Public confidence in Police Plummeted in 2010

CELEBRATING “POLICE DAY” (1)

by Martin Jalleh
25th March 2011

Bolehland celebrates the 204th Police Day today. We thank God for each member of the PDRM for risking and putting their lives on the line every day for us and the countless unseen and untold sacrifices they have made.
We would like to believe that the country is at peace because of the police.
Sadly though a review of the performance of the police force last year (2010) indicates the failure of the government’s professed intention of improving the level of public confidence in the country’s police force.
In a four-part series. the reader will be able to see how in 2010, the police
a) aggressively and indiscriminately denied certain citizens the constitutional right to the freedom of speech and assembly b) abused and used arbitrarily the wide powers of arrest and detention
c) acted with impunity and complete disregard for constitutional and judicial safeguards.
d) arrogantly showed their contempt for the rights of the people that resulted in gross abuse of police powers leading to brutality, torture, prolonged detention, shooting, custodial violence and death.

Part I: Police Preferred to Play Politics

In March 2010, then then IGP Musa Hassan’s insisted that “the police did not take into account the political leanings of anyone, including politicians, when conducting their investigation…”

Musa was only fooling himself. There were ample examples in 2010 of the police being blatantly and brazenly biased towards the powers that be. This can be especially seen in the double standards it displayed.

Umno and its cohorts has never had to bear up with any blinding tear gas or burning chemical-laced water from a water cannon. They were never brutalised or bludgeoned by the batons of bullies in blue, or bundled into police vehicles or beaten up in a police cell.

In 2010, the police appeared to believe in and guarded Umno’s constitutional right to the freedom of speech and assembly. They were guaranteed convenient and comfortable passage to and from the place they held their demonstrations. No action was taken even though it was later confirmed it was an “illegal gathering”.

Such was the case when in February about 300 Umno Youth, Perkasa and MIC Youth members besieged the Australian High Commission to protest against the 50 Australian Members of Parliament who had called for the sodomy charges against Anwar Ibrahim to be dropped.

In the same month, police gave their blessings to some 1,000 members of Perkasa and Selangor Umno to march from the Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz mosque to the Selangor State Secretariat Building to protest the state government’s handling of the quit rent issue involving Yayasan Basmi Kemiskinan.

In sharp contrast, police subjected the Opposition to “petty prosecutions”. They made it their job to deny, disturb, disrupt and derail events organized by the Opposition, civil groups (like Hindraf) or concerned citizens.

In March they disrupted Pakatan Rakyat gatherings in Kepong and Kelab Sultan Sulaiman field, held to celebrate the second anniversary of its 8 March success. In July, they “ambushed” a dinner-talk in Rengit, Johor. Such senseless police aggression was also seen in Changkat Lada, Perak and many other places throughout 2010.

In March, acting on police reports made by the police themselves, the police interrogated Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim over “sensitive issues” which he had supposedly raised during his ceremahs in Penang. Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng and about 15 other elected representatives were also questioned.

“I think this is too much…We strongly resent and protest this continued intimidation by the police force… the police are out to prevent us from carrying out our duties. They should focus on problems of security and criminals and not be subservient to Umno leaders,” Anwar lambasted the police.

On 1 August 30 people were arrested in Petaling Jaya for attending an anti-ISA candlelight vigil to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the ISA. On that same night, police also arrested four people in another vigil held at the Speakers’ Square in Penang.

Police confirmed that they knew of the presence at the same spot of pro-ISA members believed to be Umno representatives and that they were there “to create trouble and agitate”. Yet, no one amongst that group was reprimanded or arrested.

The police also stood idly by when a group of pro-ISA protestors disrupted an Anti-ISA Forum in Penang in November. Would the police do the same if a group were to disrupt a forum organized by Umno?

The year ended with the men in blue at their biased best! On 5 Dec. riot police fired tear gas and sprayed chemical-laced water to disperse some 3,000 protesters as they attempted to march to Istana Negara to submit a memorandum urging the King to intervene in the on-going dispute between the state government and water management company Syabas. About 50 protesters were also arrested.

Of course, the police did not mind the 300 or so protestors of the Anti-Penyelewengan Selangor (Gaps) or anti-Selangor government movement gathered at Stadium Merdeka. They sent a delegation to the palace by car and submitted the memorandum on the water issue to a palace representative.

From the examples given above and still more, the Police failed to “act fairly, independently and professionally” in 2010. They remained for yet another year – the Police Farce!

1. #1 by DAP man on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 9:16 pm

Why not the IGP come out and tell us straight in the face that the police exist to protect, preserve and defend UMNO.

That’s what you have been doing without any shame. How will you ever face your children and grandchildren?

2. #2 by Bunch of Suckers on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 9:25 pm

They often suck what & how their superior suckers want them to suck… They just suck genuinely the ways their superior wishes!

Don’t forget who pay them! Absolutely not those superior suckers pay them to suck out their ways…

3. #3 by yhsiew on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 9:35 pm

///the Police failed to “act fairly, independently and professionally” in 2010.///

Our police are in such a mess because our leaders do not follow the rule of law, have no respect for human rights and lack moral principles. Fearing that they may lose the 13th GE, they abuse their power by using the police as cat’s paw to intimidate, oppress and crush the opposition.

4. #4 by habis on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 10:09 pm

As an humble layman I can say without any bias to any side that the Police in our country favours the BN and oppresses the opposition parties. They dont seem able to apply the law justly and often abuse their power in every possible ways so as to please their political masters.They are not professional and often have no respect for human rights. Gatherings by the opposition parties are considered to be illegal required police permit But if by BN component parties it is permissible even without police permit.There is no harrassment at all and they are allowed to do so under the watchful eyes of the law without any fear of water cannons etc. By right Police should be impartial and act without fear or favour but it is sad to say our Police are not.

5. #5 by tak tahan on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 10:12 pm

Aiyah,DAP man,his children and grandchildren want to see him every day preferably.Got so much angpao and handouts from daddy or grandpa’s looting and bribery!Their children and grandchildrend are already numbed to his self-rewarded robber cum sadist.They will think”if papa and grandpa don’t loot and torture people like us according to his master’s whim,then tak ada angpao or handouts.So papa or grandpa,dont’t feel shy to see me,if so,just close your eyes and hand me some of your looting.”So either way,they will find some excuses to face each other and love each other in their very own well known understanding.The united family moral support ma,you see.

6. #6 by born in Malaya on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 11:28 pm

corrupted Police in Malaysia has given them a reputation where most civilians would avoid them as police means money, it goes for UMNO too. Changing the present government and the whole bunch of racist politician is the only way to have a better life and future.

7. #7 by hallo on Friday, 25 March 2011 - 11:30 pm

Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka.

Feel it how the people dreaming of the moment shouted the Merdeka, Merdeka, Merdeka at the stadium 1957 August 31st.

Proud, Honour, Joy, Tears, Hope, Glory, Future, Nationality.

These are all how the people feel among Malays, Chinese, India and others the moment.

The proud of being have nation call their own.

The Independent Father, royal and our ancestors look forward building a strong nation with justice, fairness, corruption free nation.

But in 1969, the robbers, corruption politicians cheated and stolen our ancestors hope, our independent dream for the nation.

Our independent father was helplessly being left alone, painfully, sadly seeing the nation he dream of fairness, justice, equity for all loyalty citizen, was destroyed by the corrupted politicians surrounded all the government administrations.

Corruptions, in-equity for loyalty citizen is not what our Independent father dreaming of independence

Corruptions, in-equity for loyalty citizen is not what our ancestor dreaming of for independence

The Tunku, royal, our ancestors dreaming of independence of a nation be equity for loyalty citizen, corruption-free, justice nation.

They, the corruption politicians have destroyed their dream, our ancestors dream, our dream.

Ask your and your friends, do you want fairness, justice, corruption-free nation for your children.

If yes, use your hands do the right vote.

Let us pursue our independent father dream, our ancestors dream, a fairness, justice, corruption-free nation for you and your children.

Believe it, you can do it, it is in your hands.

Use your rights to vote and fight the in-justice, corruption politicians who have destroyed Tunku and our ancestors dream.

It is in your hands.

Believe it, you can do it, it is in your hands.

Vote for a CHANGE

Vote for our Tunku and our ancestor DREAM

Believe it, you can do it

8. #8 by tak tahan on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 12:36 am

9. #9 by Bunch of Suckers on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 8:23 am

How can the component party of BN in our Bolehland for having a porn-star to be leader? That’s ridiculous and LOL. It seems like everything is suck in our Bolehland!

10. #10 by Thor on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 8:25 am

Just bribed them in the form of giving them a pay rise now and then and they’ll do anything for you.
    That’s what one hisap puting fella is doing.
    Umno’s buggers are very good at paying money to others to do dirty jobs.
    Picked up from Anwar’s blog that some senior minister from Umno is paying 10 million … just to smear Anwar’s name.
    Where did all those money comes from?
    Stolen from rakyat of course!!!

11. #11 by Thor on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 9:22 am

And super bitch claimed in press conference that they’re 18 more sex videos stashed up somewhere waiting to be shown.
    Must be waiting for scripts to be written, I guess!
    If that’s the case, then I’ll have to run down to Brazil to do a plastic surgery.
    I need to look like Anwar, talk like Anwar, fart like Anwar and even “screw” like Anwar!
    Maybe they’ll pay me more, if I can do that!
    Hey, Airasia!!!
    When are you flying to Brazil?

12. #12 by Thor on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 9:32 am

Wowee! Saiful’s “S” hole must be worth a lot more than that!
    School dropout can now find big money by trading their “S”.

13. #13 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 9:56 am

// Police have arrested two suspects in connection to the sex video allegedly featuring a man, said to resemble Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, having sex with a foreign woman.//

But why no arrests in the case of Chua SL?

14. #14 by k1980 on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 9:59 am

In the first nine months of 2010, crime fell by 16% and street crimes fell 38%, with 648 people were arrested for corruption.

Waa… I am going to sleep with my front floor and garden gate open tonight….. the criminals dare not come out with the great PDRM around. But then again, I may find my throat slit tonight because of my open my front floor

15. #15 by habis on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 10:46 am

Police are Enforcement officers of the law But it is regrettable the IGP is failing in his duty to hold steadfast to the oath he had taken.To quote ‘What offence (did they commit),you tell me’ as reported in the Star today and under Section 5 of the Film Cencorship Act 2002 no person shall have in his control or ownership of any film material which if obscene or against public decency shall circulate,exhibit or distribute these material if found guilty can be jailed or fined between $10,000 and $15,000.It is a shame that the IGP have the cheek to say that they cannot taken police action against the Datuk T just because they are untouchable with political connections and are treated in special case as compared to the ordinary layman.If that is the case then any person in possession of obscene film can also invite his or her friends to joinly view such tapes in their homes (hotels) without fear of having commiting any unlawful act since a precedent has been set.I now realised that there 2 sets of law in our country one for the privileged class and one for the ordinary laymen.

16. #16 by born in Malaya on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 11:55 am

All this digging into Anwar’s personal life shows that UMNO is really feeling the treat from Anwar.
    What Anwar did during his free personal time do not concern the citizens, being a non-racist politician is more to our concern.
    For example, video of Sui Lek having sex with other woman has not deter him from being the MCA top man.

17. #17 by dagen on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 12:01 pm

I hv a theory on the recent anwar sex clip. You see someone was ordered to orchestrate and direct the act and the recording. The whole exercise is to enable the police to arrest and charge the perpetrator in court; and perhaps to send them to jail, even. The idea is to kill (in the eyes of the public) all conspiracy allegations that anwar could throw at umno in his sodomy II trial. It is the “See. If there is indeed conspiracy and frame up, we would take action.” sort of impression umno wants to create.

And of course, at the same time to create a major distraction to pakatan’s campaign efforts in sarawak.

Hey monkeys and umnoputras, your trick wont work!

18. #18 by Thor on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 12:41 pm

Habib RAK The gathering was peacefull and the large crowd was appreciating the explainations given by Yb Azmin and Yb Anwar. All this suddenly changed when the police rudely stormed in to stop Anwar from speaking further. The police instigated the chaos and angered the crowd. Even my polite enquiry to the police as to why they are raiding was rudely dismissed and I was ordered to leave immediately. I did observe that among the police, there are some (the rude and aggressive ones) do not seem to be Malaysians. The local police personnel were mostly calm and polite. The very rude and aggressive one are suspect Malaysians. Does PDRM employ non Malaysian mercenaries to be agent provocatuers?11 hours ago · Report

Pluck the above comment from Malaysiakini.
    Seemed that Najis is the copycat of Gadaffi.
    Employing foreign “mercenaries” to beat the people.
    Well! UN, what’re you waiting for???
    Have French and US force to “deliver” some tomahawk missiles to Najis and gang.
    Not from arms deal but from mid air!!!

19. #19 by undertaker888 on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 6:35 pm

Police. Poli=many. Lice=kutu. Many kutu in this Polis Di-beli Ringgit Malaysia.

PDRM=polis derhaka rakyat Malaysia
    PDRM=polis diarah rosma mansor
    PDRM=pegang dua rambutan mamak

20. #20 by monsterball on Saturday, 26 March 2011 - 10:53 pm

I will not lump up all policemen and women into one bad basket.
    It is the Dictatorial and corrupted system of the Govt…that is the root of all evils.
    The top guns from Police Force are all hand picked and bought up by Najib..like a gangster chief…..and thousands police officers are paid to follow orders….which should be the right way.
    However…we all know and so does thousdads of Police officers know too…their leaders are playimng politics and not really protecting the
    country and innocent by-standers.
    They are keeping quiet…and watching…as long as deaths are not reaching alarming stage…they will keep quiet.
    But once …fights start and thousands die…you will see many policemen protecting Malaysians that are anti government .
    This is my hope that whatever it is…Malaysians holding authorities and power do not leen to politics like blind people.