RPK sedition trial begins in PJ

In Petaling Jaya sessions court now where the celebrated RPK sedition trial has just started.

Big crowd of RPK supporters and well-wishers including household names in Malaysian blogosphere like Haris Ibrahim, Zorro and delCapo in court but space too limited to accommodate even a substantial number of people who had to overflow outside.

RPK in the dock looks his devilishly irreverent best ready to take on the powers-that-be although he has just become a freshie Internal Security Act detainee.

Let all bloggers and Malaysians concerned about human rights and Internet freedom come to PJ court to support RPK.

1. #1 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:59 am

This ICON is the hope of the nation for a more open and tolerant society. We should allow his efforts to go in vain.! We have to continue to support what he fought for without which the last GE would not have seen so much surprises!! RPK, we can only pray that one day you would be appointed the OMBUDSMAN of the country!! We salute your sense of fair play!

2. #2 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:59 am

Coorection: We should NOT allow….

3. #3 by taiking on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 10:11 am

Put RPK next to najib, I would trust RPK anytime.

4. #4 by PSM on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:14 am

Bro Kit,

ALL Malaysians know that RPK will be given a “just & fair” trial (i.e. in our dreams!).
    Good luck RPK & God bless you for being there for us!

5. #5 by Justin Cho on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:18 am

Let us hope REAL justice is done!

6. #6 by PHUAKL on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:32 am

Dear YB Lim and other progressive friends

May I bring to your attention this award for defenders of human rights. The deadline for nominations is coming soon.

http://www.martinennalsaward.org/

Phua Kai Lit

7. #7 by sikui on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:34 am

REAL justice will only be available when PR take over as Federal Govt.
    RPK, you have to be patient, this time is coming soon.

8. #8 by One4All4One on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:59 am

Perhaps there should be an awareness campaign to educate the public about governance and public administration.

The government is an institution elected by the votes of the people and is the guardian of their rights and privileges.

As the mandate is obtained by virtue of the people’s vote, it is therefore answerable to the people, and not vice versa.

Often time it is observed that the rakyat’s rights and privileges have been overridden and hijacked by those in the administration. As such, can the situation be regarded as unconstitutional and illegal? ( legal experts: please correct this statement, and put it in the right perspective, thanks ).

The government and those in the service do not have immunity against their failure to perform their duties and should be brought to face the laws and regulations of the country.

They have a duty to perform, and just like in any other organisations, whether private or public, they are employed according to terms and conditions. There is no such thing as taking government service as their birthright and a place to where they could do as they like, let alone abuse the system.

Ultimately, the rakyat and tax payers should be seen as the employers of the government.

9. #9 by rahmanwang on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 12:10 pm

Like what Marina said RPK is on trial for sedition and also put into ISA.ISA means without trial and RPK is on trial.What does that mean?BN does not respect human rights because they are not human.Remember the rakyat will not put devils to run our country next time around!

10. #10 by nkeng11 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 12:26 pm

Syed already put Pete in Jail. Let Pete out of jail and then commence the trial for sedition. How can the government jail someone before being found guilty?

No shame kah?

A whole country’s adminstration going against one blogger!

Absurd.

11. #11 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 12:48 pm

“Let all bloggers and Malaysians concerned about human rights and Internet freedom come to PJ court to support RPK.”

Err, where is the human rights for those whom RPK has disparaged and slandered? Far from being ‘supported’, RPK’s seditious and socially harmful articles prove that he needs to be shunned for the sake of stability in Malaysia. No country would tolerate such a detrimental individual to their security.

12. #12 by OrangRojak on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 12:52 pm

@One4All4One
    Sentiments as fine as yours deserve to be set to music:
    “Perhaps there should be an awareness campaign to educate the public about governance and public administration.”
    Cake – Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxM7OEdG2ac
    “The government is an institution elected by the votes of the people and is the guardian of their rights and privileges.”
    The Platters – The Great Pretender
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55wWiFi6BFo
    “those in the service do not have immunity”
    MC Hammer – U Can’t Touch This
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgahPu7o0GI
    “They have a duty to perform”
    The Statler Brothers – Flowers On The Wall
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1s8nRL2bPCU
    “the rakyat and tax payers should be seen as the employers of the government”
    Judy Garland – Somewhere Over The Rainbow
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HRa4X07jdE

One more, while you pack your toothbrush:
    KRS One – Sound of Da Police
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BxBs4f4RIU

13. #13 by Jeffrey on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 1:15 pm

///RPK in the dock looks his devilishly irreverent best ready to take on the powers-that-be although he has just become a freshie Internal Security Act detainee/// – YB Kit.

The reason why RPK “welcomes” the sedition charge is because the trial allows him to forum to introduce whatever evidence he may have, in a plea of justification.

It would appear that, pending Anwar doing something about the much touted 9/16 project, the sedition trial may be the next best thing for RPK to vindicate himself that he holds the truth, and not just a trouble maker, championing false causes, that, he hopes, would make it that much harder to justify his continued detention under ISA in the Court of Public opinion and international Opinion.

14. #14 by Truth Seeker on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:13 pm

Here’s a gem, dug out from way, way back in the good ol’ days of the US of A, when things were quite plain, simple and straightforward.

We could draw inspiration from …..

The following, which is the text of the Virginia Declaration of Rights (1776):

I That all men are by nature equally free and independent, and have certain inherent rights, of which, when they enter into a state of society, they cannot, by any compact, deprive or divest their posterity; namely, the enjoyment of life and liberty, with the means of acquiring and possessing property, and pursuing and obtaining happiness and safety.

II That all power is vested in, and consequently derived from, the people; that magistrates are their trustees and servants, and at all times amenable to them.

III That government is, or ought to be, instituted for the common benefit, protection, and security of the people, nation or community; of all the various modes and forms of government that is best, which is capable of producing the greatest degree of happiness and safety and is most effectually secured against the danger of maladministration; and that, whenever any government shall be found inadequate or contrary to these purposes, a majority of the community hath an indubitable, unalienable, and indefeasible right to reform, alter or abolish it, in such manner as shall be judged most conducive to the public weal.

IV That no man, or set of men, are entitled to exclusive or separate emoluments or privileges from the community, but in consideration of public services; which, not being descendible, neither ought the offices of magistrate, legislator, or judge be hereditary.

V That the legislative and executive powers of the state should be separate and distinct from the judicative; and, that the members of the two first may be restrained from oppression by feeling and participating the burthens of the people, they should, at fixed periods, be reduced to a private station, return into that body from which they were originally taken, and the vacancies be supplied by frequent, certain, and regular elections in which all, or any part of the former members, to be again eligible, or ineligible, as the laws shall direct.

VI That elections of members to serve as representatives of the people in assembly ought to be free; and that all men, having sufficient evidence of permanent common interest with, and attachment to, the community have the right of suffrage and cannot be taxed or deprived of their property for public uses without their own consent or that of their representatives so elected, nor bound by any law to which they have not, in like manner, assented, for the public good.

VII That all power of suspending laws, or the execution of laws, by any authority without consent of the representatives of the people is injurious to their rights and ought not to be exercised.

VIII That in all capital or criminal prosecutions a man hath a right to demand the cause and nature of his accusation to be confronted with the accusers and witnesses, to call for evidence in his favor, and to a speedy trial by an impartial jury of his vicinage, without whose unanimous consent he cannot be found guilty, nor can he be compelled to give evidence against himself; that no man be deprived of his liberty except by the law of the land or the judgement of his peers.

IX That excessive bail ought not to be required, nor excessive fines imposed; nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.

X That general warrants, whereby any officer or messenger may be commanded to search suspected places without evidence of a fact committed, or to seize any person or persons not named, or whose offense is not particularly described and supported by evidence, are grievous and oppressive and ought not to be granted.

XI That in controversies respecting property and in suits between man and man, the ancient trial by jury is preferable to any other and ought to be held sacred.

XII That the freedom of the press is one of the greatest bulwarks of liberty and can never be restrained but by despotic governments.

XIII That a well regulated militia, composed of the body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper, natural, and safe defense of a free state; that standing armies, in time of peace, should be avoided as dangerous to liberty; and that, in all cases, the military should be under strict subordination to, and be governed by, the civil power.

XIV That the people have a right to uniform government; and therefore, that no government separate from, or independent of, the government of Virginia, ought to be erected or established within the limits thereof.

XV That no free government, or the blessings of liberty, can be preserved to any people but by a firm adherence to justice, moderation, temperance, frugality, and virtue and by frequent recurrence to fundamental principles.

XVI That religion, or the duty which we owe to our Creator and the manner of discharging it, can be directed by reason and conviction, not by force or violence; and therefore, all men are equally entitled to the free exercise of religion, according to the dictates of conscience; and that it is the mutual duty of all to practice forbearance, love, and charity towards each other.

Adopted unanimously June 12, 1776 Virginia Convention of Delegates drafted by Mr. George Mason

15. #15 by taiking on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 2:31 pm

Strange. RPK is standing trial for sedition. That we all know. But he is being detained under ISA for what?. I dont think Syed Botak dares to issue an official statement on the reason for his detention. Based on news report, it appears that RPK’s detention was neccesitated by his blog postings on islam which the umno government feared could incite something.

The sedition charge is ok. If the police think they have enough evidence to nail him, the correct place to do so would be in the court and before a judge.

Its the isa detention. No trial. No reason. And no possibility of challenging detention in court except on pure technicalities.

The vacuum left by the absence of an official statement on the reason for detaining RPK would of course be filled with rumours.

Out of one RPK problem they created three others for themselves (1) the unjustifiable isa detention; (2) rumours; and (3) plunging international opinion and confidence.

When every decision and every move turned out wrong, the “MV UMNO” is surely heading for the rocks.

16. #16 by rider on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:05 pm

RPK is already on track towards freedom with all the other inmates in tow, God be with you RPK!

17. #17 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:08 pm

taiking Says:

>> Strange. RPK is standing trial for sedition. That we all know. But he is being detained under ISA for what?.

Sedition is a term of law which refers to covert conduct, such as speech and organization, that is deemed by the legal authority as tending toward insurrection against the established order. Sedition often includes subversion of a constitution and incitement of discontent (or resistance) to lawful authority. Sedition may include any commotion, though not aimed at direct and open violence against the laws. Seditious words in writing are seditious libel.

Sedition in this instance is deemed a risk to national security and stability.

18. #18 by Yee Siew Wah on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 3:56 pm

I for one is quite apprehensive that RPK will get a fair trial under the present judiciary. With all the BN contolled judges/prosecutors especially that baldie pea brain toad around I am afraid they will try and nail him for good with all evil means.
    Hope the rakyat and all those who love RPK will fight their hearts out to save and get him release.

He is already under ISA and yet he got charged under Sedition Act. What type of justice is that from our present bunch of scumbag idiots running the government.
    What are those components parties lapdogs doing now?
    They claim they work for the rakyat. Pooh.. just talk.
    When PKR take over, I hope they whacked and kicked all these lapdogs into DBKL garbage trucks.

19. #19 by Damocles on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:18 pm

It would appear that, pending Anwar doing something about the much touted 9/16 project, the sedition trial may be the next best thing for RPK to vindicate himself that he holds the truth, and not just a trouble maker, championing false causes, that, he hopes, would make it that much harder to justify his continued detention under ISA in the Court of Public opinion and international Opinion. – Jeffrey

You think so?
    If our government is at all perturbed by public opinions, whether local or international, they wouldn’t be doing what they are doing now!
    It’s just that they don’t give a damn!
    Just like the government of Myanmar.

20. #20 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:18 pm

yee siew, IF pkr take over.

p.s. RPK’s latest pic reminds me of the infamous Salman Rushdie :^)

21. #21 by simon041155 on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 4:29 pm

To Yee Siew Wah, you mentioned: “He is already under ISA and yet he got charged under Sedition Act. What type of justice is that from our present bunch of scumbag idiots running the government.”

I think you got it all wrong. According to that non-Malay Deputy Minister on Youtube, can’t remember his name, just remember he looks a bit retarded…. Raja Petra was arrested under ISA for persistently ignoring the government’s warnings not to continue doing what he was doing, so after two three months, no choice lor….

The ISA is used for matters not chargeable in court, such as not being pro-Barisan Nasional, etc etc., while sedition is definitely a court matter. So two different stories, right?

Raja Petra should have joined UMNO, like Ahmad Ismail. If only he had done so, he would have got off ISA by being suspended for three years from holding any office in UMNO and as the Botak says in Youtube, “in that sense, [Ahmad Ismail] has already been punished.” Sounds wierd, but this is Malaysia, isn’t it?

22. #22 by just a moment on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 5:10 pm

YB Kit, Thanks for being there!! We just needed your presence there. Folks, keep supporting Raja and be there tomorrow? Its was a fantastic experience. I get to shake hands with great people like Marina, Din Merican, YB LKS, Ronnie and some famous bloggers. You wanna feel what justice is all about? Be there.
    There were really generous ppl too, who gave out free T-Shirts, drinks, and cakes. Of course stocks of T-shirts for sales were also available. A feeling of oneness was there, ppl of different races who share the same sadness but carries the same hope and resolve to see this through. Its difficult to express in words. I felt sad but at the same time cannot help but admire and inspired by the rest. Many ladies, husband and wife team were there too. Thanks to everyone for showing good conduct, it was peaceful and the police have an easy day. I’ll be there again tomorrow. If you are lucky, (enough space)in the court, you can also listen to the preceeding – In ENGLISH!! Not bad ya? Come Bro and Sis of One Bangsa. See you there!

23. #23 by Truth Seeker on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:02 pm

RAJA PETRA, BAPAK DEMOKRASI MALAYSIA

RAJA PETRA, FATHER OF DEMOCRATIC MALAYSIA

RPK, Your name is engraved in Malaysian History as The Great Warrior of Truth, Justice and Peace.

Peace be with you, Mahatma, O Great Soul!

24. #24 by Samuel Goh Kim Eng on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 6:43 pm

Let’s all pray for a fair and just trial
    For not just one person but whole nation is on trial
    With not just written laws but common sense also on trial
    We pray for wisdom and justice for all involved in the trial

(C) Samuel Goh Kim Eng – 061008
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Mon. 6th Oct. 2008.

25. #25 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:17 pm

Samuel Goh Kim Eng Says:

Let’s all pray for a fair and just trial
    For not just one person but whole nation is on trial
    ==========================================

Well said, these BNed components are todays legal Pirates, they can abduct and lock you up without reason. Claim anything seditious they wish to claim regardless of fact towards victim is stupid like nobody business.

26. #26 by James on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 9:40 pm

I sincerely salute Raja Petra for his steadfastness in upholding his noble principles & just beliefs. The fact that he did it all but NOT for power nor fame makes it all the more admirable & sacred.

YB’s from PR must strive to have our beloved RPK freed from the evil clutches of the bn scoundrels. Sack these useless corrupt bn
    @#%*$ and get rid of them. They are worthless human beings and so drunken with their self-importance that they are behaving like GOD. Justice will & must prevail for all to see the majesty of the divine existence & presence.

27. #27 by zak_hammaad on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:19 pm

RPK should be a man of his word and principles! He is now looking to get out of detention under the pretense that he did not write or post the article as anyone could have done it from cyberspace who had access to his username and password, lol. Is this the so-called ‘martyr’ that the opposition wants to ‘salute’?

28. #28 by bclee on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:33 pm

“Err, where is the human rights for those whom RPK has disparaged and slandered? Far from being ’supported’, RPK’s seditious and socially harmful articles prove that he needs to be shunned for the sake of stability in Malaysia. No country would tolerate such a detrimental individual to their security” quote Zak

what u mean by disparaged and slandered?do RPK said anything wrong,discredit, belittle. all he said was a fact that u can’t accept. becauce all fact will hurt u. it is true? u don’t have the courage to accept the true fact.

can RPK shake the stability of our country? how can he be so powerful, because he disclosed so many insider news and all the trues that many PPL no dare to say. So here ISA apply it is true?

No country would tolerate such a detrimental individual to their security, u mean RPK so powerful he can affect the security of the country, by just using his pen. i think u are mentally retarded.

29. #29 by Jeffrey on Monday, 6 October 2008 - 11:57 pm

Damocles, you were talking about this government not caring a damn about public or international opinion. It may be so. However we all know that RPK has been charged with sedition in relation to certain allegations he made about Altantuya Shaariibuu’s case. The point to think about is what do you think will happen if RPK, in the process of and using the trial as a forum, produces convincing evidence supporting or collaborating convincingly his allegations??? Do you think that public or international opinion can, under such unexpected circumstances, be ignored even if the powers-that-be would like to do so????

30. #30 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:37 am

Sinister as ever, sleep head or not you guys get the clue yet?…

Firstly… RPK was charge/claim under ISA for insulting Islam, now they(AAB) release him from kemunting for trial…

2nd… Why now why provoke the sedition case ‘Let’s send the Altantuya murderers to hell’?…

3rd… esok lusa anouncement AAB is gonna compete for PM seat and contestant for new DPM were (Exit) for “Najis” or “AAB”?

31. #31 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:42 am

IMO, I think Najis might have to pack his bag without his golf sets before he gets anywhere near the PM seat like it happens to DSAI in the past.

Wow im really excited what could have happen next.

32. #32 by TheWrathOfGrapes on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 9:35 am

/// # zak_hammaad Says:
    Yesterday at 12: 48.03
    Err, where is the human rights for those whom RPK has disparaged and slandered? ///

Emmm, zak, I think there are libel and slander laws in Malaysia that can be used if that were the case.

Ever wonder why those who have been “slandered”, and in RKP’s case, “libelled”, do not want to charge him in court? Instead, they chose the cowardly way of using sedition and ISA.

33. #33 by cinaindiamelayubersatu on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 11:43 am

sesuatu yang benar tersirat di sebalik kejahatan jentera kerajaan terhadap rpk.

34. #34 by OrangRojak on Tuesday, 7 October 2008 - 4:59 pm

“mentally retarded.”
    I have to confess to harbouring the same suspicion bclee does. It’s an act of generosity on bclee’s part, since mental retardation is not the fault of the person under suspicion, and they should not be blamed for their misfortune.

“under the pretense that he did not write”
    Do you imagine you’re in the legal profession zak? What makes you so certain a man is guilty of a charge? Have you also already decided a sentence? What is it? Are you caged within easy reach of a keyboard, foaming at the mouth, screaming “kill them all! kill them all”? Since the man is in court, the court is only doing its job when it tests the reliability of the evidence presented.

“so-called ‘martyr’ ”
    Hahahaha, oh you caught me out. Anybody else have the New Testament stamped verbatim onto their memory from an early age? I try always to be more radical than Richard Dawkins in matters of spirituality these days, but this phrase reminded me of “it is you who say it” – remember that one? I’m not trying to invoke religion here, just revealing my own little psychotic episode. You too are hearing voices, zak, nobody but you said “martyr”.

“the opposition wants to ’salute’”
    My personal view, expressed in the understanding that a trial is in progress and it is prejudice, is that one of the articles apparently written by RPK appeared to me to /invite/ prosecution under Malaysia’s sedition law. A certain combination of words which would have been regarded as harmless hyperbole in many other countries appeared to me to be an open invitation of legal action here in Malaysia. There are many recent events in Malaysia that I find puzzling. Then again, there are many things in Malaysia that don’t appear to me to be the consequence of rational activity.

I personally don’t consider the ISA to be a ‘legal action’, since its local definition effectively renders all your other laws inferior – it permits your fellow citizens to do whatever they please with absolute immunity. Such a rule, in my mind, invalidates the legal process in its entirety. It does not matter to me what RPK did – he could have boiled my grandmother down for soup – I would still support his cause if he wasn’t treated the way I would expect to be treated in his place.

That last point is probably what motivates much of RPK’s support. Without a reliable and fair legal process, his fellow citizens can have little hope of the protection that would normally be provided by law. By all means, charge him with sedition. It’s a silly law in modern times anyway, it could probably benefit from a few test cases to check whether it has any value. After actual law-breaking and incitement* to law-breaking, the activities that sedition laws might cover are painfully close to reasonable democratic dissent.

*That one alleged article of RPK’s I referred to (I haven’t read all his articles) appeared to me to invite legal action on the grounds of “incitement to cause criminal damage”, but only barely. So what? Fine him and bind him over (or whatever is the local equivalent). Blackbagging him was incomprehensible.