Sabah Incursion: Just my thoughts

― Art Harun
Mar 06, 2013

MARCH 6 ― The incursion by the Sulu terrorists into Sabah is a culmination of socio-political complexities that were ignored due to post-World War II socio-political order and convenience.

Firstly, we have an ancient Sultanate living in the 18th century, forgetting the fact that their forefathers have sold their sovereignty for self interest, without nary a thought for the people whom they claim to rule, in exchange for what appeared to be big money then, but reduced to pittance in the 21st century.

We have a so-called Sultan who apparently rules his subjects from Manila, who speaks as if he’s the most benevolent of rulers and who sent his subjects to a hopeless war from within the comfort of Metro Manila.

Secondly, we have a government of a state ― which is not really a state ― that fails to control and impose law and order on wide areas of the so-called state, giving rise to vast areas where people do not really recognise the state and her government.

Thirdly, we have this same state, which is facing an election, and the same Sultan running in the election in an opposition pact after having lost the last election with 800 votes.

The leader of the opposition pact is now under house arrest after being convicted for electoral fraud. The state’s ancient and baseless claim for Sabah is an election issue which that opposition pact wishes to pursue and doubtlessly exploited in the name of nationalism and patriotism, however misguided and misplaced they may be.

Fourthly, on the home front, we have had leaders from both sides of the fence who had courted this so-called Sultan and claimant to the Sultanate (at least there are five of them) before, all in the name of Malay-ness and Islam.

Some of our citizens are even conferred Datukships by these feudal Sultan without a kingdom. This lends a semblance of recognition by our very own leaders of the Sultan and the Sultanate.

Fifthly, Malaysia cannot deny, no matter how loud Dr Mahathir shouts, that she has been a sympathiser of the Bangsa Moro’s so-called fight for liberation. Now that very Bangsa Moro is coming back to haunt Malaysia for all her generosity in the past.

In fact, we were so pally-pally with the Moros that, in the 80s (or was it early 90s?), when Nur Misuari’s rebellion was crushed in the Philippines, our friend casually and nonchalantly landed in Sabah airport thinking we would welcome him as a guest. We, however, handcuffed him and sent him back to the Philippines to face his prosecutors.

Number six: Malaysia has always allowed the porous borders of the Sulu, Tawi-tawi and the surrounding islands with Sabah to be breached without a semblance of enforcement of our immigration laws. People go in and out of that area with absolute impunity from immigration laws on, not a daily basis, but hourly basis.

That area is like a free trade zone where people would conduct their daily business even in rupiah and pesos. This episode shows that maintenance of law and order is absolutely critical for internal security, no matter how difficult or petty it is.

Seventh: Project IC during Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s time. Do I need to say more about this?

Perhaps it is time for all of us ― the people of Malaysia, the government and the opposition alike ― to take law and order seriously. Be like Singapore when it comes to enforcement of the laws. They even enforce the chewing gum law with the passion of an Israeli soldier in Gaza.

It is also time that our intelligence unit to be beefed up and to be aware of any strife or crisis in and surrounding us, no matter how minute it may be. The next time-bomb that we have to monitor is the Pattani issue, and the Spratly islands that are being claimed by Malaysia, Vietnam, Brunei, the Philippines and China.

International relationship, internal security and matters pertaining to the nation’s security is like the stock market. A bomb explodes in Timbuktu and Apple’s shares might come tumbling down.

It is the same with our security. The Philippines are having an election and Sabah is invaded by armed terrorists. We just have to be aware of things, analyse each and every situation and events and see how they could affect us.

People who do not analyse events often lose out in the stock market. We have to engage in battles on our own land because we were not sensitive enough to events surrounding us.

It is not too late for us to improve. A nation’s achievement is not only measured from her success but also from how she rises from a set-back and learns from it to take her to greater height.

My thoughts and prayers are with all our brave men and women on the battle front. May God bless them, protect them and grant them strength and determination. Victory is always with the righteous.

Malaysia berjaya! ― art-harun.blogspot.com

1. #1 by john on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 6:12 pm

Seventh : Project IC ! Yes, YOU NEED TO ANALYST CRITICALLY – IT HAS DEVASTATING IMPACT ON OUR SECRURITY. AND SUCH DESPICABLE TRAITOR ACTS !!!
    Eighth : G13 HAS BEEN DRAGGED RIDICULOUSLY AND THESE ‘LEADERS’ JUST AIM TO CLING TO POWER FOR SELF PRESERVATION IN VIEW OF ALL SERIOUS WRONG DOINGS THEY COMMITED. IN SUCH SENARIO G13 IS ONE CRITICAL ASPECT OF ANALYSIS ! AND YOU MISSED OUT ?

2. #2 by sotong on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 6:24 pm

‘ Be like Singapore when it comes to enforcement of the laws’.

But our politicians are happy and comfortable to govern above the law so they could abuse their position of power, trust and influence…..with majority of people thinking the current political situation benefit them.

The ordinary people will suffer from decades of bad leadership for self interest and short term gain for generations to come.

3. #3 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 6:32 pm

Malaysia’s sovereignty over Sabah is not negotiable.

4. #4 by monsterball on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 6:46 pm

Project IC with the condition to support BN.
    Project IC ..smart idea by Mahathir….to make sure Sabah is Umno b’s security blanket in all elections.
    Project IC EXPOSED!!!….finally Mahathir admitted and said Tunku Abdul Rahman did the same thing in West Malaysia. The master of twisting…and double talks…helps to kill off supports for BN without knowing it…as his character…mentality….personality…ego..is nothing but a dirty politician.
    Project IC…came back to haunt Umno b at the 11th hour of 13th GE.
    Project IC…has become the mouths Umno b feed…..to come back and bite for more demands.
    These are hungry people. They fear no deaths. They welcome it.
    Sabah is known for to be the riches State with the poorest people and living conditions.
    You can say…BN corruptions have seen what Sabah is becoming.

5. #5 by monsterball on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 7:08 pm

Mahathir and Umno b could easily made Sabah…the envy of all States…by developing the State…asking foreign investments…to build factories….there..with modern all necessary transport….water and electricity available.
    But no…they keep on raping the forest…make billions….killing the environment ..changing the climate..killing animals with not one iota of concern. All they see are billions $$$$!!
    Ignore and be responsible sincere politicians..this is what you get for what you made.

6. #6 by monsterball on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 7:22 pm

Focus on the corrupted lot mentalities .. behaviors ..hypocrisy…..cunning characters…..and you can see clearly the reasons….why.
    They steal lands…rape forest…steal our EPF money..oil money…on and on and on….feeling proudly they and their relatives are known as billionaires in the world stage….while thousands upon thousands in Sabah are hungry…no money …no job.
    Country is running with taxes collected…every year.

7. #7 by worldpress on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 7:31 pm

In order learn a lesson…Malaysia should strike off his title with no question ask

8. #8 by monsterball on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 7:32 pm

And man made laws are applied to all Malaysian citizens..where Umno b law makers are exempted…can do anything.
    But once awhile…one or two are sacrificed to save the many.
    They are almighty….no laws can touch them.
    Soooo the Sulus broke the laws…out come the so call lawmakers….serious and concern…to protect the country and people.
    All must ignore who made them to break the laws.
    Just focus on them like terrorists..which they are…but not the reasons…. why.
    This is the art of deceiving..they learn from Mahathir for 22 years.

9. #9 by monsterball on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 8:04 pm

Do not forget…in past elections….BN won all the seats at the troubled areas.
    Project IC was working for them.
    The so call terrorists kept their promises….voted for BN.
    Now exposed…rats are running away to feed the mice.
    Sabah was BN security blanket…announced proudly by Mahathir ans Najib…and strangely…..no more such claims in recent months.

10. #10 by monsterball on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 8:10 pm

“You abandon us…we fight. You are the traitors…not us. You are no gentlemen…but liars and cheaters. You did it to Altantuya…and now…us?? Who do you think we are….cowards???”
    Keep thinking…….and such thoughts will come.

11. #11 by Bigjoe on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 8:43 pm

The sad truth is the Sultanate heirs even to this day, could not even hold down a job properly, what could they have accomplished for their people even if no one showed up at their doorstep?

12. #12 by SENGLANG on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 9:19 pm

There is no easy solution as bubor nak jadi nasi. more so there is lack of political will to resolve the sulu issue by our politician.

most importantly is the issue of race and religion, it is a matter of sharing the same believe . may the best solution is closing the eye?

13. #13 by chengho on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 9:27 pm

who is the army and the police ? you can only look from Empire smoking cigar

14. #14 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 9:27 pm

Ng Yen Yen is wasting her breathe to persuade tourists to visit Sabah.

15. #15 by Bunch of Suckers on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 9:50 pm

YenYen, you visit Down Under often as your second home! Pretty houses you bought are waiting for your comforts! After GE13, you will being forced out to Down Under…

Don’t forget George W Bush/ Mr Bushy’s motto, “You can steal, you can run; but you cannot hide…”

16. #16 by Noble House on Wednesday, 6 March 2013 - 11:59 pm

You have a so-called Sultan of Sulu who intends to lay his claims to a foreign State and sent in some 300 of his heavily-armed men and announced to the whole world of his intentions. I find this very intrigued at best. Had Bin Laden done with the same before the attacks on American soils, he would have made himself into a laughing stock. The question is “What is the reason behind this suicide mission”?

17. #17 by boh-liao on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 12:18 am

Jamalul Kiram III d face dat launched a thousand ships fr d Philippines 2 1M’sia
    More warm bodies in d form of MILF 2 go 2 homeland 2 liberate it fr 1M’sia

18. #18 by Noble House on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 12:22 am

Who is the army and the police? Good question, indeed! You don’t need a telescope looking at the Twin Towers!

19. #19 by worldpress on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 12:54 am

Deport all those people Sulu who got IC illegally

Let them blame the one who causing them problem kick back when they came from

20. #20 by worldpress on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 12:56 am

let them blame the one causing them kick back where came from

21. #21 by boh-liao on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 1:06 am

Within 48 hrs, 080313 will b HISTORY
    Rakyat waiting 2 C “What’s up?”

22. #22 by SENGLANG on Thursday, 7 March 2013 - 12:25 pm

This article has summarised in a nut shell the complexity of the Sabah issue. The web is not easy to untangled. As this development of this messy web also involve Malaysia Government itself. The most difficult part is the issue of race & religion. It is a sort of love affair turn sour. Love it hate it both are wrong.