“Abdullah attacks ‘populist’ claims while presenting populist budget”
This thought occurred to me when the Prime Minister-cum-Finance Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi announced a string of goodies in his 2009 Budget in Parliament today, including the following:
“Those who use less than RM20 of electricity per month will not be charged.”
One would have thought that Abdullah is preparing to fight an early general election if one had not been held just less than six months ago from which Abdullah and the Barisan Nasional emerged badly mauled – followed by another blow to the solar plexus in the Permatang Pauh by-election only three days ago.
But Abdullah was fighting for his political life when he presented the 2009 Budget.
I am not the only one to read Abdullah’s 2009 budget,as his “last ditch bid to cling to power” as a Singapore-based analyst commented: “It is a populist budget to deflect the growing popularity of Anwar”
Never before in Malaysia’s 51-year history has a budget received so little national interest and public attention – as all focus is on how long the Barisan Nasional government can last or Abdullah survive as Prime Minister.
In the past three days after the Permatang Pauh by-election, demands have grown in UMNO for Abdullah to step down as Prime Minister and from the other Barisan Nasional component parties to quit the ruling coalition.
Abdullah referred to this deepening political, economic and nation-building multiple crisis of confidence in the conclusion of his budget speech.
He said:
“120. The tabling of the 2009 Budget demonstrates yet again that the Barisan Nasional Government is responsive to the concerns of the rakyat and has taken measures to lighten the burden of all Malaysians, particularly the lower income group. The approach taken is focused towards support and assistance, which not only improves the quality of life but also enables all Malaysians to enhance their productivity. This Budget is in line with the medium term plan as articulated in the National Mission and the Ninth Malaysia Plan to further develop the nation towards Vision 2020.
“121. The Barisan Nasional Government will continue to manage the economy responsibly. The Opposition, on the other hand, continues to make populist claims, which, if implemented, would undermine the Government’s financial position and bequeath a bankrupt nation to the next generation.”
A competition could be held as to the number of incorrect, misleading or downright baseless claims or false assertions in just these two paragraphs – symptomatic of a Prime Minister and government in deep crisis of confidence.

#1 by citizenwatch on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 5:05 pm
Scribbling on the wall:
“The sad thing is we see less bull at the stockmarket than in the govt”
#2 by Timmy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 5:17 pm
ic ic Bullsh@t
#3 by Dr.Ken on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 5:44 pm
Timmy ,
I agree with u that our Hospital is a gateway to Death , not a Healing Place> Shortage of Good Medicine & Doctors & Poor management contribute to this. The World Laugh at us for a Free electric for those who use less than RM 20 a month.What a joke ?
Why a PM is also a Finance Minister ? what about his Salary ? Does he get pay as PM and also as a Finance minister too ?
#4 by Timmy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 5:50 pm
For eg, waiting queue for brain surgery!is it only a matter of Shortage of Good Medicine & Doctors & Poor management ?Need another operation threatre? Where is the BUDGET?? Come on, PM!You haven’t seen it with your eyes, i bet!!
#5 by La Pax on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 6:09 pm
The more title he(PM) carries the more salary he’ll get.
#6 by IloveDAPforever on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 6:10 pm
The budget is a load of rubbish, nothing to cheer about for the average income people.
Thought sleepyhead Bodohwi would have at least come up with better reduced personal taxes to take the load off the rakyat’s shoulders in coping with the increase in cost of living resulting in the hike in fuel. Flipflop again did not keep his promise in addressing this issue.
Big chunk goes to welfare to help the needy, but the question is does it actually reach the hardcore poor or as usual get hijacked along the way. Welfare minister Ng Yen Yen should be transparent and accountable on the distributions. But I doubt she will, judging from her $200 handouts to the elderly at PP definitely the money will end up elsewhere.
No relief in sight & more suffering in store for the rakyat. To end our sufferings, we have to put to an end the whole batallion of arrogant BeEnd idiots. Only Pakatan can help us now!
#7 by IloveDAPforever on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 6:14 pm
increase in cost of living should read .. resulting from (not in) the hike in fuel.
#8 by Timmy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 6:17 pm
i salute him if he fund in another op room in hkl !!! Life of patient is overlooked! poor guy, us.
#9 by Timmy on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 6:21 pm
what is there to cheers, and hold on to the pm post??The God must be blind.
#10 by Godfather on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 8:39 pm
Yes, Badawi gets 2 allowances as PM and Finance Minister. He gets 2 different cars, two private secretaries and, basically, 2 of everything else including 2 offices, 2 separate entertainment allowances.
I don’t think he is holding 2 positions just to double his perks. He is holding 2 positions to double the level of influence in awarding goodies to his cronies and relatives.
#11 by aquaimplotec on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:20 pm
A few quick and effective ways to help yourselves instead of waiting for AAB to help you via the budget. The BUDGET is as is meaning what Khairy’s BUDdies GET for 2009.
Save your money:-
Don’t pay your income tax.
Don’t pay for road tax
Don’t pay your land assessment and quit rent.
Don’t pay for fines.
Don’t pay for municipal parking.
Businesses:-
Don’t pay over to the Customs Department the service tax, government tax. The Bandaraya Signboard licence, whatever licence. IRB Monthly tax deductions whatever.
Lets ALL in Malaysia do this starting from tommorrow and continue for a period of two months or until ABDULLAH BADAWI steps down!!!!!
STOP THE CORRUPTED GOVERNMENT MACHINERY FROM OPERATING!
#12 by ktteokt on Saturday, 30 August 2008 - 9:57 pm
An ordinary secondary school student would have been able to formulate and present such a stupid budget!!!!
#13 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:03 am
“I don’t think he is holding 2 positions …” Godfather
How many positions do you want Bad*S to hold?? There are some 169 positions in the Kamastura! You’d have to be an Olympics gymnast to try all.
#14 by takazawa on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 12:46 am
What ktteokt said reminds me of a Star World TV program on Astro every Wednesday called “Are you smarter than a 5th grader?”. As for that retard, I dare say everyone would agree with me that he’s not even smarter than a pre-school grader who is not even 1st grade!
I believe he must be thinking that RM20 of electricity bill a month is a great deal to save for every Malaysian except for his relatives and cronies. He thinks we are like some school kids who get easily pacified just by giving us some cheap skate chocolates and candy bars.
I still remember that even my monthly pocket money as a primary school kid 15 years ago was even more than that pathetic RM20 a month lah. I was only given a meagre 2 bucks daily for my meal allowance including drinks and even managed to come back with some change for my savings, and that monthly saving was already more than 20 bucks! So why do we need to save that pathetic 20 bucks when even a student like me could afford it? Not that I come from a well to do family or what, just that the idea of saving that pathetic 20 bucks is too ridiculous that even a beggar would feel insulted by this “freebie” proposed. This is just to say that 20 bucks nowadays is just like a drop in the ocean.
He could have saved his sorry ‘S’ by proposing things like, annual road tax waiver, lowering of toll rates, reducing the land assessment fee, free water supply regardless of usage, 5% GST waiver, free parking on government parking bays, free driver’s license renewal, and not to mention fuel and gas prices.
#15 by takazawa on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:07 am
Further to what aquaimplotec said, ever since I got my new car 2 years ago, I have not settled a single summon after having collected a total of 25 summonses! Not that I liked parking indiscrimately, just that I did not have a choice because all the parking bays were fully occupied and so I had to park by the roadside. Heck, there was no line drawn along the road but boy, I got slapped with a fine. Initially, I felt so guilty about it but when I asked my friend how he dealt with it, he said, “don’t care lah, no need to settle also nevermind one cuz they won’t dare to sue you one. When I received a few summonses, I even burnt them in front of the MBPJ office!” So after hearing this, I told myself that I need not give a damn about parking offences anymore. After all, life is already tough enough living in this country run by those draculas who constantly squeeze and suck every drop of blood out of us.
#16 by takazawa on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 2:53 am
If Budget 2008 was known as an election budget, then what is Budget 2009 known as? Erection budget? It sounds parallel to 2007 Tahun Melawat Malaysia and 2008 Tahun Meliwat Malaysia. What about Tahun 2009? Tahun Melawak Malaysia? Meaning, 2009 year of making Malaysia a laughing stock.
#17 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 3:29 am
…oooops ‘kamasutra’
#18 by mamatsamad on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:41 am
Public safety gets RM5.4bil and schools/Varsities gets RM150 mil !!! I think the Gov should really look into better benefits for the schools/Varsities. Can we get RM1 bil from the safety budget and give it to school budget. Where is our free education ?
#19 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 8:53 am
takazawa Says:
Today at 02: 53.46 (5 hours ago)
If Budget 2008 was known as an election budget, then what is Budget 2009 known as? Erection budget?”
Yes, that’s right the Japanese cannot pronounce ‘election’ but instead pronounce it as ‘erection’. Whereas the Chinese pronounce ‘erection’ as ‘election’. So you need to erect in order to elect – or is it the other way round??
#20 by aquaimplotec on Sunday, 31 August 2008 - 1:39 pm
Looks like aab has bequeathed himself and his cronies a hefty pension of RM200,000,000,000.
Surprising thing is that I don’t see anyone objecting to this!!!!
#21 by ktteokt on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 8:52 am
takazawa, do not expect AAB to cut all those things mentioned by you otherwise he will be offending a lot of UMNOPUTRAS and cronies and soon lose all support. As it is, he is already losing support of the rakyat, and if he lose his UMNOPUTRAS and cronies, he will be seen packing up to balik kampong in Kepala Batas which is so close to Permatang Pauh that maybe he will be attacked by “rotten eggs” thrown from PP to KB!
#22 by bclee on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 1:23 pm
when out income are 160B but spent 207B,how long can we live,this is the 12th times deficit account man.
comodities price start to slip now but our oil price still rocket high.
when the goverement want to increase the petrol price today announce tommorow immedialy up but international crude oil drop we need to wait 1 month to studies in order to drop the petrol price,what u mean follow current market price?
#23 by yhsiew on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 8:53 pm
Bloomberg reported Friday (29 August 08) that the widening budget deficit, caused by Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s tax cuts and spending boosts to fend off the opposition’s move to take over the country, is putting its credit rating and currency at risk. Inflation spiked to 8.5 percent in July, a 26-year high.
#24 by boh-liao on Monday, 1 September 2008 - 9:59 pm
Grab a copy of the Auditor-General’s Report for 2007, read the many horror stories of how government/tax payers’ money was callously spent or siphoned off, and then we will shudder to think how the billions allocated under the 2009 budget will be siphoned off very quickly by Umnoputras and their cronies before the fall of the present Federal Government! Kaya raya time again for the connected few!
#25 by cheng on on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 12:36 am
If do some maths, a family of 4, pay how much (average) for budget of RM 206 bil,
4 X (206 bil/ 27 mil) = 30,500, wow , RM30,500 per year , i.e. more than average annual pay of a fresh graduate.
#26 by PHUAKL on Tuesday, 2 September 2008 - 7:53 am
Dear YB Lim
This reinforces my belief in the power of
popular democracy!
Phua Kai Lit
#27 by guguweng on Wednesday, 3 September 2008 - 12:46 pm
bodowi want to gain popularity! but he denied, U all believe him ah?