Malay history: What’s missing from the textbooks (2)

by John Doe | CPIASIA

Also interesting to note is the following:

In Late Yuan Dynasty, China became chaotic, people who lived along the coastal area of Fujian, under the leadership of Ong Sum Ping’s siblings, escaped to eastern Kalimantan — they landed at the river mouth. When they were exhausted, facing a shipping crisis, someone lost their arms. After that, the Kadazans named it as Sungai Kinabatangan — the place where the Chinese lost their arms.

Ong Sum Ping and his sister, and the Chinese people developed the area of Sungai Kinabatangan, and they increased their influence there. With the increase of his prosperity, the natives named him Raja, or King. The Chinese named him as ‘Chung Ping’ — meaning the General. We can clearly see that Ong Sum Ping controlled Eastern Kalimantan.

This is Ong Sum Ping Road in Brunei.

“Located the north-western part was the Sultanate Brunei; its southern area was controlled by local Malays (from Palembang) and they were in a state of decline. In the eastern part, they suffered from the invasion of the Muslim Sultan of Sulu. When the new (first) ruler — Sultan Muhammad Shah — ascended to the throne, he asked for the help of Ong Sum Ping. Sultan Muhammad Shah married his daughter to Ong Sum Ping, and titled him as Maharaja Lela. Muhammad Shah also asked his brother to marry the sister of Ong Sum Ping, and titled her as Puteri Kinabatangan. Via these marriages, these two regional powers built a close relationship. Under the cooperation of Ong Sum Ping and the Chinese armies, they fought against the Sulu Muslim invasion, and Brunei was saved from utter collapse…”

Without Chinese help, Brunei and Sabah would have collapsed and fallen to the Muslim pirate Suluks. And the year is the early 1400s. And for the record, ‘Kina’ (kee-na) is used by Kadazan Dusun which similar to ‘Cina’ (chee-na) used by Malay which refer the Chinese. So, the correct way to say it in today’s context, is to call it CheenaBatangan, and Mount CheenaBalu, or Mount CheenaBaru (had they mispronounced it), and Kota CheenaBalu (to replace the British given name of Jesselton).

This is all in line with how the Kadazan pronounces Kina, to mean Cheena. Ask your Kadazans friends, if you want to find out more. (‘Sino’-anything, means Chinese)

Mt Kinabalu, is known a Mt CheenaBalu in the Kadazan Language

This is the first clear record of the ‘Social Contract’. Both pendatangs would fight side by side to ward off other vicious attackers. Both pendatangs would help each other in times of need. And both pendatangs would intermarry, regardless of religion.

The second is that Maharaja Lela is a Chinese, and his name is General Ong Sum Ping. Now I ask you this: What is the significance of the title ‘Maharaja’? It contains the word ‘Maha’ followed by ‘Raja’. It is a title to mean ‘Most High King’. A title befitting a God and put together, it means “The God King, Lela”. The king of Thailand (Rama V, aka Chulalongkorn) also changed his name, from Dharma Raja to Dewa Raja)

Using one’s brains, one would easily deduce the following:

Firstly, the Sultan of Brunei was extremely so grateful that he elevated his Chinese brother-in-law to ‘God’ status.

Secondly, no Muslim is going to do that. ‘Maha’ anything is reserved for Allah. And to title his Chinese brother-in-law in this manner, whether Ong Sum Ping was a Muslim or not, is simply unthinkable had the Sultan really been a Muslim. Which again reinforces that Sultan Muhammad Shah was no Muslim.

Thirdly, Malaysia still has the title ‘Duli Yang Maha Mulia’ so I could be wrong about Muslims being able to call a human ‘Maha-something’ instead of the word reserved only for the divine.

And the best of course, is reserved for last:

“In fact according to Chinese records of the Liang Dynasty, Tang Dynasty and Song Dynasty, Brunei had been sending her envoys to China and had also been receiving envoys from China. The earliest records stated that in the years 517AD, 521AD and 631AD, Brunei had sent her envoys to China. In 977AD, China sent her envoys to Brunei.” (see The Brunei Times)

The above sends a clear message that someone else was already King in Brunei circa 876 years before Sultan Muhammad Shah declared himself as Sultan. It is also very clear that the Chinese were already in Brunei 53 years before the Prophet Muhammad was born.

Also important to note, that the Chinese arrived at least 876 years before Parameswara reached Malacca. Could the Chinese have been the original royal lineage of Brunei? Remember that by the Year 53-Before-Prophet Muhammad, Chinese had already been living in Borneo. And never forget that the earliest Arabic maps label Malaya as ‘Barr Chin’ to mean Land of the Chinese.

And even earlier is this:

Second half of the 5th century: The Buddhist monk Hui-Shen and his Afghan companions travelled from China to Fu-Sang. Yes, the Afghans were Buddhists and carved the Bamiyan Buddhas that were destroyed by the Taliban.

Hui Sen visits Holotan (Java), on his way back to China. And the King of Java then sends seven missions to China begging them to recognize his kingdom, because no one else recognized them. This brings up strange questions. The Javanese kings did it, the Sultan of Brunei did it, and even Parameswars did it. Why were all these kings sucking up to the Chinese over the centuries? Is this what Ketuanan really means? Sucking up to China? All the Austronesians have certainly done it for the past 1,600 years, or more…

Final parting thoughts… Why are the oldest mosques in Malacca shaped all like Pagodas (in Trengkera)?

Why is there no ‘local’-shaped mosque architecture in Malacca? Why is there Bukit Cheena in Malacca, but no Bukit Melayu or more importantly, no Bukit Sultan? Why is there zero trace of any grave belonging to the Sultan of Malacca? Before anyone gives his lame excuse, there are at least 15 royal graves here in Brunei. All intact, all complete, and no missing links.

There are all records ranging from the Chinese (the later ones were Muslims) being in Borneo right from the fifth century right up till the 15th century. So the next time someone tells you that the Chinese only arrived in the 19th century …

Postscript: If I wrote a book on collective Southeast Asian History (complete with actual location photographs), I wonder how many of you people will buy it?

Related: Malay history: What’s missing from the textbooks (1)

Bibligraphy

Kenneth Hall, Maritime trade and state development in early Southeast Asia, citing Wang Gungwu, ‘The Nanhai trade: a study of the early history of Chinese trade in the South China Sea’, JMBRAS 31, 2 (1958): 33, citing Paul Wheatley, The Golden Khersonese, studies in the historical geography of the Malay peninsula before 1500, Kuala Lumpur, 1961, and other secondary sources;

Yoshiaki Ishizawa, ‘Chinese chronicles of C1st-5th century AD Funan’,

Yoshiaki Ishizawa, ‘Chinese chronicles of C1st-5th century AD Funan’, citing Wan Zhen, Nanzhou yuwuzhi.

Louise Levathes, When China Ruled the seas, citing the Liang Shu (History of the Liang dynasty) and (i) Paul Shao, Asiatic Influence in Precolumbian art, Ames, Iowa State Univ 1976, and (ii) David H.Kelley, ‘Nine lords of the night’, Studies in the Archaeology of Mexico and Guatemala, 16, Berkeley, Univ of California Dept of Anthropology, Oct 1972 & ‘Calendar animals and deities’, Southwestern Journal of Anthropology, 16, Albuqerque, Univ of New Mexico, 1960.
Chisholm, Hugh, ed (1911). Encyclopædia Britannica (Eleventh ed.). Cambridge University Press.
Ongkili, James P. “Ancient Chinese Trading Links.” East Malaysia and Brunei. Ed. Wendy Hutton. Tuttle Publishing, 2001.
Saunders, Graham. A History of Brunei. London and New York: RoutledgeCurzon, 2002.
Wright, Leigh. “Brunei: An Historical Relic.” Journal of the Hong Kong Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society. Vol. 17 (1977).
“Background Note: Brunei Darussalam”. U.S. State Department. Retrieved 2008-12-16.

http://www.personal.psu.edu/users/m/v/mvp111/karin.htm
, citing vol.231 of The Great Chinese Encyclopedia, compiled by court historians of the Wang emperors from 502 to 556 AD (other refs give the editor’s name as Ma Tuan-Lin);

Prof V.G.Nair, Buddhist mission visits America before Columbus,

http://www.saigon.com/~hoasen/mission.htm;

http://www.1s.com/hkmission/history/chinese.htm, citing hearsay of an 1100 page diary in the Chinese imperial archives of which only 75 pages of partial excerpts seen;

http://users.wi.net/~maracon/;http://www.ventanawild.org/news/se01/fusang.html;

Kenneth L. Feder, Frauds, Myths and Mysteries: Science and Pseudoscience in Archaeology, p113-4, citing Frost, F, 1982,

The Palos Verdes Chinese anchor mystery, Archaeology, Jan/Feb 23-27,

quoted on www.kenspy.com/Menzies/Ships.html regarding irrelevance of these anchors.

J.V.G.Mills, introduction, to Ma Huan, Ying-yai Sheng Lan; John Carswell, Blue & White, p.87; Louise Levathes, When China ruled the seas; Ma Huan, Ying-yai Sheng Lan. Inscription in Galle

1. #1 by k1980 on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 11:20 am

//they fought against the Sulu Muslim invasion, and Brunei was saved from utter collapse….//

…. only to bequeath 99.5% of the country to a white devil by the name of James Brooke in 1841 which in turn was swallowed up in 1963. Even Sulu is today bigger than Brunei!

• #2 by cemerlang on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 11:16 pm

James Brooke was just a trader of the Spice trade then but because of his guns, he was able to defeat the Dayaks and in return the Sultan gave him a big present in the form of Serahawak. He happened to be there at the right time, the right place and the right moment.

2. #3 by kltan on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 11:48 am

Most of the links in the citation do not work. Please update them so we can check the facts.

3. #4 by tak tahan on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 11:56 am

4. #5 by tak tahan on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 12:15 pm

Rambutan,where r u again?Your grand grandfather story you know?People are talking very serious stuff here and yet you’re ignoring the true history cause i supposed you are afraid the tree no longer belongs to you.Amitaba to you..and remember.. that Thai girl’s rambutans are so so..sweeter cause her grand grandfather didn’t brought over here the good seeds according to the author in the year of somewhere BC..with actual location and her grand grandfather’s smiling photographs holding seeds of two different seeds plastic bags;one for local replant and the other one send back to Thai and export back here for his grandcucu to make decent money

5. #6 by tak tahan on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 12:18 pm

Typo mistake

,,holding two different kind of seeds in plastic bags.

• #7 by Sallang on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 4:51 pm

Plastic bags already available in the years BC?

Anyway, History is interesting, only if the teacher knows how best to present it.

6. #8 by drngsc on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 12:58 pm

Dear John Doe,

Thanks for the enlightenment. You must also know :-
    There is none so blind as those who would not see
    History is always written by the victor.

7. #9 by k1980 on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 1:12 pm

//the Chinese arrived at least 876 years before Parameswara reached Malacca.//

Is Chua Soilek going to write the above fact into the constitution or the social contract? No, he is quite satisfied with the title of “pendatang” given to him by umno.

8. #10 by baochingtian on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 1:48 pm

9. #11 by dagen on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 2:00 pm

Obviously the author did not touch on one crucial issue. Rambutans. Thats right. Rambutans. Now tell me. Who first planted and ate rambutans on the land we now call malaysia?

Cintanegara. Yes. And yes you got it again. Cintanegara is today several thousand yrs old. Amazing fella. Extremely old and still he could manage the computer and the internet.

Cintanegara is living proof that malays were the first people here in this region. In fact, now this is the best part, he was that very first person here. There was no chicken and egg problem. Nope. None of that. He just woke up one day and found himself alone and in this strange land. Several thousand yrs less 50 later, the very same land was given a name: Malaysia.

So there people. Cintanegara Yg Maha Besar (full name) is the great great great great great grandad of all malays in malaysia.

And he loves the rambutan!

10. #12 by donplaypuks on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 2:32 pm

Here are some more little known FACTS about Brunei and East Malaysian history:

The earliest contact between China and Borneo or Kalimantan as it has always been known to the natives, goes as far back as 600 BC.

Chinese coins of that era have been found at the mouth of the Sarawak River. The Dayaks have vast collections of Chinese jars passed down from generation to generation. Gold and diamond mines scattered in Sarawak have all the signs of having been worked well before European times.

The Kinabatangan River, the second longest river in Malaysia, and Mt. Kinabalu, the highest mountain in South East Asia, are both possibly derived from the word ‘China.’

Kinabatangan literally means Chinese River and Kina Balu, Chinese Widow. Both are located in Sabah (‘Land Below The Wind’) whose capital is Kota Kinabalu or Fort (Sanskrit) Chinese Widow. Local Aborigines however ascribe ‘Kinabatangan’ to a long wooden scraper used in caves to scoop birds-nest, a centuries old export to China!!

Strangely, the Sanskrit word for China is ‘Kina’!

Kublai Khan sent an expedition to Borneo in 1292 AD and this is the most probable explanation for the origin of the Chinese colonies and influences along the Kinabatangan River.

Until the 19th century Sabah and large tracts of South West Philippines as well were under the rule of the Brunei Sultans. Brunei, known to the Chinese as Po-li, Po-lo or Pu-ni, and locally as Bruni, was under the protection of China from as far back as the Sui Dynasty of 600 AD till the 13th century. But much of Brunei’s pre-history and early history still lies locked in the mists of time.

Ming records show that in 1370 AD a Chinese envoy who arrived in Brunei received gifts on behalf of the Ming emperor with whom the King wished to re-establish relations. King Manaregarna (Maharaja Karna?) was the first to convert to Islam. He was later referred to in Ming records as Ma-ha-mo-sha or Muhammad Shah.

In the Salasilah Raja-Raja Brunei his pre-Islamic name is stated as Awang Alak Ber Tatar. Prior to this, Brunei is described as Kaffir (gentile) and had been conquered by the Majapahit invaders from Java. But the influences before this period are likely to have been Hindu as evidenced by elements in local customs and Sanskrit words in the local languages. 400 A.D. Pallava-Grantha Sanskrit inscriptions found at Koetei in E. Borneo describe the reign of the Brahmin King Mulavarman and of his father and grandfather as Asvavarman and Kundunga (Kaundinya?) from S.India.

What is really intriguing though is the Chinese connection to the Brunei Sultanate. The official State approved version of events is that Sultan Muhammad died heirless and was succeeded by his younger brother Sultan Ahmad who married Puteri Kinabatangan or Chinese Princess, a sister of one Ong Sum Peng. Ong had married a daughter of Sultan Muhammad.

Ong Sum Peng is variously described as Chinese Raja, Chinese Minister, Head of a Chinese community, Envoy of the China Emperor etc. But the legend associated with Ong is that he and a group of Chinese had set sail for Borneo from China and wrested by cunning a fabled diamond from a dragon residing on top of Mount China Balu!

Other versions of manuscripts found in the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies in London tell differing stories giving other possibilities, viz:-

1. Ong converted to Islam, married Sultan Muhammad’s daughter and ruled as Sultan Ahmad, 2nd King of Brunei.
    2. Ong’s daughter, and not sister, Chinese Princess, married Sultan Ahmad.

Matters are thrown into confusion with Chinese records describing the visit in 1408 of King Ma-na-je-na-ka, 2nd King of Brunei, accompanied by his 4 year old son Hsia-wang (Little King). Unfortunately 28 year old Ma-na-je-na-ka died of a sudden illness and was buried in Nanking. This King’s Mausoleum was re-discovered in modern times and visited by former Malaysian Chief Justice Tun Suffian in 1983. But, there is no record of this in Brunei.

For more information you can refer to ‘Papers Relating To Brunei’ by Prof Cheah Boon Kheng (Penang U) published by MBRAS (The Malaysian Branch Of The Royal Asiatic Society).

dpp
    we are all of 1 Race, the Human Race

• #13 by cemerlang on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 11:18 pm

Kafir means unbeliever. Gentile means unclean. Two different meanings altogether.

11. #14 by Bigjoe on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 2:42 pm

That is the truth, like it or not, we are likely cousins in this land..

12. #15 by undertaker888 on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 3:35 pm

it means the chinese and malays are like brothers in the past. until the mamak from kerala came and pretend to be malay and separate us. he is evil, man.

purely evil man. this mamak.

13. #16 by sheriff singh on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 3:35 pm

In school, my uncle said he studied about the travels of the Buddhist monk Fa-hsien (337 – c. 422 AD).

This monk travelled by land across Central Asia and visited Buddhist shrines and collected scriptures in India and Ceylon (Sri Lanka).

On his way home, he travelled by sea and visited places in Sumatra, Java, Borneo and Vietnam before reaching home in Shandong, China.

His journey was in the late 4th Century AD but his journeys are now not mentioned anywhere in our History textbooks.

• #17 by cemerlang on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 1:20 pm

The root should go back to Gautama Buddha.

14. #18 by sheriff singh on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 3:37 pm

This new CAPTCHA is the pits. I am going bonkers.

// SYSADMIN – The reCaptcha have a build in function to change the text image to one that suits you. This can be achieve by clicking the icon showing 2 arrows in circular fashion. Please refer to the image here : http://www.flickr.com/photos/38335921@N08/5376892357/ //

15. #19 by dagen on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 4:46 pm

Oi cintanegara you should ask umno to demand an apology from all chinese in the country for interfering all those hundreds and thousands of yrs ago. Yeah, ask porno chua to apologise publicly.

Good idea?

Oh shark, what captcha words are those? Try again. Again. Again. And again. Hah!

16. #20 by ChinNA on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 6:15 pm

Bigjoe :
    That is the truth, like it or not, we are likely cousins in this land..

Agree . . . 100%. Anyway, we need to prosper thy cousin. Then we will jointly be successful.

17. #21 by atlk on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 6:20 pm

There is this one dumb dumb once told me proudly that Cheng Ho married a local and thus converted to Islam. I told him Cheng Ho is a born Muslim, and his father’s name is Ma Ha Ji. Meaning his father had fulfilled the pilgrimage. He is one of the earliest man to spread Islam to Southeast Asia. As usual… he don’t believe. Haha…

• #22 by cemerlang on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 11:13 pm

He was not a pendakwah. He was an ambassador on a political diplomatic mission to make friends and to make business. So happened he is a Muslim and probably because of that and being a eunuch means that he had that kind of discipline to travel so far and so slow but was able to complete a mission given by the emperor.

• #23 by atlk on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 12:00 am

he’s definitely not a pendakwah, but he is definitely one of the earliest person to bring Islam to this part of Asia. his whole entourage are Muslims. some settled down here and married with the locals and thus, converting them. Besides, he is a very very staunch Muslim. And he wanted very badly to go to Mecca to fulfill the pilgrimage like his father. I think he never made it.

• #24 by cemerlang on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 1:50 pm

He did go to Arabia. China has a very rich history of Islam and if China has Malaysia’s style of government, all Chinese nationals should be Muslims by now.

18. #25 by Godfather on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 9:06 pm

I demand that from now onwards, the government must rename Kota Kinabalu to Kota Chinabalu, also Sg Kinabatangan to Sg Chinabatangan. This is in accordance with irrefutable historical fact.

• #26 by cemerlang on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 11:14 pm

You need the support of the Kadazans Dusuns.

19. #27 by raven77 on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 9:14 pm

John Doe,

I will buy it

20. #28 by tak tahan on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 9:42 pm

Godfather,advise please..

What about kinagarden?Also chinagarden?And kinna mo san?china moto san?

21. #29 by tak tahan on Friday, 21 January 2011 - 9:44 pm

Typo mistake
    should be kinna moto san?

22. #30 by assamlaksa on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 12:48 am

John, i will buy your book

23. #31 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 12:59 am

it only shows that the history of Malaysia is very rich as it lies at the crossroads of major trade roots.
    Too bad our young Malayians are going to be brainwashed with a narrow ketuanan bias.

24. #32 by tak tahan on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 1:02 am

Godfather,your demand or request is already granted with Ali baba style aka umno.So kindergarden changed to chinagarden and so with kinna moto san should be renamed china motto san.And so forth like words starting with ‘kin ra’ ra in puchong became chin ra ra is a must to be ‘rename’ in the next parliament sitting with LKS.No worry,LKS sure taroh them one la.But LKS,pls take care your wellbeing as you know these goons are beyond anybody’s control.They will argue and talk rubbish like our local sour rambutan friend.Before i forgot,my mother used to say wa ai kio Ah Toi lai liau,nasi lu boh tia ua(someone by the name my mother will recommend as Ah Toi to send her concerned patient in my neighbourhood with his only company’s van for only used transport to Tanjung Rambutan.So cintanegara,enough main main la,ple..se grow up asap as long i still have the uncle’s contact to send you in anytime ..you know.Your otak tak center,senget sikit la

25. #33 by Taxidriver on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 2:06 am

Kua kin kio Ah Toi lai chye si gin na lan bo tan khi Tanjung. Bo yuk yee liao.

26. #34 by wanderer on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 9:52 am

Who were the malays?…is there a Malay race. Faked bumiputra perhaps. If we were to use MamakKutty of Kerala as a yardstick to determine this so called Ketuanan Melayu, we have to refer to the history book of India…the birth place of the mamaks!

27. #35 by negarawan on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 9:58 am

Hang Too Ah sounds Chinese ?

28. #36 by sotong on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 10:09 am

Becoming a Malay was an opportunity to exploit the weaknesses of government policies……many New Malays are holding important and influential government posts, one became PM.

29. #37 by tak tahan on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 12:35 pm

Like that punya style lo..eazy eazy one..Thank you to those chinese muslim who came to this land by ship backpacking the koran bible in your religiously misssion

http://malaysiansmustknowthetruth.blogspot.com/2011/01/more-crocodile-bin-abdullahs-exclusive.html

30. #38 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 1:19 pm

The Truth is someone is trying to change the REAL history so that he could continue to spread lies to hide HIS wantonness of the past 30 years and more. what would happen it the inconvienent truth is told; all the influence would be gone. the REAL Malays would begin to ask a lot of questions. maybe it high time they do; having be led by their nose all these years!
    One thing those jokers forgot is the ancient history of the world had been written even BEFORE they could lay claim to their origins! Older civilization had already set the truth in prints and with DNA identification, their lies and half truths will be exposed as easily as ABC. Theyn forgot their game plan is only good to mislead the poor kampong folks, while the rest of the world knew better!!

31. #39 by k1980 on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 1:56 pm

//The Truth is someone is trying to change the REAL history so that he could continue to spread lies to hide HIS wantonness of the past 30 years and more//

That someone will soon claim that Adam and Eve were umno members, that is to say the first humans on earth had already joined umno.

32. #40 by tak tahan on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 3:18 pm

Ar..ya..those chinaman muslim should have just came in their physical form only.See,now this religion things is being used to mess everything up by umno goons’s misdeed.Mamak took advantage of that and so do Khir toyol and others.I think those chinaman muslim must had been second class in china otherwise they don’t have to sail over here to spread islam.Such a big land in China to spread islam instead..Ha..i

33. #41 by monsterball on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 7:46 pm

There are so much history to prove Malaysia is being developed by the Chinese from China and settled here as faithful devoted Malaysians..hundred of years ago.
    You expect all these to be revealed by UMNO B in history books for schools?
    It will make their job to keep fooling Malays more difficult.
    Thanks to Internet…and with Historian writer like John Doe…I hope future young Malaysians…..especially the Malays do not be easily fooled by UMNO B dirty race and religion politics that will benefit no one….except UMNO B chosen ones.
    They intend to keep using this trend of politics to dividing the people…to rule forever..with money to buy loyalties too.
    This is an outdated corrupted concept of DICTATORS all over the world..and dictatorship government is dying ll over the world.
    It is unacceptable here too.. …unless Malaysian want to be treated like slaves?

34. #42 by monsterball on Saturday, 22 January 2011 - 11:25 pm

I wonder why Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat taken out from history books now….yet in river tours…you get guides telling you the greatness of these two warriors…to tourists.
    You see…both are important figures in Malacca…and both are not Malays….yet both cannot be ignored in Malacca tours.
    That’s one way to tell half truths…specialized by UMNO B.

35. #43 by tak tahan on Sunday, 23 January 2011 - 1:06 am

It’s norm la.My father also knows UMNO has so many specialist or Pok Su addressed as cuckoo sasterawan historians,half past six ministers and the kangaroo judges.Special rare creature that we can’t find in other parts of the world.U la la

36. #44 by good coolie on Sunday, 23 January 2011 - 8:07 pm

If Jew write history, Jews will be the Chosen People. Likewise if Arabs write history, they will be the Holy Race. Sorry to be such a rationalist, brudder! If you want more examples, take Hitler and his Aryan race; and the belief in some quarters that the Tamil Language was given directly by God… . I am just a poor old man: if I am wrong, correct me, but spare my life.
    The ghoulish Re CAPTCHAs are no match for me!

37. #45 by AskChong on Tuesday, 25 January 2011 - 1:25 am

I have been cheated for so many years… will my children be cheated too with my awareness ??? will i allow it be happened in next 10~15 years?

38. #46 by tak tahan on Tuesday, 25 January 2011 - 9:42 am

Be vigilante and and most if not all malaysian keep ourself aware of surroundings then malaysia could be conducive environment to live on.We could make the change if only we allowed ourself to make it!

39. #47 by ahmadmuhammad on Tuesday, 25 January 2011 - 2:52 pm

please dont makeup your own history. learn from those who know.