PM’s blinkered views

— Jaleel Hameed
Sep 20, 2012

SEPT 20 —Mr Prime Minister sir, where have you been these past few weeks? Why are you still harping on whether your political foes want to change the Jalur Gemilang?

Where are you, sir, when Bernama insulted your popularity by photo-shopping a crowd at your event? Why didn’t you admonish them, sir?

Do you need this kind of magic to show how popular you are? Do you need to talk about the non-story of the opposition trying to replace the national flag?

Why don’t you respond to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, sir, who talks about how close you are to buying votes with your programmes like BR1M?

Is the flag issue more important? Or you have been losing the plot and have a delayed reaction to events that has happened in the past two weeks?

Bernama made you look bad, Dr M made you look bad but you want to talk about the flag?

“We see the flag as a symbol of purity and sovereignty of a country.

We harshly condemn anyone involved in such acts,” you said today.

But you don’t condemn those who make you look bad?

Take charge, sir. We need a good leader for Barisan Nasional to win the next elections. At the rate things are going, sir, it doesn’t look that way.

And despite saying Barisan Nasional will score big, there isn’t any sign of an election in the offing. Your Umno general meeting is in November and you are talking about a flag.

We need someone forthright, sir. We need someone on the ball. We don’t need someone who goes on about a flag. That’s an old story, sir.

We don’t need you to be an old story, sir, or with blinkered views. Come on, take charge, Mr Prime Minister.

1. #1 by yhsiew on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 12:03 am

///Why didn’t you admonish them, sir?///

I would not be surprised if he was the person who ordered Bernama to doctor the photo!

2. #2 by sheriff singh on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 12:58 am

BERNAMA admitted the photo is a fake but the manipulation was done ‘at source’, whatever this means. I take it that the photograph was taken by BERNAMA’s photographer or a contracted photographer and in both cases, BERNAMA should shoulder the blame and need not look for scapegoats or proffer excuses.

Why has BERNAMA taken so long in its investigations to find out the culprit(s)? Is this case very difficult to solve? Or is some coverup taking place?

The Opposition should now be very wary of BERNAMA’s reports and photos as it is becoming very likely that these can be manipulated now and possibly has happened in the past, as we approach the coming GE. Najib is now throwing everything into the arena to thwart the Opposition. He is fighting for his survival.

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 1:04 am

Take charge, you say.

But you forget you are talking to a wimp.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 2:11 am

Strange dat ppl want 2 trust AhCHEATkor, known 4 his racist behaviour + lies n more lies
    UmnoB/BN had been n r still forcing rakyat out of d nation 2 survive n 2 seek their dreams
    The Sunday Times, Sg, (23.9.12) featured Ms Annie Gan, a kampung girl fr Seremban who went 2 Sg in early 1990s with RM200 n is now d founder n MD of Jian Huang Construction (>S$60 million turnover last year)
    No doubt, thanks 2 racist MMK n UmnoB/BN dat made some rakyat like Annie Gan “STAY HUNGRY, STAY FOOLISH” 2 bcome successful n fiesty entrepreneurs

5. #5 by monsterball on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 2:52 am

Najib cannot take charge.
    He is powerless.
    He is an umno B PM…not PM for all Malaysians…..as he was never elected in an GE.
    He must perform acts ..to win votes.
    He must win 13th GE for the love of his life.

6. #6 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 6:33 am

Bernama’s doctored photo is just like doctored photo of LKS manhandled (taken in 1984) used in Tanda Putera’s original official Facebook page to depict his so called ‘urination’ on flagpole in then Harun Idris’ house” in May 13 1969 – the first to show how popular PM is, and the second how bad the DAP’s leader! It shows the ridiculous intense level political propaganda has reached in view of imminent GE. According Malaysiakini report, Utusan’s deputy said at Social Media Convention, that “Spinning to attack the opposition is okay”. Now spinning still includes skewing truth to show another shade misrepresenting it. We’rre down slippery slope to downright photo shooting fraud now. Even a former premier has gone to extent of saying Soro wants to install Anwar puppet as PM (out of the funding of Suaram issue). Ironically we have true photos of Soros shaking the former premier’s hand, than his ex deputy that Soros supposedly want to install as PM! What has the nation become? Truth is not only an orphan here. It has become like a new born baby flung out from Desa Mentari flat! This a sure sign of the country going off the rails when no one knows the truth when lies are spun blatantly, never mind whether by ruling party’s propagandists or their supporters (at “source” so to speak).

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 6:57 am

In today’s politics, its true one can’t escape propaganda (skewing truth to is represent one’s side favourably against the opposite side) to win elections. This manipulation of the organized habits and opinions of the mass voters is present even in politically more matured societies. However ours has a dangerous element : here we manipulate a spin, even making it a big lie, then countless people make police reports on the assumption that they have authorities’ complicity to harass and even jail the persons spun against. We have to guard against the descent down slippery slope from of civil to totalitarian society. For this is not mere ordinary propaganda spin and play. More like the beginning of fascism that prescribed in Mein Kampf. One group is pitched (on race and religion) against another, both sides pushed to the edge, with one group told that they are fighting for their political survival,hence must do whatever it takes, the other pitched against, forced to respond whatever for their own survival.

8. #8 by cemerlang on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 7:03 am

There are still many people who read the public newspapers. And the newspaper company has to be approved by the authorities. But people can compare between what is in the mainstream newspaper and the alternative news. Alternative news are more of like how one person views things and that one person is not your everyday reporter or editor of a newspaper.

9. #9 by Bigjoe on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 7:52 am

Its NOT a blinkered view. It really is just that Najib has NO STRONG VIEW OF HIS OWN. He has been pounding the pavement insisting his transformation plan is working while at the same time pounding hate and negative politics.

Najib’s main problem is UMNO/BN core problem, other than the fact, Mahathir ideas which still dominate the party, is proven wrong already is that its a party of mediocrity. Its a party filled with mediocrity from talent, ideas, and even organisationally. Forget the glaring mistake of doctored photos and new scandal still popping up, how else can you explain that, backed against the wall, a 60yr old party in power for so long, biggest worry is sabotage by their own?

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 9:28 am

Not blinkered views – just any view depending on expedience of meeting approval of the immediate target audience whose support/votes he has in mind. Internal consistency of principles/policies, perseverance in pursuing them are not priority: winning election credibly for UMNO/BN for sake of personal political survial and continuance of office is. The alternative is not an option at all. He works very hard at it. He should. He has all kinds of opponents- not just in Opposition but within party ranks and outside. His hair has noticeably grown whiter.

11. #11 by monsterball on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 10:07 am

That blighter can only blink….blink… .blink.
    All his tricks will not work.
    At a wedding dinner last night…few told me…that the blighter will not have 13th GE in November.
    All are predicting….March 2013…one month before his so call PMship expires.
    Early…November…..USA having their GE ….and Obama is leading by a huge margin..against Republican…Romey.

12. #12 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 24 September 2012 - 10:45 am

For the ten thousandth time cintanegara, just hand over two – damned it, just two, dua, er, song, talawa – of your precious rambutans to jibby jib.

Fat mama ros has eaten jib’s rambutans.