Najib’s stand of unconditional surrender for the Sulu militants deserves the support of all Malaysians

The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s stand of unconditional surrender for the Sulu militants deserves the support of all Malaysians.

There is neither basis nor merit in the call for ceasefire or the unilateral ceasefire by the Sultan Jamalul Kiram III, after eight police commandoes had been slain and some of their corpses treated in the most harrowing and bestial manner after they had fallen as national heroes in the cause of national duty to protect national sovereignty and the security of the state and people.

All Malaysians, regardless of race, religion, region or political affiliation, are united as one in giving full endorsement to all necessary measures by the government and the security forces to end the month-long battle against Sulu militants.

All Malaysians support the online petition by the group identified as “Concerned Citizens of Sabah” that Sabahans want to “remain Malaysians”.

DAP fully endorses the sentiments in the online petition that while Sabah has a “shared history” with its neighbours, “the people of Sabah are not politically beholden to these historical ties”.

The petition appealed to the international community “to acknowledge the people of Sabah’s right to self-determination; to endorse the state’s constitutional sovereignty of the Malaysian government as valid and the desire of Sabahans to permanently reject the Sultanate of Sulu’s claim on our home”.

The present situation, reality and sentiments in Sabah were correctly captured in the sentence: “The Sulu sultanate is obsolete; Sabah is a living and breathing land with its own history and people (who) deserve the right to choose who governs them.”

There are legitimate dissent and numerous criticisms on many issues involving the handling of the month-long invasion by Sulu armed militants resulting in the loss of lives of eight police commandos, which should not have happened at all, but this is not the time to ventilate them as they are all secondary to the primary issue of re-asserting our national sovereignty and ending all threats to the security and safety of the people of Sabah and the security forces personnel.

This is why I have not only temporarily put aside my criticisms about the manner in which the month-long battle with the Sulu militants was handled, I have also decided to defer my intention to institute legal proceedings against those who had defamed me on the Internet over the incursions by the Sulu militants, one of whom is Ishammuddin Razaman @ Ishammuddin, special officer to the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein.

Irresponsible and baseless allegations have also been made against Pakatan Rakyat leaders, in particular Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim over the incursions by the Sulu militants.

I call on all political leaders, both from the Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat, to end all baseless allegations and to put national interests above everything else so that the Sabah Sulu crisis could be ended in the shortest possible time, without the loss of another single life whether from security forces or the Malaysian public.

I reiterate the Pakatan Rakyat’s call for an emergency meeting of Parliament so that all MPs, regardless of political party or coalition, can stand as one to support all necessary measures taken by the government and the security forces to protect national sovereignty and security of the people of Sabah and security forces personnel.

The Cabinet at its meeting yesterday did not address the call by the Pakatan Rakyat leadership for a special meeting of Parliament.

The Prime Minister should not tarry any further on this issue and should take the initiative to convene a special meeting of Parliament on the Sabah Sulu crisis.

1. #1 by HJ Angus on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 8:41 pm

I agree with the surrender demand.

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 8:43 pm

Just when Najib thought he has a good chance of spinning the Sabah bad-karma from Mahathir by white washing it with military victory, Morgan Stanley came out with a report that the US oil & natural gas boom will derail Malaysia’s ‘tranformation’ plan and eventually hit China…

Najib (and Mahathir) simply just don’t get it – he simply is not up to the challenge of the times

3. #3 by john on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 9:04 pm

Life is sacred, Just surrendered lay down arms !
    ( Ah C4 +Cousin+ MaMak Kutty-again All must be held fully accountable for lost of Malaysians lifes due to the manner they FAILED by wrongly handled the standoff appropriately. They came heavily armed and,,,,,, tortured ! , beheaded ! our people !!!!!!! )

4. #4 by worldpress on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 9:07 pm

unconditional surrender our IC for the Sulu people in Malaysia

5. #5 by John Barleycorn on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 10:57 pm

Najib’s finest hour. GE to be postponed indefinitely until the Sulu threat is quelled.

6. #6 by yhsiew on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 11:06 pm

Najib’s popularity will rise after the incursion saga has ended.

7. #7 by yhsiew on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 11:27 pm

Defence Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said for the welfare of Sabah and all Malaysians, every single Filipino militant in the Sulu army should be “destroyed”. If the remnants of the Filipino militants are destroyed, Hamidi will be going against the 1924 Third GENEVA Convention which defines humanitarian protections for prisoners of war and the UN Standard Minimum Rules for the Treatment of Prisoners which came into force in 1955.

8. #8 by Noble House on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 12:02 am

Time the EC clean up the electoral roll of these people who are becoming a threat to our national security and sovereignty. Already, there is this problem now having to differentiate as to “who is who” living amongst us. We don’t need another bloody incident such as this.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 12:19 am

803 again! 5 years fr 80308
    Still got so many issues, some bloodi, remain UNSETTLED or UNRESoLVED

10. #10 by boh-liao on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 12:30 am

How come d shake backsides veterans did not go 2 Sabah 2 shake their @rses against d armed intruders/invaders?

11. #11 by yhsiew on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 12:48 am

Malaysia rejects ceasefire offer from Filipino group
    @@http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-21695654

12. #12 by sheriff singh on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 5:02 am

13. #13 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 6:02 am

Even a good-for-nothing Pak Lah-like PM deserves the nation’s support when it comes to national security.

So, Najib, a man has got to do what a man has got to do.

A PM has also got to do what a PM’s got to do – so go get them those buzzards.

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 6:08 am

# 12 Sheriff:

But Najib’s got Scorpene even when Malaysian soldiers have no bulletproof vests or protective headgear!

These soldiers have no protective goggles but they have sunglasses?

Anyway, Scorpene commission could have bought everyone goggles, headgear, buletproof vests and lots more to spare.

15. #15 by chengho on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 9:00 am

declare emergency in Sabah , Mageran coming back

16. #16 by NotBN on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 9:18 am

There were no conditions because the ones surrendering are women and foot soldiers. Wonder why the few ‘escaped’? -that was the condition! Anyway, there is still another 799,903 to deal with.

17. #17 by tuahpekkong on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 10:00 am

We should have taken such a stand much earlier, not after several of our security personnel have been butchered by this group of armed intruders. I think we probably have learned a salutary lesson, which is not to negotiate in future with any party that has encroached on our territory and challenged our sovereignty.

18. #18 by NotBN on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 12:25 pm

Further to my earlier comment, I meant to say it was conditional surrender that is, a few were allowed to escape as part of a deal, a face-saving move for the intruders. Or, could it be for the four hostages? It also appear that the ‘Sultan’ in Manila seems to be more informed about the situation that is, the intruders probably still have direct communications. Please do not forget that despite millions of ringgit of property destruction (and 3 fatalities) in the 1986 political backed Suluk riots, there were no prosecution! The BN government could not find any wrong! Yet it is happening again 27 years later. Going by that if BN is retained there would be another siege in 2040.

19. #19 by kg on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 1:05 pm

Dear Malaysian folks,

1 Are you ready for BN?
    No… No… No…

2 Are you ready for new PR Government?
    Yes… Yes… Yes…

3 Are you ready if the Parliament is not dissolved? Are you ready if GE13 never comes?
    What… Why… How come… How can… Booo… No to BeEnN…

4 Are you ready if emergency is called for Malaysia?
    … … …

5 Are you ready to fight for Malaysia democracy, progress ect in such situation?
    … … …

6 Are you ready to leave your PC and do real hard work on the ground for the future of Malaysia and our children?
    Yes… Yes… Yes…

7 Are you sure you can sacrifice?
    … … …

8 Please think twice, BeEnN is going to reverse Malaysia back to the conditions of the 50s, and you have no way back. You must show your real commitment for a real government, real progress for Malaysia. Are you ready?

20. #20 by putrapenang on Friday, 8 March 2013 - 8:39 pm

Well said YB. Without being partisan to any political leanings – all of us should continue to rally behind our security forces & refrain from making any insinuation which may be inappropriate at this juncture.

However, no doubt there are questions to be asked, answers to be pursued , inquiry to be fulfilled and inevitably Government of the day (in fact through out the years since the formation of Malaysia) – are the ones responsible for the current state of Sabah……there’s no running & no hiding for BN (unlike the Sulu terrorists)!

21. #21 by PoliticoKat on Tuesday, 12 March 2013 - 4:02 pm

The Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s stand of unconditional surrender for the Sulu militants deserves the support of all Malaysians.

Such sentiment deserves no praise at all. If Najib had asked for anything other than unconditional surrender I would have PM Najib removed from office immediately. If 200 armed man can make demands to Malaysia, what does that say about our military and police force.

I am angry with our PM that he took 3 weeks and deaths before the military and navy were called in.

What where they thinking pitting the police force against 200 militants armed with assault rifles, mortar with battle experience waging guerrilla warfare with the Filipino army.

I guess in that 3wks, our politicians were probably trying to buy them off. Then it went sour, probably when those guys wanted more money.