The shameless lot

– Spencer Gan
Feb 26, 2012

FEB 26 – When exactly did Malaysia reach this point: where those sullied by wrongdoing (NFC) and the mother of all wrongdoing (PKFZ) speak without shame, even with arrogance.

There is no remorse or humility. Aren’t those who are wrong or who have misused public funds supposed to show some sorrow or at least keep silent?

Not so the people at the National Feedlot Corporation (NFCorp) or the political party whose politicians fleeced Malaysians of billions of ringgit, the MCA.

A day after the police said that it was recommending that the directors of the NFCorp be charged with criminal breach of trust, the NFCorp hit back and cast aspersions on the motives of the police. It then went on to accuse the police of not understanding key ingredients of the offence.

Imagine the chaps who used your money and mine to buy condos not in the name of NFCorp here and in Singapore; to purchase umrah packages, to pay their credit card bills, etc and doing as they wished with a government soft loan having the temerity to slam the police for improper motives!!!

Till today, we have not had a sorry or any remorse from the people at NFCorp. All we have had is aggression and excuses and ridiculous explanations.

And how about Chua Soi Lek and the MCA. Not a day goes by without them making some accusation against Pakatan Rakyat (the latest one is that Malaysia will become bankrupt within two years if Pakatan takes control).

This warning is coming from the political party that gave us a RM12 billion hole thanks to the corrupt and conniving ways of its politicians who ran the PKFZ. I have not heard Soi Lek or any MCA politician put up their hands and say sorry for fleecing the Malaysian taxpayer.

But I suppose asking these people to act with a modicum of decency is too much. Anyway, while we are on the subject of bankruptcy, wasn’t it Idris Jala who warned that Malaysia was on the road to bankruptcy given the profilgacy of the government.

And correct me but isn’t this the government which has “borrowed” ideas of Pakatan Rakyat’s Buku Jingga and abolished toll charges on some stretches of highways.

But what is astounding is that we have in Malaysia a situation where those accused/guilty of wrongdoing are lecturing the rest of us.

1. #1 by cseng on Sunday, 26 February 2012 - 11:11 pm

One must have some degree of good value inside them to feel shame. These people, rob, steal, and lie. Do you expect some good value system remain inside them. Expect them to feel shame, too much an expectation.

Once , we expect some degree of accountability from these people, now we can’t even expect these bugger to feel shame.

After decades of media control, manipulation of authority forces, judiciary. This is what it became.. shameless and immunity, it need a system re-formatting, nothing short of this.

2. #2 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 26 February 2012 - 11:55 pm

To the Question why those “sullied by wrongdoing speak without shame, even with arrogance” the answer is basic: one feels “shame” if one feels he has done something wrong that others, within same group or sub group, don’t do. But if everyone (within that group or sub group) does or is perceived to do it, then how to feel shame? As Sharizat is often quoted: “Which UMNO leader doesn’t have problems?” So why should she alone have to account or defend against allegations of these problems involving conflicts of interest, benefiting from govt’s contracts etc part of the entrenched patronage culture constituting the raison de etre of being in power? Which explains also the aggressiveness of response (read arrogance) when accountability is sought because here, in a perverse and morally inverted way, the wrong doer (to public) is ‘outraged’ and thinks he/she has been done wrong by the public in being singled out unjustly (from the rest of the group or sub group in which he/she belongs) to do an accounting of something considered an entitlement and privilege of those in the group or sub group in and connected to power who are ordinarily exempted from doing….

3. #3 by k1980 on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 6:54 am

Chua Soi Lek? Decency? See how he banged away in that Batu Pahat hotel room

4. #4 by Bigjoe on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 7:32 am

I think the really disturbing thing is this – MCA is clearly heading for disaster in the next poll – yet CSL is not under much pressure within his party. If people think back, MCA was better off under OTK and he got overturned. In Gerakan, even though you see some dynamism in the organisation, KTK should have been kicked out long time ago.

We accuse UMNO of feudalism – but the Chinese clearly are significantly feudal. For all our call for meritocracy, there is something about our society that still promote the mediocre, that over reward the very marginal in a still significantly feudal society. AND we get unhappy about widening wealth gap?

5. #5 by undertaker888 on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 7:49 am

The only reason why these umno and bn cohorts can be so cocky is that all of them are on the take, including the institutions that are supposed to safeguard the rakyat’s interests. This is how far we are in the abyss.

6. #6 by k1980 on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 7:58 am

Me no shameful. These 2 policemen are my personal bodyguards. We are going to a fancy dress party. I have to be protected because I have lotsa money…. RM12.5 billion!

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSyl2Xo_LQkJBQzFmi8k-MG3Owxjdk2RnE-Ch3rms20RFLyxYH6

7. #7 by Jeffrey on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 8:10 am

///Anyway, while we are on the subject of bankruptcy, wasn’t it Idris Jala who warned that Malaysia was on the road to bankruptcy given the profligacy of the government?/// Spencer Gan. CSL argument (M’ysia under Pakatan being bankrupt within 2 years, therefore vote BN) is based on following:-
    1. Idris Jala said My’sia could become bankrupt “within a decade” ie 10 years if it spends borrowed money on operational expenditure such as subsidies instead of investing the cash;
    2. Pakatan talks of “welfare state” (implies continuing subsidies) hence country becomes bankrupt faster within 2 years.
    Therefore the argument is since BN is withdrawing subsidies, between the 2 coalitions, BN is better cos My’sia won’t be bankrupt and even if we do it will take a longer time (10 yrs) than (say) PR (2 yrs). CSL’s definition of being financially profligate is therefore based on not talking irresponsibly of continuing with subsidies. He’s of course not talking of profligacy from bailouts like that in PKFZ -for which an ex MCA president has been charged for cheating the govt. Spencer Gan tries to rebut by saying PR is not necessarily committed to helping rakyat via continuing with wastrel subsidies but taking away burden of tolls from cronies granted highway concessions, something that BN copied from PR’s Buku Jingga when it “abolished toll charges on some stretches of highways”. On point of MCA copying UMNO’s feudalism raised by BigJoe, it appears that to many Chinese, including some leaders, adaptation is the way to thrive/survive in a milieu of marginalisation. That’s why some even convert, a pathetic national state of affairs because the politically marginalized are copying bad habits of the politically dominant who are financially profligate rather than the opposite of the financially profligate copying ways of the thrifty, leading all to common ruin!

8. #8 by k1980 on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 8:23 am

http://malaysiakini.com/news/190378

Even the police can’t protect you from the unmo thugs

9. #9 by dagen wanna "ABU" on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 8:33 am

Oh are they shameless and arrogant? I think the question is why are they shameless and arrogant, still? They are so because they are of the view that they have not committed any wrong. They did no wrong because what they did was well within their ketuanan right. And their ketuanan right allows them to do precisely what they did. Ask bapak finance minister for money to personal properties, and super cars and luxury tours etc etc. They are the gobermen. That means they own the gobermen and the country. That is why they are shameless and arrogant.

10. #10 by SENGLANG on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 8:52 am

Their former boss say MAS bailed out was not the worst;
    NFC’s wife say that NFC is peanut compare with MAS and PKFZ;
    What shame is all about? Everybody in BN is part of the system. If you don’t take it is only a shame.

11. #11 by undertaker888 on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 8:56 am

These perkasa and umno youth park monkeys are only brave here in bolehland where they know the police will protect them whether right or wrong. Let’s see how brave they are in Singapore or Thailand or any other countries. The first thing they do is tuck tail and hide. I have met these so called ruffians in other countries. At most they behaved like pondan. Not even a sound from them.

12. #12 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 10:10 am

Today, the howling K9, CSL is at it again. He asked what DAP has achieved so far? May he be asked what has NCA delievered so far? In spite of heading 4 Ministries, which by the way UMNO has decided to play with the set rules and regulations, are seen as something like KTK’s. He forgot his main rtesponsibilities to the Community in particular and the Nation in general. He pushed away corruption as non-issue and kept on harping on HUDUD when all his claims are based on his own perception. I wonder if he would list out his ACHIEVEMENTS so far as a Minister and MCA head. His attacks on LGE is obviously a sour grape. While the exchanges at most kopitiam would have condemned MCA to Timbuktu, he still claimed that MCA would performance better than 308. From the grave vine, even around Klang, the best MCA candidate was polled at best 50% of the vote; from a local Branch head!! And he confirmed that it was based on their perfect projection! Ha1 Ha! Ha!

13. #13 by Winston on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 10:29 am

Well, well, well!
    Haven’t we all heard of the robbers who bash up or even slash
    their victims because their loot was deemed not satisfactory?
    They not only commit a heinous crime but they even demand
    that their victims provide them with enough loot to satisfy
    their want!
    This is the same state of affairs prevailing in the Federal
    Government!
    This then is the Frankenstein Malaysians have created by giving
    their trust to this sort of government!
    So much so, that this very government is now even demanding
    “trust” from the same Malaysians whom they have been
    robbing!!!
    Go figure that out!!!!!!

14. #14 by SENGLANG on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 11:32 am

From the statement that NFC and gang made recently it seem they are paying millions on legal costs to get the advise. One of them most expensive lawyer is with them, laughing all the way to the bank. Again may be out of the unused 250 millions.

To the people on the street is simple, the money is from the treasury and thus from the people who pay as taxes. These money are in custodian by the government of the day. Simple.

Money loan to NFC for that cow rearing agriculture activities. Also simple right.

Money now used for an investment that has nothing to do with the cow rearing activities. That is mis used of fund. Also simple.

That is no need to read the loan agreement together with M & A etc. There is no need to twist the fact and just keep it simple and straight.

May be we have to take the BOSS saying MAS bailed out is not the worst. Yes, there Greece bailed is worse than MAS off course. So what NFC and gang also think there is not the worst, as we have MAS and PKFZ.. So they want to shut up.

15. #15 by k1980 on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 12:16 pm

#12 by waterfrontcoolie

// CSL list out his ACHIEVEMENTS so far as a Minister and MCA head//

1. He made Angela Yummy very very happy

2. He made Mrs CSL very very sad

3. He made his son a deputy minister

16. #16 by mickeytiger2006 on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 2:31 pm

Jef, the sentence is too long. Any way to make it shorter in order to read it with ease and with understanding? Tks.

17. #17 by Jeffrey on Monday, 27 February 2012 - 3:25 pm

mickeytiger2006, the present is already a vast improvement what it used to be. However I’ll try, thanks.

18. #18 by Winston on Tuesday, 28 February 2012 - 9:35 am

#15, that’s a good one!