The 1 Malaysia charade has ended

— Ali Kadir
Feb 19, 2012

FEB 19 — Today is the day that the charade of 1 Malaysia has finally come to an end. Thank you, Najib Razak for finally showing some honesty and playing the race card and in doing so, burying the notion that you actually were supportive of a country where race and religion were becoming less important.

It is a fact of life that we discover much about ourselves, our friends and our leaders when the going gets tough and challenges abound.

So it is with Najib today. It is a fair conclusion that with the National Feedlot Centre scandal, the civil service salary fiasco and continuing antipathy towards Umno, he is feeling some pressure with the general elections coming up. In this type of back-against-the-wall situation, I would have hoped that Najib would have resisted the temptation to play the race and religious cards.

But like I said you know a person’s mettle in tough times and Najib sadly went down the road of the typical Umno politician. Speaking at a gathering today, he said that a vote for PAS is a vote for DAP.

I have been around long enough to decipher what Najib means: a vote for Malay (PAS) is a vote for DAP (Chinese). This has been the attack line of Utusan Malaysia.

I find this line of thinking offensive because it is this divide and rule system which has made our polarisation problem serious. It is also offensive because if our so-called leaders are racists or closet racists can you imagine what kind of policies the government will enact?

When a leader goes down this road and demonises one race, it is a green light for others to embrace stereotypes.

Najib warns Malays that a vote for PAS is a vote for DAP and Chua Soi Lek warns Chinese that a vote for DAP is a vote for PAS.

I am thankful that Najib and Chua have finally stopped this wayang about 1 Malaysia.

1. #1 by monsterball on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 1:13 am

If Najib stop playing the race card….he is finished.

2. #2 by monsterball on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 1:23 am

It must always be race and religion as his political security blanket…and simultaneously….promote his “1Malaysia” to contradict himself….hoping all idiots accepts his interpretations. …while the Govt keep wasting millions…promoting the slogan…to hypnotize minds to put a “x” cross…supporting BN.. the “1Malaysia” ….the patriots against traitors.
    If that is so successful…..why is Najib…keep delaying the 13tth GE?

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 1:29 am

Ah Jib Gor is a confused kid. He says different things to different audiences many a times things that are at odds with the other. He just can’t remember what he has said or done or the implications of what he is saying (you help me I help you stuff).

He has got to be the most moronic PM we have had.

4. #4 by boh-liao on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 1:41 am

It’s great dat finally rakyat saw with their own eyes dat NR n CSL far~ked each other

5. #5 by k1980 on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 3:14 am

Sarawak’s white-haired vampire NOT counted as among the 30 billionaires in this country?

http://malaysiakini.com/news/189583

6. #6 by Bunch of Suckers on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 7:13 am

Our neighboring tiny nation can host Air Show! Our Bolehland can show Sodomy I and II. Pretty soon, Sodomy III…

What a shame?

7. #7 by undertaker888 on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 7:36 am

A vote for umno is a vote for mca. And a vote for mca is a vote for umno. So what’s the difference? The difference? What is the difference between a bucket of muck and bn? answer: the bucket.

8. #8 by Bigjoe on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 7:57 am

The world must be upside down when UMNO is the one who call the Malay racist but DAP is the one defending they are not..

9. #9 by undertaker888 on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 9:08 am

All this 1(one) in front of these meaningless slogan. Anyway the 1 sounds like Wang. Wang Malaysia. Wang Care. Wang this, Wang that. That’s how they would like to hoodwink us. It is all about money n nothing else.

10. #10 by Jeffrey on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 9:47 am

NTR’s A vote for Malay (PAS) is a vote for DAP (Chinese) and CSL’s “a vote for DAP is a vote for PAS”. Ok loh then vote for PKR. Its feeling a little left out: no attention paid to it from BN camp. So they’ll think of something, like a vote for PKR is a vote for sodomy or loss of sovereignty to PAX Americana – Israel!

11. #11 by Loh on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 9:50 am

A vote for PAS is a vote for DAP and a vote for DAP is a vote for PAS shows that people voting for PAS and DAP really support 1Malaysia not of Najib’s making. They do not care about race, but the support the policy against corruption.

12. #12 by digard on Monday, 20 February 2012 - 4:36 pm

I still fail to see the second grouping in this picture. Which second grouping? As of now, in my humble opinion, there is one opposition, PR. Correct? Good. On the other hand, the governing group claims that not voting for them
    1. Creates Talibysia, brings Wahhabism
    2. Gets Malaysia into a situation like Singapore.
    It is more than obvious that 1 and 2 cannot come from the same opposition grouping, because both are diametral contradictory.

While I am awaiting some more insight in this respect, may I repeat my earlier question: Why does the Malaysian Government feel that Malays should not be enttitled to good governance, good education and health-care, a public transport that is a viable alternative to buying a car, low corruption, low crime? The Malaysian government must be of this opinion, otherwise it had no reason trying to discourage the Malays for voting for the party that brings all of these advances to them. (Let’s leave aside that I personally don’t believe that the opposition – if the chance would be given – could or even wanted to achieve this.) The overall good governance, high salary levels, low corruption, good universities is used as the boogeyman for the Malays; and it beats me why it works. Why should the Malays fear all of these advantages of a developed country?