“916″ symbolised the yearnings of Sabahans for a new Malaysia where they enjoy full citizenship status and benefits as Malaysians

“916” this year has added significance, as it marks not only Malaysia Day but also the yearnings of Sabahans for a new Malaysia where they enjoy full citizenship status and benefits as Malaysians.

In the past 45 years, Sabahans have been denied their full citizenship rights – which is symbolised most vividly by the government failure to declare Malaysia Day on September 16 as a national public holiday.

After 45 years, Sabah’s problems are more than a basketful.

Sabah is a rich state with vast natural resources but the people of Sabah have been denied an equitable share of the wealth of the state.

Not only hard-core poverty, but poverty, should have been eradicated in Sabah by now. Instead, poverty in Sabah is the worst in the country.

Last year, I raised in Parliament the tragedy of the suicide of a 11-year-old Dusun boy from Kinarut, Donny John Dion, because of acute and desperate poverty of his family by hanging himself at home at Kampung Suangon in the Papar parliamentary constituency.

It is a state and national disgrace that in the 21st century, 11-year-old Donny could be driven to suicide because of the poverty and deprivation suffered by his family 45 years after the birth of Malaysia.

The Sabah Chief Minister should have resigned in shame and disgrace at a scandal like Donny’s suicide but there had neither been moral stirrings nor sense of responsibility by any of the Barisan Nasional leaders whether at state or national level for Donny’s tragedy.

Secondly, there is the problem of an equitable share of Sabahans in the “black gold” in the state.

A Pakatan Rakyat federal government will ensure that Sabah will get 20% of the oil royalty from Petronas and not just 5%, so that greater resources can be devoted for the development and empowerment of ordinary Sabahans.

Thirdly, the long-standing rampant corruption in Sabah. The state tops the list of states in the country in terms of corruption.

Fourthly, another long-standing problem of illegals with Sabahans reduced to strangers in their own land – completely overwhelmed by a larger population of foreigners in the state. Sabahans have a right to demand the return to the old days when they can feel safe not only in the streets and public places, but even in their homes when they could leave their houses open without fear of becoming victims of rampant crime.

Fifthly, the marginalisation of the Sabahans, particularly the Kadazan-Dusun-Murut community, depriving them of the full fruits and benefits of Malaysian citizenship.

In the flurry of “goodies” after the March 8 “political tsunami” to ensure the allegiance of BN MPs in Sabah in view of their sudden “kingmaker” role in ensuring the survival of Umno hegemony and Barisan Nasional government in Putrajaya, among the measures announced by the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi were the appointment of a Sabahan to be Vice Chancellor of Universiti Sabah Malaysia and to head the federal development department.

However, what Sabahans want are not just two “one-off” appointments made more for their immediate political effect but a systemic change of mindset where Sabahans are given fair treatment in civil service and political appointments, both in the state and at the federal level, not because of any tokenism or “one-off” show effect but because of their entitlement as full Malaysian citizens.

At the Sabah state level, the Kadazan-Dusun-Muruts (KDM) have been marginalised to become the new underclass in Sabah and Malaysia – a point I had stressed in the last Parliament.

All civil service and political offices, including that of Chief Minister, should be open to all Sabahans regardless of ethnicity or religion, based on meritocracy, competence or public support.

When for instance was the last time that a Kadazan or Dusun was appointed the Yang di Pertua Negeri in Sabah?

Similarly, at the federal level, a Sabahan should have an equal right to be promoted to the highest reaches of the civil service, whether Secretary-General of Ministries, departmental directors or even Chief Secretary of Government!

There are three Federal Ministers from Sabah. Sabahans are most unhappy with their appointments, as one is in charge of museum, another in charge of the planetarium, while another is in charge of “everything and nothing”!

Why can’t a Federal Minister from Sabah be entrusted with heavy-weight portfolios like Education, Defence or even Finance?

These are pointers to a new Malaysia that Sabahans and Malaysians want from the political changes to emanate from “916”.

[Speech (2) at the Sabah DAP forum “Malaysia – Towards A New Era” at Kian Kok Middle School Hall, Kota Kinabalu on Tuesday, 16th September 2008]

1. #1 by Jimm on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 5:47 pm

Court orders Pahang to pay RM60m to logging firm

PUTRAJAYA: The Pahang government was ordered to pay a logging firm RM60mil for breach of contract after failing in its final bid at the Federal Court for leave to appeal on Wednesday.

Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Tan Sri Richard Malanjum who sat with Federal Court judges Datuk Nik Hashim Nik Ab Rahman and Datuk Abdul Aziz Mohamed unanimously dismissed the leave application made by the Pahang government and the Pahang Forestry Director.

Justice Malanjum in his judgment said the question of law submitted by the Pahang government, represented by its legal adviser Datuk Mat Zara’ai Alias was not a noble question and had been raised at the Court of Appeal.

The applicants had sought leave to appeal the Aug 3 decision of the Court of Appeal which rejected their appeal for extension of time to file the notice of appeal.

They wanted permission to appeal the Kuantan High Court decision on May 25 which ordered them to pay RM37,127,471.60, with interest dating from April 5, 2000, to Seruan Gemilang Makmur Sdn Bhd for breach of a logging contract.

The High Court made the order after ruling that the state forestry director was negligent in refusing to use the latest plan submitted by the company which was approved by the state executive council on April 5, 2000, and instead ordering that the original plan which was approved on Jan 7 1997 be used.

On Dec 9, 2002, Seruan Gemilang filed a suit against the Pahang government and the state forestry director seeking RM31mil in damages for breaching a logging concession contract relating to the extraction of timber logs from a 10,000-acre plot of land belonging to Umno in Mukim Bebar, Pekan district.

In its statement of claim, the company said that on July 31, 2000, the two defendants gave it approval to extract timber from an 8,000 acre area in the mukim.

On May 13, 2002, the state forestry gave it permission to log another 2,000 acres, meaning that it was given approval to log an area of 10,000 acres, it said.

However, it said, the state forestry director only allowed it to log an area of 7,000 acres and the remaining area was given to several third parties to log, it added.

In their statement of defence, the defendants said that Seruan Gemilang was only given a licence to log 7,000 acres because they found that the company was not interested in logging the remaining 3,000 acres. – Bernama

What about those land in Sabah that suddenly become UMNO ?
    ACA , please investigate ..

2. #2 by k1980 on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 6:23 pm

BN has lost its spirit, given up its ghost…
    http://www.sapp.org.my/default.asp?page=sapp080917

3. #3 by pangwl88 on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 6:51 pm

YB LIM KIT SIANG:

PLEASE. WITH ALL THE TRICKS IN YOUR HAT, PLEASE DO NOT TOY WITH OUR HOPES.

THERE IS ONLY TWO PATHS FOR PR NOW.

1) UP THERE WITH THE RAKYAT GOVERNING THIS COUNTRY WITH PRIDE, AND BE RECORDED IN MALAYSIA’S HISTORY AS ONE OF OUR SAVIOUR.

OR

2) DOWN WITH SHAME FOR ETERNITY FOR LYING TO ALL MALAYSIANS.

YOU CHOOSE.

4. #4 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 8:54 pm

The “neglected orphans” of East Malaysia have awakened and are STANDING UP!

5. #5 by lopez on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 8:57 pm

I reckon the opposition will thank you for waking up and

But most of all the oppressed people whom you have had before helped to marginalize and angered by your support would not be forgotten. It is better the SUPP be dissolved and members dispersed and only to form and start anew party With new focus, new direction, new leadership, and awaken values.

Dont rest now, it is time for you to show how serious , how committed, and how dedicated are you for a new malaysia.
    All bolihland have seen how you negotiate and arm twisted the bodohwi to submission to your demands for sabahans. Will you still arm twists again for sabahans only.

So how desperate are you for sabahans and for new malaysia, and sabahans how serious are you for new malaysia, do we still need a passport for entry?

6. #6 by pangwl88 on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 9:56 pm

SAPP detached itself from BN.

Now… where will YB Raymond Tan go….?????

7. #7 by baochingtian on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 10:18 pm

my, another blogger got arrested

8. #8 by sheen on Thursday, 18 September 2008 - 10:02 am

Mr.Lim,
    DSAI either act fast or get acted fast.

9. #9 by Joshua on Thursday, 18 September 2008 - 10:02 pm

The pressing questions and comment at the Forum on 16/9/08 for a new era…

Paper for a new era in Malaysia especially Sabah with deep rooted critical issues by Joshua Kong

This Malaysia House was built with much sacrifice and some blood and lots of sweat money for 45 years and now we need to rebuild/refurbish this rotten Malaysia house with a new one. We have spent a lot of money amounting to trillions of Ringgit for 45 years and some say it is 51 years when it had lots of resources but now we need to rebuild/refurbish this Malaysia House or allow it to rot and build a totally new one for the next decades. But do we have the money and resources to do that?

So we have decided to move towards a new era in Malaysia but how do we do that unless we resolve quite a lot of pressing fundamental national issues when Sabah itself has it own set of critical issues. Many people may want to go forward at accelerated pace but many also pulling it backwards.

So we need to move forwards but first we need to do away with known issues also taboo subjects. We are in dilemma of darkness.

Honestly we cannot avoid those topics (race, religion, & culture) and such topics or deep rooted issues are the stumbling block to real progress. So we need to overcome them openly with an open mind.

Tunku Aziz, an ex teacher of Sabah College where I studied 1965-68, for new era we need to overcome these items of corruption and abuses -
    1. As you have spoken recently about the corruption destroying any nation, such corruption are complex and likely not easily detectible and you tell me how do we eradicate corruption for new era in Malaysia especially in Sabah?

2. Do you know that our currency notes in various denominations in your pockets are of varied quality which may look similar but on closer examination, you can see various discrepancies in their printing? We may be talking in term of trillions of Ringgit over a few decades. With one master design and precision printing or minting, how can we observe such varied positions on such notes. So how do we know we are using really legal notes or legalised official fakes ones? You can check that out in your pockets. I have lodged Police Report in 2004.

3. How do we eradicate poverty in the nation especially in Sabah when it is a trap to keep most people poor so that at every general elections, such voters would be bribed easily for RM50-300 each. It is a vicious cycle as who would have such money to bribe the voters? Such people with ill gotten gains would likely get back the ‘handouts’ after winning the election. So how to break this cycle of corruption arising from abuses of power?

4. Another discreet abuses of power and corruption is about the Saham Amanah Sabah (SAS) after losing almost RM400m with impunity was recently revived by 800m new units paid by the State Government for RM200m at 25 cents per unit when the market price was 17 cents. Without full details of the deals coinciding with Permatang Pauh by elections, and commercially it is not understood of the generosity of RM64 million above the market price. It was 15th August and now 16th September – more than 21 days, there is no listed price yet. I want a white paper and a proper inquiry into the deal as it is diverting public fund to benefit 45,000 and likely irregularity in the process.

5. When we have a system of national Governance of several bodies in a Parliamentary Monarchy in sort of democracy including the Rulers’ Conference, the YDP Agong, the Legislative, the Executive, the Judiciary, and the Press plus the regulatory and enforcement agencies like the Police and the Anti Corruption Agency, why should we have to endure such known degradation of such dimensions likely perpetuated by the same groups? Would we ever have a Mr Lee Kuan Yew in Malaysia? So in Malaysia we have a terrible problem when the heads are rotten. Maybe in Malaysia we have an unwritten competition of some people to be richest by ill gotten gains?

6. We all know what corruption can do to the nation in violation of our civil and political rights. Whether we like it or not, the word corruption may not be in the Federal Constitution proper, it is not in the Universal Human Rights, but it is in the Islamic Human Rights in Article 17 in the words of “away from vice and moral corruption”. How do we relate to this paralysis of corruption in all aspects – civil, social, politics and others in a Muslim majority nation when there is a total lack of political will as the role of Anti Corruption Agency is questionable?

7. Food and Fuel Prices Upheaval is the worst in the recent times especially after 5th June, 2008. While the blame is on the global fuel and food dimensions, there are more reasons for the need of such sudden reduction of fuel subsidies. Amongst the reasons are the level of corruption at the high levels is not decreasing and the nation is forced to have the sudden reduction in fuel subsidy resulting in terrible hardship for most people in vicious circle of meeting costs of living on fixed incomes. Would the nation crumble sooner under the scourge of official corruption and mismanagement?

8. The latest provision of RM100 per child under 18 years up to 5 in a family should be provided for a non polygamous family as polygamous families can afford the extra wives..

9. 2009 Budget is an indicator of the nation in turmoil when the highest deficit budget of RM208 billion is quite meaningless with an operating expenditure of RM154 billion and development expenditure of RM54 billion. Without full details on the operating expenditure, an allocation of RM86.3 billion was made for fixed charges and grants. Fixed charges and grants would likely indicate payments for past financial committments – a pay up time for previous mismanagement? We also have two other major parallel fundings namely the 9th Malaysia Plan and the 5 Economic Development Corridors. How would the Government present its performance on each category regularly given the limitation of funds? Would the Government have the needed funds when there was an external debt of RM267 billions?

10. In Sabah since 1963, we had changes of State Governments every 9 years since the first State General Elections in 1967 until 1994 subject to a power grab. Earlier in 1985, there was an aborted power grab. Most state General Elections had been rigged and the Federal Government one way or another has a hand in that. Then since 1994, the 7 Chief Ministers were rotated for better or worst. At the national level, the voters do not decide the Prime Ministers as the Presidents of UMNO have been at the helm of the Federal Government for 51/45 years not rotated amongst the BN component parties. As constitutional abuses have a correlation with the abuses of power and corruption, such entrenchment of top leaders is an issue to be addressed for a new era.

11. In Sabah, BN is led by Sabah UMNO since the power grab of 1994 and it is quite hard to dislodge that power hold for a complicity of factors – fear, dubious citizens and faulty electoral rolls plus money politics. I believe many people want to see a new era but how would this new era be better given the state of political play in Sabah vis-a-vis Federal Government? While other Peninsula States prefer their own people to dominate the local politics, Sabah’s fate is dependent on the promises of Federal based parties at elections. When the choice of state and federal based parties is not so defined for the voters – money politics had been the decider. Some have championed for autonomy but such development can only come with a determined state party or group of state parties. When we have federal based parties dominant in Sabah, the diluted attention is inevitable with more fixed overheads and spending time in the Federal capital. So how do we go for new era even after 916?

12. Sabah has a problem when 916 occurs at the Federal Government. Would there be a change at the Sabah’s State Government? In Sabah we had been led by rolled over people of the previous state government to the next since 1976 until 1994 and slight variations after that but still the same groups of people in office. Would it be just changing shirts with different logos and no new era? We need to know how would the scenario be when 916 becomes a reality so that we are prepared for it. I have two Writs of Summons on GE 2004 and GE 2008 at the Kota Kinabalu High Courts with the mention of the second one on 7th October, 2008.

13. Mathathir and the social contract.
    Would Tun Dr Mahathir prepare the the socalled social contract in a statutory declaration?
    Mahathir has yet to respond to our allegation of Project Mathathir on project IC.
    Irrespective Mahathir wants to back track on the award of citizenships to non Malays or non Muslims in Peninsula Malaya, Sabah would have to address the project IC of 1-2 millions out of 4-5 millions dubious citizens in Malaysia and Sabah also need to re-consider the item in the twenty point of no secession.

14. I have a Mission in politics – after a wilderness of 40 years and the strength derived from that survival and now into the promised land for a new era. I had been a whistle blower since the dark era of USNO, and now someone has come up with the new dawn. This new dawn or new era would be meaningless if nothing shift substantially.

15. Some people talks of autonomy for Sabah, and some people talks of secession, and some people talk of the review of Malaysia Agreement, I would like to emphasize on indemnity for the 45 years of failings, failures, faltering and neglect in Sabah. Without the sizeable funds to be handled by a new system, Sabah would degrade further especially the fossil fuel runs out soon. Sabah is already at the worst of every indicator even with the prevailing natural resources especially we have signed away the crude oil forever for 5% only of Production Sharing Contracts’ pre-agreed price.

16. We would appeal to the Government with the effort of the opposition to resolve the major pressing issues with appropriate indemnity for all the shortcomings to enable Sabah to be developed in line with the national status. NGOs are expected to compliment the Governments in development efforts but when the Governments failed, the NGOs should be allowed to takeover whatever faltered, failed or abandoned projects to be funded accordingly. The Government should allow a special body to be known as MyPAW or Malaysia Private Accounts Watch in the vein of the Public Accounts Committee of the Parliament to provide the additional check and balance of public funds. Government and its agencies should also be penalised for failures and neglects in the context of consumerism

17. I have also lodged 26 Police Reports (2004-2008) worth RM11.441 trillions. As Government does give reward for information of crimes, any such rewards as in indemnities would be handled by a trust funds managed by me and others for the development of new era Sabah. Sabah should set the new direction for the nation.

Joshua Y. C. Kong

10. #10 by Joshua on Thursday, 18 September 2008 - 10:04 pm

Democratic Action Party, 16th September 2008

DAP Headquarters

No 24, Jalan 20/9, Paramount Garden,
    46300, Petaling Jaya, Selangor. Attention: YB Lim Kit Siang

Dear YB.,

Greeting from Sabah

Submission of Issues from Sabah for immediate attention

It is with great pleasure and passion that we have to submit a memorandum on this very important piece of views on consumerism in Sabah vis-a-vis Malaysia.

2. We have come to the stage when it is a paradigm shift of fundamental understandings in the approaches after 51/45 years to reverse whatever failures, failings, and neglect in the development of the nation where there is a majority over a range of minorities of diverse interests despite some quarters have declared success in nation building without taking an objective assessment. We are here not with any personal agenda but public interests of all consumers when the affairs of the nation is taken in totality. We are a small young nation of 27 millions and yet the amount of turmoil we have gone through is indescribable and the amount of profligacy is too much to make any sense now and into the future. When we have a system of national Governance of several bodies in a Parliamentary Monarchy in sort of democracy including the Rulers’ Conference, the YDP Agong, the Legislative, the Executive, the Judiciary, and the Press plus the regulatory and enforcement agencies like the Police and the Anti Corruption Agency, why should we have to endure such known degradation of such dimensions likely perpetuated by the same groups?

3. With this humble submission we are very concerned about the status of Sabah in many areas but we prefer to dwell on a few pressing issues concerning our basic rights and our financial cum wealth standing of a state once the richest one in Malaysia. Other known issues are official corruption, land abuses, discrimination, slavery, apartheid and power abuses.

4. OUR BASIC RIGHTS

4.1. Malaysia Agreement & its breaches

CASH has done a great deal championing our basic rights as consumers and equal citizens of Malaysia mindful of the terms and conditions of Malaysia Agreement which appears to have been breached since the beginning. There have been arguments on both sides but it may be timely that we raise this long outstanding issue with the parties concerned in the internal and international forums including the International Court of Justice as Sabah was an independent nation for 16 days in 1963. We have written to the Queen of the British Commonwealth for a review of the Malaysia Agreement and its breaches and urge patriotic citizens to do likewise

4.2 Project IC

After a prolonged process of campaigning for a Royal Commission of Inquiry on Project IC or Project Mahathir since 2006 including a signatures campaign of more than 100,000 and submission to the YDP Agong, we have yet to see any clear indication of resolving this critical issue of decades while the Government is only concerned about the undocumented illegal people. The violations of basic rights have caused tremendous losses to Sabah and Sabah people to be indemnified when the electoral rolls are corrupted with dubious citizens and phantoms.

5. FINANCIAL CUM WEALTH STANDING

5.1 Food and Fuel Prices Upheaval (FFPU).

CASH had submitted 4 memorandums of FFPU to the Government since early 2007 and little attention was given for the consumers in Sabah. This scenario had become worst since 5th June 2008. The recent adjustments including the slight downward prices on 23rd August, 2008 and other subsidies including those in 2009 Budget proposals would have little impact to reverse the FFPU prior to 2006. Sabah with little domestic economy and isolated from the Peninsula Malaysia would definitely need a greater mobilisation of concerted enhanced efforts to bring the relief to the already deprived and neglected people in the urban and rural areas. Prices of goods and services in Sabah are generally higher than elsewhere in the nation when the income levels in Sabah are not better than elsewhere nationally. We need in the nation of a single price structure in most essential and relevant goods.

5.2 Petroleum Development Act 1974 and its breaches

It is a grave concern that fossil oil in Sabah may soon be depleted and that we may be a net importer of fuel in next few years. It is ironic that the people dwelling on the land with rich resources are deprived of such natural endowment for a proper development while we still have that. It is beyond us to imagine what would happen when such resources are gone for good and that the poor people in big majority would have the greater burden of imported energy costs. It is now a wake up call with FFPU for the leaders and the people to demand proper attention to resolve those abuses of the Petroleum Development Act 1974 always shrouded in mystery away from the Parliament. A Royal Commission of Inquiry is deemed necessary and Sabah to be indemnified accordingly.

6. We would appeal to the Government with the effort of the opposition to resolve the major pressing issues with appropriate indemnity for all the shortcomings to enable Sabah to be developed in line with the national status. NGOs are expected to compliment the Governments in development efforts but when the Governments failed, the NGOs should be allowed to takeover whatever faltered, failed or abandoned projects to be funded accordingly. The Government should allow a special body to be known as MyPAW or Malaysia Private Accounts Watch in the vein of the Public Accounts Committee of the Parliament to provide the additional check and balance of public funds. Government and its agencies should also be penalised for failures and neglects in the context of consumerism

We trust you would give your prompt and appropriate attention as national leaders to keep the nation intact especially we commemorate Malaysia Day only on Borneo Island.

Yours faithfully,

(Datuk Patrick Sindu JP) (Joshua Y. C. Kong) (Hashima bte Hasbullah)

President Deputy President Secretary General

NB: Also attached a schedule of 26 Police Reports worth RM11.441 trillions.