Good Team, Bad Captain

by M. Bakri Musa

Among other things, in this election Malaysians have asserted in no uncertain terms that they do not approve of Abdullah’s inept administration and his tolerance if not encouragement of corruption and shady practices among those closest to him. With his new cabinet however, Abdullah once again demonstrated that he has learned nothing from the election debacle, his frequent declarations to the contrary notwithstanding.

While the addition of fresh talent in the persons of Amirsham Aziz and Zaid Ibrahim makes this a good cabinet, the retention of the same old tired faces as Syed Hamid, together with the inclusion of tainted characters like the “double Muhammad” Taib, smudges what otherwise would be an excellent team. It was, as the Economist noted, Abdullah’s shuffling deckchairs on a personal Titanic.

This election did what Abdullah could not, that is, get rid of deadwoods like Samy Vellu and incompetents like Zainuddin Maidin. Voters showed the way but Abdullah did not carry it further with his choice of a new cabinet. This good new team is cursed with the same old bad captain.

A team no matter how talented could not turn an incompetent captain into a good one. Neither would a prolonged “warm up” time accomplish much; a bad captain will still remain so. As one blogger cheekily noted, today even Abdullah’s “sign dah tak laku” (signature is worthless, as on a bounced check), in reference to the Raja of Perlis ignoring Abdullah’s choice for a Mentri Besar. As of my writing, the Sultan of Trengganu too is set to do likewise.

Abdullah’s cabinet remains bloated with 33 ministers, including five in his own department. His “reform” consists of nothing more than changing faces. He fails to address more fundamental issues like whether any of those ministries are needed at all.

For example, what is glaringly obvious from this election is that the Ministry of Information has no credibility with Malaysians or foreign observers. It is nothing more than the propaganda arm of the ruling party, and an inept one at that. Replacing its minister would not alter that reality. In the Age of the Internet, this is one ministry Malaysia can do without. Abolishing it, together with other unneeded ministries like Sports, Tourism, and Federal Territory, among others, would shrink the cabinet and streamline the administration.

This huge cabinet is unwieldy. No meaningful or robust discussions could take place. Even if each minister were to speak for only a few minutes, cabinet meetings would stretch for hours.

Lee Kuan Yew, who knows something about forming an effective cabinet and selecting capable ministers, once said that he would appoint only those for whom a cabinet appointment would mean a reduction in their personal earnings. This does not mean that Singapore pays its ministers miserly – on the contrary they are very well compensated – rather that those ministers have excelled elsewhere and thus are earning considerably more before they become ministers.

Only two of Abdullah’s appointees, Amirsham and Zaid Ibrahim, meet Lee’s stringent criterion. Long-serving former Trade Minister Rafidah Aziz would find few takers in the private sector for her talent. The only reason she remains calm after being fired is not to jeopardize her chance of being given plump directorships in the many GLCs. Further, if she were to complain too loudly, watch the ACA suddenly becoming diligent in scrutinizing her old AP files.

Blemishes and Kudos

Abdullah’s commitment to combat corruption is made hollow by his bringing Muhammad Taib into the cabinet. He was the former Mentri Besar of Selangor who was caught at an Australian airport with literally millions in cash on his person. He was acquitted from the criminal charge of not declaring the currency, but he has yet to explain how he secured the loot in the first place.

If Abdullah has not asked Muhammad that pertinent question, then he (Abdullah) is derelict in his duties by not exercising due diligence in selecting his ministers. If Abdullah did ask and was satisfied with Muhammad’s answer, then Abdullah owes the public to share that explanation. Failure to do so would make Abdullah’s renewed call to combat corruption more than hollow; it would be hypocritical.

Yes, that incident took place over a decade ago, old story Muhammad would claim. However, there is no statute of limitation with criminal acts. Time does not make a corrupt act less corrupt.

I applaud Zaid Ibrahim’s appointment. He is one of the few independent minded and unafraid to challenge the leader, a rare quality especially among Malays. We are still feudalistic, blindly loyal to leaders regardless of circumstances. I also applaud him for his commitment to the rule of law. Also rare among Asian leaders and newly rich, Zaid is well known for his philanthropic works. Forbes magazine recently listed him as one of Asia’s top philanthropists.

Of interest here is that Zaid Ibrahim was only recently found guilty of “money politics” by UMNO’s Disciplinary Committee, whose esteemed members included Zaki Azmi, now Court of Appeal President, the second highest position. Zaid strenuously appealed his “conviction” right up to the President of UMNO, Abdullah, but to no avail. It reflects more on the credibility and prestige of that disciplinary committee (more correctly, the lack of both) that Abdullah would now appoint Zaid to the cabinet to be in charge of law and the judiciary!

I have the highest regard for Zaid’s personal integrity and professional honor. I bring this up merely to demonstrate Abdullah’s and also UMNO’s hypocrisy towards disciplining its members. The fact that members of UMNO Disciplinary Committee would choose to remain silent on Zaid’s appointment attests to the “seriousness” with which they executed their duties. Let us acknowledge openly what was previously simply alluded to, that disciplinary committee was nothing more than a kangaroo court, its deliberations not worth considering, not even by UMNO’s president.

Zaid should consider his “conviction” a singular badge of honor. When knaves and crooks rule and do the judging, the virtuous and honorable would be considered criminals.

Presidential Power versus Collective Cabinet

In the previous cabinet, Abdullah was also the Minister of Finance and of Internal Security. That would be a tough assignment for even the most accomplished executive. With Abdullah, well, the results were obvious; he was totally ineffective. He held the Finance portfolio only to ensure that his family and cronies would get plump government contracts and privatization projects. In the new cabinet, Abdullah still holds on to Finance but he has given up Internal Security.

Abdullah continues to have the five full plus four deputy ministers in his department. He is developing a presidential-type administration in tangent with our customary collective cabinet responsibility. This could potentially give rise to unnecessary conflicts. Eliminating those positions would reduce the size of the cabinet and enhance its efficiency.

As a former civil servant Abdullah revels in the committee system. His answer to every problem is to appoint a committee; it is a sly way to duck personal responsibility.

I have an observation: The executive talent of a leader is inversely related to his penchant for forming committees. Abdullah is “Exhibit A” for my thesis; he has never seen a committee he does not like.

Therein lies the problem; Malaysia is being “committeed” to death. We cannot allow Abdullah to do that; we must force him step down for the good of the country.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by limkamput on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 9:23 pm

Undergrad2,
    Is our analysis here based on our biasness against BN. Can the Sultan really do this based on the state constitution (as well as the principles of constitutional monarchy and democracy; I give you the liberty to interpret whatever way you want on these principles)? May I know what happen if the Queen of England refuses to sign the bill pass by the House of Common that call for her abdication?

2. #2 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 11:17 pm

I am sure there is some arrangement made that we will know nothing about.
    After all, “Malaysia Boleh!”

I think the Terengganu people have been cheated of their oil royalties.

3. #3 by HJ Angus on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 11:19 pm

sorry wrongly worded
    not “is” but “will be”

4. #4 by LadyGodiva on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 11:27 pm

“May I know what happen if the Queen of England refuses to sign the bill pass by the House of Common that call for her abdication?” limkamput

Wow…!! What do we have here?? A kopi korek ‘economist’ who is also a contitutional history and law ‘expert’???

5. #5 by limkamput on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 11:37 pm

hi pervert gorilla, what is your problem? I am sure you have no idea right, wannabe? You law also cannot, economics also cannot. I really don’t know what you are good at. Ya, i forget, pimping, making passes at female bloggers, expert in STD because you often get it. You have some expertise after all, sigh again…

6. #6 by nus on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 11:44 pm

# limkamput Says:
    Today at 01: 37.10 (21 hours ago)

“But beware it could be great success or total failure.”

what is this, both ways you are correct.

so if AAB won big on March 8, you can also claim credit now.

Thanks limkamput for your comments.

I apologize if I had given such impression.

What I meant was if he had chosen any other day say 10 March which is still a holiday or even another Sunday 16 March, he might have better luck and not severe swing up or down.

As I mentioned those were only my “two cents” and I requested, “Will the real numerologists please comment”.

7. #7 by limkamput on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 11:49 pm

there is no such thing as real numerologists or real fongsui masters. but there are real conmen.

8. #8 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:33 am

Lebai Kamal bin Put,

So you are calling “fengsui masters” conmen and frauds! What next??

9. #9 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 2:59 am

There’s a hokkien song

“sa hun ti chu tiah” “chit hun koh pak piah”

30% due to fate, 70% rely on yourself

Fengshui may account 30% the remaining 70% should rely on whether the leader fight hard to earn the respect from Rakyat. Once these leaders are arrogant, now some was fired (AP Queen – Rafidah & Tolls or parliament tools King – Sammy), some retained but slapped 5 times from the state (Opposition took 5 states), and 2 times (Perlis & Terengganu MB fiasco) from the Royal family.

10. #10 by Godfather on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 4:16 am

For those who think that UMNO will be forced to reform itself, or risk becoming irrelevant, think again. There are now forces at work, led by Mike Tyson, to postpone the general assembly by 18 months. The official reason: To avoid confusion and anarchy.

The real reason: Need more time to consolidate power and to flush out the “traitors” who are supporting Razaleigh and Mukhriz.

A leader that tries to cling on to power when all around him are crumbling – the caption by Bakri should be “Same Team, Useless Non-playing Captain”.

11. #11 by undergrad2 on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:31 am

Nothing short of a purge will save UMNO and that’s not gonna happen or happen fast enough to save some of them. Forces within UMNO are re-aligining themselves and for which time is needed.

I think Tengku Razaliegh may have waited too long to act. But then wounds run deep and the healing process takes time. Some sort of face facing is needed to smooth Abdullah’s exit.

12. #12 by sotong on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 5:56 am

Nothing can save BN UMNO…..their days in government are numbered.

The quicker the people put them out of their misery, the better it is for the country – in term of unity, harmony and advancement in a globalised and competitive world.

13. #13 by Jong on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 8:39 am

UMNO is trying to postpone their general assembly+ election to 2009. It was scheduled for 2007 but because of the GE2008, they decided have it after the general election in 2008, expecting a clean sweep to victory, I guess? The last UMNO election was in 2004.

What do you guys think of that? I take it as an attempt to delay Badawi’s ouster. His ‘advisors’ need more time to attend to get things in position, unfinished business perhaps?

14. #14 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:15 am

ladygorilla, So you are calling “fengsui masters” conmen and frauds! What next??

Did I say that? What is next? Oh, i forget you are the biggest fraud and coward in town.

Jong, this is the one that impersonate you and I in other blogs.

15. #15 by aiD_kamikuP on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 9:57 am

“His ‘advisors’ need more time to attend to get things in position, unfinished business perhaps?” – Jong

I guess this time they are awaiting a LARGE import order of toilet paper. Remember, they say the job is not complete till the paperwork is done!. Either that or they are awaiting the arrival of a BIG eraser to erase the big mistakes.

16. #16 by LadyGodiva on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 7:50 pm

“Jong, this is the one that impersonate you and I in other blogs.” limkamput

What’s the matter? Can’t fight your own battles?? Why should I want to ‘impersonate’ anybody but Lady Godiva – a character out of 11th century England that you have no inkling exists? It is not “Govina” but “Godiva” – dick head!

17. #17 by limkamput on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 10:50 pm

It is gorilla, you dick head! Didn’t you see this long ago? It was never godiva or govina, it is gorilla. Obviously you look like one, sound like one, and you are one.

Oh I have been fighting my own battle. I just want to alert Jong because she was the one who told me that pervert like you have impersonated me. Please don’t try to deny – a pervert can’t hide.

Unlike you who will take every opportunity to team up with anybody to whack me. I never behave like you although Richard Teo has repeatedly wallop you on my behalf. You are a pathetic ass, shame really.

18. #18 by limkamput on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:05 am

ric23_my,
    Someone ought to tell you that word “propaganda” that you used so often here is not the right choice of word.

19. #19 by kickbutt on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 1:14 am

hey limkaput,

don’t beat up on the poor lady! if you feel the need to beat up on somebody, take it up with somebody your own size.

you’re whining about your old lady and your mother on another thread and insulting the royal family on another! what’s that all about??

20. #20 by LadyGodiva on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 5:07 am

Ladies! Ladies!! It is time to leave this ‘ol fart alone. Enjoy instead the music of Bob Dylan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfF0uHekcc8

21. #21 by pjboy on Thursday, 27 March 2008 - 9:49 am

It is timely that we have our Royals acting upon what they deem is not right to the people. At least, the Royals (or Regents) have better advisers – they should replace the 4th floor hooligans! Some credit should go also to the palace advisers of today (they are the unsung heroes) to the Royals. Now I understand the importance of our Royals. In the younger days, it was only the Rukunegara being drilled into our heads but not the actual significance of it. Previous PM (also UMNO President) tried very hard to strip the Royals (previous generation) hold when they were not so united. Perhaps for this reason, they sent their prince to get the best education possible. We hope the future generations of Royals will continue with this height of wisdom. The recent events should be well analysed & put into true historical text & analysis for future generations to know the significance in a Monarchy-Democracy system like ours. The Royals have been quiet far too long or perhaps waiting for the right / important moments of calling – the current 21st century Royals have given us all Malaysians a light in the end of a tunnel. I have to admit the recent events also reconciled my feelings for our Royals. It is also good to know that we have more than one !!! DAULAT TUANKU (infinitely).

22. #22 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 9:25 am

limkamput,

why the word “propaganda” is not appropriate? it will remain as “propaganda” as long as if we shout it loud, but we do not implement it … that’s my point …

(1) We laugh at abdulah holding too many posts as prime minister,finance minister and internal security minister.
    - But we have exco in selangor that holding senior exco title, ADUN and Parliament.
    (2) We fight against corruption and want transparency of properties that we belonged to BeeAnn leader.
    - But when we take over the selangor government and claim that we will expose the properties of each exco. At the end? Give reason due to some family reason and will not expose it
    (3) We shout Malaysian Malaysia, but after 2008GE, we argue and fighting to see which race one to lead which race and allocation of races within the state government

This is our goal, we should stand firm and go ahead with it … it not, it will always remain as a propaganda

23. #23 by limkamput on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 12:15 pm

ric23_my,
    Points taken. Gradually I am also feeling the same. But I guess we still have to give them some time to do what they say they will do. May be through years of conditioning by our system of governance, I even fear that one day this blog too will be subjected to some censorship if our criticisms become too sharp and direct. But I hope not.

24. #24 by ric23_my on Friday, 28 March 2008 - 1:27 pm

limkamput,

can take time, but they dont have much time.

Opposition should behave like a government now especially the selangor state, must responsive and careful with the words thrown out from the mouth …

statement from teresa like “i am the first one who swear in the assembly ceremony” and “i am senior execution exco that will take over menteri besar job when he is not in” is not appropriate … will only give impression that they are hungry for power …

if aware that declaration of assets of exco member involve some privacy issue, then dont promise the ppl that they will going to do that but at the end say cant make it …

ppl now are rational to understand that a change is not as easy as we can change it in a short time. ppl understand the reality of politic and there is huge efforts need to make in order to change …

what ppl dont like is if you know you cant make it in a short time then better dont promise. ppl dont like if we dont show an example when we asking ppl to do the same thing (eg: transparency) …

25. #25 by waterfrontcoolie on Saturday, 29 March 2008 - 5:48 pm

can someone give me the background of Teresa Kok? I have not really follow her rise to power.

26. #26 by lakilompat on Monday, 21 April 2008 - 3:16 pm

Teresa Kok, she’s a sassy mp, she’s the ladies who has won the most majority approximately 33K, not even the prime and deputy ministers can beat that kind of record.

Comments are closed.