What has Umno achieved?

by Martin Jalleh

What-has-umno-achieved-Bakri-M

1. #1 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 11:03 am

What UMNO/BN has done or more accurately has NOT done wrong is IRRELEVANT..Its about moving forward, its about the future and hence what matter is what THEY HAVE DONE WRONG and continue to do so.

The key ones, in order of importance, are
    1) The mess in education. The truth is there was no reason to NEP the education system. It was done for political reason. Even Mahathir himself admitted as much when he tried, at the end, to rectify it with PPSMI.

2) Corruption. Once started, there simply was no going back. Self-reform on corruption is almost impossible. UMNO/BN simply not even in the same league of anyone that has a chance of trying. Their track record of execution speaks for itself.

3) Law & Order – the destruction of the judicial system and law-enforcement system – its more than just corruption, its the destruction of society itself.

4) Religo-politics. The original UMNO founders wanted a secular state. The ultra-Malays pushed religion not because they believed in it, it simply was too convenient a tool that they could not resist against competition from PAS. Once they went down the road, like corruption, it simply was no turning back for them..

There are others but these are the things that UMNO/BN does wrong and their answer to it is a blanket “we have done well” which is nonsense because it was all paid with oil money and other strengths not of their creation and in software and fundamental human and social capacity that was already of high standards before UMNO B took over..

You can’t ignore these wrongs because there simply is no moving very far without fixing it. NO COUNTRY CAN DO IT. Not like this..

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 11:40 am

UMNO has brought about decline of English proficiency. Tun Daim recently said, “Make English compulsory in all national schools. Without English, we are dead, especially the Malays. The Malays must realise, without English they cannot compete. We must insist on English as a second language”.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 11:44 am

After 55 years of BN rule, Malaysians are finally caught in a middle income salary trap. That is one of Umno’s worse achievements.

4. #4 by yhsiew on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 11:45 am

Oops!
    “worse achievements” should be “worst achievements”.

5. #5 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 1:14 pm

umnoputra didahulukan pencapaian wang ringgit diutamakan is what umno has achieved

6. #6 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 1:17 pm

Malays did not reserve that kind of faith. UMNO has ruined Malays advancement in this Land of Malays. Malays have been killed economically and educationally by their own race. Many simple minded Malays not able to see it there fore the UMNO who has make up well educated continuously using their cronyism politic suppress the majority Malays and now they become least competitive and helpless.

7. #7 by lee tai king (previously dagen) on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 1:23 pm

Melayu dan islam, siapa yg pijak? Jawapan: Umno. Dah berpuluh puluh tahun umno memijak melayu dan islam.

Kini masa dah sampai utk menolak umno. Hancurkan umno pada PRU13.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 1:57 pm

A very simple case in point. Najib talks of track record and his “unprecedented” GNI gain of 41%/49%..The real measure of transformation is PRODUCTIVITY.. Check that number. I will guarantee it has not changed before he took office and compared that to other countries especially Singapore in that period and the numbers will be STARK i.e., NO TRANSFORMATION..

9. #9 by monsterball on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 2:37 pm

This is a sick country created by a doctor who kills more than curing.
    Ultimate victims and patients are the Muslims…with bad educational system…brainwashing …..more than learning…from spoon fed happy go lucky jobs provided by the so call defender of it’s own race…mightier than the King and God.

10. #10 by sotong on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 4:40 pm

People are more educated and corrupt with no basic principles and moral values.

Most in position of power, trust and influence are self-serving……the political environment is very toxic for a normal life causing mental illness.

11. #11 by joehancl on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 5:13 pm

Indeed what has this govt achieved? It is only seen caring when everyone is looking. But it is heartless when no one is around…..http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2013/3/28/focus/12871963&sec=focus

12. #12 by on cheng on Thursday, 28 March 2013 - 10:40 pm

Economically, 1957, Malaya way ahead of S Korea or Taiwan
    2012, Malaysia way, way behind S Korea or Taiwan,
    Malaysia is much more richer in natural resources than both of them combined with no potential military threat if compare w them. Malaysia population density is also much less !
    So what achievement??

13. #13 by cseng on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 12:20 am

There will be no real ‘progress’ and ‘development’, if Malay community kept off from necessary pain and suffer during the course.

Umno kept shackled Malay community with fears, in-confident, ‘you are weak’, you can’t compete with others, you need my protection, you are incomplete without me. How can they grow then?

Umno can only feed you fish, they can show you how to fish, because fish is provided, you will never learnt to fish.

They probably can make selected few rich, filthy rich, but still they can’t make them competitive on their own and bring up others.

55yrs, it is proven wrong.

14. #14 by chengho on Friday, 29 March 2013 - 5:35 am

umno giving stability , economic flourish , every body happy
    now after economic flourish some people wanna be ruler of the country , some group wanna be very rich, criss cross