Can Malaysians expect justice in cases involving top Umno leaders when there is an Umno Chief Justice, Tan Sri Zaki Azmi?

The question bugging Malaysians in the past 20 months have finally come to the very fore – whether Malaysians can expect justice in cases involving top Umno leaders when the Chief Justice, Tan Sri Zaki Azmi had been a long-time Umno lawyer and stalwart?

When Zaki was appointed directly as Federal Court judge in September 2007, it is open secret that he was headed for what turned out to be a quintuple jump as Chief Justice in a matter of 13 months.

Both inside and outside Parliament, the propriety of Zaki’s appointment as Chief Justice and how it could help in restoring national and international confidence in the independence, impartiality and integrity of the judiciary was raised – with no attempt by the Prime Minister of-the-day to give proper and acceptable answers.

This question has again come to the very fore because of the super-fasttracking by the Court of Appeal of the application by the usurper Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Zambry Abdul Kadir to “stay” the declaration of the Justice Datuk Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim in the Nizar vs Zambry case that Datuk Seri Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin is the lawful Mentri Besar of Perak.

Many questions cry out for answer as to how could a single-judge Court of Appeal in a short hearing, in a few hours after the filing of the application, grant a “stay” of the declaration by the Kuala Lumpur High Court judge made in an one-hour reasoned judgment after three days of arguments.

Yesterday, Nizar’s solicitors were informed by fax of Zambry’s appeal:

• 10.07 am – letter to Court of Appeal requesting early date;
  • 10.43 am – informed that application for stay fixed on the same day, no time of hearing stated.
  • 10.52 am – notice of appeal.

Nizar’s lawyers were not given proper notice of the hearing by single-judge Court of Appeal at 11.30 am on the application by Zambry’s lawyers for “stay” of declaration, although Zambry’s application was filed at 9 am and application for stay at 9.30 am.

These time-lines for the “super-fast” Court of Appeal proceedings are pertinent. Nizar’s solicitors have filed his application to discharge Zamry’s “stay” order at the Court of Appeal, Palace of Justice, Putrajaya after lunch.

Is the Court of Appeal prepared to equally fast-track today to have a three-judge bench to convene in special session for the discharge of Zambry’s “stay” order?

1. #1 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:02 pm

Mr LKS you are making some really sad insinuations, putting it up in a form for a poser. Knowing it will create or stir up a lot of dust. This is pathetic.

I will say this, to fast track the application for stay is nothing new. You of all people should know what a stay is meant for. Just to temporarily freeze things.

Of course the judge did it hastily because of BN also but as what the PM did hastily 3 months ago, it will fall flat on their face.

Injunctions are given out each day and its done in a few hours when the actual trial will take many many more days of hearing rather than a mere 3 days argument as in the Zambry-Nizar case. Mareva injunctions and Anton Pillar injunctions which respectively, freeze your assets and allow a litigant to gain access to evidence.

That is available to the man on the streets ok. Come on … bring out more credible postings. Stop all your negativity, bring some light to the Rakyat.

2. #2 by shariff on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:25 pm

Yup,its very pathetic indeed for stirring this up…. you of all people….Do you think we malaysians will get justice from DAP chief justice????
    That will be the day….

3. #3 by michaeltanpj on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:26 pm

Isn’t this an abuse of the court process? Obviously, the case jumped the queue. This is an outright abuse of the system because the earlier cases following the queue will face a detriment.

So, there will be a delay in other people’s legal cases because the case jumped queue. Where got justice?

The Bar Council, what are you all doing about this? Don ‘t make so much of noise about other macro matters, these micro matters are as important.

Wah, Malaysian court system can jump queue!

4. #4 by Tonberry on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:26 pm

A retired chief justice said..”that the windscreens of the cars of judges are blacked-out not for security reasons; but because the judges are ashamed to be seen by the public.”

5. #5 by DAP man on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:30 pm

SpeakUp,
    A little knowledge is dangerous. But you sound real stupid here and even make yourself look like an idiot. Please go visit some BN website and have your say there.

6. #6 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:46 pm

“You of all people should know what a stay is meant for. Just to temporarily freeze things.” (SpeakUp)

SpeakUp,
    You may be able to understand what a stay order really means but unfortunately our great PhD graduate from Temple University, Dr. Zambry, does not seem to know too much about the meaning of a stay order. How could Dr. Zambry legally assume the duty of the Menteri Besar when there was a high court judgement ruling that the appointment of Zambry as the Menteri Besar had been conducted in an illegimate and unlawful manner since there was a lack of motion of No Confidence against Nizar as Menteri Besar to be duly tabled and passed by majority of the State Legislative Assembly?

If Dr. Zambry has some basic knowledge about the rule of law, then he should leave the MB seat alone and not to sit on it until the Court of Appeal has made an overturn decision in the appeal lawsuit of Nizar Vs. Zambry case.

The Court of Appeal certainly indicates certain degree of bias and prejudice against Pakatan Rakyat lawyers since there are some obvious differences in the work efficiency of the Court of Appeal between serving a Barisan Nasional Lawyer and serving a Pakatan Rakyat lawyer.

7. #7 by queen of all things malaysian on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:46 pm

DAP man(?) – shut the F***-up.

It’s people like Lim Kit Siang who’s brave enough to share his thoughts and opinions on an article such as this otherwise the lot of us M’asians would not have a clue as to what’s going on – no thanks to your van of clown ministers who control the media and decide what info gets aired.

I just had a friend of mine (fr France) who read what’s going on in Malaysia (particularly the Perak crisis) and also read about Najib’s background and Najib’s involvement with the murder of Altantuya has been discussed in pubs in the area he lives. His message to me – it’s obvious the current BN government will never let go of power and it will be even more blatantly cruel in the 13th GE. This is only the beginning of ugly things to come!

8. #8 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:53 pm

Wow … DAP man … looks like people are not allowed to speak their minds based on facts. You want only PRO OPPOSITION postings. I like your concept.

Engage the issues raised by me and tell me I am wrong, I will gladly accept that. If you are not familiar with the law then perhaps you should really not bother to engage me. Ask any lawyer if what I said is wrong. Then come back and post.

Also, its sad that you need to resort to name calling. Very sad …

Onlooker … let’s wait for the verdict, we do not have a crystal ball. Many people long ago used many interesting ways to prove someone was a witch. Many were put to death in the most hideous ways.

As for the delcaration about Zambry being illegal etc. The Court of Appeal’s order is most important. Depends on how it was drafted.

In the Ayer Molek case, the High Court made issued a very very bad injunction. It was so absurd and got set aside. Till its set aside its good … unfortunately, this is the law.

9. #9 by ALLAN THAM on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:55 pm

Ai Ya! YB Kit this question was redundant lah! The answer is you know I know every body know lah! What you expect!

10. #10 by queen of all things malaysian on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 3:55 pm

DAP man … I meant to address my posting to SpeakUp … typo error on my part, my apologies …

LKS, can you edit my posting for me – I can’t seem to edit the posting …

Thanks,

11. #11 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:01 pm

If an Umno Top leader like Dr. Zambry who holds a PhD degree from an American popular university does not even seem to have any intent to give due respect to the rule of law, how do we expect other Umno political leaders who, unlike Dr. Zambry, have never been educated with the American-style democracy and who have no exposure in the practical implementation of the American Concept of Separation of Powers among the Executive Branch, the Judicial Branch and the Legislative Branch of the Government, to abide themselves to the rule of law?

It is no wonder that we usually finds a few tyrants sitting in the cabinet of the Federal Government and in the Police Force of Malaysia!

12. #12 by siamo on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:08 pm

SpeakUp and Shariff obviously are supporter (blindly) of the BN and does not have a clue about the need for an indepedent judiciary!

13. #13 by pwcheng on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:34 pm

Dear SpeakUP
    I do not even want to insinuate but go straight to the point.

I can precisely predict the similarity by fast tracking back to the 80s involving United Engineers where LKS won the battle but lost the war. The high court granted LKS in favor against United Engineers Malaysia Bhd and the government to stop the North-South Highway project. Unfortunately Until today the rakyat are still suffering from the overkill of UMNO).

Do not forget that our TDM is still alive and kicking and if that strategy can work before it should also work now. In the same breath I can safely tell Pakatan Rakyat not to display any euphoria as it will be short live. UMNO is too experience and its tentacles are reaching to every institutions which are virtually under its control. There are no “seperation of powers” exept all are under the power of UMNO.

The same wayang kulit is replayed by by letting the opponent win the first round and they will be made to eat their own words by telling that “this is the first step of judiciary independence”.and in Anwar own words “ The High Court’s decision is a triumph of the Rule of law and affirms that the Constitution is the highest law of the land”. They can even win round 2 in the Curt of Appeal but the final blow will come in round 3 in the federal court where they will fall flat on their nose and by then they cannot turn round and say that the judiciary is biased. They will look if they say that by then because when they win they say there is rule of the law and when they loose they cannot turn round to say there is no rule of the law.

Hear me, until today you can be sure the judiciary had not recovered from its onslaught by UMNO and the euphoria will be short live. I can also assure you that. this strategy has work well for them for years since TDM came to power and it is not going to go away as long as BN stays. This sandiwara is definitely a good and intelligent implant to make you believe that the judiciary is independent.

I vcan bet my last dollar that this case will reach the Federal Court and the PR will be floored and trashed and at this stage no more remedy except to bite the bullet and fight another day. Their idea is to lure you to be trapped in your own trap. I am afraid Datuk Seri Nizar and many PR veterans has not reached this level to understand the art of war by UMNO.

Why are they so determined not to dissolve parliament is food for thought. Any decent Malaysia will know that the best way out is to let the voters of Perak decide. It is hilarious to hear from them that by-elections are a waste of Government funds. Since when had they been so careful with our money.

UMNO, you can bullshit some people sometime but you cannot bullshit all the people all the time.

14. #14 by cintanegara on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:35 pm

LKS, can you edit my posting for me – I can’t seem to edit the posting – queen of all things Malaysian

It would be far more beneficial for DAP to offer a free course on how to use computer to those who are not very computer literate…..

15. #15 by williamtan on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 4:57 pm

Looks like we have a casualty from friendly fire here….queen of all things to DAP man…..Medic! Medic! Webmaster care to edit the man’s post?…..LOL…..Guess we shoould aim before shooting…..and no bad language pls……

16. #16 by SpeakUp on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:01 pm

Onlooker … a PhD does not make them move civilised or understand the rule of law. And neither does studying overseas. This is about ME ME ME and POWER POWER POWER.

Gandhi was willing to let a Muslim be PM just to ensure India would not break up when granted Independence. Zambry a Gandhi? Hahahaa … that is really a joke.

Perak is about the PM cementing his hold in UMNO. With this he is saying “I am the man you need to back as I am super capable, don’t try to challenge me.” Well, in his haste to get Perak back before the last UMNO meeting he really messed up.

Zambry is only obediently tagging along as there are benefits when he is the MB.

Siamo … Wow and now I am a BN supporter … time for you to learn to read things objectively. You are really funny.

17. #17 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:06 pm

Ai Ya! YB Kit this question was redundant lah! (ALLAN THAM)
    ====================================================

Agree with ALLAN THAM.

The super-fasttracking by the Court of Appeal in processing Zambry’s appeal yesterday indicated something fishy was going on.

I am not surprised if the sequence of fast tracked events in Zambry’s appeal was PRE-PLANNED weeks before the High Court announced that Datuk Seri Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin is the lawful Mentri Besar of Perak.

Zaki’s appointment as Chief Justice will not help (at least in people’s perception) in restoring national and international confidence in the independence, impartiality and integrity of the Malaysian judiciary.

18. #18 by simply_simple on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:13 pm

“If Dr. Zambry has some basic knowledge about the rule of law, then he should leave the MB seat alone and not to sit on it until the Court of Appeal has made an overturn decision in the appeal lawsuit of Nizar Vs. Zambry case.” (Onlooker Politics)

Ngeh says its ‘contempt of court’ when Zambry walk into the state secretariat earlier today to start work. So what are you Perakians waiting for? Go make police report…sumbat him in jail.

Again there’s a possibility the police now may not act…. but, if and when PR take over the federal govt after next election (and also “runs” the police force)…hee hee…

19. #19 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:20 pm

I will say this, to fast track the application for stay is nothing new. You of all people should know what a stay is meant for. Just to temporarily freeze things.” SpeakUp

Obviously you know the meaning of cakap the serupa bikin and vice versa, what makes you think we don’t understand?

20. #20 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:30 pm

Can Malaysians expect justice in cases involving top Umno leaders when there is an Umno Chief Justice, Tan Sri Zaki Azmi?

When Najib is the Prime Minister?

21. #21 by dawsheng on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:40 pm

“When Zaki was appointed directly as Federal Court judge in September 2007, it is open secret that he was headed for what turned out to be a quintuple jump as Chief Justice in a matter of 13 months.”

The Rulers Council approved his appointment. Pakatan Rakyat will win the next general election, with a strong mandate, but that doesn’t mean PR will govern, this is fact that I hope is not.

22. #22 by Loh on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:56 pm

///breaking news updated 5.16pm The application – to be heard on Monday – is to strike out a stay of proceedings obtained by Zambry to stop Nizar from taking over as the menteri besar of Perak.///–Malaysiakini

The hearing for a stay of decision is urgent; it was settled within 3 hours of the court time, and action taken onthe same day of the application.

The hearing to set aside a ‘stay’ decision is equally urgent. It will take five days until next Monday before it would be heard.

The efficiency to grant a stay hearing exceeded all records. So the Court system was biased. The judiciary knew that its actions demonstrate double standards, yet it was willing to show it too; that is arrogance.

23. #23 by KeenWatcher_01 on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 5:59 pm

What you expect in a Kangaroo Court with Kangaroo Chief Justice jumping promotion and queue jumping to his own advantage. Another “Cowboy” judge in town.

24. #24 by i_love_malaysia on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:02 pm

Zaki is the most “qualified” CJ that UMNO can find!!! All others could not meet UMNO’s very “high” requirements!!!

25. #25 by the reds on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:05 pm

Malaysia is sick! Totally sick! Once upon a time, Malaysia is a strong nation but now is fading fast under weak, and incompetent BN-government nowadays! What a sad story!

Only a change in government will restore our past glorious days! Hidup PR!!!!

26. #26 by yhsiew on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:11 pm

Appeal Court will hear Nizar’s application only on May 18. That means BN has enough time to move a motion of no-confidence or take some other actions against Nizar.

27. #27 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:11 pm

Correct…correct…correct!

Umno want to put their men in place…..

Correct! correct! correct!

I can give your name to………

Correct… correct… correct!

28. #28 by ReformMalaysia on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:14 pm

When a court become a kangaroo court – the outcome of hearing can be pre-fixed at the same time of date of hearing fixed….. The script is already written….. just follow the script!

29. #29 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:19 pm

To Speakup and Shariff,
    You fellows are justing showing you know something, that is all. What do you expect Sdr Lim to say – This is all part of the normal course of event? He is a politician first and last. This is a political struggle, not a judicial one. I think one Wannabe here is sufficient.

Do you think we malaysians will get justice from DAP chief justice???? Shariff

Well, DAP, if ever come to power, will never appoint a DAP Chief Justice, got it? Why I say so you may ask. Simple, if DAP is such a party and if LKS is such a man, you postings will not be seeing the light of the day here, got it.

If there is any truth of what you two fellows are saying, then there is no need to struggle and change because everything will remain the same.

It is precisely mentality like this that Malaysia has remained in quagmire and after more than 50 years we are still talking and contemplating change. Real nincompoops.

30. #30 by limkamput on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:30 pm

It was so absurd and got set aside. Till its set aside its good … unfortunately, this is the law. speakup

Do you seriously think that PR went courts to seek justice? If your answer is yes, then obviously you do not know what politics is all about. Please, we already have too many wannabe judges and lawyers here. We don’t need another one.

31. #31 by LG on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:39 pm

When PM on May 11 said that BN would appeal the next day and they had a strong case, something fishy was going to happen soon. Thus this super-fasttracking by the Court of Appeal in favoured of BN was that stinking fish. A Guinness World Record?

UMNO’s manipulation? Do you believe that Zaki was not involved? Zaki, No integrity. Zambry, No integrity. PM also No integrity although he wrote and spoke about integrity. UMNO totally No integrity.

32. #32 by ekin on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:44 pm

cintanegara,

“LKS, can you edit my posting for me – I can’t seem to edit the posting – queen of all things Malaysian

It would be far more beneficial for DAP to offer a free course on how to use computer to those who are not very computer literate…..”

i think it will be far more beneficial for all of us here if you can start looking at the monitor’s screen, using the whatever browser you had, and in this simple blog, locate the red letters in the largest font and read properly what it says..its the topic of this blog. then start your comments..thank you.

YB LK – i agreed with allan tham..you know i know la…

33. #33 by siamo on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 6:57 pm

The following are extracted from the case of the Pinochet case, where Lord Hoffman was not seen to be impartial, when the decided on the extradition of Pinochet. He was held not be impartial as Lord Hoffman was a member of Amnesty International.

[“The familiar expression that justice must not only be done but must also be seen to be done serves a valuable function in that context………………Where a judge is performing a judicial duty, he must not only bring to the discharge of that duty an unbiased and impartial mind. He must be seen to be impartial.”]

This can be applied to Chief Justice Zaki. He owes his helicopter-like rise to the BN government. Can he be perceived to be impartial?

34. #34 by BST 1957 on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 7:10 pm

If this is the kind of justice we are expecting from the court, I might as well live in the jungle as there is a kind of law for most. Even the wild animals in the jungle knows that they only kill when they are hungry and only enough to satisfy their needs. The way BN goes about getting things done is becoz they think they are above the law and no matter what the cost is. Right now they have all lost their dignity as professional, they have likened themselves as triad leaders where they control everything and everyone. [deleted]

35. #35 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 7:16 pm

Let me get it right.

The “stay” is to let the illegal MB rule.

While the legitimate MB cannot rule but has to wait.

Does it makes any sense?

Why is the legal one punished?

36. #36 by sheriff singh on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 7:20 pm

In essence, the “stay” is to tie the Sultan’s hands indirectly.

His highness now cannot act, or can he?

37. #37 by HJ Angus on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 7:43 pm

And now Nizar’s action to quash the stay has been delayed for 4 days.
    Guess they did not know the “proper” procedures?

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/05/malaysiakini-and-different-strokes-for.html

38. #38 by Onlooker Politics on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 8:30 pm

More often, we focus our attention about the Perak fiasco only on Najib’s ursurpation motive in the series of lawsuits between Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat. However, we tend to ignore the fact that the Sultan of Perak really plays a very important role in the power struggle between Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat.

Did the Sultan really show that the Monarch had always to stay above partisan politics? If the Sultan really wanted to stay above politics, then why did His Royal Highness want to get himself deeply involved in the game of political power struggle betwen BN and PR? When MB Nizar made a request to the Sultan seeking the royal consent for dissolution of the State Legislative Assembly, why did the Sultan refuse to accede? Perhaps the Sultan was told by Najib that BN already had the command of the majority of the State Legislative Assembly. But why did the Sultan not immediately give instruction to the Assembly Secretary in order to serve out notice for convene of emergency Assembly sitting to all state assemblypersons for purpose of allowing a tabling of the motion of no confidence against V Sivakumar as the Assembly Speaker then proceeding to table another motion of no confidence against Nizar as the MB in the Assembly sitting? Why did the Sultan want to hastily appoint Dr. Zambry as the Menteri Besar when Nizar refused to resign from the post of the MB?

No doubt, the Sultan must believe in his own mind that as the Ruler of the State, His Royal Highness himself possesses the prerogative power to sack the MB. The motive of the Sultan to assert the prerogative power of the monarch in relation to the dismissing of the MB could be the major reason why until todate the Sultan has been and still is reluctant to grant the royal consent for the dissolution of the State Legislative Assembly. It is almost confirmed by most people that the Sultan has the discretionary power to appoint a Menteri Besar and to dissolve the State Legislative Assembly. However, what the Sultan wanted to assert in the Perak fiasco was the power of sacking the Menteri Besar. The core question of the dispute here was whether the Sultan should be given the power to sack a Menteri Besar.

If the Sultan is finally given the inherent power (not clearly stated in the State Constitution) to sack an MB through the adoption of a legal case precedent to be set in the Perak fiasco, then it will create a great impact to the political power structure in the systems of Constitutional Monarchy of Malaysia. An institution of the ruler which is bestowed with the absolute power to appoint and to dismiss a Menteri Besar will mean that the Menteri Besar will always have to succumb to the manipulation and control by the ruler, which is contrary to the current political power structure which requires the ruler to act in accordance with the advice of the Menteri Besar.

If Najib allows the Sultan to possess the inherent power through a legal case precedent to dismiss a Menteri Besar based on the Sultan’s personal liking, then it will be a good proof that Najib is just a useless politician who is willing to give up his Executive Power as the Prime Minister by submitting himself to the manipulation and control of the Monarch. It will really be a redicule if Najib really wants the Court of Appeal to reverse the decision of Kuala Lumpur High Court, which rules that Nizar has been illegimately and unlawfully dismissed by the Sultan because there is lack of a passed motion of no confidence against Nizar on his continual serving as the Menteri Besar by the majority of the State Legislative Assembly.

It is only to the advantage of the power-that-be to uphold the court judgement that the Monarch has never been given the constitutional power to dismiss a Menteri Besar based on the sole discretion of the Monarch unless a motion of no confidence against the incumbent MB has been tabled and passed by the majority of the State Legislative Assembly.

39. #39 by lopez on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 9:32 pm

conflict of interests…what interest ?, all interestslah what else.

ask your self what have you done having common knowledge such is being practise well under your nose?
    all is smellingh it three meals a day, feel and experienced it even in the sleep …
    at least some people dare to bring it to the fore…and everyone jumps into the band wagon but instead of doing something about it ,,,just bark bark bark and bark ,,,till the cows comes home..
    nextmorning bark on the next headline in the papers
    phew and tieu
    what is this ? try to be more popular or what?

40. #40 by Ramesh Laxman on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 9:39 pm

Dear Mumzie
    I would like to add one more question that YB Lim should ask. DP World with whom PKFZ signed an Management Agreement back out in haste? Given that DP World is world – wide port operator including ports in some Nothern African countries where they are not allowed to talk about corruption by their governments, it should have been a piece of cake for them to ride the situation in PKFS. Directors are required to declare their interest to the Bursa Saham when they buy shares in their companies or in related companies.May I ask why those Directors involved in the PKFZ are till today not required to declare their interest when contracts were signed

41. #41 by ekompute on Wednesday, 13 May 2009 - 11:30 pm

“Can Malaysians expect justice in cases involving top Umno leaders when there is an Umno Chief Justice, Tan Sri Zaki Azmi?”

Isn’t that a rhetorical question? When Chief Justices are appointed at the pleasure of UMNO, what can you expect?

42. #42 by katdog on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 12:05 am

No matter what, DAP-PR still has to go to the courts. Firstly, that is the proper process to seek justice. We don’t want street justice here.

Secondly, we cannot pre-judge that the courts are biased and not seek justice there. For if so, then BN would have won. BN will just claim that you refused to go to the courts because you are lying/telling tales and don’t dare to face the ‘truth’ or back up your claims in courts. So no matter how biased the system is, we cannot allow BN to just win like this by not following proper due process and not going to the courts.

It’s as simple as that.

43. #43 by frankyapp on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 12:58 am

Hey guys,I told you before NR and Umno/Bn have created it’s own tools to use against all oppositions for it’s own end.The IGP ,The chief of MACC, the chairman of EC and the CJ Zaki are all Umno/Bn tools. What can you guys expect from these tools ? I can’t think of nothing except injustice .

44. #44 by sightseeing on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 1:55 am

These will be his rewards as long as UMNO is in power:

Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim will never be allowed to hear anymore cases where UMNO is an interested party.

Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim will never be promoted to the Federal Court.

Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim will be transferred to a remote town.

Justice Abdul Aziz Abdul Rahim will never be a Tan Sri.

45. #45 by UzMiNoOnist on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 2:12 am

I would think that justice will prevail. If it is not in the court, it will be at the ballot box.
    The feared ballot box is the might of the people. In this era, thanks to border less media, the Judge that pass off judgment that goes against the natural justice will be ‘pariah’ed by not only in the eyes of Malaysian but the rest of world. Unless the judge is prepared to spend the rest of his natural life ‘di bawah tempurung’, no sane judge will decide against the will of natural justice.

I will give the benefits of doubt to CJ Zaki.

46. #46 by UzMiNoOnist on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 2:16 am

OK, this cannot be said about our PDRM. I hope the new Home Minister will give the boot to IGB. This guy and his goons are legacy left behind from the old dogs and should be thrown to the lions.

47. #47 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 8:52 am

My biggest problem with the stay order is that it was justified because Nizar can dissolve the assembly. So what? Nizar can do many things. The issue to justify a stay order is can what Nizar do deprive Zambry his due right? If Zambry is the legitimate MB, how can an election deprive him of his due right – he should win in the election if he is the legitimate MB.

No doubt there is a change if an election is held but does it affect Zambry? Unless Zambry cannot run for election again, an election does not deprive him of his right to justice UNLESS he is not the rightful MB. The courts have no business deciding the outcome of an election – just whether an election will deprive specifically Zambry of his due right as legitimate MB. Unless Zambry can prove he cannot run for election, does not have the resources, there is no reason why an election robs him of his right to be MB.

The whole stay order prejudice that TRUE DEMOCRACY is Bad. It prejudices that elections are bad things.

48. #48 by taiking on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 8:57 am

the reds said somewhere above:

“malaysia is sick …” and the virus that is responsible has been identified and is named UMNO/BN.

One important point showed up clearly in the ongoing perak fiasco. Illegal power grab is no easy meat. It may be dead easy within umno where money politics as well as illegal and underhand moves are the norm if one desires to secure a position of power. But outside umno the people expect transparency and lawfulness and integrity none of which umno believes in, possesses or practices. [It is beyond my fantasy how a party like that could rule and plunder the country for 50 yrs!]

The situation in perak clearly calls for a fresh election. That is the only logical, practical and lawful way to go. After all 80% of perakians wanted it. Pakatan is prepared to comply and to face the voters once again and to accept their decisions at the ballot box whatever it may be.

But umno on the contrary, is trying its best to prevent that from becoming a reality and as a result decided to engage itself in all sorts of illegal moves. It is exactly like telling a lie and then another lie to cover up the first lie and then another lie and another and another. At the end of the day one would simply be crushed under the sheer weight of that mountain of lie one had created.

Avoidance of reality for fear of losing in not a good reason at all. In fact it is stupid and in the long term such move would inflict more irreparable damage to oneself. Damage control is the more sensible option. The foolishness and stupidity and futility in undertaking little illegal manoeuvres is not unknown to umno, I am sure.

In other words, umno is going in with open eyes. It is a risk not worth taking by any count. Losing in inevitable. It is all a matter of time. But umno seems determined to take it nonetheless. So obviously umno must have its vision locked on to short term gains only – to postpone reality (i.e. of losing) a little while.

That to me is a classic defensive move. That to me is the natural reaction of a party that is a state of extreme panic and is struggling hard to survive.

In totality I see pakatan on the offensive with umno in retreat. Dont get me wrong here. The energy that is fueling pakatan’s offensive move is generated by the people. It is not self-generated within the party. And since losing is unavoidable, umno actually could opt to lose gracefully and gentlemanly. That would certainly benefit the nation and her people. Unfortunately, with what it is doing now umno will lose terribly and horribly.

49. #49 by taiking on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 9:04 am

I forgot to answer LKS’s poser.

My response: NO.

Need i say more?

50. #50 by sotong on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 9:26 am

The past had shown appointment to senior positions from the ruling party had not served our country well…..party’s interest is placed above national interest.

These people are more eager to please their political masters for their survival than doing what is right for the ordinary people and country.

51. #51 by Godfather on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 10:21 am

We Malaysians are such a forgiving lot, or maybe we Malaysians are simply naive. When Zaki’s name was proposed as the next CJ, only Kit blogged about the dangers of conflict of interest, and the rationale behind the “meteoric” rise of this candidate.

The Bar Council even welcomed Zaki’s appointment. I got into an argument in this blog with some lawyers who think that Zaki is the best candidate we have to be CJ, and who think that Zaki’s past – whether as UMNO lawyer or as a passionate man chasing skirts wherever he went – cannot be used as arguments to disqualify him.

What now ? We have an ex-UMNO lawyer as Chief Justice. We don’t know to what extent his philandering past has been used by vested interests against him – to ensure that he toes the line set by his political masters. Who would have “evidence” of his colourful past ? Certainly not the Opposition parties.

This has to stop – and we have to stop it in 2013.

52. #52 by yhsiew on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 10:48 am

How else could Zaki repay his ‘enormous indebtedness’ he owed to BN?? What better choice had he got??

53. #53 by SpeakUp on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 11:40 am

katdog … what you say is so true but everyone here has already decided that the Court of Appeal is a mere puppet. Even if it DID come up with a decision that is sound, as long as its against Nizar it will still be considered BN instrument.

I really want to see the faces of all those who talk so big here when the Court of Appeal decides in Nizar’s favour.

In RPK’s application for review of his detention, the court agreed that it was WRONG. Is this a different court? Hmmmm … maybe Malaysia got 2-3 court systems la and RPK was so lucky.

Wake up guys, you all can talk only, you are not even lawyers. I for one would not dare to comment esp when we do not have details of the case.

What is obvious is some here already made very stupid statements, like Court of Appeal cannot have a single judge sitting but it has been shown by statutory provisions that it may do so. How about that?

Let the case be heard on Monday and see the outcome. Its better to wait than to shoot our mouths off.

54. #54 by Winston on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 12:14 pm

Uncle Lim, given the quality of many of the BN lawmakers, does it strike anyone that whatever degrees they may profess to possess maybe fakes?
    It’s time to look into this issue!

55. #55 by lesliefkh on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 4:05 pm

help!! can anyone guide me how to logout my log? thanks.
    No intention of against LKS but for safety reasons. Pro DAP-PR.

56. #56 by grace on Thursday, 14 May 2009 - 5:34 pm

“Can Malaysians expect justice in cases involving top Umno leaders when there is an Umno Chief Justice, Tan Sri Zaki Azmi?”

Aiya, no need to answer already forgone conclusion la!
    He is put up there not without a reason.

57. #57 by TomThumb on Friday, 15 May 2009 - 8:05 am

if all else fails the sultan can always sack himself.