Forum : Abolish ISA
Venue: KL & Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall
Date: 23 Sep 2008 Tue
Time: 8:00 pm
Admission is Free; Bring Friends
The panel of Distinguished Speakers include:
l Teresa Kok, Selangor State Exco
l Datuk Ambiga Sreenevasan, Bar Council President
l Syed Ibrahim Syed Noh, Chairman of Gerakan Mansuhkan ISA (GMI)
l Lim Guan Eng, Penang Chief Minister
l Khalid Samad, MP Shah Alam
l Nurul Izzah binti Anwar, MP Lembah Pantai
l A. Sivanesan, ADUN Sungkai, Perak
* Moderator: Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim
Assistant National Publicity Secretary
Email: teonieching@gmail.com

#1 by boh-liao on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 6:46 pm
It looks like the police is in cahoots with Syed Hamid Albar who cepat-cepat signed the order to detain RPK under section 8 (1) at the Kamunting detention camp for two years and to deny the habeas corpus application seeking RPK’s release from ISA detention on the grounds that the detention was unlawful and contravened the Federal Constitution.
Who said ministers are not cekap? If they want to, they are super cekap!
#2 by Sunrisepotato on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:35 pm
I really hope that Syed Hamid Albar will be detained under ISA too.
I really believe this.
#3 by melurian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:37 pm
“the Chinese who has 5,000 years of written history (no other race in the world can challenge this) must be a very stupid race on earth in not believing in other “GREAT” religions.”
do you know chinese actually most religion fanatic ? do you know that dynasty han collapsed triggered by religion extremist ? do you know that their emperor is based on notion of “heaven mandate”? and do you know they almost create new branch of Abrahamic religion, claiming the new ruler was brother of jesus, and the war ended with the cost of 20mil lives, surpassing WWI ? if not without british, the world most christians (or new christian) are from china already!
#4 by Loh on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:41 pm
///13. Unfortunately Najib will not get his wish. There has never been a President of UMNO who is as much disliked and even hated by the people as Abdullah. Malays, Chinese and Indians, whether members of the Government component parties or mere supporters or ordinary people all want Abdullah to go, the sooner the better. /// __TDM CheDet.com 23 Sept 2008: Supreme Council
The claim that AAB is wanted out by all the peole can only be known if there is a referendum on him. TDM was not in the council meeting, and he revealed a lot more about the secret reported in the press. Where did he acquire the leaks?
#5 by Sunrisepotato on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:45 pm
Chinese do believe in “GREAT” religion, it’s “BUDDHISIM”.
In Buddhism, there’s a lot of GODS, but They dont interfere people’s life. And GODS cant escape from HE’s own Karma.
#6 by lchk on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:50 pm
zak_hammaad posted:
“Kok was released within a week after investigations and corroborating the allegations, which on the face of it had substance. I doubt a commoner would have been interned under ISA as they would not have the same level of influence as an MP.”
Lame-ass attempt at trying to justify the ISA.
In short, zak the mamakthir worshipper believes in being pronounced guilty until proven innocent.
#7 by Sunrisepotato on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 7:54 pm
Can anyone tell me how to wipe out my Behated UMNO ??????
#8 by cinaUSJ on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 8:23 pm
The faster PAKATAN takeover BeeNed; every stupid creations of those goons can easily be abolish or rectify, not only ISA. SO…. DSAI, PLEASE ACT FAST.
#9 by yhsiew on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 8:26 pm
MCA and Gerakan should join the forum or start a similar forum of their own since they claim they are against ISA – actions speak louder than words. Come on MCA and Gerakan.
#10 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 8:31 pm
IMO, The worse of all, this Taliban wannabe are using the name of Archaic/Religion to manipulate the desperately engraved muslims for their own gain, visible proved are those graving Suicide Mission arrange by Talibanese today.
In Malaysia, (Pakistan?) mixed mamak AHMAD ISMAIL tries manipulate self-proclaim “Ketuanan” as he tries to bind the local Malay muslim agains chinese for his own gain. The local Malay and Chinese in which our forefather had fought and build this country with blood and sweat hundreds of years ago, we had the “Baba-Nyonya” today as proved.
Aren’t muslim are preached to submitted themselve to God(Allah) himself merely? Why should we let these culprits running free as authority trying manipulate RULES as they’re god like apothesis who can apply slavery on to minority instead?!
Seriously, aren’t these people violating Islam holy preaching as a muslim?… Are they “Extremist or Terrorist” or even might be threat to our country? Issit HALAL applying double standards RULES as muslim agains minority… ISA NO?
#11 by mybangsamalaysia on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 8:44 pm
Sorry out of topic:
Singapore burns first batch of contaminated Chinese milk products
By May Wong, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 23 September 2008 1508 hrs
Malayisa : Health Ministry’s list of safe milk products. The Star
Tuesday September 23, 2008 MYT 8:01:38 PM
Hallo, Malaysia Government, people (Singapore Government) has already identified the contaminated products, are you still analysing it? or taking short cut by asking us to think for ourself by providing a list or asking the producers to swallow their own bullets later.
#12 by mybangsamalaysia on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 8:48 pm
Malaysia, The Star Tuesday September 23, 2008 MYT 8:34:29 PM
Milk scare: Checks on retail outlets begins
Singapore burns first batch of contaminated Chinese milk products
By May Wong, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 23 September 2008 1508 hrs
Look at the timing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#13 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 9:12 pm
Han dynasty was founded by Liu Pang in the year 202 B.C. after the collapse of Shi Huang Ti the founder of Chin Dynasty which made the Great Wall of China famous.
The famous Silk Road was born during this period.
After Han Dynasty, the great Tang Dynasty ensued in 627A.D. This is where the epic of the Monkey God started. Buddhism started to flourish. Printing technology and gunpowder were invented. Surprisingly the Chinese never used gunpowder to kill people.
Sung Dynasty started in 960 a.D. and ended in 1279 when Kublai Khan conquered China started the Mongol Dynasty.
After the collapse of Mongol Dynasty in 1368, Ming Dynasty was founded. The official religion was Confucianism. The famous Forbidden City in Beijing was built. Admiral Cheng Ho started his sea expedition where the European learnt about the world map for their future navigation.
The Manchu invasion started the Manchu Dynasty (or Ching Dynasty) which ended the Ming Dynasty in 1644.
The European influence started during the first expedition by Portuguese in 1515.
The Chinese Revolution started by Dr Sun Yet Sen ended the Manchu Dynasty in 1911.
Where did Melurian learnt about the Christian episode during the Han dynasty?
#14 by Anak_Penang on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 9:36 pm
Express your opinion on ISA at votingmalaysia.blogspot.com
#15 by Anak Msia on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:14 pm
[CANDLELIGHT VIGIL for ISA detainees on SEPT 27 (Saturday)
Venue : Dataran Merdeka , Kuala Lumpur
Date : Saturday, 27th September 2008
Time : 7.00pm
#16 by AhPek on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:19 pm
‘The act allows the authorities to substantiate and corroborate the information and get to the bottom of the reality.It would be foolish to let the suspect off simply because there is no proof.’. zak-hamaad.
This treatment would certainly make perfect sense when government is dealing with enemies of the state in time of war as was the intention of Britain when it first legislated this law during World War 2.But when one is dealing with political opponents who have contrarian views of how the nation should be run,or critics who criticise the way you run things and worse still journalists who report the racial slur your members utter,your statement made above is utter nonsense and shouldn’t be tolerated.By any stretch of imagination how could one even think of categorising Teresa Kok or Tan Hoon Cheng or RPK as enemies of the state or terrorists who deserve to be locked away without trial.For God’s sake this people love their country and are concerned enough to want to serve their country.If for reason you feel that they have committed any wrongs there is enough laws in this country to deal with them.Certainly not the ISA!
Your type of reasoning smack very much like your mentor the mamak who has destroted this country and if you at all think that ISA is a suitable law then it ought to be slapped on him!
#17 by ktteokt on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:26 pm
Maintaining the ISA is a big slap on BN’s face! ISA was formulated to deal with the communists in Malaysia and since the government has announced that the CPM has already put down weapons and returned to society, maintaining the ISA is simply an admission by the government that the communists in Malaysia has not been fully eradicated!
#18 by limkamput on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:27 pm
That is our problem; we are too gullible to believe the promises made by politicians. I got the feeling the PR politicians are slowly trying to behave like celebrities. They like to appear in media giving meaningless statements that cannot be verified. May I know what cock is Tian Chua talking today? It is precisely statement like his that erode the credibility of PR. Hello, please do some solid work lah. Don’t indulge in endless polemic and rhetoric. Oh, I know, it is easier to go on criticising ISA, corruption, and mismanagement. But have the five PR state governments and their respective local authorities made any headway in changing the life of the people yet? Yes, we have two parties now in Malaysia, but they are equally hopeless and useless.
#19 by lopez on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:33 pm
And who is troubling the han people?
no one gets away if not in this life time then in the next and the next and the next…….i think the no more next time no body can close that damn doors ever again.
#20 by AhPek on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:33 pm
Correction:’Your type of reasoning…………………….who has destroyed this country………………………………………………………………………………….’.
And if I may add further.The only rationale for slapping ISA on them is to perpetuate UMNO’s hold on power making this law which was originally intended by its legislators to protect the nation from enemies of state as well as terrorists
expressly intending to destroy the state into one expressly morphed to perpetuate their hold on power.
#21 by sj on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:36 pm
Guys,
Keep your eyes on the ball. Dont let people like Zak to distract you in senseless arguements. He is an UMNO cyber trooper why waste your breathe arguing with someone who is paid by Mat Taib to distract you guys.
I know it is frustrating that Pete has been arrested, but remember what he said. Reread his article and think. Keep the flames alive. That means, Rakyat Malaysia, stand up and being heard. Make more candle light vigil. Pressure the goverment, keep doing it relentlessly. If the goverment refuse to listen, we make our voice louder and louder, to generate the 3RD TSUNAMI AND FLUSH THEM DOWN.
#22 by onetruevine on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:39 pm
melurian Says:
Today at 11: 34.02 (10 hours ago)
rpk is pathetic betting on anwar, now he must be wailing beating his chest in his cell after he learned 16 sept comes and goes …….
how can be be so dump waging his freedom on anwar.
Errrrrrrr ms. melurian,
Might one be so bold to ask if you had intentionally spelled dumb as dump with deeper innuendo or intonations in your message?
Well as for your 2 bits, that there are Malaysians and there are Malaysians but there will only be 1 true undisputed Champion for a better Malaysia. The path chosen by such a resolute is a concept beyond many, especially those who foul the air they breath with sinister utterance. The just and true conviction of such nobleness is scarcely in the possession for many, know what i mean?
#23 by lhslhv on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:50 pm
There are still people who think that PR is no difference from UMNO.
For Selangor under PR, we are given the first 20 cubic meters of treated water free. I have never enjoyed this privilege under UMNO. What I know is everything is chargeable by their cronies.
The first is the highway toll.
The second is the sewage treatment fees.
I am not surprised if oxygen we breath in Malaysia is chargeable, UMNO cronies will propose to the government that we should pay for it.
#24 by yeeyuket on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 10:55 pm
Race Relation Act will not work unless ISA is repealed. Follow by disband of UMNO idealogy, amendment of constitution to adopt Bangsa Malaysia and removal of official racial rights and religion.
Should a particular race claims its right and religion, it will infringe on others’ right and freedom of worship. Politicians exploring race and religon for political mileage should not let off unpunished. Government should instead focus on building of united and progressive Malaysia by raising standard of living particularly focusing on eliminate of poverty and the increase of global competitiveness.
#25 by limkamput on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:04 pm
lhslhv, You are gullible. Precisely with 20 cubic feet of water, the job is considered done. My foot.
#26 by pangwl88 on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:14 pm
THERE IS NOTHING WE CAN DO UNLESS WE TOPPLE AND CHANGE THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT.
#27 by melurian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:16 pm
“Where did Melurian learnt about the Christian episode during the Han dynasty?”
go read about forgotten history on “taiping (not the perak one) revolution”. learn how the leader who failed gov examination claimed received from msg from his brother jesus to eradicate all manchu and set up christian country! and learn how they enforced strict code of conduct from different gender!
#28 by melurian on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:40 pm
“That was why Dr Sun Yet Sen overthrew the Ching dynasty of
China.”
sun yat sen din overthrow machurian lar (he did attempt but all failed then when exile in hawaii and pinang), he just came in elected as president (many ppl saw him fit) after uprising that bring the 300yrs old dynasty collapse. just like manchu din overthrow ming, is cina themselves overthrew ming and fight for the loot before routed by foreigner manchu……
#29 by zak_hammaad on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:43 pm
lchk Says:
>> Lame-ass attempt at trying to justify the ISA.
I am not here to ‘justify’ ISA (especially to you!), it’s existence and use over the decades is a testimony to it’s justification. Those who want to abolish it and itself is proof enough for it’s need. Only fools would want an extreme last resort tool like ISA replaced with time-consuming and bureaucratic court cases and trials, when the threat may have already engulfed the nation!
When it comes to security, no nation gives an inch and I challenge you to provide an example. Debating the pros and cons of ISA is not a bad thing, Washington continues to debate Guantanamo detainees, most of whom do not even know the crimes they have supposedly committed and can not have a court trial due to their ‘status’ as defined by Washington. ISA is a walk in the park compared with grossly prejudicial and blatant abuse of power of security acts by other nations.
#30 by wtf2 on Tuesday, 23 September 2008 - 11:53 pm
The imbecile egghead just want to put RPK away so that all the shit that’s hitting the umno fan will blow away without proof such as the Mongolian case – who else dares to say anything apart from rpk….PKR should and must do all it can to free the innocents
#31 by lhslhv on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 12:05 am
If the enlightened Malaysian is so gullible on only 20 cubic meters of treated water, then we are no difference from the UMNO supporters.
This is the journey of a 1000 miles. The little step is the decisive factor.
PR is still a better bet then the know evil
#32 by Blue.kinetic on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 12:08 am
Those support ISA will paint it beautifully, but what on earth we need ISA when there is judiciary system around. How you feel when you are “punish” without knowing your fault and you are detained merely based on certain human’s judge. Every human has his own interpretion and he must be correct? Let’s the judiciary and judges done their job professionally and do not interfere them. Obviously, ISA is for political own interest.
#33 by mendela on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 12:19 am
I attended the fully packed forum at Chinese Assembly Hall the whole evening. I think at least 3 thousands people attended the forum.
All speakers were brilliant.
Just a small note, the charming Nurul Izzah brought along a laptop with her. She placed the laptop on the table. That laptop was bulky and looked slightly outdated. I am impressed. I am impressed not only at her wonderful oratorical skills, I too glad that she is living a thrifty life.
Nurul is sure a potential future Prime Minister of Malaysia!
#34 by lhslhv on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 12:35 am
ISA is just one of the tools to serve Malaysia. By itself it is not cruel or good. If it is used effectively it can serve its purpose. Of course I do not support this wide-sweeping draconian law. Other laws should be used in its place.
However the people who has the authority to use it determines whether it is cruel or good. When it falls into the hand of the cruel it becomes cruel. If if falls intot he hands of the good it becomes good.
It is just like fire, it can be a useful force or a destructive force depending on how it manifests itself.
Unfortunately Malaysia is a country where the “rakyat” serves the government and not vice versa. Furthermore Malaysia has too many of these people with self-vested interest. Abuse will be inevitable.
As an individual we cannot fight ISA, but we can make a diifference by putting a government that looks after the interest of the poeple. A government that serves the “rakyat” will never use ISA on its people!
Vote for PR in the 13GE if UMNO is still around.
#35 by AsalUsuLMalaysia on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 12:50 am
you know what?…
In Malacca you get charge roadside parking 7days a week included public holidays, even agong birhtday(if theres any).
Many tourist who visited Malacca was summoned for parking roadside without knowing parking coupon needed to present cuz they demolished the parking meter long ago.
#36 by human1 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:14 am
You are not allowed to criticize the government and the political leaders in power. If your voice is loud enough and it does not sound pleasant to the authority, you are considered a threat to public order and national security with your insanity.
You will be deemed insane and sent to the mental hospital. After being interrogated several rounds, you will be detained in the hospital for up to two years, where detention order is renewable upon expiry. Once in every three or six months, sanity check will be conducted. If your behaviour have not changed, the authority will intensify attempts to break you until you start saying how good the government is. Nobody is able to rescue you from the powerful regime. The words from the institution are final, for detaining insane people like you.
This shows how powerful the ISA is, the power to detain without trial. Ironically, the authority has been using the 1969 race riots incident to substantiate the need for ISA, to curb e.g. racial tensions but maintain peace and harmony in the country. Before the incident, the people did not see clearly the danger of the mounting racial sentiments, coming into their way. The damage done was substantially felt by the people for decades. Today the situation has CHANGED, the people are more aware of the damage done to economy and society should the nation falls into instability. Everyone loses.
In RPK case, there is no evidence of uneasiness in society. There has been no massive rally to protest what RPK had posted in his blog. The words coming from government are, he is a threat.
The recent three arrests have raised questions. There are two main categories in the recent controversy, each has the supporters among the people.
Category A (opposition voice, reporter)
———-
PRK
Teresa Kok
Sin Chew reporter
Category B (pro government)
———-
Ahmad Ismail
Zaini Hassan
Mohammad Khir Toyo
Show Cause issued
——————
Sin Chew daily
Suara Keadilan
The Sun
No Show Cause
————–
Utusan Malaysia
Category A consists of ISA current detainee and ex-detainees that had been released. Surely there will be questions among the people, the basis in using the act to shortlist the candidates. The consequence of ISA detention has created even larger division among the people.
How do we ensure its execution is bias free? When applying this act, the voice from authority is final. You don’t even have the chance to clear your name, deemed a threat to national security.
#37 by Jong on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 1:31 am
“May I know what cock is Tian Chua talking today? It is precisely statement like his that erode the credibility of PR” – limkamput
hehehe! I thought no one noticed except me. Yeah, kept repeating they have the ‘numbers’ – don’t we all know that already? He should realise he’s not a celebrity; just shut up and disappear if he has nothing new and positive to say.
#38 by bumi-non-malay on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 6:52 am
Malaysia don’t understand that the current UMNO-BN is still trying to provoke the people so as to declare emergency Rule. Why did you think Pak Lah took the Defence Portfolio. Its to checkmate and be in the loop of any move by anybody.
Remember UMNO-BN wants to stay in power whatever it takes and Barisan Rakyat wants a smooth transition…….(dream on Barisan Rakyat). You need skills, tricks and lies to get rid of UMNO-BN
Rakyat can show support rather than to attend these talk Fest by buying some YELLOW or BLACK Cloth, cut in Strips and tie a pebble with rubberband and LAUNCH it ALL ove KAMUNTING PERAK…..Do it ALL Over Malaysia…..send a Clear Message to UMNO BN the more that is LAUNCHED the more UMNO-BN knows how many supporters AGAINST ISA and detainees there are.
This is BETTER than Petition, protest, demo, talk fest……all tactics of Mat Kilau Passive Pressure. Do it and DO IT SOON!!
#39 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 7:39 am
My girlfriend told me she has the numbers! They are 34 -18-36.
#40 by taiking on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 8:49 am
The are several negative aspects about the ISA.
(1) Scope:
It is too broad and hence can easily be abused. It should be confined to its original purpose which is specific i.e. anti-communist. But now that communist is no longer a threat, the relevant provisions of the Act can be amended (or more like updated) to deal with terrorists threats.
(2) Review:
The minister’s decision to order a detention under the Act cannot be questioned. The Act said so. This feature together with the width of its scope make the Act an attractive one for abuse. The minister’s decision must be opened to review by the court. Nobody can act outside the law for such acts would be unlawful. Neither could a minister. Judges are the final arbiter on legality of acts done by everyone and this should properly include acts by ministers. Having the courts to oversee the use of the power under the Act has the other advantage of ensuring consistency and this would lend credibility to the use of the Act.
(3) Without charge:
A person can be detained for 2 yrs without charge (which may be extended ad infinitum). Now this is draconian. A person is detained for only one reason. Because he has committed some wrong. No laws would punish an innocent person. Only mistaken application of the laws in some unfortunate and inadvertant situations would. So if a person has committed an offence, charge him in court, present the evidence of wrongdoing so that the court could convict him and sentence him to imprisonment where appropriate.
Zak, do the government of your country arrest their political opponents and detain them without charge for 2 yrs? Do they have such power? Its a useful thing to have. I suggest you should start a pressure group in your country to moot a similar Act.
#41 by limkamput on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 8:54 am
owah, the figures are a bit off lah. Seriously, PR must get down to doing some work. I guess it is easier for them to keep on talking rather than doing and this includes Penang, Mr. Lim Guan Eng.
#42 by Toyol on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 9:19 am
RM4.50 for a day’s meal while under detention! I am sure the budget was a lot more. Wonder what happened to the difference?!!! Even in prison, they rob the helpless.
#43 by melurian on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 9:29 am
“I too glad that she is living a thrifty life.
Nurul is sure a potential future Prime Minister of Malaysia!”
what kind of statement is this ? so, someone with thrifty life sure to fit becoming PM ?!
===
“Today the situation has CHANGED, the people are more aware of the damage done to economy and society should the nation falls into instability. Everyone loses.”
nazri was right – that’s why many ppl vote for bn for isa, for stability……
#44 by boh-liao on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 9:32 am
“I am not surprised if oxygen we breath in Malaysia is chargeable, UMNO cronies will propose to the government that we should pay for it.”
No, no, no, you got it wrong there. Soon fresh air and oxygen will be deemed rare commodities. And Umnoputras like Ahmad Ismail will demand that he and his likes will be given the first priority to breathe in fresh air and oxygen. Pendatang and descendants of pendatang will have to wait for their turn to breathe in fresh air and oxygen. Remember THE contract?
Any noise from pendatang and descendants of pendatang will obviously lead to ISA – locked up for the sake of their personal safety ala Syed Hamid Jaafar’s grand theory of ISA.
#45 by swee_ann_tweety on Wednesday, 24 September 2008 - 9:34 am
Did Raja Petra really write the articles on Malaysia Today? I found this rather shocking: -
To all Malaysians:
Raja Petra DID NOT write the articles in Malaysia Today. I hereby statutorily declare that I am the author of “MalaysiaToday” in all your websites” All the articles were written by me aka DatukGoh.com.
Sorry to break your bubbles!!!
All roads lead to BodohLand.com