On Tuesday, the MCA Central Committee called for “a comprehensive review of the Internal Security Act (ISA) so that it will apply strictly to cases relating to terrorism and subversive elements”.
Are the four MCA Ministers prepared to take the lead in the Cabinet to make it very clear that any ISA arrest of Parliamentary Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will result in their mass resignation?
This is because the detention of Anwar Ibrahim under the ISA seems to be on the cards after the uncharacteristically belligerent accusation by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi on Wednesday that Anwar is a threat to the national security and economy who wanted to “destroy the country and exploit the people’s trust and tarnish the country’s image abroad”, followed by equally truculent statements against Anwar by Deputy Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Najib Razak and the Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar in the past few days.
Are the MCA Ministers and leaders going to make it very clear to the Prime Minister and the Home Minister that the deepening multiple crisis of confidence in the past six months since the first political tsunami on March 8 will take drastic turn for the worse as nobody in his right senses would believe that Anwar should be detained under the ISA?
It is regrettable that not a single MCA Minister or MP had attended the inaugural meeting to form the “Free Teresa Kok” Parliamentary Caucus last Wednesday.
Are the MCA Ministers and MPs prepared to support the enlargement of the Parliamentary Caucus to a “Free RPK, Hindraf 5 and all ISA detainees” Parliamentary Caucus now that Teresa has been released from ISA after a seven-day detention?
Furthermore, are the MCA MPs prepared to support an all-party parliamentary motion in Parliament to deplore the ISA detention of a MP when Parliament reconvenes on Oct. 13 and to call for the repeal of the ISA as an important measure to end the deepening multiple crisis of confidence afflicting Malaysia in the past six months?

#1 by KennyGan on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 9:26 pm
Jeffrey,
Your contention that universal standards of human conduct and decency can be suspended just because one is in politics is wrong.
Politics is just another human endeavour just like sports or business. The notion that one can ignore basic principles of human rights and justice for politics is totally untenable and downright uncivilized.
#2 by lopez on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 9:30 pm
It appears some have strong reasons that the ISA been abolished entirely from our laws.
While some are hesitant to get rid of it
it appears that these stupid fellas thought that being semi supporting it the ridding of the act may pleased their masters.
It appears that in real life these people are living under house supervision , literally living with a bull ring on their noses.
And some of these vocals are doctorate holders, maybe cheated in his papers.
#3 by dapsupporter8888 on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:01 pm
UMNO, MCA, MIC and the rest of the BN monkey component parties are ALL IRRELEVANT!!
I guess people must be real chissed off by the ISA. I saw scribbles on the walls near Kota Raya which read “F*** ISA”!
#4 by ablastine on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:13 pm
President Bush should arrest Obama under the ISA because Obama is a threat to the Republican. No wonder foreigners look upon Malaysia as a circus with plenty of monkeys and clowns.
#5 by vsp on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:24 pm
No lah, they won’t. They are only posturing and playing for time hoping that they can salvage their position by luck, eg the ISA would be used to rope in Anwar and shatter the recent gains of PK.
I am very doubtful that the MCA can have the courage to do this. They have been in bondage for so long that they are at a loss on how to do the right move.
As I have said earlier, the day that pigs can fly, I am prepared to eat crow.
#6 by vsp on Monday, 22 September 2008 - 10:38 pm
Zak:
And soon UMNO will not only lose every Chinese, Indian, and all the natives of Sabah and Sarawak, they will also lose all the Malays, except a few dibawah- tempurung guys like you.
#7 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 1:07 am
Are the four MCA Ministers prepared to take the lead in the Cabinet to make it very clear that any ISA arrest of Parliamentary Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will result in their mass resignation?
=================================
MASS RESIGN MY FOOT!~
Next time if i see those comedian acting on the streets ill belanja them either “telur rebus or telur busuk” for Kodak moment!…
#8 by m.r.ang on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 1:27 am
YB Lim,
I don’t think they will quit not because of money but their balls are eaten by the CHICKEN. Don’t forget MCA is Malaysian Chicken Association—-chicken in malay is ayam dan ayam ini adalad ayam yang tak ada sayap.Chicken without wing you all know la…………..
#9 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 4:10 am
people, umno will not shut down isa for reasons:
to “lawfully” shut down anwar if and when the take-over attempt happens.
the detention of trt (teresa, raja, tan) was a less than veiled warning to all who tries something even remotely funny.
the detention was also to test the waters on reaction, n mca has shown to hv a whimpering back, n an even toothless bite.
#10 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 4:11 am
that’s whimpering bark..
#11 by trublumsian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 4:25 am
there has never been a right time for mca to quit bn, and this is certainly not one either. think of the consequences. if mca n mic remove themselves from the coalition, the country will decent into chaos. think 513. umno would hv nothing to lose because it’ll be pure us versus them. mca is the least favored child, but it is the hanging thread keeping the reigning government party a “multiracial” consideration. don’t give the -fascists the fuel to usher this country into anarchy. it is tough, real tough being the opposition.
#12 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 5:26 am
MCA are only a bunch of careerist, flatterers and sycophants in the BN coalition.
#13 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 6:15 am
MCA are opportunist politicians trying to win praise from the Chinese community. They are good at talking but do not want to back up their talks with concrete actions for fear of offending their “big brother partner” UMNO in BN.
#14 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:11 am
KennyGan,
Your objection/demurrer in posting at 21: 26.05 above
is entirely understandable.
The ‘game theory’, as applied to politics, is “telling it as it is” an account of standards used in political decisions/behaviour by political players. It is not telling it as “what it ought to be” (from idealistic, inspirational or aspirational view points).
Treating politics as a game with its own rules and standards separate from that when one operates in private outside it also encounters another objection : can a person split his values into separate parts for separate applications depending whether in political or private/other spheres??? It will also severely shake all concepts or foundation of morality when a man can profess strong moral principles at home with family and friends and also at same time excuse himself from these standards in work, whether politics or business on grounds that it has its own rules when the “game” is on – especially work (politics or business), which to an Idealist, such a “Dr Jeykyll and Mr Hyde” dichotomous personality is simply unacceptable, since work should not be treated as a soccer, badminton or card game with separate rules independent of ethics or democratic principles; since it should be a sum total or definition of one’s life’s expression, the mark or ‘legacy’ to the world.
Yes to exceptional people like YB Kit once, politics ought to be a noble profession. However he is not the only politician. What about the rest?
Without this “game theory explanation” how does one explain, for example, MCA or UMNO politicians’ behaviour – or Lim Chin Siong’s incaceration or Tun Mahathir’s actions or even Anwar Ibrahim’s comparing what he did when he was ascending UMNO’s heirarchy to what he is doing now, outside?
#15 by Jeffrey on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:15 am
Rectification of typo omission in capitals : – “Yes to exceptional people like YB Kit WHO ONCE SAID, politics ought to be a nobe profession”. Without rectification, the sentence implies Kit is no more exceptional politician ! :)
#16 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:32 am
dawsheng Says:
>> If Pakatan failed because it does not have the support of most Malays, then Malaysia is doomed under BN anyway.
Then be it, but I think that the new year will bring new surprises within UMNO in specific and BN in general; the speed of it’s corrective measures and revival will be hastened and they will work harder to bring back the shared sense of .national project’.
>> With 3 menteri besar portfolio, how can PAS be a token party in Pakatan?
How many seats does PAS hold in parliament?
>> PAS may not survive in a pro-secular government but that’s alright, they rejected UMNO.
As I said before, UMNO will be history if it falters to rehabilitate; even PAS’ numbers won’t be enough to give it slim majority. If this unlikely even ever takes place, PAS would be better advised to become independent again until a time when it is conducive to see where it’s interests are best served.
Good day.
#17 by prelude3372 on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 3:10 pm
Dear Admin,
As mentioned earlier….kindly block out those idiotic UMNOputras b**L carriers from this blog. This donkeys are placed in to create trouble so that someone ended saying something that’s going to get this blog in problem and who knows…you might join RPK
For those who are going to argue that this is freedom of speach and we must allow all this freedom (even though this donkeys don’t mind eating the RM 5.80 dog food feed by Botak guy)…well….I would only say….tell that to RPK and others about freedom of speach….
#18 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 5:00 pm
prelude, your intolerance of other people’s view-points is saying something about you and your support of the opposition :^)
#19 by m.hwang on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 6:24 pm
“zak_hammaad Says:
Yesterday at 16: 56.40
dawsheng, just as America and Europe do not make up the “international community”, likewise only Chinese and Indians do not make up the Malaysian people. As I said before Pakatan is doomed to failure because it does NOT have the support of most Malays. Pakatan can not rely on 20% Malay support and call inself “representing all Malaysians”. PAS is a token party with negligible seat representation, which I doubt will survive long in a pro-secular opposition.”
I don’t know where ZAK got his figures from but I can say for sure from the recent PP by elections the figure is much much higher. If you add all the Malay MPs in Parliament today the figure is also higher than post 2004.
By the way, PAS has 24 (25 if u count the independent who stood on a PAS ticket) seats. That’s a respectable 30% of total Pakatan seats in Parliament. Negligible? You tell me.
#20 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:58 pm
m.hwang Says:
>> but I can say for sure from the recent PP by elections the figure is much much higher.
PP is NOT a microcosm of Malaysia! PP was also an anti-BN seat so it’s loss is not surprising. What is surprising how PP has fooled you into believing that it represents 26 million people of Malaysia, lol.
>> By the way, PAS has 24 (25 if u count the independent who stood on a PAS ticket) seats. That’s a respectable 30% of total Pakatan seats in Parliament. Negligible? You tell me.
My point exactly, if MCA and other large component parties leave BN, PAS can not give BN the majority them need to stay in power. Likewise, as I mentioned in many of my previous posts, PAS is the lynchpin in Pakatan, already there are 2 camps within PAS (pro and anti-Anwar); where such a fragile coalition that is glued together by bubble gum is going to end up is anyone’s guess. My guess is probably get stuck to a gum board in B.Bintang.
#21 by The_Dude on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 11:50 am
All smoke but no fire. That’s what MCA have becomes… Sad… Very sad…