Najib should stop illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak

The Prime Minister-in-waiting, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who has taken over as Perak UMNO and Barisan Nasional leader, should stop the attempt at the illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak and respect the constitutional process and the mandate of the people of Perak.

The Perak Pakatan Rakyat Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin yesterday had an audience with the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah to seek the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly and to hold state election, as returning the mandate to the voters is the most honourable and democratic manner to resolve the political crisis in Perak.

In his book “Constitutional Monarchy, Rule of Law and Good Governance” (2004), the former Lord President wrote:

“Under normal circumstances, it is taken for granted that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong would not withhold his consent to a request for dissolution of parliament. His role is purely formal.”

He also pointed out that no sultan or agung had withheld consent to dissolve legislative body, except in Kelantan in 1977.

While the Sultan’s decision on the Mentri Besar’s request for dissolution of the Perak State Assembly is awaited, it is most improper and unconstitutional for Najib to attempt an illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak state to frustrate the will and wishes of the people of Perak in the March general election last year.

This is because the Pakatan Rakyat state government in Perak continues as a legitimate, effective and functioning one, even if the Mentri Besar’s request for dissolution of the State Assembly is denied by the Sultan, and it is premature for Najib to talk about forming a new Barisan Nasional state government in Perak.

Article 16(6) of the Perak State Constitution provides for the dissolution of the State Assembly with the consent of the Sultan or the mentri besar’s resignation if the mentri besar ceases to enjoy the confidence of the majority of the state assembly.

However, the determination of whether the Mentri Besar has lost the confidence of the majority of the state assembly could only be done by a vote of no confidence in the State Assembly, and not by a claim by Najib outside the State Assembly, especially when it is based on dubious and highly disputable grounds.

This is because Najib’s claim that the Barisan Nasional has the necessary numbers in the State Assembly to form the government has still to be proved by way of a motion in the State Assembly.

Although Najib has engineered the defection of three Pakatan Rakyat state assembly persons, the Speaker of the Perak State Assembly had declared their seats vacant and their claims to continue as State Assembly representatives are not recognised by the Speaker in the Assembly.

Excluding the three defectors, there is at most a 28-28 tie between the Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional in the Perak State Assembly.

Until the Barisan Nasional can succeed in getting a vote of no confidence passed in the State Assembly, the Pakatan Rakyat Mentri Besar and state government should not be hindered from carrying out their tasks as the legitimate, effective and functioning state government.

I call on Najib to cease and desist from any attempt at illegal and unconstitutional grab of power in Perak State government in utter disregard of the constitutional process and the mandate of the people of Perak as this will be a very ominous start for the Najib premiership which is to begin next month when Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi steps down as the fifth Prime Minister of Malaysia.

1. #1 by PHUAKL on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:58 am

Dear Fellow Progressive Citizens of Malaysia

Don’t get mad, mobilise! There is strength in numbers. Show your disgust with the widespread corruption of the ruling regime (no, we ABSOLUTELY REFUSE to use the euphemism “money politics”) by your full political participation — getting others out to vote, voting against undesirable politicians, running for office, signing petitions, meeting with your State Assembly representative or MP, working as volunteers for progressive politicians, donating money to progressive politicians, taking part in peaceful demonstrations, engaging in non-violent civil disobedience if necessary e.g. refusing to obey unjust laws, etc etc. This is the true meaning of
    democracy — rule by the “demos” i.e. the people!

2. #2 by MMW on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:16 am

Daulat Tuanku,

Tuanku, based on the last 2 snap elections in Permatang Pauh and Kuala Trengganu, it is clear that the rakyat is rejecting BN/UMNO. Thus it is improper, unconstitutional to let the BN/UMNO take over your state out of respect of the people mandate. It is a mockery of democracy.

Tuanku, you always be our beacon as among the most fair and respected judge that the Malaysian ever had. You have set up many magnificent precedents that being followed by your fellow judges even today.

Tuanku, we the rakyat pray that you set up another magnificent precedent by dissolving the Perak State Legislative Assembly in this hour of madness and uncertainty. Let the rakyat choose the government they want to be subjected to

Tuanku, let this be your legacy. Let this be your finest hour.

Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku! Daulat Tuanku!.

3. #3 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:31 am

Don’t blame them. It all started by Anwar!!!

Sultan of Perak should be sensible to let the final say by the RAKYAT OF PERAK.

And not through money politic.

It is called DESPERADO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The End.

4. #4 by ch on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:32 am

Dear All,

I certainly believe Perakians are of the favour for a snap election to determine the government of this Silver State. Perakians should clamour for the legitimate electoral process to take place and once and for all settle this political impasse. The current political tussling and jostling do not bode well for the economy and investors will eventually be placing their confidence somewhere else. It is very unbecoming of the four self-serving politicians to abandon the ideals they had been fighting for and we must not let their dirty hands to continue clinching to the seats which they no longer fit to occupy. Many of us, Perakians are disgusted with the extremely unethical move taken by these four selfish politicans and should there be a snap election, I certainly believe they will be severely punished and taught a lesson of morality.

5. #5 by sani on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:33 am

YB

What you stated in your posting are factual points. But sometimes in a semi democracy like Malaysia things can take ugly turns.

I.E. : Even the EC can overturn a decision by the House. It is like, the Stadium management telling the referee when + when not to award a penalty.

By convention, The EC should establish whether there are casual vacancies or not, by refering to the House.

By convention, the Constitution Monarch should give priority to His Majesty’s Government’s request, over the Royal Opposition’s.

But then again this is Malaysia. Thanks god there are still people like you around. Do your best YB. The people are behind you.

6. #6 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:38 am

I thought in Sabah they also denied the dissolution of Parliament?

7. #7 by singma on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:38 am

“People who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones’

DAP (with the exception of Karpal sign), PKR and PAS was trumpetting the 30 frogs to be secured by Sept 16.

So its is karma , I would say, happen to Perak.

Apologise now and be remorseful for supporting Anwar’s frog jumping, then do the right thing.

Since advice, dump Anwar, he is a liability to Pakatan, society and nation.

8. #8 by sktan on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:38 am

pls start dropping out all the betrayer from ur party

9. #9 by comingto50 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:40 am

As far as it goes, the Perak State Assembly has 2 vacant seats. Therefore, BN cannot call to have the majority yet. The by-elections must take place if dissolution of the assembly did not happen.

Ms Hee you got a lot of soul-searching to do. The people of Perak voted not because of you only but because of the DAP party. Why? Because they are fed up with BN rule. For you to side with BN even you remain independent still does not mitigate nor justify your action.

Now we await HRH Sultan of Perak for his wisdom.

10. #10 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:41 am

In one minute, he said that a sum of 50 million is being offerred but in another minutes he is supporting them in a friendly way.

In one month, BN charges him in court!!!!

11. #11 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:41 am

The Perak episode merely reflects that UMNO money-politics (with the prime-minister-in-waiting in charge of finance) has reached a new height and has effectively “killed” off the democratic process in Malaysia.

Surely that is not the way to abuse public funds when the country is going through testing times under current global financial meltdown.

12. #12 by hadi on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:41 am

BN doesn’t have the numbers, 3 of the PAKATAN ADUN had resigned.
    There will be contention and it will not end as Perak will continue in limbo.
    The best option is to dissolve the assembly and call for a snap election, the rakyats wish must be respected. DAULAT TUANKU.

13. #13 by sktan on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:47 am

this is the biggest ang pow given by ur party in this CNY

14. #14 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:53 am

This morning one of my friend just drop in my office. He was so sad and I ask him what happen. He told me he was so sad not because he lost his money during CNY but he was sad on what happen in Perak. He was not from Perak he from BAtu K L.

So as we see it all Malaysian are with PR. BN is hopeless now.

15. #15 by sukumaran on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:54 am

VERY SIMPLE.

KUASA RAKYAT BEATEN BY KUASA WANG/SOGOKAN.
    the ACA case will be closed without evidence…

Shame on you Najib,BN & Umno….

16. #16 by grace on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:55 am

Najib can explain till the cow come home, but the public perception (almost 100%) is that those ‘traitors’ are bought over.
    Anyway thaT IS WHAT bn IS MADE OF- CORRUPTED, UNPRINCIPLED, NO-INTEGIRITY AND NO PRIDE.
    Call for fresh election

17. #17 by gofortruth on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:56 am

If Najib thinks he is going to win Perak on 2 Aduns who are still under corruption charges and a SELFISH Adun who hopped twice within 10 days he is never more wrong. He is insulting the intellegence of our Sultan of Perak and he is making our Sultan an international laughing stock.

How arrogant of him to have claimed the state yesterday without even seeking a nod first from our Sultan. A clear act of taking the law into his own hand.

We pray that our Sultan will let his subjects decide in a fresh state election.

18. #18 by Bigjoe on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:01 am

My concern is what case the Perak MB took to the Sultan for dissolution of govt. Frankly, claiming Najib played dirty is NOT going to cut it. Its not the role of monarchy to decide if Najib played dirty and futhermore, Anwar opened the door to it.

The issue facing the Sultan is faith the govt and the monarchy itself. Can the two assemblymen who are facing corruption charges be fairly tried in court? If they get off later because the prosecutor, the police or the court failed, then the entire govt system along with the monarchy will have lost the faith of the people. The monarchy is on trial here as much as a check of a system of govt gone amok. Consider what happened to Ahmad Ismail getting off, Razak Baginda, UMNOputra demanding right to be corrupted etc.

The Sultan should not have been put in this position in the first place BUT they are and they have to decide whether to play a larger good or believe that the system still works, that the Malaysian people can change their govt on their own or appear helpless to political warlording..

Its a tough decision…..

19. #19 by baochingtian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:01 am

i can’t believe what Hee YF is doing. People voted for the party and her as a candidate from DAP. IF she’s sincere, what’s the difference serving the rakyat under DAP and under BN. Hardwork, I suppose, under PR, with insufficient fund to run all activities as compared to under BN. May be the Jelapang assembly-woman would like to share with us the reason for leaving PR ??

20. #20 by grace on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:01 am

Oh yes, Mr Lim,
    in future please ask your prospective candidates to swear by the holy books that they will not abandon ship.
    Aiya, on hind sight, what is the use?
    When a person has NO pRINCIPLE, NO PRIDE, NO INTEGRITY , they are willing to sell their father just to achieve their selfish ends!!!

21. #21 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:02 am

“the determination of whether the Mentri Besar has lost the confidence of the majority of the state assembly could only be done by a vote of no confidence in the State Assembly and not by a claim by Najib outside the State Assembly, especially when it is based on dubious and highly disputable grounds.” – YB Kit .

Well a vote of no confidence would prove it what if its not Najib, but Ruler making a determination based on signed signatures of the majority? Would it not be contentious that it cannot be done?

“Excluding the three defectors, there is at most a 28-28 tie between the Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional in the Perak State Assembly” – YB Kit.

This is correct if non recognition of the 3 defectors and decision by the Speaker in the Assembly that letters of resignation are effective overrides the EC decision. However this again is contentious because per what Sani commented above, by convention – and perhaps even the Perak State Constitution (based on RPK’s comment, so I’ve heard) says that the EC’s determination whether there are casual vacancies or not is binding on the House…..

“The Prime Minister-in-waiting, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who has taken over as Perak UMNO and Barisan Nasional leader, should stop the attempt at the illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak and respect the constitutional process and the mandate of the people of Perak” – YB Kit

Najib’s rebuttal will predictably be : all is fair in love, war & politics : PR head Anwar drew first blood by evincing an attempt last year to do the same (using crossovers) to pass a vote of no confidence on BN Govt in Parliament to take over Putera Jaya before next general election..

22. #22 by swipenter on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:04 am

YB, you must seriously consider what happened in Perak has everything to do with the kind of candidates that PR put up for the general elections.

Lots of people are wary of ex Umno members joining PKR when they were losers in Umno and as for Hee ‘defecting’ has it got to do with the unresolved troubles within Perak DAP?

Remember MP Fong of Batu Gagah declining to be a candidate for GE12 initially? Ofcos there is no comparison between the morals and ethics of these 2 ladies I am merely pointing out that if the house of DAP in Perak is not in order something must be done to correct it. Dont let it fester.

We dont see PAS members frog jumping to the other side. I hope this wont happen but then again there is no guarantee it wont happen.

Now only the wisdom of HRH Sultan Azlan Shah can decide whether fresh mandate is needed from his subjects to form the next state govt.

23. #23 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:04 am

Rumours are always facts in boleh.

These people betrayed the democracy, and they are traitors of the people and their races. Shame on them, especially this woman. I could never imagine we have such kind of Chinese woman, a bit**. Don’t even think of coming out to run the second time.

PR don’t even think of getting any persons from BN. Don’t play with the fire because you got burnt first. Don’t keep anyone doubtful within your party. Eliminate them before they betrayed you.

24. #24 by baochingtian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:06 am

Factories are facing shut downs and closing downs, people are worrying about their jobs. Look what all these politicians and clowns are monkeying and hopping around for self interests, disgusting !!!

25. #25 by pulau_sibu on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:12 am

criminals? drug dealers? corruptions?
    don’t worry. come to umno and we are going to waive your cases.
    we are the government harbouring the criminals

26. #26 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:19 am

Najib would had been US President today had he run against Obama last December, by buying up the necessary 270 electoral votes from the Democratic camp.

27. #27 by VoteDAP on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:20 am

The defection called by Anwar few months ago to topple the BN federal government was not successful — BN’s quarantine the suspected MPs and stuck them with $$$$$ for a trip to Taiwan.

This time around, Najis stuck the damn defected ADUN with $$$$$ again + clearance of law suits.

Plus, Nasaruddin’s initiative to join PKR at the first place was really questionable! I do think his motivation to join PKR was set up by Najis again. Reason being, BN will have a good excuse to accept the defection of PR’s ADUN since PKR accept Nasaruddin first!

These are all unprofessional and unendurable political endeavor conducted by BN. Seriously, can we rely on such government to lead our country to success?

UMNO is getting worse by days and MCA, Gerakan should leave it for good!

By the way, did anyone realise HEE’s reaction during Najib press conference when announcing the defections? She looked very upset even when shaking hands with a BIG CUNNING SMILEY Najis. I doubt she was under extreme pressure and some unknown circumstances? Whatever it is, she is really a scum!

28. #28 by badcliq on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:20 am

With all due respect, why didn’t you tell Anwar the same thing when he was trying to get people to defect to PR?

Don’t practise double standards….

I’m not a supporter of BN but sad to say, PR just tasting their own medicine! Anwar started to make \defections\ famous.

In the short term, PR will lost more than gain. However, in the long run, the gain will be more.

So, please don’t practise double standards to jeorpardise your reputation.

Get into the next parliament session or whatever, to get the anti hoping laws be taken effect immediately.

29. #29 by badcliq on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:22 am

I heard she left because not getting an exco post and also a…toyota camry!!

LOL!!!

What a joke!!

30. #30 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:25 am

Anwar who has been mahatired,saifuled, ezamed and now nassaruddined, must never make the same mistake again. The same goes to the DAP which has been heeheehee-ed

31. #31 by homeblogger on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:28 am

VoteDAP Says:
    Plus, Nasaruddin’s initiative to join PKR at the first place was really questionable! I do think his motivation to join PKR was set up by Najis again. Reason being, BN will have a good excuse to accept the defection of PR’s ADUN since PKR accept Nasaruddin first!

===========================

Yep. I think you hit the nail right on the head. Cunning.

32. #32 by StevePCH on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:29 am

beware … maybe you wil be stopped halfway through your journey and get C4ed. That’s NTR !!! No Truth Required … only C4

As for PR to hold on, it’s bad for Perakian. We want to see this over fast. Will the wise Sultan being former Lord President stand tough and steadfast ?

True enough BN has got 27 +1 + “3”

But just look at the figure …

1 — Double agent Nasa
    UMNO does not accept a traitor unless the supreme council convene a accept or through whatever redtape … as far as I remember. Is Nasarudin immune to these procedure ? Hopping twice in 10 days !!!

2) The two former PKR “assemblymen” faced court charges, what “if” they are convicted, are we going to go through the whole damned process AGAIN ?

3) Hee lied about her stance. Despicable . Being the ” Deputy Speaker ” she’s got no moral value. She need to go back to primary school to study moral.

I don’t really care if Perak is ruled by a thin majority BN or PR but this type of YB I don’t want !!!

33. #33 by mendela on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:30 am

I have total faith in Sultan Azlan Shah!

Sure he will not disappoint the rakyat of Perak.

He is the only hope for Malaysia!

34. #34 by mendela on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:34 am

Instead of putting in our good money into the economy to fight the depression, Najis is using our money to buy power and to bribe PR elected members.

He will be a dead meat come next GE!

35. #35 by sani on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:37 am

Boys + Girls

Below is the Tuanku’s guest book address. Many Rakyat had been appealing to His Majesty since yesterday:

http://books.dreambook.com/duli/duli.html

36. #36 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:52 am

What’s the problem?? Let the defections continue.

The sitting PR MB then becomes the leader of the minority party. Let BN who holds the majority as a result of defections (which is not part of the constitutional due process) table a vote of no confidence against him. When motion is passed the MB then has no choice but to seek audience with the Sultan who would then grant the request for dissoulution of the State Legislative Assembly.

Fresh elections.

37. #37 by lhslhv on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:57 am

Our Perak Sultan is highly educated, exposed to civilised society, intellegent and a learned judge. I believe his wisdom is like King Solomon.

38. #38 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 10:59 am

“Our Perak Sultan is highly educated, exposed to civilised society, intellegent and a learned judge. I believe his wisdom is like King Solomon.” Ihslhv

i doubt it.
    i really do.

39. #39 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:02 am

The 2009 Academy Awards Oscars have been won by Nasaluddin (Best Actor) and Heee Yeet Fooong(Best Actress) in the Foreign Film Category “Katak Sikatak Lompat” from malaysia

40. #40 by Ling Mazen on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:05 am

It looks like we have a hung assembly in Perak and three pairs of b**ls hung low on standby. Oops sorry,two pairs actually, the other pair is b**bs hung low from a running bitch attracted to the home(MCA) of the running dogs.She must have got b**ls to defect so shamelessly.BTW, the acronym for BITCH is “B**ls In The C**t Hole”. Hee Hee Hee heel girl, attabitch. Here’s your reward $$$$$$.
    It’s funny why the rest of the 26 Umno assemblymen are not taking the advantage and do a hop, step(read stab) and jump like Nasaruddin did to get rich quick; their ambitions to join Umno afterall, are to get rich quick. Don’t they envy Nasaruddin?Consequently the Perak state assembly will be turned into a filthy, hellish mess. Hope the Sultan will dissolve the assembly soon and let the Perak people decide.
    Beware YB LKS, of Najib’s second economic stimulus(money polytricks) which is even bigger than the 7b used in Perak.

41. #41 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:08 am

Mirror mirror on the wall, Who is the shortest frog of all?–>http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_UD1TRPOssR0/SYmG5aTGrLI/AAAAAAAAAlE/rZKDI-KHixM/s400/hee.jpg

42. #42 by wesuffer on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:10 am

i hope BN will take over PERAK with unpopular way this time.
    and i so glad MCA and GERAKAN will support BN.
    that case will only make BN totally flatten in NEXT GE.

PR is just 10month old , and this is lesson for them to grow up.
    dont wait untill last majority seat lossing then only think to dissolve state assembly. its too late

43. #43 by JACK NG on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:15 am

??? become BN’s baby since 4 Feb 2009, she betrayed as DAP, Chinese,human-being.

before the election, she can said want to get better treatment for all M’sian. no matter Malay, Chinese, Indian. after ?? take over Perak. the NEW GOVERMENT present freehold land to US, title deed for land and building. increase the reserve of Perak.

Bcause of her! all the benefit is gone! i m not from Perak, i m stay in Johor, if i m meet her in Johor, i will pinpoint her as a BETRAY us as CHINESE! NO HONOUR to stay at Perak or even in M’sia! she will get what she did for us in future! abandone by all CITIZEN in M’sia except BN!

44. #44 by grace on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:28 am

Coming50 siad this:”Ms Hee you got a lot of soul-searching to do.”
    Yes she has LOTS AND LOTS TO SEARCH HER SOUL!
    LLOK AT THE MESS CREATED AS A RESULF OF THE DEFECTION!!!
    People in Jelapang voted for her because she is a DAP. Had she contested under BN, she would be trounced!!!
    Hee, my advce to you is to resign and let us see BN will field you in Jelapang. If they do, I BET YOU THAT YOU DEFINITELY WILL LOOSE OUTRIGHT!!!

45. #45 by hawk on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:29 am

LKS is right. Nizar will be Perak’s MB until and unless he tenders his resignation or the Sultan dissolves the Leg Assy.

Until then Najib and Gang can go and fly kite. The rulers only discretionary powers are to ‘withold consent as to the dissolution of the Leg Assy’ and in ‘the appointment of an MB’ if and only if the MB/CM resigns. Until then the Ruler can’t do anything. Being constitutional monarchs they must act on lawful advice.

I hope Sultan Azlan gives a lecture on constitutional law to Najib and Zahidi. On that score, I would like to point out that holders of imporant public offices should sit and pass their ‘constitutional law paper’ before being allowed to contest for a Parliamentary/State seats. Most of them have zero knowledge on this area. That is one reason why you find all these illegal and unconstitutional antics by these politicians. It really embarrassed you. Lawmakers not knowing the Fed/ state’s constitutions and how the Fed/State Gov’t works and Fed/States Gov’t relationship.

What business has both Najib and Zahidi to meet the Sultan. Isn’t the proper person should be the Perak’s Opposition Leader who has more locus standi. His meeting the Sultan can be construed as Fed leaders interfering with the State Government.

46. #46 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:31 am

But on the other hand, according to another school of thought, now that the majority is with BN, the sitting MB has no choice but to resign together with all members of his cabinet.

Even then the Sultan could use his discretion and instead dissolve the entire assembly. What is there to stop him? This is because of the peculiar way BN came to achieve the majority – not through free elections but defections.

47. #47 by undergrad2 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:36 am

What is there to prevent the people from showing their stand on the issue? Organize a march to the Palace in great numbers to show where the popular will is on the matter. This would lay the foundation needed for the Sultan to use his discretion and dissolve the state assembly.

48. #48 by Mr Smith on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:37 am

Najib is arm-twisting the sultan, hijacking democracy
    Najib is using the media to arm-twist the sultan into acceding to his request to allow BN to form the Prak state government. Even before seeking an audience with the sultan he has announced a new government. And that too done in Putrajaya. Ha! Perak Government formed in Putrajaya?

Not only that, he is hijacking democracy as well and making a mockery of the rule of law, fair play, ethics and morality. He is also hijacking the orights of the other BN component parties. None of the MCA, MIC, Gerakan members were allowed to accompany him to see the sultan.

In any case Najib does not have the locus standi to seek the sultans approval to form the state government since he is not even a state assembly member. He is not even leader of Perak BN.

Now he is going to brief Perak UMNO on his meeting with the sultan. What become of BN. Is he planning to form an UMNO government or a BN government in Perak.

Perakians will humiliate BN through the ballot. Just you wait. It might be 59-0.

49. #49 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:41 am

As much as I want to believe the Sultan of Perak would show his greatest wisdom in making the choice for the benefit of people my faith is diminishing by minutes that we would get to choose our representatives through electoral process.

The press conference Najib is going to hold in a matter of hours does not show positive sign to us rakyat. And expecting Najib to do what YB Lim has suggested is out of man’s imagination as we know he does not belong the category of individuals who hold to honesty, reputation and integrity.

50. #50 by lew1328 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:50 am

Greetings!

Don’t understand why & what Najib has to do with Perak state?

Only one single word to describe those corrupted as well as hopping folks: “SHAME” on you and your family.

The “GOD” is watching at you…

51. #51 by johneye on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:53 am

I think this is freaking bullshit. There should be a damn law to prevent frogs from jumping right in the first place. Don’t you think the whole system is just a big insult to the voters? We vote for an individual, giving them certain amount of power, and now the fate of the whole state hangs around these few individuals. Since we voted them in, I’d say, we have the say whether they can jump, quit or do anything else.

IT IS NOT THEIR DECISION TO QUIT OR TO JUMP!

Secondly, all the state election crap is just plain waste of time and downright stupid. Why? Because it won’t solve anything. Let’s say there’s a fresh state election and PR wins big. Few months down the road, what happens if half of the frogs start jumping again? Another state elections? Come on guys, what a piece of horse crap.

You politicians should seriously grow up and start thinking of / creating solutions based on the people and the democray system, not taking over states and fresh elections, etc.

52. #52 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 11:56 am

Najis never play by the rules, he set his own rules and yet he dont follow his own rules, so there’s no rules for him at all!!! But if you dont follow his rules, C4 will be waiting for you at any cost, anywhere, anytime, anyhow!!! He had learnt much of these from his gurus in UMNO Nazis!!!

53. #53 by wanderer on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:03 pm

This is the true face of the PM in waiting. Rule this country as a “FROG HUNTER” and Dirty money.
    The nation is facing the worst Global Financial crisis and as a Finance Minister, he is galloping the country to project his tainted image…instead of safeguarding employment for the rakyat. This man has only one thing in mind, to boost his deflated ego and “Self comes first before the Nation”
    Do we need such a man to become the PM?

54. #54 by StevePCH on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:03 pm

Najib returning with 4 thrash ADUNs …. not a good sign.
    It shows that I have to removes those photos afterall.

What good is a Defection Government ? Just look at SABAH, I really do not think that it’s any better than it was after 1994. Illegal Immigrants , unemployment etc.
    Looks like we Perakian have to move out from Perak.
    Perak was not really developing under BN and with Federal intervention of PR govt. , I don’t really care at all now that it’s hopeless.
    I had fought with my wife for wanting to deliver our second child in KL, now I think I am glad. She does not have to face this dilemma.

55. #55 by Hishamuddin on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:04 pm

I think it is right that the Sultan of Perak will to hear view from both side before deciding, otherwise he is seems to be favouring one side.

I doubt the Sultan of Perak can be bought by money unlike the State Assemblymen and woman.

The BN state Assemblyman are purely UMNO people and only one MCA man. U call this multinational and racial state Goverment. Also more than 50% of the Perak Rakyat voted against BN in the last March election.

I am sure the Sultan being a down to earth and rakyat loving Sultan will make a wise decision.

56. #56 by Cinapek on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:08 pm

After being bashed nice and proper in the Permatang Pauh and KT byelections, both of which he headed, Najib was desperate to redeem himself before the UMNO elections next month to show the UMNO members he can deliver. Otherwise Pak Lah will have a very good reason to stay on as PM.

Hence he went to great lengths to engineer this coup. It matters little to him that the methods used was unethical or the people he used were of dubious characters. He just wanted to win. But in doing so, he has lost sight of the forest for the trees. He may win Perak but he has done irreparable damage to the image of UMNO and the BN, not that they were not bad enough already. He is gambling that he has a few years to repair that image before the next GE. But people do not forget or forgive easily. Stooping to such low tactics tells a lot about a man’s character. And you can rest assure that the voting public will remember this in the next GE.

Lest the MCA, Gerakan or MIC wants to gloat about this “victory” just remember that if the BN takes over Perak there will be only two Chinese assemblymen and no Indians. Perak, with its large non Muslim population will not feel comfortable with this. There will be a backlash if these non Muslim BN parties seem to overtly support the takeover. There will be little or no check and balance on UMNO’s power in Perak and that could be its undoing.

2013 is not far away. With a looming global financial crisis and the Finance Minister still distracted by petty politicking, we can expect some very volatile politics in the coming years. Maybe we do not need to wait for 2013 even.

57. #57 by wanderer on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:12 pm

Mr Smith;

You are damn right, it is all UMNO affair. If this new Perak gomen came to light, 50% Chinese population in Perak will be only represented by 2 assemblymen and none for the Indians. This foolish and unprincipled ex-DAP woman with her despicable act has destroyed the hope of Chinese electorates.

58. #58 by mohammadharrisjalil on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:12 pm

# ALLAN THAM Says:
    Today at 09: 53.32 (2 hours ago)

This morning one of my friend just drop in my office. He was so sad and I ask him what happen. He told me he was so sad not because he lost his money during CNY but he was sad on what happen in Perak. He was not from Perak he from BAtu K L.

So as we see it all Malaysian are with PR. BN is hopeless now.

OMG… same like here… everybody was so sad and upset and some of them got very in bad mood… and all of them are not from Perak!

59. #59 by mother of three on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:15 pm

PR leaders should take this incident as a good lesson and they should not repeat the same mistake done by BN to Perak State.If you really believe and respect people’s power then you should not encourage all these hopping activites.We “rakyat” against this hopping idea as it is immoral,injustice and cheating the voters who line up in the hot sun and rain in order to elect you guys to represent us.Respect people’s power and take over the country thru election.This is suppose to be a democracy country I guess so……
    PR teach BN the frog hopping theory and in return BN demonstrate how exactly frog will hop in practical.Now,we realized that it is totally immoral and betrayal to people’s power.Thank you BN for opening our eyes and PR might end up paying a very high price for this lesson.Yet to know and just hope for the best.

60. #60 by I Malaysian on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:18 pm

The latest news:

After Najib’s press conference while ago saying that the Sultan wanted him to prove the BN support with the presence all assemblymen before him, now the palace has given summoned both Najib and Menteri Besar Nizar together. They are on the way to palace now!

61. #61 by monsterball on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:19 pm

This is a sick country because of a sick ..dominating…ever bullying..cunning and corrupted to the core.. government.
    The devil’s best student will be UMNO’s PM in March.
    He has no shame..being PM…not elected.
    He even fool around with the Koran….to be so disrespectful to Allah.
    He is no Muslim.

62. #62 by StevePCH on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:24 pm

I think the HRH accepted the 4 thrash as his next govt. Wise ? don’t know.
    Recalling Nizar is really a bad sign. Nizar has done a great job the last 10 months.
    Thanks you !!!!

It think the next MB will be Zahid H , personally I think of him to be very racist. Last election, I was hoping he would lose in Bagan Datoh. Let’s see how he mess up this time with his words and actions.

63. #63 by i_love_malaysia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:28 pm

Perak Sultan needs to do just one thing, to dissolve or not to dissolve and what will happen for each action. SWOT analysis might be good for him to use at present time!!!

Strengths – PR has done much more for Perak than BN done for the past years. PR is gaining strengths & BN is going down hills
    Weaknesses – BN has much more than PR
    Opportunities – BN wont change or develope the state, PR Yes
    Threats – Monarch system will collapse under BN because of corruptions. Monarch system will be intact under PR!!!

Sultan has got only one choice left!!! Dissolve the assembly and a fresh elections being called and let PR wins big!!!

64. #64 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:29 pm

i predict that when the chips are really
    down you will find azlan shah and his son
    to be disappointments. i hope i’m wrong.
    i really do.

65. #65 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:33 pm

“Under normal circumstances, it is taken for granted that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong would not withhold his consent to a request for dissolution of parliament. His role is purely formal.”

so what is not normal this time.
    the decision should already have been made
    to dissolve long time ago. what a let down.
    former lord president learned? i doubt it.
    i hope i’m wrong. i really do.

66. #66 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:35 pm

the people of malaysia are going to be
    screwed again.

67. #67 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:42 pm

ntv7 SMS poll conducted yesterday showed that 96% of the participants rejected this kind of “sandiwara” game of power grabbing.

It is clear that the rakyat want genuine democracy that speaks of substance and credibility.

68. #68 by boh-liao on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:43 pm

PR cannot expect jumping of MPs and state assemblymen to occur ‘one way street’.
    There are different varieties of frogs and toads.
    Remember: I jump, you jump, he jumps, and she jumps – who knows which directions do they jump?

The states and country now are almost on auto-pilot.
    Who is running the nation?
    So much money is flowing to crooks, when the money should be used to lift the nation out of the worst recession and to benefit rakyat.
    Everyday we hear negative news and ridiculously funny news. And we hear people missing and then popping out from nowhere.
    What kind of nation are we in now?

69. #69 by grace on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:44 pm

Shameless, no pride,and sheer stupid to sell ine’s principle!!!

70. #70 by OrangRojak on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:48 pm

His role is purely formal.
    But I imagine, for the sake of his monarchacity, that his assistance in political matters is not a mere formality. What value does his role have, if a politician can just drive up to the gates and shout “Oi! I wan dissolve gomen! Can or not?”, and get an instant nod or shake of the head? The last thing a monarch needs to do is give their people the impression that they’re flipping a coin to decide on matters, or worse still, that they’re doing what they’re told, and their role really is worthless.

I think an instant decision would have only weakened the monarch’s position and played into the hands of people whose heads are already on fire. Perhaps he’s heeding Alexander Pope’s warning:

Fools rush in where Angels fear to tread

71. #71 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:54 pm

Will the British Queen dissolve Parliament and call for new elections if enough Labour MPs defected to the Conservatives so that Gordon Brown is toppled as PM?

72. #72 by One4All4One on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 12:54 pm

That Najib could so hastily lay claim to forming the state government under such dubious and incredible situation does not reflect well on his character and morality.

How could a premier-in-waiting stoop so low and displaying the mentality and caliber of one which is even below mediocrity?

One shudders at the thought of him helming the nation in such trying times. How could he be fair and firm and uphold the integrity and fair-mindedness expected of a national leader? His attributes and demeanor are counter to norms and precedents.

In any country, a leader must adopt the stance of being a leader to ALL her citizens, regardless of political party or ideology. There is no such thing that opposing parties or individuals are not under the protection and care of the administration in so far as national interests are concerned. Such prejudicial and discriminatory positioning is not one of a national leader.

What about his cronies and bridesmaids? What can we expect of them? Malaysians must prepare themselves for the unexpected and unthinkable, and more “sandiwara” ala najib and company.

Certainly, the attempt to display unbridled, unwarranted and disputable power and authority would only invite, as the affable Ku Li wrote in the Malaysianinsider, public scorn.

73. #73 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:02 pm

computation, you know the answer, don’t you? Many evaluate issues based on hope, not on the logic of the objectiv situation. Thus thus have to come to the river then only to discover there is no bridge!

Any one who faces reality will recognise that for an enterprise and coup de tat of such a bold and dramatic nature – now already splashed all over media as a fiat accompli – there is just no way Najib would not have planned carefully, well in advance, sewing all possible loose ends, and pre-empting and clearing all possible impediments and obstacles, whether legal or human, to reach the objective without a hitch! Come on, get real.

Once he has done this (taking over Perak successfully) there’s no stopping him proceeding next to Kedah and so forth…BN has plenty of resources and it is only Anwar who wanted to challenge it in this defection game that BN has better advantage, As I said before Anwar violated the first rule of engagement of Sun Tzu’s Art of War – fighting in a territory and within parameters more favourable to the opposite side than himself. What Najib has shown in playing this game is to do it stealthily and not alert the opposite side – which may otherwise take counter measures – whereas in the case of Anwar it is all talk and talk and warning the opposite side of what he intended to do with no action!

And then some more Najib can turn around and claim that this defection game is “self defence” because if he does not do it, even though such a game is foul, Anwar will do it, as it repeatedly claim last year.

Anwar has just provided Najib a perfect excuse to that which BN has the advantage. And when Anwar & PR want to condemn Najib/Bn for this tactic, there is no moral cause behind such a condemnation because it is Anwar & PR which first advocated this strategy to procure the fall of federal govt after the 308 General election. Thus the second rule of engagement by Sun Tzu has been violated – losing and forfeiting one’s own moral cause to condemn another’s dirty tactic and losing moral suasion to rally others to fight your cause. One just can’t seek justice/rectification of wrong when one comes to battle with dirty/soiled hands.

As I said before everything is unequal in terms of playing field betwen PR and BN, with everything (whether money or levers of power favouring the incumbent BN) except the one thing – moral capital and righteousness of cause that history has proven could defeat even armies & despots: eg what has Mahatma Gandhi or Nelson Mendela got to fight the overwhelming success if noty moral capital and example that could inspire & galvanise the power of the people to their side?

However if one wants to have a quick fix, and when the referee in the game is not looking, hit the opposite side at the b@lls thinking that that will advance one’s cause faster, what can I say?

74. #74 by penang308 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:05 pm

Luckily Najis no longer Minister of Defence, if not he would used the ARM FORCE to over throw the Perak PR government!!!!

Now, he is the Minister of Finance so obviously, he is using MONEY to OVER THROW the Perak Government!!!! Plain simple!

RM50Million shared among the 5 persons(4 ADUN and 1 broker), can you guys imagine how much each of them is GETTING?

For the B**CH from Jelapang, I don’t think she will be returning to Jelapang anymore, She will be moved to KL to enjoy her HARAM fortune.

HIDUP PAKATAN RAKYAT, LONG LIVE TO THE PERAK STATE GOVERNMENT! Lets pray HRH use his GOOD JUDGEMENT to reject NAJIS’s MONEY COUP and call for a fresh election to settle the matter once and for all!

75. #75 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:10 pm

If the HRH Sultan do not give his consent for the State assembly to be dissolved and allow Barisan Nasional to form the new government in Perak, state instability and uncertainties will remain.

* The new composition the state assembly will be:28 PR, 28 BN+ 3 defectors.
    -Out of the three defectors, 2 of them would be charged in court for corruption- if they are convicted(fined more than RM2000) or jailed, there seats would become vacant. If the vacant seats are to be won by PR, new composition will be PR =28+2, BN=28+1………
    so Perak have to change the government once more!

Or will the two defectors from PR would enjoy immunity from Law as now there are allies of BN? –

The best step to be taken by Sultan is to dissolve the assembly and let the people make their decision.

The better still is the Parliament is to be solved too!

76. #76 by ReformMalaysia on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:13 pm

opps–typing error

Or will the two defectors from PR would enjoy immunity from Law as now there are allies of BN? –

77. #77 by leongwk15 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:20 pm

Dear Uncle Lim,

It is a very sad era for the Malaysia politics. I am not writing in any favour of BN or neither PR.

Whatever or whoever jump across, money is spend. Do you really think any YB resign from their party is due to indifferent principle with their party leaders??? No, this is all because about money. And all this money spend to buy over the YB…. is the rakyat money. These YB should concerntrate to serve the people and not jumping around just because of Money!!!!!

Law should be made to force/limit/keep the choosen YB by the rakyat to serve the people. If the YB resign from the party, then a by-election should be done, the YB will not be allow to contest for 2 terms.

If not, I would like to contest for a state assembly seat. Once choosen, then I can start talking money with all politic parties who has interest of buying over.

All politic parties should push for this law to approve to safeguard political stability as well as sincere and YB is choosen to do the job.

Very soon, Malaysia polictic parties will turn into a English Primeir League where any club can buy over players to play for their clubs.

If the law is not implemented and politic parties in Malaysia don’t set rules and respect each other, we as rakyat should stage protest and demand the king to take back the power to run the country.

Leong WK
    Perakians

78. #78 by taikohtai on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:20 pm

Now we can tell the real men/women from the boys/girls. Yes, we have principled politicians who do not even shy away from wrongful imprisonment on grounds of principles and we have weak Aduns who easily get lured by a fistful of dollars.
    Why bother to win a mere battle at the prospect? But some politicians are so short sighted that they can’t even tell right from wrong.
    Yes, the dark force is strong and there are many Darth Warders. Not many of us can be Luke Skywalkers but in the end, Good shall ALWAYS triumph over evil.
    May the good force be with you all!

79. #79 by penang308 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:23 pm

Btw, can u guys imagine an \OUTSIDER\ from Pahang go to the PALACE in PERAK and tell the SULTAN who should be governing the PERAK STATE!

DAULAT TUANKU!

80. #80 by veddy.lum74 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:25 pm

she worked in gomen for umteenth years,she had been brainwashed!she may be a chinese but inside she is a ‘bumi’,double-faced bitch!

i heard she is going to get in trouble……………………………….

i will be the first 1 to clap…………..

81. #81 by penang308 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:28 pm

veddy. lum74,

If I have the chance, I will be the 1st one to throw my SHOE at her!

82. #82 by whitecoffee on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:30 pm

So the UMNO members in Perak are good for nothing. They need a Pahang guy to show them how to do things, like a mafia????

83. #83 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:34 pm

penang308, you want to throw your SHOE at her but please wait till I have thrown my C4 grenade at her!

84. #84 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:39 pm

i think we are mostly agreed.
    we would like to throw a whole lot
    of things at that repulsive female.

85. #85 by Kelvenho on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:40 pm

I hope the people of Perak will demonstrate peacefully to request the
    Sultan of Perak to consent the dissolution of the Perak State
    Assembly. All the best to the people of Perak.

86. #86 by ALLAN THAM on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:40 pm

DPM pictured with all smiling faces except one she who was look very sad and worry. Deep inside her was struggling. After the dust settled she will faced with the whacking of the voters from Jelapang.

She has commit a political suicide and her political life is as good as finish and numbered.

Well many people not only those from Perak, all over Malaysia, are upset the tactic used by BN. KULI has commended that BN will have to face with the public whacking in the next GE. BN will become increase unpopular with this move.

BN should not concentrate to taking over the Perak state. The move was untimely as the, say, if come true, BN did form Perak Goven, it is even weaker than the one by PR.

With the four frogs around the image was bad not only for Perak people all Malaysian are getting very angry and upset.

I was very surprise a friend of mine who was not in polictic who was not from Perak was so sad as seem he has lost everything just because not other than the BN claiming power in PERAK. I believe PERAKIANS are more upset than any other. This upset will turn in full force in the next GE.

All is not lost anyway by PR. PR will be stronger and more popular in time to come.

87. #87 by PSM on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:41 pm

HRH the Sultan of Perak & his son are both highly respected for their intelligence & for the “correctness” of thier actions.
    HRH the Sultan of Perak will make the right decision (Insya ALLAH)!

88. #88 by Hishamuddin on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:45 pm

If that B@@@# ever step into Jelapan again, she will hear from my show

89. #89 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 1:57 pm

Chinese Malaysiakini reported that at 1.35pm, the Sultan of Perak asked MB nizar to resign but he refused.

90. #90 by max2811 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:03 pm

HRH Sultan of Perak must dissolve the state assembly. Democracy must prevail, not money politics.

DAP must clean its house. Have better quality candidates. Leaders must not be too arrogant.This is the second time Ngeh has hurt the feelings of members.

91. #91 by ctc537 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:04 pm

Malayia is so unlike other Western democratic countries where a one-eat majority is enough to ensure the winning party to be in power for one full term. Many of our politicians have no integrity. There will be no political stability in the country unless the ruling party has a more than two-third majority in the Dewan Rakyat. I read book by MM Lee Kuan Yew that during the political confrontation between he and the Alliance party leaders in the Mid 60s the then Deputy PM Tun Abdul Razak wanted to bribe Dr. Goh Keng Swee with an offer of five thousand acres of rubber plantation in order to frustrate the determination of the PAP. If Dr. God Keng Swee were not a man of integrity, Singapore would not have become such a prosperous and an independent country that we all know today That’s why MM Lee is forever grateful to Dr. Goh Keng Swee.

It’ vitally important for PR to have leaders of integrity, or there will be perpetual political instability.

If Perakians want to progress then the voters must identity and get rid of politicians who play political games at the expense of their future well-being.

92. #92 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:08 pm

i was flabbergasted to learn that
    the filthy female who sold the people
    of malaysia out was a former clerk.
    how can you have such lowly educated
    people leading malaysia in this modern age?
    technology is changing so fast. how can these
    people who are just clerks undrstand all these?
    how can they contribute to modernizing the country?
    i think malaysian politics is dominated by unintelligent
    people who are merely able to “appear sincere” to
    the dumb electorate. yes. the electorate is dumb.
    even as a child i could tell who was sincere or not.
    as i have said never trust someone who appears
    to be trying to be sincere. if they are sincere
    there is no need to try.

93. #93 by Hishamuddin on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:08 pm

More than 50 % of the Perak Rakyat voted for the opposition. More that 90% of the BN wakil rakyat is from UMNO.

Perak have more than 50 % non Malays population.

Yes, the prince and Sultan can talk nice about being fair and justice for all.

Long Live the Rakyat

94. #94 by boh-liao on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:11 pm

If you are running a fun fair in Perak, you can now set up a ‘hentam katak’ store with images of the jumping state assemblymen and woman pasted in front, say 6 feet in front of a bench. Put some old shoes or scandals, ooops, sorry, sandals, on the bench. Viola, you have a business. RM3 for three throws. Hit the nose of one of the images with a shoe or sandal, a customer wins a prize.

Mari, mari, let the fun begin! Hentam katak!

95. #95 by kanthanboy on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:14 pm

Hee is the Judas Iscariot of the Chinese race. Will she end up in the same fate as Judas?

96. #96 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:14 pm

“Yes, the prince and Sultan can talk nice about being fair and
    justice for all.” Hishamuddin

yes like i said. i am of the opinion that
    the “royalty” in malaysia just talk. they make
    stirring speeches every now and then.
    to impress the people that “they care”.
    but as i said when the chips are down
    i am of the opinion that they would fail badly.
    if i am wrong on this count i will admit so.
    and i hope i am wrong. because the situation
    is serious. if bn gets away with this,
    it will be a signal that no one can stop this nonsense
    by bn.

97. #97 by wanderer on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:16 pm

Today, a new chapter of Malaysian History is written. The BIG TREE once give the protection to the rakyat has fallen!
    Who can the rakyat turn too?
    God bless the rakyat and nothing will save Bohonland!

98. #98 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:17 pm

“Hee is the Judas Iscariot of the Chinese race. Will she end up in
    the same fate as Judas?” kanthanboy

if i had a mother like her i would be filled with shame.
    i would sever all ties with her immediately.

99. #99 by yhsiew on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:21 pm

computation Says:
    Today at 14: 08.17 (1 minute ago)

………as i have said never trust someone who appears
    to be trying to be sincere.
    ====================================================

Cunning fox can disguise itself as a harmless lamb.

100. #100 by boh-liao on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:23 pm

If what ctc537 alleged about Tun Abdul Razak was true, then NR is making his late father proud.

To computation, what to do. Would you stand for election? People say politics is dirty and leave it to others to participate. When a candidate get elected to be a YB, people don’t ask from where did they originate. A clerk? A railway gate keeper? A teacher? A keeper of ISA detainees?

All of us sit back and watch the drama unfolds (first in Perak, next in who knows which state? Penang?).

101. #101 by StevePCH on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:24 pm

give up … bye bye Perak … wait till next election. I will go back one last time and then transfer to Selangor. What can we say ? BN has got finacial influance over Judiciary and Monarchy. No point hanging to the post Nizar. We can and will get it back.
    Back then, everyone said that Islamist PAS cannot be Perak MB. Now it seems like it’s proven baseless.
    Long Live Perak … despite the lost of respect etc…. democracy will prevail !!!

102. #102 by Jeffrey on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:26 pm

Latest from Malaysiakini Feb 5:

“2pm: Anwar arrives at Mohd Nizar’s house. He is expected to hold a press conference together the menteri besar and Penang CM Lim Guan Eng at 3pm.

1.32pm: PKR source says that the sultan had asked Mohd Nizar to step down as menteri besar to allow a smooth transistion of power at their brief meeting today but the latter had refused to do so.

1.30pm: Najib just ended his Perak Umno meeting and left the party’s state headquarters without calling a press conference. It is learnt there was a discussion on who to be appointed as new menteri besar.

12.50pm: Najib is presently chairing an Umno meeting in Ipoh where the choice of the new menteri besar is being discussed. He is expected to call for a press conference within the next hour.

12.40pm: There is an indication that Sultan Azlan Shah will allow Barisan Nasional to form a state government with the participation of three independents.”

BN’s strategy is simple : (1) not allow the state election that is to its disadvantage (2) after installing BN’s MB with help of defectors, consolidate power in state govt by offering some more enticements for crossovers from so called disgruntled PR’s assemblymen who may for whatever reasons including positions to cross and help widen the gap of majority so that a counter cross over attempt by Anwar by same tactics is pre-empted and prevented (3) after success of such a strategy (where BN’s reputation is anyway already “tainted” by Perak takeover, proceed further with other vulnerable states controlled by PR, eg Kedah, which don’t be surprised may happen not too long from now, which in any event will not leave a greater taint than the mark already made in Perak now…..(4) and with this Perak coup, Najib could, by the coming UMNO General Assembly, enhance his prestige amongst warlords for being able to do an ‘Anwar on Anwar’, mitigate the factionalism within UMNO to unite UMNO ranks and files and warlords behind him against competing claims of people like Ku Li or others, and hopefully with this new unity forged, implement policies without dissent that he perceives would restore some of the lost goodwill and draw back more of the rakyat’s support before the next general elections.

What is interesting – and maybe even dangerous – is Anwar/PR’s response in a situation where traditional ettiquette and gentlemen club rules no longer apply (as in a BN’s coup by defection equation in Perak) : Mohd Nizar’s refusal to step down as advised by Tuanku will precipitate a constitutional crisis of (at this moment) uncertain outcome, especially when defiance of HRM Tuanku’s opinion is unprecedented by local adat customs and culture….

However if and assuming Mohd Nizar does not budge his decision to step down backed by remaining PR assembly men, it is a standoff and it is conceivable that Anwar will fall back on his well tried strategy (when chips are down) of having protest rallies in the people’s name to back PR’s stand on one side – and on the other side the Federal BN govt will argue that it shall not permit (also in people’s name) the Perak state govt to come to a standstill just because PR wants to fight constitutional issues in Court that would take time.

Basically it is also paving the way – and providing an additional excuse – for present federal government to crack down (with PR leaders esp Anwar on target list) and send its forces in ostensibly under the excuse of “necessity” to defend the Constitution from an impasse and lawlessness.

Bursa will have another round of tremors if such a situation develops ill further adverse impact on sentiments relating to the economy.

103. #103 by computation on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:27 pm

in the malaysian courts you have malay
    police begging for their life in the kangaroo courts.
    should the malays be proud of how they have
    let their people run and administer the country?
    why not learn from others? why not be more
    humble?

104. #104 by Thinking Two on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 2:59 pm

Sultan has asked Nazir to resign at 2.25pm

105. #105 by k1980 on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:04 pm

What will be the fate of Hee?

Judas, remorseful, dies soon after his betrayal of Jesus. In the Gospel of Matthew he returns the 30 silver coins and hangs himself. In the Acts of the Apostles he keeps the coins, buys a field, and falls down there, disemboweled.

106. #106 by etacude on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 3:18 pm

i really dont know what kind of message Perak Sultan is trying to sent with his latest decision.

107. #107 by phat on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 4:10 pm

I keep wondering if there’s any God fearing soul in BN/UMNO.

All have been conquered by the evil force…money…money…money…Go to hell with your money and curses.

108. #108 by shamshul anuar on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 5:39 pm

Dear etacude,

The Sultan has the right to decide in this situation. His Highness may want to avoid another election that is time consuming, costly and actually unnecessary.

109. #109 by rubini on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 6:34 pm

It is indeed a SAD day for the Rakyat who have been hijacked by the TRAITORS with the connivence of BN/UMNO. Najib has shown his true colours on what kind of politician he is made out to be.
    In one way it is good for the Rakyat to know now that the BN/UMNO government are corrupt to the CORE & the head the most corrupt of all. He is well aware that BN/UMNO cannot win any more elections, so he using a backdoor to rise to Power. It’s better to be HONEST & SINCERE like the PR government. I salute Perak MB Datuk Nizar, DON’T worry, the BN/UMNO government is doomed come any elections, Najib just sealed his fate. The end is coming for BN/UMNO, nothing can change that.

110. #110 by boh-liao on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 7:01 pm

Now AI baru tahu he is not as powerful as he thought.
    The dark forces are much more powerful.

Now we see why so many courst cases have been postponed and postponed – maybe to wait till a time when the BN has regained all the states, then hentam all the pretenders!

There is only the Money God roaming around during this Lunar New Year festival. Obviously some people received lots from the Chai Shern Yeh!

111. #111 by badak on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 7:30 pm

We should all accept the Sultans decision. The best thing Nizar can do now, is to take EC to court for not calling for a by-election in changkat jering and Behrang.
    For now most Malayians had lost their respect towards the sultan.

112. #112 by shortie kiasu on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 8:58 pm

Today indeed is a sad day for the people of Perak, who had spoken through their vote on March 8th 2008. They are deprived of their democratic rights under the constitution, are now presented with a tainted state government, with tainted people’s representatives touted by the BN to win over the ruling right, with representative who can do double and triple summersaults by leapfroging the one from Bota, and who care for her interest instead of the people the one from Jelapang.

We only hope the corruption court would expedite the cases against the tainted 2 assemblymen for corruption.

It is sad to see BN also stoop so low as to take in such dubious characters just for the sake to rule the state.

113. #113 by Taxidriver on Thursday, 5 February 2009 - 9:56 pm

This political uncertainty is not going to end immediately; with one side claiming to have the numbers, while the other says they do not, citing that the 2 assemblymen have actually resigned and having the letters to support their claim. Then again, going by the Perak State Constitution, Nizar is still the rightful MB. The onus is on UMNO to prove their claim if indeed they really do have that magic number. Then they need to pass a a vote of no-confidence…………..As it is, Malaysia is facing economic recession, and the last thing we need is a legal tussle which we have no idea when it will end.

114. #114 by lextcs on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 12:39 am

uncle kit and uncle anwar should be totally blamed for this fiasco…..you guys are too hungry for power in the federal level so much so that u needlessly accept one unneccessary frog to lose the whole govt….Stupidity is the best word to describe you guys….as for anwar….game over…all credibility lost….no more dates for power grab?….

115. #115 by disapointed86 on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 4:31 am

honestly..there is internal problems with the PR state govt..why PR need to put the ngeh/nga cousins for the top 2 posts…i dont think this is the right choice to do…why dont put some other guys not blood related??…and maybe an indian??..gosh…and what i can see that the “cousins” are considered as tag team partner…very bad choice perhaps…

116. #116 by mother of three on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 7:17 am

Seems to me everything were pre-planned due to the “tanah” issue.Why Najib was very confident and announced to everyone of the taking over before even meeting the Sultan?Is the sultan happy about the “tanah” issue? Even an ordinary citizen of Malaysia will know that dissolving the “DUN’ is the best solution.Why that does not happen? Simple,everyone know that fresh election will give PR more seats and they just do not want that to happen.Demise of democracy and people’s power.

117. #117 by mother of three on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 7:29 am

If everything is so simple as this then I think no need to waste money and time on election.Just take over whatever state and why care about the people.Afterall,what can the people do.yeah what can the people do…………

118. #118 by boh-liao on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 1:50 pm

If you are not happy with the katak and must still be civil (cannot throw shoes at them), maybe you can give them your old shoes, sandals, slippers.

Please deposit your old shoes, sandals, slippers at their homes or service centers.

Also, voters of the three constituencies must encourage and continuously pester these greedy katak to resign as state assemblymen and woman to have by elections. This is the least honorable thing they can do, after having pocketed $$$$$ from BN. Put pressure on them and their family members so that they must RESIGN to let voters decide again if they want PR or BN to represent them.

If they still want to represent the people, let them be the BN candidates! Insult them and pressurise them to resign! No need to be polite to these unscrupulous and greedy political animals! Have buy and bye elections so that NR and BN can pour money into the constituencies. At least, they can then bring direct benefits to the people of the three constituencies, rather than just enriching themselves after being elected by the people and betraying people’s trust!

Voters put them there and voters should and must force them down. Nothing wrong with that! The people must let them know that they are nobody without the votes from the people, WHO ARE THE BOSSES, not them.

May the force be the rakyat! Just DO IT!

119. #119 by wesuffer on Friday, 6 February 2009 - 2:42 pm

All perakian especialy who supporting PR. sad or angry should stop now..
    be gentlement, want to fight back our justice as rakyat. 4 years later rememeber vote to PR. party
    we can wait 51 years today , 4 years we can wait not ?