Release Hindraf 5 from ISA – start healing after political tsunami

Two days after the political tsunami of the March 8 general election, the Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in an op-ed article in Asian Wall Street Journal (March 11, 2008), entitled “Malaysia will heal her divisions”, pledged:

“As there has been much speculation about the implications of our election results, I wish to offer clarity on three critically important points:

“First, we have heard the voice of our citizens, and I will dedicate myself, in this second term, to healing the divisions which became evident during the campaign. That will mean developing new and concrete initiatives, not just rhetoric, that bring our people together and ensure that no one is left behind as Malaysia prospers, whether they are ethnic Malays, Chinese or Indians.”

Abdullah is right. The Prime Minister’s fatal mistake in his first administration was that his many sweet-sounding pledges which created the feel-good euphoria resulting in his unprecedented landslide victory of over 91 per cent parliamentary seats in the 2004 general election were pure rhetoric but not backed up with any significant or meaningful action.

Is it going to be rhetoric and more rhetoric in his second premiership or is Abdullah going to start implementing his many pledges of reform of the past four years?

One immediate test faced by Abdullah as to whether he is starting to genuinely listen to the people to start the process of “national healing” after the political tsunami of the March 8 general election is the continued unjust, arbitrary and undemocratic detention of the DAP Selangor State Assemblyman for Kota Alam Shah M. Manoharan and the other four Hindraf leaders P. Uthayakumar, V. Ganabatirau, R. Kenghadharan and T. Vasantha Kumar under the Internal Security Act (ISA) for spearheading a national campaign against the marginalization of the Malaysian Indians causing them to become a new underclass in Malaysia.

Is Abdullah prepared to order the immediate and unconditional release on the Hindraf Five from Kamunting Detention Centre and involve them in the process of “national healing” to end the marginalization of all Malaysian ethnic groups – whether Indians, Malays, Chinese, Kadazans, Ibans or Orang Asli??

If Abdullah had “heard the voices of our citizens”, he would have known that one important reason for the political tsunami of March 8 and Barisan Nasional’s electoral debacle which saw its vote among the Malaysian Indians slumped by some 35 per cent from 82 per cent to 47 per cent, and the MIC virtually wiped out in Parliament and the state assemblies, is the long-standing political, economic, educational, social, cultural and religious marginalization of the Malaysian Indians which has given birth to the Hindraf and “Makkal Sakti” phenomena.

Why hasn’t Abdullah taken instant action in the past 13 days to immediately and unconditionally release the Hindraf Five from ISA detention to demonstrate that the Prime Minister has truly started to hear the “voices of our citizens”?

If Abdullah has not yet “heard the voices of the citizens” in the political tsunami of the March 8 general election, then all the other Cabinet Ministers, regardless of race, religion or political party, should demonstrate at the first Cabinet meeting on Wednesday that they have “heard the voices of the citizens” and adopt a Cabinet resolution to urge Abdullah to hear the voices of Malaysians in the political tsunami of March 8 to immediately and unconditionally release the Hindraf Five under ISA to start the process of “national healing” after the 12th general election.

I will write an urgent letter to Abdullah before the first Cabinet meeting next Wednesday to urge on the Prime Minister to waste not another day for the immediate and unconditional release of the Hindraf Five from ISA detention.

Print Friendly

1. #1 by Godfather on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 8:46 am

“We are not in the business of cheating the people.” AAB, 2005

Looks like he still believes in it, and despite the trouncing that he got in the 2008GE, he still thinks that there is no need to shoulder any responsibility.

Repeal the ISA, and then talk.

2. #2 by k1980 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 9:38 am

Penangites show the way to pay mamaks for illegal demonstration
    http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Friday/Frontpage/20080321180934/Article

3. #3 by Jong on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 9:55 am

I’m a Penangite too. My advice is don’t be too smart, the next time you have cravings for Penang nasi kandar, you better pray you don’t go “lau-sai”!

4. #4 by Evenmind on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:17 am

By demostrating the Penang mamaks want to prove that they are more malaynized and more islamic than thier brethren, and very soon UMNO will stand for: United Mamaks National Orginization.

5. #5 by Evenmind on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:23 am

If the mammaks want thier business back they should again demonstrate , this time for the release of the Hindraf detainees, then we’ll all SMS to have all our meals there inspite of the Lau sais’, they should get also get the support of thier leader ex PM Mahatir , the mamaks boss.

6. #6 by k1980 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:30 am

United Mamaks National Organization- just take a stroll round Sungai Petani and Baling towns and you will see that most of the Malay-operated shops are in fact mamak-owned.

7. #7 by HJ Angus on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:35 am

ISA may be needed to guard against extremists but holding people without trial indefinitly is not good.

There must be a judicial review within 2 months and if the police cannot do their jobs properly, something is terribly wrong with the system of justice. I think we should charge or release the HINDRAF 5.

If one observes the recent demos in Penang, the police appear to have different standards to handle different crowds.

As for the new Parliament, the news about party-hoppers is not healthy.
    http://malaysiawatch3.blogspot.com/2008/03/elections-are-over-it-is-time-to-get-on.html

8. #8 by k1980 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:43 am

9. #9 by Evenmind on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:50 am

The Gomen is fully aware what’s going on / that’s why there are different standards on the ways of tackling the demos, for the Hindraf demo , they used acid rain , pepper spray, batons , but for the UMNO demos they kissed thier their azzes.

10. #10 by Jong on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:15 am

Even on tv, we could see the ‘mata-mata’ whispering to the demo chieftian, such friendly gestures! I imagine he could have said, “Tolonglah jangan bagi kami polis susah-susah”!

11. #11 by AhPek on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:53 am

“Suffice it to say that the ‘evil’ lies not in the legislation but its arbitrary use and abuse.” Undergrad 2.

Absolutely agree with you.However in the case of Malaysia, her PMs have gotten use to the idea that ISA is there for their own personal use … to strenghten thier power if not to perpetuate their own rule as well.This draconian has its origin in Britain during the 2nd world when she was under grave danger of being invaded and conquered and therefore having such draconian and implementing them is highly desirable and acceptable to her citizenry.But after the war Britain has not used it even at the height of her problems with the IRA in Ireland.Here we have even lost count of the number of times the MAMAK has resorted to its use and we are also fast losing count of the number of times SLEEPY HEAD will use it on top of the number of times he has already used it!! Even LKY in Singapore has used ISA far less and yet even some of our UMNOPUTRAS have never tire to mention how dictatorial KKY is!!

12. #12 by AhPek on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:58 am

’2nd world’ should read ’2nd world war’.

‘This draconian has’ should read ‘This draconian law has’.

‘how dictatorial KKY is’ should read ‘how dictatorial LKY is’.

13. #13 by StevePCH on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:16 pm

Is there just anyway other than the election results that we can make the Puteras understand that rakyat in general has rejected the abuse of ISA ?
    ISA , OSA , Sedition Act etc … if properly exercised will be of gain to Malaysia. But, from the way it’s abused …. one really wonder what the Internal Security Act etc is all about. HUMAN RIGHT DISCRIMINATION ACTS !!!
    Please remember that tsunami only washed part os the society’s evil leader. The root of the problem is still needed to be uprooted from it’s ground.
    This can only be achieved through the solidarity of BR.
    DAP will have to show not that it’s only focussed on Penang , since LGE is heading it now. Losing it’s head over heals in Penang will be very …. detrimental.
    So is PKR & PAS.

14. #14 by mycroft on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 12:20 pm

People who keep on harping about mamaks are just showing their inherent racism.

15. #15 by StevePCH on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 1:03 pm

I agree … boycotts just makes you another hypocrite .
    It’s also going to make economy in Penang bad.
    All micro economies contribute to macro. Work symbiotically in synergy and Penangites will prosper instead of bickering among mamak lah … Cina lah , Indian lah ayoyo …
    Not all mamaks are what they are potrayed to be. just that u have people like KJs , Kerismudin bla bla in BN as well. Some mamaks are also leach in BN as well as other races. A few bad apples doesn’t mean the whole basket is bad.
    We should make Malaysia a country color blind.

16. #16 by vehir on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 6:36 pm

New Terengganu MB appointed
    BERNAMA

KIJAL state assemblyman Datuk Ahmad Said has been appointed the new Menteri Besar of Terengganu and will take the oath of office in Kuala Terengganu tomorrow, the office of the Sultan of Terengganu announced today. – BERNAMA

17. #17 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:12 pm

“The sultan has expressed his wish to see a Malay deputy MB, while predominantly Chinese DAP – being the second biggest party after PKR – is pressing for its representative to be picked as Khalid’s deputy.

Hindraf wants Mano as Deputy MB

Meanwhile four Hindu Rights Action Force leaders presently being detained under the Internal Security Act in Kamunting today urged that their fellow detainee and Kota Alam Shah state representative M Manoharan is appointed as a deputy menteri besar in Selangor.”

Aren’t we playing racial politics here???

18. #18 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:41 pm

Suffice it to say that the “evil” lies not in the legislation but in its arbitrary use and abuse. undergrad2

I see star a bit. Are arbitrary use and abuse part of the legislation? If the law does not allow it, how can the executives arbitrarily use it or abuse it?

19. #19 by limkamput on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 10:54 pm

Aren’t we playing racial politics here??? undergrad2

It is not Monday yet and my feeling is that Khalid will NOT appoint a deputy MB because if he appoints one, that person most probably has to be from DAP which to me is not racial because DAP has the second most number of seats in Selangor state assembly. Now who is playing racial politics? For a long time no body questions who is MB and who is deputy MB because BN led by UMNO was in power. Now the situation has changed, so why start asking MB and deputy MB must be this and that. Now that is playing racial politics. Undergrad2, if you want to hit at people playing racial politics, it is everybody, not just Chinese and Indians. I don’t like the way you insinuate. It sucks.

20. #20 by StevePCH on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:21 pm

The crack between BN and palace seems to be getter wider by the days.
    Hope that BR will learn from this “unfortunate” events as well.

21. #21 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:26 pm

“Are arbitrary use and abuse part of the legislation? If the law does not allow it, how can the executives arbitrarily use it or abuse it?” limkamput

You’re going in circles here. The Act has seen many amendments. In 1985, Parliament amended the Act to deny detainees of their right to judicial review – which is a safeguard against abuse and its arbitrary use.

22. #22 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:29 pm

Without judicial review there is only the writ of habeas corpus.

23. #23 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:36 pm

“Undergrad2, if you want to hit at people playing racial politics, it is everybody, not just Chinese and Indians. I don’t like the way you insinuate. It sucks.” limkamput

Please read it again – this time within its context and carefully this time.

24. #24 by undergrad2 on Saturday, 22 March 2008 - 11:37 pm

It does not matter who plays it. It is still racial politics.

25. #25 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:03 am

undergrad2, yes i read again your posting, and taking its ordinary meaning, your criticism was skewed toward criticising the Chinese and Indians. However, i do agree it does not matter who plays it, it is still racial politics.

26. #26 by LadyGodiva on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:05 am

http://schizophrenia-thebeardedladydisease.com/

The bearded lady strikes again!!

27. #27 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:11 am

You’re going in circles here. undergrad2

No i am not going in circles. You are. You have made an inaccurate observation, just admit it and move on. Is without judicial review part of the legislation? When did we discuss legislation without the latest amendments? Even habeas corpus is of no use under the existing legislation.

28. #28 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:12 am

ladygorilla, you have no one left to feign?

29. #29 by LadyGodiva on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:17 am

Undergrad,

I can’t believe you’re engaging with a retard!

30. #30 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:19 am

limkamput,

If you don’t mind my saying so, you tend to read meanings into what is written which is not there. It would help if you don’t. If at all it is a stinging criticism of anything, it is at the role played by the sultan. The role of the sultan(s) is to protect Malay customs and their religion! Could it be said that the sultan is playing just such a role when he says that the composition of the EXCO should reflect the racial composition of the state?

31. #31 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:21 am

the only retard and sex pervert here is you. notice you have never stop talking about pimping, sexually transmitted disease, trying to make pass on female bloggers, etc. i know you are frustrated, but please don’t take it out on me.

32. #32 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:28 am

“Is without judicial review part of the legislation?” limkamput

Yes, it was part of the Act before it was amended in 1985. Please read my posting in its entirety. The Minister’s discretion was then subject to judicial review. Parliament did not mean to give the Home Minister absolute discretion.

Like I wrote earlier, the ‘evil’ is not in the legislation as originally drafted and passed by Parliament but in its arbitrary use and abuse. Its complete repeal would deny the government (which one day could be the same government that now governs the state of Selangor) of an effective and important tool to fight terrorism.

It would also not be in sync with developments in many other countries which have adopted similar legislation but with much more safeguards built into it. The U.S. is but one example.

33. #33 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:28 am

Yes, undergrad2, I know there are things that we can’t say because it may be seditious. Under such a circumstance, it is best we don’t criticise the Chinese and the Indians. One more thing, in your original posting, you did not comment on the role of Khalid as MB. Did he try to stand up for DAP or was he just conveniently playing along.

34. #34 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:36 am

Even if the right to judicial review was removed, it does not mean the government must use it in an arbitrary way or/and abuse it to stifle political dissent. Under a benevolent form of authoritarian rule, the use of such a legislation should be as a last resort and to protect national security – and not stifle political dissent.

35. #35 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:39 am

“..you did not comment on the role of Khalid as MB. Did he try to stand up for DAP or was he just conveniently playing along.” limkamput

So it is not the subject of my comment.

36. #36 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:44 am

Sure, that will be ideal and as you said if the government is benevolent. But you and I know most governments are not and that is why there must be safeguards no matter how compelling the need for such legislation to contain terrorism etc.

37. #37 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:47 am

If you read comments on this blog, there are two schools of thought here. Those who believe in the complete repeal of the Act and the other who believe that we should not repeal but amend the Act to include its original safeguards and more.

I belong to the latter.

38. #38 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:49 am

Let us not forget that we are living in a post 9/11 world.

39. #39 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 12:51 am

I think I did not make myself clear. What I am trying to say was if you want to criticise DAP and Hindraf for playing racial politics, then I feel that you should include PKR’s Khalid and also sore loser UMNO and BN. That to me would be fairer. We know we can’t touch on other “sensitive issues” so we shall leave them alone.

40. #40 by undergrad2 on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:32 am

The cynicism if any is directed to all who claim they are not playing racial politics.

41. #41 by limkamput on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 1:48 am

Ok, best statement for the night (is it your day?).

42. #42 by cancan on Sunday, 23 March 2008 - 11:29 am

A Letter To The Prime Minister

Link: http://www.kingsmary.blogspot.com/

43. #43 by budak on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 6:53 am

Pak Lah, enough is enough…

thanks for your total ignorance to the Rakyat grievances… but you must learn and change accordingly… have you learned your lesson today…??? :-)

44. #44 by lakilompat on Monday, 24 March 2008 - 2:10 pm

Don’t forget folks

“Politicians are liar, when you trust them the most, they will robe you mercilessly and will come back for more.”

It happen in Taiwan, and in any part of the world not only in Malaysia.

45. #45 by Toyol on Tuesday, 25 March 2008 - 1:57 pm

Even in defeat BN has learn nothing. By not releasing HINDRAF 5, BN is still marginalising the Indians. Better if the Agong pardon these true leaders for their people and let them serve. Forget the PM…he never woke up!

46. #46 by lakilompat on Wednesday, 26 March 2008 - 12:36 pm

Khairy won’t allowed these 5 Indian leader to go so easy, make him lost face only.

Already 16 days, they don’t even bother abt. it. “Tak lepas, tak lepaslah” what is there to scared, this is Pak Lah way. Something similar “Kalah, Kalahlah!”

Abt the below:- It looks good, It sounds good, with Khairy behind, is it really true arrr….?

“First, we have heard the voice of our citizens, and I will dedicate myself, in this second term, to healing the divisions which became evident during the campaign. That will mean developing new and concrete initiatives, not just rhetoric, that bring our people together and ensure that no one is left behind as Malaysia prospers, whether they are ethnic Malays, Chinese or Indians.”

Pak Lah can read from the paper but can he understand what he’s talking, do he really mean it?

Comments are closed.