You Have Been Challenged, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi!

by M. Bakri Musa

“Saya pantang dicabar!” (lit: “I am allergic to challenges;” fig. “Don’t challenge me!”) declared Prime Minister Abdullah in an uncharacteristically bold assertion to the media on the eve of BERSIH’s massive street demonstrations in Kuala Lumpur last Saturday, November 10, 2007.

You have now been challenged, Mr. Prime Minister, openly and publicly by your own citizens, and you have emerged impotent! That huge street rally may be illegal to you, but the King had consented to receiving its leaders and their petition. In effect, the King too has challenged you, Abdullah! In case you did not get the message, you had just been served a very public royal rebuff.

I too, challenge you, Abdullah! Instead of arresting those ordinary citizen demonstrators, I dare you to arrest their leaders, Anwar Ibrahim, Hadi Awang, Lim Kit Siang, and Raja Petra Kamarudin. Those ordinary folks were merely exercising their basic rights as citizens of a democracy: the right to free assembly and to petition the authorities.

As per the refrain of the Ghostbusters theme song, “Who are you gonna call now!” Mr. Prime Minister? Your fabulous Fourth Floor boys? Your son-in-law who is using you as his “protection?” Imagine being considered as such by your son-in-law!

Khairy Jamaluddin obviously had not heard of your “demonstrations are not part of our Malay culture” bit. Either that or Khairy had blissfully ignored it as when he led that pathetic street demonstration against your official guest, US State Secretary Rice.

In a speech earlier in the week, Khairy demanded that the authorities “come down hard” on the BERSIH demonstrators. While there were some water cannons and tear gas canisters unloaded, the demonstrations went ahead smoothly and successfully to the palace. The police even released most of those arrested. Your son-in-law challenged you to be tough on the demonstrators, and you came out lembik (limp).

Dim Wit Understanding of Democracy

In denying the BERSIH demonstrators their police permit, Abdullah demonstrated only a dim wit understanding of democracy, akin to that held by Saddam Hussein and Pervez Musharraf. Both were voted in with over 98 percent of the votes, and they took that to mean they could ride roughshod over their country and citizens. Never mind that their elections were anything but fair and free.

Democracy means rule of the people, but it does not mean mob rule legitimized through the ballot box. Electoral victory is not a license for tyranny of the majority. As Fareed Zakaria wrote so eloquently in his book, The Future of Freedom, democracy is more than just elections. Even if elections were fair and free (far from the reality in Malaysia, hence the demonstrations!), obsession with or sole reliance on them would threaten the other far more important aspects like the rule of law, private property rights, separation of powers, and the right to free speech and to assemble freely.

Elections regular or otherwise, honest or rigged, do not guarantee these; only independent and impartial judges could. An independent judiciary is thus the hallmark as well as the guarantor of democracy and freedom, certainly much more than universal adult suffrage.

As for the state of the Malaysian judiciary, the Lingam tapes painfully showed what a sorry mess it is in. Even if BERSIH were completely successful with its petition and the Elections Commission completely overhauled, there is still the monumental task of cleaning up the judiciary and restoring its long lost integrity.

These points are elementary and obvious to all, save the dim witted.

Time to Deliver The Next Lesson

There is another feature of the dim witted; they are slow learners. It is unlikely for them to have learned a lesson from Bersih’s successful rally, or if they did it may not have stuck.

Since the only lesson that would register on their thick skulls is election returns, my friend Din Merican had started a campaign to register voters. The next step would be to ensure that they will vote against the Barisan coalition.

It would encourage voters to do that if there were to be substantial and effective co-ordination among the opposition parties to ensure that there would only be a one-on-one battle with the Barisan in every constituency. The objective here is rather modest, to inflict enough damage to the Barisan coalition such that it would precipitate internal squabbling especially within UMNO to trigger its implosion.

Selecting the best candidate, meaning one who would most likely defeat the Barisan’s nominee, involves studying the demographics of the constituency as well as the Barisan’s candidate. Since race is never far from voters’ considerations, the best avenue to neutralize this crucial factor would be to field candidates of the same race as the Barisan’s nominees. This was the clear lesson from the recent Ijok by-elections. Thus the opposition must be ready to change candidates on nomination day depending on who would represent Barisan.

For example, if Barisan were to re-nominate the current MCA candidate but at the last minute the seat were to go to UMNO, then the opposition must be ready to substitute a Malay candidate. If that party (like DAP for instance) cannot come up with a Malay nominee, then it should be willing to give the slot to a Malay from one of the other parties.

BERSIH’s victory should embolden the citizens to impart to the Barisan government the other equally important lesson: cleaning out the rot in the judiciary. No less than a full Royal Commission with full powers to subpoena witnesses and grant them immunity should be the objective. As Fareed Zakaria noted, an impartial and independent judiciary is the best guarantor of our freedoms and democracy. We must keep drumming these lessons lest they forget easily.

We must keep mencabar (challenging) Abdullah until he comes to his senses and realizes the obvious: the job of being a Prime Minister of our great nation is way above his head. If he does not, others either within or outside his party should be emboldened enough to tell him so.

1. #1 by motai on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 2:45 pm

A society of sheep must in time beget a government of wolves.

2. #2 by motai on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 2:47 pm

“Remember, democracy never lasts long.
    It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself.

3. #3 by Jeffrey on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 2:50 pm

“You have now been challenged, Mr. Prime Minister, openly and publicly by your own citizens, and you have emerged impotent! That huge street rally may be illegal to you, but the King had consented to receiving its leaders and their petition. In effect, the King too has challenged you, Abdullah! In case you did not get the message, you had just been served a very public royal rebuff.” – Dr M Bakri Musa.

Is that true ? Please remember restraint so far by the police/FRU from cracking skulls and bones or the launch of another Operation Lallang should not be construed as “impotence”. He may be impotent as far as implementing reforms pledged but that’s different from ‘impotence’ against the challenge of street demonstrations. This part is too early to tell.

Second, the acid test of Royal rebuff is not the King’s receipt of Bersih memorandum through HRH’s personal secretary – it is acting on them that shows, which is not yet…..

Except for these the rest of what Bakri said especially – “Electoral victory is not a license for tyranny of the majority” – “an independent judiciary is thus the hallmark as well as the guarantor of democracy and freedom, certainly much more than universal adult suffrage” – “as for the state of the Malaysian judiciary, the Lingam tapes painfully showed what a sorry mess it is in… No less than a full Royal Commission with full powers to subpoena witnesses and grant them immunity should be the objective…” are agreed.

4. #4 by oknyua on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:03 pm

M. Bakri, I am in full agreement to your comments. Whether he likes it or not, he is being challenged, both by the 10/11 walk, and by virtue of him being the PM.

(just a sidetrack, did he see the picture of Amri from Shah Alam?)

5. #5 by mendela on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:03 pm

Lucky you, Bodowi! Luckily there were no serious injuries or fatalities to the protesters!

If there were, you and UMO will collapse at a much faster path!

6. #6 by smeagroo on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:08 pm

i like the word “lembik” used by M Bakri Musa. SOmehow it reminds me of someone who is a sissy.

7. #7 by Rocky on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:12 pm

Yes he has been challenged. We shall wait for his response whatever that might be. Now we should start a silent protest. get people to wear yellow every Monday. The bigger the number, the more worried they will get.we shall see ho he responds if that momentum gets going like in Thailand. and Pak Lah was wrong, the demonstration was peaceful, only the police reacted strongly at Masjid Jamek.

Right now we can wait for him and his HP6 XXXL cabinet to make their move. Pak Lah is unlike Mahatir…Pak Lah’s stratetgy are all have baked ideas. Lets wait and see. If he comes in with ISA etc, the world will mount pressure more so after his support for the monks in Myanmar at the UN. So come on Pak Lah and KJ, see what you have. You have been challenged in a very peaceful manner.

8. #8 by Godfather on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:15 pm

How do you challenge someone who is already mentally challenged ?

AAB has for the past 4 years relied on a coterie of advisors from the 4th floor, who have cornered contracts for themselves and their cronies. Due to their excessive greed, and their inability to control “down the line”, most of these projects have not taken off as the jostling for subcontracts have now gotten out of control. They announce this project and that project, but people know that none of them have happened, and most are mired in internal UMNO complaints about promises made by AAB and his advisors, etc. the Penang bridge will collapse even before it is begun, and so will all of his corridors.

Simply put, AAB is not in charge of the government, and if left alone, a small puff of air would simply tilt him over the edge.

9. #9 by altar on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:17 pm

Obviously, Badawi is very pathetic in solving the Juriciary and Election Commision crisis. He is totally lack of political will to make reform despite ‘advice’ from the Royalty. He just hope that the issue will slowly down play and Umno will continue abuse its executive power to deny citizens the right for democracy.
    Further suppresion of mainstream media will create more curiosity among citizen to obtain alternative news from internet and reject what ever news reported by the government controlled media company.

10. #10 by mendela on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:23 pm

Put it simply, Bodowi is just a pcs of dead meat!

Even my many Japanese friends realized too that Bodowi was only good at lip service, promised this and that, but all were empty promises!

He, better do your “lip service” in bed!

11. #11 by bra888 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:44 pm

“Who are you gonna call now!”

‘PM Busters!’

12. #12 by St0rmFury on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 3:58 pm

You have now been challenged, Mr. Prime Minister, openly and publicly by your own citizens, and you have emerged impotent! That huge street rally may be illegal to you, but the King had consented to receiving its leaders and their petition. In effect, the King too has challenged you, Abdullah! In case you did not get the message, you had just been served a very public royal rebuff.

Whoa, slow down my good man. We should not count our chickens before they hatch. We have to wait for the Agong to give his feedback first. I admit their fire is still burning very hot within a lot of the participants but they should not look too far yet. Take things one step at a time, its good for your heart!

By the way YB Kit, what’s going on with the Lingam fiasco? The dateline for the 3-man panel was supposed to be last Friday, correct?

13. #13 by Libra2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 4:04 pm

Well written Bakri. Now the PM is saying that we (yes, WE) are making use of the King. He thinks the king is a baby.
    Actually the de facto PM is Khairy and the PM acts on his advice on any issue.
    Knowing Khairy’s arrogance, he will probably advice his father in law to ignore the petition and the protesters.
    Any electoral reform will work against UMNO and BN. It is unlikely they will want to see a clean up of the system.

14. #14 by Libra2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 4:11 pm

15. #15 by motai on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 5:07 pm

Those who vote decide nothing; those who count the votes decide everything- dari sg klg

16. #16 by Rocky on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 5:13 pm

In effect, the King too has challenged you, Abdullah!

Not in this case yet. But where the reappointing the CJ was concerned, the King stood his ground. No extension.Daulat Tuanku! The King challenged the PM head on!!! and HRH won and made us proud and it seems HRH stands for justice and free judiciary rather our elected govt.

17. #17 by motai on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 5:19 pm

“A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the voters discover that they can vote themselves largesse from the public treasury.
    “From that moment on, the majority always votes for the candidate promising the most benefits from the public treasury, with the result that a democracy always collapses over loose fiscal policy, and is always followed by a dictatorship.
    “The average of the world’s great civilizations has been 200 years. These nations have progressed through this sequence: from bondage to spiritual faith; from spiritual faith to great courage; from courage to liberty; from liberty to abundance; from abundance to selfishness; from selfishness to complacency; from complacency to apathy; from apathy to dependency; from dependency back again to bondage.”
    — Sir Alex Fraser Tytler (1747-1813)

18. #18 by watgoblok on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 5:24 pm

mr pm,
    there are too many candidates out there fit to be in ur seat.mind you choose one?

19. #19 by hutchrun on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 5:26 pm

In effect, the King too has challenged you, Abdullah! In case you did not get the message, you had just been served a very public royal rebuff.
    Very true. But dim wit Bad-awi cannot understand that. The King surely must have a very low opinion of this effete PM version of what is an illegal assembly. This is just the begining. Wait till the next harakah comes out and word filters out into the kampungs on this Royalty Rebuffed PM.
    It`s time for Bad-awi to change his moustache style to that other dim wit mug-abe in Zimbabwe.
    Btw that `monkey` Zam was a good laff too when he tried supporting Bad-awi on Al Jazeera.

20. #20 by anfield on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 5:58 pm

Dear Mr. Pak Lah, pls visit the following youtube links showing your own son in law Demotrating in front of KLCC cenvention centre,and u say no peaceful demo, Maybe it was organised by UMno.Remeber Najip holding keris in 1987? by Umno, why no water canon. U double std. beh tahan, u desreve a sleepless nite. Someone pls repost this video in response to saturday demo.( some body pls help me to post it on u tube again, since i don’t know how to)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=io3c3zwK55A

21. #21 by Zeebra on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 6:17 pm

Somehow I agree with “ROCKY”. We should wear YELLOW every MONDAY to show we do not live on top of trees.

22. #22 by watgoblok on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 6:20 pm

He also made an oblique reminder to the Agong. Quote Star Online:

“I believe the King is mature, and the royalty will not be trapped into their (the opposition’s) politics,” he said after opening the 22nd Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) congress here on Sunday.

——————————————–
    our brother PM even dared to do this.hehehhehe…i wonder His Majesty would also reply this way , “Beta juga pantang dicabar!”

23. #23 by wizzerd on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 6:23 pm

Let’s see how his fourth floor boys advise him to do..launch another round of verbal diarhoea..capably assisted by ZAm, Minister of the Misinformed

24. #24 by SkullOfScar on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 6:32 pm

No no no… lets forgive him and still vote BN (UMNO) for all things that going to price hike, like petrol, food, transport, toll, kfc, mcdonalds, cd, dvd, water, electric, bla bla bla bla…. so many things that make me can’t concentrate to type anymore. Then ABB can take the tax payer money for another honeymoon with his new private plane.

Kampong folks, please think twice before you vote!!!

It’s time to “wakeup” & change. DiGi, the best coverage!

25. #25 by k1980 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 7:05 pm

Mr Dollah, rakyat pantang dipermainkan
    http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/IK13Ae02.html
    Abdullah came to power in late 2003, promising greater transparency and to fight the country’s endemic graft. However, the general perception is that he has failed to deliver and there is a growing sense as he becomes entrenched in power that he no longer intends to. He has retained a number of high-ranking officials widely suspected of corruption. The anti-corruption agency remains under the purview of the ruling government. Critics also charge Abdullah with neglecting to address judicial corruption and electoral fraud and other cases of official abuse and neglect.

26. #26 by cancan on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 7:24 pm

I see hope for our country to be great again.

I see the marchers from various races fighting for our rights.
    As I have mentioned,we true Malaysians can live together in peace and harmony and fight together to face globalization.

It is the Umnoputras that are dividing the people.

Together we must displace them!

27. #27 by Chong Zhemin on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 7:40 pm

have you guys watched zam’s interview on Al-Jazeera?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1_GQ-K7P_w&eurl=http://www.merdekareview.com/news.php?n=5336

Check this out. He made himself a joker. What a shame!

28. #28 by k1980 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 7:45 pm

// I dare you to arrest their leaders, Anwar Ibrahim, Hadi Awang, Lim Kit Siang, and Raja Petra Kamarudin. //

Yeah, charge them with possessing weapons of mass destruction and jail them, just as Bush did with Saddam Hussein and company

29. #29 by cklife on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 7:53 pm

Well written. Don’t challenge them too much. You might have forgotten, they have ISA. If you come back from USA, you go ISA.

30. #30 by Jefus on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 8:15 pm

This yellow t shirts for the king on Mondays is an on going thing in Thailand to show reverence / respect for their King. If I remember correctly,Thursdays for the Queen.

31. #32 by St0rmFury on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 8:45 pm

Nah, I’m just going to wear yellow on Saturdays to remember November 10.

32. #33 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 8:59 pm

Bakri Musa: Quoting our PM “Saya pantang dicabar!” (lit: “I am allergic to challenges;” fig.).

I’m sorry to say your translation is rather inaccurate. Rather than translate it the best way is to describe it.

When you put nuts in front of a monkey, and then telling the monkey you expect to see those nuts when you return, you can almost hear the monkey saying, “Are you nuts??”.

That, in my opinion, best described how the PM must have felt when he ordered the FRU to fire its water cannons and rubber bullets at the crowd.

33. #34 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 9:01 pm

“You have now been challenged, Mr. Prime Minister, openly and publicly by your own citizens, and you have emerged impotent! ” Bakri

Why?? Somebody has taken his nuts???

34. #35 by anakbaram on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 9:07 pm

Democracy does not stop at the ballot box. The voters have the right of choosing the way the voted government is ruling the country all the time, during, after or before the election. We need the check and balance sytstem which can save us from people who abuse their power.

35. #36 by grace on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 9:17 pm

Pak Lah cakap besar sahaja. He has forgotten his remarks and all of us here are fuming mad.
    Most probably he is busy preparing for his nextoverseas trip!!! Ha!Ha!

Pak Lah would be singing, “I am leaving on a jet plane”

36. #37 by lupus on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 9:58 pm

Missed out on an important event in Malaysian History.

37. #38 by Godfather on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:12 pm

They have to keep Badawi away from responding to this challenge. He might end up being a liability to his own party. Their first act is to let loose their [deleted] Nazri and Zainuddeen Maideen.

38. #39 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:18 pm

“Pak Lah would be singing, “I am leaving on a jet plane””

39. #40 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:20 pm

Sorry guys. I’m in the mood for a lot of monkeying.

40. #41 by smeagroo on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:24 pm

” I am mentally challenged!”

41. #42 by Rocky on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:34 pm

# St0rmFury Says:
    November 12th, 2007 at 20: 45.52

Nah, I’m just going to wear yellow on Saturdays to remember November 10.

Sat is not effective as it is not a working day and some maybe at home. It should be a work day IMHO thus Monday is a good day as there wil be more people on the streets so to speak.or friday. Yes they do it in Thailand, why not here.Our royal colors is yellow..

42. #43 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:39 pm

“Khairy Jamaluddin obviously had not heard of your “demonstrations are not part of our Malay culture” bit. Either that or Khairy had blissfully ignored it as when he led that pathetic street demonstration against your official guest, US State Secretary Rice.” BAKRI MUSA

You see in my days studying public administration under an American professor, the term “management by whispers” a term contributed by UMNO, was not yet invented.

Listen to what V.K. Lingam said to the CJ on the tape. The word “whisper” was used many times. Now this is not a coincidence. “Bisek” ( or whisper) is a polite term used by Malays when he is trying to influence the boss – and in most cases involving personal favours. It is not appropriate to shout for favours!

Obviously, there were too many whispers into his ears and our PM couldn’t sort them out – who said what to him, why and when. The father thought the son-in-law was demonstrating for more freedom [deleted] little realising that the object of his “affection” was Secretary Rice.

43. #44 by Godfather on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 10:51 pm

Everybody sing “Who let the dogs out?”

44. #45 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 11:29 pm

Not me!

45. #46 by mendela on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 11:34 pm

There is not a single picture of the “Eleven Ten Up-Rising” appearing in the so-called main stream paper!

By the way, let’s call the historical event as “Eleven Ten UP-RISING” !

46. #47 by undergrad2 on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 11:36 pm

Careful with the use of the “delete” key, Kit! So far you have exercised it with the greatest of restraint which speaks well of you personally.

But posters should be allowed to vent their frustration. Unless anger and frustration is allowed to find its outlet, it will act like steam under pressure. It will result in more public demonstrations of the kind much worse than we saw on November 10.

47. #48 by mendela on Monday, 12 November 2007 - 11:52 pm

Even normally outspoken The Sun was been neutralized!

A sad day for Malaysia freedom of Speech!

48. #49 by 9to5 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:11 am

Those people who lament on the apparent lack of chinese participation in the Bersih rally, please don’t be disheartened! You have to understand the chinese mentality. They are not there to support the rally on that day merely because:

1. They are busy working to earn a living to support their family for they know they have no one to rely on but themselves; and

2. They are scared to get into trouble with the authorities for they know if they are picked up by the authorities, they will be whacked the hardest and no one will help them.

They will work even on the election day itself. They will make themselves free at 4.00 pm just before the election closes. They won’t shout. They won’t carry banners or march the streets. They will even smile, shake hands with the big shots and pose to the photographers.

But when they enter the election booth they will remember the rising prices, the kris rattling, the discrimination on their children’s education, the erosion of their business opportunities and the mockery on their chinese roots. They will know that – it is this minute that they are waiting for; all the marching and shouting don’t count anymore; it is only this minute that counts! They will put an “x” on the opposition!

Look at the most recent Machap election. The chinese overwhelmingly voted for the opposition so much so UMNO took the MCA and Gerakan to task. The majority indians voted for BN while the malay votes were splitted right down the middle.

Who knows with the success of the Bersih rally, more chinese will be emboldened to show their dissatisfactions in public. With more like-minded malay and NGOs’ support in Bersih, more Chinese will be emboldened to [deleted] vote for the oppositions!

Bersih, if the unity could be harnessed, would be a good platform and only chance to beat the corrupted UMNO!

49. #50 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:57 am

Undergrad2, please don’t be too assured of yourself. My postings too were deleted many times before and on reflection I think it was good thing that someone was able to see my follies. So please grow up. You are not as wise and as smart as you think. Please, you don’t have to respond to my comment. I know I have to behave likewise. One more thing, you don’t have to comment my posting on others’ behalf. Again, it is a manifestation of you not being very wise.

50. #51 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:09 am

Yes, they have been arrogantly corrupt, blatantly abusing power and hopelessly incompetent. Yes, they hate to be challenged. But to me the incumbents have always enjoyed enormous power and abundant resources at their disposal. They could be utterly unpopular, corrupt and self-conceited and yet they will remain in power for a long long time. We just have to look at Myanmar and North Korea today and apartheid South Africa of the past.

What we are seeing today in Malaysia is not the contest for ideals and the best policy approach for this beautiful country. It is essentially a contest for power. This is manifested through the alignment and realignment of politicians from one camp to another depending on whether they are in power or out of power, in favour or out of favour. So if we keep insisting with the arguments of putting the national interest above self, being democratic and being fair, I think it will fall on deaf ears for sure on the incumbents. It is not that those in power today do not know what constitute good governance, fair play, honesty and integrity. It is about seeking power and sustaining power once acquired.

Hence, if we just struggle to change personalities in the government without a substantive plan to change, strengthen and safeguard our institutions of government, I am afraid we will just end up replacing one inept regime with another. The issue of concern to me and many others is how do we ensure the new regime we put in power will not renege as we have seen in numerous countries. While fighting against the abusive power of the day, inevitably ideals are raised sky high and promises made to change for the better. It is my humble observation that all these are hard to come by unless individuas in government are circumscribed by institutions of checks and balance. In this regard, I am of the view that we don’t install people with power first and then hopefully wishing that checks and balance will come in later. The old maxim, power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely is true today as it was thousands of year ago. Good governments must start from day one. What is the plan of the opposition, NGOs and the people in general in this regard?

51. #52 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:24 am

“So please grow up” says the wise one!

Ready when you are, old chap!

That is when you are able to see the difference between the discovery of the United States and the discovery of the American continent, ‘300’ years ago and when you are ready to stop taking to task posters who in your ‘humble’ opinion are talking cock – and that you’re the only one who is not.

52. #53 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:33 am

“It is not that those in power today do not know what constitute good governance, fair play, honesty and integrity. It is about seeking power and sustaining power once acquired.”

Duh!!

Jeffrey, why does anyone feel the need to have an argument with himself?

53. #54 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:38 am

“The old maxim, power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely is true today as it was thousands of year ago.” Limkamput

Thanks for telling us! We never knew that before.

54. #55 by akarmalaysian on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 2:53 am

i dun see any wrongs for the people in exposing the governments wrong doings.but thr is something really wrong whn the people really expressed their views of discontentment in such a way thru rallies by the people and worse still by the turn out of the lawyers marching down the streets in these two different ocassions.i think the prime minister of today is the worst compared to the previous ones.i had very high hopes of this pm turning malaysia into a glorified nation but today….i really see him as the most useless pm of all lot.with his cryonies and suckers….and all the lies he himself only knws…god only knws how many times he has bitten his own tongue while eating the food the people has been paying for him.i think he seems to forget all abt that.”dun work for me….work with me”…so that i can show u how good corruption works with my administration…i guess thats what ur trying to tell us mr pm.

55. #56 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:02 am

Frankly, Limkaput

Reading your article (since you’re not addressing anyone in particular I assume it is) if you were a final year student studying political science I’d give you a C- on a good day (D meaning ‘conditional’ failure).

I don’t mean to insult you. Sorry. I hope it helps.

56. #57 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:18 am

My observation of you notoriously commenting out of context is right on target. I think other readers will judge your puny your brain, not me. With regard to your comment on USA and American continent, it is again a manifestation of your inability to handle some generality. For you, everything must be stated specific enough for a first grader to understand. If you are man enough, debate me like a gentleman. Please don’t resort to inciting others to go against me or soliciting support from another equally puny brain.

57. #58 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 3:41 am

Everybody seems to be a master here and everybody seems wanting to fail others the first opportunity he gets. Has it ever occurred to you that I have set a trap for you? Have you ever thought why I gave you a comment you deserve to be followed by an “article”? I want to see how you react and so far my experiment is a complete success. In case you have forgotten, you have praised me of my similar ideas before. So as we talked about lack of integrity, monkeys, nuts and banana on our PM, I want you to take a mirror and examine yourself very closely. My article is precisely meant for people having similar mentality like you if ever they come into power. What difference would they make? Is it worth the sacrifice of many who have to brave the rain and suffer water cannon and pepper spray?

58. #59 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:45 am

So now you’re calling by way of implication all 40,000 protesters morons! You’re calling Anwar a moron. You’re calling Lim Guan Eng a moron and of course Kit here! He too is a moron.

We are all guilty, according to you, of talking cock.

You already called Jeffrey stupid. You called me a moron. They are incomplete without the usual expletives. You may want to re-consider.

59. #60 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 5:52 am

“I too, challenge you, Abdullah!” Bakri Musa

Mr. Prime Minister, Bakri has dropped the gauntlet! Are you going to pick it up??

60. #61 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 6:12 am

“Since the only lesson that would register on their thick skulls is election returns, my friend Din Merican had started a campaign to register voters. ” Bakri Musa

It’s a losing battle folks!

First the Election Commission has long been a tool of the political party running the government. We know that the Commission has been drawing and re-drawing boundaries of constituencies to divide the opposition minded electorate.

Secondly, in many cases when UMNO lost the Malay vote and along with it the constituency, they would summon Zaki Tun Azmi, the recently appointed federal court judge (without even being an appeals court judge) to have the election results declared null and void for ‘offences’ committed under the Electoral Offences Act 1954. Zaki has always been a ‘resourceful’ lawyer. He always coached his witnesses. As a lawyer he knew he should not.

Now this guy sits on the Federal Court. What chance do we have?

61. #62 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 6:28 am

Back to basics.

Let’s not sidetrack from the core issues, the pressing demands of the day. If we lose focus & the electrons get deflected, our energies dissipate with the tide at a time when we should ride with its crest.

Speaking of PM AAB, I have heard many UMNO members speak derisively of his abilities and his Hadharism; their contempt is undisguised behind his back. It’s not just the Opposition that wants his scalp; many of those fawning, flattering UMNO-ristas who surround him wish him dead but don’t know how. In front of PM, they bow & kiss his hands (and would have licked his fingers if allowed) just to get the crumbs (read “contracts”) that might be stuck in between those grubby fingers.The problem with the UMNO-system & Bodohland is that the PM is all-powerful & wreak havoc at the drop of a hat. But when the PM is also the Finance Minister & Home Minister, then he is an Omnipotent demi-God all rolled in one. Even though the demi-god is one as lifeless and as stupid as AAB, people will still worship him the way animists worship “blocks, stones, worse than senseless things”.

On second thoughts, I think TDM ought to be thanked for such a dope PM. The Machiavellian TDM had intended that this dope be a ‘caretaker’ PM for a brief season. But as fate would have it, never before in Malaysian history has the BN been so vulnerable.

It is obvious GE days are close. We must not lose the momentum we have gained. Let’s all give our support & energies for the Yellow wave and trust the tide will clean Malaysia once & for all. I am all for the Royal Commission for the Judiciary, one more for the ACA and one more for the Police and one more for the excesses and abuses of the Cabinet and accounatbility from the days of TDM and Tun Daim.

62. #63 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 6:38 am

Save your blasts for the nazi-istic Nazri. This guy goes bonkers with blasts that goes off like an air-horn! He speaks nonsesense all the time; to be fair, all the time when he weighs in on some heavyweight issues in the press!

Opposition are ‘pondans’ – Nazri’s tirade
    Nov 12, 07 6:23pm
    The minister goes ballistic over the mammoth weekend rally. Apart from calling the opposition ‘wimps’, he also says that the ‘wires in their heads are severed’.

63. #64 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 6:54 am

Hello PM Pak Lah, neiither the cowl nor the habit maketh the monk.

It’s nice to be a PM but just as the hood does not make the monk, neither would a mere title endear a PM to a nation. It’s crunch time – 4 years is more than enough to prove a person’s worthlessness as a PM. In fact the first 100 days was sufficient evidence of your weak and bumbling style. But the people had been graceful and forgiving. There comes a time when God would not even tolerate a monk in a false cowl. I think the time of reckoning has arrived. If you know what is good for the nation (not necessarily for you!), then I would suggest, Mr PM, Sir, that you kindly call for a GE quickly and also announce your resignation and desire not to re-contest. God bless you.

64. #65 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 7:25 am

“In front of PM, they bow & kiss his hands (and would have licked his fingers if allowed) just to get the crumbs (read “contracts”) that might be stuck in between those grubby fingers.” ENDANGERED HORNBILL

I cannot agree more with you, Hornbill.

Not only would they lick his fingers but they would say, “It’s finger lickin’ good!”

I don’t know anything though about those “grubs stuck in between those grubby fingers” but I feel you’re about to start another firestorm in Parliament – the first was when you likened the Hon. Minister of Information to a monkey going bananas with his nuts, or something in that order!

65. #66 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 7:28 am

“There comes a time when God would not even tolerate a monk in a false cowl. I think the time of reckoning has arrived. ” ENDANGERED HORNBILL

I’d be careful if I were you because you are likely to be accused of ‘talking cock’ on this blog!

66. #67 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 7:42 am

HORNBILL “There comes a time when God would not even tolerate a monk…”

Leave God alone! He is already has His hands busy in Iraq, Afghanistan and now Pakistan.

Pakistan may soon have odd couples ruling it. There are now contenders to power i.e. Bhutto and General Ashfak! You bet we’re going to have lots of fun with these two names.

I don’t understand why news anchors on Malaysian TV insist on mis-pronouncing Benazir Bhutto’s name.

67. #68 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 8:11 am

undergrad2 Says:

November 13th, 2007 at 07: 42.37
    HORNBILL “There comes a time when God would not even tolerate a monk…”

Leave God alone! He is already has His hands busy in Iraq, Afghanistan and now Pakistan.

Yeah, there is no shortage of sinners who keep God busy. God is busy but His hands are not full!

This PM is making God work overtime! You know the way God works. He gives you a long rope & sinners think it fun to make lassoes out of them. What happens next….? Everybody knows where lassoes go….. wrapped around bullshitters!

My question is: Does this PM know?

I think the Malaysian lasso is almost ready. Are the bullshitters ready?

68. #69 by undergrad2 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 8:33 am

Yep. To know more about the “lasso” go here http://images.google.com/images?q=lasso&hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=X&oi=images&ct=title

You bet our PM knows how to lasso! The last time he visited President Bush was at his ranch. There, I was made to understand, Bush taught him how to lass – and lasso he did!

69. #70 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 8:43 am

If AAB got any chutzpah, he would have a public debate with Anwar on Bersih and whether their action is appropriate. Hell if he has any smart he would get Najib to do it for him. Obviously they would get creamed.

In fact, this is something Anwar should ask for – a public debate on the election from either one of them or anyone..

The PM should realize the dearth of real abilities in entire UMNO if they cannot find anyone to have an open debate with Anwar.

70. #71 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 9:35 am

Undergrad2,
    Since you asked for it, I am calling you and those with similar mentality like you morons. Please don’t be smug. You are no Anwar, Kit or Guan Eng. You are a spineless talk cock king, that is what you are!

71. #72 by The_Dude on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 10:42 am

As the chinese saying goes:
    Paper cannot cover the fire.
    Not all Malaysians are ignorant. You can try all you want to block the truth from the TV or the papers or even the net. But the truth will find its way.

72. #73 by optimuz on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:29 pm

undergrad2 Says:

November 12th, 2007 at 06: 09.33
    Can somebody tell me why the majority of demonstrators were from one race? Very few Indians. Is it a case of “where the wind blows??”

Undergrad2,

You left this comment in one of the previous threads..care to explain your reasons for stating this? And, this would not be the first time you’ve had something to say about the indians – I recall a particularly nasty one you made sometime back.

At least if you come out and say that you are racist, I can respect that…but don’t hide behind ‘intelligent’ comments whilst trying to look cultured and then let your true colors show what you are really made of.

73. #74 by limkamput on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 12:42 pm

Optimuz, I, LIMKAMPUT, absolutely agreed with you. Undergrad2 is an insignificant piece of nothing. He tried to be smug, but is a hallow sophistication. He tried to be cultured and refined, but he is vulgar and filthy. He tried to be wise, but his comments are often out of context. He tried to be a liberal, but his comments are often tainted with bigotry. He tried to demonstrate fair play, but he is most manipulative and treacherous. He tried to be an intellectual, but he is actually intellectually corrupt.

74. #75 by k1980 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 1:12 pm

Bush taught him how to lass – and lasso he did! He lassoed jean

75. #76 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 4:20 pm

Limkamput,

Optimuz is seeking clarification on a specific comments made by Undergrad2, there’s no reason for you to seize the opportunity to launch into a personal tirade on another poster in manner you did. Posters here are interested in comments and discussion in respect to what YB Kit raised in the thread – and not have the bandwith here expended on what you think of another poster or vice versa what others think of you.

76. #77 by DAP118 on Tuesday, 13 November 2007 - 6:18 pm

GOOD JOB FOR DAP

77. #78 by DarkHorse on Wednesday, 14 November 2007 - 6:01 am

To limkamput

Why don’t you just buzz off! We don’t need scumbags like you around here.

78. #79 by lafuzi on Thursday, 15 November 2007 - 2:46 pm

For those who can read mandarin you can link to this blog

lafuzi.blogspot.com for more articles.

以下言论纯屬 Buie Ta Han,如有雷同,请去康(布)城影展。
    大马《不能去的. 集会》已在上星期六 10-11-2007 上影首影礼啦!
    大会在首影礼當天共出动几千名警察去Block人,害有些影迷去不到大妈皇家大影院看首影礼。可是警方还是蛮体贴影迷的,现场还有提供免费水喝(有化学成分的水炮?)、免费烟抽(催泪弹?)、免费咖哩饭,全场提供免费保安service,可说是爱 ‘迷’如子,可却是有点 “烂贿”( 浪费) 警力,叫你捉贼又不见这么有效率。
    这部本土大製作的电影共有四万多人参于拍摄, 阵容浩大, 出动镇暴队、直升机、水炮、催泪弹等, 大可比美成龍的电影。
    正副阿头及各大狗官也为《不能去的.集会》提供免费的宣传,在各大报章及电视台讲述电影观后感言,《不能去的.集会》可说是抢尽风头,本年度最佳电影非它莫属,本片惊震各大影展,尤其是康城 (布城?) 影展。
    内容讲述继去年在台湾搞一场《爱台湾. 红军倒扁大呛声》之后, 红军大哥大 “死不得” 率领红军下南洋, 继续他的爱心之旅, 當他來到《大妈国》, 看到咱们的“大烂爸”杜爸爸跟台湾的阿扁总统 “一样”—《當初没权好榜样, 如今當权变了样, 你跟阿扁没两样, 贪嗔痴都一个样》 所以决定又來搞一场《爱大妈. 黄军倒啊大呛声》, 來怀念以前的大妈,如今大妈去了,杜爸爸也娶了小妈,《大妈国》也变了样. . . . .
    《不能去的.集会》 电影主题曲也跟《不能说的.秘密》一样,选用了蔡琴的名曲—《如果没有你》
    如果没有你日子很好过
    我的心也碎我的事都不能做
    如果没有你日子很好过
    反正肠已断我就只能去示威
    我不管Block有多么多
    我不管路有多么塞
    只要有你伴着我
    我的日子就没法活
    如果没有你日子很好过
    你快下台我才能好好的活

NG.1
    阿杜: “ 他們企圖把馬來統治者或國家元首,推向他們設下的政治陷阱.無論如何,我相信國家元首是明白事理及成熟的,陛下是不會輕易掉入反對黨的政治陷阱。”
    无知的人民甲: “哎呦! 别以为每个人都像你一样,优柔寡断,没有立场,只会任 “里”摆佈。”

NG.2
    烂吉: “示威不是马来西亚的文化。”
    无知的人民乙: “ 喔! 那贪污滥权殺人炸屍就是马来西亚的文化? ”

NG.3
    垃废她:“ 外资不受示威影响。”
    政府:“ 示威会破坏国家稳定,继而对经济构成负面影响。”
    无知的人民丙: “ 喔! 原來垃废她你不能代表政府。”

NG.4
    木沙吓山:“ 警方或援引《2001年儿童保护法令》起诉携带孩童参加万人诉求公平选举和平大集会”的父母。”
    路人甲:“ 您伯我带孩子出门难道还要你批凖? ”
    路人乙:“警方发射催泪弹和水炮时有没有儿童在?如果没有,就根本不存在‘把儿童置于危险境地’的问题;如果有,为何儿童在,警方还照旧射,是谁去伤害儿童?”
    路人丙:“如果人多的地方就有危险,那么警方是否认为父母不应携带孩子出席大型庆典、球赛、演唱会等?”
    小孩丁: “ Yahoo!!!! 明天起我不用去上课了! ”
    爸爸丁: “ 为什么? ”
    小孩丁: “警察叔叔讲有很多人的地方就会有危险, 那我的学校也有很多的人, 那我不是很危险? ”
    爸爸丁: “ . . . . . ”

NG.5
    菜如丁:“你相信十万人会参与?巫统要号召五万人的集会都难!……”
    记者:“明明是有四万多人的集会, 可是上头说只凖报导只有四千人。记者这行饭是越來越难混下去了. . . ”

NG.6
    Yoyo大人: “政府已盡所能滿足各造的要求,人民應珍惜,不應得寸進尺。”
    律师: “ 你这样说可是在恐吓人民? You know law? You know human rights? You know SHIT la! Shut up la you! 您伯等你的lawyer信来sue我la, 笨 !!!”
    NG.7
    法国巴黎的国际人权运动联合会发言人 : “我们谴责马来西亚警方的暴力行为及任意拘捕和平示威者,并认为他们侵犯了马来西亚《联邦宪法》第十条款及《联合国人权宣言》第20条款承认的和平集会权利。”
    警方发言人 : “Kita ikut boss punya order sahaja la,Kita pun susah juga,sekarang mahu cari makan bukan senang oh,take it easy la…”

NG.8
    欧盟委员会驻马来西亚大使蒂耶里农梅 :” 今天,这个国家仍然活在紧急状态之中,马来西亚选举不公平已经不是一个秘密,大马至今仍然沿用多条紧急状态时期残留的法律,例如允许未经审讯进行扣留的紧急法令(Emergency Ordinance)和内安法令。政府根据本身的诠释,来动用这些属于紧急动乱时期的法律。”
    菜鳥记者甲:”妈的!!!代志大条了,明天又有得忙了,又要开OT了…shit……”
    老鳥记者乙:”你跟我定啦! 欧盟大使的这编稿一定会被block掉的啦! 明天顺顺又一天。”
    老鳥记者丙:”就是嘛! èµ°èµ°èµ°! 我请你们喝Kopi。”
    . . . . . 五分鐘后. . . .
    Kopi店老板:”老板! Kopi來了,三杯4塊半。”
    老鳥记者丙:”哇兰A! 三杯Kopi4塊半,你比阿窿还好赚ler! ”
    Kopi店老板:”老板! 现在什么东西都涨嘛。我也是贵來贵卖。不过你们可以Claim 阿公的账啊! 三杯Claim个几十塊,喝Kopi还有得赚喔!”
    老鳥记者丙:”对! 对! 对! 不Claim白不Claim! 反正都是阿公的钱,老板! 给我打包Kopi 冰5包、Dunhill 10包、20粒大包。回去我可以报大数. . . 嘻嘻!!! Claim 500å¡Š OK ç“œ!”

NG.9

阿杜 : “我禁忌受到挑战!!!”
    华安 : “4万说成是4千,真的很禁忌受到挑战!!!”

NG. 10

阿杜 : “Saya patang dicabar!!!”
    无知的人民丁: “我还patang到想去mit你的肾,拆你家的祖坟呢!!!”

NG.11
    华安:”感谢阿杜如此大的反应和“关照”,让原本井然有序的和平请愿活动陷入混乱。可能若没有他们的干预,这场集会就变得不完美了,有了他们的嘉勉,为集会加油、打气顺便做好防范措施,不是正好让所有人都注目这件事情吗?阿杜的水準真差,三两下就给我利用了。嘻嘻!!! ”

NG.12
    上星期六首影礼由於人潮太多,警方出动直升机在上空巡視,阿杜、阿里、阿吉也跟上去玩。阿吉:”如果我丟一千塊下去,撿到那一個人一定很高興。’阿里說:”如果我丟兩張五百元下去,那就有兩個人很高興了。” 阿杜說:”如果我丟十張一百元下去,就有十個人很高興了。” 這個時候 ……..?駕駛員喃喃自語地說:”何不把你们通通都丟下去,讓兩千七百万人都高興呢 ?”

NG.13
    上星期六首影礼,阿杜、驸马爺…等大官一起參加对付首影礼紧急會議,結果發生連環車禍,送至醫院急 救,記者們聞風赶至醫院 …. 稍久,醫生出來了,記者忙著問:”醫生!醫生!阿杜有救嗎?” 醫生沮喪的搖搖頭說:’唉.. 阿杜沒救了… “記者又問:’醫生!醫生!驸马爺有救嗎?” 醫生又沮喪的搖搖頭說:”唉…也沒救了… ” 記者就問:”é‚£…到底誰有救?” 醫生精神一振說:”马來西亞有救了!”

NG.14
    阿杜希望提高自己的聲望,想要發行一款有自己肖像的首影礼郵票….. 首影礼郵票發行几天之后,阿杜想要問看看視察看看銷路如何….. 阿杜:”銷售情形怎么樣?” 郵政總局局長:”銷售一路长虹,就如驸马爺的人气般旺,只不過常常有人抱怨黏不牢!”阿杜:”怎么會呢?”阿杜隨手拿了一張郵票,涂了一點口水在郵票背面,便試貼在信封上….. 阿杜:”這樣不是 黏得很緊嗎?” 郵政總局局長:”可是……大家….都把口水吐在正面啊…… ”

P/S : 买《不能去的.集会》DVD送MV+NG片段加长版
    MV 1— http://youtube.com/watch?v=-D37wYFD3ro
    MV 2— http://youtube.com/watch?v=mNYVNj-tPeA

更多文章于 lafuzi.blogspot.com

79. #80 by ktteokt on Friday, 16 November 2007 - 8:57 am

Is he saying he is “absolute”?