Sivakumar disrobed in ‘BN conspiracy’

Humayun Kabir | Oct 28, 09 6:42pm | Malaysiakini

Barisan Nasional has been accused of orchestrating an elaborate plan to prevent ousted Pakatan Rakyat speaker V Sivakumar from exercising his duties at the state assembly sitting today.

Sivakumar, who levelled the charge at a press conference in Ipoh, said this was evident when a large group of police personnel stopped him at the car park of the state secretariat building, where the legislative assembly is located.

He said their motive was to confiscate the speaker’s robe and songkok that he was wearing.

“It was a BN conspiracy to grab the official robe from me,” he claimed, saying the police choked him in the ensuing struggle as he attempted to hold on to it.

Teja state assemblyperson Chang Ming Kai said he went to Sivakumar’s assistance, but was in turn was stopped by police personnel.

“One of them grabbed me and pulled me to the ground (in the melee),” Chang said.

At a press conference later at state DAP headquarters, ousted Pakatan menteri besar Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin provided more details, saying he had witnessed the incident.

“During the struggle with the police, Sivakumar managed to hang on to the collar of the speaker’s robe. There was a threat to the life of the speaker,” Nizar claimed.

Sivakumar, who lost the battle – first for the songkok and then for the robe – did manage to save the collar which he displayed to the media.

Nizar said there is video footage of the assault on Sivakumar and that legal action is being considered against the police.

As a result of police intervention, the Pakatan delegation’s attendance at the sitting was delayed. By the time they entered the assembly, BN speaker R Ganesan had ordered a recess of an hour.

Chronology of events

This chain of events was reconstructed from details provided at the press conference.

Sivakumar was wearing the robe when he started out with the Pakatan delegation from DAP headquarters for the 10am sitting.

After passing through three barriers and two checkpoints, he lost the songkok to a police officer who snatched it off his head. At the time, Sivakumar was about to enter the lift at the basement, to go to the chamber on the second floor.

Enraged, the Pakatan team left the building and returned to the main road where they told the media about what had happened.

They also said the police had tried to detain Sivakumar under Section 111 of the Criminal Procedure Code to record a witness statement in relation to police reports lodged against him earlier.

Nizar said he grabbed the cap of a police officer in anger and refused to give it back to him, asking instead: “How do you feel when your official cap is unlawfully (snatched)? That is how Sivakumar felt (about losing the songkok).”

After arguing for five minutes with the police, the Pakatan team returned to the state secretariat where other police personnel confronted Sivakumar. This is when they tried to get the robe off him.

Again, Sivakumar returned to the main road to brief the waiting media about the ‘assault” on him. However, realising that any assemblyperson who fails to attend two sittings could lose his seat, he made his way to the assembly.

Police reports lodged

Sivakumar later lodged two police reports – one was about the alleged assault by police personnel and the other was to disclaim knowledge of a fake notice that he is accused of circulating.

The document states that a state assembly sitting would be convened at the Heritage Hotel in Ipoh today to table the 2010 budget, as well as a motion by Nizar, the Pasir Panjang representative, to dissolve the assembly.

It said Nizar would seek the Perak sultan’s consent to dissolve the assembly and call for fresh state elections, at an audience with the ruler at Istana Kinta at 3pm today.

According to Bernama, Sivakumar claimed that he is a victim of dirty politics. He denied having issued any such notice, which carries the letterhead of the speaker’s office and is dated Oct 23, 2009.

Swift state budget

Meanwhile, Nizar also chided the BN government for passing of the 2010 state budget within an hour.

The people-friendly budget when tabled by Menteri Besar Zambry Abdul Kadir was passed in a very swift manner with a show of BN hands as the Pakatan side did not participate in the budget debate.

“They shovelled and bulldozed the state budget within a hour as they fear that we might jeopardise their 2010 budget,” said Nizar.

“Normally it will take about 45 days for the federal budget to be passed in Parliament but here in Perak we have the shortest time for the passage of the budget,” he reasoned.

“I believe this is the fastest budget that was passed in the state’s history,” he said.

——

Double trouble in Perak
Written by Chan Kok Leong
Wednesday, 28 October 2009 19:31
The Edge Malaysia

IPOH: After the almost six-hour fiasco of May 7, not many journalists had expected a quick and speedy resolution to Perak’s second or third legislative assembly (DUN) sitting of the year.

But, despite the twin sittings today, complete with two Speakers, Menteris Besar, sets of assemblymen and even opening prayers, there were fewer casualties.

There was also no repeat of scuffling within the legislative assembly hall or outside the state government office.

The only casualties were Pakatan Rakyat appointed Speaker V Sivakumar who was unceremoniously and literally stripped off his robes inside the state office. Sivakumar’s DAP compatriot Nga Kor Ming experienced the same.

Nga alleged that police within the hall had also “literally grabbed him by the genitals”.

Barely 24 hours ahead of the meeting, the authorities and Barisan Nasional appointed Speaker Datuk R Ganesan had taken the necessary precautions (See Perak state assembly braces for another storm).

Despite the relative calm and ease of movement outside the perimeters of the state government office, security going into the legislative hall was tighter than Kuala Lumpur International Airport.

Journalists and photographers, who began entering the hall at 9.30am, were frisked and individually scanned before getting their bags searched thoroughly.

In contrast, some police personnel, whose total presence is estimated to number above 300, were seen enjoying their roti canai, along with two elderly joggers at the only mamak restaurant across from the state office. Incidentally, the DAP Perak office is housed above the restaurant.

Media personnel, invited guests and government officers were the first group scheduled by Ganesan to enter the hall at 9.30am. Before the last reporter entered the hall, almost 100
guests and officers were already seated.

So too were MB Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir and his backbenchers, who formed the second group of people allowed into the hall. BN-friendly independents Osman Mohd Jailu (Changkat Jering), Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi (Behrang) and Hee Yit Foong (Jelapang) were also “early”.

Ganesan was also in the Speaker’s seat surrounded by some 15 sergeants-in-arms.

The bell signalling the commencement of the sitting promptly rang at 10am and Ganesan began the sitting by expressing the DUN’s condolences over the Kampar bridge tragedy, observing a minute’s silence and reminding the representatives of the prohibitions he had put in place a day earlier.

Representatives were prohibited from taking videos, using theirs phones, laptops or email during the sitting. Interestingly, during the entire proceeding, Datuk Mohd Khusairi Abdul Talib (Slim-BN) was happily banging away at his laptop.

Ganesan then proceeded by asking Zambry to deliver the Perak Budget 2010 speech. Without fuss nor debate and within 20 minutes, the budget had passed the second reading.

The Speaker’s timetable worked to the ruling government’s advantage as it was another 25 minutes later before the sounds of a commotion announcing the arrival of Pakatan Rakyat’s representatives were heard.

Ganesan promptly adjourned the sitting till 11.20am as photographers rushed to the entrance. Amid the shouting and some shoving, the “other” MB Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin and his backbenchers entered the hall with Thomas Su (Pasir Pinji) chanting, “Speaker haram!
Bodyguard banyak!”

Looking amused, the BN backbenchers kept their peace while officials and guests laughed off the spectacle.

It was another 15 minutes before Sivakumar took his seat on the opposition side of the hall and a second doa was read out.

In the midst, Chang Lih Kang (Teja-PKR) used the microphone to bellow: “Speaker haram! Sila keluar dewan!”.

After the commotion, the PR side of the sitting passed three motions — to suspend all national service camps or outdoor programmes, to recognise the Auditor-General’s report on Perak and to appoint PKR state chief Osman Abdul Rahman as a senator.

At 11.20am, Ganesan reconvened his sitting and managed to pass Perak’s 2010 Budget amid continuous derision from PR representatives.

Despite their attempts at distracting him, Ganesan kept his eye on the ball and his script. He was so focused that at one point, the former Sungkai representative could not hear Zambry’s
attempts to read his script.

For a brief moment, both spoke into the microphone. But by that time it did not matter, as the sitting was rendered academic — BN’s sitting will most likely be the one recognised.

At that point, not only were PR representatives treating the BN sitting as a non-event but guests and government officers alike were seen walking and talking on their phones at will. Legislative decorum and respect appeared to have abandoned the hall.

Shortly after BN backbenchers had passed their budget, Sivakumar adjourned his sitting and PR assemblypersons left the hall for their press conference.

During the press conference, Sivakumar told the press he had been roughed up as the police tore off his robes.

“Some 20 policemen, some in uniform and others in plainclothes, grabbed me and seized the Speaker’s robe from me. In the process, I was choked and the robe was torn,” said the Tronoh
assemblyman in a press conference at the DUN library.

At another press conference at 1.30pm, Nizar told reporters he would also file police reports for assault, excessive police force and a poison pen letter.

BN adjourned their sitting at around 1pm.

During BN’s press conference, a beaming Zambry said he was pleased with today’s sitting.

“Despite the chaotic environment, the BN reps behaved well. BN always follows the rules and I wish to congratulate our representatives for maintaining their decorum,” said Zambry during the press conference in his office.

Commenting on his counterparts from PR, Zambry said they were “quite outah (poor standard)” and were only looking to “dramatise” the event.

“They were here to provoke us into acting against them and then using it to gain public sympathy.”

By 3pm, with the actors off the stage, things have returned to normal.

But there is no doubt in Perak, at least, that the circus has not left town yet.

1. #1 by king cobra on Wednesday, 28 October 2009 - 10:24 pm

passed within 1 hour , could it possibly be a world record as well ?????

2. #2 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Wednesday, 28 October 2009 - 10:34 pm

Yet another world record:

Rowdyism and Rule of the Jungle in Perak State Assembly.

Kudos to Balisan Na”SIN”-al

3. #3 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 28 October 2009 - 10:59 pm

“Perak Darul Ridzuan, the Land of Grace”.

Yes that’s how it is translated and described in Wiki.

And its State Anthem goes like this:

Malay

“Dilanjutkan Allah usianya Sultan
    Adil dan murah memerintah watan
    Ditaati rakyat kiri dan kanan
    Iman yang soleh Allah kurniakan
    Allah berkati Perak Darul Ridzuan
    Allah selamatkan Negeri dan Sultan”

English Translation

“Allah, grant the Sultan a long life
    Just and gracious, ruling the homeland
    Obeyed by the people left and right
    Allah endow the righteous faith
    Sanctify Perak Darul Ridzuan, O Allah
    Salvage the State and Sultan, O Allah”

Its Head of Government is one Nizar Jamaluddin. Yes, Nizar Jamaluddin. And Pakatan Rakyat rules the state.

For more info, see Wiki under Perak.

4. #4 by tenaciousB on Wednesday, 28 October 2009 - 11:56 pm

the police were acting like rowdy’s absolutely shame for the country that we have such unprofessional policemen! i guess some blow up models for a living. jokers!

5. #5 by boh-liao on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 12:15 am

This is 1Malaysia mah
    And the tale of 2Speakers, 1 real, 1 false
    Our mata-mata r actually de rough n tumble type
    Leadership by example
    Perhaps Sivakumar should count his lucky star, still alve, not C4ed

6. #6 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 12:28 am

“1 Malaysia” at it’s best.

7. #7 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 1:00 am

Perak’s Barisan Nasional government is a ‘government ‘ which is not recognised and blessing from the people of Perak. ( Kerajaan Barisan Nasional Perak adalah sebuah ‘kerajaan’ yang tidak diiktiraf dan tidak mendapat restu daripada rakyat Perak)

8. #8 by sltiger on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 1:05 am

Its a shame. Perak has been sieged by criminals.And this is what he terms as 1 Malaysia.

9. #9 by albert308 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 1:11 am

How can the policemen made 3 layers of barrier to block PR Aduns from entering Assembly? YB Karpal Singh was stop from entering Parliament sitting inside the building by Umno ‘gangsters’ under tense and rough conditions without interference by police or security guards with claim of no authority within Parliament compound. Nevertheless, police act with authority inside Perak state assembly building! These are is very wrong, jungle law!
    Home Minister must be held responsible in this incident.

10. #10 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 1:12 am

Shame

11. #11 by johnnypok on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 3:51 am

Uncivilised behavior at its worst in Malaysia! What ashame! Waiting for ‘EXPLOSION’ to take place.

12. #12 by ringthetill on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 6:43 am

This is really shameful. There is no dignity and respect left, all down the drain!
    Is this the democracy that we practice?
    Is this the best we can do at self governance?
    Do we not care what the world thinks of us?
    Is this why we sought independence?
    ??????

13. #13 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 7:11 am

The main issue of course is that the sanctity of the Parliament has been violated with the role of the police. Even if they wanted to take the robe, it should not have been the police but the Sergeant-At-Arm.

Its nothing new of course given BN track record of eroding institutions, violating laws, procedure and constitutions at the convenience in the last 40 years. After all the mother of it all, the biggest one NEP has never been passed in Parliament!

When they started, they did it for practical reason or when politically backed-to-the-wall and they knew they exactly what they were destroying. Now they do it as a matter of convenience and they don’t know what they are destroying anymore. Nothing is sacred anymore..The end justify-the-means gone classically havoc. Its how communism ended up ‘some pigs are more equal than other pigs’. Its how Nazis and Hitler ended up with ‘the final solution’.

No its not the bad behaviour and chaos, its the destruction and ignorance that cause it that should outrage us..

14. #14 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 7:51 am

malaysia – a land ruled by the pari@h and for the pari@h. Their pari@hness are demonstrated everyday in your face by the police, judicial and the civil service. And some are shielded by their yellow linen lineage.

O I cry for you Malaysia.

15. #15 by taiking on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 8:46 am

Its no wonder that the suspension bridge collapsed. Power and wealth is everything to them. Nothing else matters.

16. #16 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 8:50 am

Any chance of the person who uttered the ‘saree’ jibe (racism and misogyny in one word…) attempting to claim back some integrity with an apology? I think it’s important to maintain some standard, even when all around are lowering theirs.

There’s a surprising piece in The Nut Graph about the assembly. Seems like the BN’s propaganda tactic of labelling the democratically-elected-unconstitutionally-deposed government of Perak as ‘uncouth’ has worked on at least one of their journalists. It could be that one moment of foolishness that turned the tide.

I personally wouldn’t disrespect mooning and literal tackle-waving, they could even save the saliva they’d normally deposit at the kopitiam and use it on these occasions – since BN has burnt the rule book – but the ‘saree’ thing deserves the yellow card. I hope your colleague will do the honourable thing.

17. #17 by taiking on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 8:50 am

Malaysians deserve a better government. And any government for that matter would be better than the present umno gobermen.

18. #18 by fungwan23 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 9:19 am

Malaysia police have time to guard SUK building, why they don’t just use the time to catch criminal ..It seem PR rep look like terrorist more danger than osama bin laden in their mind…every year just wasting the tax payer money to pay their salary…

19. #19 by ktteokt on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 9:39 am

These are none other than the PENYAMUN 1 MALAYSIA who not only cheated the people of Perak, hijacked the state assembly, put a pirate as illegal MB but now instructed its “dogs” to attack and grab the gown of the speaker!!!

20. #20 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 10:38 am

But they did wish the ‘speaker’ “Happy Deepavali”. Isn’t that nice?

Was all the comments recorded in the Hansard or are these just hearsay?

We must get the facts right first and it would be interesting to read what was recorded for May 7 and October 28 sittings. Who said and did what to whom and why and how the circus antics were recorded.

Also did some party(ies) prevent or delay the PR reps from entering the Assembly venue to partake in the sitting? If so, wouldn’t it be an offence?

21. #21 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 11:00 am

people of bagan Pinang. You chose the “get-rich-quick-scheme”, did you not? See what happened in Kampar.

It is a trajedy awaiting to happen anytime now. It may not be a bridge, but it will be a trajedy for sure. No refrigerator or rice cooker will buy back those life or to redeem your past.

But you still have the future to decide one last time. You cannot copulate with the devil and expect an angel in return.

22. #22 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 11:38 am

The police choked Speaker Sivakumar in the ensuing struggle as he attempted to hold on to it. Luckily he did not bite back, or else there would be a by-election in Tronoh next month.

23. #23 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 12:04 pm

It just occur to me, when joined Taiwan and Korea’s gangster political culture!! Now we can call ourselves ‘developed’? What do we do about the low per capita income though? Its not like BN was actually going to catch up on per capita income before they call Malaysia developed anyway right?

24. #24 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 12:22 pm

The only way we can get high per capita income is to adopt Indonesia’s rupiah as our currency. Then every Bolehlander can become billionaires overnight. 1,000,000 rupiah to purchase a packet of nasi lemak, and 2,000,000 rupiah for a cuppa of kopi.

25. #25 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 12:26 pm

people of bagan Pinang
    Have you spoken to any of them? I was chatting to some business people from Bagan Pinang a few days ago. They were over the moon – elated – that PAS lost. They were in the leisure / entertainments / sports line (it was a seaside resort, after all) and claimed they “had enough trouble with ‘PAS people’ as it is”. It’s not that straightforward, even from my small survey. One of them did also refer to Isa as ‘our patron’.

I think you have to let go of the Bagan Pinang thing. There’s no democratic country where the government is the one that 100% of the people voted for. Mindlessly insulting them could be counter-productive in the long run.

26. #26 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 12:47 pm

/// Mindlessly insulting them could be counter-productive in the long run….rojak

Oyy! If I want to insult them, I will be writing a language far worse than that. It is just a reminder to those who elect corrupted officials to the “throne”.

Which entertainment boss did you talk to? K-T-Vice, EPL betting joints or massage parlour?

If those kids who died in Kampar belong to those in your survey, they will not be referring to Isa as “our patron”.

You can let go of BP if you think you have lost the war. But please do not discourage me to do the same.

27. #27 by k1980 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 1:37 pm

The person who is really over the moon should be the director who purchased laptops costing RM42,000 each. They are neither gold-plated nor studded with diamonds, nor did they come with Osama ben Laden’s personal signature. Had he purchased 1,000 such laptops, his bank account would had swollen by RM40,000 x1,000 = RM40million. All in a hour’s work. No sweat, man.

28. #28 by a g on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 2:18 pm

(1) Father of Independence –>
    (2) Father of Modernisation –>
    (3) Father of Unity –>
    (4) Father of Industrialisation –>
    (5) Father of ???(sorry,no idea)–>
    (6) Father of 2Peraks (congrats!!!)

29. #29 by yhsiew on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 2:47 pm

Najib’s 1Malaysia produces 2 Speakers and 2 Perak state assembly sittings. Malaysia boleh!!!

30. #30 by king cobra on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 2:47 pm

to be high income nation with excess disposable income to spare , reset the ringgit’s value to 1 ringgit = 1 british pound or 1 Euro

31. #31 by ENDANGERED HORNBILL on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 3:17 pm

Videos and the throng of cameramen shooting away tell no lies.

Troubling question #1: what business has the police force obstructing an orderly group of state assemblymen marching towards the state Parliament, as it were. This must surely be an offence under any constitution.

Troubling question #2: what business has a police thug-like force got to do with snatching the songkok and robe of the State Speaker and turning the premises of the state assembly, albeit only the car park, into a Pasar malam free-for-all?

Troubling question #3: what has the police force got to do with politics in a state assembly precincts or outside its doors?

Thank you IGP for being Malaysia’s No. 1 BN/UMNO protector whilst the Rakyat face increasing crimes on the streets etc.

32. #32 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 3:39 pm

What type of police? Itu polis kanak-kanak. I snatch your hat, you snatch my hat. I complaint to mummy you bite my hand. Bodoh punya polis. Buli rakyat dan orang bangladesh boleh la kita punya polis. Kalau pi luar negara macam tikus. Baruah.

(5) bapa of semua barang naik harga
    (6) bapa of komisen dan c4

33. #33 by jim on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 4:10 pm

Hahaha, what a shame! police assaulted PR aduns and aduns lodge police report for what??!!! what do you expect those police to do since the police the one who assaulted you?

34. #34 by jim on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 4:20 pm

Those police only protect the BN. PR aduns still wants to attend the assembly for what??!!! They were supposed to knows their fate if not much more better than what had taken place on May 7. Nothing much they can do now. Either by force, which they don’t have or wait till the next general election. The beloved Sultan also one kind. How the people going to respect him in the future?

35. #35 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 4:29 pm

“people of bagan Pinang. You chose the “get-rich-quick-scheme”, did you not?” (undertaker888)

undertaker888,
    Perhaps you are oversimplified about the reason why Tan Sri Isa Samad won in Bagan Pinang by-election. Although I was politically inclined to hope that Pakatan Rakyat candidate (even a PAS candidate) could win in Bagan Pinang by-election, I would not simply jump into the conclusion that Tan Sri Isa Samad got a landslide win because he bribed.

No doubt, Isa Samad was deemed to be a corrupted Umno leader during his rule of Negeri Sembilan State Government for a long period of 22 years in the past. However, he was also a diligent Menteri Besar. I remembered that during 2002 or 2003, Isa Samad as an MB was showing his big concern about the beautification project of Port Dickson beaches. He occasionally paid visit to the tourism sites of P.D. and supervised the progress of the tree planting project initiated by Majlis Perbandaran Port Dickson.

If we have to make a comparison between the rural tar road connection system in Negeri Sembilan to those of other states of Malaysia, I believe no one is able to dispute that Negeri Sembilan has the best rural area access by tar road. Therefore, it is a bit unfair to Isa Samad if someone is to totally deny his contribution to the development of rural areas in Negeri Sembilan during his 22 years’ rule as the MB.

Even though I personally do not like Isa Samad because of his practising money politics and cronyist grace politics in Negeri Sembilan, I have to agree that Isa Samad is an Umnoputra who deserves a good respect from Pakatan Rakyat leaders because Isa is a tough enemy!

36. #36 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 4:32 pm

Actually I am kind of curious why BN Perak did not just go have another robe made? Why blow this whole thing up? To continue argue their legitimacy? No one buys that one damn bid regardless of what they do..

I think its just stupidity frankly…

37. #37 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 5:03 pm

Bigjoe certainly has good reason to hold a dissident opinion about the recent event happened in Perak Assembly. I personally feel that the Judicial Court has already made a jidgement in favour of Barisan Nasional on Perak Fiasco. Even though the court judgement may be biased against Pakatan Rakyat, PR leaders should unprotestly accept the court decision until a higher court has already reversed the court decision if PR leaders still believe in the Rule of Law.

If we are unhappy about the political side-taking by some court judges, the best we can do is to make requests to the leaders of judicial system requiring the court to dispense justices in a fair and just manner and not to be over-influenced by the consideration of personal gain in political side-taking or favourite-picking. It is undeniable that the court judges are also human beings, who may have their own political ideological choices and party choices. However, it is also a requirement in the code of ethics which requires that the court judges to stay above politics. Perhaps the Malaysians public should exert more pressure on the judicial participants to require them to serve their function dutifully and impartially without practicing favouritism. Public criticism is the best checks-and-balances we can rely upon to ask for wanting of delivery of fair and impartial justices by the court judges.

Therefore, there is no point trying to distract Zambry from performing his duty as the Perak MB again and again since Zambry has already gotten the mandate confirmation from the Sultan as well as the court! Pakatan Rakyat should act gentlemanly by allowing Barisan Nasional to rule until the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly. This is because the biggest fault in Perak Fiasco is still traceable to the inability of Pakatan Rakyat leaders to select 100% loyal and reliable candidates to contest for the State Assembly seats in Perak!

38. #38 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 5:30 pm

///Perhaps you are oversimplified about the reason why Tan Sri Isa Samad won in Bagan Pinang by-election…simply jump into the conclusion that Tan Sri Isa Samad got a landslide win because he bribed…onlooker

So what do we do? Do we elect officials to office to do nothing? What you mentioned above is him merely doing his job, not contribution, for the past 22 years. Is he paid to do nothing? And the moment he gets “concerned” over something or plant some trees, that is considered as a contribution? Have you seen the condition of PD beach lately compared to last time? You tell me is it better? What about those abandoned projects which hurt the rakyats’ pocket when he was MB? Where is he? Planting trees?

If that is the case, Lim Guan Eng is doing one hell of a job then just within 1 year compared to his 22 years. Sh!t, he can turn a RM70000 flat to a RM500000 terrace house. I put my money on him anytime.

If he managed to influence and dump ISA or NEP, i would consider that a contribution.

I drove around NS rural roads before recently, there is nothing to shout about. Want to see a good rural road? You should try driving from Bukit Merah toll exit to Grik. Beautiful view too. I drove on many rural roads before in Kelantan, Perak, Kedah, Malacca, NS, Penang, and it makes me wonder why are the roads much better in quality and condition compared to those in urban areas? Got to do with votes i guess.

Isa won’t be a tough enemy if the playing field is the same level. Respect is earned not given.

39. #39 by boh-liao on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 5:58 pm

Luckily he got something beneath his robe
    What else did the mata-mata grab besides his robe?
    His crown jewels? Damaged kah?

40. #40 by boh-liao on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 6:02 pm

One by one, strange bedfellows are leaving the sinking ship
    Badrul O Badrul
    The grass is greener in the Umno B/BN’s playing field

41. #41 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 6:10 pm

…..“During the struggle with the police, Sivakumar managed to hang on to the collar of the speaker’s robe. There was a threat to the life of the speaker,” Nizar claimed…….

First, the disallowed the PR assemblymen from bringing any cameras, handphones or any recording device into the secretariat building

Then they used unnecessary forces on PR assemblymen.

No evident can be recorded. So if another ‘Teoh Beng Hock’ case happened, they can claim that he/she has ‘commited suicide’ . …. and this has almost happened to the DUN speaker -Sivakumar…..

If there is nothing to be hidden -prohibiting camera/handphones/viewcam is unwarranted!

KONONNYA SATU MALAYSIA…….!

If

42. #42 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 6:15 pm

“I drove on many rural roads before in Kelantan, Perak, Kedah, Malacca, NS, Penang, and it makes me wonder why are the roads much better in quality and condition compared to those in urban areas? Got to do with votes i guess.” (undertaker888)

undertaker888,
    Your observations are definitely right — all the development expenditures of a state government will certainly have something to do with enticing votes or rewarding loyal voters. You will see that the road conditions of Temiang, Rahang and Rasah areas of Seremban won’t be as good as some rural access road in Bagan Pinang areas. This is because majority Seremban residents have a tradition to cast votes for DAP, except for several occasions when the army votes started to carry some weight in Seremban constituency.

What is the moral of the story? I guess this simply tells us that what the popular maxim of the late Vice Premier of mainland China, Mr Deng Xiao Peng, was probably true. His maxim says, “No matter whether it is a white cat or a black cat, it will be deemed a good cat so long as it catches the rats!” Most voters are practical and pragmatic people. They don’t really care too much about whether a legislature representative will personally stand on a moral high ground. The voters will continue to vote a candidate into the legislature so long as they think and trust that the candidate will bring in much more material benefits to them once he/she is elected. A good tar road is just one example of the material benefit!

For your information, Tan Sri Isa Samad was a generous money donor or land giver to his hardcore supporters during his rule as the MB of Negeri Sembilan.

43. #43 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 6:28 pm

Clinging to the power originally governed by PR in Perak…Najib’s “1Malaysia” is a joke…with two parliaments and 3 frogs.
    What a sickening video that is.
    Najib said UMNO have 62% support.
    Talk is cheap!
    Show that by declaring State election…if not a snap 13th GE…to be elected by Malaysians as PM.
    Najib create slogans to fool young voters.
    He is such a hypocrite…that Mahathir proudly call him…his adopted son.
    UMNO BARU is not the same as the original UMNO.

44. #44 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 6:43 pm

“If that is the case, Lim Guan Eng is doing one hell of a job then just within 1 year compared to his 22 years. Sh!t, he can turn a RM70000 flat to a RM500000 terrace house. I put my money on him anytime.” (undertaker888)

The CM Lim Guan Eng was doing the right thing by working diligently to help a few poors and needies to get a decent home which they deserve. He is right by practicing the Grace Politics because most people usually expect some graces from the politician.

However, I do hope that CM Lim Guan Eng can pay much more attention to beautify Penang. When the politician helps a poor and needy to get one big house, only one family is benefited from the politician’s wonderful grace. However, by investing in the beautification of Penang’s environment, a politician can benefit majority people of the state of Penang. Just imagine how many people will stand to be benefited from the multiplier effect or accelerator effect of the possible tourism boom in Penang if Penang can be reincarnated and turned into a genuine garden city or the revitalised Pearl of Orient. The taxi drivers, the hoteliers and hotel workers, the retail outlet operators, the airline companies, the food caterers, and the shopping mall owners will all stand to gain from the possible tourism boom due to the newly found attractiveness in Penang if Lim Guan Eng is to put in some time and effort to help beautify Penang. Tourism generally creates a much higher value-added jobs to the local Penang people while the manufacturing industries can benefit most foreign cheap labours from Indonesia, Phillipines and Vietnam. Therefore, Lim Guan Eng should seek to explore the business niche of Penang in tourism and should not be overbogged down with the issues of manufacturing recession and FDI capital flight created by the world financial turmoil.

I plan to visit Penang again for “makan angin” if Lim Guan Eng can convince me through the news media publicity that Penang has already gotten a big change as compared to one year’s ago!

45. #45 by rabbit on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 7:13 pm

shame shame shame… the police seem like they are getting gaji butah! never think n knew who is the boss.. so free in Perak.. why not in toyo place? ..

46. #46 by undertaker888 on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 7:19 pm

///late Vice Premier of mainland China, Mr Deng Xiao Peng, was probably true. His maxim says, “No matter whether it is a white cat or a black cat, it will be deemed a good cat so long as it catches the rats!”…onlooker

In China, if the black cat catches the rat and eat it too, the govt will shoot the bloody black cat. In bolehland, the black cat will be exalted to sit on the pedestal and made into a pretty black fat cat.

Agree with you on beautifying Penang. Lim Guan Eng will have to undo Koh Tsu Koon’s doing of doing nothing.

47. #47 by yhsiew on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 8:19 pm

I am waiting to see if BN Speaker, Ganesan, has the guts to put on the robbed robe at the next Perak State Assembly sitting. It will be all shame for him if he dares put on the robbed robe.

48. #48 by baochingtian on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 9:03 pm

The govt should be ashamed of allowing such a chaos to happen time and again using police force on YB’s. Suggest 1M’sia be changed to 1,2,3 Tangkap! … or may be … Once tangkap, Twice lokap, thrice Mangkat!

49. #49 by sheriff singh on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 9:11 pm

Bagan Pinang. Explored the place recently after the by-elections.

Hey, its gone. Let it go. The people there are happy with the results, so let it go. Let it be. Move on.

50. #50 by baochingtian on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 9:14 pm

To beautify Penang, the aduns should look into their respective constituent landscaping. Landscaping along the coastal highway and jln sultan azlan shah needs attention – would JKR care ?

51. #51 by monsterball on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 10:05 pm

When have anyone seen so much injustices….lies ..twisting and applying dirtiest politics in Malaysia with 200 days of any Prime Minister..other than Najib?
    I say he is powerless and many things are done…in the name to protect and enhance his image and UMNO’s better position in the 13th GE..pleases this man who thinks of slogans to capture young voters…the one idea that keep contradicting his slogans…day in day out…actually opening the eyes and ears for all…to know and see who this Najib is.
    Mahathir is back in the limelight signal the fact…UMNO BARU needs him badly to try all ways to improve confidences.
    He resigned when…UMNO had 52% support from last election he stood as PM.
    He has no more respects from Malaysians at large….therefore…he will do not better.
    Najib declared he has 62% support now….yet dare not declare a Perak State election or a snap election…like Abdullah got 92% support…with his first GE as elected PM.
    Najib and UMNO ministers are worthless and useless….but some voted them in.
    And it depends on those people who supported UMNO to repent and admit they made the biggest mistake and prepare to correct that…in 13th GE.
    However…..2 million young voters will be the deciders for their futures..and these are smart Malaysians…..not easily be fooled with slogans.

52. #52 by Onlooker Politics on Thursday, 29 October 2009 - 10:05 pm

Najib has just formulated a lacklustre doomsday 2010 Fiscal Budget. Economic activities in manufacturing sector of Malaysia will not likely be able to see good improvement in the near future. This is because the investors’ confidence about a fast economic recovery in the US has been destroyed by the market panic in relation to a surprise drop in US home sales last month, which followed a decline in consumer confidence, highlighting risks to a recovery in the world’s biggest economy.

The following analysis which was published in Malaysian Insider internet news probably best described the current lacklustre situation in the financial markets:

“High-yielding Australian and New Zealand currencies fell to three-week lows and Indonesia’s central bank was seen in the market for a second day to support the rupiah.”

“Currency traders said hedge funds, whose flight from risky assets had aggravated a sell-off in Latin American markets yesterday, were seen taking profits on Asian investments ahead of their business year-end in November.”

http://www.malaysianinsider.com/index.php/business/41804-asia-shares-slump-yen-benefits-as-safer-haven

In view of the possible extension of world economic recession in manufacture sector in years to come, it looks like CM Lim Guan Eng really does not have many choices besides the choice of initiating a structural reform of employment opportunities in Penang by switching more weight in the economic activities from manufacture industry to tourism and service industries. To give the unemployed a decent job opportunity is the best contribution a politician can make to his/her people. Lim Guan Eng has to act fast to diversify the economy of Penang before the manufacture sector of Penang has decided to lay off workers after seeing a fast deterioration in the future economic outlook in relation to the manufacture sector.

53. #53 by LG on Friday, 30 October 2009 - 12:27 pm

All i can conclude concerning this farce is 1Malaysia Police = 1Malaysia Worst Hooligan and 1Malaysia UMNO = 1Malaysia Dirtest Politicians.

54. #54 by Hugos on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 7:59 am

All I can see are policemen being mishandled and assaulted by members of the SLA. Pathetic! If this is democracy, I have no desire to be a part of it. I’m ashamed to call myself a Malaysian.

55. #55 by Hugos on Saturday, 31 October 2009 - 8:02 am

The policemen don’t look like they are enforcing any law. More like a bunch of clueless men in blue, ill trained and hopelessly stupid. They should be made to guard public toilets.