Malaysia in the grip of another ISA madness?

A second Internal Security Act (ISA) arrest in less than eight hours after RPK – the Sin Chew Daily senior journalist Tan Hoon Cheng, 33, who reported that Umno Bukit Bendera division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s speech at a Permatang Pauh by-election ceramah on August 23 that the Chinese in Malaysia are “squatters” in the country and which resulted in a nation-wide furore and political crisis.

Ahmad got off lightly with a three-year Umno suspension but why is the Sin Chew Daily reporter detained under the ISA, when her report had been confirmed as true when Deputy Prime Minister and Deputy Umno President Datuk Seri Najib had apologised “on behalf” of Ahmad?

Although Ahmad did not “recognise” Najib’s apology on his behalf, the Deputy Prime Minister’s apology is confirmation that Tan’s report was correct, especially as Najib was present when Ahmad had given the controversial speech at the Umno ceramah during the Permatang Pauh by-election.

Will the two reporters, one from Guang Ming and the other from Nanyang, who had collaborated Tan’s report of Ahmad Ismail’s speech be next on the ISA crackdown? What about all those columnists who had flayed Ahmad for his provocative, inflammatory and racist speech – are they all marked for the Kamunting Detention Centre?

Is Malaysia in the grip of another ISA madness, akin to Operation Lalang 21 years ago when there were mass arrests under the ISA (with Guan Eng and I among the first of the 106 persons to be arrested but were the last two to be released) and closure of three newspapers?

Ministers and leaders of MCA, Gerakan, MIC, SUPP and other Barisan Nasional component parties must demand in the Cabinet and requisition an emergency meeting of the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council for the immediate release of Tan and Raja Petra under the ISA as well as the withdrawal of the show cause notice issued by the Home Ministry to three newspapers as to why action should not be taken against them.

Their political parties had pledged after the debacle in the March general election that they would cease to be puppets and “yes-men” and would speak up for the rights of all Malaysians.

Tan Hoon Cheng and RPK are critical tests whether they meant what they say – in Cabinet and the Barisan Nasional Supreme Council – or they remain stuck in their incorrigible roles of being totally subservient to Umno “Big Brother”!

1. #1 by Daniel Quah on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:40 pm

as expected…they are trying to create chaos to implement marshall law..that what i can see

2. #2 by kerajaan.rakyat on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:42 pm

UMNO MENGAMALKAN PEMERINTAHAN ZALIM.

Kepada seluruh rakyat Malaysia,

Saya adalah antara ribuan pembaca yang menilai fahaman penulis blog Raja Petra Kamaruddin melalui penulisannya.
    Secara peribadi, ada beberapa tulisan serta pandangannya yang bercanggah dengan pendapat, kefahaman malahan keyakinan saya. Saya akui hal ini.

Persoalannya sekarang bukan salah atau tidak salah penulisannya. Persoalannya sekarang bukan dia menghasut atau tidak menghasut melalui penulisannya.

Apa yang dituntut sekarang ialah, kerajaan Barisan Nasional mesti menegakkan keadilan dengan menyatakan dan BUKTIKAN kepada rakyat dimana dan apa kesalahan Raja Petra. Kalau kerajaan menuduh Raja Petra menghina Islam, APAKAH BUKTINYA?.

INGAT..!!! keadilan tidak akan wujud sekiranya yang didakwa tidak diberi peluang untuk berhujah dan membela diri. Memenjarakan rakyat tanpa diberi peluang membela diri, bukan ajaran Islam. Islam menganjurkan pentadbiran yang adil dan berhemah. Islam amat melarang penganutnya melakukan kezaliman.

HUKUMAN TANPA PERBICARAAN ADALAH ZALIM.

Islam melarang umatnya melakukan kezaliman. Persoalan saya, apakah penahanan Raja Petra yang kononnya ‘menghina’ agama islam dilakukan secara ISLAMIK?

Amalan rasuah dan salahguna kuasa yang berleluasa dikalangan pemimpin UMNO dan kerajaan, apakah itu tidak menghina Islam?
    Wahai rakyat Malaysia, sedarlah bahawa kita telah dipermainkan oleh kerajan Barisan Nasional terutama parti UMNO sejak sekian lama.

Wahai rakyat, bangkitlah dan tumbangkan kerajaan UMNO dan Barisan Nasional yang ZALIM ini.

Amin Ya Rabb.

Sofi,
    Rakyat Malaysia.
    http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/

3. #3 by bennylohstocks on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:47 pm

4. #4 by sheriff singh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:50 pm

They always go after the wrong guys…deliberately. Just like 20 years ago.

Maybe 20 years from now they will acknowledge these wrongs and give each of the victims huge “ex-gratia” payments.

Law Minister Zaid, why are you so silent?

Suhakam?

5. #5 by bentoh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:52 pm

God bless Malaysia…

My first thought knowing the reporter got detained under ISA…

What she did are to write honestly and accordingly, what she did are to standby with the truth…

God please give us blessing that you once gave us in 308…

6. #6 by sheriff singh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:52 pm

ZIM-BAB-WE !!

7. #7 by go4change on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:53 pm

What an insane action this government has taken? Will they still able to terrify the Rakyat for long? This totally out of mind action brings about devastation, the collapse of BN is expected sooner than god originally planned.

We need the people power to topple this iron fist! May the Rakyat rise!

8. #8 by zorgen on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:54 pm

Stay cool. Don’t let the evil party to create chaos in our beloved country and declare emergency state.

9. #9 by sickandtired on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:58 pm

This is madness!!!! Ahmad Ismial is scot-free and still enjoying life whereas those who speak the truth are thrown into jail.so called ISA.

10. #10 by Windchime on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:58 pm

What is becoming of Malaysia? Where is the sanity? The person who uttered all those remarks are let off lightly. The reporter who is only doing her job, telling the truth is thrown in jail! What is this insanity happening in our country? Where is the justice?

11. #11 by alancheah on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:59 pm

Truely a sad day…!!

God bless this country…
    sigh…. I need panadol….

Where is the right justice?

12. #12 by wendyoscar88 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 10:59 pm

Malaysia please stay calm and think logically

13. #13 by winsoontan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:00 pm

I think they are crazy!

14. #14 by sickandtired on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:02 pm

God helps malaysia!!

15. #15 by winsoontan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:02 pm

Miss Tan is a weak girl and she only play her role as a reporter, does she really makes the country unrest?

16. #16 by negarawan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:04 pm

I think there was a “deal” made at UMNO meeting that if AI gets three years suspension, then the Sin Chew reporter must get ISA. Total silence from MCA and Gerakan clearly shows they still slaves of UMNO

17. #17 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:05 pm

RPK’s internment is a lesson to all those who dare to instigate hatred and racial divides, detrimental to national peace and stability, public order and community cohesion. I applaud the authorities for taking the right decision, albeit a little late. And I hope it will be a lot longer than a mere 60 days!

RPK is a cog within the huge machinery of bigotry dissent and instability. He will be made an example of so that other cogs do not follow his vile and menacing methods of sowing discord and religious hatred.

MT is available for everyone to see. RPK was NOT interned because of his political or indeed racial views. It was his insults against Islam that has got him what he deserves. For too long people tried to reason with him (this can be seen from some comments) and reproached him for his lies, slander and deliberate twisting of words and historical facts. He preferred infamy and sensationalism over substance.

An Islamophobe who claims to be Muslim? Such is his moronic logic. He is fortunate to be in Malaysia, in other Muslim countries, he would have long had the noose around his neck!

He should have taken the sincere advice of many and stuck with subjects pertaining to the politics of the country rather than delving into Islam. He ignored it at his own risk and will now pay the price. We hope that he is not released after 60 days unless he has been truly rehabilitated and promises not to speak about matters he has no knowledge of re: Islam.

Repeat: PRK is not interned because of the political and racial content of his blog. It is his insults of Islam under the guise of freedom of expression accorded to him for many years. His irresponsibility and lack of self-regulation (unlike our dear Lim Kit) has finally caught up with him.

He was detained under Section 73 (1) of the ISA as he was deemed a threat to security, peace and public order.

Utusan Malaysia reported on Saturday that SKMM had banned MT not for political reasons or because it was very critical of politicians, but because the website had insulted Prophet Muhammad.

As most of RP’s supporters seem to be non-Muslim, you can be forgiven for over-looking this aspect. Those from amongst the so-called “progressive” or “moderate” Muslims riding the pro-RP band-wagon need to re-assess his blog in accordance with the referential integrity of their faith.

His arrest comes a day after the Cabinet ordered the Multimedia and Communications Commission (MCMC) to re­instate access to all blocked websites, including the controversial Malaysia Today.

Energy, Water and Com­mu­nications Minister Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor said on Thursday the order was made because there were other “harsher” laws in the country, under which authorities could take action against the owners of blogs and websites, instead of blocking it.

“The Cabinet has asked the ministry to direct MCMC to reinstate access to any blocked website with immediate effect.

“At the same time, it is asking MCMC to closely cooperate with the police, the Attorney-General’s Office and the Home Minister to monitor any website or blog to ensure that this does not contain seditious, racist or religiously insensitive remarks.

“Instead of blocking access to offensive websites, the Cabinet wants authorities to investigate and act quickly against the owners of these sites,” he said in Putrajaya.

18. #18 by syntax on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:05 pm

It is so unfair and cruel to take RPK and Sin Chew’s Tan into ISA. What is this? !!!!
    What govt is this??? Hitler style or worst???
    Why Ahmad Ismail still a free man?
    The current Govt “TAK BOLEH PAKAI LANGSUNG”
    Please CHANGE!!!! PLEASE!
    ENough of all these horseshit.
    Change then pay more attention on country’s development. WE ARE LOSING EACH AND EVERYDAY BY DOING ALL THESE POLITICAL NONSENSE!

19. #19 by wils0n on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:05 pm

Reporter arrested for reporting Ahmad Ismail’s racist statement. Which law did she break?

Uncle Kit please do something! UMNO is going AMOK!

20. #20 by william_sad on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:06 pm

What is the Government doing there?

I am sick with it…

21. #21 by bentoh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:06 pm

What is the stand of MCA and Gerakan?

They were the “victims” of the Ahmad Ismail incident right?

Will they uphold justice and say no to ISA… to the lady reporter, who told them how ignorant their big brother UMNO is?

22. #22 by gofortruth on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:06 pm

God please hear the cries of your people and deliver us from the hands of the evil one, let justice & righteousness prevail for all Malaysians. Amen!

23. #23 by william_sad on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:08 pm

MCA and Gerakan are busying with their internal election now, no time to entertain us…

24. #24 by Cinapek on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:08 pm

I suspect this reporter was arrested as the sacrificial lamb to appease those UMNO members who supported Ahmad Ismail.

It boggles the mind to understand this perverted thinking that the person who reported the criminal act is treated worse than the person who committed the act.

Truly a very, very sick administration. And those BN component parties who remain silent over this travesty of justice are just as guilty as those that perpetrated it.

But as many had cautioned, maybe there is a sinister hidden agenda to all this. Let us not be baited to do something silly that will give them the excuse to hijack power from the people.

25. #25 by sickandtired on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:09 pm

Hi zak, what about Ahamd Ismail. You didn’t even said a damn thing about him nor mention things that Ahmad Ismail said…..hmmm maybe you are a racist too.

26. #26 by rakyatmalaysia1957 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:09 pm

How can this be happening? The Racist Ahmad Ismail who made provocative racist statement and only been suspended “club membership” for 3 years… The Reporter who reported the TRUTH is detent under ISA?! What wrong did Tan do? It’s all Ahmad’s fault! Ahmad Ismail should be detained under ISA, not Tan!!!

27. #27 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:10 pm

What is happening to our country…
    We are moving back into dark ages…
    Reporter gets ISA…
    BULLY and his goons get scot free…

What lah…

OUTRAGEOUS… DISGUSTING… The whole world laughing at us…

Please lah…

Help lah

28. #28 by gofortruth on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:12 pm

Have you all signed the petition to our Agong?

http://www.petitiononline.com/6ai18u26/petition.html

29. #29 by sickandtired on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:13 pm

i think i am going to have a heart attack…..aghhhh!!!

30. #30 by johnshia on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:13 pm

Dear Malaysians, pls listen to RPK’s advice in his latest blog-post, do not get our emotion to be stirred up! It’s another ploy of diverting their internal problems!

31. #31 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:14 pm

September 12, 2008 22:26 PM

KEMAMAN, Sept 12 (Bernama) – Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin’s detention under the Internal Security Act (ISA) is appropriate as his articles, which allegedly ridiculed Islam and Prophet Muhammad, could stoke anger among Muslims worldwide, Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek said.

He said the government had to act as the blogger’s action had touched the sensitivities among Muslims and could undermine national security.

“I hope that Malaysians will look at this positively as the detention is not because the government is against freedom of expression, but rather, it’s because the freedom has been abused.

“The blogger has allowed statements which insulted Prophet Muhammad and this is a very sensitive thing to Muslims in the country and worldwide,” he told reporters after breaking fast at the Felda Neram Satu Mosque near here.

He was commenting on Raja Petra’s detention under the ISA for his article “I promise to be a good, non-hypocritical Muslim” which contained sentences that ridiculed Muslims besides allowing a commentary which ridiculed Islam and Prophet Muhammad with reference to the article “Not all Arabs are descendants of the Prophet” published in the “Malaysia Today” blog.

Commenting further, Ahmad Shabery said the government did not want Raja Petra’s action to go the extent of antagonising Muslims worldwide the way the publication of Prophet Muhammad carricature by a Danish daily or the production of the film “Fitna” by a Dutch politician did.

“I hope Muslims in the country support the government’s move which serve as a stern warning to whoever is abusing the freedom of expression by allowing people to write, express opinion or make statements that could hurt the feelings of members of a particular faith.

“The government does not want articles written by people in the country to cause anger among Muslims worldwide,” he said.

In a related development, he said the government’s move to free up access to websites or blogs was to allow freedom of expression.

However, if the sites had postings that could cause racial and religious tension, the government would have no choice but to take action against the bloggers to protect the interest of others, he said.

“In principle, they (the bloggers) are free to write of express opinion… it’s just that they should not abuse that freedom,” he said.- BERNAMA

32. #32 by justice fighter on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:15 pm

WTF!!!

33. #33 by croovy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:16 pm

This is … too much….the fat idiot(AI) who open his CB mouth is given suspension and a journalist who is merely doing her job is detained under ISA. Commom man, where is justice????

34. #34 by miles on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:19 pm

What kind of government is this????? Even you have the power, you will be despised forever.
    vomit..vomit..vomit..vomit..vomit..vomit..vomit..vomit..

35. #35 by lew1328 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:19 pm

Greetings!

BN is now gunning the weak residents whose believes and drafted the “TRUTH” but not the real criminal who came with gun & parang.

Shame on you, MCA & GERAKAN… F

GOD is watching you.

36. #36 by sickandtired on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:19 pm

Yeah…right ISA everywhere…that’s cool!!!!my foot.

37. #37 by jimz on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:20 pm

… this is too much.

38. #38 by sickandtired on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:21 pm

No mca nor mic are not going to make a sound at all…takut kena ISA.

39. #39 by abc280 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:21 pm

It is indeed very disheartening that this government is discriminating yet again whom they should “prosecute” & whom they do not or dare not!!!

How do they expect the rakyat to ‘respect’ this type of double-standard action & inactions!!!

Does RPK deserve the ISA, afterall there are so many Malysians who concur with his views??

Are we also to be detained under ISA?!

Does Tan deserve any of these, afterall she is only doing her job….but look at ahmad, he must be feasting & celebrating by now!!

Is this the Malaysia that we want our children to call home!!!

Please, to those who are capable & empowered to do something; at the very least please give some comfort to RPK & Tan’s family members that there are still many many Malaysians standing beside them & pray for their early realise!!!

I earnestly pray that this is the time that our Yang Di Pertuan Agung whom we always hold in high esteem, will use His wisdom & listen to the Voice of His subjects, His beloved rakyat; that true JUSTICE WILL PREVAIL IN MALAYSIA- do not let what happened in our country 20 years ago to repeat!!! PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

40. #40 by IamMalaysian on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:22 pm

Ahmad Ismail can still go round preaching his racism while a reporter who reported the truth has been ISA’ed!

To our PM, this is really the last straw! All righteous Malaysians will not forget this and be sure your BN will be condemned to the Muzeum in the not too distant future.

41. #41 by Hidup Pakatan Rakyat on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:23 pm

Really a sad day …………… what is going on with this….
    Sad sad sad story………….. where is DSAI…..

We need justice…and…. we need truth……
    Really hopeless …………… shame

42. #42 by sickandtired on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:23 pm

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Zaid Ibrahim Friday came out guns blazing against International Trade and Industry Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who Thursday asked the transfer of power fixed for 2010 be brought forward.

The de facto law minister said if Muhyiddin was not happy with the leadership of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, he should either resign or be sacked by Abdullah.

“It is very simple. If Muhyiddin is not happy with the prime minister, he can resign from the cabinet, as it means he has no confidence in Pak Lah (Abdullah), or Pak Lah should sack him.”

He was speaking to reporters after launching an exhibition entitled “Wallscapes: The Merdeka Paintings by Wang Lan, Wang Xu and Shen Jiawei” at Galeri Petronas, here Friday.

On Wednesday, Muhyiddin, who is also an Umno vice-president, said the transition plan agreed by Abdullah and Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak in June this year, should be brought forward, considering the political instability in the country and that the time frame was too long.

Under the plan, Abdullah is to hand over the posts of prime minister, Barisan Nasional chairman and Umno president to Najib in June 2010.

Thursday, Abdullah said that he was surprised by Muhyiddin’s statement as the transition plan had been understood and agreed upon by the Umno supreme council and the cabinet.

Earlier Friday, Najib said the implementation of the plan was in the hands of Umno members. Umno, the backbone of the ruling Barisan Nasional, will hold its divisional and national party elections this year.

Zaid said his response was not solely directed at Muhyiddin but was a general observation.

“That similarly applies not only to Muhyiddin but to me also. If I am not happy, I should resign or if Pak Lah is not happy with me, he should sack me,” he added.

“lompat ke PKR bro!!!

43. #43 by sheriff singh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:24 pm

Govt Will Not Use ISA Without Concrete Reason, Says PM

PUTRAJAYA, Sept 12 (Bernama) — The government will not use the Internal Security Act (ISA) without concrete reason, and this was so in the detention of blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said Friday.

” BERNAMA

So it is a “government” decision which means the whole Cabinet is involved.

Why doesn’t the PM give us the “concrete reason” then?

If Raja Petra offended the Muslims, then let the Sharia Court handle the case. Charge him and try him there.

And why go after the reporter who reported the incident accurately? The innocent get detained, the culprits get away scott-free. That’s Malaysian “justice” for you.

Mugabeland.

44. #44 by otyew on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:25 pm

rpk might be wrong but……for the reporter…..it’s too cruel. now, everyone who knew this will be very sad n angry no matter what the excuse given to arrest her.

hmm……so being a racist will only get suspended…..hmm……isnt it great? next time i’ll be a racist n no one can question me, if u do, u will get isa in return.

45. #45 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:25 pm

# gofortruth Says:
    Today at 23: 12.45 (35 seconds ago)

Have you all signed the petition to our Agong?

http://www.petitiononline.com/6ai18u26/petition.html

I signed today 24254

46. #46 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:26 pm

sickandtired Says:

>> Hi zak, what about Ahamd Ismail. You didn’t even said a damn thing about him nor mention things that Ahmad Ismail said…..

I have said a lot about him in previous threads. Maybe you should read upon them instead of making unfounded allegations. AI’s comments are unacceptable, period. Bodowi is stuck between a rock and a hard place where he does not want to antagonise UMNO members and at the same time be seen to do the right thing. This change is weak and indecisive leadership can only come with his departure. I don’t think Pakatan would like him to leave as he is assures them of victory. A reformed and revamped BN may not.

Furthermore, AI did not conduct years of racist rants and just as he wants us to see his comments ion “context”, you can’t ignore he record on race relations has been pretty good up until his recent remarks. RPK on the other hand has operated his blog for many years without hindrance. His political and racial views as well as plethora of content pertaining to them had gone without much problems. This is because Malaysia’s commitment to web openness and blogging was true. However, his detention under ISA is a culmination of months of investigation into the instigative nature of his religious-oriented articles that spew hatred and racial divides, detrimental to national peace and stability, public order and community cohesion.

In S’pore, they would not allow their media to report on any ISA cases UNTIL after the suspect has been released; sometimes after many months. Malaysia needs to take this leaf from it’s southern neighbour in how to handle sensitive public order matters.

47. #47 by roger lim on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:26 pm

Their actions of detaining RPK, Ms Tan and probably a few more tomorrow are truly mind boggling. A few weeks ago I commented on this blog that even though our present BN govt is evil, it is still lagging behind the Chinese govt in terms of making opposing voices dissapear. Today I see that they(BN or rather UMNO) are catching up. Who is going to stop them? And what about you, MCA, Gerakan and MIC? When are we going to hear from you? Or are you in agreement with the ISA detentions? You disgust me. If you can’t serve the people anymore, resign or better yet join the side who can. It is time to go back to the core reason why you joined politics. It is to serve the people, right? Not just to bulk up your pockets, right? Right? RIGHT?

48. #48 by Better Future on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:29 pm

I felt pity for her. Let us all stay calm as I felt something is not right here. The reporter is just a scapegoat I don’t think MCA or Gerakan will dare to open their mouth anymore. All this while there only take this opportunity to win back the Chinese support. In fact I really doubt the Sin Chew purposely report this case as part of MCA politic but now seem going too far.

I pray for the reporter for her release. Sad day

49. #49 by prelude3372 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:29 pm

Uncle Lim / Moderetor….its clear that this zak fellow is here just to make someone uttter something that going to get this blog and u in particular in trouble.

Even when the reporter have been detained on ISA…this junk is talking nonsense about RPK was arrested on ISA because he has insulted Islam not because he raise racial…so it seems the reporter also have insulted Islam because she reported a very pious Muslim says the Chinese pendatang here. So she has insulted Islam…so that’s why she deserve ISA.

This Zak fellow intention is clear….so please…please save us all the trouble by blocking this guy….i mean this junk

50. #50 by go4change on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:31 pm

This is so unjust and I wonder how are we telling our kids about right and wrong? Uttering it to the public which was so racist get away freely while reporting what was said get show cause letter plus the reporter gets ISA!

Who is behind this ISA? Why they can turn wrong to right and right to wrong?

51. #51 by pjboy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:31 pm

Everyone must remain calm & cool. This is exactly what BN wants. This is their plan-B coz plan-A dah jatuh dalam monsoon drain. Cruel as it may sound, this is only 1 reporter. Is BN going to jail all reporters & rakyat under ISA? Certainly not. They are ‘playing poker’ with rakyat. It is indeed very sinister plot going on. They got nothing against DSAI. This plan also failed. Datuk Ahmad Ismail seditious remarks also failed. So, we wonder how many more cards BN want to play with the rakyat. P-R leaders must urge all rakyat to be cool. We must not have orang utan brain, nor monkey’s balls at the moment. This is chance to show our strength – as Malaysians unite against oppression through peace & solidarity. It seems ISA only applies to those who write or report the truth & deemed seditious. Those who speak on ceramahs shouting about ‘penumpang’ & raise keris to shouts like bathing the keris in chinese blood are not seditious. They are just history lessons. These do not qualify for ISA coz it is educational. So, we can speak about it, shout about it but not write about it.

Let’s show our support to the brave reporter & RPK. Not sure what’s the best way – am sure there are many good ideas out there – but I would not mind pledging RM 1 for every week or month that those 2 brave Malaysians are in ISA. How many will join this ? C’mon. RM 1 is not even 1 teh tarik today. So sacrifice 2 teh tarik per month. Also good for health. Diabetes are on the rise anyway.

52. #52 by wendyoscar88 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:35 pm

Now we see the hand behind AI. God pls help and bless malaysia with peace and harmony.

53. #53 by GodFromHeaven on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:36 pm

I’m thinking to post a message to support pakatan rakyat, but if i post this support message, am i put myself in to the risk?? I might detain under ISA…… Oh, we are lost of voices from now on… God help us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

54. #54 by dapforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:37 pm

what is happening? Even using ISA to nab on inocent people for reporting the truth……we have to work together now….this administration is going to be very harsh to everyone who try to stop them…very dissapointed!

55. #55 by zak_hammaad on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:37 pm

sheriff singh Says:

>> Why doesn’t the PM give us the “concrete reason” then?

Investigations are ongoing and I’m sure in time, you will get your concrete reasons. It is not in the interest of Joe public to be given further info that could jeapodise a future trial.

>> If Raja Petra offended the Muslims, then let the Sharia Court handle the case. Charge him and try him there.

At the moment the pressing issue is to have him removed from public for the good of the public. Charges and subsequent trial will, I’m sure be brought after 60 days.

Tonight, the rakyat can sleep well knowing that a menace and a public order thread has been put behind bars.

* prelude3372 Says:

>> its clear that this zak fellow is here just to make someone uttter something that going to get this blog and u in particular in trouble.

Is this the level of confidence you have in your ability to debate and discuss!? If you are hot-headed and emotional, you better practise self-regulation, otherwise uncle Lim will do it for you here :^)

It’s clear that you comments are emotionally charged, otherwise you would be providing evidence to the contrary in relation to your admiration for a bigot like RPK. Indeed his internment WAS because of insults to Islam and not because of his political and racial stance. His blog has been operating for years without real problems; but he stepped too far when he decided to change the direction of his blog into a platform for Islamophobic discourse amongst other like-minded hate-mongers and xenophobes.

Night night.

56. #56 by negarawan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:38 pm

UMNO is clearly a racial supremacist party, and it has hurt the feelings and trust of the Indian and Chinese community beyond repair. UMNO’s carry out their democratically unjust and inhumane actions thinking that the Chinese and Indians are stupid and ignorant, and that after a few weeks everybody will forget things and then sweep the issues under the carpet. And MCA, MIC and Gerakan can jump into the sea, nobody will care believe me.

57. #57 by dapforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:40 pm

there will be no more freedom…….pls something must be done! Very desperate move! THUMBS DOWN! A CHANGE IS NEEDED! NO DOUBT!

58. #58 by IloveDAPforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:41 pm

The Journalists Union & Bar Council have to speak out in defense of poor Ms Tan who is only carrying out her job. This is maddening…BeEND is shamelessly using ISA to threaten & gag true & fair reporting by journalists. The main culprit, AI has arrogantly & proudly gotten away scot free. Look at just how low BeEND can go. They are desperate to save themselves & kill off the people. The whole world is watching Malaysia going down under BeENDs tyranny.

Are Koh T K, Ong K T going to keep quiet and agree with their masters’ action again? If they do not have the guts to speak out then as leaders of their parties, MCA & Gerakan can close shop forever.

59. #59 by lchk on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:43 pm

Let the zak fellow post whatever he wants to here.

We all know he’s a paid mahathir agent who purports to be a foreigner and in all probability assumed previous incarnations of killer, realworld, etc.

Just another mahathir b*ll carrier.

60. #60 by drngsc on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:43 pm

The Gomen has gone mad. The badguy gets a slap on the wrist and the gal who reports the wrong goes to jail. Remember a certain Tan Sri from Malacca and the underage girl. This is justice, UMNO style. What can we do? For one, maybe we should all fly the Jalur Gemilang on the 16th September.
    What do you think, Kit?

61. #61 by america on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:44 pm

Looks like ISA is now the new badge of honour. It has become a place for the brave souls. I do not see ISA detainees as tainted now. The government of the day has made it a glorified place. To all Malaysians, please be calm. It looks provocative. Even if anybody is in ISA detention, it would not be long. From the way the gv is handling things, it won’t last long. Not sure about RPK but it is wrong to detain Miss Tan. C’mon, PM, where is right and where is wrong? God bless Malaysia and all brave souls.

62. #62 by miles on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm

Huh??!! Teresa Kok has been detained as well??

63. #63 by PC Tan on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm

Heh Zak, Can I have your take on the arrest of the Sin Chew Daily reporter under ISA who only reported truthfully what was said by AI who is now roaming freely and going on a road show to explain his remarks.. and further insisted that he had done no wrong. You seemed to have your points on RPK, lets see your point on this.

64. #64 by dapforever on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm

MCA, GERAKAN, MIC, SUPP, now you know what is happening…..Help them & Release them…..to proof you are not a “yes man” party……very unfair!

65. #65 by bentoh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:46 pm

Susan Loone said YB Teresa Kok is the third? Can Uncle Kit clarify?

66. #66 by HJ Angus on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:47 pm

This government has lost all moral authority and should call for snap elections if it wants to carry on.

Malaysians are suffering as the government lurches from parody to tragedy. Maybe this will help our Law Minister and I am no lawyer.

http://malaysiawatch4.blogspot.com/2008/09/malaysiakini-reporter-nabbed-under-isa.html

67. #67 by pjboy on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:48 pm

Hmmm. Wonder why only the reporter in Penang…? Everything seem to be targeting Penang. Why Penang? Think about it.

Reporting the truth = ISA.

Seditious Remarks = 3 years suspension (holiday).

It is not only about RPK now.

68. #68 by philyong on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:48 pm

Just received a sms from TheStar stating that Teresa Kok has been arrested under the ISA. What on earth is happening? 3 arrested, how many more? Who is next?

69. #69 by ysc on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:49 pm

All fair minded Malaysians must feel nauseous at the dastardly abuse of the ISA against the reporter Ms Tan.

Our prayers are with her and her family, and for all Malaysians of all races. All Malaysians must stand strongly together for her and against this desparate act and the dastardly ISA.The actions and calls for the abolition of the ISA and the release of Ms Tan & RPK must come out loud and clear to AAB.

TODAY JUSTICE IS DEAD! MALAYSIANS MUST FIGHT BACK FOR IT!

70. #70 by prelude3372 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:49 pm

For the junk called zak….As I mentioned….why is the reporter detained on ISA?? Has she also insulted ISLAM as you aclaim RPK did….or she started racial tension?

If you justified her ISA arrest by claiming so….than why these Ahmad fellow is still walking happly outside??

So it’s not we don’t have level of confident to discuss….but we are waiting….and waiting….and waiting….for your so called learned explaination.

Stated your stand on the reporter arrest…or don’t waste our time.

71. #71 by Loh on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:50 pm

Remember May 13. The government is trying to use the same methods to make people angry so that if we all take to the streets to protest, it will basically give them a free ticket to arrest more people. So we must be clear on what NOT to do. Let’s not fall into their trap.

I am being told many political party leaders are now talking about what is proper to say in public, so when commenting please exercise the same restraint.

Next, we also need to know that RPK has not associated himself to any power or position. He is just like you and me except that he means well, can swear better and can talk louder. So, there is NOTHING for the government to gain by arresting him except to perpetuate their rule and to create the emotions to help them stay in control.

People are not stupid or ignorant anymore. Today, we have the internet and mobile phones. We can always alert each other on the progress. Unlike 1969, when you are thirsty for news, you may get angry and you would go to the streets. Not today.

So stay tuned to the developments as we bring them to you. But please stay cool, keep properly informed and do not over-react.

MT team

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The arrest of RPK stops him from leading response to police action. The arrest of the reporters whose reports were the focus of discussion between right and wrong over the last two weeks which the BN and UMNO leaders had considered serious and important show that the reporters had contributed enormously to nation building. Their arrest says that the government kills the messengers for the bad news they brought. It was their duties to report, and if the law prevents people to perform professionally, can we call this a civilized country? I doubt.

The report made by the reporters did not threaten security while the speech given no doubt hurts the Chinese community. If the Prime Minister thought it proper for the speaker of those ugly words to apologize, and the matter closes, why should the police make it a big issue to have the reporters arrested? The police action shows that it intends to impress upon citizens that UMNO leaders are untouchable

The statement by MT makes sense. Demonstration will not stop them abuse their power. In fact they now want demonstration so that they can make a mountain out of molehill. We all remember that they charge Hindraf supporters for murder when one of them was hurt by a brick. They did it because they had the power. There is no decency. They care not for the reputation, especially now when a regime change is imminent. Give them no chance to play dirty.

72. #72 by Hidup Pakatan Rakyat on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:50 pm

My vote to Pakatan Rakyat, PKR, DAP, PAS for
    GE14, GE15, GE16, GE17, GE18, GE19, GE20, GE21, GE22, GE23,
    GE24, GE25, GE26, GE27, GE28, GE29, GE30, GE31, GE32, GE33,
    GE34, GE35, GE36, GE37, GE38, GE39, GE40, GE41, GE42, GE43,
    GE44, GE45, GE46, GE47, GE48, GE49, GE50, GE51, GE52, GE53,
    GE54, GE55, GE56, GE57, GE58, GE59, GE60, GE61, GE62, GE63,
    GE64, GE65, GE66, GE67, GE68, GE69, GE70, GE71, GE72, GE73,
    GE74, GE75, GE76, GE77, GE78, GE79, GE80, GE81, GE82, GE83,
    GE84, GE85, GE86, GE87, GE88, GE89, GE90, GE91, GE92, GE93,
    GE94, GE95, GE96, GE97, GE98, GE99, GE100 ……

73. #73 by atlk on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:50 pm

yes.. confirmed teresa kok arrested.

this is the beginning of the end of UMNO…

74. #74 by Blue.kinetic on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:51 pm

Goverment has gone mad… 3rd person arrested by ISA….

http://chunwai08.blogspot.com/2008/09/teresa-kok-arrested-under-isa-too.html

75. #75 by Jimm on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:51 pm

They can’t even control their own species …..
    They now pick on those weaker ones ……
    Thank God that we the rakyat are no longer as ‘bodoh’ as before.
    They may also put me in ISA …. I only know that God will shower me with the right spirit and faith to journey on with a clear heart and clean mind to seek total freedom for Malaysia.

76. #76 by GodFromHeaven on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:53 pm

Did teresa kwok said anything???

77. #77 by GodFromHeaven on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:53 pm

3rh detainee, confirmed terresa kwok

78. #78 by aiD_kamikuP on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:54 pm

“It is not only about RPK now”

You can see the pattern and the ulterior motive…that well used and over-used UMNO trump card. Despicable.

79. #79 by prelude3372 on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:55 pm

Teresa too???…well…its finally here….OPS LALANG 2……….

Uncle LIM…..I rest my case

80. #80 by zorgen on Friday, 12 September 2008 - 11:58 pm

Hello, where is MCA and Gerakan?

81. #81 by The Enforcer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:00 am

Uncle YB Lim – ‘ I Nang Siau Liau Si Bo?’
    Uncle YB Lim, something must be done urgently.
    Can the PR team come up with an awesome solution asap.
    The RAKYAT is going crazy with all these going ons.
    Our bros and sis are being hauled up one at a time at their whims and fancys, yet we have to keep our cool instead of falling for their trap.

82. #82 by Old.observer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:00 am

GodFromHeaven Says:

Today at 23: 53.16 (1 minute ago)
    Did teresa kwok said anything???

No. That’s the problem is the draconian ISA. The Home Minister decides who can be detained. He might or might not have a reason that anyone will agree too – the reason is not important. Once you are detained, it seems your fundamental human rights is stripped away. Your right to be charged and trialed in court is denied. In the first 60 days, you will be denied access to your lawyers. No one can visit you, not even your family. If you are sick and need medical treatment, the Home Minister is under no legal obligation to release you or to even provide you with proper treatment. Basically, you cease to become a human being with rights once you have been detained under ISA. It is draconian and should be condemned by all right thinking Malaysians!

83. #83 by Aman_Peace_PingAn on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:01 am

Dear Kit

Teach us how best to start a FREE Ms Tan Hoon Cheng campaign.
    Make it worldwide…
    The world need to know…
    Malaysia Press freedom has become a laughing stock…

To Editors of all Main Stream Media, PLEASE HELP…
    Don’t be cowed by the BULLIES…
    Where are your ideals…
    How to face your children.
    SIN CHEW, STAR, NANYANG … (MCA ???)

HELP lah… Get Ms Tan FREE…
    HELP lah … GET Malaysian PRESS Free…

84. #84 by lchk on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:04 am

“Basically, you cease to become a human being with rights once you have been detained under ISA. It is draconian and should be condemned by all right thinking Malaysians!”

A certain self-proclaimed foreigner in this blog thinks otherwise – he even advocates the use of the ISA against contributors here!

85. #85 by IloveDAPforever on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:07 am

Teresa Kok has been detained under ISA. What has she done? This is crazy. Not surprising if more names to follow. Another dark era!

86. #86 by roger lim on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:07 am

HI zak, I, like many others have followed your comments for a while and while I sometimes disagree with you, I have grown to respect you. But today you have lost that respect(even though I’m sure you couldn’t care less). From what I read above, it seems that arresting someone first then tell them what they are charged with 60 days later is accepteble to you. So when and if PR takes over, is it ok for me to come to your house and arrest you then read you the charges 2 months later? Are you agreeing to that? And another thing, can you prove that RPK insulted Islam and not just some muslims. He has issued a challenge for anyone to debate him on Islam. Why didn’t you take it?

Sweet dreams, zak. I probably won’t sleep tonight. I’ll be thinking of RPK and Tan Hooi Cheng. Will be praying for them too.

87. #87 by Richardqed on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:09 am

These arrests are clearly being done on purpose to make the people angry. How else can one explain these unjustified arrests?They want everyone to be angry, because it will give them the chance to execute their plan. In fact, their desperation suggests that PR’s attempt to take over is very much a possibility.

All they can hope for now is that their evil plan will work. Does anyone want to fall into their trap? Hope not. To foil these crooks, one would have to do the opposite of what they want you to do. If no one is marching in the streets, they won’t have anyone to blame it on.

Now is the time to keep cool heads. If everyone stays calm, and PR clinches their numbers, there will be no excuse for them to prevent PR from taking over when the time comes.

88. #88 by wesuffer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:11 am

wao, the show is just started ! lets see what brother ong kai(chicken) ting going to comment on the reporter being arrested for reporting the truth.! what a scary our country now. then Najib should be arrest as well cos he agreed what ahmad said is wrong, and he also make appologised to all malaysian esp. chinese commitee

89. #89 by wesuffer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:16 am

wait ! actually the reporter is innocent. and we all not need to borther about AHmad and tan c koh incident.
    they are making drama ! let see , both time are from BN.
    if they fight gila. also their business. I hope malaysian muslim and non muslim dont kena trap by BN .They purposely create racial issue.

90. #90 by sickandtired on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:17 am

Clamp on the oppositions only. So Bn MP cannot jump ship. Very smart move.

91. #91 by sickandtired on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:18 am

Gomen gone mad!!!

92. #92 by sickandtired on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:19 am

Who’s next. LKS or LGE?

93. #93 by wesuffer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:21 am

if pakatan supporter should stop comment on ahmad and koh thing now.
    now the tiger is hunting deer .

94. #94 by GodFromHeaven on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:23 am

every body stay calm, everything will sort out after 916…

95. #95 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:28 am

Investigations are ongoing and I’m sure in time, you will get your concrete reasons. It is not in the interest of Joe public to be given further info that could jeapodise a future trial. ”

At the moment the pressing issue is to have him removed from public for the good of the public. Charges and subsequent trial will, I’m sure be brought after 60 days.”

So the authorities are still not ready or even sure of the matter and yet they go about detaining people. The government already concludes RPK is a “threat” when there is insufficient info and reason to show this.

So what kind of “cemerlang, terbilang and gemilang” government do we have? And are these actions in compliance with that Hadhari thing the man espouses? Or have we turned into a fascist state?

Tonight, the rakyat can sleep well knowing that a menace and a public order thread has been put behind bars.”

Oh yeah right. Commiting sins during Ramadan is just not on. The sins will be compounded a thousand fold if unjust. The Man upstairs knows.

But to some, they just don’t care. They are already “hardcore” unprincipled politicians with no more sense of right or wrong anymore. Their places will be in the dustbins of history.

96. #96 by pjboy on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:28 am

This is a BN sinister plot. Don’t fall for it. Stay cool all. They purposely let Datuk Ahmad Ismail loose & go after the innocent to test us. The police & army are already on stand by. They will take any opportunity & then exaggerate the whole matter to justify their act for sure. Let it be their time wasted & not ours. We got Astro now. Stay at home & watch football. Got Man U vs Liverpool game. Let it be the police & army roaming the peaceful streets. Let’s prove them WRONG. The saga has begin. God help us all. Give us the sound mind & strength to brave through this storm.

97. #97 by MyFoot on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:32 am

God help Malaysia!
    AAB forfeit his right to be the PM.
    Umno forfeit the right to be the govt.
    Malaysia forfeit the right to be a respectable nation,
    ie Malaysia = Zimbabwee.

98. #98 by milduser on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:32 am

Vitimization, injustice, favourtism, 3 words sum it all. Down with BN, down with Amnoooo ………….

99. #99 by sheriff singh on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:38 am

What next?

Martial law?

100. #100 by mongolian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:39 am

UMNO’s May 13 tactic to create tension amongst the chinese which will spark off racial tension. The UMNO members are praying this to happen. We have to disappoint them.

101. #101 by oLcA on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:40 am

A sad day indeed :/

102. #102 by Elwin Heng on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:41 am

Patient exploded!
    ‘Wolf-tale’ or ‘true-color’ shown!

God bless innocent!
    Beauty and the Beast!

Hopeless if only waiting for MCA, Gerakan, MIC and others’ involvement of ISA detention (racist), as long as still joint-ventured BN? Why? You know the answer, don’t you!

The day I qualified voting right, my vote only towards DAP! Till now, confident myself make a smartest choice, and 100% of family members will only vote on Pakatan Rakyat (PR)! Will not or no longer or no chance our votes on BN : Umno, MCA, Gerakan and MIC!

Eye-on black hand’s unwelcome politic strategies or tactics, 916 percent of success : yes or no, is not important! Hereby need to clarify and emphasize, I/we wouldn’t disappoint, blame, complaint, or betray PR if 916 doesn’t exceed! Our heart or spirit will stay on and alongside PR till mission accomplish!

Cheers, PR!
    PR everlasting!
    PR rakyat choice!

TQ.
    Warmest regards.

103. #103 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:42 am

As an objection to injustice done, we should get our voice heard by boycotting all products and services offered by any company that are related to UMNO(cronies and members).

104. #104 by One4All4One on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:46 am

DPM Najib’s apology is now in question.

If the apology is to be taken as attesting to the truth of the remark by Ahmad Ismail, then why detain the journalist who was merely doing her job as a journalist, and reporting what she heard?

What is happening here?

105. #105 by ReformMalaysia on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:52 am

The act to detain a journalist for reporting the facts deserve international condemnation….. and God’s damnation

106. #106 by AsalUsuLMalaysiaHacked on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:53 am

Ok This is it, theyve made the moved. Najis and his fellow comrade had already started to push the annoying Choked Speechless PM AAB… Mass ISA detention!

107. #107 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:55 am

Anwar,

We are counting on you to make it happen.Don’t disappoint the nation’s well being is at stake! Meanwhile the rest should stay come and watch the scene unfold.

108. #108 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:55 am

oops should be ‘stay calm’

109. #109 by 9to5 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:33 am

There are 2 models where UMNO has successfully used in the past.

In the 1969 model, Tun Abdul Razak used the riots to instate an Emergency and eventually force Tunku Abdul Rahman out of power.

In the 1987 model, where a massive internal struggle within Umno moved Mahathir to attack imaginary exterior “enemies (non-malays)” in a massive Operation Lallang to strengthen his own fledgling position within Umno.

There is now an internal struggle within UMNO as well as fledging support from the malay voters. So their natural instinct is to apply a combination of the 2 models.

To kill two birds with one stone, they intend to create riots to instate an emergency rule to prevent Anwar from toppling the present UMNO Government. Coupled with this, they will also make imaginary “exterior enemies” out of thin air to justify a Operation Lallang II to strengthen their own fledging position with the malays. Their intention is to make one race hate another race.

Guys, don’t fall for their tricks! To be cheated once, shame on you. But to be cheated twice, shame on me!

110. #110 by cemerlang on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:46 am

Sounds like an acute case of rabies. Those who needed the act of law are allowed to go scot free. Misuse of power, corruptors, gangsterism, robberies, rape, stealing, loan sharks and all the other actual real crimes are dealt with so slowly. But citizens who never commit these and only speak their mind can get the action of law so fast. This is not fair. Malaysians are not that stupid. And it happens in the month of Ramadan. Instead of getting closer to God, it is getting away from God.

111. #111 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 1:58 am

‘It was their duties to report, and if the law prevents people to perform professionally, can we call this a civilised country?’. Loh.

Call it Mugabe country.

112. #112 by belalang pening on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:25 am

WTF!!! What is going on with this country?? They are Polis Diraja Malaysia or Polis Diraja BN?????

113. #113 by bagero on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:26 am

It is clear ZAK believes in a LAW that is un-Islamic. The likes of him and BN hooligans, will all surely change their tune when PR takes over the federal government.

114. #114 by m.hwang on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:53 am

zak wants us to believe that the detainees will be charged after 60 days of investigation. Obviously zak is quite new to the ways of ISA. When someone is arrested under ISA he is already guilty in the eyes of the government.

When under detention, the objective is to “educate” you to fit into the mainstream society, whatever that means. They are not interested to charge you because your detention can be indefinite so why bother? When someone close to you get arrested under ISA you will know the true meaning of ISA.

115. #115 by FromTheOutside on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:27 am

Pardon me, zak, but I think in the interest of fairness, the public SHOULD be made known of redundant albeit undemocratic measures taken by the government.
    This process of deliberately stifling critical opposition is an antiquated roll-over from Colonial times, a process which today’s British government has abolished. It was also used frequently here in Singapore for example, during the communist insurgencies.
    But on the subject of openness to the public, please refrain from comparing Singapore’s governmental policies with those of Malaysia’s. Singapore’s government has managed to, almost completely, quash all the views of its people under numerous, covert scare tactics, most of which, are not even reported to public. A ‘plus-side’ of ridiculously curbing and curtailing freedom of speech and opinion? You don’t get back-talk.
    In Malaysia, however, you have case in point: a Mr. Hilmy Noor, who was detained in 1987 under the ISA with reasons such as, ‘..disrupting the Malay culture by being Christian.’ Justifiable? I think not.
    So please, for RPK; who is unfairly being detained for a reckless comment posted by a reader, for the reporter of Sin Chew Daily; who was duly doing her job, and for YB Teresa Kok; who, till know, is being held for reasons unknown, I say: keep faith strong and know that justice is not blind.

116. #116 by akarmalaysian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 4:39 am

is thr any site that i can really swear and curse my “mother tongue” language at those bus tards who can simply issue orders to arrest people who only spoke of the truth?
    ohh…that idiot ahmad ismail can stoke up racial sentiments with his idiotic remarks and get away with it so lightly while the reporter who only reported wats being said by dat idiot kena arrest.wat kind of justice is dat.fr wat we people see…these are really cowardly acts….a point whr the present government got no jalan lagi.this is the filthiest and dirtiest government of today.aks them a question they will give u stupid answers.ask summore lagi till they cannot answer u they let u kena isa.

117. #117 by Tasslehoff on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:18 am

Not sure if you’re aware of this, but the Human Rights Watch has long been critical of the Malaysian ISA.

Here are two links you might like to have a read about:
    http://www.hrw.org/english/docs/2005/09/28/malays11788.htm
    http://hrw.org/reports/2004/malaysia0504/

118. #118 by kanthanboy on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 6:41 am

UMNO has blatantly abused the constitutional right of one Chinese female reporter of Sin Chew Newspaper in broad daylight. How on earth can MCA, Gerakan and SUPP claim they are the defender of the right of all Chinese in Malaysia when they can not even defend the right of one law abiding Chinese citizen.

119. #119 by yhsiew on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:12 am

The must be proper rule of law in this country – not this kind of rubbish ISA!

120. #120 by newchief on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:36 am

i’ve laid my case. my prediction was right.

SYABAS to BN for a ‘job well done’ for allowing the police to arrest THE WRONG PEOPLE WITH SWIFT ACTIONS!!

my next prediction is opposition MPs be arrested especially the 4 person who went to taiwan under ISA. if anyone especially oppositions oppose, ALL WILL BE ARRESTED !!

Then next is our DSAI . Take note that PAS is very smart. they lay low in order not to be detected.

121. #121 by Ash on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:36 am

I’ve had enough of this bullshit. I strongly urge everyone to stay calm as we witness how Anwar is gonna destroy all these BS and give us a new hope for our beloved country.

122. #122 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:45 am

What a joke, lately badawi has been a clown….LOL!
    He said he is ‘surrrprised’ that muhiyiddin wants him to step down!!!hahaha.

Then he uses lets ahmad ismail a racist off with a suspension only, then he uses ISA on the poor journalist who wrote about ahmad ismails racism, then he caught RPK and a DAP MP as well! What a joke!

This clown of a leader is expediting the extinction of BN! T-minus few days to imploding!

123. #123 by tenaciousB on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 7:50 am

where is MCA when a reporter of chinese ethnicity is detained under ISA?????

i reckon all chinese should leave this MCA party indefinitely!

124. #124 by tesl_lecturer on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:05 am

oh my god !! 3 innocent people are detained without any proof…and that mothafocker ismail is enjoying his life out….keparat sial BN !!

125. #125 by AhPek on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:16 am

This is the state raw power employed to tell the populace to conform to their rule,in short the most effective way to cow them!

126. #126 by ktteokt on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:36 am

Committing a crime can be easily pardoned in Malaysia, but the person reporting it shall be penalized, ALWAYS! MALAYSIA benar-benar BOLEH (mati)!

127. #127 by Caleb on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:39 am

You blind guides! You strain out a gnat but swallow a camel.

128. #128 by mangodurian on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 9:53 am

A mutiny is being executed. This is not the work of AAB. The ship is sinking, the crew has run back to the old captain, and the old captain has agreed to help … probably with conditions … as the old captain, despite differences, also don’t want the ship to sink.

Just look at the top two vice-admirals making statements that “surprises” the current captain in the last few days.

The old captain cannot steer the ship yet, but can try to make calmer waters (thus the ISA). Then when the waters calm, the mutiny on board shall take place. Of course, it will not be the old captain then executing the mutiny, but the bargained one (who?).

129. #129 by plasma16 on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:01 am

The authorities are going crazy. This will certainly seal their downfall. The inhumane act should be abolished immediately.

130. #130 by mightymouse on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:21 am

where is this zak guy? why is he so quiet now that he knows BN/UMNO is in the wrong? Please could someone ask him to kindly show his debating skills on why Teresa and the journalist was arrested??

PLEASE post i would love to hear your side of the arguement again.. i read this whole thread just waiting for your absurd comments. but then again its a good read. especially when all you are doing now is showing what a BN/UMNO dog you are but please you humour me.

131. #131 by Cinapek on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 11:05 am

UMNO’s Supreme Council unanimously passed a motion that Ahmad Ismail was wrong and disciplined him.

If the parties responsible had made the same decisive decision right at the start instead of flip flopping and pussyfooting around, it would not have deteriorated to the extent that the ISA had now to be used.

The same can be said of all those issues that various parties had accused the Bar Council and other organizations of having a racial and religious slant in their efforts to find long term solutions. If the Govt. and the parties responsible had the political will and the guts to take the decisive actions to resolve them, the Bar Council and all the other parties would have no need to take the initiatives into their own hands. Instead they buried their heads in the sand and allow the problems to fester and get worse by the day. If they think they have resolved these open festering wounds with this ISA action, they are wrong. They are merely delaying the inevitable.

132. #132 by Godfather on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 12:04 pm

Zak is merely parroting his hero, the Mamakthir. What is good enough for Mamakthir is good enough for Zak the foreigner.

133. #133 by alhafar on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 2:49 pm

Forgive me but I am just another stupid ignorant pendatang squatter, but didn’t the honorable Ahmad Ismail hold a press conference? As far as I understand, the press only reported what was issued at the PC, and as far as my dim understanding of PC is concerned, isnt that precisely the desired effect, ie having your words printed in the press? And if this person calling the PC is a from the ruling party, doesnt it follow logic (if we still use that these days in Msia) that the press is obliged to report whatever was said at the PC? So what’s the crime? Very strange laws we have. But maybe I am just too stupid to understand our squatting country’s laws. Forgive me.

134. #134 by Plaintruth on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 3:40 pm

I read the postings and people are praying…. is this all we can do? We need to do somthing (within the law, of course).
    Is signing petition to Agong the answer?
    I posting on the blog the answer?

There must be a better answer to bring down this UMNOPUTRA government.

let’s hear your suggestions.

Enough is Enough ! The raykat are oppressed and suffered.

135. #135 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:08 pm

Dear Cinapek,

What a double standard. If Chinese can be so upset with remark by Ahmad Ismail and demanded punishment to him, why Muslims can not demand action against RPK when he insulted Islam and Prophet Muhammad.

What would a PM do in this situation? Keep quiet. And says that no action can be taken even this RPK insults a religion simply because of so called “freedom of speech”. What freedom of speech we are talking about. We are talking about a poor banckrupt( literally and figuratively) soul who continously spread lies.

PM still tolerates it. But when he crossed the line and insulted the religion, he should know that his fate is sealed. I have no respect to a person who belittles a religion. Do not give crap such as the detention will put Malaysia into 3rd World status. The detention serves as a warning that there is a limit to everything.

The detention serves as a warning that those who play into racial or religious card that they will have to pay the price. If I were to be the PM, I would do the same. If I refuse to act, I must accept backlash from that community itself. And No PM would want to be in that situation.

So, my million dollar question to you SIr, It is OK to insult Islam or Prophet Muhammad or Jesus in the name of freedom?.

136. #136 by shamshul anuar on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:18 pm

Dear 9 to 5,

Get your facts right. During Operasi Lallang, not only Chinese politicians were arrested. Several Malay politicians were also arrested.

137. #137 by cheng on on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:20 pm

Reporters’ problems…
    If we do not report what the gomen ppl said, our bosses will sacked us ! Nobody will buy the paper !
    If we report what the gomen ppl said, the gomen will sacked us! SO HOW??? ANYBODY CAN GIVE A SOLUTION, THANKS

138. #138 by cheng on on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:29 pm

Hidup Pakatan Rakyat Says:
    Yesterday at 23: 50.32
    My vote to Pakatan Rakyat, PKR, DAP, PAS for
    GE14, GE15, GE16, GE17, GE18, GE19, GE20, GE21, GE22, GE23,
    GE24, GE25, GE26, GE27, GE28, GE29, GE30,……..GE100

How about GE13 ?? You are very greedy, you mean you want to live for another 250 years or more? even if there is a GE every 3 years. Be sensible lah!

139. #139 by cheng on on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 5:40 pm

Whether the person who apologize on behalf on Ah Mad Ism.. insulted anybody?? If yes, then can he be ISA..ed as well??

140. #140 by jenhz on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 8:28 pm

To Zak:

Some of the points you made with regards to RPK might be correct. I do not know much about Islam and Islam teachings so I cannot comment further. However, I urge you (like the rest here) to give us your stand on Teresa as well as Tan’s arrest. Reasons for Teresa’s arrest has not been made clear, while everyone knows why Tan is arrested. Can you tell me why you think that it is OK to let Ahmad Ismail off but it is not OK to let Tan be spared from all the chaos? Tell all of us here exactly what did Tan do wrongly that deserve such a 6-star treatment from ISA? Are you telling us here that reporting the truth and reporting on racism is against the law and moral? You still have not clarify that. Let me help you here. Tan is arrested as a scapegoat, not because she reported on racism, but because she was too daring to report on a racism comment made by a VIP. The moral behind this story is: if you are not a VIP or if you are not associated with any VIPs, do not make racist comments. I think perhaps I should get a VIP to become my godfather, then I can walk away freely chanting racist comments.

To Shamshul:

Let’s not talk about other countries. In Malaysia alone, since when did any VIPs got detain or arrest by ISA for making racist comments (directly or indirectly)? I can tell you I am a Christian and I’ve got many people insulted Jesus, but do Christians in Malaysia ever walk onto the streets and parade and ask for someone to be detained by ISA? Let me explain to you how our incompetent government uses ISA. As long as you report (whether you blog, write, talk, chant, swear etc) anything that is deem inappropriate, insulting or derogatory to Islam or the VIPs, you will be locked up. Period.

141. #141 by purpleberry on Saturday, 13 September 2008 - 10:28 pm

unfortunately MCA’s too afraid to speak up, its vice-president’s speech seemed to be on “their” side. MCA’s with Gerakan, creating the so-called “bangsa malaysia”…and as to what we’ve seen here, they’re merely creating their “own bangsa”, the ones acknowledging ISA and its discretion, keeping silent to avoid troubles. if we are one “bangsa”, then why can’t we discuss sensitive issues, with every party taking it openly? if it’s so hard to do so, with ISA and all, how can Abdullah expect us to unite then? the lacunae is so big, you think we are blind? and dumb??

142. #142 by Malar on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 12:42 am

Today Kayveas of PPP spoke on the arrest of 3 people under ISA. Even he was against this act but mic and especially sami value has not voiced out anything in favour of the 3 people. He too could be angry with RPK for the article on the land scam. Unfortunately there is no one on behalf of the indians to speak. MIC is hiding behind PM’s sarong. Makkal shakti please pray for the safe return of these 3 people. There won’t be any arrest this week because syed albar is busy with the return of the MPs from Taiwan. After a short break, I’m not sure who are the unfortunates on the list. He would say, “They are not a threat but their lives are in a threat so I need to put them under ISA’. Does this sound interesting!

143. #143 by nty on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 1:31 am

Go to hell BN. What the heck that the stupid guy that mention the real statement still free outside and continue bullshitting but the reporter that report the news truthfully without adding any own opinion. (Only 100++ word news) put in jail. This is so call Malaysia boleh? Malaysia really Boleh, but too bad in the wrong and stupid way. This just make us embarrass in front of other country. Go to hell BN.

144. #144 by ktteokt on Sunday, 14 September 2008 - 8:58 am

Actually, all these “penalizing the person reporting any crime” in Malaysia has given rise to the uncivicmindedness and selfishness of Malaysians. I often hear parents telling their children “to mind your own business and stop being nosey” in fear of getting into trouble with the law. The law in Malaysia has transformed itself into an “nasty monster” preying on the innocent!