Forum on civil service excellence

English Forum: Civil Service Excellence: Quality vs Quantity

The Government must hence take the painful but very important step of trimming the civil service sector into a leaner and more efficient “machine”. The increase in pay will be a waste of public funds, if the move is not accompanied by a corresponding increase in civil service productivity.” – Tony Pua

Pergerakan Pemuda UMNO mendesak Pua dan DAP mengambil langkah memperbetulkan kata-kata mereka yang langsung tidak bertimbang rasa dan begitu menghina sekali.”

Pua’s negative comments about the civil service can cause considerable damage to the morale and image of the public sector.” – Khairy Jamaluddin

Speakers:

Lim Kit Siang, Parliamentary Opposition Leader

Lim Guan Eng, DAP Secretary-General

Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, PKR Secretary-General

A. H. Ponniah, former Secretary of Public Service International (Asia-Pacific Region)

Nurul Izzah Anwar, Special Assistant to Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim

Tony Pua, Economic Advisor to DAP Secretary-General

Open invitation to Khairy Jamaluddin, UMNO Deputy Youth Chief

Venue: KL & Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall

Date: 30th May 2007 (Wednesday)

Time: 8.00 pm

Admission is Free

1. #1 by ahkok1982 on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 6:54 pm

First thing to question Khairy, does he know how is the image of the public service sector at this point in time? if he doesnt already know that is is worse than the crap that comes out of my butt, then he has no right to say that he wants to protect the public sector’s image. if he really wants to protect it, then he would have done something about it a long long time ago.
    now only come out to be jaguh kampung…

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 6:55 pm

It is good that the DAP has a well qualified spokesman to talk about the civil service.

We have spent billions of ringgit in IT upgrading and yet the numbers just grow unchecked.
    http://malaysiawatch2.blogspot.com/2007/05/civil-servants-to-spare.html

3. #3 by boh-liao on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 7:13 pm

KJ, please participate. Don’t just talk behind people’s back and abuse the BN-controlled press and media to make false and twisted statements. Show some class and justify your Oxford pedigree!

4. #4 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 7:20 pm

Anyone who has seen Imelda Marcos and her avalanche of shoes is entitled to speak of her ‘indecent opulence’.

Anyone who has seen the bloated Malaysian civil service is entitled to call it what it is: ‘a bloated civil service’. And that with no apologies, notwithstanding what a not-so-young-anymore third-rate Oxford upstart who goes by the name of KJ says!

5. #5 by Donald on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 8:28 pm

There are so many civil servants who get the cemerlang medals, who get the Dato’ship title, who get promotion, who get this and who get that and you say that they are not good enough ? Why ? Did you find out that the promoted officers owe money everywhere, did you find out that the promoted officers are so slow and make even simple mistakes ? Did you find out that promoted officers have no experience but act like they are so great ? Huh ? Did you find out that it is so easy to preach about integrity, transparency, good leadership, good managerial skills and so on and so forth and yet in reality all these are just crap ? You are excellent because you are just a tool, not because you are a good worker.

6. #6 by Cinapek on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 9:03 pm

Both Oxford graduates.

But one cut his teeth in the international business arena and made it successfully on merit. The other hid in his own kampung and behind the NEP and his half asleep FIL to achieve what little “jaguh kampung” title and handouts he can lay his grubby hands on.

That’s the difference.

7. #7 by smeagroo on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 10:03 pm

I think even if Tony Pua goes to KJ’s mansion at wait at the dorr this jaguh kampung wont even dare to come out and face a debate.

Be a man KJ and attend the meeting for the sake of your FIL and you yourself. Tony is not gonna eat you up. Just state your case and let the people decide. Afterall, not all of us are that dumb. We can make and form our own decisions later.

8. #8 by democrate on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 10:10 pm

“Pua’s negative comments about the civil service can cause considerable damage to the morale and image of the public sector.” – Khairy Jamaluddin
    KJ, lets listen, as a tax payer, we hv every right to comments.Talking on morale i personally witness an immigration officer smoking in the air con booth at time of duty just after two days of the announcement of salary review. KJ, what will be yr reaction ? Morality? you do not behave like a man from Oxford you are from a Siferd University as a Cantonese says.

9. #9 by WFH on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 11:08 pm

I honestly hope Tony Pua, by now well known for his self-made successes in the corporate/business arena in Spore, will develop into be a good, tough yet caring politician.

He has the qualities which do not qualify him to be a true-blue politician. To see what I mean, just look at the already “very successful” BN/UMNO high-flying politicians. To start with, Tony Pua has brainpower – has the BN (specifially UMNO) gang got the equivalent of just one brain, among all of them, in aggregate? Doubt so.

I honestly hope Tony Pua makes it as a successful politician in the rough-tough-and-tumble world of Malaysian politics. I wonder if there are reasons YB not to have already pursuaded Dr Lim Teck Ghee and others like him to come on board, in a largely political role? There is a very justified necessity and strong need to have on board strong and reknowned professionals in all fields to start to evolve a picture of what a DAP-led (or DAP-partnered) alternative government (lets just say a state) might look like. If not to be called a shadow cabinet, at least have the candidate possibilities in a loose form, then raise their profiles, individually and also collectively, into something appearing to be a credible team of managers from where good governance can be expected, unlike the present bunch of airheads in BN.

10. #10 by cklife on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 11:26 pm

This guy is apparently trained in UK.
    Khairy….
    THE BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT MALAYSIA EVER SEEN.

Not reputable to discuss any issues. I don’t even know how this guy gets into politics. Must have been the great Father-In-Law that brings him in. He’s nothing without the great PM.

NOTHING.

NOTHING.

NOTHING.

Unless he can win this challenge.

HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

KHAIRY KHAIRY.. BUDAK TAK BELAJAR if he didn’t win or refuse to join.

BUDAK TAK BELAJAR,

KHAIRY BUDAK TAK BELAJAR.

PI LAH JAGUH KAMPONG….Khairy… Kalo ko baco ni, aku nak britahu ko.. ko memang bodoh.. hina sebagai orang msia… langsung tidak menimbangkan kito orang melayu yang miskin…. dah lar kayo ngan investment… mentang mentang duit haram tu….

KITO ORG MSIA XNAK JAGUH KAMPONG YG BERLAGOK…
    KALO DTG KELATE, GUE MESTI KASI LUDAH KAT MUKO KO…

Pi lar KHAIRY… KALO NAK JADI MELAYU TULEN… KO MENANG DEBATE NI.. JANGAN MENJATUHKAN MARUAH BANGSO KITO…

11. #11 by lakshy on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 11:43 pm

Guys, grab hold of Syed Akbar Alis’s book, “To digress a little”. Good reading, and shows the malay civil service mentality, its beureaucracy and inefficiency which is stifling this country and encouraging people to invest elsewhere.

12. #12 by lakshy on Monday, 28 May 2007 - 11:45 pm

Also remember what the Chief of Police said once the pay rise was announced? Now there is no reason for cops to accept bribes. The salaries have been riased…….Now is that an admission or what?

So tell me again what happened to the IPCMC? Is now a good time to launch it since the CPO is saying his men should be clean now?

13. #13 by mendela on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 12:35 am

Now all the “main stream” newspapers are totally sided to UMO. All such shit papers are totally “unreadable’!

Guess it is high-time to bring in Jimmy Carter to help to monitor how “fair” the up-coming election will be…

14. #14 by DarkHorse on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 1:04 am

“The Government must hence take the painful but very important step of trimming the civil service sector into a leaner and more efficient “machine”. The increase in pay will be a waste of public funds…”

Why should they?? It is all about disguised unemployment. Imagine what idle brains could do. They cause revolutions to happen. They don’t want that! It is a ‘small’ price to pay. A huge cost for the tax payers both in monetary terms and in terms of quality of service and man hours lost in coping with the poor quality.

15. #15 by pwcheng on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 1:50 am

“Pergerakan Pemuda UMNO mendesak Pua dan DAP mengambil langkah memperbetulkan kata-kata mereka yang langsung tidak bertimbang rasa dan begitu menghina sekali”
    Whoever said this is true to earth a liar and will never dare to face the truth unless he takes the few minority of good civil servants as a reference and such quality civil servants are like a pin in the haystack.
    I think he is defending the civil servants from his own experiences with them and not from the viewpoint of an ordinary citizen. Of course he will be given special treatment or attention. A random survey will provide an answer which he will not even want to believe.

16. #16 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 2:10 am

“Pua’s negative comments about the civil service can cause considerable damage to the morale and image of the public sector.” – Khairy Jamaluddin

Did he sounded like a Prime Minister that cannot diffrentiate what is positive or negative? Khairy might want to explain “considerable damage to the morale and image” and elaborate to what extent the damage in the public sector will cost us and Malaysia. I strongly encourage Khairy Jamaludin to attend the forum to air his view, provided if he got balls. But don’t bring the balls if you are going, bring your head, will you?

17. #17 by tribemanx on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 2:19 am

KJ, jangan nak menyalak macam anjing gila di KLCC la. Nak jaga kuncu kuncu dengan duit gomen, jangan sembunyi di sebalik yalak kau. Kami suda bosan dengan drama anak derhaka umno. Pegi la, jadi jagoh atau jagung kampung la.

18. #18 by dawsheng on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 2:21 am

“Pergerakan Pemuda UMNO mendesak Pua dan DAP mengambil langkah memperbetulkan kata-kata mereka yang langsung tidak bertimbang rasa dan begitu menghina sekali.”

This sentence was constructed to raise anger, which in the end will result in racial sentiment for the fact that most civil servants are of Malay race.

19. #19 by DiaperHead on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 2:55 am

Translated:

UMNO Youth calls for Pua and the DAP to reword their statement which is insensitive and an insult.

In other words, why don’t you just shut the [deleted] up!!

20. #20 by sotong on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 7:06 am

This is typical of our country ” leaders”……making gross immature, divisive and irresponsible statement to score cheap political points.

How could a political party put such an immature, inexperience and irresponsible person in that position in the first place? This speaks volume of the people the political party put in place to lead and show good leadership to the ordinary people.

21. #21 by pamelaoda on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 7:25 am

Oxford – Ox means bull so we have a bull full of shits! The last breed of its kind and was taken by AAB and now is categorised as an endangered species thus he can walk like a crap (crab)!

22. #22 by ahkok1982 on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 7:27 am

i would like to enquire if it would actually b possible for oxford to actually detract his degree. seeing someone who graduated fr there who shows no mental capabilities and is someone who stabs ppl’s back to score political points… i think oxford will definitely b v disappointed. maybe send some vid clips n newspaper clippings about KJ to e dean of Oxford n also write a letter to him asking, “is this what Oxford produces?”.
    Samseng betul…

23. #23 by k1980 on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 8:28 am

http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/05/more-pics-video-woman-driver-refusing.html
    HOW much is your mother’s life worth? For a private hospital in Petaling Jaya, a mere RM10,000, apparently. That was the amount the hospital allegedly demanded from Yek Yong Hon, 21, to treat his dying mother, who was injured after being involved in a horrific traffic accident. She had rammed into another car in her bid to escape from road bullies, who had earlier smashed her vehicle. However, Yek said he was unable to raise RM10,000 and had to wait a full hour before she was eventually transferred to the Kuala Lumpur Hospital.

24. #24 by FuturePolitician on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 10:00 am

its a sad day for socrates..k1980

25. #25 by Jimm on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 10:15 am

k1980,
    She happens to be a commoner. This is our country way of getting things done. You should have known these before. Actually, the books of these ‘incidents’ are too thick …

26. #26 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 10:20 am

The debate on the quality v quantity of the civil service does not necessarily have to be ‘politicised’.

Whoever runs the government has to work with the civil service.

Whoever works with the civil service will be better off with a lean and mean civil service that is dynamic, efficient and responsive to the nation’s administrative and developmental needs.

Whoever inherits the civil service will be saddled with the financial baggage, work ethics, infrastructure and whatever else comes with the total package which makes the civil sevice tick.

C’mon KJ, you are the Goliath, why shy away from the small ‘David’ that is Tony Pua. Make it prime-time over TV3. The nation can enjoy some good intellectual exchange. This will be better entertainment than American Idol, Manchester United or Siti Nurhaliza put together!

Over to you, KJ. If you chicken out, well, you won’t be able to – no, you can’t quite claim to be Oxon-stuff. Henceforth, when people call you an ostrich or an ox, it will be so very difficult for you to parry off the sneers and derisory remarks. So take a stand. Likely, there will be no winners or losers. There will be so many ceteris paribuses, if you know what I mean.

Bite the bullet as some say. Take the bull by the horns. Honestly, I’d rather you show that you have balls rather than act like a sloganeering demagogue as you have done so far in Ijok et al. Oxonians have balls and they show it! They don’t hide behind Father-In-Law’s coattails or daughter’s skirts!

27. #27 by Jimm on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 10:21 am

YB LKS,
    We all know that KJ will never turn up for these activities especially when the opposition are stronger.
    Anyway, KJ’s objectives has also accomplished by making opposition going around and doing back tracking to explain their causes. We all must learn from these action and reaction impact.
    As GE are drawing nearer, KJ will make sure that opposition keep talking too much on ‘weak’ agendas whereby the BN coalitions will focus on the masterplan to ‘win’ biig again.
    Do not lose focus on the main agendas …
    Malaysian will know which one to be highlighted and those to be ‘just for attention and information’. All these will make Malaysian wiser and knowledgable ….

28. #28 by mwt on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 11:57 am

So much has been said about the “Poor Civil Service” delivery. What about the services provided by the professionals. Look at the controversy over the errant lawyers. Police believe these lawyers are still in the country after conducting checks with Immigration Department. These ex-lawyers ended up misusing money in their clients’ accounts – amount varies from hundreds of thousands of ringgit to millions. More of them should be brought to book if there is sufficient publicity given to these faceless people. In fact one was caught hiding in the Marang resort with his wife enjoying his spoils afetr a tip off.
    Formca is also asking the white collar crooks in other professions be exposed. Look at the engineers & the consultants and their associates. They are NOT committing CBTs as such but under legally binding contracts and concessions, they are siphoning away Not the clients’ money but the RAKYAT one. And these lawyers are only pocketing that fistful of millions. All of them know the laws and how to get around them

Publicity is what they don not want and with the advent of the Internet, they can really be put to shame under whatever identities they might have assumed under hiding.
    More details and a video clip (bar council president assuring public) at:
    http://powerpresent.blogspot.com/2007/05/more-pics-video-millionaire-lawyers.html

29. #29 by lchk on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 3:40 pm

I will be at the forum. Anyone else coming?

30. #30 by taikohtai on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 7:23 pm

Pl send me video clip of forum but only if KJ turns up, ok?
    I am not holding my breath though :).

31. #31 by ihavesomethingtosay on Tuesday, 29 May 2007 - 8:59 pm

KJ will turn up with 10,000 stinking Mat Armpits…….

or KJ will just block up his anus?

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 30 May 2007 - 12:05 am

Oxonians have balls and they show it! ” HORNBILL

No wonder all those flashers you see at Wimbledon Tennis are Oxford grads!

33. #33 by akarmalaysian on Wednesday, 30 May 2007 - 12:08 am

i dunno who this KJ is except fr the news that i hv read from.apart fr being a son in law of our present PM he doesnt really impress people fr various walks of life.hes too naive and immature dats one thing for sure.if he thinks he can impress the people the image of public sector i suggest he better think twice b4 wat he’s gonna say.thrs nothing wrong if Pua comes out with constructive criticism.its good to let people knw to wat extent the public sector’s image is to most of the malaysian people at the moment.damage done to these kind of remarks?i dun think so KJ.instead of hopping mad and responded like a wild and idiotic jaguh kampong…try to find out whr the system of the public sector’s image go wrong.to be truthful i dun think KJ can handle any sort of issues pertaining government sectors needless to say hes got any knowledge,wits,wisdom,brain,moral and respect to counter any criticism or allegations.i dunno how he got into politics and if he tinks hes got a bunch of mat rempits behind him thn hes heading for trouble.i just hope if he really wanna brighten and polish his political career…just behave and truly think like a malaysian among malaysians…not within UMNO or the color hes shedding.we hv great people in malaysia.great leaders among the common people.colors that shine among each other.dun spoil it by being an immature jaguh kampong.malaysia is not for UMNO alone.pls remember dat and dun get carried away.malaysia is for EVERYONE.

34. #34 by Godamn Singh on Wednesday, 30 May 2007 - 9:53 am

Isn’t it a contradiction in terms – ‘civil service’?? What’s so civil about our civil service when these guys go about insulting your intelligence?