Batu Gajah with more than 50,000 voters and so on

This is a great injustice to the people of Ipoh Timur. The EC must close the gap to be fair to the people of Ipoh.

42. #42 by St0rmFury on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:34 pm

Dear lakshy,

You = italics
    me = bold

Yes BN will be returned to power because of people like you who will vote for them.

I am no BN supporter, but don’t expect me to flatter the opposition just because of that.

+++++++

If we dont vote for the opposition, when are they going to get a chance to prove themselves?

If the opposition doesn’t buck up in their efforts to project a cohesive alternative front, they don’t deserve my vote.

+++++++

Are you telling us the opposition dont have capable people compared to the likes of Semi Value, Nazri, Najib, AAB, Zam, Kong Choy, Keng Yaik, etc?

The oppositions have a lot of qualified members whom I’m sure will make very good ministers,…

+++++++

Wouldn’t it be better to vote for an opposition government for a change and let them dig up all the cans of worms from their predecessors rule, and bring them to book?

Show me a government, and you will get my vote.

+++++++

Look lakshy, I dislike the BN as much as you do. But when I want a new government, I won’t settle for second best. I don’t want a government who can’t even decide how to evenly split the seats. If there is ONE single thing I admire about the BN, it’s their ability to stick together even after 50 years. Until I can see the opposition doing that, they will always remain the second best to me.

If the opposition wants my vote, show me that they deserve it by working together. I don’t want to vote for them just because I have no other choice. The people deserve the best.

43. #43 by helpless on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:40 pm

What is the purpose of marching? To get support for a reform on EC so a fair and clean election?

Until then, can anyone tell how to vote those incompetence minister out of government?

Until then, can anyone tell what is percentage of Malaysian see and talk against corrupted minister?

44. #44 by bra888 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:07 pm

Minister: I commend yo-yo-your journalists trying to project… to exaggerate more than what actually happened. That-that-that-that’s it. We are not the-the and I-I congratulate your journalists behaving like an actor, that-that’s it…

Reporter: As you say that, sir, we’re watching scenes of protesters being sprayed by chemical-filled water!

Minister: YA! I am watching! I’m here! You’ve been trying… trying to do it this – to do this everywhere but in Malaysia people are allowed to, you know? We know our police head our colleague… Police have whatever allowed the procession to go to the Istana Negara, you know? Do police, first police, like, they handle them, they attack them, they… the police don’t, don’t, don’t fire anybody?

Reporter: Our correspondent came back to the office, sir, with chemicals in his eyes!

Minister:You-you-you-you are here with the idea, you are trying to project, what is your mind! You think that we Pakistan, we are Burma, we are Myanmar. Everything you-you are thinking! WE ARE DIFFERENT! We are totally different!

Reporter: Well unfortunately when you refuse to let people protest, it does appear so.

Minister: Ya ya we are not like you! You-you have earlier perception, you come here, you want to project us like undemocratic country. This a democratic country!

Reporter: So why can’t people protest then, if it’s a democratic country?

Minister: YES, PEOPLE PROTEST! People do-do… of course they protest. We are allowing them protest, and they have demonstrated. But we just trying to disperse them, and then later they-they-they don’t wanna disperse, but later our police compromise. They have compromised and allowed them to proceed to Istana Negara! Police, our police have succeeded in handling them gently, right? Why do you report that? You take the opposition, someone from opposition party you ask him to speak. You don’t take from the government, right?

Reporter: Why did you not break up these protests…

Minister: Pardon? Pardon? Pardon?

Reporter: Why did you not break up these protests more peacefully?

Minister: I can’t hear you! I can’t hear you!

Reporter: Why did you not break up these protests more peacefully?

Minister: No we-we are! We… this protest is illegal! We don’t want..this… the… NORMALLY…

Reporter: OK, so let me return to my former question. Why is this protest illegal?

Minister: YA! It’s a illegal protest because we have the erection in Malaysia. It’s no-no point on having a protest! We are allowing to every erection… every five years never fail! We are not our like, like Myanmar, not like other country. And, and you are helping this. You Al-Jazeera also is helping this, this forces. The, you know, these forces who are not in passion, who don’t believe in democracy!

Reporter: Alright, many thanks for joining us.

Minister: I don’t, ya, you, Al-Jazeera, this is, is Al-Jazeera attitude. Right?

Taken from http://www.kennysia.com/archives/2007/11/the_zam_rap.php#comments

45. #45 by year of snake on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:09 pm

I hope that all those who have written in these blogs will do their duty when the time comes, that is to come out to vote in the next GE. Remember “BAD OFFICIALS ARE ELECTED BY PEOPLE WHO DO NOT VOTE”

46. #46 by smeagroo on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:12 pm

If I am a crook I would be a smart crook. I would not steal every sen in the coffer but leave some (very little) for the other people.

So what we hv here is probably the same scenario. They rigged other parts of the constituency while leave some crumbs for the opposition to savour.

Nazri,

I believe when u lost ur hair, u lost ur brain as well. If u guys are clean and hv done nothing wrong (in the past) why are u guys so afraid of a better system?

Only crooks are afraid.

47. #47 by AstonVillan on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:30 pm

I agree with St0rmFury on his point about creating a united front for the opposition parties.I’ve been hoping for BA to be reformed for a long time.The only reason DAP left BA was because they ended up losing seats to PAS.Also,I think they couldn’t agree on some agendas such as an islamic state and syariah laws.I hate to say this but forming a coalition is the only way of breaking the dominance of BN.

48. #48 by wits0 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:49 pm

““Yang Di Pertua (Speaker), this is a man whose ‘wires in the head have severed’. ” Nazri””

And his own has short circuited! A ‘Chi Sin’ speaking.

49. #49 by Filibuster on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:55 pm

Smeagroo – perhaps this administration has not thought about things your way? They seem bent on going acheiving their “Pembangkang Sifar” campaign’s objectives. ;)

50. #50 by Filibuster on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:57 pm

As for what Nazri said in Parliament, words simply fail me… It’s just unbelievable that he can say that (pondan, etc) – it is as uncalled for as the ‘bocor’ comment hurled a while back.

51. #51 by js on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:02 pm

I dont understand why this guy has to shout in the Parliament. As a minister, he should act professionally to discuss and find solutions for all matters. Unfortunately, they based on the power to address the issue. Let’s make a change in the coming election!!!

52. #52 by chisinau on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:25 pm

Batu Gajah Bocor, Air Asia stewardess tunnel and now 50,000 yellow pondans have walked down the freedom aisle. This BN have only distorted perspectives of things.

If it was not the high handedness of the SPR, how could all these beruks entered parliment? BERSIH must do more, walk in every states.

53. #53 by chisinau on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:34 pm

Sri Gading shouted ‘Cina pun tak ada demokrasi”. At least, they put bullets through the back of those corrupted officials’ heads. What if we could practice that here? Our whole cabinets would be wiped off with only dozens of shots.

We, the Yellow Subjects do not mind if there is no democracy, if the country is on the right track. It could be called another term, freecracy or bersihcracy as long as there is freedom for all.

Najib have copied recently about Deng Siow Peng’s ” we do not care if the cat is black or white, as long as it catches the mouse it is a good cat”

Wonder if there ia any good cat among the BN beruks in the parliment????

54. #54 by raverus on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:36 pm

Maybe, he is competing with Zam, making a fool out of himself and feel proud of it.

55. #55 by chisinau on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:52 pm

He is hallucinating, he is just a Mini-hamster. In fact he is the smartest among all the BN jesters. At least, he could performed well and quite entertaining sometimes, unlike the rest of those elected fools who were all dumb.

56. #56 by democrate on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:54 pm

Nazli had been shouting like Orang Gila in the Parliament and behind him too there are many orang gila from Umno MP Sabah, Kelantan,Perlis,Malacca. who knows only talking nonsense and teasing to lady MPs. I wonder how these idiots are being selected and elected as MP, how low standard the people in their constituency are to vote for these bloody stupid idiots. These MPs hidup only like frogs under the well. They are forever like frogs ,thats all.

57. #57 by optimuz on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 6:12 pm

He shouts simply because otherwise, no one would pay attention to him!

Must remember that these are aspiring alpha males…the louder they grunt and roar, the more they think they are respected…KJ said law of the jungle…this is proof!

58. #58 by LittleBird on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 6:30 pm

Yes, pondan we are. Just have alook at Zunar’s cartoon in Mkini.

59. #59 by chisinau on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 7:38 pm

BERSIH “Bagaimana Engkau Rasuah Sampai Isipun Habis”????

This is the question all Yellow Walkers are asking aloud.

60. #60 by simple simon on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 8:42 pm

Simon says – “No harm in voting for the Opposition in this coming General Election”. What is there to loose? Lets give it a change. We can’t be worst off when we already at rock bottom and it will be interesting to see for once how the BN reps behave in Parliament at the other end.

61. #61 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 8:46 pm

“Is this the reason for many UMNOputras to have wife No. 2, No. 3, No. 4, or kept girlfriends of all ages ? Wires not attached to the right head ?” Godfather

You gotta understand that it is dangerous to let loose wires hang everywhere. Open circuits are dangerous! The UMNO argument about wires in the heads “putuiiii” or severed should be applied and applied equally. We are not always equal before the law, but we should try.

Wires ‘putuiii’ from big heads should be connected to the smaller ones.

62. #62 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 8:56 pm

itu berok semor dah kena belacan…sampai duduk pon takleh diam…kena jerit sini jerit sana.nak lagak pandai lagi…kito tengok camne tu berok semor nak tipu dalam undian yg kan datang.

63. #63 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 9:01 pm

Nazri, O Nazri, you should get a broom from Mohamad Khir Toyo!

64. #64 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 9:05 pm

i am just an ordinary citizen…and whn i look at those scumbags using vocabularies and making childish remarks…sometimes i just wanna post my comments here and [deleted] but no…cos they reminded me how they hv behaved worse [deleted] so thats why i refrained myself fr doing so.i was raised to be tolerant of my fellow brothers in malaysia regardless of their colors.i hv nvr seen such kurang ajar MPs and playing up such racism against its own country.thats why my vote will go to the opposition for sure.syabas to BERSIH.long live BERSIH.

65. #65 by Loading... on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 11:40 pm

Pondan are insulted. All the “Pondan” in Malaysia must unite and vote for opposition party for next coming election.

66. #66 by naked taliban on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:10 am

Dear YB Nazri before you comment better ask yourself one simple question `DO I LOOK & SOUND STUPID’

67. #67 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:32 am

Little does this political upstart realize that he has by one stroke alienated a whole group of gays and lesbians who will now throw their weight behind the Opposition. That is how smart this Nazri guy is.

Their numbers are much more than his mind with “wires severed” or ‘putiiiih’ is capable of absorbing.

68. #68 by smeagroo on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:34 am

Usually when pondans argue they will scream and shout and avoid the crux of the issue raised.

SO Nazri, who is the pondan?

69. #69 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:39 am

He’s more than a pondan, he’s an absolute chicken!!!!

70. #70 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 12:45 am

Better still confer him a J.P. (not Justice of the Peace, but JUNGLE PEOPLE)!!!!!

71. #71 by chisinau on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 5:20 am

Every pictures of the Yellow Walk sent shivers to my spine. They never failed to move me. Sometimes, my eyes get wet. I wonder if it happens to all of us. If, let say for every single walker that makes it, there were two that could not. Then, we have 120,000 people that have the intention to walk that day.

Out of this, maybe another equal amount procrastinated. We have another 120,000. Added up to be 240,000. Every single one of these people have five sympathizers, we have 1,200,000 Bersih supporters.

Nazri [deleted]

72. #72 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 6:39 am

“Nazri [deleted]

73. #73 by messy on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 4:27 pm

actually the real pondans are the government themselves…