Bishop Paul decries vilification of Christians

Terence Netto | Aug 6, 11 7:36pm

Catholic Bishop Dr Paul Tan Chee Ing said today he was not surprised that “hard upon accusations by Jais of Christians proselytising Muslims comes unsubstantiated print media stories seemingly validating those claims.”

“Need we be surprised?” asked the head of the Catholic Church in the Melaka-Johor diocese, who is concurrently president of the Catholic Bishops Conference of Malaysia.

“It’s depressing – this continuing trial of Malaysian Christians by innuendo and insinuation,” sighed the Jesuit-trained prelate in comments to Malaysiakini on the stories in today’s editions of the Berita Harian and Harian Metro that quote a couple of Muslims claiming that they have been targeted by Christian groups as potential converts.

“I’m not surprised the stories in those papers do not have anything more than hearsay to back them,” said the bishop.

“Those papers are owned by the powers-that-be who only recently elected to establish diplomatic ties with the Vatican.

“I don’t know whether to laugh out in scorn or cry out in pain at their duplicity and the naivety of those who help them think that publicly expressed good intentions are a sufficient proof of sincerity.”

Use the power of your vote

The prelate advised Christians to press for proof by Jais (Selangor Islamic Affairs Department) that Christians are targeting Muslims for conversion, and that if such proof is not proffered soon, to act on what that implied at the next general election.

“Only through the ballot box can we bring this continuing vilification of Christians in Malaysians to a shuddering halt.

“Christians should press for proof and, if and when, it is unavailable, express clearly their disgust at the next general election,” said Bishop Paul Tan.

“The days of Christians in Malaysia being supine objects of the machinations of duplicitous politicians are over,” he thundered.

1. #1 by boh-liao on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 9:55 am

No need 2 worry 1, got great support fr NR n RM who had been 2 d Vatican 2 meet d Pope
    NR 2 d Pope: Pssst, ee….er, U help me, I help U lor, OK man

2. #2 by dagen on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 10:07 am

It is now long past the time for BTN to be abolished. The incessant stupid unfounded fear of non-existent enemies and plots in the minds of umno must be removed at once.

Any experts on sociology and human psychology here with a special interest on group/crowd behaviour? Tell us how to address the problem.

3. #3 by negarawan on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 10:17 am

The silence from Tan Sri Pakiam is deafening. He has sold his soul to Najip. At least Bishop Paul, Rev. Shastri and Rev. Eu have the courage to speak out for the church. Its time for Pakiam to step down.

4. #4 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 10:39 am

No doubt…Christianity is a chosen stooge for dirty politics.
    The President of Council Of Churches ..Reverend Thomas Philips spoke out too.
    Where is Najib when Malaysians need him most?

5. #5 by boh-liao on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 10:58 am

NR n RM might declare no need 2 worry abt us n UmnoB/BN 1, U rakyat better worry abt HAli, Jais, PAS/PR/DAP/PKR, they r narrow minded n religious fanatic, we OK 1, met d Pope what

6. #6 by cemerlang on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 11:14 am

Why should Najib go to the Vatican when he should go to the House of Saud ?

7. #7 by k1980 on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 11:30 am

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/five-drown-in-police-raid-on-gambling-den/

Those 5 who drowned were so very scared. Perhaps they thought they were being raided by jais or worse, the macc, so much so that they preferred to commit “forced suicide”

8. #8 by monsterball on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 11:50 am

aiya…under moderated again when by brain is working well.
    Moderator must understands the feelings of Malaysians and not put us at the same level as politicians…..which I say it again….between the two evils…we will vote for a change….OK?

9. #9 by boh-liao on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 12:06 pm

HAli d great defender n sacrificial lamb, n DAP’s bedfellow, soul mate
    http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/hasan-ali-says-ready-to-face-axe/

10. #10 by boh-liao on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 12:16 pm

A truly DUMB statement by NMY, Mi nister in d PM Dept: “D European financial crisis n United States economic slowdown will NOT affect d country’s economy”
    No wonder we r in a mess (eg, compare MAS n SIA; now AA 2 d rescue)
    Y r they paid big bucks n enjoying all sorts of perks?

11. #11 by isahbiazhar on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 12:57 pm

The election is coming.It is coming.UMNO/BN wants to win.What they must do? Frighten the Malays into believing that the Christians want to take over the country and convert the Malays into Christians.PAS is no more a Muslim party.It had sold itself to DAP to form the next government.Anwar wants to be the next Prime Minister but he will be raping all his male colleagues.The Jews had penetrated the country and are using Singapore as their base.These allegation are rife because all report shows that the opposition had become too strong that Najib has no way to win the normal way.Thus the electoral roll will see more voters and more perks to the army and the police.Government servants will be promised their bonus but it will be given after the election when Najib comes back to power.And the cool news will be all above the age of 70 will be given an allowance of RM1000 to generate the sluggish economy back.Petrol prices and domestic provision will be price controlled to get the voters satisfied.UMNO strategists have studied that the goodies must be delivered now to reap the results.The TRUTH is that the MALAYS will not fall into the trap again.The CHINESE and the INDIANS have already decided that they have to teach a lesson to MCA and MIC.SABAHANS and SARAWAKIANS know very well that if they do not change the government more TALIBS will rule.We have come to a critical stage that UMNO/BN must be wiped out from the nation,MALAYSIA, to be one in every aspect.For this to happen the Malays will help out the Chinese,Indians and the others in the next election. The country had enough of what a ruling government could do to disunite the people.When Najib fails the country will see emergency declared and the NOC will come back!

12. #12 by Winston on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 3:29 pm

Judging by the way the misinformation is being
    heightened, the next GE must be close.
    Ensure that everyone, especially those in the rural areas
    and East Malaysia, cast their votes very wisely.
    Those who have folks in the rural areas must inform their
    kin in these areas to cast their vote for good governance.

13. #13 by waterfrontcoolie on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 3:58 pm

With the current scenario and with the baggage of over 50 years of fear mongering, my advice for those very ‘active’ spiritual leaders to take the whole situation into consideration before venturing into such venture. I am of neither “faith”, though I believe in the Creator of this Universe. If we all agree that spiritual faith is between you and the Creator who have Omniportent Power, then there is no need to do things beyond human’s ability. If you get the drift, the Creator will decide on the FINAL CONCLUSION when the time is ripe! Let us all give each other this respect!

14. #14 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 7 August 2011 - 6:14 pm

The Malays have to ask themselves. For hundreds of years after Islam arrived in these shores, they were NEVER like this. Why after only a few decades, they are like this?