Return of Mahathirism triumphant

Last week, Tun Mahathir asked why I hated him so much. Yesterday, he asked why I am so afraid of him.

It is neither. As I had said on Saturday, “like three former Prime Ministers, Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Hussein and Tun Abdullah and the majority of Malaysians in 2012, I am opposed to Mahathirism and its return to Malaysian politics in the 13th general election”.

Mahathir is in his cynical best.

Tongue-in-cheek, he made the grandiloquent announcement that “Mahathirism” is dead, that it “died” when Tun Abdullah took over from him as Prime Minister in 2003.

In actual fact, “Mahathirism” is not only alive and thriving, the return of Mahathirism is enjoying its most triumphant phase since the unceremonious exit of Abdullah as Prime Minister and his replacement by Datuk Seri Najib Razak 39 months ago.

This is most evident by the almost ceaseless spouting of “Mahathirism” recently, viz:

• Mahathir’s Sunday interview with Mingguan Malaysia where he castigated Malay “kebodohan” (stupidity) resulting in a major ethnic group bowing down to demands of minority groups, which included the government recognition of certificates by Tunku Abdul Rahman College (TARC), and claiming that the community had failed to “exploit its majority since Independence to consolidate power”;

• his speech in Penang last night that if Barisan Nasional is rejected in the 13th General Election, the Opposition will destroy the country;

• his recent stoking of racial fears among the Malays with his warnings and baseless allegations that (i) Malay will lose power if Umno loses next general election; (ii) that Najib is a weak Prime Minister and reforms could spark unrest; (iii) that the 13GE will be about race and that the Chinese voters are the kingmakers for the 13GE and will decide who forms the government.

The question at issue is whether the forces representing the “Return of Mahathirism Triumphant” is at the core of the massive anti-national conspiracy of lies and falsehoods to create racial distrust, suspicion, panic and fear particularly among the Malays in the 13GE, totally in utter disregard of their destructive effects on 54-years of nation building, including the Bangsa Malaysia concept of Vision 2020 as well as Najib’s 1Malaysia concept.

Yesterday provided a classic example of such dangerous, racist, anti-national and treacherous campaign tactics when the UMNO publication, Utusan Malaysia plumbed a new depth of dishonest and unethical journalism and front-paged the lie that DAP would contest 90 of the 222 parliamentary seats in the 13GE to dominate Pakatan Rakyat and appoint the Prime Minister.

Although DAP and Pakatan Rakyat leaders had yesterday itself denied and debunked the Utusan report as “utterly wild and baseless”, and I said in my media statement that although final seat allocations between Pakatan Rakyat parties have still to be fully completed, “DAP is not contemplating contesting more than 60 parliamentary seats or less than 28 per cent of the total 222 parliamentary seats”, Utusan Malaysia completely ignored these denials and today continued to publish reports and articles on the basis that its lies about “DAP to contest 90 seats” are true!

This is one example of “Return of Mahathirism Triumphant” at its worst and most irresponsible!

It will be interesting to find out how many Malaysians believe Mahathir or agree with him that “Mahathirism” died when Abdullah took over as Prime Minister.

Mahathir charged that Abdullah “changed UMNO, the BN and the Government so much that they no longer resemble the institutions I used to know” and he had to resign from UMNO.

Abdullah’s greatest tragedy is his failure to dismantle the Mahathirish architecture of racism, authoritarianism, corruption and cronyism to make the return of Mahathirism (as distinct from the return of Mahathir) an impossible agenda.

This is now among the issues that have to be resolved in the 13GE – for a new start in Malaysia that could put the Mahathirish past of abuses of power, corruption and cronyism completely behind the country, where Malaysians regardless of race, religion, class, region, gender or age could come together in a common national endeavour as on Bersih 3.0 on April 28 to build a united, harmonious, democratic, just, competitive, progressive and clean Malaysian nation.

1. #1 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:14 pm

///Yesterday provided a classic example of such dangerous, racist, anti-national and treacherous campaign tactics when the UMNO publication, Utusan Malaysia plumbed a new depth of dishonest and unethical journalism and front-paged the lie that DAP would contest 90 of the 222 parliamentary seats in the 13GE to dominate Pakatan Rakyat and appoint the Prime Minister.///–Kit

Ututsan Melayu no doubt intends to influence Malays voting according to race in the next election. But it is not wrong for DAP to contest 90 seats, if political parties in Sabah and Sarawak choose to contest under the banner of DAP, or better still decides that they would merge with DAP.

UMNO and Utusan Melayu are telling Malays that DAP is fighting only for Chinese. But Malays are not aware that UMNO’s policies while being anti-Chinese in general, only serve the interest of selected Malays. Even though Malays are comparatively better treated by the present government corruption and nepotism in government has made them worse off than what they could have been provided under a non-corrupt government, even if Malays did not receive preferential treatment based on race. Of course Mamakthir has been trying to instill in Malays the essence of racism; Malays should be proud of the wealth of other Malays even if they remain poor. But are the rich Malays people of their kind?

2. #2 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:20 pm

Not sure I agree with ‘triumphant’ description. Certaintly, its he is leading the charge of its Revival but its clearly desperation and frenzied – but like drug (political drug that is) addicts that has starved for a while and suddenly managed to get hold of more drugs than it has ever seen and completely lost its head – very dangerous..

3. #3 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:24 pm

///Be intelligent in choosing leaders, says Mahathir
    Bernama | 10:40AM Jul 10, 2012 | 44
    ‘So if we reject Barisan Nasional then the opposition would win and they would destroy the country,’ says the former prime minister.///–Malaysiakini

The country has already been destroyed by the person who participated in ousting the first PM, Tunku. Mamakthir has destroyed all the institutions which needed to ensure proper governance in the country. Mamakthir destroyed the judicial system. It started institutionalized corruption with negotiated contracts whereas the system of public tender is a norm adopted by every other democratic governments in the world. Mamakthir made government services a bureau of UMNO. Has there anything left for other to destroy in the country?

4. #4 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:25 pm

Mahathirism is dead but beware, the ghost of Mahathirism is very much alive!!

5. #5 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:31 pm

///The issue is as follows. It seems, according to the report, Malaysian Chinese are boycotting bread manufactured by Gardenia because the company is said to be owned by Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Al-Bukhary. And, of course, the reason that Malaysian Chinese are boycotting this particular bread, allegedly manufactured by a company owned by Syed Mokhtar, is because Syed Mokhtar is an Umno crony.///–RPK, http://www.malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/no-holds-barred/50486-selective-civil-disobedience

For information, and please do your part.

6. #6 by megaman on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:35 pm

yhsiew :

Let’s exorcise the ghost with our paper talismans aka vote paper !!!

7. #7 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:36 pm

I just wish that he could be as tame and as harmless as his daughter.

8. #8 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 2:38 pm

yhsiew :

It is better that Mamakthir is dead. His corrupt practices will live on. Why bother about Najib practising Mamakthirism when he can no longer continue after the next election? Malaysians should send UMNO out of Putrajaya, since they cannot make Mamakthir go away.

9. #9 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 3:05 pm

RPK is helping the cause of “Mahathirism”, he is spinning that Chinese is boycotting Gardenia bread owned by Malay crony. Subtly RPK is introducing the race factor in (just like Mahathir) to work on the sublimal conciousness of Malay vote bank. Many people switch to Massino because the bread tastes better Ok – not because of this race thing that is brought up with every opportunity!

10. #10 by good coolie on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 4:44 pm

Why are we ashamed of Mahathirism? Deep inside, we know it is because we sanctimonious fellows were to cowardly to challenge him then. A few brave fellows went to jail for challenging him. God Bless Them! Anyway, if he tries his nonsense again, give him the Pearl Roundabout or Tahrir Square treatment. Meanwhile, the rocking chair, the pipe, and very old newspapers await him.

11. #11 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 4:46 pm

Kit, you should tell him “Don’t flatter yourself…”

12. #12 by Winston on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 4:55 pm

Why waste time with such crazies?
    Haven’t we noticed that there are plenty of them out there?
    The very fact they will be booted out in the next GE have made them mad.
    And their action and words bear this out.

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 5:34 pm

Mahathir and UMNO/BN just can’t catch a break. On the day LKS rebut on revival of Mahathirism, this came out:

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2012/07/10/slain-assailant-paid-tribute-to-dr-m/

NOTHING seems to be going right for UMNO/BN, Mahathir, Najib or anyone else in that camp..

14. #14 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 6:43 pm

Some people just don’t die, they reappear as poltergeists and banshees.

15. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 6:45 pm

Others like Dr Jekyll reincarnate as Mr. Hyde.

Is mahathir a reincarnation of machiaveeli with some mussolini/ mugabe DNA.

16. #16 by negarawan on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 6:52 pm

Mahathir will never attain the status of international statesmanship like Lee Kuan Yew. He is only a “jaguh kampung” and outside of Malaysia, he is relatively a nobody. This is why he is constantly jealous of LKY’s achievements and worldwide recognition.

17. #17 by Bigjoe on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 7:38 pm

Best line of the day:

“They must realise that it is then a war with the rakyat.”

– S Ambiga.

18. #18 by undertaker888 on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 7:45 pm

///Subtly RPK is introducing the race factor in (just like Mahathir) to work on the sublimal conciousness of Malay vote bank. ///jeffrey

I totally agree with you on this one. And he says that he is an anarchist blablabla. He is talking like PR is the government of the day right now.

19. #19 by jus legitimum on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 7:53 pm

Mahafiraun is so worried that he and his cronies will face the music once PR captures Putrajaya.That is the reason why he is rampaging around with all the lies and threats.He behaves as if the damage inflicted to this once beautiful country during his 22 year tyranny is not enough.This evil man just refuses to admit his wrongdoings. PR must teach him a lesson by winning the coming GE.

20. #20 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 9:29 pm

Ghost of mahathirism whatever is about? Ho ho ho ho. No worries mate. We havegot that covered. Benghock. Kugan. Sarbini. Your show now. Lets rock boys errr well they are boys still arent they? Go go go go. Go. Shred the gost of mahathirism to bits. Yes!

21. #21 by Loh on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 - 10:07 pm

///KUALA LUMPUR, July 10 — Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek alleged today that Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s “restrictive” policies while he was education minister had caused many non-Malays to apply for permanent residency in other countries, as Tourism Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ng Yen Yen’s admission that she had residency in Australia in the 1990s ///–MalaysianInsider

Was’nt MCA in the Cabinet when Anwar was the Education Minister, and was it not the Cabinet that had the final say. What was MCA doing in the Cabinet, then? What has CSL said to Muhyiddin and the Cabinet about education policy which is still discriminatory to non-Malays? Does CSL have to wait for Muhyiddin to join the opposition to ask him the same question?

22. #22 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 3:25 am

Mahathir maybe at his cynical best…..but all working Malaysians…………minus the ones he made half past sixes… know exactly who and what he is..the dirtiest crook that cannot stop talking at age 86 to protect his family and cronies wealth.
    One cannot help laughing to hear him say..”I don’t know why Lim Kit Siang hates me so much?”
    This double headed snake knows exactly why.

23. #23 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 3:33 am

One …reserving a bottle of Royal Salute to celebrate the day…. Mahathir shuts his mouth.
    A Martel Cordon Blu for Najib…to drink the blues away…when he lost PutraJaya to PR.

24. #24 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 3:41 am

For many years Mahathir have read hundreds of thousands comments about him
    His reply was….”I don’t care who hates me.”
    Now he cares.

25. #25 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 3:48 am

Mamak knows Lim Kit Siang live to his promises to be Peoples Parliamentarian and very thing LKS says are on behalf of the People.
    He arrested LKS and put in jail to shut up his mouth.
    All Malaysians knows what Mahathirism is…..and still very much alive and Najib is nothing but a show piece.
    Dollah refused to be his show dog and Mamak shouted and shouted day and night for years.

26. #26 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 4:05 am

Off the topic…I enjoy the 2nd debate where Lim Guan Eng clobbered MCA president left and right.
    He said “Shame on you” few times to Chua Soi Lek after explaining.
    Guan Eng was at his best.

27. #27 by monsterball on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 4:12 am

That idiot Chua complained LGE used the platform like election campaign and not a debate.
    Idiot try his stunts to divert attentions about corruptions….double standards… and MCA role in BN….no role…just a puppet to Najib…and LGE….keep exposing all.
    That MCA porn star caught with his pants down.

28. #28 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 7:26 am

Define Mahathirism
    Lies, cheats, corruption, racism, self-enrichment of cronies
    Now MMK realised dat rakyat C him as a cheat n manipulator with his emperor’s new clothes
    Even his own daughter is critical of him n his cheating, opportunistic racist way

29. #29 by Godfather on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 8:47 am

Mamakthir tells Najib: I’ll shut my mouth if you confirm my son as Kedah UMNO chief at the next elections. If you don’t make a decision, I’ll speak my mind.

30. #30 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 10:53 am

Wife cheater told anCHEATkor: I will carry ur bola 4ever if U confirm my son as a full minister after GE13. If U don’t, I will still b ur bola carrier 1, what 2 do lah, UmnoB supreme mah

31. #31 by Cinapek on Wednesday, 11 July 2012 - 11:19 am

Mahathirism etc.etc. I suspect is all part of a good cop/bad cop routine Mahathir and Najib has worked out.

Lets ask ourselves. What is the main priority of TDM and Najib in the coming GE? Win it at all cost because they have the most to lose if PR takes over Putrajaya. And to win, and win two third, they know they need the non Malay votes as well as the Malay votes. And they know that TDM, with his past record, will never be trusted by the non Malays no matter what he says. So, he plays to the Malay gallery while Najib woos the non Malays. And Najib and co. can always officially claim that TDM is not the Govt so the non Malays has nothing to worry about. In private, the story will be different and the main priority is to win GE13 first and if they have two thirds, even better. By then it will be too late for the non Malays when they realised they have been conned. TDM can sleep peacefully while Najib and co can reverse the promises to the nons to win the GE.

32. #32 by ringthetill on Friday, 13 July 2012 - 6:00 am

Honestly I do feel and see life improved for Malaysian since the 1980s. Please don’t coin the phrase Mahathirism conjour nothing good from my personal experience and makes me sick. We don’t wish to be the sick man of South East Asia do we?

33. #33 by ringthetill on Friday, 13 July 2012 - 6:01 am

Revison please, Honestly I don’t ….