Tan Hoon Cheng makes ISA history – Syed Hamid acquires ISA infamy

Gutsy Sin Chew Daily senior journalist Tan Hoon Cheng makes Internal Security Act (ISA) history for being detained for the shortest period under the infamous detention-without-trial law – less than 20 hours!

She was detained in her Bukit Mertajam home on Friday, September 12, 2008 at 8.35 p.m and released at her Bukit Mertajam house at 4 p.m.

She spent the Friday night in the police lockup and the next morning was being taken down to Bukit Aman in Kuala Lumpur by car but U-turned at Ipoh to return to Penang as “instruction” came for her release.

All for a four-paragraph straight reporting of a speech by Umno Bukit Bendera division chairman Datuk Ahmad Ismail in the Permatang Pauh by-election ceramah on August 23 referring to the Chinese in Malaysia as “penumpang”!

Home Minister, Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar meanwhile acquired ISA infamy for his cynical, preposterous and contemptible explanation and justification for Tan Hoon Cheng’s arrest as well as those of Teresa Kok and Raja Petra Kamaruddin under the ISA.

Albar claimed that Tan was detained for her safety as the police believed her life was “under threat”.

I could imagine former Prime Minister who was also Home Minister for over a decade giving such a preposterous justification – which would be typical of what I had told Mahathir to his face in Parliament about “Mahathirish perverse illogic”.

But unlike Mahathir, Hamid is a trained lawyer!

Hamid has brought the legal profession into grave disrepute with such preposterous reasoning!

Hamid said the police had acted according to law.

Can Hamid quote chapter and verse in the ISA to educate MPs and Malaysians as to when it was amended to include a new-fangled objective to protect journalists from physical “threat”?

But Hamid could not resist providing the real reason for her detention, as reported by Malaysiakin:

Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar has implied that Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng was also to be blamed for the public furore over the ‘Chinese squatter’ remark.

“The whole thing was started by her, (so) it was best that we talked to her,” Syed Hamid said in reply to a question during a press conference at the federal police headquarters in Bukit Aman today.

Asked to elaborate, Syed Hamid said the ripple effects from Tan’s article had caused “the polemic and fear” thus warranting investigations by the police.

“That information is from her and it was published. (Since) it has been published, it is best that we get to the bottom of it by getting the information from her.

With such a dumb explanation, Malaysians cannot be inspired by the confidence that the country has a good, steady, level-headed and solid Minister responsible for national security, law and order.

Here is another one of Hamid’s many dumb explanations in his pathetic attempt to justify the ISA arrests of Tan, Teresa Kok and Raja Petra Kamaruddin:

On why Ahmad was not detained for making racist comments, he explained that Umno had already punished him by suspending him for three years and stripping him of his party posts.

Someone can start a hobby to collect these Hamid Albar “gems”!

1. #1 by Malaysian Always on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:04 am

Such is the intelligence standard of our ministers. Even in an attempt to provide intelligent excuse for their lawless acts, they still fail. They must think that Malaysians are stupid. Either that or they know they are the ones with the guns and no one dares to touch them, no matter what they do and say.

2. #2 by vchi on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:05 am

Sign the petition to free ‘Saint’ Teresa!
    http://www.petitiononline.com/freetkok/petition.html

3. #3 by sang kancil on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:05 am

One law for the UMNOPUTRAS another for the RAKYAT. Its time, enough nonsense.

4. #4 by js on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:06 am

He is useless Minister. Really sad to stay in this country…Malaysia will be hopeless if continue to be ruled by this BN.

5. #5 by k1980 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:08 am

//Hamid is a trained lawyer! Hamid has brought the legal profession into grave disrepute with such preposterous reasoning!//

Make Hamid sit for the CLP exam. Make him go to Kamunting if he fails it.

6. #6 by penang308 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:10 am

I think She should sue the government and the police for wrongful detention and ask for RN100 million compensation. This will teach the bEeND government to be mindful of what they are doing.

7. #7 by Freddy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:22 am

and all these happening in the holy month of Ramadan? in this land of islam hadhari, is flip-flopping lame duck prime minister high on some drugs … ecstasy?

8. #8 by go4change on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:26 am

Many dumb’s up in the cabinet of Bodohwi, he’s one of the glaring one! LOL! Wonder why this country has been the laughing stock of the people outside? Need not need a clue to find out! Shameless BN ministers!

9. #9 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:26 am

B4 we go all vigilant about so-called ‘Saint Teresa’, note that we the Rakyat wants true justice to prevail! We want Teresa to be tried in a court of law where she is deemed innocent till proven guilty.

If she is really guilty of what she had be alledged to have done, then by all means.. lock her up! The incident could really have had lead to possibly yet another racial incident which we so rightly fear.

If no evidence can be produced to back up tale spurn by Utusan… then her accuser and Utusan be taken to task by law…

I personally don’t believe Teresa is stupid enough to so such unthinkable act… and believe she should be allow to defend herself in the court of law… and not have her rights removed via ISA!

10. #10 by just a moment on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:28 am

In this hour of darkness, there are jokes also, think Im going …..nuts. I like this write up YB, especially the last liner.
    “Someone can start a hobby to collect these Hamid Albar “gems”!

Sometimes, I wonder if I should really intimidate my own IQ just to comprehend what this ‘thing’ is trying to accomplished.

While other countries gather as ONE to fight against natural disasters, econmy crisis, moving ahead progress as citizens and nation.
    Ours is busy in dividing the country and on top of disregarding the economy, create more disasters. This is simply outrages!!! Its insult to ones own intelligence by reading any of their respond.

God must set the people free from these Insects, Bigots, racist, dust, scumbags, dictators, oppressors, bullies, brain suckers, IQ-EQ highjackers, moral terrorist, Dreams thives, humans degrader, @@$##, !!##$%%, and words that cannot be found in any existing dictionaries in this entire Galaxy.

Stay cooooool ya ya. Sorry, just need a break,
    ok who won last night? Liverpool or MU?

11. #11 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:36 am

The opposition should point fingers to the police. What are these people’s dogs doing? Can they apply ISA to the robbers and thieves and get them arrested soonest?

Indeed UMNO is shaking now. Rafidah also wanted a closed door meeting with Abdullah and suggested that the prime minister should not be brought down openly (thus secretly by her behind the door?). Suddenly these people are welcoming Mahathir that is kind of difficult to understand. And Mahathir wanted to expose Najix’s dirty linen… What are all these games?

More importantly, without Pakatan Rakyat taking over power, we will have no future. But we don’t get promising news. All the people are crossing our fingers.

P.S. I prefer Malaysia Insider now because it covers news better than Malaysiakini (http://m.themalaysianinsider.com/). The only thing I disagreed with Malaysian Insider is the use of one of the titles: When Umno sneezes we catch a cold. This is a wrong use of the phrase. It is relevant if we describe the economy of US or Japan that is great and that affects us (we depend on them). In this case, the title suggested that UMNO is such a great political party and we live on UMNO. This is not true. We don’t praise a rotten and corrupted party like that

12. #12 by Jeffrey on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:38 am

Now we’re embarrased by his ‘gems’ He should however try harder, learn to be more imaginative, use more colourful language and make wilder claims so as to bridge the still existing big gap between him and Mohammed Saeed al-Sahaf – the famous or infamous Information or Disinformation Minister of Sadamn Hussein’s dying Baghdad regime – that even his enemies have grown to love for his jokes and quotes.Maybe we should support Hamid’s staying on : he make politics more interesting and gives it colour and humour.

Yes he flips flops, which only means he easily makes mistakes but he also easioly makes corrections, when they are pointed out, and thats OK : imagine with a character likeTDM, there is neither neither flip nor flop, neither mistake nor correction, and if a mistake carries on for generations as if it were not, without reversals.

Which is worse? I prefer Hamid anytime. However he hasto try harder to be a little more like Sadamn Hussein’s Disinformation Minister, then he’ll be ‘perfect’. :)

13. #13 by Malaysian Always on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:45 am

I have a theory.

Obviously ABB isn’t going to be up there for long, and everyone is just waiting to jump on him and take his seat as PM.

Maybe, his next choice of PM, instead of najib or whoeever from UMNO, is actually Anwar? Maybe he has also lost faith in BN through all the internal squabbling and blackmailing that he is willing to forsake his party and give reigns over to PR? Maybe he knows that the moment he steps down as PM his own BN members are going to tear him apart for all the crap that has been done by his son in law? Maybe Anwar has promised ABB no action will be taken against him if PR comes into power?

That’s why ABB and Anwar hardly criticise each other, and maybe that’s why Anwar is seeking an audience with ABB? I mean, I think even UMNO isn’t that stupid to use ISA so blatantly to the extent of arresting the female reporter, especially at this juncture in Malaysian history where public sentiment is very much against the government and abuse of power. They know that such blatant use of the ISA will only further erode BN’s popularity and credibility. Maybe it’s just part of ABB’s strategy of weakening BN? Maybe muhhydin knows it, that’s why he is asking ABB to step down?

If not, I really don’t see how Anwar can be so confident of 916, eventhough I pray for it to happen everyday.

Just maybe, but if my prediction is correct, I should switch jobs and become a political analyst instead lol

14. #14 by pjboy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:46 am

After watching the comments made by BN Minister on TV3, it confirms my theory that ISA now only apply to non-BN members. A reporter asked about Datuk Ahmad Ismail & his reply was as expected. Datuk Ahmad Ismail was ‘punished’ within the UMNO party system. The ‘punished’ is like as if Datuk Ahmad Ismail is still a schoolboy. He even stressed the 3 years suspension. Big deal man !

3 years is what we spend overseas to get our degree. Moreover, this Datuk Ahmad Ismail is going on a roadshow to defend his ‘pendatang’ claims??? Is this not encouraging sedition??? Whilst UMNO encourages its members to spread sedition, they lock up others using ISA who did no wrong & prevent sedition.

All that was happening was to clearly intimidate the rakyat & opposition party. We will tolerate this for the next 4 years & vote BN out with mega-tsunami when that time comes. 4 years is not long. We have tolerated for 51 years. What is another 4 years. There’s no room for tyranny in Malaysia. If MCA & MIC have the balls, they should know what to do but dare not do it.

YAB Teresa already issued a 7 day dateline for Datuk Botox & Utusan to respond. Time & time again Utusan has been putting words in other people’s mouth, esp. from the P-R or non-BN MPs. This is also sedition. Making false allegations & bringing up a religious issue that was not even an issue. YAB Teresa should sue Utusan & Datuk Botox if there is no public apology made. These are all personal attacks with a sinister plot behind it.

All Malaysians stand united & with solidarity that all that is happening is false. BN Minister on TV3 claimed there is racial tension. What racial tension??? Pls provide prove. The only racial tension is within BN itself (as they themselves do not know who they are now) & they want to spread this virus to the rakyat in order to declare emergency rule. That’s the primary objective. Create chaos to rule. Glad to say that it will fail.

15. #15 by Jamesy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:47 am

Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng was detained under the Internal Security Act because police believed her life was “under threat”.

“She had received threats recently from unknown individuals,” Syed Hamid said at Federal police headquarters in Bukit Aman, stressing that there was no political interest in the recent detentions.

The swift action was to ensure her safety, he said.
    ————————————————————–

Joke of the century or what?

:)

16. #16 by LBJ on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:50 am

Did anyone examined the picture of syed amid albar in the press conference. he is doing it george w bush style, flanked by officials.

I am not sure if this is right. In the photo in the Sstar he was flanked on side by the director of narcotics and on the other side by the deputy IGP. I wonder why the director of narcotics is in the press conference on the ISA arrest. Can anyone explain?

17. #17 by pjboy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:53 am

So, it seems that ISA will be used to ‘protect’ the public’s life when it is under threat. All our lives are under threat by BN now. So, all Malaysians are under ISA??? C’mon.

ISA = Intimidation & Scheming Act

18. #18 by miles on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:54 am

I almost could not believe when I read about the Syed Hamid’s explanation on the reason of using ISA against Tan.
    That is one of the main reasons why there are more and more people hoping for the success of 916.
    We cannot afford to have such a government anymore, the whole world will die laughing at us. Malaysia is in a really bad shape now. For the sake of our beloved country, BN, please go, as we cannot see you having any intelligence and dignity to make this a better place, the longer you stay in power, the longer we suffer.

19. #19 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:54 am

In all fairness, if Sin Chew was issued a show-cause letter to explain why they printed issues which would have lead to racial disharmony, so should Utusan for printing out Teresa Kok’s issues which is not disimilar in nature.

If Ahmad Ismell was suspended for 3 years, Teresa too should be punished in the similar manner if in truth she did what she had been alleged to have done!

Remember that it is justice, fairness and equality which we want.

20. #20 by lhslhv on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:58 am

When there is no rationale to arrest people under ISA, there can never be a logical excuse for the arrest no matter what.

We can have these kinds of people without wisdom governing us is because we have unenlightened voters. History has shown us that the tyrant will eventually be destroyed in any circumstances. When the people are being fooled until there is no more dignity left, they will revolt. Then the fall of the government from disgrace will be inevitable.

How long can this insincere and dishonest UMNO last is immaterial, they will definitely fall with this kinds of modern day undemocratic tyrants around. It is a matter of time. This is a historical fact.

Just hope that this day comes early.

21. #21 by just a moment on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:02 pm

Heh folks, sorry to divert, In case you need some balance here
    I just notice the blog here truly have some of the best jokes. I hope someday we can look back and just sit back and enjoy it all.

It will come, a day where we can have political jokes, doesn’t matter what race and religion, just for the heck of it with some stand up comedians acting it out, wouldn’t it be wonderful, Of course these places are not meant for ‘Holy, sensitive, racist and the likes’. Truly democratic, mature lot.

This is one I like. Im sure you all can find more classics in this blog alone. Can u imagine the entire blog? Its Malaysia Bolehland indeed.

adamclp Says:

Today at 11: 23.25 (37 minutes ago)
    Who is the Home Minister trying to kid? Ask him to tell it to a dog and i am sure it would be barking ferociously and if it could laugh, it might die laughing at his stupidity.

22. #22 by pjboy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:03 pm

Hi LBJ, as usual ‘semua MP-BN mau gaya, tapi tadak isi’.

He spoke a lot about using the law alright, ie BN-Law not Malaysian Law. It was a shame to Malaysian Law after what happened since Friday.

The ones who are a real threat to the country’s stability are still in UMNO. One of them just got away with a 3 year suspension because ‘he is an UMNO member…so, punished as an UMNO member’. So, an UMNO member can go around the country & cause instability to the country will get 3 year suspension. Reading between the lines, it appears that this 3 year suspension is worst than ISA. Moreover, it took over 3 weeks to act on this rogue UMNO man. While ISA was acted on YAB Teresa within a few days.

Yes, dear Home Minister. We are still in our diapers. How many more embarassment are you going to show the world about Malaysia?

23. #23 by AhPek on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:05 pm

“………………..,it confirms my theory that ISA now only apply to non BN members.”. pjboy.

How come you lay claim that it is your theory.It is known to a lot people maybe even before you were born!

As for Ahmad,did anyone notice that Tengku Adnan,UMNO secretary general was beside Abdullah when he delivered the 3 year suspension ‘punishment’ on
    Ahmad Ismail and the same Tengku Adnan was sitting next to Ahmad Ismail at a press conference called by AI immediately after the ‘sentence’ was meted out so that he could explain why he did not do anything wrong to deserve such ‘punishment’.ALL IN ALL, one big SANDIWARA shamelessly put up before executing this mini OP LALLANG!

24. #24 by sean on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:05 pm

Umno is bleeding from within………..do not worry as time passes by….they will die a natural death…and it is accelerating faster than we thought.
    As for the racist Ahmad that were punish 3 years according to syed fella….that is Umno’s problem…punish him for his whole life..we still don’t care..but most importantly he should be punish accordingly if he creates disharmony and chaos.So what if he is being investigatedby the cops…….
    To.PDRM..START GETTING YOUR ACTS AND PRIORITY RIGHT …….We Malaysian are not blind.Yours corrupt leadership days are numbered.

25. #25 by delCapo on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:12 pm

excuse my lingo here….
    besides making history for the shortest ISA detention…
    this is also the single most talkcock reason to detain anyone…
    followed by the worse statement of excuse by the gomen for the arrest!!!

26. #26 by despin on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:21 pm

Syed Hamid is a liar. It would have been more logical if he had offered these reasons why our three heroes were detained:
    1) Raja Petra – for starting an (unfinished) 513 article that struck raw nerves
    2) Teresa Kok – belated revenge for highlighting nude-squat incident
    3) Tan Hong Cheng – since we were forced to rap Ahmad on the knuckles, we shoot the messenger to pacify the hardliners in our party and to frighten other journalists in future.

27. #27 by Emily Pratt on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:21 pm

Abdullah “The Nicompoop” Badawi practices selective persecution using draconian method that violate basic human rights.

ISA is detention without trial and is being used against bone-fide reporters and civilians to suppress political views.

28. #28 by drmaharajahrk on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:21 pm

Ahmad Ismail utterance that Chinese were behaving like American Jews gives legitimate reason for America and Israel to intervene in Malaysian Internal Affairs.

29. #29 by miles on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:22 pm

Someone must be stupid enough in order to give such an explanation.
    However, the stupidity becomes something terribly horrible and destructive when it actually comes with power.
    A country governed by people with such low level of intelligence is destined to a fall, worse that we can keep laughing at their intelligence but we cannot help but falling together too.

30. #30 by Emily Pratt on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:23 pm

Syed “The Botak” Hamid is using the police force to intimidate bone-fide reporters and civilians to suppress political opposition.

31. #31 by Only Peace on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:26 pm

No wonder our country could not progress as much as Singapore even though we have 1000X more resources.

With such low IQ ministers around, i wonder how far we will be lagging in future.

We need change!……. Thorough change to wipe out low intelligence rubbish from leading our country.

On top of that, we need to wipe out the so called UMNO scumbs from robbing our country wealth further.

My only hope is to see Malaysians to live in a peaceful environment without the fear of colours segregation and religion indifferences.

32. #32 by wanderer on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:30 pm

Syed Hamid, please spare us the agony and stress with your most ridiculous statements. Each time when you open your mouth, I do not know, whether, I should be angry or laugh. Don’t underestimate the rakyat’s intelligence. The frightful thing is, you have not reached the bottom of your evil and destructive ways. How far lower will you go?
    We shall stay united to strongly object such abuses and do not allow these evil deeds to continue unnoticed.

33. #33 by wendyoscar88 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:31 pm

Is this the standard of malaysian legal sistem. God please bless malaysia.

34. #34 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:35 pm

Let’s not start getting ahead of ourselves and promote hatred even towards those who have wronged us as this is exactly what they want us to do….

Look at the way Gerakan and MCA start to mouth off with regards to defending racial rights in both Ahmad Ismell’s remark and Teresa’s ISA arrest!

We Malaysian, don’t need our racial rights to be defended against one another…

Each all walks of life, racial and religion go by hand-in-hand peacefully…. and the only racial tension is what is being told to us by stupid media, and politicians with their own personal agenda..

Heed not such stories and continue with goodwill towards one another, which will give us the strength to see us through this humdinger of politics!

35. #35 by toyolbuster on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:37 pm

We must not regard such stupidity as past-time humour. These morons are blatantly embarrassing and disgracing us Malaysian to the lowest ebb. I travel a lot to many countries for my business, and having to explain with great pain, how we end up with such morons as cabinet ministers, makes us out to be walking jokes, which usually starts with ” ahh, a Malaysian, from the land of morons. If you don’t believe, just take a trip to the little red dot and see how fast your face would turn red instead.

36. #36 by Only Peace on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:39 pm

The only way these ministers and umno cronies can save themselves are to ‘SHUT UP’!

……. That include Abdullah, Najib, Akbar, Ahmad Ismail, Zahid,….

37. #37 by just a moment on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:44 pm

Folks, just a gentle reminder,
    I was directed by one of our bro or sis here in this blog to lend support to Teresa. Hope you’ll drop her a word of encouragement to her family too? Thanks
    pls go to: teresakok.com

38. #38 by Lee Wang Yen on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:56 pm

Sorry, off topic!
    To Anwar Ibrahim,

I support your move to overthrow the BN government on 16 Sept 08. It is our only hope. However, there have been some serious questions about your flip-flopping over your target date, which I think you ought to respond to.

I agree that in usual circumstances, the exact date does not really matter. However, the exact date does seem crucial in your particular case, given that you’ve been reiterating the claim that your plan is on track. In your Al-Jazeera interview, you said that your plan would be achieved on 16 Sept, unless the government acted like Mugabe. We understand that overthrowing a corrupt regime is not an easy task. But we’re also well aware that no one forced the 16 Sept deadline on you – it was completely self-imposed. If an awareness of the risk of delay due to unforseen circumstances did not stop you from imposing the deadline on yourself and reaffirming it repeatedly, your credibility is indeed at stake if the deadline is not met. Having experienced a flip-flopping PM over the past 5 years, the people are tired of politicians who don’t fulfil their promises. So 16 Sept 08 is very significant for you.

Would you please respond to an article entitled ‘Teka teki Anwar menjelang 16 September’ (http://mstar.com.my/cms/content.jsp?id=com.tms.cms.article.Article_59f1b705-c0a85062-158d9550-3118835e). Below is an exerpt:
    ‘Kenyataan Anwar yang sering berubah-ubah itu menampakkan seolah-olah beliau sedang mencari alasan yang boleh diterima umum, sekiranya rancangan yang sering beliau jaja selama ini, tidak menjadi kenyataan.

Beberapa penganalisis politik menjangka itulah apa yang akan dilakukan oleh Anwar.

“Saya tak terperanjat jika beliau berbuat begitu. Itulah apa yang akan dilakukan oleh kebanyakan orang politik apabila mereka gagal menunaikan sesuatu janji, sambil memberi pelbagai alasan kenapa ini dan itu tidak berlaku,” kata Prof Dr Mohammad Agus Yusoff dari Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).’

Thank you!

39. #39 by maestromind on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:57 pm

Current administration is getting dumber and dumber. They can’t even give any logical explanation and still treating the rakyat as clueless. It is they who are clueless, totally detached from from the rakyat. They are more interested in preserving their power.

40. #40 by butul on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:58 pm

I just don’t get it.

Ahmad was suspended by UMNO for uttering racist statements against Malaysians. Why was the legal process or ISA not used against him? That was clearly not an internal issue of umno. Even the DPM apologised to the nation on his behalf.

In the same manner, should not action against Teresa, if she really did wrong, be taken by DAP only? Even the caretaker of the mosque came out to clarify that Teresa did not even set foot in the mosques or involved as alleged and she is still held under ISA.

Jungle law indeed.

41. #41 by butul on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:02 pm

Oh by the way, Mr. Botak, can you issue ISA order to detain all our ministers, including our PM because they need protection?

42. #42 by Dr. W on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:02 pm

Only Peace has made a good point.

Ministers in Singapore are among the highest paid ministers in the world. Yes, even more than what President Bush is getting.

This is essential firstly, to get only the best people in the position. Secondly, giving them no reason to be corrupted. When the big guys running the government started to corrupt, the rest of the smaller components will then follow.

This effort alone, differentiate the good leaders: Mr. Lee Kuan Yew, Mr. Goh Chok Tong and Mr. Lee Hsien Long to the damned ones in our beloved country (you know who).

Why dun we start learning from our friendly neighbour? We could be so much better if the government is made up of nothing but the best Malaysian elites, disregard of our differences.

If the Democratic Party in USA could nominate an African American presidential nominee, the abovementioned is certainly not a mere wild dream of mine.

43. #43 by parameswara on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:03 pm

the ISA is also used in a racist manner.

44. #44 by homeblogger on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:05 pm

In case you need protection under the ISA from now on, please use Borang IS-4, available at your local police station or post office. Protection will be given only for the following reasons :

– You were doing your job well.
    – You told the truth.
    – You have offended BN or Ahmad Ismail by calling a moron a moron.
    – You have chosen NOT to keep quiet about a moron like Ahmad Ismail making racist remarks.
    – You are a hard working MP.
    – You are NOT a Toyol.
    – You are a politician that Toyol dislikes.
    – You are a non BN politician.
    – You are not an ugly moron like Ahmad Ismail.
    – You are NOT Ahmad Ismail.

Borang IS-4 can also be obtained from Ahmad Ismail as he goes on his nationwide roadshow. In case you do not want to fill up the form, you can qualify for automatic approval for ISA protection by going up to Ahmad Ismail and call him a moron as he is the one who controls the government and ISA.

45. #45 by MyFoot on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:06 pm

It is not just the 3 who are ISA-ed. We, all the rakyat, all also ISA-ed at the same time.

Although the 3 of them physically suffered, having their freedom restricted, and security threatened; we are all suffered together.

Please don’t insult our intelligence. The only way is to repeal the ISA all together.

46. #46 by parameswara on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:09 pm

the ISA is as primitive as civilization itself, but now has a modern name.

47. #47 by vsp on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:15 pm

Syed Albar always claim that he relied on police intelligence for his actions. When he caused a huge traffic jam in KL and Selangor, huge losses to businesses and bad publicity resulted. When cornered, he claimed that he did not know because he himself was caught in the traffic jam.

Now, he is doing the same act again. First he said the ISA was used because of police intelligence. When the stupidity and logic of his action was exposed he disclaimed all responsibility and came out with a new spin to the whole affair.

No wonder in just 1 short year when he was appointed the Home Minister, Malaysia has gone into a tailspin. In comparison, it took Mahathir 22 years to destroy the country.

Hooray! now we have a new record in the Malaysian Book of Dubious Records.

48. #48 by MyFoot on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:16 pm

It is not just the 3 who are ISA-ed. We, all the rakyat, all also ISA-ed at the same time.

Although the 3 of them physically suffered, having their freedom restricted, and security threatened; we are all suffered together.

49. #49 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:17 pm

Say, did Albar win his branch and divisional elections?

Where did he get his law degree? Timbuktoo? Did he pass his CLP?

With such intellect bordering being classified as a cretin or moron, we have such a man in charge of Internal Security?

Today he has made a total fool of himself and of the government. Trouble is, he think he is believed but everyone can see he is a jackass through and through.

Al-jazeera, where are you? We have a clown for your show.

50. #50 by Captain on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:17 pm

Brainless and obtuse Hamid Albar is an insult to Malaysians.

Habis all-bar is an aasinine, dense, dull, foolish, idiotic, ignorant, inane, inarticulate, moronic, mum, pantomimic, senseless, stupid, taciturn, unintelligent, blockheaded, dense, doltish, hebetudinous, obtuse, thickheaded, thick-witted.

This gila fella is absurd, addled, anserine, beef-witted, beetle-headed, besotted, blockish, bovine, brainless, brutish, clod, cloddish, comatose, crass, cretinous, dazed, dense, dimwitted, dizzy, dopey, dull, dumb, dumbbell, dunce, fat-witted, fatuous, foolish, footless, foppish, hebetate, humdrum, idiot, idiotic, ignorant, imbecile, imbecilic, imperceptive, inane, inept, insensate, insensible, irrational, irresponsible, lethargic, loutish, meaningless, moron, moronic, oafish, oscitant, pointless, prosaic, prosy, purblind, senseless, silly, simple, simpleton, slow, sluggish, stolid, stultifying, stupefied, torpid, undiscerning, uninspiring tame, unintelligent, unwise, vacuous, vapid, witless, worthless , absurdity, fatuity, hebetation, hebetude, inanity, insipience, moronity, stupidity, stupidness …..

it feels so good to say these of him.

a lawyer? he must have bought his degree at lorong belakang pasar chow kit.

51. #51 by Freddy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:18 pm

latest news ….

people who took loans from ah longs and cannot repay their loans are seeking help from syed hamid so that they can be protected from these nasty and inhumane ah longs …. they earnestly seek to be detained under ISA as their lives are threatened.

hahahahahahahahahahaha

52. #52 by Anak Msia on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:18 pm

botak said : On why Ahmad was not detained for making racist comments, he explained that Umno had already punished him by suspending him for three years and stripping him of his party posts.

does it means that if any opposition MP makes a racist comment, the party can takes action on him and no more ISA ??

If a thief committed an offence, then the parent wack him, then he is no more a criminal ??

what logic is this ?

53. #53 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:18 pm

In the first place, Steven Ee was insensitive to have started the petition which he went around to collect signatures from 189 residents to get the mosque to lower the loudspeaker’s volume citing that the islamic ceramah caused disturbance to them, especially on Sundays whem most of them would want to “wake up late for extra rest after a long week’s work”.

All poor Teresa did was to get sent a copy of the petition which then lead to the entire hoo-hah and her ISA arrest!

54. #54 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:22 pm

We should be tolerant and respectful to all race, their religion and beliefs… as is taught to us in our own religion….

The only way to be one race, one Malaysia!

55. #55 by mendela on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:23 pm

Heard rumors tat UMNO will implode very soon.
    With 5 states currently under PR control, there just not enough money for the UMNO cronies to grab. The factions within UMNO are fighting fiercely among themselves to get a slice of cake.

Read my lips, UMNO is doomed!

A better day for Malaysia is very near!

56. #56 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:26 pm

New York Times
    September 14, 2008
    Malaysian Seeks End to Decades of Firm Rule
    By THOMAS FULLER

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia — By the most obvious yardstick, this country of 25 million people is a democracy: Malaysia has held regular elections since independence from Britain five decades ago.

Yet during that time power has remained in the hands of one coalition, the media has remained slavishly pro-government, the courts have often hewed closely to the government line and critics of the country’s leadership have been detained without trial in periodic crackdowns.

Now Malaysia may be on the brink of a liberal, more democratic era.

The governing coalition is facing the very real possibility of losing its grip on power to the opposition leader, Anwar Ibrahim, who says he has enough votes to bring down the government and might do so as early as this week.

Mr. Anwar promises that if he become prime minister, he would not only scrap laws that muzzle criticism, but also upend the father-knows-best style of government and end a longstanding policy that favored the country’s majority Malays over other ethnic groups.

“I think we’re on an irreversible trend of democratization because it’s coming from the bottom up,” said Sivarasa Rasiah, a human rights lawyer and one of many opposition members elected to Parliament in March.

If Mr. Anwar succeeds in taking over the government, his actions could have implications far beyond Malaysia.

A onetime Islamist student radical, Mr. Anwar has emerged over the past decade as one of the leading proponents of the idea that Islam and liberal democracy are complementary. He has cultivated friendships with leaders who share his views in Turkey and Indonesia, and he has built bridges to the West.

He once served as a catalyst for the increasing religiosity among Malaysia’s Muslims. Today he walks the fine line between the secularism of the country’s Constitution and the demands by some Islamic forces, including those in his own coalition, for socially conservative policies.

Mr. Anwar, a former deputy prime minister who once mingled with the very establishment he is now challenging, was re-elected to Parliament in August.

As he and his allies in the opposition gained increased political backing over the past several months, the government under Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has begun to strike back. In July, Mr. Anwar was charged with sodomy for the second time in his career in a case that a large majority of Malaysians surveyed in opinion polls say reeks of politics. And several newspapers have been warned about stepping out of line.

On Friday, a member of Parliament for the opposition, a newspaper reporter and a prominent antigovernment blogger were detained under the internal security act, which allows for indefinite detention without trial. Syed Hamid Albar, the home minister, told reporters on Saturday that the blogger and Parliament member had been detained for inciting ethnic tensions but that the reporter, who was released Saturday after 16 hours, was only questioned about her reporting on a recent controversy involving a member of the governing party.

The governing party has leveled accusations of corruption in the opposition’s campaign to win over defectors: Khairy Jamaluddin, one of the party’s most articulate members, has denounced what he calls “underhanded tactics,” saying members of Parliament have reported being offered money and positions of power in a future government, a charge the opposition denies.

Last week, the battle between the government and opposition flirted with absurdity. First, the governing party dispatched about 50 government lawmakers to Taiwan for what it called an agricultural “study trip,” which appeared to be an attempt to stop them from crossing over to Mr. Anwar’s side.

On Friday, opposition lawmakers followed them to Taiwan, checking into the same hotel in the hopes of convincing would-be defectors to take the leap.

Mr. Anwar initially vowed to bring down the government by Tuesday, saying he had written commitments from enough lawmakers to force the government’s collapse. But he now concedes that the governing coalition’s move to send lawmakers to Taiwan could succeed in drawing off some support, forcing him to delay his bid for power.

The changes that Mr. Anwar has proposed could change Malaysia substantially and fast.

“All the draconian, oppressive laws must go,” Mr. Anwar said in a recent interview.

He promises to repeal Malaysia’s toughest laws that give the government the power to detain opponents without trial, ban unauthorized protests, bar students from participating in politics and keep the news media in line by requiring newspapers and magazines to apply for annual publishing permits.

He would also free all “political prisoners.”

Perhaps most explosive, he said he would end many special privileges for his own ethnic group, the Malays, who are given a variety of advantages, including discounts on houses, exclusive rights to government contracts and a reserved quota of stock-market shares. The privileges have angered the country’s two other main ethnic groups: Malaysian citizens of Chinese and Indian descent.

It was that anger, directed at the ethnically mixed governing coalition, that helped the opposition win just under half the popular vote, by far the best showing for the opposition since independence.

Mr. Anwar contends, and many experts agree, that most of the special privileges are enjoyed by a minority of Malays connected to the governing party. Still, it remains to be seen whether Malays will accept Mr. Anwar’s proposal of policies based on need, not ethnicity. Ethnic tensions have flared in the past, notably in 1969 when at least 200 people were killed in race-related violence.

Mr. Khairy of the governing party argues that Mr. Anwar is moving too fast by proposing to scrap the country’s harshest laws: Malaysia needs them to guard against ethnic strife, he said in an interview.

“We are a maturing democracy,” Mr. Khairy said. “These issues, to me, still need a lot of debate. We need to continue the way the Abdullah administration has done it, which is to reform gradually.”

At least as challenging as balancing the rights of ethnic groups would be managing the struggle between those who prefer a secular government and those who want a wider application of Islamic laws for Muslims, who make up 60 percent of the population.

In a recent interview in his sparsely furnished office, Mr. Anwar apologized to a visitor for the heat and stuffiness; he keeps the air-conditioning off during Ramadan because fasting from sunrise to sunset gives him chills.

But he criticized the decision of the Prime Minister Abdullah to suspend Parliament during Ramadan. “He thinks he’s representing himself as a good Muslim,” Mr. Anwar said. “I think it’s reactionary.”

“If you want to fast, go ahead,” he said. “But go on with your life. If you fast and it causes productivity to drop there’s something wrong with that.”

Some Muslim groups have called for greater punishments for apostates, those who leave the religion, and stronger enforcement of social laws like keeping unmarried couples chaste.

While Mr. Anwar clearly has a strong following, many Malaysians, especially those in the elite who have much to lose if the opposition takes power, question his sincerity and wonder whether a leader who has gone through so many permutations in his career can be trusted.

Mr. Anwar rose to prominence as an Islamic student radical before joining the governing party and eventually becoming deputy prime minister. But he is perhaps best known for his sudden downfall in 1998 shortly after challenging the prime minister at the time, Mahathir Mohamad, for power.

Mr. Anwar was detained under the internal security act, beaten, given a black eye by the chief of police (who lost his job over the episode) and sentenced to 15 years for sodomy and abuse of power in trying to cover up the sodomy allegations. In 2004, the country’s highest court struck down the sodomy verdict and released him, citing faulty procedures by the prosecution, but the judge, in a highly unusual statement, said he believed that the sodomy allegations were true anyway.

Like the charges in the first trial, the latest charges of sodomy, which were lodged by a 23-year-old campaign aide, are considered highly politicized. The deputy prime minister, Najib Razak, a chief rival of Mr. Anwar’s, initially denied that he had anything to do with the case but then admitted that he had met with Mr. Anwar’s accuser before the allegations were made public.

Salehuddin Hashim, a high school friend of Mr. Anwar’s who is now the secretary general of his party, admits to doubts about Mr. Anwar’s past, especially his years in the governing party. Even the party’s leaders admit that money politics and corruption are rampant within the party’s ranks.

“Anwar wasn’t a paragon of justice or virtue,” Mr. Salehuddin said. “He was part of the racket.”

But he said that six years in prison changed Mr. Anwar and made him more sensitive to injustices in Malaysia, a relatively prosperous country with one of the highest levels of income inequality in Asia.

“It’s a credit to Anwar that he managed to galvanize people into focusing what they are unhappy about,” Mr. Salehuddin said. “He personalized injustice.”

57. #57 by Captain on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:27 pm

It is like UMNO is durian and nonmalays are watermelon. In the case of Tan, Ahmad fell on her. She is crushed.

In the case of Teresa, she fell on Toyo, she crushed.

This is bodohwi double standard. Gerakan , MCA and MIC, after this if stay a minute longer in Barisan, will go down in history as the biggest traitor in malaysian history. We shall make sure up to 3 of their generation will be ashamed of them. The leaders are as ‘shit and smelly’ as the moron ‘habis all-bar’

58. #58 by mendela on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:29 pm

Even if Teresa really did submit the petition, what is the big deal about it?

Sensitive issue my foot!

Many hardworking Malaysians only have 5 or 6 hours of sleep, why we need to deprive them of the right to get some good sleep?

These hardworking poor Malaysians are not stealing any money from the people. They are just trying to make end meets. They are unlike UMNOputras, stealing and stealing from Malaysia coffers!

59. #59 by sheriff singh on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:35 pm

From the Star:

” DPM: Be fair to all races

PEKAN: Muslims must be fair to all races in accordance with the teachings of Islam, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

He said even in the old days, Muslims were taught to protect the rights of others and treat them with all fairness.

“Islam means peace and properity. It is suitable for all people of any race.
    …..

“In this holy month of Ramadan, we must continue to do more good and charitable deeds to gain worldly merits and in the thereafter,” he said in his speech after presenting aid to the poor and single mothers in Kampung Padang Polo mosque here yesterday. ”

Yeah. Right. Look who’s talking.

Why is the country in crisis mode that people stayed up all night in silent prayer for Allah to intervene?

60. #60 by just a moment on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:35 pm

toyolbuster Says:

Today at 12: 37.34 (43 minutes ago)
    We must not regard such stupidity as past-time humour.
    ===========================================

With all due respect, if you have the wrong picture here, Im sorry for it. You will not understand how I feel, going thru this entire drama. But let us not assume that any of us is enjoying and taking it as part-time humour. Far from it.

Lots of people here are sacrifying our normal activities and we are suffering in different degree of hardship, heartaches, and tears, not to mentioned the risk of under ISA?

I choose not to be held ‘bondage’ by this external dark forces thus to live and remained hopeful that there is also another side that may be brighther. Thats what I called “balance” to keep me sane.

Cheers.

61. #61 by HB Lim on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:36 pm

Dr W talked about quality Singaporean politicians while many others talked about the low standard of our own and this prompted my recall of a joke which I now share with you.

Pak Lah was so disappointed with his cabinet for being inefficient and corrupt that he decided to call on Lee Hsien Loong and ask him how he managed to have such an efficient and incorruptible cabinet.

On hearing Pak Lah’s woes, PM Lee said, ‘Simple, Pak Lah, I choose able men for my cabinet.’ Pak Lah asked, ‘Yes, but how do you know that they are able?’

PM Lee replied, ‘Just ask them simple questions to test their intelligence, don’t need to be too difficult. Let me illustrate to you.’ Just then, Tony Tan was walking by, PM Lee called out to him, ‘Hey Tony, come over here.’ Tony obediently walked briskly over. PM Lee asked, ‘Tell me, Tony, who is your father’s son ?’ Tony Tan immediately replied, ‘Me! Of course.’

PM Lee turned to Pak Lah and said, ‘See, all my ministers can answer this question. Why don’t you go back and try.’ Pak Lah thank PM Lee and left. Once he was back, he immediately summoned Najib, his deputy, and shot the question at him, ‘Tell me, Najib, who is your father’s son?’

Najib was shocked beyond words and did not know the answer. After a while, he recovered and said, ‘Boss, let me find out and I’ll tell you tomorrow.’ Pak Lah, a bit disappointed, agreed, hoping that Najib will give a good answer tomorrow.

Meanwhile, Najib was panicking that his boss was testing him. He tried desperately to find out the answer from his staff, but none of them knew the answer. The next morning, he decided to call George Bush for help. Surely the most powerful person in the world must know the answer.

When Bush picked up the phone, Najib said, ‘Hello, Bush, can I ask you a question?’ Bush, very busy, replied, ‘Alright, but it better be good !’ Najib quickly asked, ‘Tell me, Bush, who is your father’s son?’ Bush was fuming, ‘Of course it’s me, you stupid !’ and he slammed the phone down.

Satisfied that he’s got the answer, he confidently walked into Pak Lah’s office and said, ‘Boss, I’ve got the answer to your question.’ Pak Lah, happy that his deputy wasn’t that dumb, said, ‘So tell me quick, who is your father’s son, Najib ?’

Najib confidently replied, ‘It’s George Bush !’

Pak Lah slapped his own forehead in disgust and said, ‘No you stupid, it’s TONY TAN !’

It is just a joke but judging from the flip-flops and the unimaginative (to use Jeffrey’s expression) plans and justifications for the recent ISA arrests, it seems not very far from the truth about the ability of our politicians.

Another good one which I heard last night from my daughter is the following.

Bush, Blair and Badawi were somehow in Hell and all had to make calls back to their Ministers to be updated on the latest in their respective countries. Bush called and spoke for 5 minutes and was charged by the keeper of Hell a few million USD. Blair also spoke for a few minutes and was charged a few million GBP. Badawi spoke for more than an hour for there were much happenings in his country but at the end of the call was only charged 20sen. Bush and Blair complained to the Keeper and the reply was that while Bush and Blair had made long distance calls, i.e. to the USA and UK respectively, Badawi was only making a local call, from hell to hell!

Again, it is only a joke. Would I be ISAed? Or slap with a sedition charge for inciting hatred against the government? But I think it is beyond hate now; I just want it to go away.

62. #62 by drmaharajahrk on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:40 pm

Dis Syed Hamid’s father give stupid statements in the 60 s and 70s ? Mayb it is hereditary like baldness ?

63. #63 by taxpayer on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:41 pm

Miss Tan Hoon Cheng makes history. She is the first person to get police protections under ISA.

64. #64 by Captain on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:42 pm

using loud speaker for Azan only, muslims and non muslims can tolerate. But for ceramah, hours long, impossible.

Some religious morons even scare and shock babies early morning, thats is torture. My religion Islam cannot be part of such irresponsible acts. My religion is not cruel. The inane over zealous so called muslims (they cannot be) are cruel and inhuman. They should not tarnish my peaceful Islamic religion.

The Ustazs like the ustaz who reported against Teresa and RPK must not forget, the pay that they receive and the scholarship that they used to become ‘terr..rist’ and public enemy were paid by malaysians including nonmuslims. The surau and masjid that they pray in is also paid by the nonmuslim money either taken from public coffer or thru paying more for their houses when bought from developers.

To me Steven did the right thing. He was not only bringing sanity to these insane religious people but his act could invariably save them from joining “Habis All-bar” to hell.

65. #65 by pathfinder on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:43 pm

Ridiculous..ridiculous. M…f…k.r, this is definitely not stupid. This is a blatant disregard of the rule of law, an abused of ISA. This is intimidation. Lies, spreading of evil lies. Discrimination. You name it….This is really telling all Malaysians with a slap on our face that you are all damn bloody dumbo. In short you all are STUPID MORONs> Yes, that BOTAK says that he is using ISA to protect Tan. A Minister..qualified lawyer…BAR council should remove his name from their list. Yes lawyers, are you not embarass by that sort member who acts recklessly and issue such illogical action and statement. Where the HELL in ISA can the police use to arrest the victims to protect them…. I rest my case.

66. #66 by Loh on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:48 pm

Freddy,

A good one. Please keep us informed if ISA-Ah Long unit is established.

67. #67 by Dr. W on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:53 pm

Ha ha ha ha.

Bravo HB~ We can really make good use of your humour at this critical moment.

68. #68 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:54 pm

Is this news true or fake? I could not believe it…..

Wrong use of ISA: De facto law minister
    By IAN McINTYRE

KOTA BARU: The Internal Security Act (ISA) should not be used against civilians, de facto law minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim said.

The Act should only be used against terrorists or those trying to topple the Government by force, the Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department said at a press conference at his home here on Sunday.

He was commenting on the arrests of three people — Seputeh MP Teresa Kok, Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kama­rudin and Sin Chew Daily reporter Tan Hoon Cheng — under the ISA.

Tan has since been released.

“I will seek a meeting with Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to have a frank discussion about this issue to seek his views as soon as possible,” he told reporters.

“I know I am breaking rank here … I am prepared to face the consequences. If I am to resign, I will do so.

“I am not a trouble maker and I don’t want to cause any trouble for the Prime Minister, but I have my principles and will always be a vocal critic of the use of the ISA,” he added.

69. #69 by just a moment on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:59 pm

ok folks thanks
    Captain Says:
    Today at 13: 17.48 (31 minutes ago)
    toyolbuster Says:
    Today at 12: 37.34 (1 hour ago)
    homeblogger Says:
    Today at 13: 05.45 (43 minutes ago
    Freddy Says:
    Today at 13: 18.08 (31 minutes ago)
    HB Lim Says:
    Today at 13: 36.40 (13 minutes ago) and all of you.

Since ISA crackdown, I think I only had less than 12hrs sleep all in all since last Friday. Now, I need to ZZZZzzz to catch, at least Im more mental balance. Lets continue to pray for peace and All our respective Gods will do justice to this land soon.

Don’t joke too much or get carry away,ok? Just for recharge purpose only. Need more energy later on until 16th Sep?
    15th Tomorrow to Kelana Stadium? Busy schedule ahead indeed at expense of my business income. Anyway, its worth ever dime of my time. Stay safe everyone. Adious for now, Cheers

70. #70 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:00 pm

i slept 6hours daily, sat in shopping 12hours daily i felt miserable whenever i pay my tax licencesssssssS staffs epf’s socso etc

It’s pain in de ass when i paid 6k-7k rental and other utilities fee monthly and im just driving 15yrs old proton while this fat politic goose are sprinkling our wealth like nobody business.

And the Govern SME Loan are nothing but fake promises, the CIMB bank ive been applying for it for 3weeks without answer, when i follow up the guy simply told me im not qualified as my business not effected by the fuel rise, i mean WTF?

71. #71 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:00 pm

Captain, I am a chinese and I do not disagree with you… however in all religion, TOLERANCE is a VIRTUE!

A ceramah is not unlike a christian sermon, both with the sole purpose of promoting peace and understanding among all brothers and sisters.

If we as Chinese can be tolerant to the religious funeral chantings of our next door neighbours even once in a while, we too must be tolerant to the religious practices of all races in Malaysia in order to achieve racial harmony..

I totally disagree with Teresa having to be made a scrapgoat in this entire hoo-haa which could have been avoided if tolerance been practised throughout all race and religion in Malaysia.

72. #72 by grace on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:14 pm

Pak Lah and Syed Hamid,
    WHY IS AHMAD ISMAIL STILL FREE ? AN IDIOT ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT HIS REMARK WAS VERY,VERY INFLAMATORY! IF YOU CAN”T DETAIN HIM UNDER ISA, YOU BETTER RESIGN! ALL OF US CAN SEE WHO IS RIGHT AND WHO IS WRONG!!!
    DON’t BULSHIT THE RAKYAT ANYMORE> THE JOKE IS ON BOTH OF YOU!!!

73. #73 by kanokporn on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:25 pm

breaking news: next to be arrested under isa is miss tan’s mother who bought vegetables at the bm market during the ramadan period as the wet market was alledged to become very slippery. she is expected to be arrested at her home after coming home from the market.

dear yb sir LKS and anybody please;

is there anything that we, each of us do starting tomorrow on a everyday basis to show our disgust to the police/govt and their bosses until some point in time when the police realise that they are there for us malaysians and not against us? we must show them how shameful and intimidating their acts have become to us and the world.

example put our heads down whenever we walk by a policeman or stick one finger up or salute them? i dont think we will be able achieve much at parliament as long as these same morons control the stage with the mental case bodowi. thank you

74. #74 by Rocky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:26 pm

Mr.Bean is smarter than Syed Hamid la.Minister works for dumb PM so what do you expect..dumb minister lo.

I’m sick of this gomen…please change it

75. #75 by UzMiNoOnist on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:28 pm

I got it now, this is how we can get the people you hate to be in big trouble.

1. Threaten him or her so the Police will do a ISA and detain the person for at least 20 hours.
    2. Make a false complaint about a religion / racial issue, get the Main News Media to pick it up, file a Police report, so the Police will do a ISA and detain the person for at least 60 days,
    3. Get a government department to file a Police report, so the Police will do a ISA and detain the person for at least 60 days.

And get off scotch free

Or if you want at least 3 persons and 3 institution to be in trouble and the Police will do a ISA on them, make a racist slur and make sure a reporter published it in a Newspaper you don’t like, don’t apologize for it, challenge the Police to arrest you under ISA, promised to do a road show. Don’t worry you will be still free and roaming in Penang.

Oh I one more, make sure you register as a UMNO member.

76. #76 by just n free on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:34 pm

On why Ahmad was not detained for making racist comments, he explained that Umno had already punished him by suspending him for three years and stripping him of his party posts.

I suppose if he murdered another person, then Umno only need to suspend him for another 3 years!
    No need for a trial, or court case.

77. #77 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:35 pm

All my friends here, I always like to mention that there is nothing we should turn against Malay and other races in Malaysia. Malays are very peace loving people and Islam is a wonderful religion. The general Malays are also marginalised by the minority umno Malays who hold power and seeking for their own wealth and benefits. We should also help these Malays to fight for their rights. again, it is umno who turned against us and not the Malays

78. #78 by mybangsamalaysia on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:47 pm

“Datuk Seri (is disgrace to our King)” Syed Hamid Albar should be the first one applying for detention under ISA on 16 Sept 2008, to protect him from Rakyat for asking him smart question.

It is really the stupidiest answer from a minister of Malaysia (3rd world mentality).

PKR, DAP and PAS should learn from BN positively all the mistakes BN has made so far (and Syed Hamid’s mistake is all time best record) so that we only select honest, capable and hardworking leaders to lead the country after new Government is formed.

I think Syed Hamid just want his name to be in our history book since BN’s life spend is only a couple of days more. If not now then when to be famous again. Congratulation Syed Hamid, you have made it to the top.

79. #79 by drmaharajahrk on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:50 pm

seriously is making stupid statements hereditary like baldness ?

80. #80 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:51 pm

Agreed with pulau_sibu.

I recall my parents telling me how our malay neighbors openly inviting non-muslims into their home when May 13th began!

Love thy neighbour does not mean love your neighbour of similar race/ faith… but love them irregardless of race, religion and creed!

Imagine a group of Malaysians, muslims and non-muslims hand-in-hand; the strength in unity will triumph over any evil doers who are promoting racial disharmony.

One Race, One Malaysia!

81. #81 by mybangsamalaysia on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 2:56 pm

From the Star:

” DPM: Be fair to all races

PEKAN: Muslims must be fair to all races in accordance with the teachings of Islam, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

…… YB LKS, send Najib a DAP membership form

82. #82 by mauriyaII on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:04 pm

Datuk Zaid may be true to his principles and may even break ranks to put in his view on the judiciary and the abuse of the ISA but is he willing to sign his own political death warrant?

He should if he is annoyed, disgusted and totally repugnant of the cooked up charges of sodomy, the disappearance of people making SDs, the lethargic legal process to find the guilty ones in the Altantuya murder case, the spate of swearing on the Quran and at holy places and the blatant use of ISA on innocent people.

Dato Zaid, aren’t you aware of all the above?

Aren’t you aware the Barisan Neraka government is yet to pass the bills to reform the judiciary and to make the police accountable for their actions?

Aren’t you aware the BN is condoning the actions of racists such as the one that took place at the Bar Council forum?

Aren’t you aware that UMNO just gave a 3 year suspension (or is it a sabbatical?) to the smelly fellow in Penang to go and corrupt all UMNO divisions in the country?

Are you aware that the country is in distress with rising inflationary trends and the citizens suffering because of the decisions that Pak Lah and his cabinet took on the hike in fuel prices?

Are you aware the country’s image is being eroded day by day with the antics of people like TDM, Syed Albar, Najib, Rais Yatim, Hishamuddin, the tainted Mike Tyson, Ali Rustam, KJ and Bung Mokhtar?

How long are you going to be a member of a party that has lost all sense of responsibility, intergrity, transparency and accountability?

Isn’t it time to walk out of a party that has betrayed the aspirations and trust of the rakyat?

I would expect no less from a man of principles and who hold true to the teachings of his faith.

83. #83 by pulau_sibu on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:10 pm

Pakatan Rakyat should take over the country now (14th September). We don’t know who is controlling the government. We are not sure who used ISA against the people. The Law minister was against it, MCA against it, MIC, Gerakan,…. Then who used it? Was it the Home minister alone? Was it Abdullah? Or the fourth floor boys? The country will soon be in chaos if no one takes control of it. By now, Abdullah has definitely fallen into coma

84. #84 by max2811 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:11 pm

If only Msia was governed by more intelligent ppl, we could have overtaken Spore years ago. We are always left with morons and corrupts from UMNO, MCA and MIC.

I see Mr Anwar is our only Saviour, not MCA or BN. This is the beginning of the ‘transition’, where patroitic Msians will come out and lead Msia out of the doldrums.

Even my 80 year-old mum says this is stupid.

85. #85 by IbnAbdHalim on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:16 pm

For one thing Mahathir is right. We really have a half-past six cabinet. It’s sad that we have morons and idiots as our ministers. They gave moronic excuses for the detention of Tan Hoon Cheng under ISA. It’s an insult to our intelligence. Hope we can do away with these Jurassic ministers sooner.

86. #86 by Wisdom above on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:29 pm

YB Teresa Kok may be detained at IPK Melaka.

Have a candle vigil at IPK Melaka ?

The Minister for Internal Security or the Minister of Home Affairs falls within the meaning of Section 8 of ISA 1960(Revised 1972) ?

Let’s Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace & Tranquility to prevail.

Syabas to all Peacemakers.

87. #87 by Freddy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:30 pm

insanity to idiocy to sanity … the comedy of errors

to look at the bright side, syed botak hamid did well in diffusing the tension …. by being himself!

hahahahahaha

88. #88 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:35 pm

Mahathir is 82 years old and as such should be treated as we would any old man of similar age! with much respect and a deaf ear….which is more that I can say for those who are encouraging the 82 year old to come back to AMNO!

If anything were to happen to him due to the stressful nature of our political scenerio, the nation will never forgive them.

89. #89 by Freddy on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:35 pm

malaysia makes headline everywhere throughout the globe!

google – malaysia criticized for ‘ridiculous’ arrests

currently 35 results returned!

now … that’s malaysia boleh ala umno!!!

90. #90 by anak_malaysia on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:46 pm

confirm. that syed al-blur is no longer a qualify lawyer. That is why he need to make a move from law profession to politics. his move on the various comment from the al-jazeera to the recent ISA comments proved his pea-brain really not working. he is an insult to malaysian intelligence.

91. #91 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:50 pm

Violating Humans right, democratic rule had failed to apply its constitution. What else… dictatorship role comes in play, discrimination, power abuse ISA, manipulate mediums and so on!

Can we vow for temperary UN SANCTION agains these arrant inhumanity government?!

Cause the current situation in our country definately qualified.

92. #92 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 3:58 pm

Wisdom above Says:

Today at 15: 29.57 (20 minutes ago)
    YB Teresa Kok may be detained at IPK Melaka.

Have a candle vigil at IPK Melaka ?

The Minister for Internal Security or the Minister of Home Affairs falls within the meaning of Section 8 of ISA 1960(Revised 1972) ?

Let’s Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Peace & Tranquility to prevail.

Syabas to all Peacemakers.

WHAT? WHEN?!! ill be there!

*As far as i know “retarded” Malaccan are bunch of clawn who dares not abide their masters command. Aka ALi Rustams RAWR!~

93. #93 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 4:08 pm

Light a candle at your gate/ balcony tonight and say a prayer for Teresa/ RPK if you cannot attend the vigil!

There is a GOD and HE will hear our prayers!

94. #94 by teacher on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 4:09 pm

The MCA,Gerakan and MIC disagreed with The Govt that the ISA should be used on all 3 of these victims. Are you not part of the Govt?I have always been told and loudly too that the Barisan Govt makes decisions collectively. Now we can clearly see what you mean by collective decision making. This decision to use the ISA is against what you stand for. So what do you stand for??? Please get out of BN while you still can before your thrown out by the people. This proves that you 3 parties in BN are nothing more than bootlickers, apple polishers and a#####@@@.

95. #95 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 4:17 pm

MCA, Gerakan and MIC and even PPP only makes very selective noise when it suits them…

They have had their chance and made a mockery out of their so-called “defending of our racial rights” for so many years now! If they had the interest of Rakyat at heart, they would have long dis-associate themselves from Bolehland..

but as such, they are still Bolehland partners, thus speaks with fork tongue!

96. #96 by ktteokt on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 4:26 pm

Am I to teach my children and my children’s children that the next time their lives are threatened, the first thing they should do is to run to the nearest police station and fill up an “ISA Protection Form” to request for protection against danger?

97. #97 by milduser on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 4:31 pm

The Dumbest Home Minister Ever

“So now you know how it works, if your life is under threat they arrest you not the person making the threats. Hello, what do you think Malaysian are stupid or what?” – Marina, MT

Let’s change the ISA to Internal Protection Act (IPA).

ZAK, where are u? Are u in the company of the dumb? No need for long pieces of comments. Reserve your “wisdom” to yourself. Your later generation might need them.

98. #98 by nyghtsky on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 4:31 pm

No, keeokt. You should teach your children and children’s children to play together with children of all race, religion and creed in Malaysia, thus ensuring an mutual respect and understanding for years to come!

In that future, the friendship, understanding and mutual respect towards one another will ensure that they ( our children ) will never undergo what we are going through now!

Peace!

99. #99 by Jimm on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 5:09 pm

I have been praying for the release of all those ISA detainees ….each day.
    As my heart weaken, I started to pray that SA’s children will die off tragically one by one , right in front of his eyes the same way that he lied to the whole nation.
    This kind of heartless and brainless creature brought about massive shamefulness to the highly respectable race that he happens to wear the same skin color.
    I would like to see his children pass-overed one by one including all his wives… leaving him alone to survived until old age.
    My thoughts may have been evil now ..as I am mirrored his actions of damages done to this country.

100. #100 by yhsiew on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 6:04 pm

——————————————————————-

Syed Hamid is equating UMNO to a court. That is to say the decision made by UMNO is on equal footing as that made by a court.

There is a danger that UMNO may eventually eliminate all courts in Malaysia and take the place of a court!

101. #101 by kerishamuddinitis on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 6:48 pm

Ahmad IMMIGRANT is a GENIUS! He truly is. He is secretly working to strenthen PR and weaken BN. What a masterstroke – to make a seditious statement denying the citizenship of Malaysian Chinese, stoke the racist sentiments of Malays, enjoy TV airtime to wag his fingers at all and sundry, unashamedly protest his right to champion ketuanan Melayu, negotiate a 3-year disappearance from UMNO, set in motion the idiotic act of detention under ISA, cause right-thinking Malays who were until the ISA fiasco fence-sitters but are now definitely on the side of justice, commonsense and are embarrassed at the stupidity of our Ministers and our country being perceived as ‘a nation led by clowns’ in the eyes of the world and STILL GET OFF SCOTT FREE! Man, he is one master politician. I think Ahmad IMMIGRANT already signed the SD, handed it to DSAI and had already confirmed crossing before the entire fiasco.Then, he proceeded to casue havoc in UMNO!

Bodowi is an imbecile – he just couldn’t see how much damage Ahmad IMMIGRANT did to him. It also hasn’t sunk in with Bodowi that Syed Hamid is pumping water into the moving sands under him. Syed Hamid is a moron to think that he can pump water, pump himself and ejaculate such utter rubbish in front of millions of Malaysians and the world audience and get away with it.

Come Sept 16, Ahamd IMMIGRANT will be standing beside DSAI with a wide grin for having done so much damage to UMNO and BN.

DSAI for PM this Sept 16! Or 17 or 18 or whenever it suits DSAI.
    All right-thinking Malaysians are waiting. But maybe the right time for DSAI to do it is just before the UMNO GA in DEC! That would be the final nail in the coffin of the Useless Moron Nincompoop Organisation!

102. #102 by ALLAN THAM on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 7:39 pm

Dear Minister I feel crying after reading your explanation on the reason of arresting Ms Tan using ISA. You have really make us feel shameful locally and internationally. Dear Minister you as a trained lawyer and as a seasoned politician make us feel more shameful and at the same time realized how cruet is politic in real life. You have choose to associate without all those incompetent to continue using ISA to create fear among the Malaysian. Dear Minister it is time for you to resign for the good of the nation. Your colleague Zaid Ibrahim has a least come strongly against the abuse of this law and wish he can influence the government to immediate release all those remain retained under ISA.

103. #103 by wendyoscar88 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:33 pm

Saudara Lim,

Lain kali di Parliment sila nasihat menteri undang-undang Zaid aturkan sessi latihan undang-undang untuk BBCC supaya dia orang lebih matang dan lebih faham undang-undang terutama sekali apa undang-undang untuk mempertahankan rakyat dan mana undang-undang untuk penjenayah serta anasir-anasir yang menggangukan ketenteraman rakyat. Sila minta Datuk Zaid menasihat mereka cara debat yang betul jangan macam binatang liar di parlimen dan bikin malu kepada rakyat dan negara. Jangan basirkan duit rakyat dan negara untuk lawatan ke Taiwan dan belaja cara pertanian semasa “typhoon” berdekatan. Apa mereka dapat belajar dalam keadaan cuaca begini. Kalau kita pergi kursus atau latihan majikan kami juga akan minta kami persembahkan/buat laporan keatas apa baru yang kita telah belajar. Jadi sila minta BBCC yang buat lawatan kemukakan suatu laporan kepada rakyat yang mengundikan mereka apa yang mereka dapat belajar. Saudara Lim saya juga ingin tahu dari mana universiti sibotak bertauliah. Tolong nasihat dia fikir dengan otak nya sebelum jawab soalan journalist jangan sampai malu kepada seluruh kabinet dan negara. Kesian dengan orang “international circles” mengejek ketua-ketua negara kita. Kalau peguam ini pergi ke mahkamah untuk mepertahankan kes mereka 100 kes dia mempertahanpun dia akan kalah. Sila minta Datuk Zaid Ibrahim bagi nya sedikit latihan sebelum menghadapi pemberita. Menjawap soalan mereka seperti budak-budak “kindergarden”.

104. #104 by wendyoscar88 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 11:42 pm

dear kerishamuddinitis,
    You r quite logic and right. I think this pretending to be bodoh botak also might be standing beside DSAI and Ahmad talking intelligently and smiling since every stupid thing they did means 10,000 vote for the PR/Najib or Tun.

105. #105 by richard.wong8 on Monday, 15 September 2008 - 9:12 am

His head is as Botak as his brains…..cannot answer simple questions. Probably should keep him out out politics being stupid, the same treatment as 2 Sitiawan twins being barred from taking UPSR exams!

106. #106 by richard.wong8 on Monday, 15 September 2008 - 9:24 am

One more stupid answer…Yesterday’s The Star quoted that this Botak reply that Tan Hoong Cheng was arrested under ISA as a protection for her as her life is in danger?????
    What a JOKE! Using ISA for protection? If Tan Hoong Cheng life’s is being threaten, then it’s the Police who needs to protect her. This Botak is also ‘pushing’ his responsibilities & blamed that the Police acted on their own to arrest RPK, Theresa Kok & Tan Hoong Cheng under ISA. Do the Police have such authority?

107. #107 by boh-liao on Monday, 15 September 2008 - 9:50 am

Yeah, the MCA Public Complaints and Bureau guy Michael Chong should remember this: Next time when people’s lives are threatened by Ah Long, remember to contact your pal Syed Hamid Albar for ISA protection!

Syed Hamid Albar is now above the law and decides how best ISA can be deployed!

108. #108 by kerishamuddinitis on Monday, 15 September 2008 - 11:53 pm

Hi wendyoscar88, yes you might just be right too. Hahahaha, those clowns are totally clueless about the kind of damage they are causing UMNO and BN. Now, Malays are increasingly swinging over to DSAI! Oh well, this is turning out to be a merry-go-round of clowns, crooks and corrupt BN politicians dropping their pants and skirts.Just like Chua Soi Sex :):)

109. #109 by ktteokt on Wednesday, 17 September 2008 - 9:02 pm

I think Tan should be recorded in the Malaysia Book of Records as the person to be detained under the ISA for the shortest time and also for the “wierdest” reason!