Did Najib direct or approve ban on private TV station reporting of Altantuya C4 murder case?

The Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, should explain whether he had directed or approved the ban on four private television stations when reporting the Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu C4 murder case.

Malaysiakini has reported that the four private TV stations, TV3, ntv7, 8TV and tv9, have been directed by their owner, Media Prima Berhad, closely linked to Umno, to observe four “don’ts” involving news reports relating to the murder case, including:

• No naming of political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda and to ignore all news background related to him.

• No visuals showing Razak Baginda in previous trials and after his release .

• No reporting that Najib and his wife, Rosmah Mansor were linked to the case.

• No reporting of statements from those accusing Najib and Rosmah of being involved in the case.

Is such a ban the first fruit of Najib’s “new way forward” for the “new media”, a subject he addressed at the MPI-Petronas Malaysian Journalism Awards ceremony three days after he was sworn in as Prime Minister?

Najib had called on Malaysians to establish a “new national discourse” on the principles of transparency and accountability; service to all, not just a few; and respect and fairness in the public dialogue.

Is the sweeping under the carpet swirling questions about the actual circumstances of the C4 murder of Altantuya a contribution to a “new national discourse on the principles of transparency and accountability” or the very opposite?

During the Bukit Gantang and Bukit Selambau by-elections, the very name of “Altantuya Shaariibuu” was even banned by the police at the ceramahs?

What was the justification – and even more pertinent, wasn’t such a ban short-sighted and counterproductive?

Or are we moving towards a country where the term “Altantuya Shaariibuu” is to be banned from the public domain, even in Parliament, with the ban enforced by all the instruments of repression within the command of the powers-that-be?

Najib should realize that this is the most obtuse way to deal with the swirling questions about the actual circumstances of the C4 murder of Altantuya, including his involvement if any in the murder case.

These questions will not go away just by an official ban of the term or censorship in the mainstream media.

Najib has said that he is innocent of any wrongdoing in the Altantuya C4-murder case. He should not delay any further and move boldly to establish a Royal Commission of Inquiry so that all the swirling allegations about the actual circumstances of the C4 murder of Altantuya could be fully investigated and the baseless ones dispelled once and for all.

1. #1 by All For The Road on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 1:01 pm

Everybody knows that all the private tv stations in the country are under the thumb of the BN administration. So it is no surprise and wonder if they are told not to have such reportings, either the case or the names connected to it! Only time and subsequent events will reveal the truth!

2. #2 by DAP man on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 1:03 pm

What UMNO says and does are always diametrically opposing. So nobody is surprised.

3. #3 by No-Money-Politics on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 1:10 pm

So all this is no surprise and we can use the elections to voice our displeasure. After that what? If these guys have their backs against the wall, they will just throw us in jail for dissent under the guise of national security act with no end-date-detention.

4. #4 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 1:25 pm

Hey don’t cause trouble! They lie very hard to us to preserve harmony, you know? You ungrateful pendatangs, always want to cause trouble. The perempuan cina was causing trouble, and she got it. If it’s good enough for Palestine, it’s good enough for her. If the mosquito bites me, I splat the mosquito. There’s an economic crisis somewhere, and you bring this up?

Sorry, not enough sleep.

5. #5 by -ec- on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 1:49 pm

next step will be internet censorship. let’s see.

6. #6 by frankyapp on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 1:54 pm

100 % true,these media are loyal haunt dogs of the master/umno/bn administration.Even the foreign local TV stations been barred or ban to report or broadcast the Atantuya C4 court preceeding.This is absolutely not surprsing at all as this and dozens of other acts or threats have been harping on us the rakyat for more than half a century.NR knows,he has to be tough,merciless sometime,unreasonably forceful,deceitful,use bribery and may even do thing unpatriotic to king and country to save his face and life any thing that links to his involment of the brutal murder of the mogolian.He’s desperate man and a desperate man takes desperate measure to save himself. Hence guys,just watch,there will be lots and lots of desperate things soon to be unveiled. Take note and care,least it will harm you

7. #7 by OrangRojak on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 2:13 pm

next step will be internet censorship.
    If you had to play Najib’s hand while he answered the call of nature, you might be tempted to censor the Internet. It’s one fairly obvious source of his problems (if you look at it from his point of view). I think he’s probably numerate though, and he will be as aware as the next man exactly how many of his voters are being lobbied through the Internet. While we may occasionally express a strong negative opinion, and express our desire for a brighter dawn – look at us. You could count us on the fingers of two hands, using base 2.

While the opposition may be more vocal online than it is on the street, the sheer numbers involved would make me think that BN is not that bothered about a few cranks having access to LKS’ blog. If you have easy access to a shower and some good strong soap, you should try counting the enormous numbers of positive comments at one of the UMNO bigwigs’ blogs. Making the Internet worse than it already is in Malaysia could be counter-productive, given the numbers.

I suspect a Malaysian leader desperate to cling onto power at all costs would make travel, publishing and public speaking more difficult. The urban middle classes are possibly a lost cause, but in the countryside some thinly spread gravy can go a long way. The gravy can be even thinner in rural areas because there’s no access to expensive, half-broken Internet to counteract it.

Internet censorship is fairly fashionable in many countries where leaders are willing to do ‘whatever it takes’ to win at democracy, so I wouldn’t be surprised if it came to Malaysia eventually. It won’t be for the sake of politics though: expect ‘protect the children’ or ‘Malaysian values’ or ‘countering apostasy’ or even ‘defeating malware’ to be the vote-winning explanation for it getting even worse than it already is.

8. #8 by taiking on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 2:37 pm

And the next next step – instruct the little red dot down below to mind their business and observe the four dont’s. Bully them into submission with threats of curtailing water supply if necessary.

And next next next step – ask our foreign min to summons all foreign ambassadors in the country for a lecture on the four dont’s.

altantuya.

Oh f@#k. Did i say the forbidden word? Sorry. That was not intentional. Its a slip. Let me eat it: ayutnatla. (blurp!). There. Just swallowed it.

9. #9 by malaysia born on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 3:01 pm

One minute he’s talking about free press and the next he’s censoring them!

This guy has credibility issues and he is our PM?!

How did we end up in this mess?

10. #10 by boh-liao on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 3:23 pm

NR & RM are bahaving like ostriches – burying their heads in the sand, with their vulnerable asses or arse ‘oles up in the air.

They think that Melayu n nonMelayu mudah lupa and forgive.

11. #11 by puteri pinang on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 3:32 pm

The Killing Fields of Cambodia – all educated people were tortured to death, children were brain-washed to even kill their own parents and close relatives.
    Will the educated lots in this Bolehland be affected, made to zip up the mouths for a start ???

12. #12 by yhsiew on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 3:34 pm

It is very unwise for Najib to ban reporting of Altantuya C4 murder case on private TV stations. Not only such action contradicts Najib’s promise of “new way forward” for the “new media”, but it also lends credence to public perception that Najib was involved in the Altantuya C4 murder case.

If Najib was not involved in the Altantuya case, he could just take things easy. The many precautions that he took to prevent Altantuya’s name and his name being mentioned (during recent by-elections and now on TV’s) merely indicate that he is related to Altantuya’s case.

13. #13 by boh-liao on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 3:52 pm

Asean should continue to speak in one voice not only on matters of national interest but on matters of principle and those touching on the conscience, said Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in Singapore.

Dengar baik2. Betul kah? Principle? Conscience?
    Con job?

14. #14 by fairvoice on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 4:29 pm

When the PM or his minister in overseas espcially in UK, is it also imply that foreign news or reporters are ban from using Razak Baginda or Altantuya names?????

BTW someone please caution the University lecturers where Razak Baginda suppose to be taking his Phd, ‘cos they will be calling his name very often during lecture time and not knowingly, they will be summon to the embassy and put into ISA!!!!

Don’t pray pray…..with Malaysia!!!…walking and travelling C4

15. #15 by frankyapp on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 4:33 pm

Wow now DPM talked big ! What principle you were lecturing at Asean when A.Rustom and Suhaili of Labuan,both found quilty as charged but still hold on to their respective posts ?. Do you and your fellow colleagues have any clear conscience ? Yeah please tell us what did TDM tell you about those several unsavoury characters in Nr cabinet ? Or TDM never tell you about those unprinciple guys .If you really claimed you have principle and conscience,act now and see to it that several of those guys as accused by TDM in your boss’s cabinet be put to test. And if you failed what kind of principle and conscience you are propagating about ? Please don’t make the rakyat of this country looks ugly and bad in the eyes of Asean and the world.

16. #16 by k1980 on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 4:53 pm

Hey Jib, better let TV3, ntv7, 8TV and tv9 report that Altan-she-who-must-not-be-named is alive and well, seen this morning galloping on her horse in Ulan Batur ! Her murder is just a perception, an evil ploy by PR to tarnish maalysia’s name!

17. #17 by voice on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 4:58 pm

It’s just a media control, in fact they are directly or indirectly controlling the judiciary, election commision, police and even military force.

18. #18 by k1980 on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 5:23 pm

Penanti should be renamed Altantuya Menanti, so that bijan will be too scared to set foot there in the coming by election there

19. #19 by taiking on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 5:30 pm

And who is altantuya? And Baginda Razak or is it Razak Baginda? Or are we really talking about the same person like Altantuya Razak Baginda or Razak Altantuya Baginda or Baginda Altantuya Razak and so on?

Who are they anyway? Can someone pls tell me? Who is this fella by the name Razak altantuya Baginda or something like that. I am totally confused by all the ban thingy.

Come to think of it altantuya is quite a nice sounding name. Its sound more suitable for a girl I think. And it does not sound muslim at all. Wonder why the razak guy has such a girlish non muslim name as a part of his full name. Or have I got everything wrong?

Oh no going by the title of this thread dont tell me najib has an alias without us knowing. So najib aka altantuya. But no no no. That is a girl name. Cant be for najib.

Oh I am soooo confused. Enlighten me pls. This altantuya mystery is driving me up himalaya across afganistan and all the way to siberia.

20. #20 by taiking on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 6:24 pm

6:00 pm news over 988 radio station: Najib annouced that umno is considering the possibility of not contesting the latest by-election. A final decision will be announced later. Is that true? I was not paying particular attention to the news until towards the end. Can anyone confirm the news?

21. #21 by freehand68 on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 6:38 pm

uncle kit,

can you say something about the frequent by election? we as rakyet is really sick and disturb.

22. #22 by Godfather on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 6:56 pm

Najib doesn’t have to direct. It is crystal clear that whoever in the mainstream press writes the word Aminah, that person will be history. At these uncertain times, who doesn’t want to keep his/her job ?

We just have to make sure the terms Altantuya, Aminah, C4, ARB are forever in the forefront of our discussions.

23. #23 by Godfather on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 6:59 pm

Frequent by-elections are great. Gives us the opportunity to keep all these issues alive, despite their best efforts to sweep them under the carpet.

Najib is simply talking nonsense. If he wants to save the rakyat’s money, he should just give PR the necessary walkovers. Let us win uncontested, so that there is no need for expenditure. Truth is that the old policy of giving out contracts, sewing machines and angpows no longer work, so they are in a quandary. If these bribes still work, Najib would merrily welcome by-elections.

24. #24 by k1980 on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 7:01 pm

Najid is going to boycott Penanti because he just can’t go on losing by-election after by-election. Else he is going to cover his head with his underpants, the way Sirul and Azilah did whenever they appear in court

25. #25 by yhsiew on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 7:35 pm

Najib had called on Malaysians to establish a “new national discourse” on the principles of transparency and accountability; service to all, not just a few; and respect and fairness in the public dialogue.
    ====================================================

If Najib is really the person who directed ban on private TV station reporting of Altantuya C4 murder case, he will have lost all credibility as Prime Minister. The rakyat will not trust his words anymore.

In my perception UMNO has never been serious in reform.

26. #26 by mendela on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 8:00 pm

To side track, today one can see many Najis and “beautiful” fat Rosie pictures in MSM. Pahang air-head MB is spending big tax payers’ money in MSM advertisement to conglatulate Najis in becomg PM of Malaysia.

Have you realized the difference between today’s Rosie and 1980’s Rosie?

Wonder how many rounds of plastic surgeries had she done so far?
    Look at her nose…

And the botox effects too…

27. #27 by mendela on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 8:11 pm

As a part-time fengsui master myself, I can easily predict that Najis’ regime would not last long!

Just look at Najis’ 2 “hanging in the sky” pupils, he would die young unless he quits the premiership immediately!

Most of his pictures taken recently shows his mouth was wide opened — a sign of fatique and big-worry, worry over the Altantuya and Bala cases!

28. #28 by boh-liao on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 8:56 pm

Latest order – our MSM CANNOT write ARAB!
    Cannot welcome ARAB visitors and businessmen.
    ARAB = Abdul Razak Abdullah Baginda.
    Ooops, this blog too cannot mention ARAB. Sorry.

29. #29 by boh-liao on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 9:04 pm

mendela: “Just look at Najis’ 2 “hanging in the sky” pupils, he would die young unless he quits the premiership immediately!”

You meant kick the bucket in harness?
    Like father like son? In the DNA?
    Wow!

30. #30 by Ramesh Laxman on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 9:17 pm

There will be no repeat no internet censorship. The slow speed will ensure that our message will be lost.

31. #31 by vsp on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 9:19 pm

Najib’s 1 Malaysia is vapourware.

32. #32 by gitf701 on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 9:40 pm

Dulu…………….Bersih, Cekap, Amanah
    Sekarang….Tak Boleh, Cakap, Aminah
    Apa dah jadi???

33. #33 by monsterball on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 10:29 pm

Newspapers guided…TV guided like children by wise farsighted great government of Malaysia.
    All these dos and don’t are pointing out….UMNO intends to play very dirty to win people’s minds.
    Freedom for the people….by the people…and with the people….not ready yet….sensitive issues…so are race and religion discussions.
    UMNO so call guided democracy is trying to guide everyone to obey and keep quiet.That reminds me of movies I watch…where tyrants and dictators rules.

34. #34 by Eddie on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 10:29 pm

waiting for some one to shoe’s at him

35. #35 by carboncopy on Saturday, 18 April 2009 - 10:55 pm

By such ban, najib have confirm his guilt again and again. i wonder what will happen if najib is called C4PM in the parliament.

36. #36 by lopez on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 12:42 am

like this media prima has nothing to print

their stock shares price sure drop lah.

cannot even excel in boring and mundane gossip and yet
    with no competition some more
    what kind of clowns are running the company
    why worry just do what is directed …….
    for salary thick salary and bonuses like AIG

in times like this , won’t be surprise vss be initiated but only up to operating staffs. the core must be maintain to keep the company afloat…or else who makes decision to instruct keep quiet

37. #37 by frankyapp on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 1:17 am

Yeah,NR hinded that BN likely not to contest the pananti by election cos it’s a waste of the rakyat’s ringgit.Wow what a great statement ? But since when Umno/bn ever save money in the rakyat’s interest ? For it’s common knowledge that every ringgit the umno/bn government spent on the many so-called development/project,65 sen went into it’s cronies pocket.Now NR what waste of rakyat’s money you are talking about ? Just admit umno/bn will lose in pananti,don’t made excuses to the extend of saving money for rakyat.On the contrary, if an umno assemby man dies or resigns,will you aslo not contest giving similar reason ? I bet you will waste tons of rakyat’s money inoder to retain the seat.Here again,like TDM said that some umno top leaders have no principle.Much as I don’t like TDM,this time I tend to agree with him.

38. #38 by lee wee tak_ on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 2:37 am

that’s why it’s called “PRIVATE TV”….

a lot of things becomes private-lor…….

I have not watched any of these channels even before the turn of the centruy

39. #39 by owlz on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 2:39 am

Sorry, if out of topic but really want to write something and expressing the feeling in this blog. Huhu. Thank you.

Taxpayer-funded research by the National Science Foundation
    (sudah tentulah dari Amerika, the United States) has
    determined that yards in “upscale,” higher-income neighborhoods
    are likely to display a more highly diverse mix of plants
    than yards in lower income areas… Did people realized it?
    Or as typical civilians, who would have cared? (Saya jamin ramai
    rakyat Malaysia yang perasan benda ni, cuma tak mahu berfikir).
    Field measurements were done in 30-by-30-meter survey plots,
    and included identifying all native and exotic plants;
    mapping the area of surface cover; collecting samples of
    soils, insects, microbes and pollen; and taking photos from
    the center of each plot… (Melambangkan betapa telitinya US
    Government dalam penyelidikan berteraskan sains dan
    kejuruteraan)… Preliminary analyses show that total plant
    diversity in the desert becomes greater as the elevation of
    the site increases, but in the city, resource abundance
    (government-speak for wealth) is the key factor. (Hai, malunya
    orang kita kalau tak pandai kaji selidik sebegini)…
    Government can either deliberately subsidize by giving a
    service away free… (mustahil rasanya diamalkan di Malaysia
    walaupun rakyatnya tak malu semua nak free sahaja), or it may
    genuinely try to find the true market price, i.e., to “operate
    on a business basis.” This is often the cry raised by
    conservatives — that government enterprise be placed on a
    “business footing,” that deficits be ended, etc… Almost always
    this means raising the price… Is this a solution, however?
    Is it? It is often stated that a single government enterprise,
    operating within the sphere of a private market, buying from
    it, etc., can price its services and allocate its resources
    efficiently… (Tiada masalah untuk mengenakan bayaran selagi
    perkhidmatannya berkualiti – kecuali terhadap orang yang
    benar-benar dibuktikan miskin dan papa kedana)…
    Taxpayers, private and public sector organizations demand
    improved access to government and service… (Tolonglah jadi
    lebih cekap, amanah dan toleransi sedikit – senyum)… Today’s
    government needs to respond to the cry for a “one-stop,
    self-help” model of enabling government services and integrating
    information and processes traditionally held by the GIS
    (Government Information System), tax, building, zoning, and
    licensing departments… (Saya sokong sekiranya KPI itu
    dilaksanakan dengan telus, maksudnya betul-betul menilai tanpa
    sebarang pengaruh politik)… Conflicts and bitterness are
    inherent in government operation… Imagine what would happen if
    all newspapers were published by government… Because a
    government operation gets its revenues from coercive taxation
    instead of voluntary payment for services rendered, it is not
    obliged to be efficient in serving the consumer… Was it?
    Hehehehe!!!

40. #40 by sean on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 3:06 am

I am wondering what will happen if all of a sudden an MP from BN decided to step down or who knows maybe more than 5 MPs’ will step down.Do you think Najib will say..” it is a waste of tax payers money….blah blah….? Hmmmm…it should be interesting should that were to happens:) lets keep our fingers cross shall we.

41. #41 by monsterball on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 3:33 am

Sean…UMNO has lost 4 out of 5 by-elections.
    He cannot afford to loose one more.
    If that 5 MPs resigned and he is 100% sure to win….yes the language will be different.
    It’s all about UMNO and don’t believe one word trying to save tax payers money.
    Always remember..you must have a very good knowledge of Najib history….as well as the father’s history….then you know who are you talking about.

42. #42 by ekompute on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 4:46 am

Why is Najib doing all this if he is not involved? Or is he?

43. #43 by chengho on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 6:57 am

This is PR frog strategy …? next another bukit …

44. #44 by sotong on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 7:34 am

When non Malay vote PAS……..this is the end of BN.

Nothing could stop BN decline and its eventual position in Opposition.

45. #45 by grace on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 9:02 am

Next they will ban the following:
    C4, Mongolian , Altantuyna. Oh Shit!
    Najib instead of banning such words, clear your goodself first.
    Remove all the baggages round your nect convincingly!!!

46. #46 by Bigjoe on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 9:29 am

Again hypocrisy and inconsistency. He has a blog, says UMNO has to embrace new media and his trusted lieutenants go do the opposite. He says Indian have to trust him and Zahid Hamidi cooks up a plan to steal the power of their vote. In Perak, same thing. He wonder why people believe he and Altantuya? These hyporisy and inconsistencies happen way too often. It keeps repeating. He just loves the ‘cloak and dagger’ or machiavelli stuff but he is no good at it.

He just don’t get it.

Now he is going saying don’t want to contest Penanti which I doubt he can. He is saying will be judge at 13th GE. But by that time, Anwar will say that its easy to claim credit when luck is on your side. Got nothing to do with BN and in fact for last 50 years, it has little do do with BN. Measure of govt is when it perform when its needed and actually PR is proving it NOT when it is most convenient and things are going your way a few years from now…

He just don’t get it and not up to the challenge.

47. #47 by blablowbla on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 10:16 am

najis,

u can ban everything at your whims and fancy,afterall,u r the pm,but wat about internet n foreign medias?

yes,nobody is above the law,except u ppl from OMNO,the more u ban,the more ppl will talk about the AltanAminah,just like how u ban the drugs,u will find more youngmen are keened to taste it!

the two guys have no interests at all with her,why should they blow her up?now that the judge said that ARAB is innocent,then who was the big boss instructed them to C4 her?YOU HAVE TO ANSWER THIS QUESTION,just like watching most of the movies,we will b told who was the killer,then chapter closed;now,THIS CHAPTER IS NOT CLOSE,WE WANT TO KNOW WHO MURDER HER!

48. #48 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 10:47 am

Whether BN contests Penanti or not, the outcome is a foregone conclusion. Penanti will remain with PKR and PR. Given this certainty, it would be in the interests of the Rakyat and justice that BN DOES CONTEST the by-election:

1. so that the Rakyat once again demonstrates through the vote that BN is a fast sinking ship. It is no longer relevant to the people. We do not want a government that governs by tearing the nation apart based on racist and sectarian strategies and policies.

2. that 1SLIME BALL needs to come clean on ALL-THAT-WE-TANYA, C4, the subs case, the jets case, ISA, Perak, the Kugan case…all these need to be kept alive so that we never forget it till real CHANGE takes place.

3. that our hard-earned money is used by Born Nincompoops to buy votes from PKR and PR supporters who take the money but vote PR. It will cost BN a lot more per person than in a constituency where they feel they are strong.Buying out a PKR fortress is going to cost them a lot.That’s one massive bundle of money less for BN to use for the next by-election, if there’s any more to come.

And Anwar gets to yet again tell the Altantuya murder account with all the juicy details a la the Liberation. That alone is worth the ‘hassle’ of yet another by-election.

49. #49 by ctc537 on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 11:05 am

Things are like that. The more you want to make people forget about it, the more curiosity it arouses.

50. #50 by negarawan on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 11:29 am

Najib and Razak can cheat and run away from the truth, but they cannot run away from the law of karma. They are doomed anyhow.

51. #51 by meng on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 12:27 pm

So what’s new, we know when NR says “Jump” ,our MSM reply “Where to? Drain or Toilet? NR can’t run away from this forever. Remember the novel “Crime and Punishment”? Eventually guilt conscience will make the main character confess. Just wait and they will start sweating and breakdown.

52. #52 by ekans on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 1:31 pm

Most likely, the Pekan MP was thinking that because the two UTK cops were already found guilty, the case of that murdered foreign woman would thus be closed and ‘dah habis cerita’.
    However, it’s clear that those unanswered questions and allegations (and may be even ‘ghosts’) still continue to haunt him…

53. #53 by ekans on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 8:27 pm

Just saw on the 8pm ntv7 news that the minister of information, communications, arts & culture had expressed some unhappiness over private tv & radio stations for giving too much priority to commercialism & less to promoting the ‘aspirations’ of UMNO’s BN in ‘nation building’.

Aren’t private tv & radio stations supposed to be commercial business ventures in the first place?

Since when they have to also be ‘political’ tv & radio stations to serve only UMNO’s BN?

54. #54 by Ramesh Laxman on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 9:24 pm

Now MSM cannot talk about bye bye elections

55. #55 by LBJ on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 9:55 pm

Rais Yatim is behaving like the NAZI propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels. go read about the guy. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Goebbels

56. #56 by JasonLee on Sunday, 19 April 2009 - 11:14 pm

Mr. PI Bala where are you……?

57. #57 by HJ Angus on Monday, 20 April 2009 - 2:26 pm

This is a good example of “mind control” as in the novel 1984.
    It also shows that the Altantuya is troubling some top leaders.
    http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2009/04/malaysiakini-and-1984-revisited.html

58. #58 by localgrad on Tuesday, 21 April 2009 - 11:12 am

a murder case without an intention…how that can be la najiss.

u think people are so stupid meh? y the two low class FBI wanna kill the mongol lady. did they had sex wif her? or did they cheated her commission?