It was the best of times it was the worst of times…..

By Hussein Hamid

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times; it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness; it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity; it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness; it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair; we had everything before us, we had nothing before us; we were all going directly to Heaven, we were all going the other way.” Charles Dickens.

Those lines are an apt description of the situation Pakatan Rakyat finds itself in today! Pakatan Rakyat is the Government in waiting and yet will it govern?

The people had the wisdom to chose Pakatan Rakyat in the last GE and yet would they be foolish enough now to hand it back to UMNO; Pakatan Rakyat leaders had belief that the people within their midst were committed to the ideals and aspirations of the Rakyat and Party and yet incredibly there are those within Pakatan Rakyat that would put self before the party – even before the Rakyat; We the Rakyat can see the light at the end of the tunnel and yet the season of darkness under UMNO is still upon us; This is the Spring of hope that we have all waited for to rid ourselves of the tyranny of UMNO and yet we still live in the winter of despair because we continue to suffer the injustices and the arrogance inflicted upon us by the Judiciary, The Police and our own government; We have everything before us with the coming of the General Election and yet all might come to nought if we are not focused and committed to our cause ; If we are victorious in what we do we will have the heaven we have hoped for…. if not another 50 years of hell under UMNO.

So where do we go now? In all honesty I do not see how Najib could even start to govern. It would seem that even the heavens are against him. Two days ago three schoolgirls died because of human errors that could and should have been avoidable. Just as we were coming to terms with this terrible tragedy the Father of one of these girls’ dies – of a broken heart I guess. Najib must think that even the heavens are conspiring against him. Maybe they are…maybe they are!

Najib is reduced to taking whatever mileage he can out of the perceived misfortunes of the opposition! Like the tow trucks that will only make their money when there is an accident or if your car breaks down…. like the Funeral Houses that needs a corpse before it can make its money……Najib makes merry out of the perceived misfortune of the opposition. But while he thinks he is dancing on top of the graves of his opponents – his opponent is really cleaning house. Ridding itself of unwanted baggage and blood sucking parasites. And Najib welcomes these unwanted baggage and blood sucking parasites with open arms! What would UMNO do with these filth once the euphoria of them jumping into UMNO/Barisan is done with? The toddy shop loves a drunkard – but not for his son-in-law. What would UMNO do with these people? What would UMNO do?

What of the Opposition? What of Pakatan Rakyat? Yes it would seem that it is the winter of their discontent and yet their courage in ridding
themselves of their unwanted baggage will serve them well in the long run. Not in the short term but in the long term – after all the GE is still a few years away. Enough time for those unwanted baggage who have joined UMNO to become a burden and an embarrassment to UMNO while PR will have time to ensure that new blood have been given their ‘baptism of fire’ and are ready for the coming GE.

This is what we see being played out in front of our eyes today. I can only say this for now: “Believe nothing, no matter where you read it or who has said it, not even if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense.” So says Buddha. We will have to use much of our common sense and our sensibilities to discern the right and the wrong, the good and the bad and ultimately Pakatan Rakyat or UMNO. For me that decision has been made many years back when the politics of patronage, cronyism, deceit, greed and arrogance defined UMNO for what it is. A Party that uses its own race to further the financial interest of its own members! We can do without them!

1. #1 by homeblogger on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 4:10 pm

If I could write half as eloquently as you have, I would publish volumes on the deep sense of hatred I now have for UMNO and the evil that it stands for.

I am in despair. Many of my friends who voted to slap BN in the face in March 08, have turned out to be lalang, blowing where the money and goodies are. They expect PR to set right in 18 months, the deep rooted system of corruption that UMNO has created over 50 years. And with every stumble, they say PR is not fit to run the country.

But I have only myself to blame. I was apathetic and oblivious to the racism and rot that BN and UMNO were propagating. I chose NOT to vote. And when I did before March 08, I voted BN. No more. I pray my lalang friends will see BN for what they truly are – evil doers led by criminals, murderers and adulterers so blinded and hungry for money, sex and power they will stoop to any level to satisfy their lust.

I feel like a child abused by his own father. UMNO doesn’t care for the rakyat of Malaysia. Their blatant disregard for the rule of law and their in-your-face manner disgust me. In my mind, UMNO is now a pariah racist party, governed by greed and lust.

2. #2 by k1980 on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 5:27 pm

3. #3 by citizenwatch on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 7:30 pm

DECLARE WAR ON THE MSM

Raja Petra said yesterday that any of the regimes that held on to power has one common denominator helping it and that is the police and to declare war on the police. But I feel strongly, it is the mainstream media (MSM) that is helping BN to hold on to power. Why? Simple. When police, a judge, BN politician or any BN inclined civil servant had done wrong, they can still sleep well because the next day there’s no reporting of their bad deed in the MSM. Let’s declare war on the MSM! Strategize, do whatever we can. Boycott, burn the MSM newspapers, anything. That’s the way to go. Go for the jugular.

4. #4 by limkamput on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 8:36 pm

Nobody says PR (DAP, PKR or PAS) are lousy parties. What they have are lousy representatives – representatives who are half baked, no knowledge, greedy, stupid and some with cave-man mentality. For goodness sake, pick people with ability and dignity. Forget about half baked kopitiam activists. They may have grassroots support but they are not reliable. Besides, I think grassroots activists are no longer that important. What PR needs are good ideas, good management and dignified (and tenacious) representatives. Seriously, PR must picked candidates who are already successful in their respective fields, not hard up people/or “celebrities” looking for quick gains. Interview them; assess them properly before putting them up as candidates.

5. #5 by OrangRojak on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 10:35 pm

pick people with ability and dignity
    From the hundreds offering themselves every day? Don’t make me laugh! I would be interested to hear someone from DAP tell us how many people put themselves forwards as credible full-time candidates for the (is it around 200?) constituencies. Don’t you think that DAP will in reality be just a few old boys having tea together, some starry-eyed space cadets and just a very few commited individuals who do genuinely want to make a difference? Unless someone shows me some evidence of DAP having access to a vast and well-qualified talent pool for each and every candidate, I’m going to go on believing that fielding the occasional dud is a sign of slim pickings, rather than careless selection.

I keep wishing DAP would put more of their organisation online, so that the online community can get a closer look at the inner workings of DAP and perhaps even play a role in it. On a ‘try something new tip’ why not launch a 4th party for Pakatan that does organise online, that might more directly appeal to the younger voter? You could even throw them to the lions in places like Bagan Pinang (where you’re more or less convinced you will lose anyway) to see if new ideas would actually get any votes.

6. #6 by madguyho on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 12:08 am

True, this is the time to clean the house and be ready for the new Spring. Just get rid those rotten apples, don’t bother about how the MSM spin it. Let them enjoy the show but once its over they will be caught off guarded. I think what happen to PKR and PAS is a good step forward to a stronger PR.

7. #7 by Onlooker Politics on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 2:50 am

“You could even throw them to the lions in places like Bagan Pinang (where you’re more or less convinced you will lose anyway) to see if new ideas would actually get any votes.” (OrangRojak)

Why do you keep boggling on PR’s loss in the most conservative Malay dominated areas of Bagan Pinang? If PR cannot find another candidate who is much richer than Tan Sri Isa and can afford to pay the voters much more than what Isa has been offering, it had better for PR to choose not to contest in Bagan Pinang next time. Sometimes the rural people will think that political principle and political ideology are not too real. Only money is beautiful and real!

8. #8 by monsterball on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 5:17 am

It seems judging all PR performances and each individuals that are governing now is the way….UMNO thinks can make Malaysians feel fed up with DAP and keDAILan.
    It seems PR including PAS practices freedom of speeches…openly exposes their internal problems.which is natural and telling Malaysians…with no fear…are twisted to be weak and disunited..with headlines in newspapers..and out come crooks and robbers…liars and thieves..from UMNO…judging and commenting .again to try and convince voters how bad PR is.
    To me…these thieves and hypocrites are have govern much too long…to keep insulting the intelligence of Malaysians.
    To me…UMNO is fighting for his life…in the most unfair and unjust ways and means they can come out with….after tHe12th GE……non stop.
    A confident and good reputable UMNO need not come out with slogans and create fear and tensions..to win elections.
    To me…UMNO is dead and UMNO BARU is a band or robbers and thieves trying to buy up the whole country with money stolen from us..as the devil reincarnated….Mahathir…started it……as a dictator..to do as he liked…for 18 years…by encouraging corruptions…and the formula is still used…plus many more…making PR law makers look unproductive and stupid.
    Advertising…promotional campaigns…slogans are powerful formulas to win hearts and minds.
    Fortunately…these are done by established crooks and hypocrites that will fail….no matter what they say or do.
    Najib is making a fool of himself….and Malaysians cannot be bought by slogans…..nor “let foirget the past. Lets move on”…with crooks that should be in jail.one by bone….long ago.
    To me….using money to create racists and loyalty to UMNO works….but majority Malaysians know how rich Malaysia is…and will not fall into UMNO BARU’s tricks and schemes…rojak the country…purposely..making it so difficult to govern…when it is so easy and rich to manage…for all Malaysians to benefit.
    To me…no use to keep analyzing or discussing what our future maybe.
    Let 13th GE decides…and it Najib says he has 62% Malaysian support…dare not call for a snap 13th GE…that speaks clearly what UMNO and Najib are..totally insincere..liars and corrupted hypocrites……never change..never will.

9. #9 by boh-liao on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 9:43 am

OK, agreed that NR could not even start to govern
    Even the heavens are conspiring against him
    However, NR is still there, singing his 1M’sia with RM
    A new-born Indian party just embraced NR n RM
    More PR YBs are waiting to hop over to the embrace of NR n RM
    Many sons n daughters of papas n mamas r being beaten up while NR rules
    Some may even die or disappear inexplicably
    Everything is OK while NR rules
    N the MSM continue to praise NR n RM, hallelujah, amen

10. #10 by limkamput on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 10:30 am

Onlooker, non Malays’ votes for BN in Bagan Pinang was more 70% while the Malays’ votes was only 60 plus percent. Please take note of that, it is not just a “rural conservative Malay constituency” you are talking about. Please get your facts right.

11. #11 by limkamput on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 10:30 am

Rojak, agree that the choices available to PR (esp the DAP) may be limited. But that does not mean we should get all the half baked.

12. #12 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 12:52 pm

Sometime when you argue with me Onlooker Politics, I can’t tell the difference between your argument and mine! Don’t you think trying something novel somewhere like the place you don’t want me to mention any more would be a good compromise between turning up for a foreseeable beating and not contesting at all?

Limkamput – there’s a well established Brain Drain and traditionally low participation in politics. I think those two factors alone should persuade us to be less surprised when things go wrong. Perhaps a better policy for dealing with failures is needed, though given the events in Perak and the apparent uselessness of the resignation letters, I’m at a loss to think of what PR could do.

13. #13 by siapatau on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 1:10 pm

Saya tak dapat bayangkan PM kita menyatakan dalam akhbar kisah juta-juta penyelewengan duit rakyat, mereka yang bersalah tidak semestinya disabitkan dengan kesalahan undang-undang malah mungkin undang2 tata tertib jabatan memadai… apakah PM kita dengan secara terbuka mengalakkan penyelewengan tanpa rasa ketakutan kepada undang2?? Dimanakah MACC dalam penyelewengan jutaan Ringgit Msia rakyat jelata sedangkan segelintir jadi jutawan?? Diharap yang Mahakuasa menjatuhkan hukuman kepada mereka yang derhaka kepada rakyat jelata.

14. #14 by k1980 on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 7:34 pm

http://www.mmail.com.my/content/17509-spnb-pay-contractors-year-end

…the outstanding amount due to affected contractors was some RM500 million…

No money? Is this the reason why the 5% Real Property Gains Tax has been re-introduced for all categories of transactions?

15. #15 by monsterball on Sunday, 1 November 2009 - 12:16 am

One forget why DAP..keDAILan and PAS won so many seats in the 12th GE..winning to govern 4 States plus one…showing the biggest win for Oppositions against UMNO…are basically due to Malaysians have found a strong alternative to UMNO government..and Anwar will be a good PM.
    For years Malaysians were never happy with UMNO…suffered and kept silent.. voting for peace and harmony…not because they love UMNO…but because with DAP and PAS together..not strong enough. PAS is also unreliable opposition..therefore best keep supporting UMNO.
    Out come Anwar..and Malaysians can see that he should be a better PM than anyone from UMNO.
    Finally Malaysians can see a great alternative to UMNO…and above everything else…Malaysians are fed up with UMNO double standards…race and religion politics..plus massive corruptions…stealing our money openly….without fear…to land in jail….so much so…UMNO is openly telling Malaysians…they own the country and people.
    Yes…corruptions is the main reason…why voters gave PR ..strong support.
    One totally forget….UMNO is still governing and from day one after 12th GE…never give any co-operation to PR….to create a win win situation for the benefits of Malaysians.
    I wonder why are those so expert to judge…PR performances…..or lack results from PR.
    Are they…voters .who voted for PR in the 12th GE? Are they really disappointed…or lack of understanding on PR’s difficulties.
    Certainly…PR did not show much results….why so..as one forgets…Malaysians do trust them ..especially in Penang…Selangor and Kelantan,…huge millions corruptions no more.
    So many smart discussions….which puts some commentators…in positions..to show…they are flexible and may or may not vote..change of government..due to this or that shortcomings..faults…found and judged by them.
    Some use their political science degree or studies..to show how smart they are….yet how stupid they will be…if they do not vote change of government in 13th GE…as PR is surely a good alternative to try out new management…for the sake of no huge billions lost…year in year out…by tax payers…YOU!!
    Who knows…PR maybe worst than UMNO…and so we vote them out again in 14th GE…to show politicians….voters are all powerful.
    If you have such attitudes…which means…all are FOR change in government…you will not be talking like what I am reading from so many smart tongue twisters and expert judges….which I suspect few are here to agree to disagree..to confuse in favour…..not to change the government.