Most Shameful Mother’s Day in nation’s history

Sunday will be the most shameful Mother’s Day in the nation’s history.

This is because the dignity of women had been dishonoured in Parliament with Barisan Nasional MPs thumping the table in glee and joy when DAP MP for Batu Gajah Fong Po Kuan failed in her effort to redeem the dignity of Malaysian women and salvage the good name of Parliament.

Today is a day of shame for Parliament, when Barisan Nasional MPs abused their 91% parliamentary majority to gang up, support and defend two of their number, Datuk Mohd Said Yusuf (Jasin) and Datuk Bung Mokhtar Radin (Kinabatangan), who had made vulgar, sexist and offensive remarks against Po Kuan yesterday when DAP MPs raised the subject of Parliament ceiling leaks after a RM100 million renovation works — saying “Batu Gajah pun bocor tiap-tiap bulan pun bocor juga”.

The Speaker, Tan Sri Ramli Ngah Talib returned to the Dewan Rakyat Chamber after lunch recess at 2.30 p.m. to reject Po Kuan’s application to move a privilege motion to refer Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar to the Committee of Privileges on the ground that Po Kuan had not invoked Standing Order 26(1)(p) with regard to the alleged breach “when it occurred” as required — i.e. yesterday itself.

I asked Ramli whether before making his decision to reject Po Kuan’s application on a technicality, he had referred to Erskine May’s Parliamentary Practice, the authoritative work on parliamentary practices and procedures, where it is stated very clearly that “when it occurred” in S.O. 26(1)(p) had been interpreted in most Commonwealth Parliaments to mean “at the first available opportunity”.

In the case in point, when Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar made the vulgar, sexist and offensive remarks, DAP MPs could not hear them both because of the din and pandemonium at the time and being seated far away from the duo. However, they were heard distinctly by reporters and other BN MPs who sat near the duo.

For Po Kuan, raising the privilege motion this morning was her “first available opportunity” after reading press reports.

My objection and those from other DAP MPs were of no avail, and it was most sickening to see BN MPs cheering as if they had won some great victory — when what they had done was the despicable and disgraceful act of giving solidarity to Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar for their vulgar, sexist and offensive remarks against women.

It is most deplorable that BN MPs, including women MPs, who had heard the duo making vulgar, sexist and offensive remarks yesterday, had not stood up to defend women’s dignity and Parliament’s honour.

1. #1 by smeagroo on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:03 pm

BN women MPs also hv no honor la. Let’s put it this way. They dont hv bocor problem every month. They are passed their prime and usefulness.

2. #2 by raven77 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:19 pm

Dear LKS,

Take it to the world press and mass media…I think Malaysians have had and seen enough….and dont forget to link it to Altantunya

3. #3 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:19 pm

What say you Shahrizat. Tak payah tanya Kak Rapida sb dia dah tak bocoh lagi da, da cukup tua.

4. #4 by toyolbuster on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:23 pm

Thats how shallow-minded people behave when they only have [deleted] as their brains. And to think that such people are governing our country, it is indeed shameful. So sorry to all the mothers in the world that we have such disgraceful MPs and we blame it on our PM who has not woken up still from his sleep

5. #5 by JACK THE RIPPER on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:23 pm

We couldnt helps these Umno junkies whom interested to produced money opportunities.

When they in Parliment what else they concern beside humiliated women, having day-dream which clubs & women they will spend time with.

What the hell” after all they havin 91% of majority.

MAKE JOKE OUT OF COUNTRY AGENDA IT MAJOR PARTS OF PARLIMENT MALAYSIA .

6. #6 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:29 pm

really sad day when they can say such things n get away with it. e things is tt a vote to censure them should not even b required as their action already deserves disciplinary action within their own party. this time, their party members r even cheering for them when e censure was rejected due to a technicality. what crap is this?
    Uncle Kit, do u hav e video of them spewing venom at Poh Kuan, Poh Kuan evoking Standing Order 26(1)(p) n also e video of e bn mps cheering for them when e censure was rejected? if so, please do make a video clip of wat happened n circulate it to everyone.
    Post it on youtube, post it in this blog n let everyone download it to circulate to all their friends.

7. #7 by ahkok1982 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:32 pm

this is an evil wish but it would b good if everyone connected to these clowns do not bocor at all. instant reduction of their kind.

8. #8 by a-malaysian on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:35 pm

Fellow Malaysian of all races, you have seen your elected MP at work, not the real work for the people, but making vulgar, sexist, racist and offensive remarks in and out of parliament.

Do you still have respect for all these monkeys running your constituents? Wake up now and think wisely when you vote in the coming GE.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

9. #9 by Cinapek on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:36 pm

YB Fong should take out her shoes and throw them at the sickos who are poor excuses for human beings, let alone MPs. Create a controversy and have these get into the meek “professional” media and then tell the whole story. Otherwise the “professional” media will keep quiet. Let all women of this country hear of the sickos we have in Parliament and be sure to bring it up when campaigning for the GE when talking to women voters.

10. #10 by Godamn Singh on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:41 pm

““Batu Gajah pun bocor tiap-tiap bulan pun bocor juga”.

The dam in Stone Elephant leaked? Got dam there mah??

11. #11 by Fort on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:41 pm

The out come is not unexpected!

Most sickening to see BN MPs cheering!

What they had done is not only condoning, even worst is encouraging vulgar and sexist remarks against women!

Shame! Shame! Shame!

12. #12 by ethnicmalaysian on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:54 pm

Calm down lah Kit. I understand your rage but surely, after decades in the Malaysian parliament, you cannot expect anything less from monkeys masquerading as BN MPs, especially the two most esteemed monkeys of them all, Said and Bung. This is line with the overall regression that our country is experiencing, starting with the retards at the Parliament. In any other country, they would have been heavily censured and thrown out even but here? They are elevated as heroes and cheered.

13. #13 by Taikotai on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:57 pm

How come MoneyConquersAll women MPs no voice also lar? They should put down their party and put gender infront. Females must work together to beat these barbarians, after that, only talk party vs party lah.

What lah, this is very shameful. As one of the above poster had said, I wish Fong Po Kuan would throw her high heels at the 2 barbarians. One for each, ala Taiwan parliament.

Btw, is it illegal to throw punches, pull hair, throw chairs, group fight inside the Dewan?

14. #14 by gerald on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 5:58 pm

If the PM is serious enough (and not just talk only) to improve the performance of MPs, it is time for him to reprimand these fellas who always hog the limelight for the wrong reasons and drop them from the next general election!

15. #15 by gerald on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 6:04 pm

Now not enough to tutup sebelah mata. Must tutup sebelah telinga so you don’t hear so much evil?

16. #16 by cklife on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 6:18 pm

Must have been really hard to think of something productive to say about woman by these UMNO chumps. Brain functions did not work as well as they ought to be, perhaps, they’re too old to think of something to counter Po Kuan’s statement regarding the leaking ceiling; hence, poking fun at her.

Who voted for these morons?

17. #17 by kcc on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 6:49 pm

Check out this poster by mob1900 on the 2 mp

http://mob1900.blogspot.com/2007/05/bn-mps-berates-all-women.html

18. #18 by TalkisCheap on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:03 pm

Me Surpried? Not at all…

If this statement was made by the opposition, I am sure they will wave their keris.

Talk is Cheap. Vote for the People’s People.

19. #19 by goldenscreen on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:25 pm

Gee now I know where a lot of our youths get their kurang ajar and samseng attitude from, the very people who are supposed to be leading our country. I wonder why students cannot use foul language when our leaders use foul language all the time, power to the students! Sa Ni Nye

20. #20 by united07 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:35 pm

I have never felt this embarassed to call myself a MALAYSIAN, in my whole life!

Are we, as a nation, racing back towards 2007 BC!
    That’s how it seems to be…

We have lost our dignity, pride, trust, believe, honesty and almost everything good that has been associated to MALAYSIAN!

WHY OH WHY!

21. #21 by kcb on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 7:47 pm

I strongly believe that such disgraceful act can never take place in the parliments of our neighbouring countries such as Singapore or Thailand.

Such act speaks volumes about integrity, character and quality of our so-called “people’s representatives”.

I am ashamed to be a Malaysian.

22. #22 by malaysia born on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 8:30 pm

Doesn’t those two MP’s (Moron Personnel) have mothers of their own?

Now we know why Parliament House is leaking…..It’s because God is crying after seeing and hearing the antics of these classless morons!

Where is the pride in being a malaysian these days?

23. #23 by raven77 on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 8:35 pm

This news should be on every news channel and blog around the world, just next to Altantunya’s dad screaming his head off….

24. #24 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 8:42 pm

And Pak Lah just a few days ago launched a book on integrity and good governance and asked that all quarters implement them immediately and seriously. Well we all know this is all humbug and with no sincerity.

Was there any doubt that the Speaker would reject Po Kuan’s privilege motion? He was only looking for an excuse to disallow, as always.

The Speaker’s office lost its honour long, long ago. 91% majority? No, its total 100% majority.

Total shame.

25. #25 by RealWorld on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 9:13 pm

“What say you Shahrizat. Tak payah tanya Kak Rapida sb dia dah tak bocoh lagi da, da cukup tua.” – toyobuster

Now, tell me whats the difference between you and those mongs who uttered those thrash??

26. #26 by justice_fighter on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 9:32 pm

The only solution is to vote BN out in the next GE to end our suffer as a result of their corruption, selfishness, greed, arrogance, and ignorance!! Sack the sleepy and corrupt Pak Lah first!!!

27. #27 by mata_kucing on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 10:39 pm

These two thick skin monkeys again? Since when have they been appointed official clowns of Dewan Rakyat? The Dewan speaker has lost [deleted] a long time ago. The rest of the MPs including the female ones are no better. No wonder the men don’t give them any respect.

28. #28 by smeagroo on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 10:40 pm

the only reason i could think of why the hooligans didnt object vehemently over what the 2 scums said was bcos the rm100million was equally “shared” amongst themselves. How else could one remained silent? A band of thieves. A pack of wolves.

29. #29 by tc on Thursday, 10 May 2007 - 11:29 pm

Will words extracted from the above comments like SHAMELESS,NO INTEGRITY,MORONS,NO SUBSTANCE,BRAINLESS,VULGAR,SEXIST,
    THICK-SKINNED used to describe the MPs concerned affect them?
    They simply cannot be bothered at all.They thought Fong Po Kuan’s
    joke was probably a great one.In fact it was a real sick joke and the other BN MPs were cheering?(It only reflects their stupidity)What has happened to our Malaysian MPs?Why is the PM condoning these sort of behaviour?For the honour of all Malaysians,the PM must make them apologise to Fong Po Kuan and prevent such comments or any other stupid,childish comments and comments without basis nor substance from being repeated.
    They have wives,daughters,sisters,mothers and woman relatives.What will they think of their family’s BIG TIME POLITICIAN after this?

30. #30 by smeagroo on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:16 am

They have wives,daughters,sisters,mothers and woman relatives.What will they think of their family’s BIG TIME POLITICIAN after this?

But sad to disappoint you. They wouldnt be bothered too much on how thier father or husband behaves as long as every month he brings back the money adn they can live lavishly beyond their means. Money can make one close an eye and both ears and in some cases shut down their brains!

31. #31 by zioburosky13 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:36 am

Maybe Fong Po Kuan should file a sexual harassments charge against those bad joker.

32. #32 by sean on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:47 am

If Chew May Fun and Sharizat were Dap or PKR MPs ….imagine what will happen in Parliament.The Bnmonkeys will be shivering all through their pants and probably pee on their pants instead. But unfortunately it is not the case.So we all can expect nothing will eventually happen.

33. #33 by Jeffrey on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:48 am

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in charge of parliamentary affairs Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz already said before “Compared to other parliaments in countries of equal development as Malaysia, our quality of debate is still relatively low.”

Mohd Said and Bung Mokhtar revel that they are among the more colourful characters in the Dewan Rakyat, often interspersing their speeches with jokes, anecdotes and jibes at the Opposition.

This is their way of livening things up This is the way they get media attention. It may also well be the way to improve their chances from their constitutencies of being re-elected, so they think rightly or wrongly.

The problem is of course some of the jokes and jibes are crude, tasteless, sexist and ribald with sexual connotations directed at the opposite side’s female Opposition members.

But these are precisely the nature of jokes that many of the BN MPs are livened up. We are still very much a patriarchal society steeped in patriarchal cultural norms that relegate women to inferior position and make them a butt of sexist jokes, and the Dewan Rakyat might well reflect a microcosm of the larger society for which the MPs are ‘representative’.

It is an issue more than just whether Mother’s Day is shamed or whether the offenders who made sexist and offensive jokes at the expense of women themselves have wives, mothers and daughters and why BN women MPs were not protesting to uphold the respect for their gender.

They won’t support the Opposition’s motion under the Standing Order 26 (1P) to refer the two BN MPs to the Committee of Privileges, they will defeat it on tecnicality, because the BN fellas think this is trivial offence as compared to its tremendous value to distract and disrupt the serious point raised by DAP MPs concerning ceiling leaks after a RM100 million renovation works, which reflect the wider malaise of government contracts being awarded to the wrong contractors not based on merits.

The more fuss and ruckus the DAP MPs made over “Batu Gajah pun bocor tiap-tiap bulan pun bocor juga”, the better for BN – it was playing directly into their hands – because it would divert everyone’s attention from the larger substantive issues of award of government contracts from being addressed and the shenanigans exposed!

When there is no integrity of governance especially in respect of award of government contracts and diversionary tactics like sexist jokes are used to distract and hijack proper debate, it becomes hollow what Nazri Aziz said that “we want our MPs to get their facts right and debate in an objective, civil manner. Only then can we start talking about having a First World Parliament”.

Since when are his MPs prepared to debate rationally on facts and logic? How could it be possible when the facts and logic have never been with them on these issues from day one?

Nazri seems to forget the First World Mentality and genuine desire for First World Governance must come first before First World Parliament is possible.

That was why Nazri, who read out the bills of the day, left the Dewan Rakyat at precisely the juncture when YB objected, “Do we allow this sexist, offensive remarks to pass. They are celebrating, that the motion is rejected pointing at BN MPs who were thumping at their desks.

Nazri knew the incongruity of what was happening in relation to what he said earlier about First World Parliament. He knew there was nothing he could do about it. Better leave than be embarrassed.

34. #34 by bbtan on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 1:04 am

“I’m sure women in their lives are very, very disappointed.”
    Mob 1900, I think this kind of teasing is part of their culture and they are proud of it. I dont think Islamic values, which they always talk about, has anything to do with it.

35. #35 by pwcheng on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 3:00 am

It is just disgusting and nauseating but they seems to be enjoying it. The joke is actually on them because it reflects that they are badly brought up and they must be suffering from cerebral paralysis. It is their kind who seems to be telling all the silly things about the female gender. Remember the Minister of tourism and also some of them from PAS are no better because they treat the females without respect. It is no wonder that the Sisters of Islam are not incline to support them in so many issues.

36. #36 by sotong on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 7:15 am

No wonder is country is sick.

Decades of bad leadership had allowed undesirable and unsuitable politicians with no shame, pride and dignity to represent the people and tarnished the good name of the country.

These are shallow and small minded people who would not hesitate to insult, bully and intimidate to achieve their aims at all costs.

Women dignity in general is degraded in such a shameful way and PM and community leaders did nothing to strongly express their outrage or disapproval of this totally unacceptable behaviour?

Where is the leadership?

37. #37 by Tai Lo Chin on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 7:50 am

Uncle Kit

Why not move a motion of censure against the Speaker for his display of bias in:

(1) failing to assert the Chair’s authority to maintain dignity of Parliament by letting go unpunished members of Jasin and Kinabatangan who had made vulgar, sexist and offensive remarks;

(2) failing to uphold the right of a member for Batu Gajah;

(3) making a ruling and giving a strained construction on words “when it occurred” in S.O. 26(1)(p) at variance with established parliamentary practices and procedures based on authoritative work on by Erskine May’s Parliamentary Practice ???

If BN uses its numbers to prevent the censure motion being moved, it shows that it does not respect what its own president said about the need for our Parliament to be First World’s.

38. #38 by mata_kucing on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 8:35 am

Crude
    Dishonest
    Shamless
    Ineffective & lazy
    No class
    No dignity
    Disrespectful
    Moronic
    Mentally retarded

Refering to some criminal behind bar?
    Nah, just the BN MPs.

39. #39 by lakshy on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:21 am

The shame is actually the Malaysian rakyat that put these clowns there. We deserve all this if we are not ready for change and willing to make a change. So we get what we deserve.

40. #40 by Jimm on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:23 am

Expected from BN. We have to understand that their theory works here. They conquer the Parliment and also all local authorities. This cartel chain are larger than we knew.
    Malaysia are still rich of natural resources for all of them to ‘share’.
    There are no way that they will give in for opposition parties to take away theer ‘HAPPY HOURS’.

41. #41 by Counterpoint on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:41 am

It’s this kind of uneducated mentality of our leaders that’s one of the major factors why our country lacks the kind of success compared to our neighbour down below. What’s worse of course is when the BN ladies MPs and the top man all maintain a truly shameful silence to all this. BN people are really a bunch of LOSERS compared to their counterparts in the lil’ red dot. Nuff said !

42. #42 by bbtan on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:49 am

“Do we allow this sexist, offensive remarks to pass? They are celebrating…”
    As I said before, this kind of teasing could be part of their culture. The sickening thing is this culture, of making it public entertainment, is infectious. The other MPs from the same BN clan seem to embrace it.

43. #43 by good coolie on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:49 am

bbTan is right: this crudity if cultural. There is resentment that women are presumptive enough to be in Parliament in the first place, and to speak up on equal footing with males.
    There is a racial element: a chinese women having the temerity to question the inefficiency of a male, Malay administration.
    The comments were intended to browbeat; to make DAP female parliamentary representatives think twice befor speaking up in Parliament.

44. #44 by Boneka on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:51 am

YB LKS,

What do you expect from street uchins- check their background, may be they are “not of woman birth”. Don’t they know their mothers, sisters and wives ‘leak monthly’ too. Perhaps that annoys them and took their opportunity to say it in parliament wherein their “comment of sick minds” will reveal their inner qualities to the whole world. PM, what a bunch of sick minds you have for MPs! I feel so ashamed and sorry for the BN lady MPs. They could be shamed thus and they could not do nything about it – but “disgrace of disgrace” joined in the ‘celebration’. What a shame! What a pity!

45. #45 by jamesg on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 11:31 am

I am a Malaysian who has been here in Florida, for 4 years, as an Indian, I could not get much from my own country in Malaysia. Paid my taxes and worked hard, but in the end my Indian race is always considered a minority. It may seem that Indians have a difference in skin tone and color, and maybe what this so called malaysian minister JJ has that lowly impression of Indians who are hardworking and the backbone that brought Malaysai to where it is.This goes to show how slip shod and lowly level of menatality are the ministers, appointed by the government in Malaysia, this goes o show the government is retarded. Well so called Malaysian minister, this is America, land of the free, home of the brave, here every one is equal.

To Ms Sheena, you should not allow idiots like this minister to put you down, if the idiot was smart,he would realise the next generation of indians are leaving malaysia, and very soon doits like him have no place to go but “balik kanmpung” and rear cows.

46. #46 by Jimm on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:01 pm

This is what demon-cracy means in BN terms.

47. #47 by Jimm on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:14 pm

Well, those BN female MPs are chewing up these statements silently. I wonder how could SJ go on and preach her vision for all Malaysian women from now on. How could she claims that she is really all out for women’s right. Guess, she have to change all the mirror at home to make things more ‘WANITA’ for her to carry out her duties and ‘wayang kulit’ shows.

48. #48 by TalkisCheap on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 12:27 pm

BN= Barisan Notorious
    BN= Barisan Nonsense
    BN= Barang Naik
    BN= Boleh Nanti

Talk is Cheap. Vote Out These Thugs.

49. #49 by jlingp10 on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:20 pm

Said = Shit in Fu Chow
    Bung= Dung if not used correctly.
    So we have ‘shit’ and ‘dung’ in the BN controlled Parliament. They dont have quality people to chose from. So they are forced to put shit and dung in. Do you all agree?

50. #50 by accountability on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:50 pm

what more evidence do you need that the BN MPs and ministers are nothing but a bunch of uneducated and uncivilized thugs…

compared to the educated members of the opposition who diligently represent the rakyat’s interests with facts and figures, the BN clowns are nothing but monkeys

51. #51 by accountability on Wednesday, 16 May 2007 - 11:51 pm

even the women BN MPs are to blame for encouraging such sexist behaviour… an insult to their own!