BN’s Pyrrhic victory in Ijok – next general election before 50th Merdeka celebrations on August 31?

Is the next general election likely to be held before 50th Merdeka Anniversary celebrations of August 31 as a result of the Machap and Ijok by-elections?

Until now I had completely ruled out the possibility of the next general election being held before August 31 as the hundreds of million of ringgit that will be splurged all over the country to celebrate our half-a-century of nationhood would have been planned with an eye to recreate the “feel good euphoria” which had been so successful in the 2004 general election to give the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi an unprecedented victory mandate of 91% of the parliamentary seats.

There have been two schools of thought among the election strategists in Umno and Barisan Nasional. — whether the next general election should be held next year before end of April when Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim regains his civil right enfranchisement to stand for elective office or latter part of this year.

As a result of the Machap and Ijok by-elections, the third option of a general election before the 50th Merdeka Anniversary celebrations on August 31 appears to be seriously on the cards.

Those who advocate early polls even before the splash of the 50th Merdeka anniversary celebrations are worried that the longer the next general election is delayed, the worse it is going to be for the ruling coalition as Abdullah’s stocks can only further plummet with his proven inability to fulfill his 2004 general election pledge to lead a clean, incorruptible, accountable, transparent, efficient, democratic, just and people-oriented government.

Umno and Barisan Nasional leaders who have various serious allegations hanging over their heads also want early polls to end their agony so that they can start on a new slate by claiming personal vindication with a Barisan Nasional election victory.

Although the local stock market hit an all-time high yesterday with the Kuala Lumpur Composite Index (KLCI) rising to a record 1,342.79 points, there is considerable nervousness as to how long such a bullish situation can last.

This anxiety has been exacerbated by more and more frequent warnings of an impending global stock market crash and worldwide recession.

Only early this week, Morgan Stanley former star economist Andy Xie warned of an imminent stock market crash in China.

Xie told Reuters in a pre-May Day telephone interview “I think it’s going to be bust very soon”, adding that a combination of excess liquidity, rising inflation and rich valuations would result in a global crash soon.

Xie said: “People will be surprised. When the end comes, it’s going to be pretty bad.”

Despite outward exultation over the by-election victory, Umno and Barisan Nasional leaders knew that their Ijok win is a Pyrrhic victory which is not sustainable in a general election.

With the manpower poured into the by-election including the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister, the entire Cabinet, the various Barisan Nasional State Governments and taking into account all expenditures by the Federal and State governments, the Barisan Nasional component parties, and expenses like the cash payments ranging from a few hundreds to RM1,500 per vote in the “buy-election”, easily totaling some RM100 million, the Ijok by-election rightly earns the notoriety as the dirtiest election campaign in the nation’s 50 year history.

But Umno and Barisan Nasional leaders are not in the least uplifted by the Ijok by-election result, as is evident from their public vacillation and disarray about its meaning and implications.

Yesterday, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak came out with a new “spin” to claim that Chinese support in Ijok for the Barisan Nasional had not dropped as drastically as some had claimed, as if he did not know that it was none other than the Prime Minister who had expressed alarm at the swing of Chinese voters in Ijok to the Opposition and wanting to know why from MCA and Gerakan.

Why the public vacillation and twist-and-turn of Umno, MCA and Gerakan leaders over the swing of Chinese voters in Ijok to the Opposition, which even attracted an editorial in the Umno-owned New Straits Times yesterday, Wooing back the Chinese”?

The reason is very simple — no MCA or Gerakan leader dare to tell Umno leaders the truth for the swing of Chinese voters by standing up in Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council to demand retraction and apology for statements and actions of Umno leaders which had “hurt the feelings” of the Chinese, as well as about the injustices and abuses of Barisan Nasional policies, especially in the arbitrary extension of the New Economic Policy when it was a 20-year policy which was to end in 1990.

This explained the arrogant response of the Umno Youth leader Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein yesterday, justifying his “keris-wielding” exhibitions in the context of extremist and communal demands completely heedless of the rights and sensitivities of all communities in the country. Clearly, Hishammuddin has won over MCA and MCA Youth leaders to publicly defend his “keris-wielding” outbursts.

But all this are sheer bravado and there is a growing feeling in Umno and Barisan Nasional that the third option of holding the next general election even earlier than had been seriously considered previously — i.e. before the 50th Merdeka Anniversary celebrations on August 31 – should be given very serious consideration to secure the best possible results for the Barisan Nasional.

1. #1 by Ah Hong on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 12:02 pm

ya, i heard that too if BN won Ijok By-election, the GE will be held somewhere 21 Aug 2007. A friend of mine who working area is in ijok/jeram/k.selangor told me.

2. #2 by Rocky on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 12:52 pm

whether they hold in the election today or 2 years down the road, they are going to get whacked for all their snafus that are well documented and thanks to the net it will be all over the place during the next election. They may or may not know the true feelings of the voters regardless of race but come election, they will know and I can bet that Pak Lah will step down after the next GE. God Bless Msia cos we do not need a PM that can deliver what he promised, one who warms up during a match, one who sleeps and one who doesn’t have a damn clue what is going on. Also we don’t need one who is ‘clean’ and cares more for hsi holiday in Perth than the floods in Johor.

Pak Lah kaki Temberang..tak tepati Janji!!!

3. #3 by paix on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:06 pm

Why does it matter when the elections are held? The bastards are going to steal it regardless. The only way there can be fair elections is if we can bring in the UN who will monitor all the polling stations. Yes, Msia is no better than the banana republics.

4. #4 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:13 pm

BN has more to gain if GE is held as soon as possible, the main reason is still because of Anwar. We cannot under estimate the influeces of PKR on Malay voters, if they are splits fifty fifty, I don’t think we can avoid any direct confrontation towards a crisis. This coming GE could be the turning point of our country.

5. #5 by Jimm on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:21 pm

GE will definitely coming soon. BN cannot be funding off their ‘expenses’ for too long. The current market dress up are normally indication that they will make their move soon. Only a few major addressed issue about shares and contribution need to finalised. Everyone in BN are happy to get on wit hthe GE as they will get enough funds to shoulder their supports and fancies their speeches. This is Malaysian version of BOLLYWOOD …

6. #6 by eltoro61 on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:24 pm

Uncle Kit,
    Just wondering, all this talk about Chinese voters casting for Keadilan etc. No body so far question how they know who cast for what?

I thought this is supposed to be ‘secret ballot’ or is it that all a fantasy now? Then what is the use of the stall and curtain and zinc sheets to cover our voting? All for show?

Uncle Kit, what is your take on this? You don’t need to bring this matter up with Election Committee? You also take it for granted and useless to question this outright breach of secrecy?

Keep up your good work Uncle.

7. #7 by trashed on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:34 pm

Sdr Lim,

I seriously do not think that the Opposition will win the next GE but it is my fervent hope that the Opposition parties (whether in coalition or separately) will be able to obtain more than 33% of the seats in Parliament and capture one State Assembly.

I would like to propose that the mantra of the Opposition parties be “Accountability” to drive the message to the rakyat that we need a government that is responsible to the people.

That might already be a turning point in our country as wished for by dawsheng.

8. #8 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:36 pm

KLSE can plunge anytime especially it is now at a new peak. If the fundamentals of Malaysian economy is really strong, it is not something BN should worry about. But if the stock market is just bubble waiting to be burstand the economy is weak, it is beyond BN’s control, then if it crash during the election campaign, that’s a bonus for the opposition.

9. #9 by Loh on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:44 pm

The DPM says that the PM knows all about the case concerning the mongolian woman. But I believe the PM may have his own wishes on the outcome of the court case that would only begin in June. If that is correct, then August appears to be too early.

It is true that Anwar could participate in the next election after April 2008. But, it is most unlikely that Anwar is able to form a Barisan Alternative, to gain power in the election. If the election is held after April 2008, Anwar might win his MP seat, but not the majority. The government is at least safe for another four years, depending on the building power of Anwar for a BA. If the election is held before April 2008, it is possible for PKR to gain one or more MP seats. A PKR seat can be vacated to force a by-election, to be contested by Anwar. That would attract world attention, and Anwar will certainly win. That are the choices for AAB?

Once AAB can get over the fear to face Anwar after April 2008, he would prefer late 2008 when the mongolian-C4 case is concluded. AAB knows what his deputy told him as the facts. AAB would also love to know the perception of UMNO warlords on his deputy, and to assess his support within UMNO after the case. AAB and his deputy claim that they are the closest, as evidenced by the distance between the seats the two occupied in offical meetings. So, the closest people are also the strongest enemy, with the force inversely proportional to the distance. AAB would want to enter the race to continue for at least one more term, rather than to have his deputy assuming the position to relieve the sleepyhead PM of his sleepiness. He might want to fix his deputy before fixing the next GE.

10. #10 by MALAYSIANbukanMALAYSIAN on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 1:46 pm

Those UMNO money bag carrier will be dead worried now because they need to spend and spend this coming GE. For those who have benefited one way or another, it’s pay back time.

Yeah, push the market up to sell and cash out. Bursa KL is not a stock exchange, it’s a politcal fund exchange centre.

Maybe, Malaysia should make it legal and transparent for political fund donors and tax deductible too. Every single sen is accountable, also a good way to reduce corruption.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 2:17 pm

Certaintly the Chinese market is over-euphoric. There is just too much liquidity chasing after an undervalued currency leading to too rapid asset inflation. A Chinese meltdown would be heard all over the world but we would hear it more than US or London market.

The issue is do the Chinese have the ability to manage a slowdown? They have been trying and the signals are not good. They underestimate growth, liquidity. They are not in urgency simply because inflation,fueled by still huge supply of cheap labour in a manufacturing economy, is still low. But commodity prices are still going up faster than wages.

If the Chinese gets it wrong, and as smart as they are, they can still get it wrong. Economics and monetary policy is not a science, its an art and those technocrats are not great artist.

12. #12 by peanut king on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 2:25 pm

Just be fair to all malaysian irrespective of races. Be fair when come to sensitive issues like religion,education and a chance to earn a decent living in Malaysia.

We have tolerated the NEP for so many years thinking that it will help our malay brothers out of poverty and be on level playing field with the other races..BUT the real situation is the NEP is more for the political connected to get rich quick at the expense of non malays and also the non connected rurals malays.

You call this a fair game!! The non malay have tolerated one generation of slow down and now they want to kill our next generations too….NO WAY !!!

We must fight back and make sure our next generation get to have a decent living in this country as Malaysian.

This Govt must deliver their promises first before we give our votes and full support otherwise it will be DAP,PKR or any others that come along but not BN anymore.

I hope the opposition can start their election campaign asap over the internet and get the non malays aware of the cheats this govt hv done to the ppl.

The sweetener they give out during by elections are just titbits.Dont fall for it, they will take back or better say ROB back after the election in bigger portion. Believe me.

Dont trust the BN to deliver what they say..

13. #13 by peanut king on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 2:38 pm

It is quite easy to spot when the election is coming.All the big mouth from the umno youth is keeping quiet.No sensitive issue is splashed across the media.They won’t make a mountain out of an mole hill.

Potholes are all patch up,drains clean up and they heard everthings you whispered…kind of strange isn’t it?

Any non malays functions like chinese schools.,temples, churches.,will see convoys of vip attending and giving out sweeteners…and dont forget they smile like a ‘boil dog head’.

14. #14 by soundbytes on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 2:59 pm

Fellow bloggers, in view of the fact that GE is imminent, let me suggest that each one of you write a precise and concise Manifesto stating 10 reasons why you reject the Banana Front, and 10 reasons why you would vote for the Opposition.

This way each one can compile a personal Manifesto and send it to his friends and relatives, and perhaps print them and have them delivered in the neighbourhood letter box (but be careful… I had some trouble from some neighbours because I hung up a big ‘Rocket’ banner in front of my house the previous GE…) This is at least some concrete preparation and support for the opposition, especially DAP. So start posting your Manifesto. Shoot, don’t fart!!

15. #15 by undergrad2 on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 3:03 pm

General elections before Anwar recovers from the ban imposed on him? If what happened in the recent state by-elections are any indication, the Anwar factor could easily be discounted.

General elections before the 50th anniversary celebrations in August? Perhaps the question should be framed this way: is there a reason for not holding general elections after the 50th anniversary of the country’s independence.

This is not as easy to answer – and so I would have to bring out my “Made in the USA” crystal ball by cheap immigrant labor from Mexico.

The likelihood of a stock market crash in China? It has been over the airwaves for some time now that the Chinese market is due for a technical correction. The DJ has gone to new heights, the highest single increase since the 1950s was registered a few days ago.

As a factor influencing the timing of the general elections, perhaps the likelihood of Malaysia test firing its first missile into space is more of an ‘influential’ factor.

The longer the National Coalition waits the worse it gets?? I think this is too sweeping a statement. My crystal ball seems less than crystal clear over this issue.

16. #16 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 3:54 pm

If the recent by-election in Ijok is any indication at all, one thing for sure is BN will use whatever neccessary means to win the GE. It indicates more violence will be spreading through out the country during the campaign period. If Anwar gained crucial ground of Malay’s support that would than be the key to ignite the crisis, one that needs very little tiny sparks of fire. That is why I think Anwar has to play it real cool.

17. #17 by digard on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 4:15 pm

undergrad2, no. “If what happened in the recent state by-elections are any indication, the Anwar factor could easily be discounted.”

If you tried a thorough analysis, you’d end up elsewhere: the people have voted for street lights, asphalt, mosques.
    The electorate is not that dumb, and knew that Anwar would not make it as their representative, whatever the outcome. This is different in a General Election. The majority Chinese voters voted for PKR, which is an indication. The only loyal BN voters were the Indians, for reasons I can’t grasp.
    If there is anyone – irrespective of what I think of him personally – who could if needed sway a Malay or Chinese voter, it would be him.
    Not even BN can put street lights and mosques and asphalt all over the place, at a General Election for the feel-good.

Also, there is no chance for the government to disentangle from misery on their own account. Not now. Meaning, that ‘it’ will have to get ever worse, with nothing being solved.

18. #18 by accountability on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 4:31 pm

i’m sure we’ll be seeing more and more umno rempits and mic thugs in action at polling stations irregardless of when the GE is held…

19. #19 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 4:56 pm

Let say the opposition won the GE, what they will do first? One of it would be charging all the corrupted BN leaders in court for corruption as I’m sure eradicating corruption would be among the first priority in their election manifesto.

BN leaders knew this, can they afford to lose power? Of course not. This would mean that BN leaders will make sure they have nothing to lose by making sure the opposition has nothing to gain, and there’s only one way to do that.

Anyone who thinks UMNO will easily admit defeat in GE is thinking very naively, if we truly have civilized leaders at all, you won’t see Hishamudin waiving the Keris in UMNO GA and heard Najib said “blood”. The threats is real.

20. #20 by Jimm on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 5:14 pm

In any GE ( Malaysian ) , emotional sediments are used a the key factor to cover up the real intention to stay in power. The amount of financial rewards from natural resources to policies will turn anyone into Mr BIG overnight. The leaders knew that there are always s imple ways to get Malaysian to build ‘invisible’ walls among themselves to racial differences. Since the majority population of Malaysian are Malays now, things are much more easier. Ask any Malay friends, they will tell you why it’s difficult to be successful among their own kind. It’s because they normal don’t believe they can. So, anyone among them will likely not going to be successful after all. The key to change this kind of mindset is using monies. Like “Towkays”. that’s why they will build big house, drive big cars and do many things just to be regarded as ONE. Some of them do make a difference, most did not. Because they keep the same old mindset. We knew how BN dominated their grassroots. We knew what monies can do to any individual to make them become a HERO or successful business owner. Why we can’t go far from here ? Because those “towkays” have to keep feeding their grassroots to stay as ONE. Those grassroots are only waiting to be fed by their ‘towkays’. So, that’s why we cannot progress far.
    Actually, I do pity those “towkays” as they have ‘cornered’ themselves by all their ‘shortcuts’ ways. That’s why some of these “towkays” never have enough of true family love. Their offsprings normally become the ‘problem’ reflecting their doing. That’s the response that the Almight have reminded us not to follow.
    I believe that we have far too many concerning factors pertaining to Malaysian’s lifestyle and other health reason that wasn’t been told or informed. We still study those simple science to make believe that our government will take care of us. That was so true back then. It still was now. Only we have to fork out the cost ourselves.
    We do have far too many shortcomings from all those action plans laid by the government and their policies since Independence. It’s a true shocking truth. It’s actually our Malaysian X-files series.
    So, whenever BN called for GE, they knew that they will win in style. No matter what the people do when they cast their votes, BN will still the ‘planned’ winner. Believe it or not…..

21. #21 by Jimm on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 5:20 pm

Strange!!!! No matter what the people do to voice out their discomfort to the Government, BN will still win in any given GE. WHY ? It’s like the X-files series we all watch before. Malaysian version of X-files are more ‘changgih’ and ‘tehra’ than the ‘kwailohs’. We started the fliming back in 1950s until today, from black and white until digitalised TV…. Malaysia BOLEH.

22. #22 by Godfather on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 5:24 pm

Whenever the GE is likely to take place, the simple question to you, Kit, is this – is the Opposition ready ? Does the Opposition have a viable plan to counteract the oft-used argument by BN that the fragmented Opposition does not know how to rule, and that therefore why should the voters take a chance on disrupting stability ?

If you are going to continue appealing to the ultras, if PAS is also going to continue appealing to the ultras, then I’m afraid there is no hope of a regime change, or at least a significant reduction in the BN majority. If all you want is 10 – 15 seats, and all PAS wants is Kelantan and Trengganu, then I’m afraid the thieves will continue to have a field day.

23. #23 by goldenscreen on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 6:05 pm

I can confirm that the general election is coming very soon. All headmasters of schools has just received a letter from the government stating that they want to use the schools as venues for elections. The letter was just received today. I have read it. It is true, the elections are coming!

24. #24 by Ranter on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 6:12 pm

I seriously think that the GE will not be any sooner.

when i was strolling in KLCC that day, the election commission held a mass registration campaign. they mentioned two significant things

1.) It takes three months to process a voter to be eligible to vote upon application.

2.) They guarenteed so long that you registered before 31st of Ausgust, you can vote for the ‘coming’ election

in which i would predict that thhe earliest possible date for GE will be on november, provided that they are not lying.

25. #25 by Jonny on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 6:21 pm

Uncle Kit, time is ripe for change to work closely together with the alternative front.

26. #27 by sheriff singh on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 7:52 pm

Whether the elections is 2007, 2008 or 2009, the question remains : “Is the Opposition ready”?

If Pak Lah calls a snap elections for August 2007, how many seats can the Opposition win? We can all speculate till the cows come home about when the next GE will be but there is that thing call winning seats.

As I see it, the Opposition is just not ready, no plans at all, no issues, not much co-operation, no strategy to win. Even if they have, realistically how many seats can it win apart from the few high profile, usual ones? Is the Opposition ready to make an impact?

The heartland remains essentially BN for whatever reasons and even if the Opposition win 40-45% of the popular votes, the BN will still take away more than 70 % of the seats as happened in previous elections and they will declare it a “landlside”.

Ijok is an example. 40% voted Opposition but BN ruled the day. Being first past the post counts and there are many seats with small electorates to boost BN seat numbers. Just how can the combined Opposition win many of these seats in the heartlands, the countryside?

A swing in the Chinese votes would not be a major dent in BN numbers as how many Chinese majority seats are left? Many seats might see reduced majorities but BN would still rule the day. If the combined Opposition win say an additional 5 or 10 seats, so what?
    Will 30 Opposition MPs make any difference against 190 government MPs?

What would change the political landscape would be if the Opposition were to win 70 to 75 seats thereby eroding the 2/3 majority. Can they do that? Where would the seats come from? Are there enough angry people out there throughout the country? Isolated wins here and there don’t count or mean much.

Best strategy would be to concentrate to win a few states – DAP and Keadilan in Penang and Sabah, PAS in the northern and eastern states while all making in-roads in the Kelang Valley and central states.

Seriously, I think the DAP will only win 15 seats maximum on a good outing and that don’t mean much. It just does not have mass appeal across all races. I just don’t see Opposition Malays voting DAP in large numbers if it was a BN v DAP fight. See Seremban and Malacca and other constituencies for examples. And the party have ageing leaders.

So, at the end of the day, is it really important WHEN the elections will be if you cannot win or make any impact at all?

27. #28 by a-malaysian on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 8:52 pm

Dear Fellow Malaysian, Malaysian Of All Races

This is an appeal from another Malaysian. It is just heartening to read that almost all the above posts are crying for change.

This post of mine will be repeated at all relevant election topics that Kit will blog from now on. I hope Kit will not treat this as spamming his blog. Many readers usually will not go through the archives but just read the front page.

Yes the GE is just round the corner and what are we going to do to lend our support for change.

There are a few thousands who may know and read this blog but is it enough to make the difference? Out of this few thousands, 30% are most likely from overseas, 10% from bn spies and that leaves 60% who may or may not support the oppositions.

I am calling upon readers of this blog who are in favor for change to start the ground works now.

soundbytes posting is a good indication of how to start the gorund work:

Fellow bloggers, in view of the fact that GE is imminent, let me suggest that each one of you write a precise and concise Manifesto stating 10 reasons why you reject the Banana Front, and 10 reasons why you would vote for the Opposition.

This way each one can compile a personal Manifesto and send it to his friends and relatives, and perhaps print them and have them delivered in the neighbourhood letter box (but be careful… I had some trouble from some neighbours because I hung up a big ‘Rocket’ banner in front of my house the previous GE…) This is at least some concrete preparation and support for the opposition, especially DAP. So start posting your Manifesto. Shoot, don’t fart!!

Each of you may have your own way of supporting, which is good and if you care to share them with us please post them here.

My take to all supporters are:

Do not be afraid

1)This is our downfall for the past fifty years. Why must we be afraid? Do we want to be intimated again by their slogan of riots and kris waving? We have only one life and so are they.

2)Many are saying that they know who we vote for, so what if they know. What can they do to us small fry. There are over 10 million voters, pray tell me how they can monitor each and everyone of the voters. Only their members who want to vote for the oppositions are afraid and these are the people they are going after. Do not be afraid if they know who you vote, they cannot send all who votes for the oppositions to jail.

Discrimination

For fellow Malays, do not think that the discrimination by bn are just affecting the non malays. You are wrong. Discrimination are all over and affect each and everyone of us irrespective of any race if you do not bow, toe their line and not a member of their executive club.

The purpose of the NEP, you all know about it, but are they implemented in their true form. Fellow malays, please tell me, have you gain much from this NEP which is suppose to elevate you all to be at par with others. Have it achieve it’s real intention, you answer me.

Education should be devoid of all political influence and they should be on merit. Using the NEP to project and in a way forcing the Malays to study and graduated them with no merit is not the answer. All capable Malays should be allow to compete with others and use the NEP to provide relevant courses more suitable to the other slower learners.

Can the Oppositions run the country
    If anyone ask me this question, I will tell them, it is a stupid question.

Just think back 50 years ago, do the people selected to run the country after gaining independence, have any experience. They are given a chance to run the country and pray tell me why we cannot allow the opposition to rule. Just assume we are given the independence now and let the Oppositions lead us like what the Alliance at that time was given the chance to do so.

Corruptions

This is the main culprit that is destroying our country. The whole government system is rotten to the core. They are telling us, including the poor pm that we must make a report, get evidence and proof before they can act.

Do you all not think that this is just plain stupid?
    Let me ask you, if you do not pay your income tax, what will happen? The IRS will come after you and can you tell them that there is no report against you for not paying, why they are running after you.

If you do not pay your car road tax and the police stop and issue you a summon, can you tell them there is no report against you for not paying the road tax and why they are going after you?

These agencies are doing their job to ensure that you abide by the laws of this country.

Now ACA stands for “anti corruption agency” and what is their job? To prevent corruption, seek and destroy all corruptors. Do they need people to make a report to them, show them all the evidence and proofs before they can act?
    They must act on their own and take action to prevent corruptions from happening. They must be on the prowl to catch corruptors, using their power to search through bank accounts, land office, IRS and other means on any slight suspicion or hearsay.

There are thousand and one thing to write about but I will stop here for now.

Fellow Malaysian of all races, please open your eyes and lets walk together to show bn the door this coming GE.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Give Them A Chance To Change For A Better Malaysia
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

28. #29 by kurakura on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 9:19 pm

Governments should put in effort to develope the country. Putting in effort just to win elections does not serve the purpose of democracy.

Analogy: A student should study to gain knowledge. Exams are just there to test the student. Getting good results in exams does not mean the student had acquired the knowledge as cheating, poor exam quality, questions spotting can happen.

29. #30 by dawsheng on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 9:53 pm

I strongly disagree that the opposition is not ready for a snap election but I’d agreed if you said the opposition doesn’t have the capital to bring down BN, not in this GE. But I believe the opposition will make suffucient inroads to form a govt as soon as 2011, about four years from now after Malaysia collapsed under the govt of BN.

30. #31 by peanut king on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 10:10 pm

3 cheers to Sheriff Singh for his wonderful opinions n suggestions. A paragraf well written.

I think by passing his remarks around is good enough to start the opposition campaign.

We need more of this type of smart thinker and writer on this site.

Sheriff Singh Boleh

31. #32 by Godamn Singh on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 10:16 pm

“Do you all not think that this is just plain stupid?
    Let me ask you, if you do not pay your income tax, what will happen? The IRS will come after you..” a-malaysian

So who is stupid here??

“If you do not pay your car road tax and the police stop and issue you a summon…” a-malaysian

So who is stupid here??

These agencies are doing their job to ensure that you abide by the laws of this country.” a- malayian

Duh!

32. #33 by a-malaysian on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 11:16 pm

Fellow Malaysian, the fight for change has begun.

Please do not be distracted by comments from bn agents who will try to disrupt, cause choas and threats to frighten you.

We must unite, stand firm and strong to be effective.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition
    Remember bn Is A Useless Grouping Of Self Serving, Corrupt, Dictator, Power Crazy, Racist, Kris waving, etc, etc type of parties.

33. #34 by letsbefair on Friday, 4 May 2007 - 11:25 pm

Yes! Now we all witness the biggest number of listed company going private in so short a time. Never has this happen before!
    With a bull run why the hell do majority shareholders want to pay more to take their companies private? Can’t they do it when the market is not that hot? It would certainly save them money don’t you think?
    Billions upon billions are paid out. Maxis alone would cost 17 billion. Bumiputra trust fund owns about half of the total bumiputra holdings. That leaves more than 10 percent in those Tan Sris and Datuks Bumiputra and the amount is somewhere in the region of 4 billions.
    What about others?? I&P and one other company is going to be privatise by PNB soon. Worldwide, MOX, PPBoil and KFC.
    So yes! they are gathering their huge war-chest for the coming election which would be held very very soon!

34. #35 by Count Dracula on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:09 am

“Please do not be distracted by comments from bn agents who will try to disrupt, cause choas and threats to frighten you.”

What have we got here!! Some people are just paranoid.

35. #36 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:19 am

LOL, a good one Count Dracula.
    Stay on course and you will be fine.

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition

36. #37 by DarkHorse on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:34 am

hello a-malaysian, please do all of a favour. pls don’t write in bold. It’s so bloody distracting man!

37. #38 by a-malaysian on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 1:47 am

Sorry DarkHorse

The bold is the tag line, I will try to reduce it.

Thanks for your comment.

How about this way?

50 years is ENOUGH
    Vote For A Change
    Vote For Any Opposition

38. #39 by patriotic1994 on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 2:18 am

GE on 31 August is a clever idea! It does produce two feeling, at least for me:
    1. It is merdeka day. It is time to love the country. So vote to support the government that bring you “peace” until today. And that’s BN!
    2. Someone will warn the rest of people that if Opposition win, riot will begin and that our beloved country is gone. Nobody will want to risk this.

I believe that’s what BN is going to use to create fear among ignorant Malaysian. MCA will definitely use that to Chinese (old generations). It was used in Ijok already. Umno will take care the Malays vote. MIC… somehow I think Indian doesn’t care and just vote whoever run the country. They go to rubber field at dawn, work till noon, come back home, shower, sleep till evening… (what election?)

Netizen like us… the % is so small compared to those ignorant, qualified old voters. I think we as young people must go home to tell our old men that they must vote Opposition. Young man, you must now know that you are more intelligent than your old men. You have Internet and you have smart people, even Uncle Lim, to advise you!

Can anyone prepare some kind of explanation or leaflet that we could use to give to old man to read? Said it is from the Internet written by lawyers, doctors (old men trust words from teachers, doctors and lawyers).

I doubt Opposition will run the government. However, it is possible that Opposition will controls some states and more seats in parliments.

39. #40 by goldenscreen on Saturday, 5 May 2007 - 6:39 am

Ok so here goes:

10 Reasons I Reject The BN:
    1) Rascist threats against Chinese: May 13, keris, you don’t like get out of this country etc. (you can only threaten people so many times before it crosses a line).
    2) Corruption: Sarawak CM, Sabah CM, ACA DG, Johari, Zakaria, Mohd Said, Maika Holdings, duit kopi to your friendly neighbourhood police and local council etc. (corruption without results makes it untolerable corruption).
    3) Religious extremism: Perak Mufti spread lies, temples demolished, Kuan Yin statue in Penang, snatch dead bodies, break up families, cannot wish Deepavali etc. (don’t wait until you are the victim to oppose).
    4) Weak national leadership: PM seen as weak/incapable/doesn’t know what he wants/controlled by dangerous elements, MCA has weak leadership/cowardly behaviour/seen as eunuchs/self-centered, Gerakan President Koh Tsu Koon seen as a running dog/weak/no resolve (for all the faults of BN previously, they still had leadership, something sorely lacking now).
    5) Increase in prices: electricity, toll, public fares, water, food, liquor, cigarettes, cost of doing business, under-table money, sewage, teh tarik, petrol (increased pressure on pocket = not happy).
    6) Education issues: NEP, quotas, no scholarship, incoherent national education policy, Matriculation over STPM, Bar Council exam, rote learning, brain drain, SOS Damansara, corruption by people in vernacular schools (useless in fostering critical thinking).
    7) Rising crime: robery, rape, murder, snatch theft, gangsterism, Sibu, Gang 21, extortion, thuggery, mat rempit, public trust in police non-existent, police corruption, subservience of enforcement agencies to political parties (do you feel safe anymore?)
    8) Useless construction: potholes, MRR2 crack, Matrade, computer lab collapse, Immigration Dept, Court Complex, Muar Yatch Club, unusable roads between Miri and Batu Niah, hospital fungus (waste of money, could be fatal too).
    9) Ties between gangsters and politicians: Kong Cho Heng, MCA, SUPP, Lee Long, Koo Tee Yam, Chan etc. (will we see a day when even the PM is in debt to gangsters ala JFK?)
    10) And finally globalization: are we really up to the task of facing a globalised economy? Can things continue as they has for the past 50 years? Will there be strife in our country as a result? Why don’t try something new after the same old medicine?

40. #41 by DiaperHead on Sunday, 6 May 2007 - 2:55 am

“The only loyal BN voters were the Indians, for reasons I can’t grasp.”

The Indians are like lallang in the wind. They will bend whichever way the wind blows. They like to blow.

41. #42 by good coolie on Tuesday, 8 May 2007 - 2:26 pm

What about OCBC, Hong Leong, and Public Bank?
    Any of their panel lawyers from Indian owned law firms(I mean Indians without family members being Chinese). I hope somebody can give me honest answers.
    By the way I feel the horns of racialism growing on me too, though I swear, like every Malaysian, that I am not racist.

42. #43 by ktteokt on Friday, 11 May 2007 - 9:35 pm

The election system in Malaysia is supposed to be by “secret ballot” but is it secret at all? From my experience after polling so many times, I think that is a lot of “bull shit”.

When you call at a polling station to vote, you have to present you I/C and the clerk will check the number against the voter’s list and strike out your name. He will then issue a ballot ticket with a serial number on it and before he hands you the ballot ticket, he records the number beside you name on the list. So they can always check which ticket went to which candidate and what secret is there.

I think because of this, I was made to run on a wild goose chase two elections ago when my name was thrown into another election station within the same constituency but because of my persistence, I got it changed to my original station and polled from that station in the last election. These are some of the “dirty tactics” employed by the government and so if anyone were to tell me about an “independent” election commission, I can tell them this is all “bull shit”.