Auditor-General’s assurance of professional audit of 1MDB most welcome although public confidence have not been helped by contradictory or uncharacteristic statements by MACC and Police

I welcome the promise by the Auditor-General Tan Sri Ambrin Buang that his department will call up any individual necessary even Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak in completing an independent audit on strategic fund 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB).

The Auditor-General’s assurance of professional audit of 1MDB and not to be swayed by extraneous considerations is most welcome, although public confidence that the various authorities would adopt a professional, accountable and responsible approach in the handling of the 1MDB scandal had not been helped by contradictory or uncharacteristic statements by the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) and the Police.

Suddenly, there seems to be a competition among the various departments to show courage and eagerness to investigate the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak himself – as not only Ambrin does not rule out such possibility, even the Inspector-General of Police, Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar pointedly said that Najib would be one of the targets of investigation by a three-agency task force to probe the 1MDB scandal.

In fact, the IGP’s announcement has detracted the credibility of the Auditor-General’s statement that his department’s audit would not exclude an investigation into the Prime Minister, for who would believe the IGP’s claim when he had been guilty of kid-glove treatment to BN Ministers and leaders, letting off the Minister of Agriculture and Agro-based Industries Datuk Ismail Sabri for the most racist and seditious incitement in calling on Malay consumers to boycott Chinese businessmen and allowing the former Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Mashitah Ibrahim to enjoy impunity and immunity for spouting heinous lies to incite religious hatred, conflict and tension in plural Malaysia.

In contrast, the IGP had shown neither mercy nor respect for Pakatan Rakyat leaders, and the treatment meted out to Selangor State Exco Member, Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad as if he is a common criminal is the most telling indictment of the IGP’s partisan bias and double-standards.

But there is another contradiction, as just a few hours before Khalid announced yesterday a three-agency task force comprising members of the police force, MACC and the Attorney-General’s Chambers to probe 1MDB, the MACC Chief Commissioner Abu Kassim Mohamad had declared that the MACC would wait for the Auditor-General’s report on 1MDB before starting its own probe.

One issue which deserves the Auditor-General’s immediate attention is the conflict-of-interest situation, not over the Auditor-General submitting its report to PAC, but from the Prime Minister also being the Chairperson of the 1MDB advisory board and Finance Minister.

As Auditor-General, Ambrin should focus and advise on whether the Prime Minister continues to be caught in a conflict-of-interest situation in doubling up as Chairman of the 1MDB advisory board and Finance Minister.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 6:41 am

Don’t b simpletons
    Whatever AUDIT n investigation by WHOsoever, NATO, UmnoB/BN continue 2 rule, get it, OK
    Rakyat remain a pathetic lot, many still kow tow n pray 2 d UmnoB/BN g0d

2. #2 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 7:18 am

Audit doesn’t mean anything. You show your bank statements, your loan agreements, your receipts, and the auditors will have completed their jobs. Auditors don’t ask the “why’s” about transactions. As long as the paper trail is correctly placed in front of them with evidence of board approvals, that’s all a company needs. So 1MDB has a loan to Petrosaudi who authorises payment to Good Star. Auditors won’t question the rationale for the loan and why Petrosaudi directs payment to Good Star. That’s why Deloittes completed the audit. They were not there to apportion blame or investigate underlying rationale.

• #3 by cemerlang on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 9:19 pm

Ya. You only need to produce the documents raw or cooked. Then you quickly type out a few words and wah lau ! you are cleared. Just peanuts. As long as you have the evidence that is needed according to their standard. You have to pandai pandai. So how to know if you spent more than RM 50.00 ?

3. #4 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 7:22 am

A division of the den of thieves auditing 1MDB isn’t going to find anything I am willing to bet they will even give the green light to allow UMNO to declare everything is above board. Just rubberstamping the decision to put the foxes in the henhouse.

4. #5 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 11:03 am

Something is very wrong when the AG is assigned to look at this when THERE IS ALREADY ENOUGH PROOF of CBT, meaning the people they should have appointed to look at it, not that it would make a difference, is the POLICE…

Its absolute proof that so-called Najib’s “transformation” was never real – merely hyperbole advertisment of retaining fundamentally the old regime with a new cover.

It comes no surprise that no one is holding their breath to wait for the AG work to be done. People are looking for the opposition to keep raising the stake…

5. #6 by worldpress on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 12:21 pm

Do we have the Petronas doing Oil & Gas industry for Malaysia?

6. #7 by good coolie on Wednesday, 11 March 2015 - 11:53 pm

Today, I am Oditor Burok.
    1. Is it true that much, or all, of the 24B is lost?
    2. Why?
    3. Whose pocket should we look down into?
    (Odit Note: One billion is 9 zeroes after 1)

• #8 by cemerlang on Thursday, 12 March 2015 - 9:26 pm

Auditor is not burok. Unless you pay him to overlook things, Or you tell the person to re-write the accounts. Thing is later there will be an audit auditing what the audit did. But the auditor is not the police. Therefore it is better you don’t run away from the auditor. When he ask you to produce something, produce. That’s it. Whether any action will be taken is up to the ones up there.