Brand new era for Universiti Teknologi MARA?
BY Azly Rahman
We must congratulate the present leadership of Selangor for suggesting that Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) be open to non-Bumiputeras; a good suggestion indeed and UiTM students and alumni should in fact be proud that such a statement of hope and reconciliation is made public.
More than merely ten percent should be allocated for Malaysians of other ethnic groups. This is indeed and excellent way to begin restructuring our public universities so that they can become truly global and embrace multiculturalism as a pillar of intellectual pride.
This will be in tune with the spirit of the The Beijing 2008 Olympics in which there will be competition amongst the races. Way too long the Malay students in UiTM have been unfairly denied the opportunity to collaborate and cooperate with their peers from other ethnic groups in the learning process. They have been shackled in a place wherein the only ideology they know is one of “Ketuanan Melayu”; a concept that is a contradiction to what a university must aspire to become. The 3-4 years of their wonderful college experience should provide them the skills to work in a multicultural environment.
Many “Bumiputra-centric” institutions have opened up to non-Bumputras in order for us see a reflection of Malaysian-ness in diversity. Universiti Perguruan Sultan Idris, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, and Maktab Rendah Sains MARA are examples. There is no need for the administrators and students of UiTM to be upset over such a proposal.
Restructure leadership first
But a larger issue is we must first begin restructuring the leadership of all our universities to reflect our desire for Malaysians to be truly Malaysian, “truly Asian” as the slogan goes.We must begin by closely reading the philosophy and principles of affirmative action and translate these into practice and to monitor its successes.
Let us do a better job with our policies of diversity and affirmative action in order to find a peaceful solution to the dead-end issues of quota, meritocracy, dread, mundaneness, blind nationalism, cemented racism, closing of doors to the best and the brightest, and a spectrum of malaise in our public universities. Our vice-chancellors must enculturalise what is good, new, and true that they have learned from their alma mater in foreign lands, so that they can govern institutions with purity of thought. Most of them are US, UK, and Australian-trained and well-versed in the issue of diversity and affirmative action.
The problem is that many get afflicted by philosophical amnesia as soon as we are back in Malaysia after many years of studying abroad and learning about what worked in advanced countries. We let ‘this old house we inhabit’ define the culture that will intellectually disable us. The University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) in the US proclaimed its commitment to diversity in a statement issued on Sept 20, 1999:
“At UCLA, a public university located in one of the most heterogeneous regions in the world, diversity is an indispensable element of academic excellence. We are fundamentally committed to including and integrating within the campus community individuals from different groups as defined by such characteristics as race, ethnicity, gender, socioeconomic background, religion, sexual orientation, age, disability, and intellectual outlook.
“This commitment requires efforts to attract to the campus members of historically under-represented racial and ethnic groups. However, to create a rich academic experience and intellectual and cultural environment for everyone, we extend our concern beyond representation to genuine participation. Our commitment to diversity entails devising strategies and programmes to realise its benefits fully in education, research and service. This commitment inevitably means an openness to change - indeed, to transformation.”
Einstein once said that we cannot solve problems from the same plane on which the problem was created. We would be going around in circles, looking for the door to equality, justice and wisdom in our collective hope of creating a nation of peace-loving Malaysians. The New Economic Policy and the problem of race in governance of our universities must be framed within the Einsteinian maxim.
Need for multi-cultural audit
Many would like to see a diverse team of top leadership in our public universities. Chinese, Indian, Iban or Kadazan Malaysian students would like to see a vice-chancellor or a deputy vice-chancellor of their ethnicity. Our foreign students are not lured here to learn more sophisticated political-economic forms of racism.
A multi-cultural mix of top leadership will ensure a good sense of student belonging to the university and will show the world that not Malaysia will not only has a ‘world-class’ image but also practises a ‘world-wise’ educational policy. Universiti Teknologi MARA, in this case, can be made less Malay and more multi-cultural, so that we may teach students to view success not solely in racial terms but through a transcultural lens. This university will benefit intellectually and culturally from a good composition of multi-cultural leadership. A multi-cultural university senate may help ease the migraine of the quota mentality and will educate the top leadership on the need to evolve wisely thorough good affirmative action policies that are also in line with the teachings of the great religious traditions and humanistic educational philosophies.
Islam, Christianity, Catholicism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Jainism, and even atheism teach us to look at human beings not through the eyes of race alone. A good system will look at class as a basis of creating a just system that brings out humanism in all of us. The concept of democracy in education demands us to integrate all the diverse cultures so that each may learn to better respect, and next, help each other build better a vision of an ethical society.
Create a new varsity order
Borrowing the words of the American social reconstructionist George Counts, who wrote of the need to reconstruct society through education, I propose that we seriously engage in a national dialogue on the beauty of diversity in our public universities. It will be a guarantee that whatever we have set up as a multi-cultural nation will be achieved if we begin with this vision from the top of the ivory tower.
If we let the higher education minister restructure the culture and nature of who should constitute the leaders in the ivory towers, we will see discrimination being properly addressed and resolved. This may be painful in the beginning and the healing process will not be pleasant, but heal we all must. An all-Malay, all-Chinese or all-Indian educational institution will not educate well but will indoctrinate excellently.
Education in the broadest sense of the word should train people to become transcultural citizens able to build a strong foundation of radical multi-culturalism so that society will continue to be critical of governments that lie to their own people through policies that give new meaning to the colonialist policy of divide, conquer and rule.
How much have our universities progressed in the area of cross-cultural understanding? To what extent will our graduates be colour-blind in their work for national development and ultimately, for human liberation? How much do the universities perpetuate ethnocentrism through their hidden curriculum of excluding each other based on race matters? The 22-year policy of the previous administration has reached its ideological shelf-life.
The universities, especially UiTM need to evolve beyond the paradigm of blind nationalism which has never been healthy for this nation. We need the ’sensor-fused’ technology of eliminating the vestiges of hyper-addictive neo-feudalistic educational pill we have been made to swallow en masse. We need to radically reconstruct the composition of our university leaders to put a stop to this conveyor belt of disabling and paralysing strategy of social reproduction.
Truly diverse administration
Monthly university senate meetings would be more vibrant if we choose to create a culture that will celebrate the diverse perspective that addresses the issue of class, the marginalised, and the criminalisation of the best and the brightest students. We may even discuss how to apply cutting-edge strategies to meet the diverse needs and intelligence of students. We will learn to become less suspicious of our ill-derived and acquired ultra-nationalistic sentiment. Our senate room will be a beautiful forum and may also in decades to come evolve somewhat like the “Conference of the Birds”, as the great Sufi Master Sheikh Fariduddin Attar would call it. In it, we will see the faculty seeking wisdom and truth rather than arguing their biases using politically-correct academic jargon.
We will see a beautiful senatorial culture in all universities. The common goal would be to celebrate humanism, not to dehumanise students and faculty through discriminatory policies. We will gradually free ourselves from the shackles of shallow politicking that has plagued our universities ever since Independence.
All voices will be heard and the voices of social justice and intellectual freedom will be the most celebrated. We can become like America and its insistence on diversity in its universities. Walk into a good American university and you will see a diverse faculty - white, black, Hispanic, Asian and Pacific Islander - all appointed on merit.
We can embrace such multi-culturalism and trumpet to the world how we truly value diversity. This will add more meaning to the idea of a truly world-class Malaysian university. Our university senators will spend more time discussing the philosophical and transcultural foundations of university education, rather than argue tediously over this or that quota and then go home scheming against one another and using their intelligence for less noble purposes.
UiTM will do even better
Let the rakyat insist on the diverse composition of our university leadership. Let us see which Malaysian university will embrace this idea of projecting a ‘world-class’ and ‘world-wise’ university. After all, aren’t we supposed to be a world model in racial harmony? Let us then quickly put an end to racial segregation in our ivory towers.
Let UiTM pave the way to not only prove that change is not only pleasurable, but also inevitable. As an educator who also had the excellent opportunity to be part of UiTM first as a student and part-time faculty albeit briefly in both instances ages ago, I truly believe that Malay students will be all the more enriched with all the races pursuing knowledge not necessarily to compete with one another, but to collaborate in the spirit of diversity and multiculturalism.
For too long UiTM has been dubbed a “universiti untuk Melayu sahaja” (a university for Malays only). It is time to create a new image. From an educational philosophy and psychology point of view, the current image is a misrepresentation. Ultimately it is the students themselves that will continue to be shortchanged. This is a form of oppression and structural violence on the Malay mind; especially when these same bright young minds are also subjected to mind-controlling programs such those created by The Biro Tata Negara and shoved into the brains of the participants. Who benefits from all these?http://azlyrahman-illuminations.blogspot.com/2008/02/155-malay-view-of-ketuanan-melayu.html
To UiTM alumni and faculty of whom are my best of friends and colleagues, do enlighten the students with the fact that to succeed in this globalized world of opportunities, one must embrace positive change and be pragmatic about shifting circumstances. Our job is to suggest the best for the leaders of the future. We cannot settle for anything less for the bright, young minds called Malaysians. We must create a robust multicultural environment to affect positive changes for us and our students.
To UiTM students known to be creative, street-smart, and good problem-solvers, there is a bigger world outside of UiTM that awaits those who are world-wise. If education is a gentle profession that promises progress and prosperity, you will not be victimized in your never-ending journey for knowledge and wisdom. Demand your university to provide you with a multicultural environment in order to have a better and rewarding university experience. Challenge yourself to be highly proficient not only in English but in Bahasa Malaysia and other languages. You do not live in a cocoon. You are not to be blamed for the environment created for you; one created for political reasons that no longer have the appeal nor the educational logic.
Universities the world over are taking pride in how multicultural and global their campuses are, making sure that diversity and affirmative action becomes the culture. In the United States, parents want to send their sons and daughters to colleges that have a truly diverse population. The key word is “global education and international experience”.
Universiti Teknologi MARA will have a brighter future with this new vision of multiculturalism.
Good luck in your Olympics of the mind, body, and spirit. My best wishes goes to the students of UiTM who are missing a major component of their college experience.
To help the Malays, set them free. This is the first ray of light for the dawn of this new era.
———————-
My Facebook supporters page.
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 01.55
I am the 1st one heheheh…..!
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 10.06
But if you watched the TV3 bulletin and those demonstrators you know these graduates will face a bleak future as they are full of “ketuanan” shit.
Then there was the UiTm official who boasted of his 120,000 zombies, oops students, parents, alumni and etc who would take on the MB. That guy should be a politician and not in academia.
What a disgrace!
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 11.14
slow to anger.
http://ongohing.wordpress.com/2008/08/13/slow-to-anger/
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 28.48
The PM said the MB of Selangor has no power to Propose that UiTM be opened to non-bumiputra. I thought that a person has no power to Decide but what is there to stop a person from Proposing. UiTM students have strongly objected to the proposal saying that it is Illogical and Inappropriate. I would like to ask this racist students what is Illogical and Inapprociate to have Multi-Cultural mix of students reflecting the various races in Malaysia. The upkeep of this university is by the government or should we say the tax payers’ money and who pays the bulk of the taxes? Maybe these students are worried that the 10% non-bumiputra students will be the Top Ten in the exams.
Frankly with this type of attitude by these racist students, I would not send my children there as they will be abused, bullied and even molested.
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 36.51
Cheers to Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim for proposing UiTM to open up 10% of its intake to other races despite the objections from the Malaysian Muslim Consumers Association (PPIM).
Its good that opposition led states are making an effort to keep their promise to Rakyat Malaysia. No matter if its only 10%, of even if the proposal be rejected…. but at least we know there are some that are willing to stand for equality despite their own popularity!
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 38.53
it might nt be a gd news for PR and anwar as majority of voters in PP are malays.
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 42.57
When TAR college was set up, the agreement was to take in a certain number of bumi students - and so MCA agreed and pride themselves for setting up such well-known college.
However when Mara UiTM was set up, it NEVER needed to set a rule to take in a certain number of non-bumi students.
This is the vast difference and gross imbalance u can see in the education system of Malaysia.
All of us pay the same amount of tax, but not all of us get to enjoy everything in this BolehLand. All my foreign friends really cant believe this logic behind it.
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 54.03
The logic is…
There can be only one… Own_one…
It’s a sad & very sick country…
What would be the remedy? Lots & lots of antibiotic…
This country has no accountability, transparency, honor, integrity…
Go figure…
Cheers..
August 13th, 2008 at 15: 59.43
If the 10% thing was made by TDM, Najis or AAB or Krismudin, then the reaction would be different!
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 01.05
///Notwithstanding anything in this Constitution, but subject to the provisions of Article 40 and of this Article, the Yang di-Pertuan Agong shall exercise his functions under this Constitution and federal law in such manner as may be necessary to safeguard the special provision of the Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak and to ensure the reservation for Malays and natives of any of the States of Sabah and Sarawak of such proportion as he may deem reasonable of positions in the public service (other than the public service of a State) and of scholarships, exhibitions and other similar educational or training privileges or special facilities given or accorded by the Federal Government and, when any permit or licence for the operation of any trade or business is required by federal law, then, subject to the provisions of that law and this Article, of such permits and licences. /// Article 153 (2)
The key words are “the reservation of SUCH PROPORTION as he (Agong) deems reasonable”. Of course the government of the day acts without necessarily consulting his Majesty what proportion would his Majesty consider reasonable. It is clear that 100% cannot be called a proportion, much less a reasonable one.
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 01.13
pure malaysian! why u pay tax? just pay zakat as tax like bodohwi and enjoy life. this way all malaysians are equal. non muslim say hamba allah…. and pay…. u are safe. hahahahaha
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 03.49
A well-written piece from Azly Rahman. I’m impressed with his erudite and incisive thoughts. It is void of biasness and undertones , yet enlightening and positively encouraging to the young minds at UiTM. It does not disparage the impressionable minds of the undergrauates but logically and impassionately points to a brighter future for all Malaysians.
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 04.16
UiTM students are afraid on taking competition. They are so spoon-fed so why rock their boat. Do not forget that 97% of unemployed graduates are malays.. has anybody asked WHY? Bcos they live a shallow life and are not forward thinking. They will not be able to cope with day-to-day work if they live a sheltered life (as they do in UiTM and some other uni-s).
Actually their education fund comes from where i wonder??? Tax payers whom are multi-racial!!!!!
Duit non-bumi mereka mahu..tapi orang non-bumi mereka tak mahu. Dah lah fed-up with whats happening these days!!!
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 19.49
Azly Rahman is fast becoming one of the foremost forward thinkers in Malaysia. One step for Azly, a giant step for Bangsa Malaysia.
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 26.58
JeyS you said it perfectly.
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 34.30
if the malays in PP thinks that becos of this UiTM issue they are gonna vote for BN then good for them. They can continue to be screwed by BN just to save some face and lose their own future.
Frankly, I wont even wanna admit my kids there even if they gv my kids free scholarship. Such mentality doesnt bode well for their future. Where does UiTM gets its funding from? UMNO?
I suggest Khalid Ibrahim to forget abt this 10%. No one would be interested already la. If UM standard also jatuh like dead flies becos of some ketuanan issues, imagine where will UiTm be in 5 years time.
Save your breathe, whilst we save enough money and send our kids abroad. They can have all 100% and be kings and masters in those Unis which are churning more unemployed graduates by the lorryfull!
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 41.25
In my opinion, students should focus on their no:1 priority which is getting an education. I must say here that most companies in Malaysia is still using English as their medium of communcations and also I do agree with Dr: M on the subject, Mengajar Sains dan Mathematic dalam bahasa english.
While I note the good intention of the quotas set for bumis, we must also not forget and analyze all results and consequesnces of setting such quotas. We must study all the negative impact for a healthier Malaysia.
At such, a suggestion of a good reflection whether it is a good program in the interest of a better Malaysians can be reflected by conducting survey results upon graduations and their acceptance in the work force. We should put a accrediation level for such tertiary schools otherwise it may back fire in the future. ie: the survey must stereotype/group graduates on how do they fit into the working place and society. We cannot afford to have schools that produce bad employees that is still lack of certain fundamentals when they apply for jobs
If you recall back on our history, many grand fathers/fathers in any family despite any race posses a higher command in English as they were taught by using the Brittish education system. Many of our current great leaders posses similar English standards versus the younger populations. While noting that we should not derail from who we are or from what race we are, we should not also politicise our education system in any form such as quotas, teachers etc. Education should be free and given to all people despite their back ground.
This part, we as adults or decision makers/law makers owe this to all our future generations for the betterment of all Malaysians. You really do not want t resend a graduate to learn more on computers or english upon their graduation later as it will most definately effect their moral of the day
Education should be viewed and hopefully free for all
August 13th, 2008 at 16: 58.02
UiTM 0pening the door to non-malays is long overdued, 10% is considered to small a number, perhaps, 30% is more realistic. Mara is paid for my taxpayers’ money, who is PM to object?
Intelligent students have been denied by this Umno led govt for far too long, because of their discriminating policy towards non-malays. At least, we are giving a chance for top grade students to better their potentials, than wasting it on brown skinned poor graders of this country.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 11.35
High time they do that, otherwise how to live up to its name MARA - Majlis Amanah Rakyat. You mean all these while non-Malays were not RAKYAT of Malaysia????
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 14.43
Thanks, but no thanks, dear Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim.
The Malays can keep UiTM all to themselves, if you know what I mean, he he he.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 19.42
I really admire Azly Rahman for his deep thought, open mind & vision. The student at UITM doesn’t know how to appreciate multiculture socialization , infact it is essential ingredients for Success in this Globalization Economy. I think UITM should allocate 5 % to foreign students so that UITM student have a chance to know & learn different custom & cultures.
Why the M’sian Gov’t send student overseas for higher education?
Education is not just about academics theory but also learning other social values & making contact. i studied in UK & USA & really valued that kind of training I received. I attended classes with students from more than 100 nations & we live in the same building.
The Malay student at UITM need to be more open mind & learn to interact w/ people from different culture , custom & background as part of their Academics training so that they can compete in this global Economy.
Our Education system need a drastic reform , we need to instil a concept into our student that we need to interact w/ student of other race, all race are equal , we need each other for survival, we need harmony & peace. these kind of training need to start at school & at home.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 29.18
JeyS Says:
Well said
It is very,very hard to change the mentality of these parasites. And with Umno as a catalyst, the non-bumis will always be regarded as 2nd-class citizens.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 33.28
malay took the merdeka…..so malay gets something special lah….
why chinese want to get up-set….
if chinse took the merdeka then….
u lim kit siang can become the malaysia king lah….
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 35.11
I’m paying tax every month but my children were denied places in the local U. I have to send them elsewhere. All political reps were chosen by the rakyat and they are suppose to represent them. Do they? What a shame? Hopefully PR will change all the existing policies and make Malaysia for Malaysians. Only then we excel in the world of modern era.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 42.19
haris01 Says:
hey budak, go ask your grandfather/father how Malaysia achieved merdeka first lah. Hopefully your seniors are not as dumb as you.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 48.32
Now with this episode of ONLY opening up 10% of UiTM places for non-bumi and fereigners it has caused so much noises and protests let me ask you WHO is more tolerent?Sometimes I was wondering whether UiTM is the only university in the world that limit students of a certain race.I am becoming more pessimistic about our education system.We should be more open-minded and liberal.See UTAR,MMU are opened to ALL.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 52.34
Do remember that UiTM evolved from MIT and ITM, and it wants to preserve its uniracial heritage! A self-preserved uniracial entity is really like the Emperor’s New Clothes - self-shiok and self-denial to convince the race that it is numero uno!
Sensible people should just let it be. Let the racists preserve their bastion over their dead bodies. Don’t think many non-Malays have a desire to be a tiny minority there and face what-have-you hanky panky academic prejudices.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 56.43
The students that demonstrated did not reflect the views of all malays. Most educated malays would like their children to study in a multicultural environs, but they cannot afford it financially. So they send them to UITM. So, fellow commentattors, please bear this in mind before you criticise the malays.
August 13th, 2008 at 17: 57.14
Now PAS too joined in the race game with Umno. From politics to education to business, it has always been race! At all costs, the race must be upheld and pushed up. Race first, nation second.
August 13th, 2008 at 18: 12.46
# wanderer Says:
Today at 16: 58.02 (54 minutes ago)
UiTM 0pening the door to non-malays is long overdued, 10% is considered to small a number, perhaps, 30% is more realistic. Mara is paid for my taxpayers’ money, who is PM to object?
………
LOL he is the PM for all races in Malaysia or so he claims.
# devilmaster Says:
Today at 17: 42.19 (10 minutes ago)
haris01 Says:
hey budak, go ask your grandfather/father how Malaysia achieved merdeka first lah. Hopefully your seniors are not as dumb as you.
devilmaster you have to forgive haris01 you should know MARA style education and BTN’s brainwashing kind of shrinks the brain.
Local U are now gear to producing BN robots.
August 13th, 2008 at 18: 24.16
haris01 Says:
Today at 17: 33.28 (42 minutes ago)
malay took the merdeka…..so malay gets….. go n ask your grandfather or great grandfather??? U know it was the Chinese who paid some of the ship passages of early Malayan politicians to go to London to negotiate with the Brits !
Fact is all the 3 major races together negotiate with Brits to get Malaya merdeka in 1955 — 1957. British agreed only if all 3 races cooperated, but now U know how they brainwash the young Msian on merdeka….and on the Malayan ppl fight against the Japs (1941 to 1945) !
August 13th, 2008 at 18: 39.45
Why cry and fight over a place in UiTM???
UiTM degree holders are 1000% not recognised in all developed countries..
There’s no big deal studying there….
No Standard lah…..just kampong-level only…
My Form Three level LCE can beat all the degree holders….
Let them be like that…forever.
They can’t even dare to face challenges or pain…
If the Chinese were to study there….Habislah.
Another ‘katak’ in the making….
August 13th, 2008 at 18: 46.16
The demo by the students is a graphic display of the tragedy that has been caused by many years of brain-washing by the BN government about the weakness of the Bumis - now they believe they really cannot compete with others - that is the real tagedy.
The problem is worsened by the UiTM official who even threatened the MB with his thousands of students, parents and alumni.
August 13th, 2008 at 18: 56.34
Dear YB And To All
I AGREE THAT UiTM should be 100% Bumiputera, based on the following points:
a) Let the students there to continue to enjoy, so to speak “World Class Education” with international recognition and let them continue to feel that they really have the “graduate” standard.
b) If non-bumi would to enter the UiTM, they would be discriminated in various ways from all level and everything. That is really damaging in terms of mentally and psychologically and finally self esteemed.
c) Non-bumi who may graduated from UiTM may not be commercially marketable compared to even private institutions like HELP, Taylor or Sunway esp. Multinationals companies. Is better for Non-Bumi to go for private colleges or singapore. At least the english competency and educational standard are comparable to 1st world country.
d) Is not WISE to challenge this as they see UiTM as part of the “Ketuanan Melayu” symbol and a Special Right enshrined bla, bla, bla. Dont give any reason or excuse for another racial tension again.
ALWAYS REMEMBER : SPECIAL RIGHT EXIST IN MALAYSIA is BECAUSE OF THE EXISTENCE OF CHINESE AND INDIANS. THEREFORE SINCE THE NON-BUMI’s POPULATION IS DROPPING, THEN NATURALLY THE SUPPLY OF SPECIAL RIGHT WOULD NOT MEET THE DEMAND OF SPECIAL RIGHT IN THE LONG RUN.
I respect the MB for Selangor for being far sighted. He just want to let the Bumi in UiTM a little feel of what is the meaning of “competition”, “merit system” and “globalization”. Just a very little mental preparation and a “feel” so to expose the Bumi on these. But again is being political issue.
Because in the very long run, the country’s natural resources will diminish. And is really very less remaining to maintain and support the “Special Right” thingy. Naturally, the only resources for the country is Human Capital Resources. It will come one day :-))
August 13th, 2008 at 18: 56.35
Malaysia must be the only country in the world where a university is open to only one race thus openly declaring itself as a racist government.
It doesn’t end there. only a token 10% of matriculation places are reserved for non-Malays thus forcing non-Malays to take a longer and harder route to enter public universities.
Non-Malays pay most of the taxes in Malaysia despite comprising only 30% of the population. Yet they are not treated as equal citizens.
Only when Pakatan Rakyat takes over can we expect this racism to end. As long as Umno and their shameless running dogs (MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PPP) are in power, there will no no change.
August 13th, 2008 at 18: 57.33
During my university days in UK, it was a tremendous experience for me to be able to make friends with British, African and China students and understand their culture and the way they do things. We met together to not only discuss class assignments but also things that happened in each other’s country. This part of my time in UK had been very memorable.
I am afraid UiTM students are missing out all these excitements.
August 13th, 2008 at 19: 09.22
August 13th, 2008 at 19: 12.16
caishen,
It’s not about fighting over a place in UiTM. I would be very worried if I send my kid there, as I fear for their safety - 10% is too small a number, whereas 5,000 protestors is already nearly 5%.
To me, it’s about racial integration - UiTM has been around for a very long time since Merdeka. 50 years of racial segregation is long enough isn’t it? I don’t think it does the students there any good to be segregated.
And why is taxpayer’s monies being used inequitably for Bumiputera exclusively? Is this roughly correspond to the concept of equity?
August 13th, 2008 at 19: 20.50
kudos to the Tan Sri khalid, he is a good man with good intentions. ok so PM slams his idea, what does that mean, would he like to initiate the change then, even better at least when he leaves office on sep 16th, one good thing he has done for malaysians!
August 13th, 2008 at 19: 31.30
Congratulation to Azly Rahman for this realistic, factual, brave, honest , far sighted and touching (from a Malay) comments on UiTM taking in non-Bumi student.
Frankly, non-Bumi do not necessarily need UiTM but vice versa!
With non-Bumi in UiTM:
1. it will promote racial integration.
2. it discourages ‘racial’ and ‘religion’ extremism compare to if the campus is 100% Bumiputra.
3. it encourages academical competition with non-malays which would indirectly improve the Bumiputra’s standdard.
4. Graduates of UiTM could walk taller compare to if it is only ‘for Melayu’ only.
5. Enhance the status of UiTM internationally rather than oh, this is an university for the Malay only.
August 13th, 2008 at 20: 05.13
twe non bumi will not bother to go the racist university…
August 13th, 2008 at 20: 31.29
If we see the demonstrations being staged in TV over this issue, it is the Malay leaders who are guilty of committing their own people to perpetual mental slavery and feudalism. I think the issue is not really the non Malays are hard up of the 10% of the admission to UiTM. There are now sufficient tertiary education opportunities for all Malaysians both within the country and abroad to be quarrelling over these few universities places.
The issue really is the tussle between enlightenment and darkness; between inclusiveness and exclusiveness; between parochialism and cosmopolitanism; and between third world tribal mentality and a self assured and confident Malay race.
August 13th, 2008 at 20: 35.33
haris01;
Maybe, you should know more about, how we got Merdeka. You must be reading the malay twisted history book, the Birth of Malaysia.
August 13th, 2008 at 20: 46.30
Dear all,
I’m a muslim. Just wondering, why the chinese in malaysia allow bumiputera to enroll into the chinese schools but malays are so afraid of chinese friends to enroll into Uitm??? Islam is against racism. Islam encourage healthy competition for the benifit of the people and rakyat as a whole.
August 13th, 2008 at 20: 52.52
Even if you reserve 10% for the non-bumi, I doubt if any non-bumis would want to enrol. It will have the same fate as the national type primary schools. It is laughable because it was MB khalid that made the suggestion, not the non bumis. Common lah. This racist are barking up the wrong tree. Unbelievable over-reaction. I learnt that there is a U in the east coast reserves 10% of its places to foreign students. It is distressful that this U threat foreigners as being more bumi than Msian non-bumi. To add salt to the wound, I am contributing to this U as tax-payer, thus I am subsidising this foreigner students.
August 13th, 2008 at 21: 19.57
I salute the MB of Selangor for his far sightedness. However we have a maronic PM who has no b### #and keeps on playing the racial card. To quote ‘I am a Prime Minister for all Malaysians’ he said but that was lip service. Now that he may not be PM for too long he plays the racial card to consolidate power. You are a disgrace to Malaysia. Where are his running dogs MCA, MIC,PPP Gerakan and other parties from Sabah. Are you hiding under the UMNO sarung?????
August 13th, 2008 at 21: 39.02
devilmaster…
mind u words…..
look at u nick first kid….
your stupid 2 old man haven teach u some moral…punk
August 13th, 2008 at 21: 39.53
Isu UiTM,
Penjelasan Tan Sri Khalid perlu diteliti dengan sejujurnya dan kita haruslah siap untuk menerima hakikat mutu institusi pendidikan kita yang jauh ketinggalan berbanding universiti di negara jiran. Ternyata keprihatinan beliau adalah untuk melihat mutu pendidikan negara dapat ditingkatkan terutamanya institusi yang diamanahkan untuk mendidik serta melatih bumiputra. Saya telahpun membaca kenyataan beliau dan berbincang dengannya, nyata sekali hasrat beliau tidak lain hanya untuk memberikan pendedahan seluasnya kepada mahasiswa UiTM. Dan ini termasuklah kemungkinan untuk menerima pelajar asing dan bukan bumiputra dalam beberapa bidang tertentu terutamanya yang melibatkan isu global dan peluang untuk bersaing di luar negara. Malangnya media UMNO memutarbelitkan kenyataan tersebut. Umum mengetahui Tan Sri Khalid merupakan tokoh besar yang mengangkat Permodalan Nasional Berhad sebagai gergasi korporat antarabangsa dan agak janggal dan lucu bila perasuah besar bumiputra serta konco-konco mereka mendabik dada berbangga kononnya merekalah pejuang Melayu tulen! Saya berharap rakyat Malaysia turut mengkaji implikasi cadangan beliau secara matang dan tidak terperangkap dengan muslihat kalangan tertentu.
Isu Forum Majlis Peguam
Saya menyinggung isu ini beberapa hari sabelum majlis berlansung. Pendirian saya konsisten iaitu menghormati hak sesiapa saja untuk mengulas serta memberi pandangan terhadap sebarang isu. Namun memandangkan sensiviti mauduk, serta persepsi sebahagian umat Islam seolah-olah terdapat rencana menghina Islam, maka saya cenderung agar isu tersebut dibincang secara tertutup. Saya menyambut baik pendirian Tuan Guru Ustaz Hadi, Presiden Pas tatkala mengulas isu tersebut. Malah Majlis Profesional Muslim berjaya merumuskan keadaan dengan mantap melalui kenyataan mereka. Kepimpinan parti pastinya berhasrat untuk mendengar penjelasan dari YB Zulkifli terlebih dahulu yang kemudiannya disusuli dengan perbincangan empat mata dengan saya.
ANWAR IBRAHIM
August 13th, 2008 at 21: 49.28
Sadly, Umno is stoking racism and religious tension to shore up its flagging support among the Malays. However, the same acts are alienating non-Malays. Where do we go from here? Umno’s politics are becoming uglier and its running dog partners are losing their dignity (if they haven’t already lost theirs already) to stay in the coalition.
August 13th, 2008 at 21: 51.21
media UMNO … you should have watched TV3 8pm news tonight.
It wasn’t news but a propaganda telecast for hitting Tan Sri Khalid. They even used PART of Dr.M response to strengthen their position “they are not ready” when what Dr.M said “It is a good idea but they are not ready”
August 13th, 2008 at 21: 51.37
I do agree with my “saudara” (Azly) which I assume is also same races like me. However, the fact is UITM was established to help Bumi’s who actually most of them can’t afford a high fees of higher educational in our country( Most of them still can’t afford). So my suggestion, the 10% kuota can be open to Non-Bumi who actually comes from low-income family, and hopefully from kampung or any pekan-pekan in Malaysia. As you know, UiTM is the world’s most lowest fees of higher educational ( Degree a semester fee’s only cost around RM500++, corect me if im wrong.. that was when 2001
…hheheh..). So what actually that makes me happier if I can see many Non Bumi from lower income family.. maybe from my birth kampung at kelantan or at estate housing which I think many Indians still live there… or even a Chinese boy who’s father still operate Kedai Motor Ah Weng which I always go to repair my honda 100cc can afford to have a higher education and affordable like many other his/her chinese or indian friends from big cities. If I were the ruler of government(mimpilah..), I would probably allocate that 10% to Non-Bumi who are really can’t afford higher education fees in Malaysia which I believe many Non Bumi yang miskin memang ada cita2 nak sambung belajar tapi ada masalah kewangan, so they have to forget them and save their money to their child. You know what, when we talk about education, I think they musn’t be any political agenda or racism base.
I always believe only education can sets us free. We don’t want another Lim Goh Tong who didn’t have a high education but is a successful billionaire. Lim Goh Tong should have the opportunities to further his study at his young age and I wish he would be happy and thankful if it’s happen.Well, I dunno much. Maybe my opinion is not right. I always dream that our country can be like Germany - free education for everyone in public university. So, every races can further study no matter you come from poor family and everyone will has the same equal opportunities by using their education to make their life better. So nobody will ever marah2 or tak puas hati minyak naik barang naik because semua orang ada pelajaran tinggi and can find other job overseas sebab gaji kat sini rendah banget..or with our higher education we all can create new job and new market just like orang puteh do… more intellectual property of product to be market globally instead just rely on our own natural resources…. I believe so much that many orang miskin Non bumi who would be thankful if their children can afford higher education… Man, nothings can beat a smile of a parent who see their children at konvokason holding a skroll.. to know that we have actually gave them a first step of hope in their life…
ps:// No, I’m not a Malay who actually will put my race behind.I’m still proud of my races and we should proud of any of our races too whether you’re chinese or indian.It’s the proud of what you are that makes people respect you. But just like Quran teach me, for every problem, they are always a solution. It’s up to us whether we to solve it or not.
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 00.57
Its simple logic.UMNO led BN Government had lost the support of 40 percent of the Malays. 70 percent of the chiness.90 percent of the Indians .No matter what UMNO or BN do,they can never get back the support of the Chiness and Indians.
Now UMNO is only banking on the full support of the MALAYS.To get this Malay support UMNO will do anything,All this relates to the PERMATANG PAUH BY-election.Now a days in all GOVERNMENT MEDIA.They are saying if “” DSAI wins the BY -election the MALAYS WILL LOSE ITS KETUANAN MELAYU and its MALAY RIGHTS.
Even in todays news they accuse LIM KIT SIANG for KHALID,s Statement.If what i heard is right .Even PAS is now fighting with UMNO for KETUANAN MELAYU.
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 05.32
I am a Malay. I graduated from ITM. I say YES to the proposal by the MB. Go on open the varsity. Let there be some competition. Why the hu ha? Isn’t MRSM also now admits non-Malays? Who decided about that? Anyway, why fear the non-Malays so much? Who is this Patrick something? And Eric Chia or Ananda Krishnan? Whose friends are they? I don’t remember they are Malays!
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 08.11
I had a shot chat at a kopitiam with a stranger about the opening up of MARA to all Malaysian. This is what he said, “Only 10% and they want to protest. So what if they allow non-Malays. like I want to send my children there. The standard of education provided is a joke. Just look at all the unemployed grads”.
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 15.21
how much Malay pays income tax
how much Chinese/Indian/Kadazan dsb contribute
so how much % MARA financed by non-Malay?
interesting…..
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 34.13
UiTM Vice Chancelor Ibrahim Abu Shah claimed … “MAJORITY of students in leading fields of study in higher learning institutions in Malaysia were non-Malays”, to justify UiTM to remain 100% Bumi. - http://us2.malaysia-today.net/2008/content/view/11335/84/
I personally don’t trust UiTM VC because he did not provide any statistics to back up his claim.
Even though I don’t trust UiTM VC personally, I think we cannot also ignore his claim.
Does anyone has statistics that can show whether the UiTM VC is lying through his teeth, or is telling the truth?
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 39.28
Another reason why I don’t trust the UiTM VC’s claim is because his phrase “LEADING FIELDS” is very, very vague.
A further reason for not trusting is because quite likely, due to the quota to limit non-bumi to minority % such as 30% or less, it is statistically unlikely that the non-bumi would form a majority %, even though this is in theory possible also. But just law of averages tilt the non-bumi to still be a minority in “leading fields” - however these are defined.
In short, without concrete statistics to back up his claim, the UiTM VC’s claim is shallow.
These statistics should be readily available.
Anyone?
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 42.31
Yb,
Tan Sri Khalid is just like man in the street character… still immature and incompetent as a politican… What a wishful thinking… too childish and is now one up for BN …. They would be using this topic to kill Anwar for the Permatang Pauh by election….
If at all you want to do anything good for the Chinese or Indian or other ethic people…. Wait till you are the GOVERNMENT and meanwhile he better keep his mouth shut up and do his work for Selangor and don’t try to be smart…… ( Don’t be branded as the Botak Hamid of PKR)
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 50.54
Seriously, I don care the 10% or 30% intake of non bumi in UITM. I will not send my children there . Why? Because I don want my children to think and act like them. Living in the “cocoon”, no pressure, no competitive environment. I know the importance of “Ketuanan Melayu” but this ideology has gone all wrong. The malay has been too pampered to live in this challenging world. They will not survive in the open system and I worry for their children even I am chinese. ”
I always teach my children to adapt to the changing environment. I even told my children every religions is good no matter they are Buddhism, Christian, Islam. As long as their teaching is good, my children should respect and adapt their good teaching . I told them so as our world is getting smaller due to globalisation through modern technology and you will be surprised we have to work with American /chinese muslim or Jews in the future.
Malay reactions on this issue has shown how pampared the malays has becomes. Those who make noise are obviously spoilt brats in our “family”. How to put this…..just imagine if one of your son always pestering you to pass all your hard earned money to him , claiming his right even you are not yet dead, I believe you will put all your money in good hand instead of giving all to him. Why? We all know this son will be lazy, greedy and will be wasting your hard earned money like spraying water. Malaysia is not yet dead. This protesters are just like malaysia’s spoilt children who only worry what is his while the father ( Malaysia ) is still much alive. Malaysia will not let go of this spoilt children like I will not abondon my spoilt son. Instead I will make him work hard and if he does not do so as I said, he can kiss my money goodbye.
So malaysia government, go ahead and spoill your kids and you are to be blamed if they becomes lazy, greedy, useless with low surviving skills
To all protesters of this issue, “kETUANAN MELAYU” is something you earn hard through hard work, you cannot just ask for it. Even you get it free, you will lose it like a spoilt kids.
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 52.09
Sorry folks, This is the latest
“No need to open it up to other races, the Malaysian Muslim Consumers Association (PPIM) said.”
PPIM said the move would be seen as challenging the special rights of the Malays
Director Noor Niwandy Mat Noordin said the government and its leaders had to be tougher in defending such issues because although the country was multiracial, there was “no need to sideline Malay special rights.”
will crumble and be ‘Malaysia-nised’.
This is a classic example how leaders set example for others to follow. 10% for non-bumi’s is equavelent to sidelining the Malays.
They make it clear its gonna be Malay-ised, not the country.
Its the same old story… The Malays to Non-Malays: What’s yours is mine and What mine is Mine. So so typical.
Someone just asked: Wonder how much this ‘thing’ is funded by Non-Malays?
August 13th, 2008 at 22: 55.47
hei Azly - why didn’t you masuk gelangang last election? we need quality ppl in parliment lah..!
August 13th, 2008 at 23: 11.14
These people are ‘blessed with scales’ in their eyes that they cannot ever see the truth.
They can only believe in a lie that will keep them ‘chained’ from any changes that may come through a sober and relevant Malay leader like Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim.
Thy cannot visualize the benefits they may reap out of this plan.
Um-NO wants to keep the malays in ‘bondage’ that way so that support for hem will not slip away. The support is nearly zero, they should know.
August 13th, 2008 at 23: 13.07
Dear Readers,
My nephew was a Malay smart student graduated with double degrees in Accounting, Finance and Information Technology in UiTM 2004. He regretted for wasting his few years in pursuing his studies in MARA College and then to University Technology Mara. His reasons are simple to tell his true stories that Mara students are less competitive in their quality merits in learning, poor comand in English communications and less exposure to various competitions from other non-Malay or foreign students. He was jobless for almost 18 months before he found a sale career but unable to find a lucrative permanent corporate career due to his poor English communication and less demand for UiTM graduates from MNCs or corporate sectors.
My younger brother decided to quit UiTM after studying for six months under full scholarship. He prefers to study at a new University Tuanku Abdul Rahman (UNITAR) and paying full fees. He noted that he cannot continued his accounting and finance degree in UiTM because he felt that he cannot acquired the superior knowledges and the competitiveness among his fellow Malay students. Furthermore, his decision to switch to UNITAR because he needs more interaction and exchange knowledge with multiracial & foreign students and he is able to compete with them. True enough, he scored a very good 1st Class Honour Degree in Accounting and Finance this year 2008. He also secured a good career as an Assistant Accountant in an oil and gas international company while waiting for his graduation. He tried to assist his nephew in getting a good career in the same company but was rejected and never call for an interview. He got to know from the Group Human Resources that too many MARA graduates in town but less quality, exposure, poor english and non competitive are the reasons.
UiTM Vice Chancelor Ibrahim Abu Shah claimed … “MAJORITY of students in leading fields of study in higher learning institutions in Malaysia were non-Malays”, to justify UiTM to remain 100% Bumi.
We, Malay graduates disagreed with VC Ibrahim for his unwise comment because “MAJORITY” does not determine the “QUALITY” of Malay grads today.
August 13th, 2008 at 23: 24.48
With out KETUANAN MELAYU..Where do UMNO stand no where.That is why UMNO is all about KETUANAN MELAYU.MIC MCA PPP GERAKAN what is your stand.
Not all MALAYS are into this KETUANAN thing.Only UMNO MALAYS are shouting about this.UMNO is brave in shouting KETUANAN MELAYU because in the open MIC MCA PPP and GERAKAN are behind UMNO on this issues.
August 13th, 2008 at 23: 27.17
Frankly, if today UiTM is opened to other races, I don’t think many non-Malays may even want to join the university. I must say those in UiTM are really “ketinggalan zaman” (left behind) people. It is not that they don’t want us. We may not even want to join them - extracted from this url which I fully agree with the writer.
http://limkamput-nincompoop.blogspot.com/2008/08/uitm-admission.html
August 13th, 2008 at 23: 50.24
Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim is the type of leader we want in this Bolehland. This is a man with great wisdom and he is also very far-sighted. This is a man the non-Malays and the educated and open-minded Bumiputras would like to keep as the Menteri Besar of Selangor. He is even fit to be a Minister of Education.
If the Bumiputras are afraid of competition and do not wish to go global in the feild of education or even in other fields, we should leave them alone and forget about begging for the 10% quota.
As a non-Bumiputra (born in this Bolehland’s government-run hospital) I don’t think I could excel in UiTM even if given the chance to enrol as a student. I don’t think UiTM can meet my expectation and I don’t think I could get a high-paying job after graduation from this internationally unknow institution. Keep 100% quota to Bumiputras if the authorities want it that way.
Anyway, I want to salute Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim for taking efforts in proposing this wise idea. You are a man of wisdom and you are the man all educated and civiliased Malaysians are looking up to. You may count me out as I am not interested to enrol in UiTM as I deem this institution’s standards are just average — noting great about their achievements in education as it is too regional and protective. Worst of all, with very narrow thinking. So how to compete globally after graduation??
Long live Tan Sri Ibrahim Khalid. Stand firm in your pursue for a fair and just society.
August 13th, 2008 at 23: 54.10
What a good proposal from MB Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim!!! Anyway it’s just a proposal..Why all of us has to make it a big issues. It’s sad to know that Uitm students has such a narrow mindset, everyone are now talking about globalisation but they still live behind the wall.. so sad.. How to achieve vision 2020?
But unfortunately, there are people still don’t understand the meaning of “Rakyat Malaysia”. Kita semua orang Malaysia lah… We should spend more times and efforts to solve the food, oil price and other issues.. not this please..
August 14th, 2008 at 00: 12.57
Malays are complacent and they could not even strived to secure a mid management level post in a MNC BUT they keep complaining about it!
“Ketuanan Melayu”….try it in a real world! My Malay friends!
August 14th, 2008 at 00: 20.08
Why are the Malays so worried about competing with just 10 % for the non bumi intake? After all,our population is dwindling making up less than 25% of the total population.Why are you so helpless even after 51 years of tongkat? But your people with tons of datuks and tan sris are everywhere and many of you are quite rich driving BMW and Mercedes.We just do not understand why until now you still want protection.Look out of this small country and go global.You will never go far if you remain under the ‘coconut shell’.Meanwhile there are also many poor Chinese and Indians around although they have lived here for many generations.They do not have any protection given by UMNO and yet they can survive although quite miserably.Please open your mind and learn to accomodate.If you still persist in your narrow racist policy,the country will have a bleak future.Wake up.
August 14th, 2008 at 00: 27.44
when I look at the protesters, I just cannot figure how stupid they are.
This is the only chance Mara can be better. The quality of MARA graduates are very questionable. I have a few working for me and found the quality to be … well below … salary always lesser than university and most colleges.
Complacency leads to sloth and that when you get low quality grads.
To be frank, I would rather send my children to other colleges. I doubt any non Malays Malaysia would enrol to Mara.
These misguided Malays don’t really need to protest because non Malays are not interested with MARA.
I really think Datuk Khalid is really smart and envisioned competitiveness as key to better quality. unlike the so call defenders of Malay rights.
August 14th, 2008 at 00: 38.41
I think it is a very good idea. This will level the playing field and all non-bumi will be trained to be like all bumis - not to study too hard, not to work too hard and waste time playing 5 times a day. Then we will achieve a harmonious society before China!
August 14th, 2008 at 00: 48.26
I think a lot of people can still remember the slogan put up by MARA university: “We are the best”. Just think of this mentality.
For one I would not want to send my child to study there even with full scholarship.
August 14th, 2008 at 01: 31.21
I really doubt AAB will repeat his routine crap about being the PM for all races come this Merdeka Day.If he does then he is a hypocrite because that is mere lip service.These three recent shocking news have proven beyond doubt his hypocrisy.The three hot new are: 1)Allowing racist and religious bigots cum hooligans to storm and hurl unwarranted racist remarks against participants of a forum organized by the Bar Council.
2)Condemning the Selangor MB for his proposal to open UiTM to non bumis.(only 10%)
3)Promoting a teacher to a better school for uttering racial and derogatory slurs to her students.
August 14th, 2008 at 01: 32.59
haris01 Says:
Yesterday at 21: 39.02
‘devilmaster…
mind u words…..
look at u nick first kid….
your stupid 2 old man haven teach u some moral…punk’
Is the standard of UiTM graduates this bad? Why bother sending anyone there?
August 14th, 2008 at 01: 36.11
No wonder our graduates are not marketable.Just look at the horrible English just above.
August 14th, 2008 at 02: 02.53
I was an ex UiTM student…. and I am 100% sure that 70% of the student that went to the demonstration had BEING FORCED BY THE MANAGEMENT OR BY THEIR HOSTEL WARDEN…. when i was in UiTM Shah Alam for 3 years i had been forced to attend such useless activities such as this kind of demonstration, umno assembly, ceramah umno (when election season) and other…
i still remember when we had been threaten by our hostel warden that we could loose our hostel facilities for next semester if we do not attend Program Ceramah Umno With Dr M.
I dont have any problem having our non bumi friend in UiTM… but for those who are freaking scared with this 10% non bumi entering the Uitm… It’s A Very Big Shame…
Somehow i really dont understand why this vise chansellor are soooo damn racist… TRUST ME GUYS… UMNO INFLUENCE ARE SOOOOO STRONG IN UITM ESPECIALLY THOSE PIHAK ATASAN… AND UiTM Vice cansellor was also UMNO People and widely known by us as one of the biggest Kaki Kipas Perdana Menteri…
They said that University should not mix with politic but in Uitm, anything that is under UMNO are Halal… when KJ came to UiTM to bribe RM200.00 to all the Kelantanese student so that they will vote for BN on last GE are halal (althought most of them voted for PAS)
Any lecturer that looks like PAS supporter had been kicked out from Uitm and Islamic subject and Islamic Co Curricullum had been changed to be more ‘UMNO Hadhari’ Islami style. Tabligh group are being banned and labelled as threats to the UiTM.
So Many things that i wanna say..but as the conclussion…
i support Dato Khalid Proposal… and i am sure many will support them… !!
August 14th, 2008 at 02: 11.50
haris01 Says:
Yesterday at 17: 33.28
Hey Mr Haris01….KAMU MEMANG MEMALUKAN ORANG LAH! CAKAP TAK BACA BUKU KE ADIK??
August 14th, 2008 at 03: 16.56
DSAI, RPK, Tan Sri Khalid, Azly Rahman, Mohammadharrisjalil and a few others.
Before we ‘bash’ the malays for their mentality, think of these people. There is still hope for malays. But how I wish there are more of them.
August 14th, 2008 at 07: 04.23
If they want to keep UiTM for Malays only. Let them be. No point in arguing over this small issue. Wants to keep on being “ketinggalan zaman”let them be lah. Is there any way that tax payers (non-Malays) are trully able to avoid supporting UiTM since UMNO is rich enough to support them themselves.
August 14th, 2008 at 07: 04.51
“To help the Malays, set them free. This is the first ray of light for the dawn of this new era.” Azly Rahman
Help the Malays free themselves from bondage.
August 14th, 2008 at 07: 04.56
Oh!!!! I forgot that UMNO’s coffers come from non-Malay citizens as well… What a bummer!!!
August 14th, 2008 at 07: 54.08
Deary non-bumi friends,
I came from a 100% Malay secondary boarding school and was the only Malay student in my Engineering department (local private uni). Having known both world, I have to admit, Malays have yet to be awaken from their slumber.
Please, please PLEASE do not generalized us Malays with the likes of UiTM. You have to know UiTM is ‘owned’ by UMNO. Don’t blame the rest of the Malays for this. I’m ashamed of this matter. However, I have to accept, this is my RACE doing such pitiful acts.
While Khalid puts his neck on the line, you people bashed him by declining the 10% he proposed. Imagine how could he sleep that way? Malay don’t want non-bumi, non-bumi dont want Malay. Either way, he’s in a gridlock position. Spare some pity-lah for the old man. He’s a nice guy, trying to open up UiTM to globalization like he did for PNB.
Be a kind citizen, don’t unjust his actions. What if he quits because he cant stand being … both sides? Umno will take over again, and here we go again, fighting for the same thing, except your kids are running the show. Dont you want your kids to have a great life without having to fight over puny stuff?
If I was the PM, I would open up local uni for those who couldn’t afford higher education. This way, people (irregardless race) from pekan, kawasan pencil, small towns could fortify their existence. Rich people can get loan and study at private uni.
My dearest chinese & indian friends, again, please do not think all Malays are alike. I care about your generations as much as I care about mine. And I’m dead sure many Malays would support me on this.
Azly Rahman wrote a wonderful piece. It’s like listening a piece by Pachebel. Hands down to you Azly.
ps: At times like these, I miss Adlan Benan. May his soul rest in peace. Amin.
August 14th, 2008 at 08: 00.58
If you lived in a cave forever, the roof is the sky. Being ignorant and over protective is good for nothing.
The legacy of DEB is so strong that it hinders growth and competitiveness. Proton , Perwaja , Felda to name a few failed projects.
UiTM does not have anything to boast other than having 100% clean record of Malay students.
Whilst Felda may have acheived part of it’s economic target, the social failure is very obvious.
It’s truly a ” fail to plan then u plan to fail “
August 14th, 2008 at 08: 05.47
You don’t know the truth, you won’t know what you have to do. Period.
August 14th, 2008 at 08: 17.35
They are forever in denial. Can’t help those that don’t want to help themselves.
August 14th, 2008 at 08: 38.11
LOL just did a video search of on goggle for UiTM, study hard guys.
You’ll find some interesting videos.
August 14th, 2008 at 08: 43.03
First the americans, then the russians now the chinese. They spend a lot in some dubious space programmes. Worse, the stupid americans want to know whether there is life in planet mars. What fo? Of course, there is none. So what if there is?
Based on the same logic, why on earth the government bother to send malay scholars overseas - assuming that they are the proper scholars by singapore standard. Its a pure waste of good money. They dont learn anything extra outside there. We can have all the best facilities that money can buy here. So keep them in the country.
Foreign experience? Nonsense. We dont need any foreign experience or knowledge. Ours is good enough. In fact ours is the best in the world. Look, the multi-media supercorridor is our gift to the world. We are that good and we can afford to be that generous.
Bill Gates is no big deal. Its an open secret. We have Kassim and Zad and the whole train load of Bill Gates equivalent here in Malaysia. Its bang and Microsoft would be swallowed whole. I am speaking the truth. I mean look at our immigration policies. Malaysia is a land or wonder of talents of super achievers. We have enough of them. In fact too many that we are running short of labourers and cleaners.
Azly left the country because he is not good enough you know just like the tens of thousands of chinese in malaysia. They cannot compete with the likes of Zad and Kassim. Hei, Zad and Kassim are not even anywhere near the top malay guys we have here. Wow, imagine if those top guns were to cybertroop this blog. Limkamput, Godfather, Jeffrey, Undergrad2, Kathy, k1980 all and the rest will be reduced to tears rightaway so much so that you people cannot even find the courage to type even one alphabet on the screen.
Of course UiTM must be keep closed to malays only. I support it completely. Its a damned good idea.
August 14th, 2008 at 09: 04.47
Ppl, pls read above “mohammadharrisjalil Says:
Today at 02: 02.53 (6 hours ago)”.
First hand info what UiTM is all about. Congrats and thanks to ‘mohammadharrisjalil ‘your unselfish input. God bless you with many more blessings.
August 14th, 2008 at 09: 08.15
First the americans, then the russians now the chinese. They spend a lot in some dubious space programmes. Worse, the stupid americans want to know whether there is life in planet mars. What fo? Of course, there is none. So what if there is?
Please don’t degrade this blog by posting nonsensical views. How can you be so sweeping in your criticism of space programme. What do you know really? According to your mentality, the European would not have discovered America. What for, it is a big ocean out there, there got land some more!
August 14th, 2008 at 09: 13.04
These UiTM students can’t think - why is something good for UM. UKM, USM and all the best universities in the world, NOT good for me?
August 14th, 2008 at 09: 26.38
I posted this earlier in another thread before Azly Rahman’s.
limkamput Says:
August 12th, 2008 (2 days ago) at 21: 15.04
It is just so funny.
Selangor MB Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim suggested UiTM opens 10 percent of its admission to non Malays. The Prime Minister, in response, said that Khalid has no power to do so. On top of that UiTM students (thousands of them) gathered at Khalid’s office demanding him to rescind the suggestion.
The argument of the students was UiTM has this “special tradition” – a tradition that the university is solely Malays from its inception. See how archaic some of the people in this country have become. It is like USA trying to keep its all white schools or universities in the 1960s. So, we are in a way half a century behind in mental development.
It is so funny I must say. I thought with non Malay students, UiTM could become more competitive to face the world. I just wonder why some Malays dislike other races so much. Are they not bored mixing with their own people? Is it part of their psyche or is it because they are indoctrinated from young.
Frankly, if today UiTM is opened to other races, I don’t think many non-Malays may even want to join the university. I must say those in UiTM are really “ketinggalan zaman” (left behind) people. It is not that they don’t want us. We may not even want to join them.
I think there are good reasons for Tan Sri Khalid to make such a suggestion. I think he could see the hollow and stupidity of single race institutions. He could see that unless the Malays change and adapt quickly, nothing in this country could work. The non-Malays population is getting smaller proportionately and many are migrating. If we want a dynamic and vibrant Malaysia, the Malays must be efficient and dynamic.
August 14th, 2008 at 09: 33.45
It should be 30% if they want to talk about fairness in everything.
Listed public companies must allot 30% share holding to them.
Selected private sectors must employment consists of 30% of Bumi quota.
What The Make Chinese Angry (MCA) and Make Indian Cry (MIC) have to say? What have been done for these 51 years?
August 14th, 2008 at 09: 40.01
Another well written logical article by Azly. HOWEVER, we are talking about Malaysia here, about UMNO, about Ketuanan Melayu, about Racism, about Bigotry (sounds very similar to Nazisim & Apartheid right?).
Azly forgets he is in the US! If he were in KL, he’d have a few thousand UiTM undergraduates at his door step shouting murder!
They want to keep the purity of their Race lah (really sound like Naziism & Apartheid)! You can’t have us dirty INdian & Chinese “Pendatang” taking away their “Rights” can you?
August 14th, 2008 at 09: 43.43
As racism is the prerequisite for anything and everything here, and its has been proven again and again by the parasitic party and its ardent followers, what do expect for the future ?? Very bleak indeed becos the brain drain is expect to continue and we will still not be lack of these so called professional morons with like of our AG , who appeared at Haque for Pulau Batu Puteh and lost the case, why not at the Olympics , they should send only the Malays to compete, and then the stupidity of this nation can be showcased at international level.
August 14th, 2008 at 10: 53.08
/// This will be in tune with the spirit of the The Beijing 2008 Olympics in which there will be competition amongst the races. ///
Hi Dr Azly,
You have got the Olympics backwards. It should be “there will be races amongst the competition”.
Likewise, the Selangor MB also got it backwards. By opening up MARA to other races, the non-Malays will be doing the university a huge huge favour, and not the other way round. MARA needs non-Malays much more than non-Malays need MARA. As things stand, non-Malays will not touch MARA with a ten-foot pole. Talk about making virtue out of necessity.
August 14th, 2008 at 11: 46.28
I still remember the good old times when my father was sharing the same coffee table with friends of all other races, talking to each other as friend should be, asking them about their families and few borrowed money from my father and didnt pay back after that. Every thing was so simple and there’s no hard feeling even when people of different races calling the others “kui” or hantu after the name of the other race, as there’s relationship between them i.e. when there’s relationship, we can talk to each other in anything and wont feel offended so easily, the problem arises when there’s no relationship between each other especially with different races and religions and thinking that they must be having ulterior motives when saying something which is actually meant for the good of the other, but due to no relationship, they cant talk and listen to each other!!! Institution like UiTM and others which dont promote interactions between races are no good for our country!!! Why spent so much money in NS when this can be carried out in the Universities etc. ???
Compare before and now, all races are going to different directions without any relationship except in working places where relationship with each other is very shallow!!!
BN-UMNO is not doing anything to help to resolve the race relationship problem, but on the other hand, they are doing all they can to destroy the opportunity to promote better relationship between races!!! A very good example is UiTM where only a single race and few other bumis are allowed, another good eg is public services where only a single race dominates all!!!
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 00.34
The Glorious days of Muhibbah Spirit has gone or almost when every time and everything is about Ketuanan…Ketuanan…Ketuanan..!!! If UMNO really wanted to be “Tuan” of all, behave like one rather than have all these inferiority complex. But I can tell you these “Tuan” are hollow and that’s why they have to remind everybody again and again. Does the Queen of England have to remind the whole world that she is the Queen? Only those with low self confidence does that…!!! Hope they get “Taun” and purge uncontrollably soon…!!!
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 08.18
“To help the Malays, set them free. This is the first ray of light for the dawn of this new era.”- Azly Rahman
————————
Only the true God is able to set them free!!! Let’s all pray to God to set all the Malays free from all the bondages and curses!!! We should also pray to God to set all the other races free from all the bondages and curses!!! Amen!!!
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 14.59
It is only a suggestion, why those UITM student have to demonstrate?? AAB had to sid Selngor MB had no power?? etc.surely everybodey know MB had no power, but he sure had a right to make a suggestion, what is wrong with that??
BN create an issue out of nothing??
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 21.00
Lets play a little game.
The game we used to play as a child.
The game of mixing colours.
Lets us get started.
Red is a nice colour.
Dont we all agree.
Now, mix some white to it.
What do we get?
Pink!
That right.
Isnt that interesting?
We got three colours from two.
Actually more depending on the concertration of red and white used.
Its magical.
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 25.21
mohammadharrisjalil Says:
Today at 02: 02.53 (10 hours ago
They said that University should not mix with politic but in Uitm, anything that is under UMNO are Halal… when KJ came to UiTM to bribe RM200.00 to all the Kelantanese student so that they will vote for BN on last GE are halal (althought most of them voted for PAS)
hahahaha….so whatelse is NEW?? So ACA…please check this claim la!!
The SIL and his dirty deeds..
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 25.59
“malay took the merdeka…..so malay gets something special lah….
why chinese want to get up-set….
if chinse took the merdeka then….
u lim kit siang can become the malaysia king lah….”
Haris01 what the hell are you talking about? Do you even know Malaysian history?
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 27.19
I have seen another non-sensible proposal coming from a Malay, with the aim nothing more than aiming at buying more votes from the non-Malays, knowing that they would not have enough votes from Malays in the coming by-election. This proposal is very obvious a politically motivated proposal which only appears just before the by-election is about to be held. I would say this would help to buy some votes from non-Malay but the MB of Selangor who made this proposal has violated the founding policies stipulated in the Constitutions of Malaysia. This proposal has seriously challenge the concept of “Ketuanan Melayu” which is the founding stones of the country. Including Azly who wrote the blog and concurred to such suggestion, could be detained under the ISA for making such racial sensitive proposal. As a matter of fact, there are enough universities in the country for Non-bumi and more government universities are also starting to open up (even though we are strongly against it). Being a prestigious university, Universiti Teknologi MARA should continue to remain 100% Bumi to be in line with the special rights accorded to the Bumi in this country. Opening up to Non-Bumi will cause serious disruptions in the uniqueness of the University culture and the value that it has spent great efforts of promoting in the past. For the sake of racial harmony and to respect Ketuanan Melayu, please stop making insensible remarks and proposal concerning race issue.
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 29.59
Dear limkamput, please do not be too hard on taiking, he’s just being tongue-in-cheek.
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 35.06
Thank you, dear Kasim Amat, you never fail to amuse me!
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 40.54
I am not shock at all when UiTM student protest at this suggestion. Malay always feel scared when someone suggest to put them in a competitive environment. I study in a malay primary school and I am sad to say that i only have a handful of malay friends during that time as the others simply dont want to make friends with other races. Whenever there was a fight between malays and non-malays, the malays will said this “Aku melayu tau. Kau ingat kau boleh menang ka!”. I hate this phrase extremely. Some of my malay friends also shook their head when they heard this phrase but its common during then and now. When there was competition, they will suggest this “Cina lawan Melayu. Orang india pergi campur cina.” If we suggest otherwise, there will be no competition at all as they will not agree to it. This is how malays were being educated since primary school.
Let UiTM students have all they want. Since they are scared of competition, let them be. They wont even pass the interview session when they comes out to work. Their mind is so shallow, i seriously doubt their ability to communicate with other races when they steps out into reality. I will not send my kids to local university even if they qualify. To me, sending them to local U means that I fail as a parent to provide the best to them. Their standard is soooooo bad that when you interview 2 candidates (one local U, one private U), the difference is extremely noticeable and the choice is obvious. If they still remain status quo, then their direction is nowhere but south.
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 42.15
Mamakthir says it’s a good idea but UiTM is not ready yet. I wonder when will UiTM be ready, or will it ever be? If it’s a good idea, call for support and plan it for the near future. The educational standard is deteriorating, it’s high time to do something about it.
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 46.25
Ai yo yo, Kasim Amat, Awak ni memang pandai twist and turn, fact is for non bumi, UITM, will be the last choice , even if UITM open to non bumi.
UITM should also limit its lecturers, professors, admin staffs, cleaners, suppliers of stationery, foods, etc, contractors, plumbers, repairers, maintenance staffs, technicians, wiremen etc, to one race only,(100% , no less). No mat salleh or any orang putih etc,
All the materials, equipments (all lab equip), used, or consumed, must be manufactured by bumi only. Any new building or facilities must be done by 100% bumi only, Never use anything (material, equipment, plant, machinery, computers, handphones, cups, spoons, forks etc). produce by non bumi or foreigner?
Make sure all cars, vehicles used inside campus also 100% produced by bumi only. Even all banknotes, coins circulating inside campus must be also halal,
Any deviation will surely mencemarkan its “pureness”.
Kasim Amat, Dont you agree?
August 14th, 2008 at 12: 55.55
Make sure all clothing, sport equipment also supplied by 100% bumi company. UITM students must not take any public bus / train etc, which also carry non bumi, dont go to any cinema, supermarket, shops, where there are any non bumi around, OK?