[UPDATE - Teresa was taken to Wangsa Maju Police Station from the condominium and at 2.50 a.m (13th September 2008), she left the Wangsa Maju police station and was taken to the an unknown custody centre where she would be held for her police custodial detention which could be up to 60 days. After that, it is up to the Home Minister to decide whether to issue a formal order of detention without trial, which could be for two years, renewable indefinitely]
I have just been informed that Selangor Senior Exco Member and DAP MP for Seputeh Teresa Kok has been arrested under the Internal Security Act by the police at 11.18 p.m. when returning to her condominium in Kuala Lumpur from a Mooncake Festival reception in her constituency office.
Three police cars with over 10 police personnel stopped Teresa at the condominium entrance and took her away.

#1 by One4All4One on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:37 pm
It seems that the government of Malaysia has lost its grip on reality.
The rakyat is crying for actions which would help them in these times of economic and social uncertainties.
They are disappointed that much of their woes and problems are left unattended and not acted upon. And many are in a state of despair and frustration.
Instead they are faced with a myriad of events which do not have any bearing on their daily subsistence and survival. Irrelevance seems to be the order of the day.
Political party matters should not have been made into public issues. One may ask what the political parties’ elections have to do with the public at large? There ought to be a clear cut separation of political issues from public administrative matters.
What are the public servants, who should have been apolitical, doing? If the administrative machineries are working orderly and effectively, there should not be much troubles, hiccups, and all round unhappiness and disappointment among the rakyat with the administration.
Seems like the public administrative bodies are taking sides and thus too much affected by the political whirlwind and turbulence that is Malaysia now?
Malaysian public administration have to be strictly apolitical so that whatever the political situation or whoever is helming the nation’s leadership, they could function normally and uninterruptedly in serving the rakyat. That’s their prime responsibility and calling.
#2 by baochingtian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:01 pm
MCA, GERAKAN – What are u guys doing? Maintaining your gentlemen poise? This is the opportunity to gain much respect from the Malaysians in general. Do something.
#3 by Better Future on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:23 pm
This is madness. If Teresa Kok is arrested due to the Azan issue then the government must be joking. If there’s a really a petition by Teresa as claim by former Selangor Menteri Besar then bring her to court why arrest without trial.
Furthermore I just read from news that a joke of this century where our Home Minister said the reason the SIn Chew reporter is arrested under ISA due to there were a threat to her life. WHAT a stupid reason he taught Malaysian Adult is having a 10 years old brain. In that case all politician need to be arrested too for protection. Please our BN government be a gentlement to use dirty tactic
#4 by japstrat81 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:48 pm
What threat to her life?
You,the politicians are the threat to her life!And no,we are not 10 years old.
This is ridiculous!
More bullshit on the way for our beloved Malaysians!
Take her to court and let her defend herself if you dare,Mr.Home Minister.
So fed up with you all and your dirty tactics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#5 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:52 pm
DEar Jeys,
No. You can talk about Islam. But please spare insulting remarks on Prophet or the religion. Never mind if you are not Muslim but show respects to all religions.
What I mean as “Insulting”. The like that what Salman Rushdie in his rubbish “Satanic Verse” that compares Lady Khadija, wife of Prophet Muhammad, with a prostitute.
And for efenem, I think RPK is real lucky. Should he had written this kind of rubbish in Saudi Arabia, He will have his head chopped off. When Al Arqam leader deviated from Islam by creating impression that its leader is a Messiah, Dr Mahathir just asked Islamic Council to advise him to repent. Every Muslim will know how Saudi Arabia or some Arab countries will react.
They may tolerate scathing remarks. BUt they will not tolerate nonsense about Prophet. Their time tested way is to chop off the head .
And for A malaysian, yes there are racist here. But UMNO is not racist. If UMNO is racist, it would have closed all vernacular schools 50 years ago. And Tan Lian Hoe will never win in Malay majority areas.
#6 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:56 pm
DEar Emily Pratt,
Yes you can have the petition to the Sultan if you wish. But maybe you do not realize how upset Muslims are especially in Puchong at Teresa.
Thousands of them send petition , asking action taken against her. Like Tetesa, these people also have right. Mind you that they also include PAS members.
#7 by zak_hammaad on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:42 pm
The Agong is the defender of Islam isn’t he? I do not think he would intercede for Teresa as Muslim opinion on the street will not allow him to do that. Teresa simply needs to clarify what he said and meant as this would go a long way in setting the record straight.
#8 by devilmaster on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:44 pm
It is not funny in trying to fabricate a story to accuse someone.
This statement alone made you on par with those occupants in Hospital Bahagia.
#9 by sotong on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 6:04 pm
God/Allah is Almighty.
To think that God/Allah needs protection and support from imperfect human being, this is the greatest insult to the Almighty.
Stop using religion to mislead the ordinary people for narrow, divisive, damaging and dangerous political aims!
#10 by cheng on on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:35 pm
A person apolog… on behalf on Ah Mad (said Ah Mad was wrong). Another senior politici.. said apolog… hurts, or insults someone….. (no need to apolog… lah), so either Ah Mad or the apolog… person is wrong lah! then can either person be ISA..ed?? or can the senior politici.. be ISA..ed?? Aiyah, Very confuse lah!
#11 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:31 pm
It is an old tool in UMNO’s tool bag.
When everything else fails, stir up racial sentiments on emotional issues. If there is none, create one. Use agent-provocateurs to help create a situation when public order is threatened. Then declare a state of emergency and suspend Parliament. Have the Cabinet replaced by a council to include representatives from the Armed Forces to give a semblance that the country’s public order and national security is under threat.
Round up key politicians and political activists and detain them without charge for as long as possible. Let things simmer down. People forget and life goes back to where it was.
Sounds familiar?
We have passed that! The issue now is what do we do? Do we let them go down the same path as they did once before? Have more petitions signed? Call on the people to remain calm? Do nothing. Malaysians are a patient and docile lot – practical too because when their economic livelihood is threatened, they abandon their struggle for freedom in droves. They rationalise that freedom cannot help feed their families but a stable economy does.
When will we learn as Malaysians that there are certain things in life that matter more than bread and butter?
#12 by dapsupporter8888 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:11 pm
I was really so shocked this morning when picked p the papers and learnt that Teresa Kok has been arrested under ISA.
I only have one sentence to say about this BN government – THEY ARE SUFFERING FROM MENTAL ILLNESS!! – Depression, Schizophrenia, Alzheimer, etc.
And I think our government owned newspapers are also contracting the disease from them – writing all sort of nonsense – so pro-BN. I couldn’t stand it an longer – the more I read the more angry I get with this BN goons. I ahve decided that from tomorrow onwards, I AM NOT GOING TO BUY ANY OF THE GOVERNMENT OWNED PAPERS ANYMORE.
I can’t stand looking at the picture of Abdullah, Najib, Hishamuddin, Khairy Jamaluddin, Syed Hamid (the picture & sight of this person gets me on my nerves), Ong Ka Ting, Ong Ka Chuan, Koh Tsu Koon, Samy Vellu, and the list goes on and on.
Until now, can someone please enlighten me why the HELL the government still wanna arrest Teresa Kok when the mosque authorities have denied that Teresa Kok was involved in the lowering of the azan??
Fellow Malaysians, I am a chinese. I have lots of Malay & Indian friends. And I respect them for who they are. In fact, I tend to be closer to some of my Malay friends than the chinese. Why? I don’t know, I guess we just get along well. I respect them for their beliefs, their religion. their custom, etc
I don’t hate our Malays & Indians brothers & sisters. I HATE UMNO & BN. And I think we all know that UMNO & BN are the ones who are stirring the honet’s nest!!
UMNO & BN – Go F*** OFF!!
#13 by king cobra on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:30 am
Dear Better Future ,
tat time when 2 sabah mps from sapp wanted to fly to KL in support for no condidence against PM , they could not come as both mps claim they receive death threats , tat time why were they not arrested for protection too ?
#14 by wtf2 on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 7:02 am
this s.anuar fella – in kinder times i would say he has his head stuck in a hole in the sand, however reading his post I would say that his head is stuck up Umno’s ass.
Wisen up, open your eyes.
#15 by Anak_Penang on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 9:53 am
Is it justifiable to use ISA ?
Express yourself at votingmalaysia.blogspot.com
#16 by negarawan on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 10:25 am
Many people are waiting for the time when all these UMNO criminals will be brought to justice. They are nothing but a bunch of liars acting in their selfish interest. We all have seen how they can constantly lie and deny the truth with a straight face. How evil can that be! Uuuum No we did not say that, Uuuum No we did not do that, ad nauseum. I would like to coin a new word “mengumnokan” meaning to deny the truth without shame or conscience. Example: Badawi, janganlah mengumnokan kesalahan dan kesilapan kamu dalam menangkap rakyat yang tidak bersalah dibawah ISA.
#17 by budak on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 10:41 am
it’s the time for Malaysian to decide whether to join the “Darth force” or Pakatan Rakyat which uphold the Constitutional Rights for every single Malaysian.
UMNO-BN no longer relevant, land without UMNO continue to prosperous and dynamically moving towards the future.
NO UMNO = NO ISA