I was taken aback when Chong Zemin put up the post that a blog had disclosed that there are 29 MPs who did not submit a question for the coming parliamentary meeting starting at the end of the month, and that five of them are from DAP.
The five DAP MPs cited are:
• Charles Anthony Santiago – Klang
• Er Teck Hwa – Bakri
• Hiew King Cheu – Kota Kinabalu
• John Fernandez – Seremban
• Dr. P. Ramasamy – Batu Kawan
I have checked with the five DAP MPs and they have confirmed the mistake of missing the deadline for the submission of questions, i.e. April 8, 2008, for the month-long inaugural meeting of the 12th Parliament starting on April 28 – although they would still be able to take part in the supplementary question stage of the daily 90-minute question time.
The Party had reminded DAP MPs not to miss the deadline for questions and lose the opportunity to pose questions in the first meeting of Parliament (an important aspect of the work of Opposition parliamentarians) but mistakes are still being made.
Work pressures as new elected representatives, lack of experience with parliamentary standing orders and breakdown of communications have contributed to the five DAP MPs not fielding a single question for the first meeting of the 12th Parliament.
These are not acceptable excuses as voters in the March 8 “political tsunami” have high expectations of DAP MPs and they have the right to expect the new batch of Opposition MPs to live up to a higher benchmark of parliamentary performance and to subject them to scrutiny.
The Party leadership will ensure that these mistakes will not be repeated in the rest of the current parliamentary term
The five DAP MPs and the DAP apologise for this regrettable episode.

#1 by kickbutt on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 12:26 am
“Infact I was just thinking about it today. YB Lim Kit Siang has done so much for the party and country.” Jong
Crooks too have been ‘honored’ and remained ‘honored’ by such titles. The issue is not so much whether Kit deserves it but whether he could decline it without insulting the Sultan or the Agong!
#2 by leongwk15 on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 1:23 am
YB,
There is no reason for the MP’s not submitting any questions. Too much workload??? Forgotten the deadline??? New MP’s??? Such reason only shows that they are not capable or not well managed.
1. If these MP’s r so tied up then they should not take up so much position or portfolio. I don agree with candidates going for MP and DUN. How will he/she has time to serve both. And it also shows that the party is lack of candidate to fill. One candidate should contest for one seat only. Let others qualified candidate to have a chance.
2. I am sure these MP’s could get a personal assistant to help out the workload and keep the MP’s well inform of important dates.
3. As usual we malaysian likes to wait till the last minute. And this is a very classic mistake and missed the deadline.
I am strong supporter of the opposition but this will not be a very good starting impression for the opposition. Please work harder and don’t forget your duties, even simple task. Look likes some one or some system is needed to monitor such important tasks and deadline, which involves every MP’s. Hopefully you dont have to monitor this. Uncle Lim, you have more important things to do.
All the best in the first session of the 12th Parliment seating.
#3 by HJ Angus on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 1:47 am
I will excuse them this time.
May be better not to submit a lousy question and take up valuable time that can be used for more important issues.
However it is good that so many have given feedback to the MPs. You are being watched and evaluated at every step.
I also agree with a reader’s comment that the political parties should have organised the type of questions to focus on, but with some leeway for questions for specific local problems.
#4 by Wang on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 3:16 am
DAP could independently send all its elected members of parliament a reminder of the actual deadline to submit questions. Anyway, there are only 20+ phone calls or letters only. Very low cost.
#5 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 5:52 am
By the reactions of some of the DAP’s supporters in Penang, it would appear that their mentality is not much different from that of BN’s. Clamouring for maximum seats in local councils with the sole aim of monopolizing, trying to shut out even NGOs.
I believe NGOs should constitute at 45% of the membership of the council. Hey, the State Gomen still has the final say! The public want their grievances to be heard!! Then the Gomen can decide!
Likewise, I hope the Klang Council would have the ratio indicated above. Please don’t behave like BN by putting all small time politicians who would use that platform for their political agenda only and the public will ensure that PR will large only this round!
#6 by waterfrontcoolie on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 5:53 am
last line…’large’ should read ‘last’
#7 by ADAM YONG IBNI ABDULLAH on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 8:36 am
jeffrey.
mention on behalf.
tq
#8 by Jeffrey on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 8:56 am
now I know (m.o.b) tqs. m.o.b. several times will take years, after High Court, then Court of Appeal then Federal Court, your cost will be more than damages claimed for. sometimes better you negotiate direct to resolve dispute with the other side. lawyers both side like to keep the dispute going, without litigation instigated, no “cari makan”. :)
#9 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 9:09 am
Dear waterfrontcoolie, BN or non BN as long as they are human being, discipline is required.
#10 by Damocles on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 11:15 am
Let’s not whack our MPs for every single mistake they make, especially those who are new to the game; they are only human.
We should continue to post about any shortcomings here for discussion and to establish a trend regarding DAP MPs who are slackening in their work. Then Uncle Lim should take it up from there.
To whack them for every single mistake is to demoralise them and destroy their effectiveness in Parliament.
#11 by novice101 on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 11:38 am
Some of us seems to equate two wrongs to a right. For democracy to work, every one has to be responsible. Every responsibility/duty that needs to be done has to be carried out. Where does the rot start? From the fish head. Where about on the fish head? From a small spot on the fish head. If we let go the small things and just look after the big things, then we have started the rot.
Why scream that democracy is a big let-down, later, when we do not carry out our duties and responsibilities when democracy is given to us, why do we not nurture it properly.
We kept quiet for the last 50 years and what we got is a big mess. Can we not learn from our past mistake, must we repeat our past mistake.
#12 by same chong on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 11:47 am
Let’s us take this up. Let’s us move forward. Let’s us continue to make Malaysia a better place for ALL.
#13 by Jeffrey on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 11:51 am
Some of criticisms are disproportionate, forgetting the ask questions within time frame for first time parliamentarians is no big sin or offence. What for ask question for the sake of asking or asking unimportant question wasting parliamentary time on trivial issues? Or ask questions that the opposite side can answer with full justification to look good reflecting on the stupidity or ignorance of the questioner??? What we need are fearless Opposition MPs who dare express the rakyat’s hopes, fears and concerns and engage fully in parliamentary debates against the BN’s side. Supposing as a DAP MP I don’t ask any question, others ask the questions, BN relies, debate begins, I am able to debate (against BN’s MPs) with the strongest force of logic and eloquence in line with the highest tradition of parliamentary debates of standards as high if not higher than that which exists in other Commonwealth Parliament including Westminister – am I that useless a DAP MP, deserving of all criticisms for not submitting questions in time for first session?
#14 by Jeffrey on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 11:52 am
….others ask the questions, BN rePlies….
#15 by Jeffrey on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 12:04 pm
Those unfamiliar with parliamentary procedures of filing questions have not yet had the opportunity to familiarise themselves with parliamentary rules and procedures because they basically did not have anything important to question (at this moment) the BN – so give them some time. Why would we want MPs, who got no important question to ask, make it a point to immediately show or pretend to us that they know alot of parliamentary rules and file in the questions just for the sake of giving us a good impression that they have interest in their job? Why do we want “pura pura” MPs???
Let them learn on the job – procedures, I mean. If they have had any important questions at this moment they would have make it a point to find out procedudures and file them within time. If they don’t have, let it be, there are many other ways to perform duties as effective Opposition MP (eg engage sensibly in active debate give input on bills proposed, supporting other Opposition MP’s point of contention than just asking question of BN for the sake of asking….There is really no reason to make a big issue out of the initial infraction of not knowing the rule on filing questions in time. It does not by itself reflect on an MP’s capabilities, that will be shown only over time.
#16 by novice101 on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 1:39 pm
This is a good sign – the rakyat is playing its role! It is providing the check and balance. It had been negligent for the past 50 years and the BN MPs had got away with ‘bloody murder’!
#17 by HJ Angus on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 2:09 pm
Seeing that many newbies are in Parliament it would be good not to destabilise the political scene further by supporting any motion of “no confidence” in the PM.
All, including the BN leaders, have a steep learning curve after the 12th GE.
#18 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 4:57 pm
Dear Jeffrey, one must learn how to fish not blame other for not getting the fish.
No doubt, this is the starting point and first sign of weaknesses. It should not be tolerated in long term.
#19 by TTDI_KL on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 10:30 pm
I see that some are very willing to defend MPs who have failed to submit the questions. I don’t really get it – learning to ask the right questions, and learning the procedures of asking questions? I think educated laymen also know how to ask questions and also know the procedures involved in the Parliament. If a MP has not pertinent question, then something must be wrong. If a MP does not know the procedures involved and therefore may want to hold back questions shows complete lack of initiative and enthusiasm. Stop defending them for nothing.
#20 by Cucurpisang on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 11:43 pm
Apology accepted because these are new MPs.
However, i thk they are still going to be better than BN MPs in Parliament 11 who were just mere seat warmers and makan gaji buta. I am sure they will play active role in Parliament 12 to ensure justice and fairness to all Malaysians
#21 by chiakchua on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 6:08 am
The apology from the DAP 5 is accepted. Yes, we shall forgive them this time , probably they are real new. I’m saddened to see one of the MP is from my hometown in Muar, though I’m now residing in Pahang.
Please make sure they do their homework in the future; voice out for the rakyat! Voice out on policy, not just longkang issue!
#22 by lakilompat on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 9:02 am
“The price of rice in the U.S. has also gone up!”
In US, they don’t rely on rice to survive.
Corns, potatoes, barbecue pork, beef, lamb, taco, pasta, spaghetti, lasagne.
What’s the big deal?
#23 by SL Chan on Tuesday, 22 April 2008 - 3:25 pm
Dear YB Lim,
It is instead dissapointing as it does not even take much of their time to get the questions on the paper..You should teach them how to manage their time and by the way..you guys are new and if you guys have to work 16 hrs a day so be it..U have no other choice as some of you are in the state government and have to catchup things fast..Let me ask you all , do you think easy to become an MP for the people and by the people..? Just ask them to buck up their damn time management and dont give anymore damn excuse..people might only accept this silly excuse once..If they want to become ” longkang” MPs then prepare for exit next PRU…They should know we rakyat have enough all this from BN..And some MPs, why they do not have an email or blog site? Better get them to start to have at least an email printed on the DAP website as some time the rakyat need to feedback their opinions to them. If not how do they know what the rakyat in that their constituency want to voice?
YB i have much respect for you and hope you will teach all your MPs well..
#24 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 9:29 am
I think Pak Lah is pretty smart, let opposition become state govt. so that he can continue hinder and plunder the country resources.
Malaysia development has been further hindered by the BN govt.
1) Second bridge delay due to costs and design issues
Who will be interested to come Penang to invest if the Federal Govt. failed to delivery 1st class infrastructure looking at current situation? Penang belong to opposition state.
2) KL-Singapore bullet train derailed by high cost
The future investment has been stop, now, any foreigner will be interested to come Malaysia? KL belong to opposition state.
Are opposition just going to sit there and ask question, without any action?
#25 by jennifer cheong on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 4:42 pm
Congratulations to YB Teng Chang Khim for elected as DUN speaker for the 1st time in Malaysia history ! Yes , Teng is a great leader from Klang who can do it ! Victory to DAP ! Victory to Teng ! from : DAP supporter
#26 by jennifer cheong on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 4:44 pm
Why DAP MP – lazy for the very first time ? Lazy, beat the bud! To : Lim Kit Siang – pls teach all these lazy DAP new MP how to start work instead of making day dreams! LAZY LAZY LAZY no good !
#27 by lextcs on Wednesday, 23 April 2008 - 5:18 pm
i think those dap fellas bz trying to accomodate new ‘walkovers’ from mca especially one by the nicknamed ‘tua pek kong’. This guy is notoriously linked to some questionable activities. To received this guy with open arms is a smack in the face for PR. But i suppose good or bad just jump in lah coz PR also got no much talents in depth. Booooooo
#28 by kickbutt on Saturday, 26 April 2008 - 7:49 pm
“In US, they don’t rely on rice to survive. Corns, potatoes, barbecue pork, beef, lamb, taco, pasta, spaghetti, lasagne.What’s the big deal?”
What’s the big deal? Here’s the deal. Asians and Hispanics eat rice and together they make up close to 30% of the total U.S. population.
#29 by Dr_Albert_Schweitzer on Wednesday, 30 April 2008 - 9:56 pm
Dear YB Kit,
I would like to humbly suggest that your goodself lead our Parliamentarians and State Assemblymen by good conduct and behaviour. Please try your level best not to be provoked by the antics and nonsensical behaviour of the Barisan Nasional counter-parts. The whole world is watching you as well as the other legislators. Kinabatangan continues to dig a deeper grave for himself. The former Jelai had been self-buried.
Do not go to their same gutter or even sewage level but maintain all decorum and grace at all times.
Best of luck in your endeavours and struggles.