Brain drain continues: Newest Singapore senior counsel – equivalent to island republic’s Queen’s Counsel – a Malaysian from Seremban

[Update and correction: The statement that Chan Leng Sun had “never worked in Malaysia” is wrong. In fact, Chan worked in Malaysia first. He was a pupil assisting a few dedicated counsel who were representing the former Lord President Tun Salleh Abas when he was being tried by a tribunal for alleged misconduct in 1988. It was only later that he went to Cambridge on a Kuok Foundation scholarship. Sincere apologies for the error – Kit 12 January, 2011 6.50 pm]

Yesterday, it was reported that a Malaysian is again the top Singapore student for the third consecutive year – 16-year-old Chia Pei Yun of CHIJ St Nicolas Girls’ School who hails from Damansara Utama, Selangor and who scored 10 A1s in Singapore’s GCE O-level exams.

Today, my attention has been drawn to another Singapore news report last Friday underlining the grave problem of brain drain from Malaysia.

The following is the Channel News Asia report:

Two lawyers appointed Senior Counsel
By Dylan Loh | Posted: 07 January 2011

SINGAPORE: Two lawyers with over 50 years of combined experience have been appointed Senior Counsel. They are Mr Roderick Martin, 63, and Mr Chan Leng Sun, 46.

The announcement was made by Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong at the Opening of the Legal Year on Friday.

The appointment recognises outstanding advocates and is seen by the legal fraternity as the Singapore equivalent of Britain’s Queen’s Counsel.

A committee comprising Chief Justice Chan, Attorney-General Sundaresh Menon and Justice of Appeal Chao Hick Tin among others, made the selection.

Mr Martin entered the legal service in 1972 and was a former Supreme Court Registrar. He also taught law at the NUS. Mr Chan served as a United Nations Legal Officer and also published works on international law.

Mr Martin said: “This appointment (Senior Counsel) is a reflection of past work and standards which have been maintained. And it also points to the standards which have to be maintained in the years to come. So it’s really benchmarking a particular standard for future performance.”

Mr Chan said: “The general reputation that goes along with the appointment will be something that might make other clients or other companies, who do not know (about) lawyers in Singapore, first consider that there’s this pool of lawyers that they should make enquiries about, (and take it from there.)” – CNA/ir

Chan studied in St. Paul’s Institution, Seremban and graduated from University of Malaya’s Law Faculty before doing his LL.M. in Cambridge under Kuok Foundation scholarship. He never worked in Malaysia.

This is the latest example of Malaysia’s debilitating long-standing braindrain with far-reaching consequences on Malaysia’s international competitiveness as well as nation-building.

What can the Talent Corporation do to check this brain drain to retain and attract talent to Malaysia, if the Najib government does not have the political will to carry out comprehensive political, economic, educational and nation-building reforms to convince Malaysians and others that Malaysia is “a land of equal opportunity to earn a good living and provide a secure, happy life for each individual and family”?

Apart from setting up the Talent Corporation, what has the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak done in his 18 months as Prime Minister in terms of policy and institutional reforms to check this brain drain?

1. #1 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:37 pm

As long as racist policies favouring a single race is practised in Malaysia, Najis can expect all brainy ones to get out of Malaysia! This country has already reached a point of no return where those with brains can never accept such lopsided policies!!!!!!

Malaysia is the one and only country in the world protecting the MAJORITY while all other nations in the world protect the MINORITY!!!! Even communist China protects its minority races, so this means MALAYSIA is worse than the COMMUNISTS?

2. #2 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 12:59 pm

///He never worked in Malaysia./// – Kit

Why must he (Mr. Chan) work in Malaysia where the justice system is chaotic and in disarrary? In Bolehland the righteous is treated as unrighteous and the unrighteous is deemed righteous. Which lawyer, who has a sense of decency, wants to work under such corrupt environment?

3. #3 by wanderer on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:11 pm

….if all the Legal brains return, where will UMNO place all the “Monkey Judges”….in Zoo Negara?… or, release them back into the Borneo jungle?
    Again, without the monkey judges and the kangaroo courts, how do you expect BN corrupted creeps stay on in power!

4. #4 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:12 pm

//Apart from setting up the Talent Corporation, what has the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak done in his 18 months as Prime Minister in terms of policy and institutional reforms to check this brain drain?//

He is not bothered about brain drain. He just wants to stay in power for as long as the mamak did. He has managed to grab Perak from PR and is about to do the same in Selangor. Wake up, PR or else you will all end up in Kamunting.

5. #5 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 1:33 pm

For 18 months as PM..Najib did nothing to attract top Malaysians brains back.
    He expects all to voluntarily come back to be known as true Malaysians.
    He knows that’s impossible…but idiots reading papers..do believe he is sincerely trying to get top brains back.

6. #6 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 2:28 pm

Very funny indeed… Even with all the imported players from Nigeria, Australia etc their national team failed to win the Suzuki Cup…not even qualified to the semi…..on the other hand, Malaysia is proud of not using IMPORTED player….our local boys have proven they are capable….Meanwhile, Jet Li and Gong Li have taken up citizenship of that country…to date, both of them have yet to win an Oscar…Not World Class yet? So , what’s the moral of the story?

• #7 by ChinNA on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 6:03 pm

Dear cintanegara,
      Could you please share the joke with us? We just don’t get it how you could get it that this is a joke. Your conclusion that this is a joke is now a joke in my eyes, get it? The issue is not about Singapore losing football or how many others chose to be Singapore citizen. That matter is of absolute interest, but not to Malaysia.

The issue raised in this thread is about talented Malaysians, young and old, who could have contributed their talents to the benefit of Malaysia but unfortunately they are not (most probably could not).

SCENARIO 1
      Take the case of the young lady Chia Pei Yun, she accepted the scholarship from Singapore and in time to come, she will help Singapore. 2 question came to my mind

I have more scenarios here today and I would like to see your point of view. As to date, you have not responded to any of the attempts to solicit a reply from you, from the past few months. I am keen to see you exercise your right to reply, which unfortunately you have not done anything.

How come Singapore could discover her talent?
      How come in spite of being a Malaysian citizen, she chose to uproot to Singapore and adopt their education system?

SCENARIO 2
      Next, take the case of the older Mr Chan Leng Sun, the new Senior Counsel for Singapore who was educated in Malaysia and graduated with a LLB from University of Malaysia (UM). He then went to UK for his post grad. He definitely did come to this region, but in Singapore, he settled down.

How come Singapore could provide the environment to nurture his talent?
      How come in spite of being a Malaysian citizen, he chose to uproot to Singapore when he decided to leave UK?

These are not isolated cases, this a systemic issue that needs to be addressed.

If not, very soon, the most apt name for Malaysia shall be Tanah Melayu.

Be frighten, be very frighten for the Malaysia of today, learn from the journey of Sri Lanka of the last 60 years. Malaysia is heading down that path now and need to change course to avoid a repeat of history.

7. #8 by wanderer on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 2:42 pm

Cintanegara……

“little things mean a lot to little people”

8. #9 by k1980 on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 2:43 pm

//Malaysia is proud of not using IMPORTED player//

But proud of using IMPORTED laser beams!

http://cdn.malaysia-chronicle.com/media/k2/items/cache/5945654dfa99f60bd6ab567c6edde3e0_XL.jpg

Kindergarten English lesson—
    Teacher: Children, can you tell me whose eyes are popping out of their sockets?

9. #10 by mendela on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 2:51 pm

How could our talents work in the world’s most corrupted country?
    How could our brainy people live in the world’s most systematic biased country?
    How could anyone tolerate our world famous kangaroo courts and kangaroo judges?
    Go to hell UMNO and Jib!

10. #11 by DAP man on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 3:32 pm

What loss? They are pendatangs and the country does not lose anything. It has all the sons of the soil called Mat Rempits to run the country.

11. #12 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 4:19 pm

yhsiew :
    ///He never worked in Malaysia./// – Kit
    Why must he (Mr. Chan) work in Malaysia where the justice system is chaotic and in disarrary? In Bolehland the righteous is treated as unrighteous and the unrighteous is deemed righteous. Which lawyer, who has a sense of decency, wants to work under such corrupt environment?

If he were to work in Malaysia, he would be reduced to uttering “correct, correct, correct”.

12. #13 by pulau_sibu on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 4:22 pm

In boleh, we need just one person: Karpal Singh.
    We can export the rest of lawyers to foreign countries

13. #14 by sotong on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 4:40 pm

Brain drain??? Objective achieved!

14. #15 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 4:51 pm

Aiyah….who needs such legal talent in Malaysia?

We have a Chief Justice whom Karpal said bribed his way through the court system.

We have an MACC senior counsel(?) who demonstrated to the world how he could strangle himself to death….in imitation of TBH or so he said.

We have an Attorney-General, of whom it has been said by the police Investigating Officer, that he fabricated evidence in the Anwar’s case.

And we have a lawyer who is so ‘correct, correct, correct’ and can bribe and influence those who wants to be promoted in the hierarchy of judges.
    So it’s not legal knowledge but whose palms you grease that helps you slide up the oily ladder of justice-lah.

And we have a government which couldn’t care two hoots what happens to the legal fraternity.

So who needs real lawyers in Malaysia, eh?

15. #16 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 5:05 pm

“….Even with all the imported players from Nigeria, Australia etc their national team failed to win the Suzuki Cup…not even qualified to the semi…..on the other hand, Malaysia is proud of not using IMPORTED player….our local boys have proven they are capable…”

See ? The donkey disguised in racehorse attire manages to win a race by fluke and by evil means (such as shinining lasers into the eyes of the competition) and he is soooooo proud….and Najib announces a national holiday because of this sensational achievement…..

I used to think that we should let them have the country because little achievements result in public holidays and hugely disgraceful acts/failures are never punished. Now, I have second thoughts; I’d like to stay on and enjoy the public holidays, as there will be more and more of them.

16. #17 by Godfather on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 5:08 pm

“….Meanwhile, Jet Li and Gong Li have taken up citizenship of that country…to date, both of them have yet to win an Oscar…”

The Malaysian Oscar will be won by the new bride of Taib Mahmud. It’s been decided by UMNO to secure their fixed deposit in that state.

And Najib will declare another national public holiday.

17. #18 by House Victim on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 5:13 pm

ENDANGERED HORNBILL

U ARE RIGHT!!

Do we see the need of REALlawyer in Malaysia when Khalid, the CM can bully with TCPA, LGA, NLC? Care not even on PC?
    He dare not provide copy of the Master Approval of Subang but can darely say in the name of Selangor Government – the Town Park is a Private recreational area!!
    http://www.sun2surf.com/article.cfm?id=54643

Do we see the HDA, STA working?
    Do we need the Building Management Act if HDA and STA work?

How often we see Judges and Lawyers ignoring HC Rules and the LPA?
    Is the DB of the BAR holding justice or even the necessary transparency on justice?

LOL with Tears & Blood!!

18. #19 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 5:17 pm

Ai yah, no need 2 b so smart lah, another graduate fr UM’s Law Faculty now AG lah
    We also got d self-strangling Lazak loyar, very good 1 U know
    Smart lawyers make life difficult 4 UmnoB/BN, no need here, can stay in d little red dot or other nations

19. #20 by monsterball on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 5:27 pm

hi cintanegara…Every Malaysian is proud of our football National team winning the Suzuki Cup.
    You need not use that win to start your nonsense by insulting Jet Li and Gong Li.
    How are you feeling now?….floating around like Rambutan Man….or like Orang Hutan Man?
    One day you do not talk nonsense….you tak puas hati or what?

20. #21 by undertaker888 on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 5:31 pm

these cow dung putras are using cow dung methods to project an advanced ketuanan people. like cow dung, we can smell them 1 km away.

usa-astronaut
    china-taikonaut
    bolehland- taxinaut

usa-F22 stealth fighter
    china-J-20 stealth fighter
    bolehland-skyhawk with missing engines

21. #22 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 8:59 pm

Just took a ride with the dragon to tiongsan and coming down slightly lower with racket in one hand ready to smash someone’s rambutaan fruits,the fire in me is burning.Uncle monsterball,will you join in the ride. Just passing Perak now and will pick you up.No worry the dragon will drop us here after the battle.

22. #23 by rockdaboat on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 11:40 pm

Cintanegara has missed the point completely. How pathetic.

And the moral of the story is: cintanegara talking kok!

23. #24 by tak tahan on Wednesday, 12 January 2011 - 11:44 pm

Monsterball,you are busy around this time ya?The dragon is waiting for you la.I thought Godfather and waterfrontcooler will come to our aid on behalf of you and us.Godfather,tunjuk ajar sikit budak tu.Langsung tak sopan punya Pak lepak rambutan lover.Insulting here and there like his grandparents property.But spare some for Mohammad Shamsul,the nice guy with intelectual ability to uphold humanhood.

24. #25 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:18 am

All cintanegara has is the rambutan tree under which he will count all his blessings. He pitied Singaporeans for having to stay in ‘small apartments” compare with the openness of the shade under the rambutan tree; he forgot that at every weekend, they have achance to fly anywhere in the world to relax not forever under the same rambutan tree! This is the different between you and them! got it? Yes small mind can only imagine small and limited vision especially if you allow the likelihood of allowing lalang to grow around the rambutan tree. You can see only Lalang!!

25. #26 by waterfrontcoolie on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 12:29 am

I forgot to add if Cintanegara cares to visit the DOT, there many Talented Malaysians, boys or girls; yes they are still that young; anyway under 30, makings s$100 to s$250 K annually; whereas you keep hoping for your free RENT based on your self-induced superiority. That is the difference. With a flip of their black-platinum card, they are on the way to see the world while you have to wait for the rambutan to ripen.

26. #27 by monsterball on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:10 am

There “tak tahan”…just read “waterfrontcoolie” comments.
    He is the best to handle cintanegara…not me.
    He can insult cintanegara with wits….all the time.

27. #28 by Loh on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 10:46 am

Najib will rejoice over the news of yet another example of brain drain. That makes it easier for bumiputras to compete, if competing is what they think about, and they compete like in a gold course always on handicap. But strangely, the handicap system does not apply among the Malays; can we believe all of them of the same low standard?

NEP wanted the level playing field, so said Tun Razak and Mamakthir hijacked it to make it legally correct to make money from the state coffers. The more capable non-Malays emigrate, the easier it is to compete. There are now more than 2 million non-Malays who have emigrated, and among them there are many who are near-miss of Nobel prize fame. But Najib is happy as his father was; calling emigrants a good riddance.

There is no point telling Najib how many great brains are leaving; for that is exactly what NEP intended. I am happy only that NEP makes this a low-income trap for bumiputras to realize that there is judgement system for injustice. The moment NEP is dropped, that is the day of recovery. By then this is Zimbabwe, unless UMNO is voted out in the coming GE13.

28. #29 by on cheng on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 1:15 pm

can cintanegara, please explain why Malaysia ringgit is worth less than 43 Singapore cents now? since he say Malaysia were so good n Singapore were so bad and not up to Malaysia;s standard.

29. #30 by ShanghaiBund on Thursday, 13 January 2011 - 11:41 pm

Leave all the negative elements aside. Education, retirement age and pay package will stop most malaysians, including us, from coming back to work in Malaysia and that are the facts.