Dear Mr. Lim Kit Siang,
I have utmost respect and admiration for your tenacity in remaining in Malaysia to champion the cause of justice and equality and fight for a Bangsa Malaysia.
My heart broke when I read about your article regarding the honest cyber cafe operator especially when he wondered if he ‘had chosen the wrong country’ to start and operate his business.
I see my situation summed up in that phrase. You have said before that the best and brightest are leaving this country. Well, I am making every preparation to leave. I have consistently scored straight As in every public exam and placed among the top 3 of my form. In university, I studied medicine and am among the top scorers. I have just graduated and scored near perfect results in a medical licensing examination that will enable me to work abroad and further my studies.
I was born a Malaysian yet I cannot see myself as a Malaysian. As a Chinese, I feel that I am being discriminated against. I feel that the government is trying its hardest to sideline me just because of my race. I look around and see this discrimination manifested in various forms. From the issue regarding religious conversion to the allocation of places in local universities, the stench of discrimination is sickening.
It was horrifying to note in my batch of medical students, there were a substantial number of malay students who actually did not apply for medicine but were sent to study it. It is disgusting to think that many STPM straight A scorers are deprived of a chance to study medicine while the government gives the places to people who are not even sure that they want to study medicine.
I have seen how racial politics sully the environment in the university and how unqualified people are in high posts at the expense of far more intelligent and qualified individuals just because they are Malay. I have heard the terrible statements made by delegates at the recent UMNO General Assembly about revoking my citizenship rights should I question their special rights.
I have seen the videos on YouTube where UMNO MPs have the audacity to ask us to ‘keluar’ of the country if we don’t like what they are doing to it. And I see the pathetic attempt by the PM to ‘discipline’ these racists. I hate the fact that Gerakan and MCA have done NOTHING to fight for my rights instead of just kow-towing to UMNO for their own gains.
Patriotism isn’t about singing the national anthem or raising the flag. It isn’t about accepting at face value everything the government says. It isn’t about attending merdeka celebrations. It is about feeling accepted as part of your nation. It is about knowing that your nation accepts you as a son or daughter. It is about realizing that being a part of a nation entails certain responsibilities. That is my definition of patriotism.
And right now, as a Malaysian, I am feeling anything BUT patriotic. 50 years of independence? So what? What has it done for me? Whoopee. I have a chance to change my life. I will change my destiny. I could not choose the country where I was born but I can very well choose the country that I will swear my allegiance to. I want a country that will recognize me as a citizen and grant me rights equal to that of all other citizens. I want a country that has the wisdom to recognize my potential and talents and reward me accordingly. I want a country where the government fears its people and conducts itself in a manner worthy of respect and honor.
This is not my nation. I am leaving. Mr. Lim, I salute you and all those like you who can find the strength and energy to fight for an ungrateful bunch of people. How many actually held mass protests, hunger strikes or rose up to defend you and your family when you or your son was imprisoned for fighting for us? How many did more than just shake their heads and move on with their petty little lives? None that I know of. Yet you continue to defend their rights.
You are an amazing man, Mr. Lim and I truly admire you for that. Unfortunately, I have a bright future ahead and I will not waste it in this country. It is not my nation.
Thank you for fighting the good fight.
(Author’s name withheld for privacy)

#1 by Winston on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 12:06 am
According to the author of this article, it seemed that even those Malays, who are not interested in medicine in the first place, are given places in medical universities. Eventually, they’ll pass the course, then what?
Will we have half pass six doctors who by their inaptness will tend to mess up their patients more than they cure? No wonder seeing a doctor nowadays could be such a gamble! A gamble with your health!
No wonder the Federal government has always exhorted the locals to go to local hospitals by saying that they are on par with the best in the world, while they themselves and their families consult medical practitioners overseas? Even those in Singapore seemed to be preferred?
As for education, they would prefer to send their children overseas to English medium schools as local schools are (with very little English Language subjects?) not suitable for them! Local schools are only for the ordinary Joe!
#2 by House Victim on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 2:35 am
I believe the Key concern for anyone should be where to get Justice!! Or, how is the chance of getting Justice!
The author has proven his ability to struggle through his education of medicine. Therefore, the spirit of struggle could be there, if and only if there is a chance of getting what he wish – the Justice!
Has the 50 years of BN history provided any light of getting Justice anywhere?
Penang is in the hand of PR, but they do not even dare to help a victim who was assaulted by a lawyer who was paid but did no job and the Police/KUP/AG?PCB had been silent for close to two years!!
The guy was bullied by lawyers, judges and courts. He cannot get any reply from the High Court but was instructed by the Federal Court to appeal on “judgement” unknown!! The Chief Judge and the Chief Justice had chosen to be silent!!
That guy had chosen to stay in Malaysia to fight for the last almost 10 years!! And, so what!! Not a single Party or Politicians had replied to his voice for help!!
The Spirit of being a Malaysian, a Chinese, or, any citizenship is not the criteria to fight for a better lives. It is the spirit of wanting and giving Justice that will help the world better.
Has Malaysia trained professionals with spirit of Justice? If this cannot be found sufficiently even in the Judiciary system or the Government, where can Justice be found or practiced??
SO, GO MY SON/DAUGHTER!!
FIND JUSTICE AND PRACTICE JUSTICE!! SHOW TO THE WORLD THAT SOMEONE FROM MALAYSIA DO LOOK FOR AND PRACTICE JUSTICE WHEN JUSTICE CAN HARDLY BE FOUND IN OR PRACTICED IN MALAYSIA!!
#3 by cemerlang on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 5:35 am
LKS and LGE could have joined the masses and gone overseas. The nearest would be Singapore. LKS can continue a life being a lawyer and LGE can continue a life being an accountant. But like many Malaysians, no matter what the odds are, they stay. For Malaysians who have forfeited their Malaysian citizenship, it is hard for them to fight for Malaysia because they have nothing to do with Malaysia now. They cannot even form a shadow cabinet. If they say they want to fight for Malaysia, people will say they are fighting against Malaysia and wants to conquer her. Many politicians have gone overseas and have shaken the hands of the different politicians from many other countries. They are their first ones to know the race of each and other politician. But they are not telling their own people. Why ? Anybody here still do not know the race of the present President of the United States of America ? Even our own political figures. Are they all Malays ? No. But it is because of the national race of Malaysia that is Malay and that is why wherever they go, they are branded as Malays and of the religion Islam. Or else, why do you think non Muslim countries are afraid of us ? Malaysians, the world does not identify you as a non Malay and a non Muslim. So you should fight for justice.
#4 by sotong on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 7:06 am
You are no coward…..leaving for a totally different environment and challenges is courage.
Leave to fight for another day.
#5 by taiking on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 8:56 am
Remember my friend. Wherever you may be, do keep in contact by visiting this site. And stay updated with events here too. A change will occur soon. Who knows. You may want to return sometime.
Perhaps DAP can initiate an online “global malaysians connect” thingy.
#6 by greef on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 10:05 am
>>You are no coward…..leaving for a totally different environment and challenges is courage.<<
sotong
Yes he is. A BIG coward, in fact.
If people leave, who is going to fight for another May 8 2008? Where is the next generation of dynamic leaders going to come from?
Imagine if Tony Pua or Jeff Ooi had been a coward like this guy and said "screw it, I want to run away to UK or the little red dot"! Its as good as a surrender to UMNO.
This "self-described brilliant student" preaches about patriotism, but leaves his country to the dogs.
As I said, its his right to want to leave if he wants but DON'T EVER claim that he is patriotic. He does not even know the meaning of the word!
#7 by Godfather on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 10:51 am
Limkamput has been unnecessarily harsh with this kid. After all, he is smart and ambitious, and these characteristics are not welcomed in his own country. Yes, I tell young ambitious people not to come back after graduation. I tell them to make a name for themselves overseas, and then spend their holidays back here. In a few years, when the ringgit depreciates even more, it is cheap to come back for holidays and even to maintain a second home here.
I also tell them not to give up their right to vote – and to return at each election to help their fellow countrymen obtain whatever little justice there is through the ballot box.
#8 by pgsilai on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:29 am
Go, I wish you all the BEST kid! Yes, do well but don’t forget your Aged Parents and come back to vote. Perhaps back and retire here later. I have been struggling here and I want my kids to live and realise their dream since they can’t get it here.
#9 by frankyapp on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 12:08 pm
Yeh go,no venture,no gain but don’t forget your nationality. Learn,gain knowledge and wealth. Always remain a patriot,love and depend your country when it needs you. Home is always where the heart is.
#10 by frankyapp on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 12:23 pm
sorry….should read “defend “
#11 by cemerlang on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 2:07 pm
At least NZ $500,000 = RM 1000000 + for immigration to New Zealand plus other criteria or you are a refugee. It takes courage to live a new life. It also takes courage to continue to live an old life, hoping this life will change for the better.
#12 by taiking on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 4:35 pm
Why I think grkumar is not indian. Indians and chinese in malaysia do not support umno. That is a fact. They may if at all support BN (or more generally the gobermen), but not umno. And even then, their support almost inevitably would be limited to supporting their respective ethnic parties in BN ie mca or mic. This kumar fella is passionate about umno. Therefore he must be an umno trooper in indian saree. That is what umno is good at. Trickery. And he is one good example.
Well I could be wrong. One can never tell. It is just my guess.
#13 by seongnam on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 5:34 pm
you think you can find justice outside??? Go ahead..Malaysia won’t regret to loose person like you. How about this.. Take a look at the statistic of non-malay medicine student that sponsored by malaysian government that didn’t come back to serve for malaysian.. Is it fair for government to give a chance to study medicine to this kind of ungrateful people?? I think you’ll become one….
Justice huh…how about this..will the moderator publish this comment??….wait and see…
#14 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:22 pm
There are 2 alternatives for the people.
One is to stay behind and fight alongside LKS and the DAP.
The other is to throw in the towel and emigrate.
There is no 3rd alternative – remain quiet in the face of all these nonsense perpetuated by the UmnoUtusans who think they are the Tuan.
Enough is enough
#15 by tanjong8 on Thursday, 7 January 2010 - 11:25 pm
If the UmnoUtusans are to continue ruling the country, it will continue the slide down.
Soon it will be overtaken by Indonesia, Phillippines and Vietnam, even Cambodia or Laos or Myammar !
Rise up, man. Join LKS and DAP to fight for your future. Bury these UmnoUtusans
#16 by waterfrontcoolie on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 6:31 am
Kumar may be an Indian who would soon champion the cause like the Kutty guy. He’s only waiting for some handouts.In spite of some of their outward behaviour, they’re just waiting to be ‘accepted’ and then he will act like the Ahmad guy from Penang. Talking about pride!! Like what M. Jackson used to sing” Look at the man in the mirror, Man!!!”.
By the way, not everyone is like LKS. If all take out full time political career, then the community will be in real trouble because you don’t have PETRONAS to dig! Hence, some do have to try their luck elsewhere. In the modern environment, does big number really mean supreme overwhelming influence? just look at little Is….l! A bet of a billion to one?? It still survives!
#17 by garfunky on Friday, 8 January 2010 - 3:21 pm
Oh, is this why you are upset? Is this also the reason why other commentors here are upset?
I can see why, but that does mean that you are grouping yourself under “ungrateful bunch of people” instead of being grouped under “you who can find the strength and energy to fight”.
Because lets face it, the truth is the Ungrateful Bunch outnumber the Freedom Fighters by a huge number in this country. What do you expect a kid to do in this fight?
The only thing I expect him to do is vote. He can leave the country, go be a gigolo and snort pubic hair for all I care as long as he comes back and votes.
But of course, we won’t even get that if he listens to the more harsher comments on this blog.
#18 by House Victim on Saturday, 9 January 2010 - 8:06 am
“Because lets face it, the truth is the Ungrateful Bunch outnumber the Freedom Fighters by a huge number in this country. What do you expect a kid to do in this fight?”
Staying in this country needed to be blinded-folded or has the tolerance of being bullied, not only by the criminals but by those being paid by the Tax payers and have the duty to protect and to enforce Justice. If Rights of Citizen or Residents are not protected, should they be obliged to act as a Citizen or Patriot?
If one cannot be seen as a “Human” in this country with the basic Human Rights, should they be “caged” in this so called country?
The country had abandoned its People, by the Constitution as well as by the way how it has been ruled in the first place. So, it should also be abandoned by the People!!
The obligation of any Citizens or Residents is to pay Tax and be obliged by Laws. And, not to asked anyone to be Patriotic when they have to live in a “Jungle” with rules of Fists or Power!!